Loaded: 0%
Stream Type LIVE
Remaining Time 0:00

1x
    • descriptions off, selected
    • captions off, selected

You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Lydia Foy speaking at the launch of the Dublin Pride Festival in 2010. Flickr/NeilWard

Irish transgender woman Lydia Foy nominated for European Diversity Award

Foy is one of eight nominees for the award with Senator David Norris also shortlisted.

IRISH TRANSGENDER WOMAN Lydia Foy has been shortlisted for ‘Campaigner of the Year’  at the prestigious  European Diversity Awards in London.

Foy is one of eight nominees for the award which its organisers say, “celebrates organisations and individuals that have shown innovation, creativity and commitment to equality”.

Senator David Norris has also been nominated for the award for his long standing struggle for gay and lesbian rights in Ireland.

In October 2007 Foy won a High Court case when the court ruled that her rights under the European Convention on Human Rights had been violated by the failure to recognise her in her female gender. Michael Farrell of the Free Legal Advice Centre said that Foy’s nomination is a mark of her 20 years of campaigning:

It is also a rebuke to successive Irish governments which have failed to introduce legislation to recognise transgender persons ever since the European Court of Human Rights held that this was a basic human right in 2002.

“Ireland is now the only state in the European Union that has no provision for legal recognition of transgender persons”, he added.

Last year’s winner of Campaigner of the Year was Doreen Lawrence, mother of black teenager Stephen Lawrence who was murdered on London in 1993.

The winner and a runner-up will be announced at a gala dinner in London on 26 September.

Read: Birth certs remain an issue for transgender Irish >

Column: Why is the government delaying a law to recognise transgender people? >

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

60 Comments
        Mute Morticia
        Favourite Morticia
        Aug 30th 2013, 5:33 PM

Lydia Foy has done no harm to anyone and has more than likely done a lot of good for a tiny section of the population and her bravery has to be admired. I’m not Gay or Lesbian or bothered by gender issues and yet I think that even the tiny section of people who are can take comfort and hope from her.

Mute Pat Murphy
        Favourite Pat Murphy
        Aug 30th 2013, 6:15 PM

here, here!!

once the government start to recognise Lydia for who she is!!!!

well done Lydia!

Mute Mary Cullinane
        Favourite Mary Cullinane
        Aug 30th 2013, 9:10 PM

@ Morticia, I most certainly do not think Lydia Foy has done anything wrong & I never insinuated such a thing in my earlier post, the point I was making was that, as you have stated above it is just a tiny section of people are affected directly by her campaign & I therefore believe that there are other groups and individuals involved in different diverse groups such as Autistic people, people with seriousmental and physical disabilities who put in a huge amount of effort and time campaigning & fighting for change & rights for those people & it might be of benefit to a much larger percentage of the population to have one of those groups/individuals nominated for this award. Nothing against Lydia Foy I’m just looking at the bigger picture & thinking that maybe if the same publicity was afforded to somebody else as I’ve outlined above it might make a difference to a much larger number of people ultimately.

Mute Bernard Cantillon
        Favourite Bernard Cantillon
        Aug 30th 2013, 11:00 PM

Mary, I find your continual attempts to denigrate the achievements of Dr. Foy nauseating and genuine disability campaigners will tell you where to take your vile transphobia. You suggested that she was unworthy because only a small number of people are affected by her campaign, which shows more than anything you have no understanding of what diversity is. Dr. Foy is a brave and principled campaigner who has put herself on the line for human rights in Ireland. We should all celebrate her and wish her well, not begrudge as you have.

Mute Maeve McQuillan
        Favourite Maeve McQuillan
        Aug 30th 2013, 5:10 PM

Best of luck to Lydia. She’s really had it tough over the years. She deserves the recognition.

Mute marty
        Favourite marty
        Aug 30th 2013, 5:47 PM

Lydia Foy, used to be my dentist when i was a kid.

Damn fine dentist she was too, good luck to her.

Mute Mary Cullinane
        Favourite Mary Cullinane
        Aug 30th 2013, 5:21 PM

Surely somebody who is representing people with physical & mental disabilities (of whom there’s a very large number in the country) would be a more worthy recipient of this award? I don’t know anything about the woman in question & I have no hidden agenda towards her but I do believe that given the cuts to funding for people with disabilities & the pressures this puts on the various organisations & groups who, many of them voluntarily, give of their time to help people with disabilities, would be more worthy? maybe I am missing the point here & there is some other criteria necessary in order to be considered but reading the sentence “celebrates organisations and individuals that have shown innovation, creativity and commitment to equality” I would assume that anybody or organisation representing people who are any way outside what is considered the “norm” as regards being an “equal” member of society would be eligible. While I’m sure this woman is very worthy of praise in relation to her own situation & her fight for equal rights, the fact is that transgender does not seem to be one of the most important issues, in terms of numbers, the Irish people have concerns about at the moment as regards fighting for equality.

