You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Former ministers to get pension boost, but one thinks the country "isn't ready" yet

Mary Hanafin has said former ministers should be the “very last” people to get an increase.

Counting Begins Laura Hutton / Photocall Ireland Laura Hutton / Photocall Ireland / Photocall Ireland

MARY HANAFIN HAS warned against increasing the pensions of former government ministers, saying that the economy “isn’t ready” yet.

The former Fianna Fáil education minister and now councillor described the pensions as “very generous”.

Speaking to The Marian Finucane Show on RTÉ Radio 1, Hanafin said:

“I think we should be the very last people, the very last, to get any kind of an increase.”

I don’t think the country is right, or the economy is right yet, to be paying us or the very big pensioners extra money.

The Sunday Times reports today that under the recently agreed public sector pay deal, former government ministers are in line to receive a pension increase.

The paper details that the maximum increase is in the region of €1,680. For example, former taoiseach Brian Cowen’s pension will increase from around €134,000 €136,000.

The Department has defended the increases, with a spokesperson telling the paper that the increases are weighted towards civil servants at the other end of the pay scale.

Hanafin said that in her own situation, she doesn’t take an allowance or expenses from the Dún Laoghaire–Rathdown council, worth roughly €30,000 together.

New National Pensions Framework launch Mary Hanafin with Brian Cowen (left) and the late Brian Lenihan (right), pictured here in March 2010. Sasko Lazarov / Photocall Ireland Sasko Lazarov / Photocall Ireland / Photocall Ireland

Speaking to the same programme, Hanafin also defended the Fianna Fáil government’s actions during the financial crisis.

She said the regulator, the Central Bank, and the politicians were each left to look after their own areas, but she doesn’t think this “hands-off approach” is appropriate now.

Former finance ministers Brian Cowen and Charlie McCreevy both appeared before the banking inquiry last week.

Quoting opinion and colour writers, including TD Shane Ross, Hanafin said the inquiry so far has been aimed at ‘nailing Fianna Fáil to the cross’.

“That just hasn’t happened yet,” she said, noting Ross’s suggestion that it could boomerang and negatively affect the current Government.

Read: 9 things we’ve learned from Brian Cowen at the banking inquiry (so far) >

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

View 172 comments
172 Comments
    Mute Eamonn Boylan
    Favourite Eamonn Boylan
    Jul 5th 2015, 12:44 PM

Disgraceful !!

Mute Tom Kelly
    Favourite Tom Kelly
    Jul 5th 2015, 1:12 PM

Cowan gets134k pension? FOR WHAT?? We reward failure like no others in this country.

Mute david dickson
    Favourite david dickson
    Jul 5th 2015, 2:17 PM

And he is employed by Dinny at Topaz.

Mute John Kennedy
    Favourite John Kennedy
    Jul 5th 2015, 2:59 PM

Tom Kelly
    just to piss you off even more
    http://www.thejournal.ie/in-full-what-former-ministers-get-after-the-governments-new-levy-292810-Nov2011/
    and don’t forget our former Attorney’s General, including my personal favourite “Suds”
    http://www.irishtimes.com/news/eight-former-ags-have-pensions-up-to-67-000-1.13666

Mute Bobby Phelan
    Favourite Bobby Phelan
    Jul 5th 2015, 3:23 PM

No more pay rises to politicians.Hanafin take a hike you people caused this mess.Only afool would vote that clownback in

Mute Bobby Phelan
    Favourite Bobby Phelan
    Jul 5th 2015, 3:29 PM

Blame ure selves for voting them all in for decades when ye all new they were crooked.We need change

Mute James Mc Loughlin
    Favourite James Mc Loughlin
    Jul 5th 2015, 3:42 PM

what about the old age pensioners.they were robbed blind by this government what with the household charge and demands for water charges.it leaves them with very little.the last thing we need is former government ministers getting more money when the government says no to OAPsthis needs a reality check and come down to the OAPs level.cuts after cuts where will it end.

Mute Angry Squirrel
    Favourite Angry Squirrel
    Jul 5th 2015, 3:50 PM

Leaches as if they don’t get enough to live on already. something seriously wrong with our society people the rich get richer and the rest can go be fxxked down the line this is going to lead to serious and I mean serious problems it’s happening as we speak but will get bigger until it all goes to shxt.

Mute Bobby Phelan
    Favourite Bobby Phelan
    Jul 5th 2015, 4:13 PM

Ff fg labour destroyers of our country http://www.nationaldebtclocks.org/debtclock/ireland

Mute Paudi Onail
    Favourite Paudi Onail
    Jul 5th 2015, 8:16 PM

boycott Topaz and burn IW bills, enough is enough.

We have Mick Wallace new revelations to add next week. Every week its the same old s***.

Mute Ciaran
    Favourite Ciaran
    Jul 5th 2015, 8:49 PM

Paudi
    Mick Wallace is a poor example.the only difference between him and the rest is,he looks like he needs s good wash!

Mute Paul Dunne
    Favourite Paul Dunne
    Jul 5th 2015, 9:59 PM

a true man of the people is mick in any other country he would be ran neck like a jockeys bollix

Mute Cathal Brophy
    Favourite Cathal Brophy
    Jul 5th 2015, 12:41 PM

For once I agree with her

Mute Doogle Knows
    Favourite Doogle Knows
    Jul 5th 2015, 1:00 PM

Alright for an a++*hole like her to reject this deal for a popular vote after earning hundreds of thousands as a TD.

