You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

File photo Alamy Stock Photo

Long Covid: Treatment of debilitating fatigue presents major challenge for Irish hospitals

Patients have said the ‘invisible’ symptoms are often the most frustrating as they still look physically healthy.

CLINICIANS TREATING PATIENTS with Long Covid are facing a significant challenge when trying to address the debilitating fatigue that some are left with for months after their initial infection.

It is estimated that up to 20% of people who test positive for Covid-19 may experience longer-term symptoms ranging from weeks to months after their infection. Over 200 symptoms associated with Long Covid have been identified, but the most common are fatigue, respiratory and cardiac symptoms, neurological symptoms, muscular and joint pain and digestive symptoms.

The ‘invisible’ symptoms of Long Covid, such as fatigue and brain fog, can be the most frustrating, one patient told The Journal.

More than a year-and-a-half after he first contracted Covid-19 George*, who is a healthcare worker, continues to struggle with breathlessness requiring an inhaler, has to take heart medication to keep palpitations at bay and finds even simple tasks exhausting.

He said he believes he contracted Covid at work as a number of colleagues also tested positive around the same time.

“My wife reckons I was sick enough that I should have been hospitalised, but at the time the hospitals were snowed under, we had thousands of cases a day and I made a call on it and decided I wasn’t going to hospital, I was aware they were really under pressure,” he said.

“I had very bad breathlessness, it was really hard to catch my breath, I was coughing, I had really bad headaches, a pain in the back of my lungs, aches everywhere and my heart rate was going up just sitting on the couch.”

In the months that followed, George said his symptoms were not improving at the rate he was expecting and he found his energy levels remained low. He has been unable to return to work as a result of his symptoms. 

“This morning, I’m still in bed now at 11am and I went to bed at 10pm last night,” he explained.

I’m not sleeping well, I have terrible fatigue and I’m still quite breathless at times. I get fierce pains in the back of my lungs as well. The lack of energy and the fatigue is unbelievable though, it’s the most frustrating part. I used to easily do 8,000 to 12,000 steps a day and now I’d be lucky to get 3,500 in. It’s not just affecting me but those around me as well, I’ve no energy to go down and work in the garden or tidy and help around the house the way I should do.

George was referred by his GP to a respiratory consultant for his breathing difficulties and to a physiotherapist, but he said his treatment has had little impact on his fatigue or the brain fog he experiences.

“That’s the hidden part of the illness, people would say to you that you look great and because of the brain fog I can’t even properly explain the tiredness,” he said.

“It’s exhausting. Last month I was in the shop and I met a mate of mine who I’ve known for 22 years. I was talking to him and I said to him that I knew his wife’s name and that he had two kids, where he lives and works but I couldn’t remember his first name.

“It was so bloody embarrassing, it’s just frustrating because I was always someone who was so on the ball, like in my work as well and I just wouldn’t trust myself now. It’s not a very nice place to be in.”

At a recent Oireachtas Health Committee session, infectious disease consultant at the Mater Hospital, Professor Jack Lambert said some patients are being accused of exaggerating their illness.

Lambert said that brain scans of people with long Covid show they have brain inflammation among other symptoms and that there should be a greater focus on this and on the chronic fatigue many suffer from. 

“There should be an educational campaign for employers, occupational health doctors, businesses, to support these patients because they are not making up the problem,” he said. 

Treatment pathway

While clinicians specialising in this area have learned a lot over the last year about the myriad of symptoms that can present post-Covid, they are facing a significant challenge in treating fatigue in particular.

Professor Seamus Linnane, consultant in respiratory medicine at the private Beacon Hospital in Dublin, has been working at the first Long Covid clinic in the country for more than a year and has seen hundreds of patients.

Fatigue is the most common symptom among his patients, with 90% presenting with this symptom.

“With something like fatigue, if someone has muscle pain that adds to it, if they’re not sleeping that adds to it, if they’re struggling with brain fog that adds to it too so it’s an incredibly challenging symptom to manage,” he said.

“It has multiple different causes, we don’t see fatigue or brain fog as purely neurological phenomena, it can be psychological, it can be inflammatory and so we have to try to work out what the most relevant approach is for each person.”

The treatment involves various different therapies including psychotherapy, physiotherapy and occupational therapy. 

However he said clinicians need to be careful in the way they approach physical therapies and a return to exercise. He referenced the international evidence on the potential negative impacts of exercise therapy programmes for Myalgic Encephalomyelitis (ME) or Chronic Fatigue Syndrome (CFS) patients. 

