You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Leon Farrell/Photocall Ireland

Lowry refuses to say whether report of Phelan tape is accurate

The former minister says he cannot establish the veracity of the reported tape conversation as he cannot obtain a copy of it.

MICHAEL LOWRY has refused to comment on whether the conversation with property scout Kevin Phelan, revealed in the Sunday Independent last month, is genuine.

The Tipperary North TD says he cannot say whether the report of the taped conversation – in which Lowry reportedly refers to a payment of £250,000 made to Phelan – was accurate, as he did not have a copy of the tape.

Lowry said he had been unable to get a copy from the Sunday Independent, which first reported the conversation two weeks ago, because the newspaper had cited journalistic privilege in protecting its materials.

He told Tipp FM’s ‘Tipp Today’ programme that his legal team had been “in contact to establish the legalities involved in secretly intercepting an alleged telephone conversation,” and whether it was lawful to publish a transcript of a “tapped” conversation.

The Sunday Independent, which published a full transcript of its tape at the time, reported that it had asked a professional sound engineer to examine whether its recording had been tampered with, and that there was “no evidence” of any tampering or interference.

It also said the voices of Lowry and Phelan were “clearly identifiable”.

In the following week’s paper, Kevin Phelan – who had acted as a property scout for Lowry – acknowledged that he was the source of the tape obtained by the Sunday Independent.

The Sunday Independent transcript of the recording claimed that Lowry had pleaded with Phelan not to reveal a payment of £250,000 made to him, as he had “never declared it”.

In a statement released that evening, however, Lowry said the payment had been “properly recorded and accounted for” on the books of one of his companies.

The payment was particularly important because Lowry had told the Moriarty Tribunal of payments to Phelan worth £65,000, and said this was the “only payment” he had made to Phelan.

‘How would I know whether it’s me?’

Today Lowry declined to answer further questions about the tape, insisting instead that records provided to the Moriarty Tribunal had outlined where “every penny” of his money had been spent and distributed.

“How would I know whether it’s me,” he said referring to the transcript, “when the [Sunday] Independent has refused to hand over the tape to me?”

Lowry consistently avoid questions about whether he had any recollection of the conversation.

“Sections of the media are running an organised, concerted and vicious media campaign,” he claimed. “For some people in the media, the ‘topple Lowry’ campaign has become an absolute obsession.

“For 17 years I have been the subject of intense scrutiny… no individual in the history of the country has been subjected to the same level of inquiry as I have been subjected to.

“For 17 years it has been constant, it has been ever-present, it has been mind-bending harassment [...] To be blunt with you, it has been sickeningly intrusive.”

Read: Lowry: Payment in taped conversation was tax compliant

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

70 Comments
    Mute did you every wonder
    Favourite did you every wonder
    Sep 18th 2024, 2:44 PM

Yep, it’s a bit like having a temp tax since 2008. Embarrassing and costly to the Irish worker.

Mute Basildon Joe
    Favourite Basildon Joe
    Sep 18th 2024, 3:38 PM

@did you every wonder: exactly my filthy city friend..I hate this usc, what a scam it is.

Mute Mr Inbetween
    Favourite Mr Inbetween
    Sep 18th 2024, 4:08 PM

@did you every wonder: Indeed, the last three/ four governments in Ireland have consecutively and collectively been terrible. Time for change.

Mute Mark Fox
    Favourite Mark Fox
    Sep 18th 2024, 4:23 PM

@Mr Inbetween: and who would that be?

Mute Mr Inbetween
    Favourite Mr Inbetween
    Sep 18th 2024, 4:34 PM

@Mark Fox: A functional government unlike the current crop and their predecessors, not FFG who need to spend a term or two in opposition.

Mute Patrick MC Dermott
    Favourite Patrick MC Dermott
    Sep 18th 2024, 4:52 PM

@did you every wonder: “Lessons must be and will be learned” That song; ” Until the next time” Our Govt officials are very slow learners.

Mute Mr Inbetween
    Favourite Mr Inbetween
    Sep 18th 2024, 5:00 PM

@Patrick MC Dermott: We need a computer whizz-kid to devise an algorithm on running a country, then we can wave bye bye to politicians!

Mute damien leen
    Favourite damien leen
    Sep 18th 2024, 6:08 PM

@did you every wonder: Hey but they’re gonna reduce the USC charge next budget…that’s good of them isn’t it…what nice people they are…FFS..When are people goin to wake up…We elect them…we pay them…Just saying.