But for public servants who are struggling hard it could keep their heads above water.

Mute jim bob
    Favourite jim bob
    Jul 5th 2015, 3:09 PM

Doogle, there is your FG/Lab austerity whilst they look to insulate themselves.

If you had any doubts about their sincerity this is the nail in thier coffin come GE.

Mute Bobby Phelan
    Favourite Bobby Phelan
    Jul 5th 2015, 3:33 PM

http://www.rte.ie/iu/pensions/ this is what people vote for!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Mute Bobby Phelan
    Favourite Bobby Phelan
    Jul 5th 2015, 3:35 PM
    Mute Angry Squirrel
    Favourite Angry Squirrel
    Jul 5th 2015, 3:52 PM

She’s only trying to make herself look good for the next election anyone that can’t see that is blind as a bat.

Mute Eamonn coughlan
    Favourite Eamonn coughlan
    Jul 5th 2015, 12:40 PM

Absolutely disgusting!!

Mute Bill Madden
    Favourite Bill Madden
    Jul 5th 2015, 1:05 PM

Just like the rain…ah! sure tis badly needed…..and if all else fails she can go and teach kids, 2+2 =???….

Mute Tony Skillington
    Favourite Tony Skillington
    Jul 5th 2015, 1:08 PM

This is one of the reasons there’s such a deep seated hatred of politicians in this country. They contributed handsomely to the utter wrecking of this country.. No consequences for them to their actions and they walk off with these kind of vulgar sized pensions on my the absolute and genuine belief that they are worth every penny of it…said it before..they are 20 years behind the curve of public disgust toward them.

Mute Ciarán Masterson
    Favourite Ciarán Masterson
    Jul 5th 2015, 1:24 PM

@Tony

I guess that I’ll get a shower of red thumbs for this but…. ah, what the hell!

Did the public-sector unions really think that TDs and senators wouldn’t get increases in salaries and pensions under the old benchmarking process and the upcoming deal? Members of the Oireachtas are part of the public sector, whether we like it or not. If you don’t like your TD then give your first preference to a different candidate in the next general election.

Mute Tony Skillington
    Jul 5th 2015, 1:32 PM

Ciaran…it doesn’t matter who I vote for..a politicians pay is the same no matter who receives it. No matter what anyone says its deeply disturbing that these people are rewarded to this level given their incompetence at their jobs.

Mute Benny Dowling
    Favourite Benny Dowling
    Jul 5th 2015, 1:48 PM

I will I’m voting independent all the way

Mute Ciarán Masterson

@Tony

Unlike many public-sector workers, TDs don’t have job security – they have to go before the people every five years to persuade people to vote for them.

Mute Linda Daly
    Favourite Linda Daly
    Jul 5th 2015, 2:15 PM

Ciaran, in those 5 years they can save their salary and be made for life , mortgages paid in full etc. Do you honestly think that ministers pay a penny for going for dinner and drinks, claim everything from petrol to scratching their arses on expenses and then finish off on a generous pension for life. I wouldn’t mind it

KMac
    Mute KMac
    Favourite KMac
    Jul 5th 2015, 2:21 PM

Elected representatives should be on the average industrial wage so that they feel every austerity measure they advocate & legislate for. It really is that simple.

Mute Lydia McLoughlin
    Favourite Lydia McLoughlin
    Jul 5th 2015, 2:38 PM

who needs job security with these pensions? as for persuading people to vote for them..they could comfortably live on half of what they get but their greedy snouts are always at the trough and I didn’t sanction these perks and pay rises they’re always out for no 1 …themselves!!!! ….get a grip a stupid statement!!!

Mute Tony Skillington
    Jul 5th 2015, 2:56 PM

Ciaran…they don’t need job security given what they receive in pay and pensions. A politician who has bled the country for any period of time will probably find him/herself on the board of some company in the private sector or the public sector. Whatever you cut it these parasites have their situation sown up.

Mute Paul Mc
    Favourite Paul Mc
    Jul 5th 2015, 2:58 PM

Yes Ciaran you hit the nail on the head the country is crying out for change .I for one will not be voting for the parties that since the foundation of the state have lined their pockets at the expense of every body else. Very easy to introduce a water tax overnight so I can’t see any reason not to introduce a tax on politicians pensions or at least make sure they don’t get paid them till they are dead. It seems fair to me anyway

Mute Aidan Matthews
    Favourite Aidan Matthews
    Jul 5th 2015, 3:32 PM

this is their choice

Mute Mary Lyons
    Favourite Mary Lyons
    Jul 5th 2015, 3:38 PM

She looks as if she would be a very cross teacher…

Mute Bill Madden
    Favourite Bill Madden
    Jul 5th 2015, 5:41 PM

@ Tony….almost everyone who works for a living have to have SOME form of a qualification bet a sorgeon, solicitor, plumber, bus driver, receptionist, or gets on the job training the TD on the other hand needs absolutely no qualification to get the job. Some are highly qualified to do other jobs, the reason there are so many teachers in the Dail are two fold plenty of free time to attend local functions (most finish at 3 to 4 pm and of course they are used to standing in front of an “audience” even if that is teaching kids the 12 times tables. Hence they end up chairing local meetings and groups!!!

Mute PhotographybyMeAB
    Favourite PhotographybyMeAB
    Jul 5th 2015, 12:40 PM

Taking more money from the Tax Payer!!!!!

Mute Lydia McLoughlin
    Favourite Lydia McLoughlin
    Jul 5th 2015, 12:39 PM

Former???? all you mean !!!! are they stupid to think there is ANY fairness here??

