You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

McGuinness arriving to announce his candidacy on Saturday Niall Carson/PA Wire/Press Association Images

Martin McGuinness branded a 'consistent liar' by Gay Byrne

Byrne hit out at the Sinn Féin presidential candidate, saying he “lies all the time” using “weasel words”.

GAY BYRNE HAS weighed in on the presidential campaign, calling new entrant Martin McGuinness a “consistent liar”.

Byrne, who once looked likely to join the race for the Áras himself as a Fianna Fáil-backed candidate, hit out at McGuinness and Sinn Féin during a television interview.

He said McGuinness was a “former gunman” who would use “weasel words” during the campaign, and asked: “Do the Irish people want this guy to be head of the armed forces? Byrne said of McGuinness and Sinn Féin president Gerry Adams:

They lie. They lie all the time, they lie consistently, and they don’t mind lying, and they rehearse their lies, because they’ve been trained to lie.

He added that McGuinness was a “clever operator” who would be a “strong contender” for the presidency, but said he believed he would not answer tough questions from the Irish public. Instead, he suggested Sinn Féin “will wriggle and weasel words as usual, because they’re very very good at doing that.”

Speaking on TV3′s Midweek, Byrne also insisted that: “I don’t regret not going for the presidency at all.”

Meanwhile, would-be Independent candidates David Norris and Dana Rosemary Scallon are continuing their last-ditch bids to win nomination by next Thursday. Both appear to have failed to secure the support of the 20 Oireachtas members necessary, with only one having signed Dana’s nomination papers.

Last night Norris had won 14 signatures from Oireachtas members, including himself. The Irish Times reports this morning that Independent Senator Marie Louise O’Donnell has also backed her Seanad colleague, bringing his total to 15.

Council battle

Both Norris and Dana are now hoping to secure nomination by winning support from four county councils. Each would require four councils’ backing to appear on the ballot paper. Norris already has one in Fingal, and at least five councils will debate motions on one or both of the would-be candidates.

South Dublin County Council will meet on Monday to debate a motion to nominate Norris, as will Carlow. Roscommon councillors will debate motions in favour of both Áras hopefuls on Monday,with the county’s mayor Eugene Murphy telling RTÉ’s Morning Ireland today that the council would certainly give its support to one of the two candidates.

Kilkenny will also debate both candidates on Saturday and Monday. A proposal to nominate Norris will be put forward in Laois on Monday.

The Irish Daily Mail reports this morning that supporters of Dana have said they are confident of winning council support in Donegal, Longford and Roscommon.

Read more: Norris and Dana lobby councils to support their presidential bids>

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

135 Comments
    Mute Mos
    Favourite Mos
    Oct 8th 2020, 8:57 AM

What sort of eejits are proposing this sort of restrictions. Stay in your County, stay at home & don’t drink. Let’s just move to Saudi Arabia

Mute Fozz
    Favourite Fozz
    Oct 8th 2020, 9:08 AM

@Mos: who is telling you not to drink?
    Hyperbole much?

Mute Olivia Smith
    Favourite Olivia Smith
    Oct 8th 2020, 9:10 AM

@Fozz: The 12% who voted they should close altogether.

Mute Michael Clinton
    Favourite Michael Clinton
    Oct 8th 2020, 9:19 AM

@Mos:
    The same eejits that other eejits voted for..

Mute Mary Nugent
    Favourite Mary Nugent
    Oct 8th 2020, 9:51 AM

@Mos: it will cut wages,hours and the total paye and vat returns. While bills and rates again vat.

Mute richard fennessy
    Favourite richard fennessy
    Oct 8th 2020, 9:57 AM

@Fozz: the people who said they should close

Mute Lee Galiezitte
    Favourite Lee Galiezitte
    Oct 8th 2020, 11:43 AM

@Fozz: Have a read and check out the poll, then comment.

Mute Hugh McFadden
    Favourite Hugh McFadden
    Oct 8th 2020, 12:04 PM

@Mos: A very good idea, Mos.. And take the anti-mask protest eejits with you

Mute Euge80
    Favourite Euge80
    Oct 8th 2020, 1:19 PM

@Mos: Stay open longer!

Mute Carol Oates
    Favourite Carol Oates
    Oct 8th 2020, 9:01 AM

Would the person who is planning to have a drink not just buy it earlier? There is no logic to this suggestion.

