You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

File image of the EuroMillions. Niall Carson/PA

At last: the EuroMillions winner has just claimed their €94m winnings

The lucky son of a gun was one of two people who matched five numbers and two stars in the EuroMillions lotto draw last Tuesday.

Updated 4.15pm

NINE DAYS LATER and the Irish person who won the cool €93,968,807 has today claimed their prize.

The winner has become Ireland’s 96th richest person and has decided to remain anonymous but did issue a brief comment in a statement from the National Lottery.

“I’m absolutely thrilled. Dreams do come true! The news is still sinking in so for the moment I’d like to keep the win private,” they said. “I’m looking forward to thinking about all the opportunities that are now open to me. It’s a really exciting time!”

The National Lottery will release the name of the winning ticket selling store at a later date.

The lucky son of a gun was one of two people who matched five numbers and two stars in the EuroMillions lotto draw last Tuesday, 25 June.

Earlier, Eamon Hughes, the National Lottery claims manager said that he met with the winner(s) last Wednesday, a day after the draw, to verify the ticket.

A Lotto spokesperson told TheJournal.ie that the winner(s) had to come “in person to the National Lottery headquarters on Lower Abbey Street, Dublin” where they will be given a cheque for almost €94 million.

The National Lottery spokesperson also rubbished the claim that the winner will have to pay more to stay private, saying: “It’s entirely up to them, but there’s no financial benefit to go public. That is not the case at all.”

- additional reporting Hugh O’Connell

First published 12.48

Read: Have you won €93m in the EuroMillions?>

More: It (probably) wasn’t you: the €93m Euromillions winner has come forward>

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

68 Comments
    Mute Paula Comiskey
    Favourite Paula Comiskey
    Oct 9th 2017, 9:42 PM

They won’t won’t me. I only have €50
    In my account

Mute alan nolan
    Favourite alan nolan
    Oct 9th 2017, 9:46 PM

@Paula Comiskey: our lads would settle for a bit of change in the basket on Sunday mass

Mute Tweety McTweeter
    Favourite Tweety McTweeter
    Oct 9th 2017, 9:56 PM

@alan nolan:

That’s salvation we can all afford.
    Scientology is the M&S of the religions, Catholicism is the Aldi.

Mute Guill Ire
    Favourite Guill Ire
    Oct 9th 2017, 9:58 PM

Wtf is wrong with Aldi??

Mute Stephen murphy
    Favourite Stephen murphy
    Oct 9th 2017, 10:22 PM

@Tweety McTweeter: You should have said, the pigs a**e of Religion.

Mute Stephen murphy
    Favourite Stephen murphy
    Oct 9th 2017, 10:26 PM

@Paula Comiskey: Your safe, it’ll be mostly rte staff and TD’s.

Mute Kieran W
    Favourite Kieran W
    Oct 10th 2017, 12:09 AM

@Paula Comiskey: here’s an idea for the government, let’s tax the various religions on a land tax basis? Just a suggestion. Don’t eat me alive here.

Mute DeFonz
    Favourite DeFonz
    Oct 10th 2017, 4:06 AM

@Guill Ire: ALorDIe

Mute Sean Conway
    Favourite Sean Conway
    Oct 10th 2017, 2:13 PM

@alan nolan: Where they invested it in land and wont part with it. no matter how bad the housing crises gets.

how christian of them.

Mute ads2⃣️0⃣️1⃣️0⃣️1⃣️
    Favourite ads2⃣️0⃣️1⃣️0⃣️1⃣️
    Oct 9th 2017, 9:52 PM

How is this still a thing ………

Mute Gulliver Foyle
    Favourite Gulliver Foyle
    Oct 9th 2017, 10:09 PM

@ads2⃣️0⃣️1⃣️0⃣️1⃣️: religion, or just this one? I know!

Mute Richard Sweeney
    Favourite Richard Sweeney
    Oct 9th 2017, 10:16 PM

@Gulliver Foyle: Any one. All a bit mad isn’t it.

Mute Dave Hammond
    Favourite Dave Hammond
    Oct 10th 2017, 9:51 AM

@Richard Sweeney: finally a religion I can follow , hand over money , learn about fictional stories written by a who had man who had mental issues and when he was a science fiction writer said that the best way to make money would be to start a religion , so did , and so here we are , is there really people I Ireland stupid enough to try them ? I know the answer .

Mute Daniel O'Neill
    Favourite Daniel O'Neill
    Oct 9th 2017, 10:02 PM

Go sell crazy somewhere else….we’re all stocked up here!

Mute David Huston
    Favourite David Huston
    Oct 9th 2017, 10:39 PM

@Daniel O’Neill: I smell wee.

