You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

The M50 is closed at Cherrywood. Google Maps

M50/N11 "at a standstill" after crash

Gardaí are on the scene of the collision.

A MAJOR PART of the M50 has been reduced to one lane after a crash.

Gardaí are on scene at the crash, which occurred near the Shankill by-pass just before the Loughlinstown roundabout earlier today.

Gardaí have closed the road to one lane as they attempt to clear the damage from the area.

It is not yet known if there are any injuries or how many cars were involved.

Gardaí say that they are unsure how long the road will remain closed for.

Read: Spillage of fruit preserves causes literal traffic jam

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

31 Comments
    Mute neuromancer
    Favourite neuromancer
    Jul 30th 2014, 12:57 PM

Just a suggestion, but could not SOME aspect of motorway driving be included in the acquiring of a driving licence.

Some people can barely navigate national roads as it is, and we let these people loose on the motorways.

Mute Mike O Neill
    Favourite Mike O Neill
    Jul 30th 2014, 1:03 PM

Just a suggestion, why don’t you wait until further details are released before going on a “people don’t know how to drive on motorways” rant.

Mute Shawn Rahoon
    Favourite Shawn Rahoon
    Jul 30th 2014, 2:31 PM

Something 99% of motorists in Ireland don’t know about driving on motorways – It is NOT illegal to undertake irrelevant of speed. Neither the RSA Motorway Driving booklet or the Irish Statue Book (Road Traffic Act) states otherwise

Mute Mary Kavanagh
    Favourite Mary Kavanagh
    Jul 30th 2014, 2:47 PM

It’s difficult sonetimes not to undertake on the Stillorgan dual carriageway as the number of right turns means that drivers have to use the fast lane to get in lane in time even if there are filter lights. At one time it was the only road in Ireland where the fast lane was the slow lane!

Mute Stephanie Grace
    Favourite Stephanie Grace
    May 28th 2015, 4:06 PM

No such thing as a fast lane..

Mute Ahippo
    Favourite Ahippo
    Jul 30th 2014, 1:07 PM

My pet peeve is people doddling along in the overtaking lane(s) followed closely by people lane hopping. Basic rule is not to force the oncoming car to brake. Nice little study on flow dynamics of people doing this which shows it takes just a couple of seconds to bring traffice to a standstill and three times as long to get the traffic flowing again. Typically the problem comes from people moving from one lane to another and moving more slowly than the cars coming from behind who are forced to brake but it is also a function of cars not allowing enough space between them and the car in front. And more typically it is because people in Ireland don’t know how to drive on multilane carriageways.

Mute Dave Davis
    Favourite Dave Davis
    Jul 30th 2014, 1:46 PM

You’re right. Hate to admit this but I only recently learned how to drive correctly on a motorway after someone threw a wobbler in the comment section of another article here on the journal. I used to drive the speed limit in the fast lane. I know better now. But this isn’t something you learn in driving lessons and you’re not tested on it. I think this is a result of people simply not knowing. I think it’s up to the RSA to educate people on this.

Now, if people could just learn to indicate at roundabouts, I’d be a happy camper.

Mute Sean O'Grady
    Favourite Sean O'Grady
    Jul 30th 2014, 3:04 PM

A lot of these people should not be allowed to be driving. So many terrible, inconsiderate and moronic drivers out there. I’m so glad I sold my van 2 months ago and can now walk to work. Have been driving for over 10 years and always scared me. Cars are weapons in the wrong hands!?!

Mute Dave Cremin
    Favourite Dave Cremin
    Jul 30th 2014, 4:27 PM

Fair play, but it’s an overtaking lane, there’s no such thing as a fast lane.

Mute Tom Buckley
    Favourite Tom Buckley
    Jul 30th 2014, 1:03 PM

The M50
    My favourite road
    I make great progress in an uncluttered lane 1
    It’s like priority boarding
    Most users gravitate to lane 2&3 with the central their goal
    No one impedes my progress in lane one
    Except perhaps for the occasional motorist exiting ahead where they cross two lanes of traffic with breathtaking recklessness
    But again they don’t really halt my progress as they are travelling much faster than I or indeed the limit

Mute Tricia Golden
    Favourite Tricia Golden
    Jul 30th 2014, 1:09 PM

One of THE most irritating driver habits is entering a motorway and moving immediately to the centre lane and STAYING THERE

Drives me fecking BATTY!!