Last year the UK’s health watchdog issued fresh recommendations, including that programmes based on fixed incremental increases in exercise should not be offered as  they may worsen symptoms.

Professor Linnane said that while exercise is important and doctors are keen to encourage patients to increase their activity levels over the course of their treatment programme, it is important to ensure this approach does not “aggravate symptoms”.

There is something that’s known as post-exertional malaise, a person can end up feeling in worse health after a task and that can last for days if the person has overdone it. That’s counterproductive. There is a certain level of trial and error and a variability because someone might be a 9/10 when they come in one day and a 6/10 when they come another day and it’s important not to push them too hard on the 6/10 day.

At the Beacon’s Long Covid clinic there are three consultants, all with a respiratory medicine base, but also with a dual accreditation in general medicine.

Professor Linnane said this knowledge of general medicine has been helpful because of the diverse range of symptoms and organs impacted by the disease. 

“Having someone who can take an overall look has meant greater efficient, better use of the hospital’s resources and because it’s a private clinic that reduces the cost to the patient also, which is important.

“Because we’re more familiar now with the syndrome, we’ve found that we can be more targeted in our investigations than we were before so we have made progress over the past year.”

He pointed to a number of drug trials that are starting and said this is welcome as currently clinicians are heavily on non-pharmaceutical rehabilitative treatments for some of the most common symptoms. 

Public clinics

In response to a query from The Journal, the HSE said it is currently examining how it can model the possible numbers affected by Long Covid.

An epidemiological survey is being planned and the HSE said this will be key to understanding risk factors for developing Long Covid and demand for future Long Covid services.

Public Long Covid clinics currently in operation include St Vincent’s University Hospital, Beaumont Hospital and University Hospital Galway. There are also Post-Acute Covid Clinics at University Hospital Galway and Connolly Hospital Blanchardstown. Both Tallaght University Hospital and St James’s University are operating combined Post-Acute and Long Covid clinics.

The HSE said it is working closely with each of these hospital sites to expand the existing clinics to provide a full scope of care. 

“Provision of new and additional resources to these clinics will ensure all services are operating to the same high standard of care. Recruitment has commenced at all sites,” it said.

The HSE said it acknowledges that services may need to be adapted in response to emerging evidence, learnings from the initial phases of implementation and current and projected demand for Long Covid services. HIQA is currently completing an evidence review of Long Covid and approaches to treatment.

“The HSE wishes to advise that as part of the Model of Care, there will be access to a tertiary neurocognitive clinical located at St James’s Hospital,” it added.

“This will be a specialist services for patients who are continuing to experience persistent neurological symptoms.”

*The patient interviewed for this article did not wish to be named but The Journal is aware of his identity.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

15 Comments
    Mute Carol
    Favourite Carol
    May 27th 2017, 6:32 AM

Hope everyone has a great day, would’ve loved to have been able to go. Stay safe

Mute Jamie
    Favourite Jamie
    May 27th 2017, 7:14 AM

Who’d have known you wouldn’t be allowed bring a Trident into slane good job I seen this, best leave it at home so

Mute John Smith
    Favourite John Smith
    May 27th 2017, 10:16 AM

@Jamie:

No Light Sabers either, that’s may force me not to attend. Although, I can do the Jedi mind trick…..

Mute Jamie
    Favourite Jamie
    May 27th 2017, 11:25 AM

@John Smith: I’d rather get hit wit a child’s toy than a trident to the head

Mute John Smith
    Favourite John Smith
    May 27th 2017, 11:39 AM

@Jamie:

The Light Saber is no childs toy, it is only given to those who are one with the force. Well, that and the Dark Side, but those guys are dodge.

Mute Ian Moloney
    Favourite Ian Moloney
    May 27th 2017, 6:48 AM

No mention of bombs there I see.

Mute Matty Kineven
    Favourite Matty Kineven
    May 27th 2017, 10:06 AM

@Ian Moloney: You can bring bombs but not light sabres seemingly

Mute Fergal Barry
    Favourite Fergal Barry
    May 27th 2017, 6:58 AM

Tridents? No one can bring an ageing nuclear submarine.. that’s reassuring.

Mute Crocodylus Pontifex
    Favourite Crocodylus Pontifex
    May 27th 2017, 9:55 AM

@Fergal Barry: T

Mute Crocodylus Pontifex
    Favourite Crocodylus Pontifex
    May 27th 2017, 9:56 AM

@Crocodylus Pontifex: Trident is the missile system on the Vanguard class submarine. I think it’s a fair restriction.

Mute Martin Sinnott
    Favourite Martin Sinnott
    May 27th 2017, 8:07 AM

No backpacks or food ! It’s going to take hours to get in and out. When it rains you won’t have your waterproof cloths in your backpack. It’s going to be a long hungry day.