Mute Robert T Pooner
    Favourite Robert T Pooner
    Oct 9th 2017, 9:59 PM

Great! Just what this country needs if you ask me. More indoctrination in obviously fraudulent cults I say. Who needs science and reason wha? What’ve they ever done for us?

Mute Tommy Roche
    Favourite Tommy Roche
    Oct 9th 2017, 10:17 PM

@Robert T Pooner: Maybe use your free will and give the place a miss then ? Best anti-indoctrination advice I can give.

Mute Robert T Pooner
    Favourite Robert T Pooner
    Oct 9th 2017, 10:42 PM

@Tommy Roche: I intend to. I will also be warning my children about movements like these when they’re a bit older.

Mute Paddy Hayden
    Favourite Paddy Hayden
    Oct 9th 2017, 10:25 PM

A cult which acts like quick sand , Scientology . Don’t mind the movie stars , they get the unpaid slaves to make their life a dream for them . This organization should be banned or at least monitored by the Gardai .

Mute Martin Flood
    Favourite Martin Flood
    Oct 10th 2017, 3:29 AM

@Paddy Hayden: It’s no worse than any other organised religion in the state. If people choose to dedicate their time and money to some fictitious gombeen in the sky/ground let them at it. I laugh at them. I laugh very hard.

Mute Johnno Byrne
    Favourite Johnno Byrne
    Oct 10th 2017, 3:34 AM

@Martin Flood: it’s a lot worse. There’s a lot of documentaries out there to watch. A lot of other churches have a bad history but this is one that is allowed to exist through intimidation and fear

Mute Ne
    Favourite Ne
    Oct 10th 2017, 7:34 AM

@Martin Flood: Oh well that’s all right then.

Mute Colin Morris
    Favourite Colin Morris
    Oct 10th 2017, 8:30 AM

@Martin Flood: it is a lot worse than most religions.

Even the slightest bit of research shows wgat

Mute Gerard Heery
    Favourite Gerard Heery
    Oct 10th 2017, 9:26 AM

@Paddy Hayden: tax em see how long they hang around for

Mute Sally Alcot
    Favourite Sally Alcot
    Oct 14th 2017, 12:08 AM

@Martin Flood: Please don’t be so naive. They will destroy your city and I’m not talking about the religion. I’m talking about the other centers they have here in Florida.

Mute Johnno Byrne
    Favourite Johnno Byrne
    Oct 9th 2017, 10:13 PM

A dangerous cult. How are we ignoring their human rights abuses.?

Mute David On Tour
    Favourite David On Tour
    Oct 9th 2017, 10:40 PM

@Johnno Byrne: In fairness many of the Catholic Church’s human rights abuses have been exposed. But yes they’re certainly still a dangerous cult.

Mute john g mcgrath
    Favourite john g mcgrath
    Oct 9th 2017, 10:45 PM

@Johnno Byrne: FG?

Mute Johnno Byrne
    Favourite Johnno Byrne
    Oct 10th 2017, 3:32 AM

@David On Tour: what’s this got to do with the Catholic Church? A history of abuse from one organisation doesn’t mean we should turn a blind eye to this one. This is a “religion” based on emotional abuse and deception. It exists solely to turn a profit for its leader.

Mute David On Tour
    Favourite David On Tour
    Oct 10th 2017, 11:15 AM

@Johnno Byrne: As do all religious organisations, with side orders of control, abuse, misogyny, homophobia and deceit.

Mute Stephen murphy
    Favourite Stephen murphy
    Oct 9th 2017, 10:24 PM

Looking forward to Religion, being banned in public and restricted to home or church.

Mute Ally
    Favourite Ally
    Oct 10th 2017, 12:05 AM

@Stephen murphy: you must be hoping to live a long time, doing you’ll see that.

Mute Ally
    Favourite Ally
    Oct 10th 2017, 12:06 AM

@Ally: doubt*

Mute Colin Morris
    Favourite Colin Morris
    Oct 10th 2017, 12:24 AM

According to Scientology, about 75 billion years ago an alien overlord called Xenu sent billions of aliens called thetans to earth and lodged them in massive exploding volcanos. These days all our bodies are made up of millions of thetans.
    Scientology helps you control these.
    The ‘religion’ was invented by a failed sci-fi writer called L Ron Hubbard, as a means of self-treating his serious psychiatric illness.
    These days it’s controlled by David Miscavige – an allegedly violent abusive man.
    Current estimates put church membership worldwide at 25,000.
    It’s worth $3 billion.
    This centre will never be used – the cult has to spend its cash to avoid losing its tax free status in the US.

