You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Mark Stedman/Photocall Ireland

Labour Senator deletes Facebook page after being told she 'should have been aborted'

Lorraine Higgins also received death threats.

LABOUR SENATOR LORRAINE Higgins has deleted her professional Facebook page after being subjected to a “tirade of abuse”.

Higgins told TheJournal.ie that she decided to delete the page after being called a ‘c**t’ and told she should have been aborted. She also received death threats.

During her unsuccessful European election campaign, Higgins was told she would be “hatcheted in the face”.

The Galway-based Senator said that she initially tried to “brush off” the abuse, telling herself ‘This comes with the territory, you have to get on with it’. However, she took action after her family became upset when the level of threats increased.

Higgins stressed that “for the most part” the people who engaged with her page were “decent” but said she had to take action when the volume of trolling targeting her and her supporters continued to increase.

I asked myself: ‘Do I really need to look at it first thing in the morning?’

Higgins, a qualified barrister, said that she has almost completed a new cyber bullying Bill that proposes more serious punishments for online trolls.

She noted that she has always had an interest in cyber bullying but became more involved in the area when victims contacted her after she was bullied herself.

The Senator said that having a debate online is fine but “trying to degrade me and humiliate me is not the way to do it”.

I’m not talking about people expressing their opinion, I’m talking about direct threats.
There has to be deterrent and sanctions for people.

Higgins stated that if the harassment had taken place in public, the perpetrators would have been arrested.

She added that when she contacted the people who had threatened her directly, they were “cowardly” and didn’t want to talk.

Legal framework

In late 2013, the then Communications Minister Pat Rabbitte set up the Internet Content Governance Advisory Group to report to him on a range of issues related to online content.

The group made a range of recommendations in June 2014, including that the Communications Regulation Act be amended to include ‘electronic communications’ deemed “grossly offensive, indecent, obscene or menacing”. An implementation group was set up by the Government in July and will report back by the end of the year.

At present, the Law Reform Commission is also reviewing online-related issues such as cyber bullying.

Labour TD: Internet trolls are cowards and should get up to two years in prison

Ask.fm is planning to move to Ireland and at least one minister isn’t happy

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

93 Comments
    Mute Sam Bartell
    Favourite Sam Bartell
    Nov 18th 2014, 4:06 PM

Is this the same one that had a photoshoped pigs nose on a picture of MEP Ming Flanagan?

Mute Superfriends
    Favourite Superfriends
    Nov 18th 2014, 4:29 PM

But she has a to be a victim. So sayeth the pc police

Mute Stephen Fitzpatrick
    Favourite Stephen Fitzpatrick
    Nov 18th 2014, 5:55 PM

Turkey head =/= death threats

Mute tom murphy
    Favourite tom murphy
    Nov 18th 2014, 8:10 PM

Higgins
    You’re a waste of space

Mute Paul Roche
    Favourite Paul Roche
    Nov 18th 2014, 8:19 PM

Stephen, how can you say that so close to Christmas?

Mute galway2007
    Favourite galway2007
    Nov 18th 2014, 8:46 PM

Moan moan moan

Mute Martin Byrne
    Favourite Martin Byrne
    Nov 24th 2014, 1:39 PM

There must b no straws left with Labour and Fine Gael grasping at them. Must not be any
    ” Reasonable people ” left in Ireland to listen to their lies and exaggerating about every little thing, someone curses and someone throws a water balloon and they government shouts ISIS terrorists riot, and calls in the riot squad and the helicopters. The state throws Irish citizens around the streets spray children with pepper spray beat the legs off pensioners artists teachers farmers and fishermen in the Corrib and the state and the Taoiseach complement the Gardaí for their restraint. We are the ones showing the restraint. The 2nd Republic is coming…….. the reasonable people are bringing it to your door.

Mute Nigel O'Neill
    Favourite Nigel O'Neill
    Nov 18th 2014, 4:15 PM

Death Threats and some comments are definitely to be condemed!

Lorraine doesnt like constructive criticism also, however and from any of her TV appearances, she has shown that on a scale of 1 to 10, her likability rating would not even register on the scale!!!

Mute youknowimright
    Favourite youknowimright
    Nov 18th 2014, 3:54 PM

Another form of “peaceful protest”. Disgusting, sub human behaviour

Mute Scarr
    Favourite Scarr
    Nov 18th 2014, 4:54 PM

U wot m8?

Mute Joe
    Favourite Joe
    Nov 18th 2014, 6:34 PM

Interesting the number of red thumbs you got. Looney left.

