You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Shutterstock/EML

Gardaí hunt three suspects after bag of money stolen from man on street

The victim was approached by a man in a balaclava and ordered to hand over the cash.

GARDAÍ ARE HUNTING for three men after a large sum of money was stolen in a robbery on a Dublin street this morning.

The victim, a man in his mid-40s, was approached by a man wearing a balaclava in Coolock village at 11am this morning and ordered to hand over a bag of money he was due to deposit in a bank.

Up to €2000 was in the bag – it is understood to have been the takings of a local pub.

The robber then made off in a silver car accompanied by two other men. The car was later found burnt out in a nearby estate.

No one was injured in the incident and police are appealing for any witnesses to come forward.

Read: Man arrested over Eddie Hutch killing

Read: Investigation after body of man in his 40s discovered in Co Cork

View 47 comments
47 Comments
    Mute Helen O'Carroll
    Favourite Helen O'Carroll
    May 9th 2016, 6:38 PM

I wonder was the car they burnt out worth more than the 2000 they robbed!

Mute Mark O'Connor
    Favourite Mark O'Connor
    May 9th 2016, 7:06 PM

Just thinking that myself. Why go to the trouble of knicking a car and burning it out over a few quid.

Mute Rob Cahill
    Favourite Rob Cahill
    May 9th 2016, 7:27 PM

What’s easier to use…a stolen car or a bag of money…I’d take my chances on the bag of money

May 9th 2016, 10:58 PM

Whoever robbed the jammer may have gotten a few hundred quid at most, if not a couple of fixes.

Mute Ian Mellows
    Favourite Ian Mellows
    May 10th 2016, 3:01 AM

Criminals and Garda are not interested in your losses. My car was burnt out to destroy evidence and all they got was a mobile phone. Garda response…. Thats what insurance is for

May 10th 2016, 3:24 AM

In fairness our guards, nurses, firemen (firepeople?) are at their wits end. Teachers under pressure too with massive hordes of children to look after and teach. I don’t mind paying a rake of tax as long as it funds a decent society. I’m annoyed that so much of our tax money is feeding the fat rats.

Mute Daffy the Bear
    Favourite Daffy the Bear
    May 9th 2016, 6:50 PM

The bag of money was not “robbed from man on street”. Absolutely wrong. The bag of money was STOLEN from man on street or man on street was ROBBED OF the bag of money. Jesus, you’re meant to be journalists. Why is it so hard to get this right??

Mute Neal Ireland Hello
    Favourite Neal Ireland Hello
    May 9th 2016, 6:55 PM

Well as long as you’re focused on the important issue here.

Mute Pauliebhoy
    Favourite Pauliebhoy
    May 9th 2016, 7:17 PM

Hope they catch the stealers

Mute Daffy the Bear
    Favourite Daffy the Bear
    May 9th 2016, 7:28 PM

They committed a stealery..

Mute Maria Hickey-Fagan
    Favourite Maria Hickey-Fagan
    May 9th 2016, 9:10 PM

Then escaped on Stealer’s Wheels

Mute Dave Murray
    Favourite Dave Murray
    May 9th 2016, 9:24 PM

Hope they get the thief’s innennyway.

Mute Daffy the Bear
    Favourite Daffy the Bear
    May 10th 2016, 3:35 PM

Grammatical error now corrected; well done Isabel. [winky face]

Mute Winston Smith
    Favourite Winston Smith
    May 9th 2016, 6:36 PM

You own /work in a pub and you walk to the bank with a bag of cash!…tut-tut

Mute Neal Ireland Hello
    May 9th 2016, 6:46 PM

What do you expect them to do? City centre banks don’t have car parks and a small business can’t be hiring security vans every day. Most small offices send an office junior to the bank on foot every day with an envelope full of drafts, cash and cheques.

Mute Damien Kelly
    Favourite Damien Kelly
    May 9th 2016, 8:10 PM

Neil I’ve read two articles today and you’ve had your facts wrong in comments in both!! A city centre location Coolock village is not. Having said that parking facilities(which are present at both UB & BOI in the village) could still have meant he’s vulnerable from the car to the door. Plenty of time if crooks know who they’re after. Difficult to stop this without CIT collections.

Mute Maria Hickey-Fagan
    Favourite Maria Hickey-Fagan
    May 9th 2016, 9:09 PM

In fairness, both banks are about two minutes walk from both pubs in the village. Complacency is what got them into the situation they now find themselves in. A lesson learned.