Mute BatMon
    Favourite BatMon
    Oct 8th 2020, 9:35 AM

@Carol Oates: different people work different hours, ( shifts). Offlicence’s should be open 24/7

Mute Catherine Higgins
    Favourite Catherine Higgins
    Oct 8th 2020, 10:23 AM

@BatMon: I think that would only add to the pressure of a+e staff. Not a great idea.

Mute Michael J Flynn
    Favourite Michael J Flynn
    Oct 8th 2020, 10:36 AM

@Carol Oates: If people cannot get alcohol for a last minute party, have these party expert and young person expert TDs considered that they might buy drugs and still go. Leo said that NPHET hadnt thought things through. He could say that about this proposal as well.

Mute Carol Oates
    Favourite Carol Oates
    Oct 8th 2020, 12:45 PM

@BatMon: That supports the argument of not reducing hours. People will do what they do now, buy whenever they are open and probably just keep something on hand. I agree off licences should be able to open 24 hours if it suits them to do so. Certainly it’s madness that someone doing their food shop or getting their shopping delivered at 7 in the morning can’t buy wine if they choose to.

Mute Trevor Donoghue
    Favourite Trevor Donoghue
    Oct 9th 2020, 6:23 AM

@Carol Oates: Maybe because people are in work before the off licences open and might want to buy a few cans for when they finish their work week?

Mute Jurga Moylan
    Favourite Jurga Moylan
    Oct 8th 2020, 9:05 AM

I’m all for the level 3, 4 or 5 but in all fairness it’s turning into a dictatorship now and seeing how far into compliance they can push people.
    It’s bad enough that as a grown and responsible adult that I cant buy a bottle of wine at a certain time of the morning when I like to do the weekly shopping, this is just a step too far.

Mute Dave Grant
    Favourite Dave Grant
    Oct 8th 2020, 9:15 AM

@Jurga Moylan: Under his eye.

Mute Aaron92utd
    Favourite Aaron92utd
    Oct 8th 2020, 9:55 AM

@Jurga Moylan: well it is the blueshirts

Mute Mark Murphy
    Favourite Mark Murphy
    Oct 8th 2020, 1:48 PM

@Jurga Moylan: in fairness , why would the government want a dictatorship when it comes to alcohol drinking ?!

Mute Shannon butler
    Favourite Shannon butler
    Oct 9th 2020, 11:11 PM

@Mark Murphy: drunk/hungover worker slaves don’t make for productive worker slaves.

Mute pethelhug
    Favourite pethelhug
    Oct 8th 2020, 8:56 AM

People will still get it if they want. Stop prohibition.

Mute Michael Clinton
    Favourite Michael Clinton
    Oct 8th 2020, 9:21 AM

@pethelhug:
    Exactly, if they can’t get it legally then it will be driven underground and people will will support the black market.

Mute Fiona Fitzgerald
    Favourite Fiona Fitzgerald
    Oct 8th 2020, 6:14 PM

@Michael Clinton: Or they’d drive north – whoever is selling all the fireworks would no doubt supply drink as well?

Mute Derek Walsh
    Favourite Derek Walsh
    Oct 8th 2020, 9:12 AM

Remember when off-licences would close on Good Friday? Did that stop house parties?
    Not sure how reducing opening hours would do anything the proposers claim.

Mute William Mcgee
    Favourite William Mcgee

Lets see them close the dail bar first before destroying the livelihood of more people and penalising people who abide by the laws .

Mute John Murphy
    Favourite John Murphy
    Oct 8th 2020, 12:08 PM

@William Mcgee: The early closure would have a short term impact. Maybe for a few weeks until people get more organised for parties either by buying in advance or by moving onto drugs.
    So its a card that should be saved until we need it more and even then only impose it for a few weeks.

Mute Freda Hanratty
    Favourite Freda Hanratty
    Oct 8th 2020, 12:59 PM

@William Mcgee: it’s not open! I know!

Mute Franny Ando
    Favourite Franny Ando
    Oct 8th 2020, 9:33 PM

@John Murphy: no it shouldn’t be saved and it should never be used.

Mute mar
    Favourite mar

The option “they should stay open longer” is missing.

Mute Mirabelle Stonegate
    Favourite Mirabelle Stonegate
    Oct 8th 2020, 9:09 AM

Mum and I bought 9 bottles of beer on monday. All just for dad. Only one gone so far. Maybe another one or two gone in the next few days.