Mute Jack Dunne
    Favourite Jack Dunne
    Jul 5th 2015, 1:12 PM

public sector pay deal- people giving themselves a raise-conflict of interest anyone?

Mute jim bob
    Favourite jim bob
    Jul 5th 2015, 3:03 PM

Absolutely, here we go again gravy train rolls into town!!!

Our debt stands at over 100% of GDP and these clowns want a payrise – never – not till we have repaid our debt fully and once again have control of our sovereignty -and not have our budget debated and approved in the bundestag !

Until then they are just lackies and should be paid accordingly – and next party in power should have that written into the constitution via a referendum.

Mute Jenny
    Favourite Jenny
    Jul 5th 2015, 12:42 PM

I seriously cannot believe this a real thing. How in the living F**K did somebody negotiate a pension increase for former ministers? Irish children are literally starving. Starving. What in the holy hell is going on?

Mute Ciarán Masterson
    Jul 5th 2015, 1:31 PM

@Jenny

If Irish children are starving then it’s because they have parents who are too lazy to cook for them or put the desire for alcohol, cigarettes or illegal drugs before the welfare of their children.

If you can’t afford to be a parent, don’t become a parent.

Mute Nollaig Kelly
    Favourite Nollaig Kelly
    Jul 5th 2015, 1:34 PM

Can I see proof of the above statement please and where you these facts from

See 22 more replies ▾
    Mute Nollaig Kelly
    Favourite Nollaig Kelly
    Jul 5th 2015, 1:35 PM

Mr masterson that is

Mute Ciarán Masterson
    Jul 5th 2015, 1:44 PM

@Nollaig

I’m giving the government the presumption of innocence with regard to its policies. Why don’t these parents take responsibility instead of blaming the government for their problems?

It’s obvious that many children are not eating properly because of the obesity crisis or because some parents are addicts or are too lazy to cook healthy food for them. If these parents cannot afford to bring up their children then they shouldn’t have become parents in the first place. Do you not think that personal responsibility is important?

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/courts/abuse-case-boy-2-held-open-beer-can-and-was-visibly-sunburnt-30346683.html

Mute VinHeffer89
    Favourite VinHeffer89
    Jul 5th 2015, 1:52 PM

Ciaran, you’re using an abuse case to prove that children in Ireland are only in poverty because their parents are lazy alcoholics or addicts. Well, here’s some recent CSO figures that would debunk that claim of yours;
    http://www.irishtimes.com/news/social-affairs/cso-report-exposes-frightening-scale-of-child-poverty-1.2074429
    Here’s some more evidence;
    http://www.irishexaminer.com/ireland/child-poverty-a-national-scandal-314202.html

Will I continue or is that sufficient?

Mute The Artic Monkey
    Favourite The Artic Monkey
    Jul 5th 2015, 2:09 PM

Jenny don’t be hasty…

Mute whynotme
    Favourite whynotme
    Jul 5th 2015, 2:37 PM

A weekend away of sex will do you the world of good,Ciarán .

Mute Ciarán Masterson
    Jul 5th 2015, 3:17 PM

@VinHeffer89

But do the circumstances of the families referred to in the articles that you have linked constitute real poverty, i.e. as in Syria or sub-Saharan Africa? What is referred to as relative poverty isn’t necessarily real poverty.

Mute Ciarán Masterson
    Jul 5th 2015, 3:18 PM

Furthemore, Vin, it must be asked: Why do people become parents if they can’t afford to bring up children?

Some parents have no concept of personal responsibility.

Mute Jenny
    Favourite Jenny
    Jul 5th 2015, 3:23 PM

What can I say, clearly I forgot to presume the innocence of governmental policy! I also forgot to presume that all hungry children had alcoholic drug addicted lazy parents.

Mute Ciarán Masterson
    Jul 5th 2015, 3:36 PM

@Jenny

Not all parents of hungry Irish children are addicts. Some are just too lazy to cook. Why people who seem unable to afford to bring up children become parents I honestly don’t know.

Mute VinHeffer89
    Favourite VinHeffer89
    Jul 5th 2015, 3:48 PM

Okay; so if people living in poverty aren’t at the level of Sub-Saharan Africa or Syria, countries that have been ravaged by colonialism, disease, famine, drought and war, they’re not poor?

How are these children living in poverty in Ireland not victims of government policy, by the way? I gave that one a miss the first time around but I have to ask, given that you’re willing to “give government policy the benefit of the doubt”?
    “The best small country in the world to do business in” that can’t even look after it’s own future generation, leaving 100K+ in poverty? How can you stand over that?

Also, yes, I’m all for personal responsibility but not everyone’s perfect, people make mistakes, no contraception is 100% foolproof, accidental and unintentional pregnancies happen; have done so in the past and will probably always happen.

To be honest with you man, I’m gonna leave it here with you. I gotta work soon and I’m go to get the first half of the hurling in before I leave. Frankly, you’re a bit of a callous tw@t really and I can’t be bothered dealing with you further.

Mute Jenny
    Favourite Jenny
    Jul 5th 2015, 3:54 PM

Yeah everything that vin said. You’re happy to give the government the benefit of the doubt but not parents who’ve fallen on hard times. If people have made mistakes, they are paying for them now aren’t they. But not the likes of Harney or Aherne, no, they are actually going to get a top up! If you can’t see the gross social injustice in that you’re either callous in the extreme or wilfully stupid. Either way, you’re not worth my time.