Mute damien leen
    Favourite damien leen
    Sep 18th 2024, 6:10 PM

@Mark Fox: ah…so let’s just stick with the crap we have cause you have some cooked up notions about the opposition parties!

Mute den
    Favourite den
    Sep 18th 2024, 7:05 PM

@Patrick MC Dermott: it’s unreal that they already said ” lessons will be learned “. Some fooking joke!!
    There will be an investigation into this, costing the money that they are getting back and that will be the result, “lessons will be learned “.

Mute Ali123
    Favourite Ali123
    Sep 18th 2024, 7:43 PM

@Patrick MC Dermott: same with RTE

Mute Frank Heffernan
    Favourite Frank Heffernan
    Sep 18th 2024, 8:14 PM

@did you every wonder: are you living or from Manchester?

Mute John Moylan
    Favourite John Moylan
    Sep 19th 2024, 8:21 AM

@Mr Inbetween: the last three/four governments are in the main the same parties as the last thirty-four governments so I don’t think you’re going to find ‘change’ any time soon…………..

Mute Nick Vasilakis
    Favourite Nick Vasilakis
    Sep 19th 2024, 9:56 AM

@Mr Inbetween: And where will you find that?

Mute Mr Inbetween
    Favourite Mr Inbetween
    Sep 19th 2024, 2:14 PM

@John Moylan: Spot on

Mute Eddie Garvey
    Favourite Eddie Garvey
    Sep 18th 2024, 2:45 PM

Who signed it off?

Mute Pat Hazzard
    Favourite Pat Hazzard
    Sep 18th 2024, 2:49 PM

@Eddie Garvey: OPW

Mute Darth O'Leary
    Favourite Darth O'Leary
    Sep 18th 2024, 2:53 PM

Ultimate responsibility lies with minister for finance imo

Mute Eddie Garvey
    Favourite Eddie Garvey
    Sep 18th 2024, 3:08 PM

@Pat Hazzard: who in opw?

Mute Pat Hazzard
    Favourite Pat Hazzard
    Sep 18th 2024, 3:32 PM

@Eddie Garvey: Office of Public Works

Mute stu nolan
    Favourite stu nolan
    Sep 18th 2024, 3:35 PM

@Darth O’Leary: No, it doesn’t. the MoF doesn’t deal with spending, that’s the Minister for Public Expenditure. And even then, a project of this size would be entirely managed and signed off within the OPW. It is the OPW that set the tender guidelines, the OPW that reviewed the submissions, the OPW that decided to award a contract of that ridiculous value, and the OPW that should justify why a project like this cost so much (and delivered so little).

Mute Darth O'Leary
    Favourite Darth O'Leary
    Sep 18th 2024, 4:35 PM

@stu nolan: Correct. Public expenditure. Senior moment at 41

Mute Mr “JonnieBoy” Johnson
    Favourite Mr “JonnieBoy” Johnson
    Sep 18th 2024, 4:55 PM

@Pat Hazzard: No it was OGP

Mute Patrick MC Dermott
    Favourite Patrick MC Dermott

@Darth O’Leary: That’s where you’re wrong. It will be laid at the feet of a lowly paid secretary who wasn’t up to speed with job description. He/she will be relocated and we all will move on. Job done.

Mute Darth O'Leary
    Favourite Darth O'Leary
    Sep 18th 2024, 5:09 PM

@Patrick MC Dermott: Sounds about right

Mute Spanner
    Favourite Spanner
    Sep 18th 2024, 6:24 PM

@Darth O’Leary: minister for public expenditure more like as this was public spending. Finance collects and allocates the money. Either way a lower grade clerical officer will get the flak

Mute Ah Here!
    Favourite Ah Here!
    Sep 20th 2024, 3:14 PM

@Pat Hazzard: They have the most corrupt management I have ever come across here in the west.. There are ongoing cases being covered up and all sides in cohoots. Their union and HR are no benefit and everything is covered up with paperwork and technicalities. Nothing will come of this.. The person/people responsible will never be named and punished with a nice cushy work from home post.. while management, HR and Siptu sit in their yellow belly hands and do nothing!! This is only the tip of the iceberg!!