Watch Leah Remini’s show ‘Scientology and the aftermath’.
    Scientology is a terrifying cult.

Mute DeFonz
    Favourite DeFonz
    Oct 10th 2017, 4:23 AM

@Colin Morris:

Still Lord Xenu could be useful on those days when a talking snake or a zombie just aren’t crazy enough ..

Mute DeFonz
    Favourite DeFonz
    Oct 10th 2017, 4:27 AM

@DeFonz: I get the bit about the volcanic thetans, especially in the stomach after a bad pint or two..

Mute Rex Banner
    Favourite Rex Banner
    Oct 9th 2017, 9:59 PM

It will be the Pastafarians next (google it)

Mute Gulliver Foyle
    Favourite Gulliver Foyle
    Oct 9th 2017, 10:11 PM

@Rex Banner: hey… We’ve been here for years! Ramen!

Mute Dermot Lane
    Favourite Dermot Lane
    Oct 9th 2017, 10:31 PM

@Gulliver Foyle: blessed be his noodley goodness!

Mute Rex Banner
    Favourite Rex Banner
    Oct 9th 2017, 10:33 PM

@Gulliver Foyle: haha. Well its more believable than a genie that lives in the clouds granting wishes. And his zombie son.

Mute The Risen
    Favourite The Risen
    Oct 9th 2017, 11:03 PM

@Rex Banner: Leave the FSM alone. He boiled for your sins.

Mute bopter
    Favourite bopter
    Oct 10th 2017, 8:51 AM

We are al touched by his noodly appendage. Ramen.

Mute Derek Walsh
    Favourite Derek Walsh
    Oct 10th 2017, 10:44 AM

@Rex Banner: Advertising to the 2016 Census there are more Pastafarians (92) in Ireland than Scientologists (87).

It’s not clear why the 87 Scientologists need such a large centre.

Mute Dave Byrne
    Favourite Dave Byrne
    Oct 9th 2017, 10:14 PM

Ah these lads use to wreck me head when I was a young lad waiting on the bus asking me if be in to doing some survey.

Mute The Risen
    Favourite The Risen
    Oct 9th 2017, 11:10 PM

That kip in Abbey Street with the L ron hubbard books in the window?

Mute ian kennedy
    Favourite ian kennedy
    Oct 9th 2017, 10:15 PM

NANU NANU

Mute Ken Pepper
    Favourite Ken Pepper
    Oct 9th 2017, 11:23 PM

Just saw tom cruise fly over the square in a spaceship

Mute A H
    Favourite A H
    Oct 10th 2017, 4:09 AM

@Ken Pepper: are u sure that wasn’t just The Square? Looks a bit like a spaceship from a cheap 60′s movie

Mute The Risen
    Favourite The Risen
    Oct 9th 2017, 11:04 PM

If you haven’t watched already, Leah Riminis series on scientology is well worth your time. Its nuts.

Mute johninokinawa
    Favourite johninokinawa
    Oct 13th 2017, 11:08 AM

@The Risen: Nuts it is. Utter crap. But, funnily enough, it’s pulling in people like nobody’s business. That’s why the new org in Firhouse. There are new orgs going up everywhere. There are so many new people coming in.

Mute Wikl
    Favourite Wikl
    Oct 9th 2017, 10:19 PM

Setting up Hulkism if anyone’s interested? In the name of the Banner, Red Hulk and the Virgin Betty, Smash be with you.

Mute Y U no spell good?
    Favourite Y U no spell good?
    Oct 9th 2017, 11:02 PM

@Wikl: what about Hogan?

Mute Fiona deFreyne
    Favourite Fiona deFreyne
    Oct 9th 2017, 10:32 PM

Man invented the Gods. Without man, there can be no gods.

Mute Paddy Hayden
    Favourite Paddy Hayden
    Oct 9th 2017, 11:09 PM

@Fiona deFreyne: They don’t have any gods , with them it’s aliens flying inter galactic DC8′s and Thetans in volcanoes . And signing up for a Billion year contract that if you break it , they’ll sue your ass into the ground.

Mute Paul Winter
    Favourite Paul Winter
    Oct 9th 2017, 10:07 PM

Dudeism 4 me

Mute Kieran Stafford
    Favourite Kieran Stafford
    Oct 9th 2017, 10:12 PM

@Paul Winter: white russian??

Mute Stephen Whelan
    Favourite Stephen Whelan
    Oct 10th 2017, 12:04 PM

@Kieran Stafford: Yes, I like the sound of that bag. Chanting the mantra: “the dude abides….”.