Mute Ciarán Masterson
    Jul 5th 2015, 4:23 PM

@Vin
    @Jenny

Children’s rights to life, education and bodily integrity are still protected by the Constitution and are still being upheld.

You’d have everyone believe that Ireland has gone back to the days of the Magdalene laundries. Well, it hasn’t.

Mute Philip Riordan
    Favourite Philip Riordan
    Jul 5th 2015, 4:48 PM

how about some were parents when they lost their jobs and the government have put so much pressure on them with taxes and charges they can no longer afford to feed their children

Mute VinHeffer89
    Favourite VinHeffer89
    Jul 5th 2015, 5:23 PM

So because things aren’t as bad as the 1950s under Protectionism and gross economic mismanagement, the thumb of the Church and the comely maidens dancing at the crossroads that means people aren’t poor? It’s not even me you’re arguing with at this stage, it’s the Central Statistics Office but you definitely know best anyway. Myopic gob$hite.

Mute Ciarán Masterson
    Jul 5th 2015, 5:34 PM

@Vin

The CSO didn’t look into the issue of whether or not some parents are making the right decision with regard to their children. Lone parents are still getting financial support from the State, it’s just not as much as it used to be.

I vehemently reject the accusation that you and Jenny have made that I am callous – or myopic.

I understand cases where one unplanned pregnancy takes place but two, three or four unplanned pregnancies?! That is carelessness.

Believe me, I’m not one of those Katie Hopkins-type individuals.

Mute Ciarán Masterson
    Jul 5th 2015, 5:37 PM

@Philip

Those parents still get financial support form the State, i.e. social welfare. If they are stuck with a mortgage upon losing their jobs, then they can move to smaller accommodation and get their debts wiped by having themselves declared bankrupt. In Ireland, there’s no such thing as being unable to feed your children, no matter what your difficulties are.

Mute Malachi
    Favourite Malachi
    Jul 5th 2015, 6:15 PM

Ciarán, the CSO gives the figures. That is the data. You are just making baseless claims to account for the data, maybe based on your own anecdotal evidence. Just because you may have seen parents mismanage things, doesn’t mean that you have cracked the case.

Or do you have actual evidence to support your claim?

Mute Kershie
    Favourite Kershie
    Jul 5th 2015, 7:43 PM

@ so punish the kids for their parents poor decision making?

Mute Paudi Onail
    Favourite Paudi Onail
    Jul 5th 2015, 8:09 PM

theres always a nut in the house. ignore him.

Mute Ciarán Masterson
    Jul 5th 2015, 8:55 PM

@Kershie

Nobody is being punished. Social welfare is still there for the buying of food and drinking water. The single parents who I know have relatives who love them and support them.

Mute VinHeffer89
    Favourite VinHeffer89
    Jul 6th 2015, 10:15 AM

“Single parents WHO I KNOW”.
    The capitalised element of that sentence is where the fault truly lies. Your claims are based purely on anecdotal evidence; which doesn’t not stand up to data as collected by the CSO

€188 seems like a grand amount for someone who’s unemployed but not so when you factor in the cost rent, food and bills. And please, don’t start with rent allowance and medical cards; not everyone gets these. In terms of rent allowance you have to live somewhere within the threshold which varies from county to county. In my local area you have to be paying no more than €520 per month to qualify for it; let me assure you that you wouldn’t get anywhere for less than €550 and that €30 extra means you’re entitled to nothing in terms of rent allowance.

You seriously need to look beyond what you see yourself. That’s why I call you myopic; as in suffering from tunnel vision, aware only of what you see yourself. Ireland is a vastly unequal country. Just because we aren’t at the level of Sub-Saharan Africa in terms of poverty and deprivation doesn’t make this fact any less true.

Mute Ciarán Masterson
    Jul 6th 2015, 11:44 AM

@Vin

I don’t deny that cuts to social welfare have caused difficulties to ordinary people but, in fairness, the cuts that have taken place here are still smaller than those that have taken place in Greece (I guess that sub-Saharan Africa wasn’t a good example to use for making a contrast).

Are there still cases of unmarried mothers being disowned by their parents in Ireland? I acknowledge that I can’t rule out the possibility but there’s no evidence that it takes place.

Mute Ben Connolly
    Favourite Ben Connolly
    Jul 5th 2015, 12:50 PM

Bertie Ahearn getting a pay rise for f@cking the Irish people up the hole and laughing at us struggling as he’s banging away

Mute Ciarán Masterson
    Jul 5th 2015, 1:28 PM

@Ben

Well, Bertie was Taoiseach for a long time because many of us voted for his party time and time again. We all knew that his government had dodgy policies, e.g. not reforming the health service after the formation of the HSE.

Mute Paul Dunne
    Favourite Paul Dunne
    Jul 5th 2015, 10:04 PM

@ciaran even worse than that people elected ff back into power when some of them got locked up for dodgy dealings we are a terrible stupid people with a pencil and a ballot paper.

Mute Stephen Cullen
    Favourite Stephen Cullen
    Jul 5th 2015, 12:46 PM

Unbelievable…

Mute little jim
    Favourite little jim
    Jul 5th 2015, 12:43 PM

Animal Farm.

Mute Rod_TenⒸ
    Favourite Rod_TenⒸ
    Jul 5th 2015, 1:02 PM

Two pensions bad, four pensions good

Mute Ian O'Donovan
    Favourite Ian O'Donovan
    Jul 5th 2015, 12:47 PM

They really have no shame, do they..

