You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Man arrested in Jobstown estate after early morning M50 chase

Several garda units gave chase after the car was spotted on the M50. The man’s being questioned in Tallaght.

Updated at 9.10am

garda1 Facebook Facebook

A MAN HAS been arrested in the Jobstown area of south-west Dublin after an early-morning chase involving several garda units.

An SUV was reported stolen in the Tallaght area at around 5am.

It was later spotted nearby, on the M50 – and local garda units gave chase, following the car at speed throughout the area.

There were no collisions, and no-one was harmed.

The car was eventually stopped, and the man apprehended before 7am, a garda spokesperson confirmed.

He’s been taken to Tallaght Garda Station for questioning.

Footage posted online this morning showed garda cars giving chase to an SUV-type vehicle, across green areas in a housing estate.

Read: 13 killed as raging tornado sweeps through city on US-Mexico border

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

73 Comments
    Mute Shane Freeney
    Favourite Shane Freeney
    May 26th 2015, 7:47 AM

The thugs are getting up early these days !

Mute Duncan
    Favourite Duncan
    May 26th 2015, 7:51 AM

No, the guards have always done night shifts

Mute Glen
    Favourite Glen
    May 26th 2015, 8:00 AM

Duncan
    I tend to agree with you when they become policy enforcers, ambushing people to check for tax & NCT.

See 27 more replies ▾
    Mute Philip Murphy
    Favourite Philip Murphy
    May 26th 2015, 8:05 AM

And do you tend to agree with him when they get slashed with knives and verbally abused in addition to protecting the public from a mad man driving down the m50 and wherever? Course you do.

Mute Glen
    Favourite Glen
    May 26th 2015, 8:08 AM

Phillip
    No
    Just when they become policy enforcers as I said in my comment which was easy enough to comprehend for anyone with more than 4th class level of education.

Mute jason bourne
    Favourite jason bourne
    May 26th 2015, 8:10 AM

Of course they’re policy enforcers hence ‘law enforcement’. Go back to sleep.

Mute chinaski
    Favourite chinaski
    May 26th 2015, 8:10 AM

Good to see you up early for your job Glen as a professional journal commentator. Does it pay well?

Mute Friendo Friendo
    Favourite Friendo Friendo
    May 26th 2015, 8:14 AM

They have to get up early have you seen the M50 at 9am

Mute Al Beebak
    Favourite Al Beebak
    May 26th 2015, 8:16 AM

I think there may be 2 Glen accounts. There seems to be one that every so often makes some valid and coherent points and then the other one that comes out with complete drivel and moronic comments. Unfortunately the latter seems to be used a lot more than the former.

Mute Joan Fallon
    Favourite Joan Fallon
    May 26th 2015, 8:20 AM

They didn’t get up early, they were only on their way home

Mute Chris Treacy
    Favourite Chris Treacy
    May 26th 2015, 8:20 AM

Not gone to bed yet Shane

Mute john Gallagher
    Favourite john Gallagher
    May 26th 2015, 8:32 AM

Glen do you realise how much of a dope you sound like with that idiotic comment!!!

Mute Al Beebak
    Favourite Al Beebak
    May 26th 2015, 8:36 AM

He’s blissfully unaware of his idiocy john

Mute Glen
    Favourite Glen
    May 26th 2015, 8:39 AM

Al
    Someone finally figured it out !! FairPlay.

Mute Shane Freeney
    Favourite Shane Freeney
    May 26th 2015, 8:51 AM

So Glen we shouldn’t pay road tax or NCT or insurance lol get a grip !!! And don’t bring up water

Mute richard kenny
    Favourite richard kenny
    May 26th 2015, 8:51 AM

I’d say he was on da way home after a rewarding nights work!

Mute Baz
    Favourite Baz
    May 26th 2015, 9:14 AM

Glen you can be safe in the knowledge that wee jammins attack on our Gardai was worse than yours.

stay classy you two.

Mute Sean
    Favourite Sean
    May 26th 2015, 10:13 AM

I think your all being a bit harsh on Glen, he makes a fair point about the use of the Guards to basically intimidate the public around issues like Road Tax and NCT, particularly when the structure of both charges heavily penalises those who are on lesser incomes, who as a result drive older cars, in higher tax bands, which require an NCT every year. A lot of these people simply can’t afford to keep up to date with the payments, nor can they afford to stop driving, so we have a right to show a little frustration at a disproportionate amount of Garda resources being put to apprehend them when often the resources are not available to tackle more serious crime.