Not everyone buying large quantities of alcohol is doing so for parties.

Mute Tom kenny
    Favourite Tom kenny
    Oct 8th 2020, 9:38 AM

@Mirabelle Stonegate: must have been awfully big bottles that you needed two people to buy them.

Mute Danny McCarthy
    Favourite Danny McCarthy
    Oct 8th 2020, 10:18 AM

@Tom kenny: 9 green bottles standing on a wall ……………… & if one ……!!!!!

Mute Olivia Smith
    Favourite Olivia Smith
    Oct 8th 2020, 10:27 AM

@Tom kenny: Noe that made me LOL on this s@itty morning, Thanks.

Mute Ken Bramley
    Favourite Ken Bramley
    Oct 8th 2020, 11:42 AM

@Tom kenny: So Tom enlighten me as to how they got there to buy them , was it by car, train, bus or walking and could you also explain how you would carry 9 bottles if maybe your other arm was in a sling or what if she was helping her Mam along in the zimmer frame . So many what ifs ??????? but you went with the MUST !

Mute transik
    Favourite transik
    Oct 8th 2020, 11:43 AM

@Mirabelle Stonegate: 9 bottles of beer is hardly “large” quality.
    We are talking about two different things here

Mute Tom kenny
    Favourite Tom kenny
    Oct 8th 2020, 12:07 PM

@Ken Bramley: humour is not your strong point, is it?

Mute Mirabelle Stonegate
    Oct 8th 2020, 6:04 PM

@Tom kenny: We were doing the grocery shop together. Mum wasn’t in a position to be doing much heavy lifting, as she’d had an angio a few days before.

Mute Mirabelle Stonegate
    Oct 8th 2020, 6:06 PM

@transik: It’s a large quantity to buy for one person.. At least in our family.

I bought 3 cans at the start of lockdown, and that was enough to last me through until the end. That was, for me, a far larger amount than is considered normal.

Mute Fiona Fitzgerald
    Favourite Fiona Fitzgerald
    Oct 8th 2020, 6:16 PM

@Mirabelle Stonegate: Fair point, if people are only shopping every fortnight, naturally they’ll buy more in one shop. I’d say they’re more concerned with people filling the whole car with cans than occasional drinkers.

Mute Franny Ando
    Favourite Franny Ando
    Oct 8th 2020, 9:38 PM

@transik: Actually no you are not..It doesn’t matter if its 9 bottles or 99 bottles. Its the fact they are trying to stop a person from getting it. I am getting a bit fed of this cra-p its turning into a nanny state.

Mute SB
    Favourite SB

Ludricious suggestion if I’ve ever seen one

Mute Joey Roche
    Favourite Joey Roche

It didn’t work in South Africa, I find it hard to believe it’ll work here. Put more workers on less pay. People will just buy their cans earlier in the day and it will encourage others to bulk buy and sell on themselves. Gardaí need the ability to stop house parties, and give more than a civil offense for them. If the government want everyone to stay at home all day, with no vices to cope with the mental strain, they should consider decriminalizing possession of cannabis.

Mute George Vladisavljevic
    Favourite George Vladisavljevic
    Oct 8th 2020, 9:13 AM

I hope that people are not being paid to come up with such ideas?

What’s next, close fast food restaurants to reduce obesity and cholesterol counts?

Nanny nation.

Mute FlopFlipU
    Favourite FlopFlipU
    Oct 8th 2020, 9:18 AM

@George Vladisavljevic: Will you not be giving them more ideas

Mute Frank Carty
    Favourite Frank Carty
    Oct 8th 2020, 9:24 AM

When I was in college, the changed the closing hours from 11:30, to 10pm. Did it give the desired outcome of people drinking less? Of course not, people just bought their alcohol earlier in the evening. From my experience it resulted in people drinking more, as they had their alcohol earlier in the evening, they started drinking earlier.

Mute PeterC
    Favourite PeterC
    Oct 8th 2020, 9:17 AM

I can’t believe people get paid for ideas like this… of course it won’t work, people will just adjust to suit the new times. In fact, it may even have the opposite effect, with perceived restrictions causing a rush on off licences. At least with pubs, mandatory social distancing/hygiene/tracing/etc. can be applied. Given their closure have caused this spike in housd parties, maybe its time to reassess what we’re doing there?