Mute Paul Delaney
    Favourite Paul Delaney
    Jul 5th 2015, 12:49 PM

That means Cowen’s pension is worth approx €3.4 million…i.e. That’s how much it would cost for a normal private sector individual to buy the equivalent pension. This country’s political system is a joke… Really hope this new alliance “party” make some radical changes.

Mute Chris Kirk
    Favourite Chris Kirk
    Jul 5th 2015, 12:46 PM

Some of them should have been put in jail for treason, disgusting self serving vermin…..

Mute Robert Moore
    Favourite Robert Moore
    Jul 5th 2015, 12:44 PM

Why can’t the powers that be introduce a 99% tax on all public sector pensions that are over 80k? At least that would be a start.

Mute Iona Cult
    Favourite Iona Cult
    Jul 5th 2015, 12:51 PM

@robert For the same reason that turkeys wont vote for christmas…

Jul 5th 2015, 12:54 PM

Cut pension in half for starters after all Denis will pick up the shortfall!

Mute Paudi Onail
    Favourite Paudi Onail
    Jul 5th 2015, 8:13 PM

more reasons to tell IW to go f***

Mute Paudi Onail
    Favourite Paudi Onail
    Jul 5th 2015, 8:13 PM

cripple them

Mute Ger Mooney
    Favourite Ger Mooney
    Jul 5th 2015, 12:55 PM

So the average working people continue to struggle and the people in charge and responsible for the depression of the last 5 years get a bump to their already inflated pension? It’s this kind of crap that lead to the recession in the first place. When is someone going to right these wrongs? We need to stand up for ourselves and stop these practices. The worst value for money in this country is the service we receive from our ministers.

Mute Kieran OKeeffe
    Favourite Kieran OKeeffe
    Jul 5th 2015, 12:58 PM

Political pensions have to become an election issue..keep it to the front.
    I know the overall amount compared to tax take is small..but its just the obscenity of massive lump sums..step down money..multiple pensions from the same pot..all paid for by taxpayers who are screwed by a myriad of direct and indirect taxes..I know SF promised to reduce ministers pay by 40% but the overall pay and expenses and pensions has to change.

Mute dmn
    Favourite dmn
    Jul 5th 2015, 3:26 PM

Political pensions are on the exact same conditions as civil servant/state employees.It’s just political pensions get published. I’m sure if we started publishing the individual names of local teachers/council workers lump sums and pensions we’d get similar uproar.

Mute Cupid Stunt
    Favourite Cupid Stunt
    Jul 5th 2015, 12:52 PM

I’m sick and tired of hearing all the excuses politions give for landing the people here with a disaster that’s going to follow us for generations unless this debt is dropped, and if anyone believes hanifan is talking for anyone other than herself then they’re deluded. we have some strange obsession with not holding the gov’t accountable for any of their actions, they’re dead wood as far as I’m concerned, to quote how they view us, low hanging fruit. that’s what you are to them.

Mute catherine
    Favourite catherine
    Jul 5th 2015, 1:10 PM

So this week we saw thousands of lone parents losing much needed cash from their weekly payments and in the same week we hear that firmer ministers are due to get a pension rise? How could this ever be justified? Corrupt, self serving, out of touch, some of the words that come to mind here.

Mute Martin Critten
    Favourite Martin Critten
    Jul 5th 2015, 1:20 PM

Agree totally Cathrine, morally bankrupt, that’s what they are.

Mute Dennis O'Brien
    Favourite Dennis O'Brien
    Jul 5th 2015, 1:19 PM

How can Bertie get a pension without a bank account? Does he just show up at the dail every week with a sack with a dollar sign on it?

Mute Dennis O'Brien
    Favourite Dennis O'Brien
    Jul 5th 2015, 2:31 PM

Sack with dollar sign on it in hand regardless

Mute Aidan Duggan
    Favourite Aidan Duggan
    Jul 5th 2015, 12:59 PM

Beyond belief even by Irish standards!

Mute mickmc
    Favourite mickmc
    Jul 5th 2015, 12:55 PM

And this come after the most insincere apology I ever seen from that traitor cowen. If there was a shred of remorse in his bones not only would he turn down this increase but he also return his present pension.

Mute Mr Phil Officer
    Favourite Mr Phil Officer
    Jul 5th 2015, 2:47 PM

He also mumbled and fidgeted his way through the anglo questions, answering in a near whisper while staring at the desk in front of him, I’m no body language expert but he did look as if he feels the weight of that particular issue.

Mute Paudi Onail
    Favourite Paudi Onail
    Jul 5th 2015, 8:11 PM

bully boy banging his fists, twiddling pens, pure guilt.

Mute Grey Beard
    Favourite Grey Beard
    Jul 5th 2015, 12:56 PM

Very last? They shouldn’t be getting an increase at all

Mute David Healion
    Favourite David Healion
    Jul 5th 2015, 12:58 PM

Isn’t ready “yet”. The pensions shouldn’t be increased full stop.

Mute Ciaran Smith
    Favourite Ciaran Smith
    Jul 5th 2015, 1:05 PM

They made this Great Country of ours a MESS .
    Now they want more € .

Mute Jerry Adams
    Favourite Jerry Adams
    Jul 5th 2015, 12:54 PM

look at the mutton head on cowen,probably ates his pension

Mute VinHeffer89
    Favourite VinHeffer89
    Jul 5th 2015, 1:20 PM

Unbelievable. Literally unbelievable.