People should not make things so black and white, it’s perfectly fine to criticise the Gardai for some of their practices while commending them for others such as what they done this morning, no organisation should be beyond criticism when warranted no matter what good they do, especially law enforcement.

Mute Itsthe Law
    Favourite Itsthe Law
    May 26th 2015, 10:33 AM

Sean
    You cant make coherent arguments on the Journal about St Garda, They can do no wrong.
    Que the “you need them to do the job you don’t want” B S.

Mute Foxtrot Hotel
    Favourite Foxtrot Hotel
    May 26th 2015, 10:46 AM

If you can’t afford a car, Sean, don’t own one. If you do, it’s meant to be taxed, insured and have an up to date NCT. It’s illegal otherwise, so who do you expect to monitor those issues? If the Government introduced a whole new branch of people to drive around and stop people, you and many more would be up in arms.

Mute Sean
    Favourite Sean
    May 26th 2015, 11:20 AM

Foxtrot not owning a car has consequences, for a lot of people it means you might loose your job, become unable to support your family and make repayments on your home, and from the taxpayers point of view it would also stop them from contributing income tax, result in them paying less VAT and ultimately they become a load on the state though social welfare.

Stop trying to make these issues a lot similar than then are, the point I made is a valid one, we all know that Motor Tax and NCT hit people on lower incomes harder, that doesn’t mean that they can just afford to stop driving, for a lot of people it’s a necessity not a luxury.

Mute Integra-Ted
    Favourite Integra-Ted
    May 26th 2015, 11:30 AM

Having recently been involved in an RTA with an uninsured driver, who’s car also had no NCT, I can safely call your comments absolute B.S!

If you can’t afford to Insure and NCT your car then GET OFF THE ROAD.

This particular clown who crashed into me had let the insurance expire by about 6 weeks, so no excuses not to have cover. How did this person drive freely around the roads for almost 2 months without a shred of insurance or NCT?

Mute cholly appleseed
    Favourite cholly appleseed
    May 26th 2015, 11:31 AM

I’d say it’s been about 5 years since I last went through a garda checkpoint and i drive everyday so I don’t know how you figure the gards are rigorously enforcing these laws.

Mute Foxtrot Hotel
    Favourite Foxtrot Hotel
    May 26th 2015, 11:39 AM

People who need to drive for a job don’t work for slave laborers, so if they can’t afford tax and an NCT every year or two, that’s nobody’s fault.

Of course people who are broke or don’t have a job can’t afford a car, but that kind of comes with the territory. What other necessities apart from work and disabled family members would a car be used for?

If you can’t afford it, don’t buy it, simple logic.

Mute Ciaran Farrelly
    Favourite Ciaran Farrelly
    May 26th 2015, 12:16 PM

Or maybe they’re still up from the night before?

Mute ohaimhirghin
    Favourite ohaimhirghin
    May 26th 2015, 12:56 PM

They are just doing all nighters

Mute GAVEN
    Favourite GAVEN
    May 26th 2015, 4:37 PM

Sean if a car that was defective and not carrying an nct as a result crashed into a loved one of yours in the morning you would be the first complaining that the gardai are not out there doing there job

Mute Niall Dawson
    Favourite Niall Dawson
    May 26th 2015, 4:39 PM

If I’d a euro for everytime Glen’s made an intelligent post on the journal I’d be still waiting for the first euro…

Mute Sean
    Favourite Sean
    May 26th 2015, 8:43 PM

No I wouldn’t Gaven, I would understand that there are more important matters for the Gardai to be attending to, especially given the stretched resources that they have to operate on. I would however be incensed at how the how the ridiculously high costs that surround motoring in this country create the situation where people have little choice but to drive cars they can’t afford to get through an NCT, that’s the reality that nobody here seems to grasp. In the real world people operate on fine margins and the disproportionate motoring charges that are put on drivers, particularly those with older vehicles mean that when its food on the table or get your car taxed or NCT’d, they take the risk with their car, it’s often their only choice.

Mute Carmel O'Dwyer
    Favourite Carmel O'Dwyer
    May 26th 2015, 11:05 PM

Well said Sean and Glen

Mute BushmanB
    Favourite BushmanB
    May 26th 2015, 7:52 AM

It’s easy to forget that the Gardai are working away protecting us from these toe rags while the rest of us sleep. Good work.

Mute Alan b
    Favourite Alan b
    May 26th 2015, 7:58 AM

That’s their job that’s what they signed up for.plenty of people work nights

Mute jason bourne
    Favourite jason bourne
    May 26th 2015, 8:13 AM

I never bother saying thanks to nurses, paramedics or doctors who help me out and make sure I’m ok because that’s their job, that’s what they signed up for, feck them.

