You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Shutterstock/igor.stevanovic

Irish amateur boxer jailed for assaulting drug dealer during drugs robbery

He also threatened to put a bullet in the head of the man’s mother.

A MEMBER OF the Irish amateur international boxing team has been jailed for a year for assaulting a drug dealer during a drugs robbery and threatening to put a bullet in his mother’s head.

Aaron Kelly (20), who boxes in the super heavyweight division, lured the dealer to a location on the premise of buying drugs and assaulted him.

Kelly of Hill View Estate, Ballinteer, Dublin pleaded guilty at Dublin Circuit Criminal Court to breaching the peace at Newlands Terrace, Terenure on 6 June 2014 and assault causing harm at Rathdown Avenue, Terenure on 14 July 2014.

Judge Karen O’Connor said she “agonized” over what sentence to give Kelly. She noted that he was a very talented young man with good family support and no addiction issues. She imposed a two and a half year term and suspended the final 18 months.

Judge O’Connor told Kelly “to put his head down and serve his time” and then “put the whole matter behind you”.

She took into account seriousness of the offences and the effect they had on the victims. One of the victims, Martina Courtney, said she now felt like a prisoner in her home and had to leave her job.

However Judge O’Connor accepted a defence submission that not all of the suffering visited on Courtney’s son, Daragh Dodrell, could be blamed on Kelly as Dodrell had involved himself in drug dealing. The judge said:

Mr Dodrell has now seen that this activity can only lead to hurt, pain, upset and a sense of shame for his family.

Fiona Murphy BL, prosecuting, said Kelly called to Ms Courtney’s house looking for her son. He became verbally abusive and when Ms Courtney told him to go away he responded: “Ah you have attitude, I love a woman with attitude.”

He threatened her that he “had a bullet for your head and a bullet for his knee”, referring to Mr Dodrell.

A month later Dodrell was at home when he got a text from someone looking to buy drugs. Dodrell and three friends drove to an agreed location where Kelly and another man approached them. Kelly punched Dodrell, “busting his nose and tooth” and causing him to bleed heavily.

A demand was made for the drugs and a knife was produced which was held to Dodrell. He was made to drive to where the drugs were hidden. Kelly stood on the victim’s legs while checking that they were genuine.

In mitigation Padraig Dwyer SC, defending, asked the judge to consider Kelly’s efforts to rehabilitate while in prison. He said he had become a “listener” for The Samaritans and had done a course in driver theory.

He also submitted that Kelly, who is attached to the Mount Tallant Boxing Club, had represented Ireland on the European and international stage.

Read: Dissident republicans want to mark Easter Rising by ‘killing police officers’ – PSNI>

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

27 Comments
    Mute Gareth Cooney
    Favourite Gareth Cooney
    Dec 30th 2017, 9:26 AM

We deserve a massive reduction in our tv license for wasted money spent on producing shows such as Dancing with the stars and Ireland’s got talent. I know there’s an off button on my TV but these shows should only be visible on RTE Player and not mainstream.

I’d rather watch Christy Duignam tell his life story on the late late for the 10th time than to watch a bunch of overpaid RTE presenters & z listers buck leaping round a studio.

Mute Pat Doran
    Favourite Pat Doran
    Dec 30th 2017, 10:17 AM

@Gareth Cooney: Ireland’s Got Talent is set for TV3 so no license fee money going there. It’ll last 2 seasons, at best, anyway.

Mute DaisyChainsaw
    Favourite DaisyChainsaw
    Dec 30th 2017, 1:26 PM

@Pat Doran: IGT will be another Tops of the Parish show. Easily avoidable.

Mute An Observer
    Favourite An Observer
    Dec 30th 2017, 9:01 AM

BREAKING NEWS: I won’t be talking about any of these shows!

Mute Ted Murray
    Favourite Ted Murray
    Dec 30th 2017, 10:08 AM

@An Observer: ___ Not even to say “I don’t watch that crap?”

Mute gold3n
    Favourite gold3n
    Dec 30th 2017, 9:14 AM

Jason Byrne is shockingly bad at every thing he dose….

Mute Tweety McTweeter
    Favourite Tweety McTweeter
    Dec 30th 2017, 10:09 AM

@gold3n:

Some say he can’t even spell simple 4 letter words

Mute JJ
    Favourite JJ
    Dec 30th 2017, 11:34 AM

@Tweety McTweeter: You’re missing an ‘a’ there

Mute Ruairi O Neill
    Favourite Ruairi O Neill
    Dec 30th 2017, 12:59 PM

@gold3n: he is a bit of a dose.

Mute Eyepopper
    Favourite Eyepopper
    Dec 30th 2017, 1:04 PM

@gold3n: but he does it LOUDLY, so its hilarious

Mute Damian O'Brien
    Favourite Damian O'Brien
    Dec 30th 2017, 11:31 AM

Hold on a second. You’ve included Dancing With The Stars and Ireland’s Got Talent in your list of programmes included in the golden age of television? Surely you jest?

They may well be talked about, but purely in a derogatory fashion.

