You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

From Donald Trump to Michael D Higgins, there are lots of congrats for Emmanuel Macron today

Macron handsomely won the French presidency ahead of Marine Le Pen.

Emmanuel Macron Delivers His Speech After Wining Presidential Election - Paris Emmanuel Macron is joined on stage by wife Brigitte. Papixs Press / ABACA Papixs Press / ABACA / ABACA

WORLD LEADERS HAVE been reacting to Emmanuel Macron’s thumping win over Marine Le Pen in the French presidential election.

Almost definitive results showed Pro-EU centrist Macron winning 65.82% of the vote in the first ever election he has contested, far ahead of the far-right rival Le Pen at 34.18%.

World leaders and other political heavyweights have been reacting to Macron’s win. Among them, Ireland’s Taoiseach and President.

Here’s a selection of what has been said.

Ireland

“President of Ireland Michael D. Higgins has written to President-elect Macron to convey his best wishes for a fruitful Presidency,” the office of the President said in a statement.

In his message the President said the French President-elect’s many references to the need for renewal of European purpose, based on European values and a commitment that his Presidency will engage not only with French but European and global matters, will be welcomed by all those seeking a positive discourse on contemporary issues, which are perceived as threats by many.

Taoiseach Enda Kenny said:

I want to extend my congratulations, and that of the Irish Government, to Emmanuel Macron on his victory in the French presidential election. I am delighted that a leader with a positive ambition for Europe has won this election decisively and will join us with a strong mandate in the European Council.Ireland and France share close bonds; from General Humbert in my own county of Mayo in 1798 to the joyous scenes all over France at the European Championships last Summer. Our shared history has been both deep and varied. The future also holds promise as both countries work towards a European Union of prosperity and equality for all our citizens.

United States

“Congratulations to Emmanuel Macron on his big win today as the next President of France. I look very much forward to working with him!” President Donald Trump wrote on Twitter.

Germany

“Congratulations, @EmmanuelMacron. Your victory is a victory for a strong and united Europe and for French-German friendship,” said Chancellor Angela Merkel’s spokesman.

The UK

“The Prime Minister warmly congratulates President-elect Macron on his election success. France is one of our closest allies and we look forward to working with the new President on a wide range of shared priorities,” said a Downing Street spokesman.

Prime Minister Theresa May also discussed Brexit with Macron, saying “the UK wants a strong partnership with a secure and prosperous EU once we leave,” the spokesman added.

European Union

“Happy that the French chose a European future,” European Commission President Jean-Claude Juncker wrote on Twitter.

EU Council President Donald Tusk also offered his congratulations, saying the French had chosen “liberty, equality and fraternity” and “said no to the tyranny of fake news”.

European Parliament President Antonio Tajani told AFP: “We have received a vote of confidence from France in the European Union.”

Japan

Japanese Prime Minister Shinzo Abe said “the victory of President-elect Macron is a symbolic victory against inward-looking and protectionist moves and shows a vote of confidence in the EU”.

Canada

Canadian Prime Minister Justin Trudeau said he wanted to work together with Macron on a “progressive agenda” to “promote international security, increase collaboration in science and technology, and create good, middle-class jobs on both sides of the Atlantic”.

Australia

Prime Minister Malcolm Turnbull said he had congratulated Macron and had received a text back saying he was “looking forward to working together”.

Highlighting the cooperation between French and Australian soldiers during World War I, he added: “We have been side-by-side in freedom’s cause for over a century, and we are side-by-side in freedom’s cause in the Middle East today. So we have great work to do to make the ties between France and Australia stronger still.”

Greece

Prime Minister Alexis Tspiras said Macron’s victory was “an inspiration for France and for Europe”, adding he was “sure we will work closely together.”

Spain

“Congratulations to @EmmanuelMacron, new president of #France. Let us work in France and Spain for a stable, prosperous and more integrated Europe,” Prime Minister Mariano Rajoy said in a tweet.

Others

Defeated US presidential candidate Hillary Clinton, who like Macron had her campaign hacked, tweeted:

Nigel Farage, former leader of British anti-EU party UKIP and one of the most vocal campaigners for Brexit, said:

A giant deceit has been voted for today. Macron will be Juncker’s puppet.

In The Netherlands, Dutch far-right leader Geert Wilders commiserated with Le Pen, saying in a tweet:

© – AFP 2017 - with reporting by Rónán Duffy

Read: ‘Tonight, France won’: Macron defeats Le Pen to become the new French president >

Read: Tense France picks new president in landmark vote >

View 45 comments
45 Comments
    Mute Phil Blanc
    Favourite Phil Blanc
    Aug 10th 2016, 3:53 PM

If she’d have a gun herself this wouldn’t have happened, you know.