Mute Alan b
    Favourite Alan b
    May 26th 2015, 8:21 AM

You’re an ignorant man Jason I even thank the bus driver

Mute lostintallaght
    Favourite lostintallaght
    May 26th 2015, 8:24 AM

@jason bourne – it’s early and it seems some people can’t pick up in sarcasm this early.

Mute jason bourne
    Favourite jason bourne
    May 26th 2015, 8:34 AM

@lostintallaght Ha, true!!

Mute little jim
    Favourite little jim
    May 26th 2015, 9:16 AM

Sarcasm before 10 am is just bitching.

Mute chinaski
    Favourite chinaski
    May 26th 2015, 8:06 AM

Cheap shots at the guards by keyboard warrior cowards that would never do the job. They deal with the skum of this country 24/7 and then listen to this sh!’te.. well done to them again.

Mute Tom Buckley
    Favourite Tom Buckley
    May 26th 2015, 8:07 AM

Glen
    It’s really simple
    You’re legally obliged to have your car taxed NCTd (and insured)
    Surely you aren’t suggesting that you are not complying with the laws of the land
    You being so perfect and quick to judge others

Mute Al Beebak
    Favourite Al Beebak
    May 26th 2015, 8:18 AM

Wasting your time talking to Glen, he only speaks in nonsense.

Mute Alan Scott
    Favourite Alan Scott

Well the Gardaí were on the ball this am I seen the chase going past the house at about 6:15 at a nice fast pace

Mute Declan Dowling
    Favourite Declan Dowling
    May 26th 2015, 8:22 AM

The noise of the sirens and helicopter woke me up. Niall Collins would have had them on bicycles blowing whistles and we all would have got a good night’s sleep. Except for the poor victim.

Mute Alan Corlett
    Favourite Alan Corlett
    May 26th 2015, 9:32 AM

It’s not the guards that are the problem, it’s when it goes to court and the scmbags just told he’s a very naughty boy, don’t do it again oh and your banned from driving for a year.

Mute Kenneth Hayden
    Favourite Kenneth Hayden
    May 26th 2015, 11:10 AM

That would be the ADHD.

Mute Wendy O'Keeffe
    Favourite Wendy O'Keeffe
    May 26th 2015, 8:17 AM

This was my wake up call this morning! Thank god no one was hurt.

Mute peter guillam
    Favourite peter guillam
    May 26th 2015, 9:16 AM

Maybe the guy was late for a water protest and needed a lift in a hurry. The state aren’t going to buy him a car so he nicked one.

Mute Jason Bourne
    Favourite Jason Bourne
    May 26th 2015, 9:19 AM

Terrible effort.

May 26th 2015, 8:56 AM

Go back under your bridge Martin you muppet!

Mute Martin Ryan
    Favourite Martin Ryan
    May 26th 2015, 7:54 AM

Shane, which group of thugs are you referring to it’s hard to tell the difference these days.

Mute Alan O'connor
    Favourite Alan O'connor
    May 26th 2015, 7:58 AM

Only if your moral compass is broken.

Mute Shane Freeney
    Favourite Shane Freeney

Martin grow up

Mute Martin Ryan
    Favourite Martin Ryan
    May 26th 2015, 8:05 AM

The moral compass of the garda is broke beyond repair alan, they are just government drones at this stage.

Mute Aidan O Reilly
    Favourite Aidan O Reilly
    May 26th 2015, 9:05 AM

Hope it’s not my Ma

Mute Dan The Man
    Favourite Dan The Man
    May 26th 2015, 11:05 AM

dopey Duncan and no life glen what a pair of tossers

Mute Morgan Freeman
    Favourite Morgan Freeman
    May 26th 2015, 10:08 AM

Where did ye get the animated gif from? It says “source: facebook” but there is no link or credit to the actual owner. I’m just curious because i wanted to see the video.

Mute Foxtrot Hotel
    Favourite Foxtrot Hotel
    May 26th 2015, 10:59 AM
    Mute Tom Kenny
    Favourite Tom Kenny
    May 26th 2015, 12:08 PM

Is he out on bail yet ?

Mute Stephen Maher
    Favourite Stephen Maher
    May 26th 2015, 5:35 PM

From all the thumbs down I get the feeling plenty of guards here viewing this footage.

I’m actually self employed, a home owner and proud Tallaght resident so qualified to comment and brave enough to have and stand over my opinion. Not hidden behind fake names like above.
    There is nothing to be gained from chasing vehicles around residential areas only damage and injury and its lucky no one was killed.