Mute Franny Ando
    Favourite Franny Ando
    Oct 8th 2020, 9:40 PM

@PeterC: Good lord Peter stop talking sense. You know its not allowed:):)

Mute Madra
    Favourite Madra
    Oct 8th 2020, 9:05 AM

They went from 11:30pm to 10pm.
    I’m not too sure what benefit going even earlier will have.
    Once a place is open during set hours people can, and will, buy what they want when they can.

Mute Fandandi
    Favourite Fandandi

Makes no sense, if people want to do drinking they will buy it earlier in the day. There will then be big queues as they are open for less time meaning its more likely that someone infects someone else while there. Also, even if there was no drink, young people are still going to meet up, its not like they will say, il just stay home tonight and if they did have no drink, many will try get their hands on something else for a bit of a kick. I don’t see any positive in it.

Mute SB
    Favourite SB
    Oct 8th 2020, 9:58 AM

@Fandandi: making sense here

Mute kevin mc cormack
    Favourite kevin mc cormack

I’ve a feeling we won’t be seeing much of these particular ministers in the future, saying things like that could really annoy the electorate

Mute SB
    Favourite SB
    Oct 8th 2020, 9:57 AM

@kevin mc cormack: they’ll be decimated come election time, Sinn Fein will absolutely romp home

Mute Colm O'Sullivan
    Favourite Colm O'Sullivan
    Oct 8th 2020, 10:20 AM

@SB: Don’t be so sure. SF vote last time was primarily a one of protest. Lightning doesn’t strike twice.

Mute David Corrigan
    Favourite David Corrigan
    Oct 8th 2020, 10:27 AM

@Colm O’Sullivan: If the 3 parties currently in government keep doing what they are at, then I think lightning will strike twice Colm. Government are ALL OVER the place at the moment.

Mute Bren
    Favourite Bren
    Oct 8th 2020, 11:33 AM

@kevin mc cormack: The minister’s brother owns a pub and can’t sell alcohol as its closed so he doesn’t want anyone else to be able to buy alcohol

Mute Stephen Doyle
    Favourite Stephen Doyle
    Oct 8th 2020, 9:27 AM

Where’s the ‘ 10pm is already too early’ option ?

Mute John fitzpatrick
    Favourite John fitzpatrick
    Oct 8th 2020, 9:19 AM

The TD that came up with this ridiculous suggestion is on €348 a day,
    This is what the Irish people voted in to run our country,
    You couldn’t make it up.

Mute Bren
    Favourite Bren
    Oct 8th 2020, 11:37 AM

@John fitzpatrick: The TD’s brother owns a pub too

Mute transik
    Favourite transik
    Oct 8th 2020, 11:46 AM

@John fitzpatrick: sometimes its better then watching stand up on netflix

Mute Joe Soap
    Favourite Joe Soap
    Oct 8th 2020, 3:02 PM

@Bren: well certainly explains a lot.

Mute Ciaran Dunne
    Favourite Ciaran Dunne

People dont need drink l to act irresponsibly .

Mute Garreth mc mahon
    Favourite Garreth mc mahon
    Oct 8th 2020, 9:03 AM

@Ciaran Dunne: true, but it does help diminish your moral value at the time of doing it

Mute Ciaran Dunne
    Favourite Ciaran Dunne
    Oct 8th 2020, 9:32 AM

@Garreth mc mahon: 100% agree , I had to moderate my comment to bypass the ” J’s filters” Cheers !

Mute Garreth mc mahon
    Oct 8th 2020, 9:35 AM

@Ciaran Dunne: yeah it ridiculous they their filter looks for words rather than context

Mute Garreth mc mahon
    Oct 8th 2020, 9:36 AM

@Garreth mc mahon: and my last one got a toxic rating of 6

Mute michael macken
    Favourite michael macken
    Oct 8th 2020, 9:22 AM

i left another comment, law in thailand for years, you cant buy off licence until 5pm supermarkets, etc , so open 5-11pm . buy u can go to a pub from 9am till 2am or late. works fine . i never see drunks in bangkok at 10am on thier “luas” (bts its called).
    our culture would not work here, and at the present alone, sipping a few watching sports behind my closed door, should i be banned because of a disgruntled TD, who has a share in his brothers pub who is not making money and the off licences have doubled profits…. should i go on, no minister, feck off.