Mute James Brennan
    Favourite James Brennan
    Sep 18th 2024, 2:51 PM

Sure going by the very limited reports, good ould pascal’s buddy knee deep in the mire of the bike shelter process. Leave no ‘stone’ unturned here. Pascal should fall on his sword here tbh

Mute James Brennan
    Favourite James Brennan
    Sep 18th 2024, 2:58 PM

@James Brennan: look into the sisk buyout of the company who won the government contract for such works and it will become clearer, going by reported stories. I am not saying it’s underhand at all. But interesting food for thought of it’s true

Mute Sean
    Favourite Sean
    Sep 18th 2024, 2:51 PM

I can see a dee forbes type of sick note happening

Mute Darth O'Leary
    Favourite Darth O'Leary
    Sep 18th 2024, 2:53 PM

@Sean: Is Pascal sick?

Mute SV3tN8M4
    Favourite SV3tN8M4
    Sep 19th 2024, 3:47 AM

@Sean: Must be a lot of them sick, only 45 TD’s in the Dail chamber on the opening day, 45 ! Four showed up late, including the Labour leader & a no show by the Tanaiste. They couldn’t be bothered to listen to the “outrage” of the Ceann Comhairle about the bike shed or the plight of Harvey Sheratt, the boy with Scoliosis. That is how much contempt they have for the people, the majority of them couldn’t be arsed to show up for work.

Mute David Murray
    Favourite David Murray
    Sep 18th 2024, 2:52 PM

How about inviting the Minister for the OPW along and ask him a few simple questions

Mute Sean
    Favourite Sean
    Sep 18th 2024, 3:04 PM

@David Murray: both ministers should be questioned in the dail

Mute Willie Marty
    Favourite Willie Marty
    Sep 18th 2024, 4:31 PM

@David Murray: was that patrick O Donovan at the time -A right slippery sneaky individual.

Mute If you're
    Favourite If you're
    Sep 18th 2024, 5:34 PM

@David Murray: Yes, they should act like the CEO of a private company would act if s/he found out that a gross overspend happened in one of their departments. It won’t happen. Permanent, pensionable jobs, no blame, no shame, no accountability. It’s not good enough. It really isn’t. A left leaning administration will definitely not solve it. I think an example should be made of whoever signed off.

Mute TheUnrepresented
    Favourite TheUnrepresented
    Sep 18th 2024, 4:12 PM

Media – do your job . We don’t need to hear from the ceann Comhairle. We need to hear from the line minister . Pascal donohue – cabinet minister for public expenditure. The clue is in his title. 2 very easy questions. What politician / civil servant approved the spend? What contracting firm did the work and got paid the 320k plus of overall 330k plus bill. Massive public interest in these questions but media in pockets of the cabinet as usual .

Mute Willie Marty
    Favourite Willie Marty
    Sep 18th 2024, 4:32 PM

@TheUnrepresented: POD.

Mute ian
    Favourite ian
    Sep 18th 2024, 3:25 PM

The government dipped in to all or private pensions when the banks needed us to bail them out. Not once but twice. . When are we going to have our hard earned pension back ? I bet this showers pensions weren’t effected.

Mute James T.Kirk
    Favourite James T.Kirk
    Sep 18th 2024, 3:30 PM

Paschal could be challenging Dee Forbes for the current title of National Hide n’ Seek champion.

Mute Thomas Sheridan
    Favourite Thomas Sheridan
    Sep 18th 2024, 3:08 PM

The profound embarrassment is getting caught. How many more projects (apart from NCH and IBB) are religiously priced.
    Can we see a photo of the Farmleigh €29k bike stand that doesn’t even have a roof.

Mute cathal lyons
    Favourite cathal lyons
    Sep 18th 2024, 3:36 PM

OMG…Lessons will be learned!!!…ah well, that’s ok then

Mute Will Q
    Favourite Will Q
    Sep 18th 2024, 2:55 PM

He’s 100% right in all he said..but could have added accountability needs to be taken..

Mute James Brennan
    Favourite James Brennan
    Sep 18th 2024, 3:00 PM

@Will Q: what he sould have said, a criminal investigation is needed , as to explain why one company won a tender (not really) and used at least 3 companies to do the job!!!

Mute Anne
    Favourite Anne
    Sep 18th 2024, 3:40 PM

It will be interesting what spin will be put on this outrageous waste of public money. Will heads roll. I doubt it.

Mute David Murray
    Favourite David Murray
    Sep 18th 2024, 6:36 PM

@Anne: We the people have the power at the ballot box

Mute sean callan
    Favourite sean callan
    Sep 18th 2024, 3:22 PM

Bam. Bam. The job is done, and so is the taxpayer.

