You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Shutterstock/HomeArt

Yet MORE problems with the Lotto machines - hours before the big Saturday draw

Another technical glitch.

TERMINALS AT A number of National Lottery outlets went down yesterday – just hours before the Saturday night jackpot draw.

It follows similar problems in February – when a draw due to take place was suspended until the following day after a service outage related to the machines’ 3G telecommunications system.

There have been other, less serious, problems since.

A spokesperson for the National Lottery said the latest problem lasted two to three hours, and was fixed by 7.30pm last night.

“There was a minor service interruption to the National Lottery network yesterday,” a statement said.

“Premier Lotteries Ireland’s network monitoring systems immediately captured the incident and transferred over to the back-up system, restoring normal service.”

“A minority of agents also experienced some service interruption or slow connection speeds. The issue was resolved and all retailers are back online.”

The National Lottery extends its thanks to all retailers for their patience.

A report on the problem will be compiled, and handed over to the National Lottery, the spokesperson said.

No details were available on how many machines were affected – although it’s understood some machines in Waterford and Cork went down.

The previous fault, the first to affect the network in decades, was “related to the 3G telecommunications infrastructure provided by Telefónica,” the Lottery said.

Last night’s winning ticket – now worth €2 million – was sold at the Tesco at Donore Road, Drogheda. 

Read: Lotto cancelled until tomorrow after lottery machines go on the blink >

Poll: How often do you do the lotto? >

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

26 Comments
    Mute Niall Waters
    Favourite Niall Waters
    Feb 16th 2016, 8:37 PM

Impressive. A Hugh O’Connell article in which he didn’t quote one of his own Tweets as a source.

Mute Hugh O'Connell
    Favourite Hugh O'Connell
    Feb 16th 2016, 10:57 PM

Damn, forgot

Mute Seán O'Ceallaghan
    Favourite Seán O'Ceallaghan
    Feb 17th 2016, 10:01 AM

We would a farming county vote green? Would I be wrong to say they’d find ways to tax every penny they have due to emission produced by cattle

Mute Del Haven
    Favourite Del Haven
    Feb 16th 2016, 8:47 PM

There’s a village in Ireland called Emo? That’s so… like… you just wouldn’t understand. :(

Mute Báidín Fheilimí
    Favourite Báidín Fheilimí
    Feb 16th 2016, 9:29 PM

The sign going into it says WARNING Emo community alert. Not messing

Mute Dan Smith
    Favourite Dan Smith
    Feb 16th 2016, 10:21 PM

WARNING – Panic at the Disco ahead.

Mute Theresa O'Donohoe
    Favourite Theresa O'Donohoe
    Feb 17th 2016, 11:47 PM

Down the road from goth, next door to punk

Mute JohnWest
    Favourite JohnWest
    Feb 16th 2016, 8:35 PM

Thomasina, what a lovely name.

Mute Uncle Monty
    Favourite Uncle Monty
    Feb 16th 2016, 10:36 PM

Someone really wanted a boy.

Mute Pat O'Connell
    Favourite Pat O'Connell
    Feb 17th 2016, 12:02 AM

Not so actually. Thomasina had an older brother who died at a young age.

Mute Kevin M Smyth
    Favourite Kevin M Smyth
    Feb 17th 2016, 3:34 AM

Like Nigella, Georgina and Kevina, all the result of egotistical fathers. Wrecks my head.
    Bernadette is another one.

Thomasina is one for the books.

Mute Paddy Walsh
    Favourite Paddy Walsh
    Feb 16th 2016, 8:34 PM

Stupid article! Why does it matter if a constituency is boring or not? Lazy Journalism at its best….

Mute Not Neo, not Trinity
    Favourite Not Neo, not Trinity
    Feb 16th 2016, 8:43 PM

Headline is lazy, article quite informative.

Feb 16th 2016, 8:49 PM

It’s interesting to read the comments in fairness Paddy. Charlie from FG seems to think it’s all about the farmers. Hopefully come polling day he will get a rude awakening .

Mute Colm Moran
    Favourite Colm Moran
    Feb 16th 2016, 8:55 PM
    Mute gregory
    Favourite gregory
    Feb 16th 2016, 8:59 PM

Can we just clone stephen donnelly or get the IEI to provide some more brains #smartengineer :))

Mute Brinster
    Favourite Brinster
    Feb 16th 2016, 9:45 PM

@ Colm. That poll is bad for FG but worse for SF – down 3 points. And a TG4 poll has Ferris running 6th in Kerry – and would be 7th with any vote management by the Healy-Raes.