Jul 5th 2015, 1:17 PM

And thats exactly why i’m not voting fg, labour and ff in the next election, and i’ll be encouraging everyone i know to do the same.

Mute Aidan Matthews
    Favourite Aidan Matthews
    Jul 5th 2015, 3:35 PM

you are right make it an election issue that they work for the industrial wage and get a state pension when they reach pension age,

Jul 5th 2015, 4:03 PM

I’ll vote for and fully support any party or group who pledges to cut current and former politicans pensions by at least 50 percent after the next election, and sticks to persuing reversing what is a dispicable act from what are essentially a very poor performing bunch of politicians.

Mute Shayno O'Donnchadha
    Favourite Shayno O'Donnchadha
    Jul 5th 2015, 1:23 PM

Any member of government past or present that defends this or accepts it whilst we have 1/3 of the country’s children in some form of poverty should be taken out and shot. ( NEVER ELECTED AGAIN)

Mute John O'donnell
    Favourite John O'donnell
    Jul 5th 2015, 1:26 PM

This is unreal… The neck of these arrogant wasters.. They have no shame

Mute Brendan Hill
    Favourite Brendan Hill
    Jul 5th 2015, 1:02 PM

I really dislike that woman.

Mute Glenard
    Favourite Glenard
    Jul 5th 2015, 1:10 PM

We have lost control of our elected officials and we are effectively living in tyranny

Mute Thomas Roche
    Favourite Thomas Roche
    Jul 5th 2015, 1:04 PM

This wasn’t really negotiated for former ministers, but for the soon to be former ministers

Mute Thomas Roche
    Favourite Thomas Roche
    Jul 5th 2015, 2:02 PM

The big problem with government pensions is they are linked to civil service pensions, now if they were linked to unemployment payments ???

Mute John Hartigan
    Favourite John Hartigan
    Jul 5th 2015, 1:09 PM

Election now let the people decide kenny

Mute brains for rocks
    Favourite brains for rocks

Would this spawn and her sort ever just f*ck off and die

Mute Joseph O'Regan
    Favourite Joseph O'Regan
    Jul 5th 2015, 2:27 PM

We live in hope.

Mute Pat O'Leary
    Favourite Pat O'Leary
    Jul 5th 2015, 1:27 PM

Cue lots of keyboard outrage but no willingness to demonstrate , we have been in austerity Ireland since 2008 and the only people to get off their holes to fight back are the water protesters, suck it up folks pay that USC and sit at home whining , these politicians are laughing up their sleeves at paddy.

Mute Paul Dunne
    Favourite Paul Dunne
    Jul 5th 2015, 1:25 PM

mary love have you no morals to return to politics after being a leading light in the cabinet which distroyed this country keep your head down and enjoy your immoral pensions.

Mute RJ.Fallon
    Favourite RJ.Fallon
    Jul 5th 2015, 1:26 PM

General election very urgently needed NOW to put an end to this corruption.

Mute mickmc
    Favourite mickmc
    Jul 5th 2015, 1:15 PM

Hanafin only saying that because she lively going to try and get back on the gravy train at the next election

Mute captain ireland
    Favourite captain ireland
    Jul 5th 2015, 1:32 PM

this government are definitely a vile disgusting greedy corrupt shower of animals , it’s sad special needs assistance cut ,a &e closing around the country , low gardai numbers , etc etc but just enough to give these pigs a rise

Mute mrmeade
    Favourite mrmeade
    Jul 5th 2015, 2:27 PM

so the same week lone parents have their money savaged the politicians decide to further reward themselves. utterly sickening

Mute Benny Dowling
    Favourite Benny Dowling

the correct response mary is that tds are on ridiculously extravagant pensions for making an absolute shambles of the country. they should be given back to the taxpayer

Mute LesBehan
    Favourite LesBehan

Gene Kerrigan highlights a major part of the problem here but for a different reason:

“Nothing compelled his fellow politicians, the media or his party to ignore the fact that something bizarre had happened. But that’s what they did – and are still doing.”

http://www.independent.ie/opinion/columnists/gene-kerrigan/sorry-but-we-need-to-talk-about-enda-31352292.html

Mute Ray Farrelly
    Favourite Ray Farrelly
    Jul 5th 2015, 1:27 PM

Now we need two referendums one for water and one for politicans pensions.

Mute Patrick Ingle
    Favourite Patrick Ingle
    Jul 5th 2015, 1:11 PM

Badly needed. Now they can fill thier trolleys and get a decent iphone…..

Mute Spoddgy
    Favourite Spoddgy
    Jul 5th 2015, 1:35 PM

Take their pensions!

Mute .
    Favourite .
    Jul 5th 2015, 1:44 PM

To be fair the public service unions insisted in pension levy being reduced They share the blame for this

Mute Tom Doherty
    Favourite Tom Doherty
    Jul 5th 2015, 1:41 PM

I don’t think theres any law preventing her and anyone else who feels strongly about it from giving the money back, or indeed giving it to a worthy cause.

Mute Joseph O'Regan
    Favourite Joseph O'Regan
    Jul 5th 2015, 2:29 PM

Worthy cause.like the CEO of one of their favorite Charities.

Mute Derek Durkin
    Favourite Derek Durkin
    Jul 5th 2015, 1:14 PM

You got to love democracy….stop voting folks, the days of needing politicians are long gone.