Mute Paddy
    Favourite Paddy
    Sep 18th 2024, 4:35 PM

Ah here we go again How many more times will we read/be told “lessons must be and will be learned, and there cannot be repeat of such unwarranted and indefensible expenditure of taxpayers’ money”
    Yea right…until the next time!

Mute Karl Phillips
    Favourite Karl Phillips
    Sep 18th 2024, 4:10 PM

Nothing will happen, then off to the bar to meet the families, and a good laugh at the little people.What a great little country.

Mute HisMastersAlibi
    Favourite HisMastersAlibi
    Sep 18th 2024, 3:02 PM

Now Now,finger wagging, and off to the Dail bar for some guffawing.

Mute andy murphy
    Favourite andy murphy
    Sep 18th 2024, 4:39 PM

Why doesn’t he question the cost of the children’s hospital, almost 5 times original cost

Mute Oh Mammy
    Favourite Oh Mammy
    Sep 18th 2024, 4:45 PM

@andy murphy: we could have built a bigger Burj Khalifa, with change…….

Mute Quinny
    Favourite Quinny
    Sep 18th 2024, 3:45 PM

We’re a country of spoofers. Nothing will happen, they’ll talk about it and sweep it under the carpet as usual.

Mute Phillip Smyth
    Favourite Phillip Smyth
    Sep 18th 2024, 3:54 PM

@Quinny: respect.

Mute MIchael Costello
    Favourite MIchael Costello

I dont know if this job goes out for tender but if so 1)When were tenders for the work advertised.2)How many tenders were received? 3)Who eventually won the tender.4)What was the difference between the lowest and costly tender..

Mute eugene mcelhinney
    Favourite eugene mcelhinney
    Sep 18th 2024, 4:21 PM

Who got the contract ? Did they not put up posters for a certain individual that was public before

Mute Keith Twamley
    Favourite Keith Twamley
    Sep 18th 2024, 3:31 PM

This stinks, lessons will not be learned, a full refund should be given. No investigation needed. Just more wasted money.

Mute Padraic O' Sullivan
    Favourite Padraic O' Sullivan
    Sep 18th 2024, 2:56 PM

OPW legal team unite!

Mute Rob Kerrigan
    Favourite Rob Kerrigan
    Sep 18th 2024, 5:19 PM

No accountability, we have tribunals, RTÉ scandal, investigations by outside auditors and yet these things still happen? Tax payers left footing bill.

Mute Melanie Keane
    Favourite Melanie Keane
    Sep 18th 2024, 4:38 PM

Oh look. More lessons to be learned.

Mute Paddy C
    Favourite Paddy C
    Sep 18th 2024, 10:16 PM

@Melanie Keane: to be fair they’re saying they are to be learned doesn’t mean they ever will be though.

Mute Andrew Kenny
    Favourite Andrew Kenny
    Sep 18th 2024, 3:55 PM

Lessons will be learned so nothing to see here!!

Mute Eileen Kelly
    Favourite Eileen Kelly
    Sep 18th 2024, 3:31 PM

More of the lessons will be learned rubbish, demand a refund on behalf of the tax payer, why they can even have the shelter back, I read another company can do the job for 20,000.

Mute Phillip Smyth
    Favourite Phillip Smyth
    Sep 18th 2024, 2:55 PM

Only in Ireland Healy Rae craic Andy Capp and jesters.

Mute Brian Martin
    Favourite Brian Martin
    Sep 18th 2024, 3:28 PM

Wonder will he cycle in?

Mute SV3tN8M4
    Favourite SV3tN8M4
    Sep 18th 2024, 6:46 PM

They are only returning to the Dail today, the Ceann Comhairle opening the Dail with a faux outrage about the Bike Shed, with him & all around him responsible. It’s all deflection, every TD in Govt now repeats the news of the day, but it’s a three card trick, to appear as if they are outraged like ordinary people, when in fact they are in charge & responsible, it’s happening on their watch. Sean O Fearghail should resign along with his Govt partners for failure & incompetence, people are tiring of listening to the same auld shite, of outrage & lessons learned.

Mute Jb Walshe
    Favourite Jb Walshe
    Sep 18th 2024, 6:50 PM

@SV3tN8M4: well said John

Mute Kevin Kerr
    Favourite Kevin Kerr
    Sep 18th 2024, 8:56 PM

@SV3tN8M4: why the feck should Sean O’Feargail, the Ceann Comhairle, resign?