Mute Matt F
    Favourite Matt F
    Oct 9th 2017, 10:58 PM

And, I for one welcome our new imsect overlords

Mute John Dman
    Favourite John Dman
    Oct 9th 2017, 10:22 PM

As long as there not raping kids, selling them to America, or murdering and burying babies in a sewerage tank, what’s the harm?

Mute Dermot Quigley
    Favourite Dermot Quigley
    Oct 9th 2017, 11:56 PM

@John Dman: Well said, but you just can’t open alot of peoples minds to the madness we’ve been living with since we liberated our souls from the Protestant yoke.

Mute Johnno Byrne
    Favourite Johnno Byrne
    Oct 10th 2017, 3:38 AM

@John Dman: because that’s the only way people can be harmed? Fair enough if you have views or opinions on the Catholic Church or other beliefs, but that doesn’t make this “religions” behaviour towards members and critics any more acceptable. Their behaviour is downright despicable

Mute Wikl
    Favourite Wikl
    Oct 9th 2017, 10:18 PM

they’re just letting anyone in these days…..

Mute alan nolan
    Favourite alan nolan
    Oct 9th 2017, 9:43 PM

Seem to be a fairly upbeat bunch of lads..not as rich as our lads though

Mute Dermot Quigley
    Favourite Dermot Quigley
    Oct 9th 2017, 11:50 PM

Firhouse & Scientology. Am I missing someting ?

Mute johninokinawa
    Favourite johninokinawa
    Oct 13th 2017, 11:02 AM

@Dermot Quigley: Dermot, it looks like you are missing something. So am I, reading your comment. What are you saying?

Mute Tristan Rowntree
    Favourite Tristan Rowntree
    Oct 9th 2017, 9:54 PM

Céad míle fáilte

Mute Gillian Carroll Bouse
    Favourite Gillian Carroll Bouse
    Oct 9th 2017, 10:50 PM

Here come the crazies

Mute JJ O Riordan
    Favourite JJ O Riordan
    Oct 9th 2017, 11:22 PM

@Gillian Carroll Bouse: the crazies have been here for centuries. The only difference is that it’s Xenu and not Jehovah.

Mute johninokinawa
    Favourite johninokinawa
    Oct 13th 2017, 11:04 AM

@Gillian Carroll Bouse: Yeah. They always come out whenever Scientology is in the headlines. They usually substitute dollar signs for S’s and copy and paste garbled comments based on someone or other’s confused assumption several decades ago.

Mute Leitrim303
    Favourite Leitrim303
    Oct 9th 2017, 10:24 PM

they should change its name to bullsh!tology

Mute DaisyChainsaw
    Favourite DaisyChainsaw
    Oct 9th 2017, 10:53 PM

@Leitrim303: Sure they’re all that!

Mute Matt Shallow
    Favourite Matt Shallow
    Oct 9th 2017, 10:11 PM

Great for jobs. Best of luck!

Mute Peter
    Favourite Peter
    Oct 10th 2017, 7:52 AM

Last Saturday night they were getting delivery’s at about 1 am from 3 large unmarked trucks. Nothing wrong with getting delivery’s but why 1 in the morning.

Mute johninokinawa
    Favourite johninokinawa
    Oct 13th 2017, 11:00 AM

@Peter: Who cares? Perhaps they had a church service the next day – SUNDAY. What does it matter?

Mute Trevor Hayden
    Favourite Trevor Hayden
    Oct 10th 2017, 6:30 AM

Would you like a free personality test?
    Would you like to visit your dentist?
    Well pi€€ off then.
    Those loopers on abbey street used to do my head in.

Mute Treabhair Coulahan
    Favourite Treabhair Coulahan
    Oct 9th 2017, 10:48 PM

Can’t be any worse than the Catholic Church in fairness.

Mute Mairtín
    Favourite Mairtín
    Oct 9th 2017, 10:58 PM

@Treabhair Coulahan: Oh yes they are. They follow ex members around intimidating them, from making any derogatory remarks about their cult, and it is a cult; a cult is a movement that is secret, and follows the founding leader.!!

Mute JJ O Riordan
    Favourite JJ O Riordan
    Oct 9th 2017, 11:24 PM

@Mairtín: it’s all about scale. The catholic church has ruined the lives of millions more than scientology has. Islam nearly as much.

Mute Rob Cahill
    Favourite Rob Cahill
    Oct 10th 2017, 9:53 AM

@Mairtín: “They follow ex members around intimidating them”

Yeah well the catholic church block you from leaving now so ex members are not an issue for them. Also it’s a cult too, Just a bit bigger.