Guns are great.

Mute Joey_Westland
    Favourite Joey_Westland
    Aug 10th 2016, 3:59 PM

Please.
    Show some respect for the victim.
    Typical Democrat.
    No class!

Mute prouesse f
    Favourite prouesse f
    Aug 10th 2016, 4:06 PM

I didn’t see you react much when tons of those hate speeches are poured on this site.

Mute Rob Cahill
    Favourite Rob Cahill
    Aug 10th 2016, 4:22 PM

Typical Democrat?? You know we are not America right?

Mute Enda Kennny
    Favourite Enda Kennny
    Aug 10th 2016, 4:24 PM

Typical Democrat. – WTF

Mute Jester VonDoom
    Favourite Jester VonDoom
    Aug 10th 2016, 4:25 PM

joey you troll you’re talking about pumping people full of lead just above him. zip it up.

Mute Joey_Westland
    Favourite Joey_Westland
    Aug 10th 2016, 4:28 PM

@Jester.
    Chill out and put a sock in it.

Mute Joey_Westland
    Favourite Joey_Westland
    Aug 10th 2016, 4:32 PM

‘You know we are not in America right’
    Hard to tell here sometimes given the proliferation of Donald Trump articles.
    Anyway.
    Let’s not digress.
    RIP.

Mute Jester VonDoom
    Favourite Jester VonDoom
    Aug 10th 2016, 4:32 PM

Trolley Troll-land

Mute Joey_Westland
    Favourite Joey_Westland
    Aug 10th 2016, 4:41 PM

‘Above him’
    Ah, I see where you’re coming from. Actually, I run the system by date not popularity.
    This was a tragic accident. My position ‘below’ is one of self defense. In the home.
    Different scenarios altogether.

Mute Seamus Mc Meel
    Favourite Seamus Mc Meel
    Aug 10th 2016, 4:56 PM

Typical Democrat, as opposed to what? Nazi? Communist?Dictator?

Mute Motherofdivinejebus
    Favourite Motherofdivinejebus
    Aug 10th 2016, 4:57 PM

A troll calling another troll a troll………
    I`ve seen it all on the journal now….

Mute Joey_Westland
    Favourite Joey_Westland
    Aug 10th 2016, 4:59 PM

:-)

Mute Phil Magee
    Favourite Phil Magee
    Aug 10th 2016, 5:30 PM

@Rob, while I am as eager to laugh at the little trumpets as the next man, no one can deny that the journal has been awful recently. It seems to be completely ignoring the many recent, domestic political events and putting all resources into Trump articles.

Mute Joey_Westland
    Favourite Joey_Westland
    Aug 10th 2016, 5:30 PM

Not to mention the infestation of American style libtards.

Mute Aisling Farrell
    Favourite Aisling Farrell
    Aug 10th 2016, 3:56 PM

Feck sake.

Mute John O'Neill
    Favourite John O'Neill
    Aug 10th 2016, 4:25 PM

She didn’t stand a chance if she was black…

Mute M Bowe
    Favourite M Bowe
    Aug 10th 2016, 4:31 PM

Who had a loaded weapon at as a prop at a ‘role playing’ exercise. That’s the equivalent of searching for gas leaks with a lighted candle!!!!

Mute just readin
    Favourite just readin
    Aug 10th 2016, 5:56 PM

Its probably easier to use a real gun than find a ‘gun prop’ in America …

Mute Diane Walsh
    Favourite Diane Walsh
    Aug 10th 2016, 4:10 PM

Idiots teaching idiots how not to be an idiot!!! Who goes to a gun seminar with loaded weapons anyway IDIOTS

Mute Jester VonDoom
    Favourite Jester VonDoom

playing (or ‘simulating’) with guns is not smart, though it might make you feel like you’re an anti-tyranny freedom fighter

Mute David Thomas
    Favourite David Thomas
    Aug 10th 2016, 4:18 PM

I think it’s time for police forces to review their training methods. Seems to be a lot of itchy fingers to close to triggers.

Mute UndieGrundy
    Favourite UndieGrundy
    Aug 10th 2016, 4:00 PM

I despise guns, but if I lived in many parts of the US there’s a good chance I think I’d feel I had no choice but to have one. Even in Ireland, I can understand people living in country areas with little or no policing having guns.