Mute Dublinguy2013
        Favourite Dublinguy2013
        Aug 30th 2013, 5:24 PM

@Mary did you even read the article before your nonsensical comment.

Mute Mary Cullinane
        Favourite Mary Cullinane
        Aug 30th 2013, 5:25 PM

Yes I did.

Mute the other one
        Favourite the other one
        Aug 30th 2013, 5:35 PM

The clue is in the name of the award : The European ‘Diversity’ Award!!?

Mute Mary Cullinane
        Favourite Mary Cullinane
        Aug 30th 2013, 6:05 PM

I am of the opinion that the word “Diversity” means the differences of racial or ethnic classifications, age, gender, religion, physical abilities, socioeconomic background, sexual orientation, gender identity, intelligence, mental health, physical health, genetic attributes, behavior, attractiveness, or other identifying features. So going by my beliefs I cannot see why the original message I posted should be considered inappropriate? Surely if a large number of people in a a country have either mental or physical health problems that means that they are part of a diverse group within that country and as so, any organisations and individuals that have shown innovation, creativity and commitment to equality for such a group should be considered for this award?

Mute Pat Murphy
        Favourite Pat Murphy
        Aug 30th 2013, 6:10 PM

“maybe I am missing the point here”

yes Mary, you are.

Mute Mary Cullinane
        Favourite Mary Cullinane
        Aug 30th 2013, 6:22 PM

In what way?

Mute Daniel Dunne
        Favourite Daniel Dunne
        Aug 31st 2013, 12:38 AM

Mary, you are not missing any point, indeed you are making very valid points in your piece above, but a good cohort of Journal readers champion gay causes at the expense of any other groups’ causes.

This cohort, while thankfully a small cross-section of Irish society, are unfortunately a very vocal crowd and tend to belittle and shout down anyone who challenges their view, no matter how valid.

Mute David Daithi Cullinane
        Favourite David Daithi Cullinane
        Aug 30th 2013, 5:10 PM

I’d say her parents are so proud…. .. .

Mute Pat Murphy
        Favourite Pat Murphy
        Aug 30th 2013, 6:06 PM

langer!

Mute Norman Hunter
        Favourite Norman Hunter
        Aug 30th 2013, 6:41 PM

Why wouldn’t they be? Wouldn’t you be proud if your child overcame what Miss Foy has and then recieve a nomination for an international award.
        Or are you just a begrudging twit?

Mute Wynnner
        Favourite Wynnner
        Aug 30th 2013, 7:25 PM

Niall seriously your making a fool of yourself with your immature comments
        Come back when you’ve grown some hair in between your legs

Mute Paul Smith
        Favourite Paul Smith
        Aug 30th 2013, 6:23 PM

Youve got to hand it to her …she had some balls to stand up for what she believed in ….

Mute Bruce
        Favourite Bruce
        Aug 30th 2013, 5:12 PM

Having a bit of both is a real equality thing!

Mute Niall Connery
        Favourite Niall Connery
        Aug 30th 2013, 5:57 PM

Fair play to him

Mute Pat Murphy
        Favourite Pat Murphy
        Aug 30th 2013, 6:10 PM

langer

Mute Ping Pong
        Favourite Ping Pong
        Aug 30th 2013, 6:15 PM

Yes we know she has one

Mute Wynnner
        Favourite Wynnner
        Aug 30th 2013, 7:26 PM

**HER

Mute Mary Kavanagh
        Favourite Mary Kavanagh
        Aug 30th 2013, 8:07 PM

Niall Bridge. Back. Under.

Mute Chris Kelly
        Favourite Chris Kelly
        Aug 30th 2013, 7:22 PM

Chicks with dicks its just wrong!

Mute Norman Hunter
        Favourite Norman Hunter
        Aug 30th 2013, 7:57 PM

Idiots with access to the Internet is also wrong, but such is life.

Mute The Avarus Animus
        Favourite The Avarus Animus
        Aug 30th 2013, 8:08 PM

Come on Chris…. cop on….this woman stares adversity in the face…she has more balls than any man I know!

Mute Wynnner
        Favourite Wynnner
        Aug 30th 2013, 8:57 PM

Idiots who can procreate are even worse

Mute Brendan Harlowe
        Favourite Brendan Harlowe
        Aug 30th 2013, 9:34 PM

Ask the woman your going out with ! Now she’s one lady with a big dick!!

Mute Chris Kelly
        Favourite Chris Kelly
        Aug 31st 2013, 10:24 AM

Jaysus All the amadán’s are out

Mute Seán O'Sullivan
        Favourite Seán O'Sullivan
        Nov 16th 2013, 1:05 PM

amadán uimhir #1 that’s you Chris..bigoted contribution.

Mute Ping Pong
        Favourite Ping Pong
        Aug 30th 2013, 5:04 PM

” prestigious”

Mute Li O Muireadhaigh
        Favourite Li O Muireadhaigh
        Aug 30th 2013, 7:03 PM

Great news, while our State yesterday announced it plans to commemorate two terrorists on it’s stamps it takes Europe to recognize the work of two Irish citizens actually deserving of praise.