Mute Get Lost Eircodes
    Favourite Get Lost Eircodes
    Jul 5th 2015, 2:19 PM

Only in the magical fairyland that is the public service do retired personnel get “pay increases”

liam
    Mute liam
    Favourite liam
    Jul 5th 2015, 2:21 PM

Hear they are again pissing down your back and telling you its raining.
    FG\AIB Hooks

Mute Joseph O'Regan
    Favourite Joseph O'Regan
    Jul 5th 2015, 2:28 PM

We should scrap pensions for politicians, it would encourage them to get a job………..sorry that script was written for single parent families and those struggling to survive.

Mute RJ.Fallon
    Favourite RJ.Fallon
    Jul 5th 2015, 2:40 PM

We need a general election straight away, get these parasites out of Leinster house ,then get the place fumigated.

Mute Martin O'Reilly
    Favourite Martin O'Reilly
    Jul 5th 2015, 1:49 PM

This beggars the mind. Baaaaaana Non Republic!

fuve
    Mute fuve
    Favourite fuve
    Jul 5th 2015, 2:22 PM

Hahaha not surprised. Two sides same coin fg ff lab. People are actually going to come on here and defend it to. Again the country is in depression and not recession and these lot want to shoulder the people with more debt
    That must be were they are planning to get the money from the cuts to single mother payment the water and the cuts to the under 25 payment.

Mute Richard McCarthy
    Favourite Richard McCarthy
    Jul 5th 2015, 2:56 PM

134000 rising to 136000 euro pension,no bad for a broke country

Mute damien
    Favourite damien
    Jul 5th 2015, 2:52 PM

F*kin makes my blood boil

Mute littleone
    Favourite littleone
    Jul 5th 2015, 3:10 PM

What an shameful present government we have in fg and labour. They really show their true colours, self serving parasites. As it is this current government that’s allowing these payrises. As hospitals are at breaking point , special needs cut all over the country. Along with numerous other cuts that have affected many. They decided they and former politicians who have brought this country to its knees and destroyed it deserve a payrise. It really boggles the mind what kind of mindset is running the country. Think we know . those that serve anyone but the Irish people. Always said I would never vote ff and now will gladly add fg and labour to that list.

Mute Dave Byrne
    Favourite Dave Byrne
    Jul 5th 2015, 3:07 PM

People should remember that before Hannifin left office she increased the retirement age for us normal folk to 68,As for the pension top up it is an absolute disgrace these people are getting pensions nearly 4/5 times the average industrial wage.
    They live of expenses while stuffing their bank accounts with their wage,I have never heard of a former TD/Minister broke.
    Sure you just have to look at Noonan &frank 40 houses fahy 2 school teachers who became TD/Ministers,Would they be able to have such a big property portfolio as school teachers.

Mute Larry O'Ceallaigh
    Favourite Larry O'Ceallaigh
    Jul 5th 2015, 2:38 PM

This is something S/F should be speaking up on .Rather than sprout out about Greece and other matters issues regarding other nations.

Mute John Hartigan
    Favourite John Hartigan
    Jul 5th 2015, 2:43 PM

People being screwed by our so called rulers must unite to get a fair deal

Mute Bert McCann
    Favourite Bert McCann
    Jul 5th 2015, 4:26 PM

Read Howlin trying to justify it saying there were deductions made under emergency legislation, and they had to be reversed. He claims that for that reason they could do nothing about it…seems there’s no problem with emergency legislation when it suits? surely a slight tweaking would stop these increases if they really wanted.

Mute Martin O'Reilly
    Favourite Martin O'Reilly
    Jul 5th 2015, 2:03 PM

Send her an iphone gun?

Mute fitzer
    Favourite fitzer
    Jul 5th 2015, 5:02 PM

just makes me so angry, frustrated, helpless, They just don’t give a flying fukk, stuffing their pockets while taking away the loan parent’s allowance in the same week. Father Ted couldn’t make it up.

Mute Philip Riordan
    Favourite Philip Riordan
    Jul 5th 2015, 4:51 PM

the smell of fg on this page is rotten

Mute Darren the grouch
    Favourite Darren the grouch
    Jul 5th 2015, 3:41 PM

take cash off loan parents and give to the rich in pensions.gravy train choo choo

Mute OneTrueVoice
    Favourite OneTrueVoice
    Jul 5th 2015, 1:14 PM

Fair play to the Unions negotiating this pay deal for the public sector.

The tiger is purring again.

Mute Eamonn coughlan
    Jul 5th 2015, 1:29 PM

What tiger are you talking about you idiot? This country is drowning in debt and you think this is positive! Here’s another reson to vote out these traitors!

Mute Ray Farrelly
    Favourite Ray Farrelly
    Jul 5th 2015, 1:38 PM

Troll

See 13 more replies ▾
    Mute OneTrueVoice
    Favourite OneTrueVoice
    Jul 5th 2015, 2:15 PM

The USA is drowning in debt too. Should we shut that down as well and get your socialist utopia started?

Mute Eamonn coughlan
    Jul 5th 2015, 2:23 PM

“Shut down the USA” “socialist utopia” seriously what an idiotic comment you must have been drinking with biffo last night

Mute Ray Farrelly
    Favourite Ray Farrelly
    Jul 5th 2015, 2:36 PM

Peaceful protesting is not working folks.

Mute OneTrueVoice
    Favourite OneTrueVoice
    Jul 5th 2015, 2:41 PM

yes, time to get jobs instead and make your own wealth. The state isn’t coming to fill your pockets any time soon.