Mute Oh Mammy
    Favourite Oh Mammy
    Sep 18th 2024, 4:28 PM

We condemn what we have done. We condemn what we will do in the future which is precisely what we did in the past. We condemn this statement so we will not have to condemn it in the future. Now get back to work.

Mute martin finnegan
    Favourite martin finnegan
    Sep 18th 2024, 4:52 PM

Dont forget to vote them back come election time. Country is a mess. No future here for young people or 40 something s year old s like self.

Mute Michael Cummins
    Favourite Michael Cummins
    Sep 18th 2024, 5:05 PM

Lessons must be learned. Always with the lessons.

Mute Rover
    Favourite Rover
    Sep 18th 2024, 5:03 PM

“Systems failure” “lessons will be learned” . Absolutely stinks of corruption

Mute Feargal De Cantuin
    Favourite Feargal De Cantuin
    Sep 18th 2024, 10:59 PM

@Rover: are you for real OFearaíl?

Mute Pat Kelly
    Favourite Pat Kelly
    Sep 18th 2024, 4:30 PM

This is truly hilarious. The Chief Bottle Washer comes down strongly on the side of The Taxpayer, and delivers a meaningless diatribe which serves to achieve nothing other than to maybe convince some voters that it was all a freak occurrence and that there’s no need to take their votes elsewhere. After a century of running a country, how can anyone seriously talk about still being in the learning process? A big-mouthed buffoon and nothing else.

Mute Lydia Mcloughlin
    Favourite Lydia Mcloughlin
    Sep 18th 2024, 6:12 PM

“Lessons must be and will be learned…” there’s a familiar ring to those words!

Mute Paddy C
    Favourite Paddy C
    Sep 18th 2024, 5:42 PM

That’s great but will anyone actually answer for this and not just apologise and say ‘lessons learned’

Mute Robert Halvey
    Favourite Robert Halvey
    Sep 18th 2024, 7:38 PM

Nearly 3 billion on a hospital that was built in the wrong place a bike shed for a third of a million migration uncontrolled homeless and access to health and yet a sizeable percentage of irish citizens are so frightened of change they will keep ffg in power

Mute Kevin Kerr
    Favourite Kevin Kerr
    Sep 18th 2024, 3:18 PM

Thankfully those posts using the shameful treatment of kids with scoliosis in this country as a stick to bash immigrants have been deleted

Mute Freda Peeple
    Favourite Freda Peeple
    Sep 18th 2024, 3:22 PM

@Kevin Kerr: Yea thank god Kevin, facts can be very hurty

Mute Kevin Kerr
    Favourite Kevin Kerr
    Sep 18th 2024, 3:58 PM

@Freda Peeple: they’re not facts though, are they? Government treatment of kids with scoliosis is shameful, government assistance in medical treatment of kids from war torn countries is a good thing. One is not being done at the expense of the other. You would only think that one is being done at the expense of the other if you had an anti migrant agenda, like you have

Mute Freda Peeple
    Favourite Freda Peeple
    Sep 18th 2024, 5:04 PM

@Kevin Kerr: It is facts Kevin darling, we have kids abandoned here for years doubled over in pain, some will never recover. 900k plus people on waiting lists, understaffed hospitals, so excuse me for thinking flying kids over 5000kms to get treatment is virtue signalling. I’m sure some of the Saudi countries nearby could help more.

Mute Kevin Kerr
    Favourite Kevin Kerr
    Sep 18th 2024, 5:18 PM

@Freda Peeple: it is a fact that many parts of our health system is in crisis, however it is not a fact to say that kids from Gaza are being treated at the expense of kids from Ireland. And as for your opinion that all it is is virtue signalling, we have been asked to help by the WHO and this treatment will result in real benefits for the 30 kids concerned – quite the opposite of virtue signalling. Oh and finally, we are far from the only country that will help with this program. I don’t know for sure that Saudi is one of them, but so what? I’m quite sure you would have the same issue with it if Saudi was one of the countries in the program.

Mute June Kennedy
    Favourite June Kennedy
    Sep 18th 2024, 7:30 PM

Lessons will be learnt….. where were the lessons learnt when the shop costing millions was built in grounds of DE. Who is learning lessons when it comes to children’s hospital.
    Who gives tents to immigrants who then camp illegally on canal Bank, before having tents confiscated and destroyed, before being replaced ….. this crazy country. where no one takes responsibility

Mute Dominick Lodola
    Favourite Dominick Lodola
    Sep 18th 2024, 6:34 PM

Lessons will be learned says he.

