You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Vet is 'abandoned' to raise awareness about dumped dogs

Olivia Kennedy spent a day wandering in the countryside, and filmed her experiences.

Lucy's Trust / YouTube

A VET WAS abandoned in the countryside in an effort to raise awareness about dumped dogs.

Olivia Kennedy from Northern Irish rescue dog organisation Lucy’s Trust filmed her journey, mimicking what she believes happens when an animal is dumped by their owner.

10277070_1428192754137337_5115112956053382281_n Rob Durston Rob Durston

She was brought to an unknown location and abandoned, then wandered for a day in an effort to find her ‘owner’.

“We aim to try and highlight what it is really like to find yourself totally alone. not knowing where you are, or when you will eat again, or even where you can take refuge if the weather turns bad,” she said on Facebook.

She didn’t know when she would be picked up during her journey.

stray gif

In a video, Olivia explained more:

The reason is there are so many dogs that are dumped year on year, day on day, week on week, across the UK and Ireland, and across the world and nobody really thinks about what goes on in their wee heads, what do they experience when they realise my owner’s gone and I’m here. There are no reasons to dump a dog.

“If we can make one person think twice before taking that lead off and driving way, then we’ve done our job,” she added.

She carried a Go Pro camera, and avoided people and cars, like a stray dog would. “I’m going to live the life of a stray dog for as long as [the cameraman] chooses” she says.

But at the end of the day, she said she knew she would be going home, unlike thousands of stray dogs.

The videos can all be watched here.

What do you think of this project?

Read: Own a pet? Here are some tips for keeping them safe in bad weather>

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

12 Comments
    Mute Euron snatch a bitch
    Favourite Euron snatch a bitch
    Aug 8th 2017, 11:27 AM

I wouldnt even bother watching it if it was released early. Unless you like watching things in 360p with time stamps and watermarks all over the shop.

Mute meatyslaps
    Favourite meatyslaps
    Aug 8th 2017, 11:31 AM

@Euron snatch a bitch: Yeah, I wait until the day after it’s aired to download it!

Aug 8th 2017, 11:37 AM

@meatyslaps: exactly.

Ian
    Mute Ian
    Favourite Ian
    Aug 8th 2017, 6:10 PM

@Euron snatch a bitch: I’d watch an early release simply because there is always some langer that would drop a spoiler, but I’d still watch it again when a decent official airing is available

Mute Ger Murphy
    Favourite Ger Murphy
    Aug 8th 2017, 6:14 PM

@Euron snatch a bitch: well there not R5 promotional copies is the watermarks you speak of wouldn’t be there. They are coming directly from HBO. I for one would be watching. Loyal to HBO my arse

Mute Ger Murphy
    Favourite Ger Murphy
    Aug 8th 2017, 6:16 PM

@Euron snatch a bitch: Well they are obviously not R5 promotional copies so they wouldn’t have watermark or be reduced in quality as they are coming directly from HBO. Loyalty to HBO I for one am not

Mute Stephen Coveney
    Favourite Stephen Coveney
    Aug 8th 2017, 6:32 PM

@Ger Murphy:
    It doesnt say it has full episodes of Game of Thrones only scripts. Full series could be some other stuff. I wouldnt waste my time looking at scripts

Mute Ger Murphy
    Favourite Ger Murphy
    Aug 8th 2017, 6:47 PM

@Stephen Coveney: True. I was talking about other series. I just ment the copy of thrones like episode 4 released from star India was obviously a promotional copy

Mute THE BIG LAD
    Favourite THE BIG LAD
    Aug 8th 2017, 11:29 AM

Send the kjng of the north after them!!!

Mute Anna Gerry
    Favourite Anna Gerry
    Aug 8th 2017, 12:30 PM

@THE BIG LAD: in the North, dammit people!

Mute Philip Mckenna
    Favourite Philip Mckenna
    Aug 8th 2017, 12:59 PM

@THE BIG LAD: Love it lol. John snow will tame their ass

Mute Jon Snow
    Favourite Jon Snow
    Aug 8th 2017, 3:29 PM

@THE BIG LAD: I’ll get right on it

Mute Brian O Reilly
    Favourite Brian O Reilly
    Aug 8th 2017, 12:51 PM

Little Fingers is behind it.

Mute Mary Lyons
    Favourite Mary Lyons
    Aug 8th 2017, 11:24 AM

First world problems!

Mute Colin Reilly
    Favourite Colin Reilly
    Aug 8th 2017, 11:28 AM

@Mary Lyons: you’re using that wrong..