This was a complete Waste of resources and tax payers money. There are plenty of crimes taking place that get little or no attention yet 100′s of thousands can be wasted to catch a car thief.

Mute sarah kennedy
    Favourite sarah kennedy
    May 26th 2015, 9:10 PM

Totally agree Stephen

Mute Tom Kenny
    Favourite Tom Kenny
    May 27th 2015, 9:19 AM

100′s of thousands ??????????????
    The squad cars would have been out patrolling anyway,
    The helicopter was probably in the air monitoring traffic, if not the pilots were on standby being paid, so possibly €0 extra cost or at most the cost of helicopter fuel.
    I’d say there are very few if any guards commenting here, just because other people don’t share your obvious resentment for the gardai does not mean they’re gardai.

Mute East Clintwood
    Favourite East Clintwood
    May 26th 2015, 10:29 AM

*Benny Hill music*

thankfully no-one was injured.

Mute Mark Gerard Lochlain
    Favourite Mark Gerard Lochlain
    May 26th 2015, 11:21 AM

The Dukes of Hazzard

Mute Declan Dowling
    Favourite Declan Dowling
    May 26th 2015, 2:53 PM

Joan locked in the bathroom?

Mute Stephen Maher
    Favourite Stephen Maher
    May 26th 2015, 11:01 AM

I assume at least 8 officers in the reported 8 guarda cars, and also two guards in a helicopter to stop one man in a 4×4 ???
    Seems a bit OTT to me, glad I’m not paying for it…….. Oh wait, actually I am. Grrrrrrrrr.

Surely the helicopter and one or even two police vehicles would be enough. Three police cars all driving across the same stretch of grass says it all.

Our police need more training and better leadership.

Mute Greg O'Dubhuidhe
    Favourite Greg O'Dubhuidhe
    May 26th 2015, 11:25 AM

You seem to know it all, why don’t you join? Or maybe there’s a spot for you on the new Police Authority.

Mute Tom Kenny
    Favourite Tom Kenny
    May 26th 2015, 12:09 PM

You’ll still get your dole Stephen, don’t panic

Mute Tom the Bomb
    Favourite Tom the Bomb
    May 26th 2015, 3:59 PM

You know nothing, John Snow…

Mute Stephen Maher
    Favourite Stephen Maher
    May 26th 2015, 5:37 PM

I’m self employed and never claimed dole in my life, proves your own narrow view of the world.

Mute Tom Kenny
    Favourite Tom Kenny
    May 27th 2015, 9:12 AM

if it was your suv you wouldn’t be complaining about the amount of guards it took to get it back, you’d be saying thank you, job well done.
    If you want to see a narrow minded view i’d suggest you look at your own view of the gardai.
    It makes perfect sense to everyone else to bring in all available squad cars in the are you catch a fuc*er like this.
    It doesn’t appear to have put any public lives in immediate danger, so what is your problem ?
    I’ll offer a possible answer, you have a general dislike of authority, ie gardai

Mute Tom Kenny
    Favourite Tom Kenny
    May 27th 2015, 9:13 AM

*area to catch*

Mute Jimmy Murphy
    Favourite Jimmy Murphy
    May 26th 2015, 10:26 AM

Grand Theft Auto on the brain, eh?

Mute Stephen Maher
    Favourite Stephen Maher
    May 27th 2015, 10:51 AM

Ok Einstein
    How much does it cost to hire,
    10 Guardai , 8 cars, and a helicopter for 4 hours and fuel the same?

I have zero problems personally and I have zero problem with the Guardai who are under funded under staffed and under appreciated.
    I’m sure its a fairly thankless job, but it is a job and paid for by tax payers like myself who are entitled to good value.
    The lives of the 10 Guardai are put at higher much higher risk and I’m fairly sure there where other road users too and the risk of injury to the public greatly increased.
    The 4×4 was likely insured, so all your really doing is risking many lives to maintain the profits of insurance companies.

Your accusations of me and refusal to accept my valid points Seems a bit immature, Do you have issues your self?

Mute Tom Kenny
    Favourite Tom Kenny
    May 27th 2015, 11:31 AM

We all have issues, suv stole 5am, apprehended before 7am
    “10 Guardai , 8 cars, and a helicopter for 4 hours and fuel the same? ” light exaggeration stephen.
    These gardai cost nothing extra, they were being paid, on duty driving around etc. as for the helicopter, the pilots were obviously on standby, (being paid) What’s the point in having a helicopter if you’re not gonna use it.
    I’m gonna guess if your man in the suv got away you’d be the 1st to say and a police helicopter doing nothing.
    There appears to be a full bag of chips on your shoulders