Mute Joey_Westland
    Favourite Joey_Westland
    Aug 10th 2016, 4:06 PM

I lived in the Bronx for a while. First thing I did upon arrival was purchase a Colt handgun.
    A man can sleep well at night knowing there’s a Peacemaker close at hand.
    Being allowed shoot any a**hole who illegally enters your house with evil intent is one of the greatest pieces of legislation American lawmakers ever saw fit to pass.

Mute UndieGrundy
    Favourite UndieGrundy
    Aug 10th 2016, 4:07 PM

I was in Astoria in Queens and it was grand, but yes, parts of the Bronx a fella would need something more for peace of mind back then anyway. This was before NY was cleaned up.

See 21 more replies ▾
    Mute Joey_Westland
    Favourite Joey_Westland
    Aug 10th 2016, 4:13 PM

Compared to here where it’s highly likely that an intruder with countless previous convictions will get a slap on the wrist and freely roam the streets again to carry out more crimes.
    Knowing there’s a strong possibility that upon intrusion the air will be filled with lead helps concentrate the mind of any punk.

Mute Rob Cahill
    Favourite Rob Cahill
    Aug 10th 2016, 4:23 PM

For the record Joey is “Pro life”

Mute Jester VonDoom
    Favourite Jester VonDoom
    Aug 10th 2016, 4:23 PM

i hope the first thing you did, before you first rushed out to get your hands on your very own gun to love and cherish, was to get a handgun permit

Mute Sea View
    Favourite Sea View

For the record Joey makes up stuff.

Mute UndieGrundy
    Favourite UndieGrundy

I’d have no hesitation in sticking a knife in an intruder if it happened here in my house. I made that decision a long time ago and have often thought about it since. I think the Padraig Nally case ten years ago focused a lot of minds, and the subsequent law change focused many more.

Mute Joey_Westland
    Favourite Joey_Westland
    Aug 10th 2016, 4:26 PM

Actually I never had to use it, thank God, but it was comforting to know help was at hand particularly given the high rates of crime in the area.

Mute Joey_Westland
    Favourite Joey_Westland
    Aug 10th 2016, 4:30 PM

@Rob.
    No contradiction there.
    Innocent life as opposed to someone with evil intent.

Mute Joey_Westland
    Favourite Joey_Westland
    Aug 10th 2016, 4:34 PM

Kinda depressing that I would have to point that out though.
    However.

Mute Bob Twilliger
    Favourite Bob Twilliger
    Aug 10th 2016, 4:41 PM

http://www.kmov.com/story/32723542/meriwether-co-officials-arrest-3-in-connection-to-elderly womans-assault just one example.of horrific home invasion just this week – a lot of elderly ladies being targeted – this one beaten and set on fire – is no wonder people are fearful and feel they need guns for protection..

Mute Jester VonDoom
    Favourite Jester VonDoom
    Aug 10th 2016, 4:46 PM

stop yer spoofing joey

Mute Joey_Westland
    Favourite Joey_Westland
    Aug 10th 2016, 4:50 PM

Stop yer jesting…..joker.

Mute JustMade Ireland
    Favourite JustMade Ireland
    Aug 10th 2016, 4:51 PM

what about people who like guns the engineering, the craftsmanship, the power etc… I hate that they can kill innocent people and some with issues can use to cause a massacre , but using this logic kitchen knifes should be outlawed as most knife murders are caused by kitchen knifes. Same with cars and a-lot of other things.

Mute Joey_Westland
    Favourite Joey_Westland
    Aug 10th 2016, 4:52 PM

‘Irishman claims to have lived and worked in the Bronx’
    Read all about it in ‘Great Hoaxes of the 21st century’
    Hahaha.

Mute Joanna
    Favourite Joanna
    Aug 10th 2016, 4:57 PM

JustMade, You can kill anyone with any object if you put the effort in. Guns are only made to kill though. They have no other everyday purpose unlike knives.

Mute Seamus Mc Meel
    Favourite Seamus Mc Meel
    Aug 10th 2016, 5:02 PM

I’m not s librarian, but I think I’m going to buy a gun soon, a big gun,a big shiny gun! #librarianslivesmatter

Mute Seamus Mc Meel
    Favourite Seamus Mc Meel
    Aug 10th 2016, 5:04 PM

It’s only legal in some states, and I’m not sure New York is one of those states.Anyway, the best gun to keep is a pump action 12 guage.The sound it makes when cocked usually sends the cocroaches scurrying.

Mute Seamus Mc Meel
    Favourite Seamus Mc Meel
    Aug 10th 2016, 5:07 PM

There’s one common denominator, though;people.So, by the same token, people should be made illegal,right ?