Mute Lamb
    Favourite Lamb
    Nov 18th 2014, 9:51 PM

If protesters wish to escalate things out of frustration that the Government has not yet broken up Irish Water or called a general election, threats are violence are not the way. Protesters should be targeting the infrastructure that FG/Lab politicians use. Make it difficult for them to use their constituency offices or attend meetings or attend Leinster house or whatever. If you have information that is damaging, share it with the media.Make them ineffective at whatever it is they want to do, they will get stressed out and give up. Frustrating them is ok, harassment is not.

Mute Havardi
    Favourite Havardi
    Nov 18th 2014, 4:52 PM

I find it insulting that after we made it clear in the European elections that we didn’t want her representing us in any capacity, she got a cushy job in the seanad courtesy of mr kenny. I think the taoiseachs ability to put several people in the seanad without the people having any say is very undemocratic. As for her feelings I think our money will certainly more than pay for the counselling she’ll need for the stress this has caused. I’m willing to take her salary for a few online insults and threats any day.

Mute Thierry Rat
    Favourite Thierry Rat
    Nov 18th 2014, 5:03 PM

Havardi welcome to the illusion of democracy, it’s really a pick a red, green or blue dictator.. But that would be an insult to most dictators as usually even though they are ruthless they usually care about their country and its citizens

Mute Bran O Regan
    Favourite Bran O Regan
    Nov 18th 2014, 11:59 PM

As the “upper” house through point of it is that it isn’t elected by the general population…..

Mute Cáit Ní Fíach Tiríal
    Favourite Cáit Ní Fíach Tiríal
    Nov 19th 2014, 12:29 AM

Yes she gets a senators wage 65k, extra Leaders allowance 25k and on top of that over 3k a month expenses.
    Niiiiiice
    And Barristers can get a thousand euros a day per client when they go to court. AS WELL.

Now if one were to speak cynically, one would consider this storm in a teacu quite a coincidence. Especially that the Very one beavering away as Endas lapdog to censor social media has, a week later, had this problem and HAD to close her SOCIAL MEDIA ACCOUNT.
    I’m not a betting woman, but what are the odds?

Mute Ben Dover
    Favourite Ben Dover
    Nov 18th 2014, 3:59 PM

I’m all out of sympathy .Sorry.

Mute PicassoRepublic
    Favourite PicassoRepublic
    Nov 18th 2014, 4:12 PM

Aaahhhhaaa !!!!! figured it out.

She is a Senator – Yes

Well the facebook poster wasn’t the btightest and clearly became confused between “abolished” and “aborted”.

Mute SeanieRyan
    Favourite SeanieRyan
    Nov 18th 2014, 4:22 PM

Now that is a good point.

People are gone beyond giving a toss when it comes to politicians.

Mute Philip Kenna
    Favourite Philip Kenna
    Nov 18th 2014, 5:40 PM

Pushers, pimps and politicians!
    Kinda trips off the tongue!

Mute Gaius Gracchus
    Favourite Gaius Gracchus
    Nov 18th 2014, 3:57 PM

How stupid do Labour think we are,they’re all lining up like ducks each day quacking about victimisation and Internet trolls,the truth is they don’t like what they can’t control,the Internet is not RTÉ and the newspapers,Erdogan in Turkey tried and failed to censor online discourse so knock yourself out Lorraine. P.S. We remember your appalling recent election campaign

Mute Scarr
    Favourite Scarr
    Nov 18th 2014, 5:06 PM

Lorraine has some kind of anti-charisma, as demonstrated in her recent campaign. Though I’m sure we’d all agree that those who post abuse on fb pages are morons.

Mute Gaius Gracchus
    Favourite Gaius Gracchus
    Nov 18th 2014, 5:37 PM

Personal abuse is always wrong,some people just earn a little less sympathy than others

Mute Pat Mustard
    Favourite Pat Mustard
    Nov 18th 2014, 3:59 PM

Is she trying to get our sympathy? Go on any SF TD’s twitter or facebook pages and they comments like this thrown at them every day of the week yet I never hear them complaining about the abuse.

Mute Danny McLaughlin
    Favourite Danny McLaughlin
    Nov 18th 2014, 4:48 PM

Does that make it okay?

Mute Adam Walsh
    Favourite Adam Walsh
    Nov 18th 2014, 3:56 PM

And these protests are about water ? Could of fooled me, vile behaviour by vile human beings !

Mute SeanieRyan
    Favourite SeanieRyan
    Nov 18th 2014, 4:00 PM

No, broadly it is a rage at decades of Irish Govt’s treating the state as a target for looting and public jobs and contracts.