Mute Norman Hunter
        Favourite Norman Hunter
        Aug 30th 2013, 7:21 PM

Two terrorists, whom would they be?

Mute Li O Muireadhaigh
        Aug 30th 2013, 7:25 PM

They would be Markievicz and Connolly!

Mute Chris Kelly
        Favourite Chris Kelly
        Aug 30th 2013, 7:26 PM

Ye they were real terrorists li ya pleb cop on

Mute macca
        Favourite macca
        Aug 30th 2013, 7:28 PM

Is it a he or a she or a she or a he or what is it?

Mute Chris Kelly
        Favourite Chris Kelly
        Aug 30th 2013, 7:31 PM

Macca u better ask li that question or was it directed at her/him?

Mute Kay Tighe
        Favourite Kay Tighe
        Aug 30th 2013, 7:32 PM

Grow up

Mute Li O Muireadhaigh
        Aug 30th 2013, 7:33 PM

They were real enough terrorists to the people who suffered and died because of their actions and the propoganda which they spread!

Mute macca
        Favourite macca
        Aug 30th 2013, 7:36 PM

I’d say its a he is disguise, just a guess ;)

Mute macca
        Favourite macca
        Aug 30th 2013, 7:37 PM

Now Kay, you certainly are female ;)

Mute Norman Hunter
        Favourite Norman Hunter
        Aug 30th 2013, 7:56 PM

@Li you say Terrorist, I say Freedom fighter.You are aware of whom they fought against and why? Or do you believe it is right for one country to conquer another and expect the native people not to react?

Mute Phelim Ryan
        Favourite Phelim Ryan
        Aug 30th 2013, 10:45 PM

Your knowledge of Irish history is obviously limited at best.

Mute Nelly Pender
        Favourite Nelly Pender
        Aug 30th 2013, 11:16 PM

Hi Li you are talking bullshit and I fully support your freedom to do so. Lets get back to Lydia Foy. Well done to her.

Mute Larry Bird
        Favourite Larry Bird
        Aug 30th 2013, 9:38 PM

Fair play to her

Mute macca
        Favourite macca
        Aug 30th 2013, 7:30 PM

Imagine some bloke pulling that when out on the prowl! God help him

Mute John Doee
        Favourite John Doee
        Aug 30th 2013, 8:11 PM

Just wrong. Not natural or right .to much political correctness

Mute Brendan Harlowe
        Aug 30th 2013, 9:37 PM

And not enough correct grammar ! When you say “right ” what are you basing your view on? What moral authority ? And natural ? She was a dentist that’s not natural and she may have even prescribed anti biotics, far from what nature intended ! Have you too benefitted from these unnatural advancements ?

Mute John Doee
        Favourite John Doee
        Aug 31st 2013, 8:33 AM

God created a man not a woman.

Mute Brendan Harlowe
        Aug 31st 2013, 10:06 PM

He did John ! Then he removed a mans rib and cloned a woman who Adam slept with and she slept with her kids and they all shagged each other until the present situation where we have 7 billion plus!!

Mute Saoirse Kenny
        Favourite Saoirse Kenny
        Aug 31st 2013, 12:39 AM

I hope she gets the award, well deserved :)

Mute jake mansfield
        Favourite jake mansfield
        Aug 30th 2013, 8:00 PM

Erg, standing or sitting when she/he goes to the toilet for a no 1.

Mute Ann Mc Greal
        Favourite Ann Mc Greal
        Aug 30th 2013, 11:04 PM

David Norris looks like a wizard

Mute Tim Higgins
        Favourite Tim Higgins
        Aug 31st 2013, 2:43 AM

Best of luck to her, there is not enough support for this condition by a long shot in Ireland.

Mute Deirdre Mullins
        Favourite Deirdre Mullins
        Aug 31st 2013, 12:00 AM

Back to her being a dentist, in the midlands many years ago, anyone like to share????

Mute Louise Hannon Fotos
        Favourite Louise Hannon Fotos
        Sep 2nd 2013, 9:44 PM

Dr Lydia Foy deserves the award for her pioneering single handed pursuit of her human rights over a twenty year period, ( which is still not resolved either ! ) when every door was slammed in her face from the establishment, which is something many lesser individuals would have buckled under. Today the trans community have some support. Lydia had absolutely none. They removed her right to practice as a dentist and her ability of fund her struggle yet she still fought bravely. and doggedly onwards.The Irish transgender community owe her an enormous debt of gratitude and I’m honoured to know her.

Mute Declan William Kavanagh
        Favourite Declan William Kavanagh
        Nov 16th 2013, 12:45 PM

Delighted with this news. Well done Lydia!

Mute Niall Connery
        Favourite Niall Connery
        Aug 31st 2013, 12:12 AM

A wizards sleeve