Mute Gerry Healy
    Favourite Gerry Healy
    Aug 10th 2016, 6:08 PM

“filled with lead”, you’re a complete mo***n Joey, and naming a gun ” Peacemaker”, that’s truly messed up.

Mute Joey_Westland
    Favourite Joey_Westland
    Aug 10th 2016, 8:45 PM

Know something Gerry.
    I stopped reading your comments a long time ago.

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    Aug 11th 2016, 12:51 AM

Joey, you do know that in New York a persons intrusion into your home does not give you the right to shoot them right? New York have neither the Castle Doctrine or Stand Your Ground laws. In court you’d have to prove that it was justifiable amd necessary

Mute Joey_Westland
    Favourite Joey_Westland
    Aug 11th 2016, 10:22 AM

Shoot first – talk later – the key to survival.

Mute luke sarpish
    Favourite luke sarpish
    Aug 10th 2016, 3:56 PM

RIP.i hope they throw the book at him.

Mute Stibby
    Favourite Stibby
    Aug 10th 2016, 3:58 PM

Was that pun intended or.. lol

Mute John Smith
    Favourite John Smith
    Aug 10th 2016, 3:59 PM

Not sure what happened here, I’ll wait on Jason Culligan to tell us the full and proper details. He knows a lot about guns and cops.

Mute Phil Magee
    Favourite Phil Magee
    Aug 10th 2016, 4:08 PM

Jason will be along shortly, he is busy on another forum explaining why it is perfectly ok for some countries to drop bombs on other countries but not vice-versa.

Mute Donal O'Brien
    Favourite Donal O'Brien
    Aug 10th 2016, 4:10 PM

He’ll be here soon having beaten himself off to “guns and ammo” magazine.

Mute Kilburtech
    Favourite Kilburtech
    Aug 10th 2016, 4:12 PM

Jason backs up everything he says with real facts which is in complete contrast to the left who use emotions. More of Jason please

Mute Phil Magee
    Favourite Phil Magee
    Aug 10th 2016, 4:16 PM

lol ‘real facts’, his typical facts come from right-wing opinion pieces, he has been proven wrong with actual facts on a multitude of occasions.

Mute John Smith
    Favourite John Smith
    Aug 10th 2016, 4:22 PM

Yeah, he’s some boyo. People believe that it’s a left/right issue for cops to shoot unarmed people. It’s not, it’s just absolutely mental.

Mute Francis Mc Carthy
    Favourite Francis Mc Carthy

“Jason backs up everything he says with real facts” Hmmmmm

Mute Jester VonDoom
    Favourite Jester VonDoom
    Aug 10th 2016, 4:30 PM

i think that was sarcasm

Mute Seamus Mc Meel
    Favourite Seamus Mc Meel
    Aug 10th 2016, 5:00 PM

Yeah, if you call what Breitbart,etc.,spew,as facts.Yeah, sure…

Mute Jester VonDoom
    Favourite Jester VonDoom
    Aug 10th 2016, 5:04 PM

is breitbart still an opinionated blog or are people trying to pretend its news now? i see arianna huffington is trying a similar, failed sidestep

Mute Phil Blanc
    Favourite Phil Blanc
    Aug 10th 2016, 8:51 PM

Jason will tell us what she was shot with and why it was a poor choice of weapon to use in this type of situation. He’ll also tell us that 125 librarians dies in car accidents last week and that is much higher than one innocent woman being shot to death in a tragic accident while teaching people how to shoot people and so we have nothing to worry about except Hillary Clinton and Social Justice Warriors.

Mute Andy K
    Favourite Andy K
    Aug 10th 2016, 4:19 PM

Guns are too dangerous to be freely available to any idiot that wants them. People who still dont understand probably dont realise they are idiots.

If you love guns then join the army.

Mute Jester VonDoom
    Favourite Jester VonDoom

or buy a computer game

Mute Seamus Mc Meel
    Favourite Seamus Mc Meel
    Aug 10th 2016, 5:11 PM

Call of Duty, Black Ops(oops ?)2

Mute DamoDeMan
    Favourite DamoDeMan
    Aug 10th 2016, 4:50 PM

American police just cannot help it

They have to shot somebody
    their whole training structure needs to be changed
    They are not an Army so they need to stop acting like one

Mute Seamus Mc Meel
    Favourite Seamus Mc Meel
    Aug 10th 2016, 5:14 PM

Poorly trained,poorly educated police forces in America.If only they would read more books,even the Police training manual (if such a tome exists !) would be a start.

Mute Mondoburley
    Favourite Mondoburley
    Aug 10th 2016, 4:02 PM

Was she Black?