The Irish Water fiasco just happened to be the tipping point.

The above kind of behaviour isn’t on.

Mute David Burke
    Favourite David Burke
    Nov 18th 2014, 4:05 PM

Ah Seanie it was your party which caused the issue.

Nearly all contracts go out to tender now. It’s EU policy.

Mute Pete Foley
    Favourite Pete Foley
    Nov 18th 2014, 4:07 PM

Nearly ?

Mute Brendan McGill
    Favourite Brendan McGill
    Nov 18th 2014, 4:12 PM

I believe Seanie has seen the light and his allegiances don’t lie there anymore, so it’s disingenuous to call Fianna Fáil his party.

Mute Denis Reidy
    Favourite Denis Reidy
    Nov 18th 2014, 4:24 PM

David Burke, yea just ask DOB, he knows how that works

Mute SeanieRyan
    Favourite SeanieRyan
    Nov 18th 2014, 4:25 PM

I once was lost but now am found.

Mute Donal Costello
    Favourite Donal Costello
    Nov 18th 2014, 4:45 PM

Seanie has had such a huge transformation over the past 6 months.

I propose a tv3 documentary about it

Mute Scarr
    Favourite Scarr
    Nov 18th 2014, 5:04 PM

FG youth wing in full-effect on the journal today. How are you, lads?

Mute Brendan McGill
    Favourite Brendan McGill
    Nov 18th 2014, 6:06 PM

I respect Seanie immensely for that

Mute Barry Humphreys
    Favourite Barry Humphreys
    Nov 18th 2014, 6:53 PM

Seannie is Fianna Fáil through and through, so it goes without saying I don’t believe him.

Mute Paul Roche
    Favourite Paul Roche
    Nov 18th 2014, 8:17 PM

I appreciate the fact that Seanie can be loyal to his idea of the party he supports, which includes his criticism of its failing leadership, while the YFG and Labour douchebags still can’t get their heads around the concept of “realisation”.

Mute Adam Walsh
    Favourite Adam Walsh
    Nov 18th 2014, 8:26 PM

Who want realisation okay let’s break it down ?

• Trapping a woman in her car while terrorising her and physically yes physically attacking her is not real ?

• Threatening women at their workplace by threatening to bomb it is not real ?

• Threatening to protest outside a mans family home and terrorising his family is not real ?

So back off with your idiotic dumbfounded comment about us “Young” not being real your a grown man and you can’t see that this behaviour is barbaric and must not continue or someone is going to get hurt……. And I’m not taking paper cuts !

Mute Paul Roche
    Favourite Paul Roche
    Nov 18th 2014, 8:38 PM

You’re ok with “douchebag” – Or perhaps you want realisation?

Mute Randle P McMurphy
    Favourite Randle P McMurphy
    Nov 18th 2014, 4:13 PM

So Did Lorraine ‘ not another turkey in the Dail/Senate’ lose in the election and then got a Senators seat or…?

Mute Timmy Sharpe
    Favourite Timmy Sharpe
    Nov 18th 2014, 4:01 PM

This government would love to silence everyone if they could.What a load of nonsense we are to believe politicians are so sensitive words hurt them.Try walking through Dublin and having a real look at what children are wearing and have a smell of the older people who can’t afford to wash their clothes.I have a few words I’d like to call labour politicians too.

Mute Inntalitarian
    Favourite Inntalitarian
    Nov 18th 2014, 4:11 PM

This is why you can block people on social networking sites.

If the government gets its way and brings in an “anti-trolling” Bill it will be a breach on everyone’s basic right to free speech.

Mute Ho Lee Fuk
    Favourite Ho Lee Fuk
    Nov 18th 2014, 4:33 PM

She’s like an ex-smoker giving out about smokers

Mute duisigheire
    Favourite duisigheire
    Nov 18th 2014, 4:45 PM

If this means that the journal will stop reporting on Lorraine then that’s a result in my book.

Mute Alan Scott
    Favourite Alan Scott
    Nov 18th 2014, 4:21 PM

I don’t subscribe to any comments like the one mentioned it’s inexcusable but if they think they have it bad now wait till the General election now that is one I will subscribe to I am waiting patently for that day to come

Mute Andrew Nolan
    Favourite Andrew Nolan
    Nov 18th 2014, 5:20 PM

Yes the General election where the worst outcome for the current Government is to end up in opposition with the same salaries and perks and none of the responsibilities. Hardly a punishment now, is it?