Mute Joe Travers
    Favourite Joe Travers
    Feb 16th 2016, 10:00 PM

@Kerry flanagan, Stanley and Fleming are nailed on seats, as the article, paddy power, Ivan yeats and noel whelan have said. That’s why it’s referred to as the most boring constituency. FG might get a bit of a slap at the polling booth but flanagan won’t be one of them. Likewise Stanley and Fleming. Wish there was more choice but everyone knows there is no point.

Mute Sandra Turner
    Favourite Sandra Turner
    Feb 16th 2016, 8:53 PM

Not one has knocked on my door yet. Just the standard to the householder mailing although there’s a moore poster on our green in the estate since storm Imogen. Whelan came close to getting the last seat in 2011. Thomasina is the token woman candidate, never heard of moore before her poster and Brian Stanley is well liked locally. I think people will want to keep a local minister in Charlie so it is down to John and Sean. Hope John gets it this time.

Mute Sandra Turner
    Favourite Sandra Turner
    Feb 16th 2016, 8:58 PM

Could be down to Brian and John either come to think of it, I think Fleming being the only ff candidate this time will help him hugely.

Mute Jay Finn
    Favourite Jay Finn
    Feb 16th 2016, 9:34 PM

Whealn might catch Stanley but I can’t see it. Not one of those six are worth voting for and now I’m torn cause I’m a huge believer that we all should vote.

Mute Sandra Turner
    Favourite Sandra Turner
    Feb 16th 2016, 9:38 PM

Vote for Moore so, her mammy is even a doubt! Or Whelan, make the count interesting.

Mute Jay Finn
    Favourite Jay Finn
    Feb 16th 2016, 9:42 PM

It’s gonna be one of the two and not because I like them (I know nothjng about Moore and her defeatist attitude already irks me) but because I can’t stand the others.

Mute Kirk Van Houten
    Favourite Kirk Van Houten
    Feb 16th 2016, 9:35 PM

Hello Thomasina I’m Kirk

Mute Liam Byrne
    Favourite Liam Byrne
    Feb 16th 2016, 8:39 PM

What the hell is a Laois. Surely this is a made up county?

Mute Watchful Axe
    Favourite Watchful Axe
    Feb 16th 2016, 9:28 PM

FG are something else for running 2, talk about shooting Labour in the foot.

Mute Al Ca
    Favourite Al Ca
    Feb 16th 2016, 8:45 PM

A county with a population so small that what ever candidate has the biggest family wins.

Mute Shelly O'Shea
    Favourite Shelly O'Shea

A population of 80,600 isn’t that small…it’s just there is no choice with no independent candidates which is an awful shame

Mute Mark Ryan
    Favourite Mark Ryan
    Feb 16th 2016, 9:53 PM

Why is having no independent a shame?

Mute Senator John Whelan
    Favourite Senator John Whelan
    Feb 16th 2016, 10:53 PM

Jay, I am asking you here directly to trust me with your vote please? Why is everyone hung up on the small number of candidates – it’s not the Grand National – it’s as intense and as competitive as anywhere else and that’s so because I am putting pressure on all the TDs to up their game – as they have been all poor, with a poor return from them for their community and constituency.
    I am the Labour candidate but I am no Yes man, lapdog or party lackey.
    I stand for issues on merit, not just standing for election on the party ticket. I have taken on the system and the establishment on behalf of my community and taken chunks and changed policy by the likes of Eirgrid, the HSE , the Irish Wind Energy lobby and the EPA. And I am not finished yet. Although a Senator, I have punched above my weight and worked hard both locally and nationally.
    Nothing got to do with me but the constituency boundary review was more like if Carlsberg did boundary changes, this is the one they would have produced for me – Monasterevin is where I grew up in St Evin’s Park and went to school and all across that part of Kildare into Kildangan, Nurney , Kilberry and Castlemitchell – Labour is held in high regard because of the reputation and respect there is for people like Joe Bermingham, Jack Wall, Mark Wall and Aoife Breslin – who have been dedicated to helping families and their community.
    My Mam lives in St Evin’s Park and Brian Stanley’s informers have got it all wrong as Joan Burton got a warm welcome to the estate and the town every time she visits. The boundary review has been a great bounce for me but more than that most people know that I am dedicated to delivering and once I get onto an issue I won’t let up until I have it sorted – just like the schools in Portlaoise, Monasterevin, Ballyroan, Timahoe, Portarlington.
    In the local elections the facts are that Labour and Sinn Fein both won 3 Council seats in this constituency division. Everyone knows that I will fight on my back to protect Portlaoise Hospital and health services and deliver a result – not just organise a protest.
    That’s not to speak of the question marks hanging over Sinn Fein and their bully boy carry-on and ongoing connections to criminality – the vast majority of people in this constituency fear them, fear what they are capable of and do not want them in Government – I share those concerns.
    I have strong support and am narrowly trailing Stanley. Ultimately, the third seat is a dogfight between myself and Sinn Fein and will be decided by both Fianna Fail and Fine Gael second preferences – which are coming to me in droves – as all decent Fianna Fail and Fine Gael supporters also fear and want to block Adams and Co getting into Government. Both Fianna Fail and Fine Gael astute voters realise that they can elect their own TD and vote for me to block Sinn Fein – have the best of both worlds.
    I can get things done and I will get things done – protect Portlaoise A&E and safeguard the status and safety of our Hospital; invest in Abbeyleix Community Nursing Home and invest in create real regional jobs by investing in the Bord na Mona Garryhinch Reservoir project and the Coillte Slieve Bloom Mountain Bike Trails – and not be relying on the IDA. You won’t hear Stanley talking about these projects because he lacks the vision, ability and ambition to deliver at this level.
    There are only 6 candidates in the Laois Constituency and the people of Kildare annexed into the new constituency realise that I am their best bet by far for robust, effective representation. Out of this problem comes a great opportunity for the people of Monasterevin to elect one of their own a TD.
    While there is no independent running, I am the closest there is to an independently minded candidate and free thinker – no one writes my scripts or play book.
    I have agreed to a live debate on Midlands 103 Radio on Tuesday next, February 23rd at 11am, chaired by Will Faulkner. Let’s see if Brian Stanley shows up this time as he normally cops out and sends someone else to do his dirty work.
    Anyone who thinks that Laois is boring or a foregone conclusion has another think coming to them and that’s why Sinn Fein are getting more and more nasty with their personal attacks and vile abuse here.
    Boring…I don’t think so…watch this space…because while Hugh O Connell is a good hack and is always fair and balanced, Noel Whelan hasn’t a clue and has a neck to call himself an objective pundit.
    He’ll be rewriting his Tallyman’s Guide after February 26th!!