Mute EC P Ford
    Favourite EC P Ford
    Dec 30th 2017, 9:37 AM

New comedy on RTÉ DANCING WITH THE STARS

Mute Paul Furey
    Favourite Paul Furey
    Dec 30th 2017, 9:46 AM

@EC P Ford: It should be called “Dancing”

Mute Ted Murray
    Favourite Ted Murray
    Dec 30th 2017, 10:35 AM

@Paul Furey: ___ It should be “Desperate Z Listers falling about because they’ve got nothing better to do.”

Mute DaisyChainsaw
    Favourite DaisyChainsaw
    Dec 30th 2017, 1:28 PM

@EC P Ford: Dancing With The Stars’ Non Famous Siblings.

Mute Dalya Al-Tulaihi
    Favourite Dalya Al-Tulaihi
    Dec 30th 2017, 8:48 AM

Great, more shows I can watch online. I don’t know about you people, but TV is just not for me.

Mute Hardly Normal
    Favourite Hardly Normal
    Dec 30th 2017, 9:05 AM

@Dalya Al-Tulaihi: I was only saying the other day how much you’d miss the mundane show games or chat show repeats. Now everything you watch has to be just as exciting and as mysterious as the last show and you’re not going to be happy till you find something which could take ages. There’s very little you can throw on for the sake of it, You end up spending more time clicking and swiping which leads to more time spent in front of the screen. You have to pause it instead of waiting for the adds while you run to the jax or to make a cup of tea disturbing everyone’s viewing ,that’s if you’re lucky enough everyone’s not on their own screen. Online viewing is great all right and instant but sometimes you’d miss the traditional viewing.

Mute Dalya Al-Tulaihi
    Favourite Dalya Al-Tulaihi
    Dec 30th 2017, 3:46 PM

@Hardly Normal: oh I totally agree!! But since no one in the house is bothered with the tv anyway it’s hard for me to bring that tradition back all by myself you know!? It’s great when the family is gathered and all are watching the same show, but the older you grow the more distant you become from family because everyone start to have their own taste in shows, movies, etc.

Mute Eugene Tyson
    Favourite Eugene Tyson
    Dec 30th 2017, 9:05 AM

I was reading the article skeptically, however, there is a lot of good shite in there.

Mute Garrett Colreavy
    Favourite Garrett Colreavy
    Dec 30th 2017, 9:42 AM

What about doctor who

Mute Paul Coughlan
    Favourite Paul Coughlan
    Dec 30th 2017, 9:57 AM

Looking into the future like former Taoiseach Brian Cowen. Must watch TV my arse.

Mute Minom Pnnomm
    Favourite Minom Pnnomm
    Dec 30th 2017, 11:07 AM

@Paul Coughlan: biffo can read the future through interpreting his Guinness shytes.

Mute JJ
    Favourite JJ
    Dec 30th 2017, 8:49 AM

Load of shite

Mute bings
    Favourite bings
    Dec 30th 2017, 9:10 AM

@JJ: What a waste of 160. for a license

Mute Elaynehb
    Favourite Elaynehb
    Dec 30th 2017, 12:07 PM

They missed a trick in not getting Kim Kardashian to play donatella Versace as she is morphing into her recently

Mute john g mcgrath
    Favourite john g mcgrath
    Dec 30th 2017, 11:24 AM

Bring back the Riordans I say !!!

Mute Pseud O'Nym
    Favourite Pseud O'Nym
    Dec 30th 2017, 9:19 AM

What did you use to ‘bait’ your breath? Maggots? Worms?

Mute WynnnerZ
    Favourite WynnnerZ
    Dec 30th 2017, 4:35 PM

Just waiting for the next episode of Designated survivor, that is all, last episode broke me

Mute Darach Malone
    Favourite Darach Malone
    Dec 30th 2017, 5:19 PM

Black Mirror dropped on Netflix this morning.

Mute Robin Basstard
    Favourite Robin Basstard
    Dec 30th 2017, 10:00 AM

What I want to know is…when will the RTE bring back Celebrity Pigs ‘n’ Heels?… sorry meant…Celebrity Jigs ‘n’ Reels…

Mute Eugene Carton
    Favourite Eugene Carton
    Dec 30th 2017, 5:35 PM

How about Wheeler Dealers ?

Mute Lelia Brandon O'Reilly
    Favourite Lelia Brandon O'Reilly
    Dec 30th 2017, 2:34 PM

I never watched the English Dancing with the stars so I don’t know why I decided to watch the Irish one, however, I thoroughly enjoyed it.

Mute Curly Pat
    Favourite Curly Pat
    Dec 31st 2017, 8:29 AM

Another reason not to pay tv licence

Mute Martin Laird
    Favourite Martin Laird
    Dec 30th 2017, 4:38 PM

RTE CRAP!!!!!!!!! NOT ONE ORIGINAL PROGRAM THAT WORTH LOOKING AT
    BOYCOTT TV LICENCE

Mute Caroline Burgess
    Favourite Caroline Burgess
    Dec 30th 2017, 6:33 PM

I wont be talking about them. Same crap on RTE. Just a different year.