Mute Mary Nugent
    Favourite Mary Nugent
    Oct 8th 2020, 10:01 AM

@michael macken: sang tip and coke.

Mute michael macken
    Favourite michael macken
    Oct 8th 2020, 10:05 AM

@Mary Nugent: sorry mary, forgive me but no idea what that means? is it a code or what? or a colloquialism

Mute michael macken
    Favourite michael macken
    Oct 8th 2020, 10:11 AM

@Mary Nugent: i googled it, got it ha ha ha. duh and i drank it many times, feck its been a while…

Mute Leo vodka
    Favourite Leo vodka
    Oct 8th 2020, 9:07 AM

One word (Drugs)

Mute Neil Reilly
    Favourite Neil Reilly
    Oct 8th 2020, 6:13 PM

@Leo vodka: that leads to a sentence

Mute Em Watson
    Favourite Em Watson
    Oct 8th 2020, 9:32 AM

I can see the good Friday effect kicking in with this one. Can’t buy drink on Friday so they fill trolleys the Thursday before with more drink than they would ever buy on a normal Friday

Mute sean de paore
    Favourite sean de paore
    Oct 8th 2020, 9:42 AM

Isn’t this guy’s brother a Publican?

Mute Anto Harris
    Favourite Anto Harris

Would definitely be a step too far. People could stock up anyway. The next thing would be to close them where publicans would be only too happy to sell their cans at their outrageous mark up.

Mute Keith Manning
    Favourite Keith Manning
    Oct 8th 2020, 9:43 AM

So people all mob outside the offies before they close? I know the government are new to the idea of planning in advance, but people are usually quite good at planning in advance for things like house parties.

Mute Dave.
    Favourite Dave.
    Oct 8th 2020, 9:11 AM

So by his logic if your getting a 24 pack of cans your having a house party? What type of stupid stuff is that. I worked in retail for years, plenty of people buy in bulk when beers are on offer. It’s common sense cause. Imagine been paid 100k a year to come up with utter stupid suggestions. How about something that will actually help, like giving the Gardai powers to issue fines.

Mute Seriousnojoke
    Favourite Seriousnojoke
    Oct 8th 2020, 9:55 AM

One word to summarise Ireland’s Covid response: chaotic.

Mute Karl Mc Cauley
    Favourite Karl Mc Cauley
    Oct 8th 2020, 9:47 AM

The queue to the border would be massive..

Mute Tom Kelly
    Favourite Tom Kelly
    Oct 8th 2020, 9:41 AM

This will be a bonanza for off licences.. people will stock up and probably drink more.

Mute Gerard Heery
    Favourite Gerard Heery
    Oct 8th 2020, 9:03 AM

I’m going to open a “speak easy ” a shibean as its called in Ireland .

Mute Noel Adderley
    Favourite Noel Adderley
    Oct 8th 2020, 9:27 AM

@Gerard Heery: Thank you for educating us Irish on what we call something

Mute John Quill
    Favourite John Quill
    Oct 8th 2020, 9:40 AM

@Gerard Heery: there already springing up I know of a few lads with illegal pubs

Mute Deirdre O C
    Favourite Deirdre O C
    Oct 8th 2020, 10:02 AM

Stop!!! Nanny state.

Mute Isabel Oliveira
    Favourite Isabel Oliveira
    Oct 8th 2020, 10:10 AM

No. And Gardai shouldn’t be delaying traffic on purpose and 342 k people should not be unemployed due to government & nphet myopic actions.

hospital infections:
    Last 24 hours, 25 patients in hospital infected , that’s 104 patients who contracted COVID in hospital in the last 2 weeks.

Convey statistics in a transparent and clear manner instead of more and more restrictions to hide the fact the HSE did not create sufficient beds.

Mute Joe
    Favourite Joe
    Oct 8th 2020, 9:50 AM

So close earlier, create and more queues rather than opening longer to spread out the number of people going into to off licences.
    I know they aren’t worried about queues in off licences but every action they take has an effect.
    It’s like reducing public transport capacity the more we lock down. This decreases capacity and leads to fuller public transport.