Mute Jay Finn
    Favourite Jay Finn
    Feb 16th 2016, 11:51 PM

John I’ll be honest. I think you’re a good sort and you were a decent voice in the Seanad, but like most people in the country who are left leaning, we have been very disappointed with Labour.
    But we in Laois can only vote on the candidates put in front of us. My ideas are totally in line with the Social Democrats and since I can’t vote for them then I must pick a candidate based on the person and not the party. Or not vote at all. And I’ll never do that!
    You had my vote in the last election mostly because I believed eamonn Gilmore and his promises and I was disappointed when you didn’t get in.
    You’re right about the poor performances about the Laois TD’s and their presence and efforts here in Laois. I have to say that’s not totally true of Stanley, but I won’t vote Sinn Fein.
    I’ll be listening in to your debate on radio 3. Convince me. Convince the people of Laois not to just accept the Flanagan (who is probably the most inept TD I’ve ever heard speak) and Fleming as givens.

Mute Senator John Whelan
    Favourite Senator John Whelan
    Feb 17th 2016, 12:04 AM

That’s more than fair Jay. Stay tuned!

Mute Jay Finn
    Favourite Jay Finn
    Feb 16th 2016, 9:32 PM

Guess I should have sent Stephen Donnelly an email and ran for the social democrats here in Laois.
    Same old party loyalties here in Laois. The only question is whether Whealn can pip Stanely for the third seat. Probably not cause Stanley is liked by a lot of people despite his party. Whereas Whealn is liked too, his party will cost him votes.

Mute Austin Stack
    Favourite Austin Stack
    Feb 16th 2016, 10:57 PM

My view is that Flanagan & Fleming are bankers. Senator John Whelan will cause an upset here and unseat Stanley. Labour bucked the trend & got a Council seat in Portlaoise & Whelan has not been afraid to take on the issues that matter

Mute Naomi Tuohy Hooban
    Favourite Naomi Tuohy Hooban
    Feb 16th 2016, 10:04 PM

Joan Burton got a great reception by all accounts not sure where Mr Stanley is getting his reports from? . Great momentum gathering behind John Whelan hes whats needed in this constituency and people are starting to see it

Mute Jean Smith
    Favourite Jean Smith
    Feb 16th 2016, 9:08 PM

I was looking forward to voting, having my say. I was very disappointed to see only six candidates and no-one from the Social Democrats or DDI. The other thing about Laois is that all the candidates talk about Portlaoise and tend to forget about the area just outside Carlow. I’m not sure what way I will vote. No candidates leaflet mentions TTIP so I ‘ll do a bit of research.

Mute Jay Finn
    Favourite Jay Finn
    Feb 16th 2016, 9:28 PM

Agree completely. I’m annoyed at the choices I have to vote on. Was hoping the Social Democrats ran a candidate here in Laois. Or one independent to stand up and have a go.