Mute Robin Tobin
    Favourite Robin Tobin
    Nov 18th 2014, 10:40 PM

I think this anger was avoidable if the government (worst one in the history of the state) listened to the people who are homeless, hungry , out of work . We are waiting for the deal Noonan and Kenny said were getting back from Europe . What about all the tax in take where is all this money going?

No answers from government not listening so people got angry . If you are in government on €92,000 a year plus expenses and have a thick skin to step over impoverished people and be greedy by taking expenses as a politician you should have the same thick skin for the abuse some electorate release at you.

Don’t worry labour and Fine Gael finished in Ireland.

Mute Keith Nolan
    Favourite Keith Nolan
    Nov 18th 2014, 4:28 PM

It’s 2014, were no longer limited to shouting c*** at the TV

Mute David Jordan
    Favourite David Jordan
    Nov 18th 2014, 5:15 PM

School children get cyberbullied so bad they kill themselves, the state does nothing, Labour appointee gets some abuse and its break out the thought police.

Mute tom murphy
    Favourite tom murphy
    Nov 18th 2014, 4:44 PM

Labour Higgins
    Your a traitor to your country i have no sympathy for you. I’m all out of sympathy for this government.

Mute Martin Hayes
    Favourite Martin Hayes
    Nov 18th 2014, 4:44 PM

Where in the article are these threats linked to water protests. All these government lackeys and their associated trolls are trying to do is to discredit the genuine grievances of the water protests. Anybody on Facebook can make threats, they can even be engineered. This government has set out on a course of silencing protest, be it by manufacturing trolls and supposed threats or by attempting to censor social media. Shower of fascists.

Mute Daniel Heath
    Favourite Daniel Heath
    Nov 18th 2014, 5:12 PM

This is the same individual who photoshopped dustin the turkeys head onto a picture of Luke Flanagan MEP. Then used it in her election campaign. Enough said. I leave you to draw your own conclusions.

Mute thetruth
    Favourite thetruth
    Nov 18th 2014, 3:58 PM

Not on in fairness

Mute Ben Dover
    Favourite Ben Dover
    Nov 18th 2014, 4:01 PM

It’s a community page..You can block people ..

Mute Pól Mag Shamhrain
    Favourite Pól Mag Shamhrain
    Nov 18th 2014, 4:46 PM

Absolutely shameful that any person could submit people to this abuse. In no way is this right but Higgins has to remember that it was only 4 years ago when her party and Fine Gael were doing the same to Fianna Fáil by making comments in the media. The Presidential Election there was also a very dirty campaign and a lot of dirty things were thrown around to get Michael Dee in.

Mute Adam Hurley
    Favourite Adam Hurley
    Nov 18th 2014, 4:00 PM

Same Senator who was threatened during the elections with “a hatchet to the head”. These trolls are unbelievable.

Mute Pat Mustard
    Favourite Pat Mustard
    Nov 18th 2014, 4:07 PM

Same senator who resorted to childish attacks on Ming during that election. As Pontius pointed out above she did plenty of trolling herself during that election campaign!

http://www.thejournal.ie/luke-ming-flanagan-lorraine-higgins-twitter-facebook-post-turkey-1453665-May2014/

Mute Hugh Cavanagh
    Favourite Hugh Cavanagh
    Nov 18th 2014, 4:09 PM

Adam
    You cannot use the term troll for these individuals. They are psychopathic I divi duals who require either compulsory psychiatric teeatment or prison time.

Mute Ben Dover
    Favourite Ben Dover
    Nov 18th 2014, 4:19 PM

Richard

What are you trying to say ? Have they increased the meds?!

Mute CreditTiger
    Favourite CreditTiger
    Nov 18th 2014, 4:32 PM

So sayeth Hugh Ritchie ‘Bucks’ Rogers Cavanagh, spouting his unique brand of inane, condescending, conformist claptrap, all the way from the Great White North or thereaboots…..!!

Mute LesBehan
    Favourite LesBehan
    Nov 18th 2014, 4:40 PM

You know things are messed up when Dick Rodgers is giving advice on psychiatric issues.

Mute Sean Spillane
    Favourite Sean Spillane
    Nov 18th 2014, 5:55 PM

Who is this failed politician? She sounds abysmal.

Mute Greg
    Favourite Greg
    Nov 18th 2014, 4:06 PM

So now it’s ok to act like a thug, as long as it’s a protest

Mute Coco McDee
    Favourite Coco McDee
    Nov 18th 2014, 7:45 PM

All politicians very keen on Internet censorship, I wonder why ? I suppose we would all be fine we can get our news from RTE and Newstalk and Independent newspapers.