Mute Eamonn coughlan
    Jul 5th 2015, 2:49 PM

But filling politicans pockets is fine? Work for 5 years retire at 50 and be set for life.

Mute Ray Farrelly
    Favourite Ray Farrelly
    Jul 5th 2015, 2:49 PM

Go away troll

Mute OneTrueVoice
    Favourite OneTrueVoice
    Jul 5th 2015, 2:57 PM

Better run for election so.

Mute Ray Farrelly
    Favourite Ray Farrelly
    Jul 5th 2015, 3:04 PM

One true voice if the truth gave you a kick in the balls you would think it was doing you a favour.

Mute Eamonn coughlan
    Jul 5th 2015, 3:13 PM

You should you spout enough shite anyway

Mute OneTrueVoice
    Favourite OneTrueVoice
    Jul 5th 2015, 4:25 PM

you sound like real smart lads. watch you don’t trip over your knuckles.

Mute Ray Farrelly
    Favourite Ray Farrelly
    Jul 5th 2015, 4:30 PM

Ah the old ones are the best

Mute Eamonn coughlan
    Jul 5th 2015, 6:56 PM

What a childish remark your parents must be proud!

Mute Charles Williams
    Favourite Charles Williams
    Jul 5th 2015, 7:48 PM

The average nurse on €40k will get the same or less of an increase as a politician on pension and who said work work should pay. A bad deal for the average public servant .

tom
    Mute tom
    Favourite tom
    Jul 5th 2015, 3:05 PM

There is no mystery to economics. These ministers talk about hindsight like economics was some great mystery. John Gilbraith wrote about these bubbles in his famous book about the 1929 stock market crash. The fact is Bertie, Hanafin and co are politicians first and foremost. They were carried on an economic wave they simply didn’t understand or want to understand.

The governments job is to govern.
    They are the trustees of the economy. Across the nation we all go to work every day and we must take responsibility for the job we are entrusted to do.

Hanafin can’t shrug that responsibility.

Mute Larry Doyle
    Favourite Larry Doyle
    Jul 5th 2015, 3:29 PM

“….or want to understand………” You hit the nail square on there Tom.

Mute Charles Williams
    Favourite Charles Williams
    Jul 5th 2015, 7:43 PM

No public service pension above €40k should be increased before 2020 and thereafter only under €50k. Pensions over €80k should not be increased before 2025 and pensions over €100k should not be increased before 2030. It’s time senior civil servants and politicians a big, big, big, reality check.

Mute glenoir1
    Favourite glenoir1
    Jul 5th 2015, 4:51 PM
    Mute Martin Smith
    Favourite Martin Smith
    Jul 5th 2015, 5:55 PM

nice way to deflect from the pay rise the current dail deputies will receive…….not a mention about their rise and you can bet they will take the increase

Mute Kath Noonan
    Favourite Kath Noonan
    Jul 5th 2015, 5:42 PM

What a fckin joke! They get enough!

Mute Sean Callan
    Favourite Sean Callan
    Jul 5th 2015, 8:12 PM

Irish taxpayers have contributed €65.MILLION in the past four years to the numerous of our “retired” ministers and TDs …self regulated by a totally serving government!!! This “PLUNDERING of the public purse with no accountability is manifestly wrong!!! When will some one say STOP???????????

Mute Richard McCarthy
    Favourite Richard McCarthy
    Jul 5th 2015, 2:50 PM

Agh god no

Mute joeythelad
    Favourite joeythelad
    Jul 5th 2015, 9:01 PM

I worked 28 years in a semi state body my pension now from it is €120 per week, those f******s get €2615 per week ,that’s 120 times the rate I get per week not bad for people that bled and swindled the people and made sure their rich friends were looked after . I rest my case your honour.

Mute Brendan Glynn
    Favourite Brendan Glynn
    Jul 5th 2015, 10:47 PM

at least they could defer these ridiculous increases until these ‘buggers’ are really pensioners – like the rest of us (over 66)!

Mute Paudi Onail
    Favourite Paudi Onail
    Jul 5th 2015, 8:08 PM

ah here, i seriously can’t believe what i’m reading here. are these with it at all? can someone please drop them all in the ocean, get rid of them. this is just taking the pi** and they know it. i’m surprised nobody has tried to do it already.

“oh we can’t go doing that now, increasing peoples wages, the economy is not ready yet”

no, course ye can’t cos ye are a weird breed under the elites hand now. i really really cannot stand these people anymore. sick of them. sick of yer greed. ye will increase your own trough years before doing anything for the people who put ye in there.

Mute Brian Ó Cuinn
    Favourite Brian Ó Cuinn
    Jul 6th 2015, 12:43 AM

This is so frustrating.
    We need to find a way to get an explanation for a decision like this from the current Taoiseach on television. Like if for 30 minutes a week, increases like this are blown up on to an enormous screen behind Enda Kenny an he has to publicly stand by it and approve it.
    Otherwise, we’ll have a rant about it for a few days here and they’ll still get their pay rise.
    It frustrates me to no end how little accountability there is. Our finances need to be run like a business.

Mute LKim
    Favourite LKim
    Jul 5th 2015, 11:29 PM

Hanafin has 5 pensions
    1 teachers, 2 TD, 3 Ministers, 4, widows and 5 councillors

Mute Alex Clifton
    Favourite Alex Clifton
    Jul 6th 2015, 8:54 AM

Pigs the lot of them. How dare they even suggest this!

Mute paul burnett
    Favourite paul burnett
    Jul 5th 2015, 8:45 PM

Load of bollox