Mute filthypete
    Favourite filthypete
    May 27th 2017, 8:17 AM

@Martin Sinnott: wear your waterproofs or get wet. Buy food. Crazy thinking i know. In light of recent events no backpacks is a small concession for security. The reason its such a list is that people think that the rules dont apply to them. They only have their bags etc and they’re grand. Then these are the people who delay everyone else unnceessarily arguing with stewards and gardai about access.

Mute John Smith
    Favourite John Smith
    May 27th 2017, 10:20 AM

@filthypete:

It’s not a small concession though, no backpacks is ludicrous. Are we coming to a time where we are not allowed to transport our items in the most easy of ways? They can get 70,000 people into Electric Picnic with bags, tents, alcohol, etc, so a backpack should be zero problem. They say they have 25 years experience in doing this, so it shouldn’t be an issue.

Mute Dub_Right
    Favourite Dub_Right
    May 27th 2017, 10:32 AM

@John Smith: In order to protect your freedom we must first remove it….

Mute Michael Hayden
    Favourite Michael Hayden
    May 27th 2017, 10:39 AM

@John Smith: there’s wasn’t a bombing the week before EP. This bombing happened at a concert and was consealed in a backpack. And you wonder why there not allowed

Mute Jane Alford
    Favourite Jane Alford
    May 27th 2017, 11:33 AM

@Martin Sinnott: hand bags are allowed, so carry a large shoulder bag…

Mute John Smith
    Favourite John Smith
    May 27th 2017, 11:37 AM

@Michael Hayden:

So what? There have been numerous traffic accidents in the last week, do we now ban cars from traveling to it? There was a fella stabbed a while ago by a guy that carried a knife in his pocket. Do we ban pockets? The bombing didn’t even happen in this country. It’s utter nonsense and not a world we should want to inhabit. Banning bags, it’s nuts.

Mute George Roche
    Favourite George Roche
    May 27th 2017, 6:33 AM

No lightsabers?

Mute Honeybadger197
    Favourite Honeybadger197
    May 27th 2017, 6:38 AM

@George Roche: #boycottslane

Mute Joseph whaley
    Favourite Joseph whaley
    May 27th 2017, 6:54 AM

@George Roche: tridents are also a big no no.

Mute Ladude
    Favourite Ladude
    May 27th 2017, 7:06 AM

Most of the recent terror attacks have been on the 22 of the month. U2 will be playing here on July the 22. Might be total nonsense, but worth keeping in mind.

Mute Niall Martin
    Favourite Niall Martin
    May 27th 2017, 7:23 AM

@Ladude: There’s no pattern. Stockholm was the 7th of April, the Nice attack was the 14th of July, the Bataclan attack was the 13th of November. I saw that 22nd claim before, but it’s selective to say the very least.

Mute Ladude
    Favourite Ladude
    May 27th 2017, 7:25 AM

@Niall Martin: look not saying there is, but it’s something to keep on mind for sure man.

Mute Paul Furey
    Favourite Paul Furey
    May 27th 2017, 8:19 AM

@Ladude: Hey Frank….is that the new you?

Mute Ken Hayden
    Favourite Ken Hayden
    May 27th 2017, 9:21 AM

@Ladude: @Ian , I have done my own extensive research into these attacks and have realized that they all occur on days ending in a Y , just saying .

Mute Ladude
    Favourite Ladude
    May 27th 2017, 10:21 AM

@Paul Furey: Paul its not Frank, and by the way if you think that blowing ones self up is crazy, making up dates that relate to passages in the qoran, and blowing your self up on that date is not that nuts.

Mute Ladude
    Favourite Ladude
    May 27th 2017, 10:23 AM

@Ken Hayden: Haha think your on to something, look I really just want every one to be safe. I know it’s a little out there, but just trying to make sense of it and try and see if there is a pattern.

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    May 27th 2017, 10:48 AM

@Ladude: there’s not. Guess what, there are more than 31 passages in that book so every date is significant

Mute Free comment ratings
    Favourite Free comment ratings
    May 27th 2017, 11:05 AM

@Ken Hayden: Every day will end in Y so that’s irrelevant.

Mute Conor Hall
    Favourite Conor Hall
    May 27th 2017, 1:45 PM

@Ladude:
    “Most of the recent terror attacks have been on the 22 of the month.”

No, they haven’t. Why are you lying?