Mute Shawn Rahoon
    Favourite Shawn Rahoon
    Jul 30th 2014, 1:34 PM

Well good on you for undertaking. People complain about lane hoggers in overtaking lanes yet lane 1 the driving lane is empty. Doesn’t that make them hoggers?

Mute Dave Cremin
    Favourite Dave Cremin
    Jul 30th 2014, 4:28 PM

The Naas road is the same, I was in an empty lane one Monday night while all the other fools doddling along overtaking themselves.

Mute Jason Ebbs
    Favourite Jason Ebbs
    Jul 30th 2014, 12:34 PM

Thought we had for years…is it not the Traffic Corp ?

Mute Marko Burns
    Favourite Marko Burns
    Jul 30th 2014, 12:32 PM

About time we had dedicated motorway gardai units. Ridiculous at this stage.

Mute Thors Big Hammer
    Favourite Thors Big Hammer
    Jul 30th 2014, 12:34 PM

What would a dedicated motorway garda achieve? .

Mute Dawn Keeballs
    Favourite Dawn Keeballs
    Jul 30th 2014, 12:45 PM

Since the M50 began it has had two dedicated garda jeeps every day

Mute Richard Cynical
    Favourite Richard Cynical
    Jul 30th 2014, 12:49 PM

Well he would be dedicated to the motorway I guess

Mute Rory McGuirk
    Favourite Rory McGuirk
    Jul 30th 2014, 1:17 PM

Aye, we could call them super troopers!

Mute Marko Burns
    Favourite Marko Burns
    Jul 30th 2014, 1:28 PM

Rather than CHiPS we’d call them SPuDS. ;)

Mute Richard Cynical
    Favourite Richard Cynical
    Jul 30th 2014, 1:41 PM

Brilliant marko

Mute Aireach
    Favourite Aireach
    Jul 30th 2014, 2:44 PM

No it doesnt

Mute Brent Sallinger
    Favourite Brent Sallinger
    Jul 30th 2014, 1:56 PM

Fatal accident, young male deceased.

Mute B
    Favourite B
    Jul 30th 2014, 1:25 PM

The over taking Lane on the M11 South exit Ramp onto the merge M11/M50Road is too short and is curved until the exit. the same at Jct13 Dundrum South people slamming on to let cars out they are travelling at nealy 120kph to make it off on time.

Mute gkrell
    Favourite gkrell
    Jul 30th 2014, 1:20 PM

As usual, I bet this was because a novice driver didn’t have an N plate on their car. Those stickers will save lives. The new law couldn’t come in any sooner.

Mute Ray Dempsey
    Favourite Ray Dempsey
    Jul 30th 2014, 1:30 PM

Yeah because a sticker with the letter n is going to make everything ok..

Mute Steven Callaghan
    Favourite Steven Callaghan
    Jul 30th 2014, 1:39 PM

Please have some respect !!!
    This is as far as I know a fatal accident.
    Someone has just lost their son !

Mute gkrell
    Favourite gkrell
    Jul 30th 2014, 1:40 PM

Well that’s what your government thinks…..nothing to do with the €60 fine for not displaying one.

Mute Will Derbylight
    Favourite Will Derbylight
    Jul 30th 2014, 12:57 PM

Any details of the crash yet?

Mute dorothy giselsson
    Favourite dorothy giselsson
    Jul 30th 2014, 2:01 PM

Ah yes, the M50, the biggest carpark in Ireland.

Mute Michelle Phelan
    Favourite Michelle Phelan
    Jul 30th 2014, 5:49 PM

If people just used their mirrors, check your blind spots,indicate and keep enough space from another car to break in time. Problem sloved. When i started learning to drive some of the worst drivers were old people and mothers with kids,pulling out infront of me one time while i was on the round about and car full of kids .