Mute Seamus Mc Meel
    Favourite Seamus Mc Meel
    Aug 10th 2016, 5:08 PM

No, she was a librarian…

Mute Damocles
    Favourite Damocles
    Aug 10th 2016, 3:58 PM

What was her … erm … ethnicity?

Because y’know some people of some ethnicities probably should know better than to go near armed police, particularly in Florida (allegedly).

Mute Jester VonDoom
    Favourite Jester VonDoom

culture, boss?

Mute Vincent Wallace
    Favourite Vincent Wallace
    Aug 10th 2016, 6:08 PM

Actually there is no corilation between etnicty and police shootings in the US its the same across the board as was highlighted in AN EMPIRICAL ANALYSIS OF RACIAL DIFFERENCES IN POLICE USE OF FORCE Roland G. Fryer, Jr Working Paper 22399 http://www.nber.org/papers/w22399 NATIONAL BUREAU OF ECONOMIC RESEARCH 1050 Massachusetts Avenue Cambridge, MA 02138 July 2016

Mute Kim M Serrahn
    Favourite Kim M Serrahn
    Aug 10th 2016, 4:47 PM

Why in the hell did they have live rounds. This is stupidity on an epic scale. I’m so sorry for her family.

Mute Jane Waters
    Favourite Jane Waters
    Aug 10th 2016, 5:31 PM

“unimaginable event” Says it all really. Did no one think that two people using live rounds in an exercise might just hit someone? That’s the problem nobody seems capable of thinking things through

Mute Kieran
    Favourite Kieran
    Aug 10th 2016, 4:51 PM

police have said it is another case of librarians resisting arrest it is now time to take the guns away from the murdering police

Mute Gavin
    Favourite Gavin
    Aug 10th 2016, 5:26 PM

Even while roleplaying they cant resist squeezing the trigger.

Mute Greg McGarry
    Favourite Greg McGarry
    Aug 11th 2016, 12:51 AM

Never, ever, point a firearm at someone. A gun is always loaded, even when it’s not. Role play, where required, can be effected perfectly well with plastic, orange water pistols (which can never be confused with the real thing). (This is not the first such occurrence in the very same scenario in the US).

Mute Teene Nyantoon
    Favourite Teene Nyantoon
    Aug 10th 2016, 4:04 PM

Pray?

Mute Seamus Mc Meel
    Favourite Seamus Mc Meel
    Aug 10th 2016, 5:09 PM

Prey?

Mute the phantom
    Favourite the phantom
    Aug 10th 2016, 6:55 PM

Spot the deliberate mistake class !

Mute Eoin
    Favourite Eoin
    Aug 10th 2016, 5:33 PM

In the name of God do something about the guns over there

Mute damian
    Favourite damian
    Aug 11th 2016, 1:27 AM

“The only way to stop a bad librarian with a gun, is a good librarian with a gun” – NRA

Mute Fintin Stack
    Favourite Fintin Stack
    Aug 10th 2016, 8:38 PM

You couldnt make this up if you tried…..

The gun nuts in America justify being armed because its not ‘guns’ that kill people, its a mental health issue.

Mute Dunkel Master
    Favourite Dunkel Master
    Aug 10th 2016, 8:12 PM

How was it an unimaginable event?

Mute Vincent Wallace
    Favourite Vincent Wallace
    Aug 10th 2016, 6:03 PM

Did they ever here of blanks? Top brass should be sacked straight away.

Mute Vincent Cahill
    Favourite Vincent Cahill
    Aug 11th 2016, 2:33 AM

Librarians lives matter.

Mute Liam Dunne
    Favourite Liam Dunne
    Aug 10th 2016, 5:13 PM

Struggling to understand the relevance of her being a librarian to the story….? If she had say, worked for Burger King, would the headline have been “fast food restaurant worker shot dead in police seminar” ?
    Not trying to be pedantic, just don’t get the relevance to the story?

Mute Seamus Mc Meel
    Favourite Seamus Mc Meel
    Aug 10th 2016, 5:16 PM

That’s exactly what the media would have said.It creates some background.

Mute Fiona Fitzgerald
    Favourite Fiona Fitzgerald
    Aug 10th 2016, 5:22 PM

Reads like an obituary. RIP.

Mute Charles Martel
    Favourite Charles Martel
    Aug 10th 2016, 4:15 PM
Video Player is loading.
Current Time 0:00
Duration 0:00
Loaded: 0%
Stream Type LIVE
Remaining Time 0:00

1x
    • descriptions off, selected
    • captions off, selected