Mute Shelly O'Shea
    Favourite Shelly O'Shea
    Feb 16th 2016, 9:35 PM

Couldn’t agree with you more

Mute Paige Turners
    Favourite Paige Turners
    Feb 17th 2016, 6:30 AM

Free country @Jay. You could have put yourself forward as either a SD or independent. If you are annoyed at the choice you do have the power to change it.

Mute Klark Quent
    Favourite Klark Quent
    Feb 17th 2016, 8:51 AM

You have the power to go forward just not the financial backing to do so

Mute Enoch Fairfax
    Favourite Enoch Fairfax
    Feb 16th 2016, 9:20 PM

Who’s yer wan?

Mute Kevin M Smyth
    Favourite Kevin M Smyth
    Feb 17th 2016, 3:35 AM

Thomasina?

Mute Sean Callan
    Favourite Sean Callan
    Feb 16th 2016, 8:41 PM

Only in it for the €€€€€€€€€ ?

Mute mcgoo
    Favourite mcgoo
    Feb 16th 2016, 11:57 PM

Most people in Laois are too busy commuting to Dublin mon to fri to be bothered with politics

Mute Garwig
    Favourite Garwig
    Feb 16th 2016, 10:17 PM

You lost me at Laois

Mute Rita Cahill
    Favourite Rita Cahill

John Deasy Water Privatization-WLR Debate‬
    Feb 16, 2016
    Waterford Fine Gael td John Deasy reply to a question about water charges / Irish Water and water privatization on Wlr 2016 general election debate, aired on February 16th .
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2umJ7uJ3V7c&feature=youtu.be
    Fine Geal’s John Deasy is all for privatisation of your water and he is spouting the old lie that it would be cheaper if you would just let a profit driven private corporation just sell you water…

Mute Denis Landy
    Favourite Denis Landy
    Feb 16th 2016, 11:19 PM

With John Whelan what you see is what you get, he doesn’t do half measures, if he is with you he is with you, ask those campaigning against wind farms, ask those concerned about the future of Portlaoise Hospital, ask those affected by ENVA, now decide who you want in your corner in the next DAIL.

Mute john truman
    Favourite john truman
    Feb 16th 2016, 9:04 PM

I’d be asking John whelan to mend those potholes first

Mute Chris Wakefield
    Favourite Chris Wakefield
    Feb 17th 2016, 9:52 AM

Brian Stanley is a waste of space numerous emails and visits to his office in relation to an environmental issue no reply, even though he is SF environmental spokesperson.

Mute Keith Gregg
    Favourite Keith Gregg
    Feb 16th 2016, 10:30 PM

Why on earth did they split a grand five seater into two three seaters, especially when Dublin Bay North lost a seat (when constituencies merged) and Dublin South -> Dublin Rathdown lost two seats? It makes no sense, and gives us less options for whom to vote for. I hope Flanagan loses his seat again. He’s awful.

Mute Laura Murphy
    Favourite Laura Murphy
    Feb 17th 2016, 4:08 PM

John Whelan has more sense, gumption and fight than the lot of them put together. He knows right from wrong and has guts to act. This is the first time I’ll be voting with enthusiasm and belief. John’s work on the Enva pollution issue has been invaluable to the people of Portlaoise.

Mute James Delaney
    Favourite James Delaney
    Feb 16th 2016, 10:44 PM

If u had a mouse hole in your skirting board, Sean Fleming would be on the other side. He’s like God – he sticks his head in everywhere.

Mute Saint Eimhin
    Favourite Saint Eimhin
    Feb 17th 2016, 9:53 AM

It may have the least number of candidates and that’s somewhat disappointing, but there is still a choice. Flanagan and Fleming are shoo ins, but there is a choice between a very dedicated and passionate guy, who has his own very strong opinions and has challenged his party on many occasions and that is John Whelan. Fine Gael haven’t helped him by putting up Thomasina who has no chance, its probably just an awareness generating ploy by them, placing her in line to take over Flanagan’s seat wen he retires. John Whelan may lose votes because he is associated with Labour, but look past that, this guy can do something positive for this constituency, he is far more invested in what is happening, what matters, what affects this constituency than Stanley. Look past Labour, give John Whelan a vote.

Mute Snow Queen
    Favourite Snow Queen
    Feb 16th 2016, 8:50 PM

North of Ireland

Mute Joseph Molloy
    Favourite Joseph Molloy
    Feb 17th 2016, 9:29 AM

It certainly is most boring. Same old faces that need to be put out to pasture or sent to knackers yard

Mute Megan O' Brien-Doyle
    Favourite Megan O' Brien-Doyle
    Feb 16th 2016, 11:39 PM

Spotted someone known to be a drug dealer putting up posters for Fleming , he won’t be getting my vote.