Mute Negan
    Favourite Negan
    May 27th 2017, 10:47 AM

Best Slane concert ever was Red Hot Chili peppers in 2003, with one of the best bassist at the time, the best guitarist since Jimi Hendrix, and that beautiful Californication intro….oh it was a magical night

Mute Matty Kineven
    Favourite Matty Kineven
    May 27th 2017, 10:58 AM

@Negan: Jimmy Page was there?! Damn I should’ve went.

Mute Alison Maguire
    Favourite Alison Maguire
    May 27th 2017, 11:02 AM

@Negan: agreed fantastic concert. I got complimentary tickets from Lord Henry mount Charles because I had gotten a petition together with thousands of names wanting rhcp to play. I was on 2fm with dave fanning about it. Oh how embarrassing when I look back at the neck of me. Good times though

Mute Conor Hall
    Favourite Conor Hall
    May 27th 2017, 12:08 PM

@Matty Kineven: Jimmy Page, lol. Useless sloppy & overrated.

Mute Dan Smith
    Favourite Dan Smith
    May 27th 2017, 12:08 PM

@Negan: Foo Fighters, Queens of the Stone Age and PJ Harvey as warm-up acts too. Wish I was 10 years older so I could’ve gone to that!

Mute Matty Kineven
    Favourite Matty Kineven
    May 27th 2017, 12:25 PM

@Conor Hall: Who’s the best guitarist since Hendrix then, in your opinion? The Edge? *snicker snicker

Mute Conor Hall
    Favourite Conor Hall
    May 27th 2017, 12:56 PM

@Matty Kineven: Greg Howe or Scott Henderson.

Mute Matty Kineven
    Favourite Matty Kineven
    May 27th 2017, 1:20 PM

@Conor Hall: Greg Howe is a legend alright. More of a Jimmy Page and Mark Knopfler fan myself though. Each to their own I guess.

Mute Negan
    Favourite Negan
    May 27th 2017, 2:03 PM

@Matty Kineven: John Frusciante God himself :)

Mute Matty Kineven
    Favourite Matty Kineven
    May 27th 2017, 4:10 PM

@Negan: I’m a musical polytheist so I believe there are many gods. Mr. Frusciante is on the list :-) I actually was at that gig. They were phenomenal.

Mute iMoan Brutal
    Favourite iMoan Brutal
    May 27th 2017, 11:35 PM

@Negan: Was at Slane 2003.. chilli peppers were pretty brutal (and later the same year in landsdone too)

Mute Matty Kineven
    Favourite Matty Kineven
    May 27th 2017, 11:11 AM

I am Neptune, God of the Sea. My mate Luke and I are very annoyed that we can’t bring our toys with us. See you in court lord henry

Mute Vinny O'Shaughnessy
    Favourite Vinny O'Shaughnessy
    May 27th 2017, 9:43 AM

I got an email from MCD and they said that small backpacks would be allowed.

Mute Conor Hall
    Favourite Conor Hall
    May 27th 2017, 12:07 PM

@Vinny O’Shaughnessy: really? I got one this morning but it didn’t say that.

Mute Jeff Jefferson
    Favourite Jeff Jefferson
    May 27th 2017, 1:41 PM

@Conor Hall: I sent them an email for clarification, and this is the response I got:
    Many thanks for your email. We do understand your request and can advise therefore that small bags and small back packs will be permitted but we advise to bring as little as possible with you to the event because it makes searching at entrances quicker and easier.

Mute Conor Hall
    Favourite Conor Hall
    May 27th 2017, 1:47 PM

@Jeff Jefferson: cool thanks.

I assume shoulder/record bags are okay either way? I’m just worried some mongo garda will try to say it’s a backpack.

Mute Michael Hayden
    Favourite Michael Hayden
    May 27th 2017, 10:14 AM

Ah sure it’s a great day for it too

Mute Conor Hall
    Favourite Conor Hall
    May 27th 2017, 12:01 PM

So can you bring a normal shoulder bag? It just says no waistbags or backpacks.

Rules are unclear and inconsistent – I’ve seen 1 version where it says no bottles, and another that says bottles of water are allowed 500ml and under but they’ll take the lids.

WTF?

Mute Terry O'Callaghan
    Favourite Terry O'Callaghan
    May 27th 2017, 9:08 AM

Who would waste a bomb on that lot…

Mute iMoan Brutal
    Favourite iMoan Brutal
    May 27th 2017, 11:36 PM

Wonder did they play “Crest of a wave” …nice that Slash always credits Rory on every visit :)

Mute Alois Irlmaier
    Favourite Alois Irlmaier
    May 28th 2017, 12:59 AM

No Tridents? The only tridents I know is to do with nukes lol.