Mute Colm de Cleir
    Favourite Colm de Cleir
    Oct 8th 2020, 10:26 AM

I don’t see how this would help. People buying slabs are obviously going to pre-planned parties so they’ll just go earlier in the day. Meanwhile the people who spontaneously decide they’d like a beer or glass of wine – I.e. not at parties – they’ll be the ones affected.

Mute Edel Ball
    Favourite Edel Ball
    Oct 8th 2020, 9:17 AM

So covid loves to party, and now according to the chocolate teapots, it loves alcohol too.
    Inept and incompetent at Best.
    Corrupt and traitorous at worst.

Mute Steve O'Connor
    Favourite Steve O'Connor
    Oct 8th 2020, 10:40 AM

Ugh. The mammy state. Beer and wine should be 24h as it is.

Preventing alcoholism is more about looking after people and their wellbeing than access to alcohol.

Mute The Firestarter
    Favourite The Firestarter
    Oct 8th 2020, 10:32 AM

God I’m starting to hate this country, I do wonder what kind of a boring restrictive country my kids will grow up into.

Mute Donal Desmond
    Favourite Donal Desmond
    Oct 8th 2020, 10:02 AM

This country has enough problems with drugs being sold openly on the streets..Yes alcohol is also a drug, to close off licences would only added to the mess on our streets. Probation certainly does not work.

Mute Proudly Italian
    Favourite Proudly Italian
    Oct 8th 2020, 10:51 AM

I buy usually wine in box of six, to save money. Do you have any problem with that ?

Mute Eddie
    Favourite Eddie
    Oct 8th 2020, 9:43 AM

Has the China 19 Flu now infiltrated alcohol??

Next they’ll be telling us only visits to the bathroom per person per household per day as the sewage system is overwhelmed by the amount of people shitting themselves!

We’ll have neighbours opening manholes and reporting any over soilage!

Mute Ken Fitzsimons
    Favourite Ken Fitzsimons
    Oct 8th 2020, 10:34 AM

Open them earlier

Mute Aidan Leonard
    Favourite Aidan Leonard
    Oct 8th 2020, 11:26 AM

What’s the point. Won’t stop anything. The people who plan on drinking will just buy it earlier….. Dopes, if they think this will achieve anything

Mute Paul Cunningham
    Favourite Paul Cunningham
    Oct 8th 2020, 11:24 AM

Its already 10PM as it is. That’s early on top of being expensive relative to Europe. Any earlier and the crowds will appear and spread things further.

Mute Martin Quigley
    Favourite Martin Quigley
    Oct 8th 2020, 10:12 AM

*Digestif

Oct 8th 2020, 10:04 AM

Instead of closing and cutting everything just introduce proper penalties like fines, suspended and revoked licences etc. And make sure to properly communicate and publicise those incidents to remind people what happens if you don’t act responsibly.

Should be able to keep things open and allow people to go back to work if you punish the people who take no responsibility for their actions instead of everyone else.

Mute Colm O'Sullivan
    Favourite Colm O'Sullivan
    Oct 8th 2020, 10:16 AM

They should be closed full stop. There are a huge reason for the spread of Covid. They are fuelling the house parties, communion & confirmation parties.

NOFFLA must have some compromising pictures of government ministers, it’s unbelievable that off licences have been left untouched. Meanwhile pubs & restaurants, which are much more controlled environments, are hit with severe restrictions.

It defies all logic.

Mute David Corrigan
    Favourite David Corrigan
    Oct 8th 2020, 10:33 AM

@Colm O’Sullivan: You need to try and calm down a bit before you make yourself sick. The majority of people are responsible so therefore, leave the off licences alone.

Maybe you should focus your anger at the meat factories instead? They were riddled with C-19 and nobody said stop. Full steam ahead at all costs seemed to be the message from those factory owners.

Mute Susan O'flaherty
    Favourite Susan O'flaherty
    Oct 8th 2020, 11:13 AM

@Colm O’Sullivan: Why? I am an adult who likes a bottle of wine over a weekend and dont drink during the week.

Mute Peter
    Favourite Peter
    Oct 8th 2020, 11:50 AM

I don’t know if I’ve ever used an Off Licence but I think just leave them alone.

Mute Sailoil
    Favourite Sailoil
    Oct 8th 2020, 6:34 PM

Stop with the nanny state laws.
    Don’t apply faux alcoholic restrictions on ordinary people.
    Stop Catholic Church interference in lawmaking.

Also – legalize cannabis.