Mute Neal Ireland Hello.
    Favourite Neal Ireland Hello.
    Aug 8th 2017, 11:39 AM

@Mary Lyons: We are in the first world.

Mute Tweety McTweeter
    Favourite Tweety McTweeter
    Aug 8th 2017, 11:43 AM

@Mary Lyons:

Whether it’s in the First or the Third world, it’s still wrong

Mute Michael Collins
    Favourite Michael Collins
    Aug 8th 2017, 11:52 AM

@Neal Ireland Hello.: no were not neal. The term is coined from the cold war. 1st world is countries aligned with the usa. 2nd world is countries aligned with the ussr and third world which didnt aligned with either

Mute Barry O'Brien
    Favourite Barry O'Brien
    Aug 8th 2017, 12:29 PM

@Michael Collins: did we not align to the US when we allowed refuelling in Shannon. Did we not align to the UK when we took their money throughout the years of austerity?

Mute Mary Lyons
    Favourite Mary Lyons
    Aug 8th 2017, 1:44 PM

@Tweety McTweeter: but who cares?. Seems like you do!

Mute Mary Lyons
    Favourite Mary Lyons
    Aug 8th 2017, 1:46 PM

@Colin Reilly: why?

Mute Fluich Go Craicean
    Favourite Fluich Go Craicean
    Aug 8th 2017, 2:13 PM

@Barry O’Brien: no Barry we let anyone refuel here , it’s just the Iraqis, or Afghans never asked could they.

Aug 8th 2017, 6:55 PM

who gives a bollix? It’s a story about hbo ffs

Mute SteveW
    Favourite SteveW
    Aug 8th 2017, 12:57 PM

Who’s not going to watch it again on hd TVs anyway even if they watched a leaked episode online. HBO have nothing to fear here.

Mute Michael Hayden
    Favourite Michael Hayden
    Aug 8th 2017, 1:34 PM

@SteveW: whose going to watch a tv show twice in a matter of days or weeks.
    Hbo have a lot to fear

Mute Dan Morgan
    Favourite Dan Morgan
    Aug 8th 2017, 1:43 PM

@Michael Hayden: I dunno, I watched the leaked episode online on Sat, then watched it again on Monday when it actually aired cos the quality was shite.

Mute Eamonn Sheen
    Favourite Eamonn Sheen
    Aug 8th 2017, 3:06 PM

@Dan Morgan: I watched it twice too for that reason.

Aug 8th 2017, 3:46 PM

@Dan Morgan: I just watched it twice because why not like

Mute Bobo Zg
    Favourite Bobo Zg
    Aug 8th 2017, 12:15 PM

I would love to be in position to open account at HBO or any other production online and pay let’s say 0.5 euro per each episode I watch … in online stream or for download.
    with lower resolution …. so who want to watch this way.. ok…

and who wants to watch in high resolution with their paid network TV … that’s ok too .

Mute Emmet Dillane
    Favourite Emmet Dillane
    Aug 8th 2017, 3:47 PM

Watched the latest episode on Saturday, decent copy, have to say the producers/directors have done a fantastic job in building up to the climax, really gripping stuff, they’ve done great justice to the final season.

ED
    Mute ED
    Favourite ED
    Aug 8th 2017, 1:54 PM

As unconventional as it may sound I think torrent sites should get behind HBO and ban any pre air torrents

Mute Conor Power
    Favourite Conor Power
    Aug 8th 2017, 4:20 PM

@ED: yeah because torrent sites have such a strong moral compass

Mute Paul Friday Shannon
    Favourite Paul Friday Shannon
    Aug 8th 2017, 11:50 AM

I didn’t want to watch it anyway

Mute Paul Furey
    Favourite Paul Furey
    Aug 8th 2017, 12:21 PM

@Paul Friday Shannon: I think most that like the show will ignore the hackers postings. Hope HBO give these lads the 2 fingers

Mute Rui Firmino
    Favourite Rui Firmino
    Aug 8th 2017, 12:29 PM

I’m loving 2017

Mute Liam is drinking Tea
    Favourite Liam is drinking Tea
    Aug 8th 2017, 2:04 PM

Pfft let it leak, be shite quality

Only thing is those stupid fecking Clickbait Sites and YouTube Channels will watch and give away spoilers in headlines or on Thumbnails of videos. Apparently that happened on the weekend with spoilers in title of some YouTube channels appearing in the Suggested Videos if you’d watched a GoT video previously