Mute John Kelly
    Favourite John Kelly
    Sep 18th 2024, 6:16 PM

When are these bunch of clowns going to gone!!

Is there any politician in this country with half a brain and not a muppet!

Mute Paddy C
    Favourite Paddy C
    Sep 18th 2024, 10:14 PM

@John Kelly: unfortunately not and there’s a shower that are comfortable in this country and worry not for others, who want them back in power and the opposition is hopeless also,its desperate altogether.

Mute Orla Cosgrave
    Favourite Orla Cosgrave
    Sep 19th 2024, 6:22 AM

Name and shame the company who built the bike shed and also investigate who they are related to in the Dail and / or OPW. This company needs to pay back at least €300,000 as they ripped off tax payers royally. How many more overpriced projects have the OPW managed.

Mute Minnie Mouse
    Favourite Minnie Mouse
    Sep 18th 2024, 11:10 PM

I don’t remember anything like this scale of ruckus in the Oireachtas when Bertie Ahern pissed away €55million on E-Voting machines that were never used. I think our elected representatives can grasp smaller figures and so can appear competent in questioning them. The real waste is left unchallenged.

Mute Stephen Byrne
    Favourite Stephen Byrne
    Sep 18th 2024, 7:33 PM

Don’t mind the bike shed have a look at the car park and new unnecessary road in fenit village co kerry it was a beautiful unspoilt field with cows grazing in it.its costing a fortune and I suppose the healy raes have contract and council acquired it from local owner at inflated price an absolute disgrace

Mute Vincent Hickey
    Favourite Vincent Hickey
    Sep 18th 2024, 6:29 PM

What a bunch of incompetent,deceitful,lying,corrupt bunch of C@NTS RUNNING this country out with the lot of gougers root and branch reform.

Mute Frank Heffernan
    Favourite Frank Heffernan
    Sep 18th 2024, 8:13 PM

There are 16…. bicycles in the Dáil, that’s a fact……

Mute Basildon Joe
    Favourite Basildon Joe
    Sep 18th 2024, 3:17 PM

@Fintan Pox: respect to you geezer

Mute Peter Byrne
    Favourite Peter Byrne
    Sep 18th 2024, 5:29 PM

What a load of moaning . Sure they spent 300K on a bike shed, Sydney opera house was hundreds of millions over budget and 15 years behind schedule, so what now. Government is doing fantastic job, budget surplus, low unemployment, plenty on great salaries, Irish able to travel all over the world. People should remember what the 70s and 80s were like

Mute Paddy C
    Favourite Paddy C
    Sep 18th 2024, 5:43 PM

@Peter Byrne: and generations living at home with they’re parents with half the world on the way over to us to be housed aswel with what’s in power oblivious to it,great crack.

Mute Jb Walshe
    Favourite Jb Walshe
    Sep 18th 2024, 6:48 PM

@Peter Byrne: we don’t live in Sydney,and it’s 2024 not the 1970’s or the 1980’s Peter,it’s that attitude that allows them to keep doing what they have been doing with taxpayers money for decades. Are you one of them Peter?

Mute james rowan
    Favourite james rowan
    Sep 18th 2024, 8:23 PM

@Peter Byrne: low unemployment you say other ppl call CE scheme extra €27.50,,,

Mute chris gaffney
    Favourite chris gaffney
    Sep 19th 2024, 7:13 AM

@Peter Byrne: Absolutely right Peter. We are the envy of Europe!! World Class moaners……

Mute hans vos
    Favourite hans vos
    Sep 18th 2024, 9:26 PM

Exactly what I said. Your bad boys . And then we go on with our daily spending of other ones money

Mute Vincent B
    Favourite Vincent B
    Sep 19th 2024, 1:35 PM

Ahh the old “lessons will be learned” mantra
    Clearly they haven’t from previous wasteful projects

Mute john mac
    Favourite john mac
    Sep 29th 2024, 10:08 AM

Bike shed anger dont make me laugh its everything taxing people to the hilt stomping on small business while big internationals pay sweet fa , rte corruption no charges brought, childrens hospital etc golden handshakes lotto pensions with tax breaks no effing accountability , what is needed is nation wide strikes bring the country to a standstill , they have no respect for citizens or the tax money thats taken in not to mention bank bailouts the mafia treat people better

Mute Enda McKenna
    Favourite Enda McKenna
    Sep 19th 2024, 10:52 AM

Penny’s compared to the € wastage on the NCH