Mute Sean Cahill
    Favourite Sean Cahill
    May 9th 2016, 9:18 PM

Cash in transit actually works out cheaper than lodging over the counter, the bank charge you per amount lodged anyway. And obviously its safer and a lot less hassle

May 9th 2016, 11:07 PM

That’s not true at all Sean.

May 10th 2016, 12:04 AM

Most small businesses would be constantly lodging large sums of cash into the local bank. I used to often head down Henry St in Dublin from shop to bank with 10, 15 or 20 grand tucked under my coat. You’d have someone with you most times, but you were always dead wide. Grafton St the same. 2k for this effort, something doesn’t add up.

May 10th 2016, 3:06 AM

And if I wasn’t doing it, some other dope was. Drug addicts and head bangers everywhere, but I always considered it a buzz.

Mute Peter Carroll
    Favourite Peter Carroll
    May 10th 2016, 7:18 AM

Winston Smith … It’s across the road

Mute Jimbo Byrne
    Favourite Jimbo Byrne
    May 9th 2016, 7:37 PM

Obviously someone who knew the business mans comings and goings. Change them habits folks

Mute TheCredibleHulk
    Favourite TheCredibleHulk
    May 9th 2016, 6:27 PM

Why is this news?

It’s bad to say but this happens every day up and down the country

Mute Neal Ireland Hello
    May 9th 2016, 6:43 PM

People get robbed of their takings by balaclava-clad thieves in the streets in broad daylight every day up and sow the country? That’s the first I’ve heard of it.

Mute david dickson
    Favourite david dickson
    May 9th 2016, 7:05 PM

He is correct and shops are held up every day of the year. Fact.

May 9th 2016, 7:48 PM

Why would you be carrying €2,000 in a bag, surely you’d have it in an envelope discreetly inside your jacket. Unless it’s meant to read €20,000?

Mute Steve Tracey
    Favourite Steve Tracey
    May 9th 2016, 8:29 PM

Jamie, pub takings possibly lot of coins as sell as notes

May 9th 2016, 9:13 PM

True enough Steve. I’d say the three robbing shites expected more though. Less than 700 lids each for all that criminality.

May 9th 2016, 9:42 PM

700 quid each for a two minute job isn’t bad for the likes of them .

May 9th 2016, 10:24 PM

It was more than a snatch and grab, if there was a weapon involved they should be looking at about 4 years. For 650 squid.

Mute Timothy McCarthy
    Favourite Timothy McCarthy
    May 9th 2016, 10:25 PM

I do not know about that. After a weekend you have lots of high notes. The change or lower notes would be kept to balance the till for the next morning.

May 9th 2016, 10:29 PM

I didn’t know there was a weapon involved. .

May 9th 2016, 10:38 PM

If you’re wearing balas and driving a hot motor intending to rob a man in broad daylight of a “large sum of cash”, I’d imagine a scrotish mind would account for the use of some sort of implement.

May 9th 2016, 10:43 PM

Problem is they probably have about 800 convictions between them already and they don’t care about going back inside for a wee while.

May 9th 2016, 10:31 PM

Thanks to all because of austerity there aren’t as many Garda on the patrol anymore, whether that’s around the country or in the big smoke, and as a result the degenerates appear to have the run of the place.

Mute Paige Turners
    Favourite Paige Turners
    May 10th 2016, 5:36 AM

Gardaí don’t prevent crime. They investigate it. The ‘if we had more guards there’d be less crime’ argument really doesn’t stack up

May 11th 2016, 12:31 AM

I disagree, toerags tend to be perturbed by the presence of guards.

Mute Cal McLaughlin
    Favourite Cal McLaughlin
    May 9th 2016, 7:55 PM

Like taking candy from a child.

Mute Alan Dignam
    Favourite Alan Dignam
    May 9th 2016, 9:30 PM

A bag of money ????? 2 Grand. You could put that in an envelope for god sake. 2 Grand why would you bother lodging it? ??? That’s the size of the float for most pubs

Mute Les Behan
    Favourite Les Behan
    May 9th 2016, 8:39 PM

If this wasn’t an inside job and was down to pure stupidity, he deserved to be robbed. Some people need to learn lessons the hard way.

May 9th 2016, 10:32 PM

That’s an awful stupid thing to say.

Mute Les Behan
    Favourite Les Behan
    May 9th 2016, 11:20 PM

Why is it? On account of his stupidity Gardaí hours will be wasted investigating a preventable crime. Hours that could have been spent beating up protesters.

May 10th 2016, 12:12 AM

Charlie Chawke learned the hard way eh? Lost a leg ‘cos some ne’er-do-wells decided to rob him of his earnings.