Mute Sue Kelly
    Favourite Sue Kelly
    Oct 8th 2020, 5:19 PM

No it’s up to the public to stop house parties. If your neighbours are having a large party report them.

Mute Pat Hogan
    Favourite Pat Hogan
    Oct 8th 2020, 12:41 PM

Close them down fully.

Mute Franny Ando
    Favourite Franny Ando
    Oct 8th 2020, 9:49 PM

@Pat Hogan: No

Mute Richard Barrett
    Favourite Richard Barrett
    Oct 8th 2020, 4:01 PM

No. Limiting hours of alcohol sales will have no effect on the pandemic. Attempting to do this will only cause an unnecessary backlash against the authorities, just at a time when a high level of buy-in for Covid restrictions is most needed.

Mute Joe_X
    Favourite Joe_X
    Oct 8th 2020, 8:21 PM

Obviously the VFI behind this. After all they strong armed the government into opening the pubs before the country was ready.Not their first time pulling this either, after all it was they lobbied the government into reducing the off licences opening hours the last time

Mute Gandelow
    Favourite Gandelow
    Oct 8th 2020, 3:38 PM

Fine Wines in Thomondgate in Limerick should be closed for good. Never to be allowed operate again.

Mute John Phelan
    Favourite John Phelan
    Oct 8th 2020, 12:42 PM

Covid 19 has had 40K confirmed infections and almost 2K deaths in the republic already. Alcohol is known to lower people’s inhibitions so it should be banned. Of course some will find a way to make it or get it, but making it difficult to get will greatly reduce the spread of the virus and that should override our need to have access to alcohol. Which is more important, drink or health ? It’s a no brainer in my book. I do drink alcohol myself, but would gladly see it gone for the greater good of my fellow citizens.

Mute Paul Cunningham
    Favourite Paul Cunningham
    Oct 8th 2020, 1:51 PM

@John Phelan: Drink, because the nation simply won’t comply with a rule change like that. Its the sort of thing that would bring down the government.

Mute Franny Ando
    Favourite Franny Ando
    Oct 8th 2020, 9:52 PM

@John Phelan: Thanks but no thanks. I don’t need you to look after my greater good I’m quite capable of making my own decisions.

Mute John Phelan
    Favourite John Phelan
    Oct 8th 2020, 10:06 PM

@Franny Ando: maybe you are, but obviously there are lots who aren’t. Witness the huge increases in infections after the government took their foot off the brakes and allowed food serving bars to open their doors.

Mute Franny Ando
    Favourite Franny Ando
    Oct 8th 2020, 11:18 PM

@John Phelan: There were very few cases linked to bar restaurants.

Mute Brian Flavin
    Favourite Brian Flavin
    Oct 8th 2020, 4:51 PM

Need stay off licence & Should stop sell for age 18 to 30 for up to 2 years for wait coronavirus gone cos young are problem party house & Rave music

Mute Helen McGuinness
    Favourite Helen McGuinness
    Oct 9th 2020, 9:38 AM

Don’t use the word aperitif if you don’t know what it means…

Mute Jim O Brien Tech
    Favourite Jim O Brien Tech
    Oct 8th 2020, 3:26 PM

Another government retainer poll. #Loaded

Mute Mike Heelan
    Favourite Mike Heelan
    Oct 10th 2020, 5:09 PM

I think if people actually abided by the rules all would be good but the way people are behaving with parties etc I think that stopping all sales of alcohol is going to be necessary in order to regain control over this virus

Mute Shannon butler
    Favourite Shannon butler
    Oct 9th 2020, 11:16 PM

Those who think they should be closed, deep down in their heart know the only reason they want this is because they feel we arent doing a good job unless we’re all miserable. Enough of this analysis to the microscopic level. We still have to live our lives and yes there is no such thing as new normal, you can’t live in a functional society with this level of restrictions continuously. Either we get a vaccine or learn to live with it. End of story.

Mute Paul McCay
    Favourite Paul McCay
    Oct 8th 2020, 10:36 AM

This is totally ridiculous

Mute DeWitt
    Favourite DeWitt
    Oct 8th 2020, 12:46 PM

Off licences are not essential business so only close them at level 5.

Mute Stanley Marsh
    Favourite Stanley Marsh
    Oct 8th 2020, 3:32 PM

What’s the opposite of a nanny state?