Mute Sally Alcot
    Favourite Sally Alcot
    Oct 14th 2017, 12:16 AM

@Treabhair Coulahan: it is. Just found this article in Twitter. I’m in Florida. If they come to your atea and stay you can say good-bye to any jobs around it. If there ate any jobs left get ready for low wages. Say good-bye to property values. Good luck trying to sell your home.

Mute Tony Stanley
    Favourite Tony Stanley
    Oct 10th 2017, 1:51 AM

Oooh maybe we’ll soon be able to get fresh placenta mince in Donnybrook Fare!

Mute MickeyC
    Favourite MickeyC
    Oct 10th 2017, 6:43 AM

Will Tom be cutting the ribbon?

Mute Ne
    Favourite Ne
    Oct 10th 2017, 7:37 AM

@MickeyC: No, he’ll be busy turning a blind eye to everything that goes on around him, moral vacuum that he is.

Mute Eric Gaffney
    Favourite Eric Gaffney
    Oct 10th 2017, 2:23 AM

Is Tommy turning up?

Mute Dublin Dubliner
    Favourite Dublin Dubliner
    Oct 10th 2017, 7:21 AM

@Eric Gaffney: Yeah….defo Tommy Tiernan for a good laugh.

Mute Dublin Dubliner
    Favourite Dublin Dubliner
    Oct 10th 2017, 7:25 AM

@Eric Gaffney: yeh Tommy Tiernan ….for a good laugh,how many seats has it got ?

Mute johninokinawa
    Favourite johninokinawa
    Oct 9th 2017, 11:38 PM

Good news. Scientology organisations opening up all over the place.

Mute Ger Murphy
    Favourite Ger Murphy
    Oct 10th 2017, 12:20 AM

Yes their jokers but at least they don’t blow people up

Mute Daithi De Roiste
    Favourite Daithi De Roiste
    Oct 10th 2017, 7:15 AM

Why let them set this cult up? Some disgrace!

Mute Ne
    Favourite Ne
    Oct 10th 2017, 7:33 AM

A disgusting cultists organisation, unless of course all of the people who got out and have opened up about it in great detail recently, including the father of their current leader, are lying.

Mute Ne
    Favourite Ne
    Oct 10th 2017, 7:36 AM

@Ne: *cultish

Mute johninokinawa
    Favourite johninokinawa
    Oct 13th 2017, 10:56 AM

Good news! New Scientology Orgs are going up everywhere! There has never been expansion as rapid as now. Must be something to do with Leah Rimini!

Mute Sally Alcot
    Favourite Sally Alcot
    Oct 14th 2017, 12:25 AM

If one of them approaches you do NOT take the personality test. If you are too curious do NOT give your real name or address. If you want to take a course, do NOT give your real name or address. They will hound you for years!
    Never speak badly or criticize them in person. You will get in a losing struggle. Trust me they will persecute you. Even if you’re just someone walking by and looking at the camera. They are vindictive.

Mute Conor Barry
    Favourite Conor Barry
    Oct 10th 2017, 11:48 AM

1300 seat! Well if they fill that there must be 1300 villages missing their idiots

Mute Sally Alcot
    Favourite Sally Alcot
    Oct 14th 2017, 12:04 AM

I’m in Florida and I can attest to you that scientology ruined what was once a nice area. Clearwater has almost no private businesses. No one other than scientology employees who earn so little they have government assistance. The city is trying so hard to get businesses back that they are paying people to try to open a shop in the area. You destroying your city. Those with money only spend it in the church or scientology owned shops. Now you’re also allowing Nation of Islam racists who believe white people are subservient to themselves and that the black members only will get taken away by aliens to their mother land. NOI are violent and incredibly segregated. You will regret this like so many of us have. You will have a multitude of empty shops with scientology posters outside were there might have been businesses there servicing the community. Don’t fall for the yellow shirts. We had Irma recently and a small tent was erected to hand out water and food. They handed out to a handful of people while taking pictures and left. Do not allow them into your community. There is no good to come from them.

Mute Jason Pigott
    Favourite Jason Pigott
    Oct 10th 2017, 5:29 PM

Shite bags

Mute Michelle Walsh
    Favourite Michelle Walsh
    Oct 11th 2017, 2:55 PM

This is not good! the Scientologi are against medicine and are therefore dangerours and harming, by not letting people get the right treatment!

Mute johninokinawa
    Favourite johninokinawa
    Oct 13th 2017, 10:57 AM

@Michelle Walsh: No, Scientologists are not against medicine. Don’t believe everything you read about Scientology on the internet. There is an MLO (medical liaison officer) in every Scientology Organisation.