Mute Dermot Mc Loughlin
    Favourite Dermot Mc Loughlin
    Nov 18th 2014, 7:52 PM

Isn’t she the unelected senator who said anyone who disliked her arrogance was anti democratic?

Mute Caoimhin O Hailpin
    Favourite Caoimhin O Hailpin
    Nov 18th 2014, 7:46 PM

Lorraine who was appointed to the senate and then polled miserably in the Euro Election should be well aware that people are angry with the Labour party and people express that online and elsewhere,,,the vast majority of people do not threaten or post vile personal abuse which of course is always wrong…….

Mute Glen Carroll
    Favourite Glen Carroll
    Nov 18th 2014, 5:16 PM

They are all polidicks!

Mute Thomas Mac
    Favourite Thomas Mac
    Nov 18th 2014, 4:41 PM

People just communicate in many different ways

Mute Heliolight
    Favourite Heliolight
    Nov 18th 2014, 4:55 PM

.. / … ..- .–. .–. — … . / – …. . -.– / -.. —

Mute Heliolight
    Favourite Heliolight
    Nov 18th 2014, 4:29 PM

Internet zombies who puke vitriol all over anti-social media and the now unreadable/boring comments sections should be shown patience and understanding. Poor feckers are trying to compensate or vent for some want in their own lives. If you can’t be civilised ask yourself why.

Mute Conor Murray
    Favourite Conor Murray
    Nov 18th 2014, 4:05 PM

What are the current laws on this kind o thing out of interest? I know from Stan Collymore’s twitter he screengrabs abuse and reports to the police. The punishment should be the equivalent of whatever the law says regarding abusive behaviour in public.

Mute Alan Scott
    Favourite Alan Scott
    Nov 18th 2014, 4:27 PM

It’s just thuggish behavior and it’s unacceptable. Lot of thugs are marching in this protest only to start trouble if some of these thugs were asked what the protest was about they would not know

Mute Joseph Nolan
    Favourite Joseph Nolan
    Nov 18th 2014, 5:12 PM

here some real news I hate xmas

Mute Glen Carroll
    Favourite Glen Carroll
    Nov 18th 2014, 5:18 PM

you mean the winter solstice :-)

Mute Ciaran Burke
    Favourite Ciaran Burke
    Nov 18th 2014, 6:52 PM

I am no labor supporter in fact I hate the f**kers, but that is out of order if you have a grievance air it with some dignity.

Mute John Deane
    Favourite John Deane
    Nov 18th 2014, 5:40 PM

The protestors are acting like thugs now.

Mute Traolach O'Breasail
    Favourite Traolach O'Breasail
    Nov 18th 2014, 11:19 PM

Get a grip, look what the police did to Clare Daly, pulled her in illegal for drink driving??? resign labour traitor

Mute alan harney
    Favourite alan harney
    Nov 18th 2014, 5:53 PM

So typical. Women who express an opinion in public are always subject to the worst of abuse. And people say we don’t need feminism!

Mute K.J. Lane
    Favourite K.J. Lane
    Nov 18th 2014, 7:36 PM

Irish society is now breaking down into those who believe in standards in society and the rule of law and the opposite side who think anything is acceptable in the name of ‘protest’. Let battle commence.

Mute Martin O' Neill
    Favourite Martin O' Neill
    Nov 18th 2014, 8:15 PM

Absolute ignorant neanderthal cowards leaving messages like that!

Mute Klark Quent
    Favourite Klark Quent
    Nov 19th 2014, 7:19 AM

Ever since this woman was caught out for bullying luke Flanagan she has been playing victim.

Mute Niall
    Favourite Niall
    Nov 18th 2014, 11:43 PM

These anti-water charge people are going way too far. Sending someone such horrible messages is abominable and disgusting and those responsible are disgraceful.

Mute dingle berry
    Favourite dingle berry
    Nov 24th 2014, 11:03 PM

What a bunch of drama queens!

Mute Sadista Raven
    Favourite Sadista Raven
    Nov 24th 2014, 6:55 PM

It’s crazy how politicians take comments fueled by frustration/discontent so seriously. EVERYONE who puts themselves in the public eye via the internet opens themselves up to abuse and trolling, the smart ones don’t whine about it, ignore it and just get on with whatever they normally do.

Mute Andrew Dissident Cross
    Favourite Andrew Dissident Cross
    Nov 20th 2014, 2:09 AM

IF I was a labour senator or T.D , I would want to delete myself to ,Sorry I have little sympathy for those that sell their principles for a seat ,Shame on those that support austerity on the Irish people ,Water tax is the latest con ,