You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Mary O'Rourke interviewed in her home Screengrab

Mary O’Rourke: Current Dáil TDs are ‘not very bright or intelligent’

The former Fianna Fáil TD said that Taoiseach Enda Kenny has ‘nothing in the top storey’ – but people like him because he smiles all the time.

FORMER FIANNA FÁIL TD Mary O’Rourke has criticised Taoiseach Enda Kenny for not being smart enough, and said that TDs in the current Dáil are “not very bright or intelligent”.

The former TD for Longford-Westmeath also said that it won’t be long until the electorate start to hate Fine Gael in the same way that people hated Fianna Fáil.

O’Rourke, 74,  who spoke to student journalist Jason Kennedy, says that people will start to hate Fine Gael in a big way. The former Fianna Fáil TD lost her seat in the general election of last year.

“They said they were going to do everything and now they are doing nothing. I don’t think much of them,” she said.

“What worries me about the present Dáil is that they are not very bright or intelligent. I think Michael Noonan is certainly a good man and I think he will do well for the economy, but after him I can’t think of anyone that I admire.”

Ms O’Rourke also praised Fianna Fáil Leader Micheal Martin, saying that he was much better in the role than former leaders Bertie Ahern and Brian Cowen.

“I think he suits the time we are in. He is a way better leader than either of them [Ahern and Cowen].

“Brian Cowen was very smart and very intelligent, there is no doubt about that, but he wouldn’t smile for anyone and that is what ruined us. He scowled all the time. Wheras Enda Kenny has nothing in the top storey, but he smiles all the time and because he smiles all the time, people think he is wonderful.”

Ms O’Rourke also claims that despite slowly-growing support for Fianna Fail that the party will never be as big as it was in previous years.

“We’ll never again be sixty, seventy or eighty seats. Not at all. Never. They will be a part of maybe three of four parties within a coalition.”

Despite no longer working in the Dáil, Ms O’Rourke has been kept busy with her first book, which will be published by Gill and Macmillan and will be released for the Christmas market later this year. She is also hoping to guest present ‘Tonight with Vincent Browne’ again this year.

Watch extracts of the interview with Mary O’Rourke:

Read more of TheJournal.ie‘s look back at one year since General Election 2011>

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

71 Comments
    Mute 3christian3
    Favourite 3christian3
    Feb 21st 2012, 7:23 AM

Mary,no insult intended, but your nephew the late Brian Lenihan who was considered a very intelligent man made probably the biggest mistakes any politician has ever made. He gave the banks a blanket guarantee, which has resulted in this country being brought to its knees.
    Secondly,he gave the people in the Cavan, Fermanagh, Leitrim area a false sense of security about the Quinn Group and led people to believe that he was going to accept the Quinn proposal which would have saved billions for the taxpayers and ensured the retention of 8000 jobs directly and tens of thousands indirectly dependent on the Quinn Group. Instead we are left with the very real prospect of the decimation of the border counties and the loss of monies that could have and would have been repaid.

See http://quinn-anglo-story.blogspot.com/

Mute William Grogan
    Favourite William Grogan
    Feb 21st 2012, 7:42 AM

Brian wasn’t regarded as smart. He never made a decision without ringing Cowan.

Mute Eimear Ryan
    Favourite Eimear Ryan
    Feb 21st 2012, 9:33 AM

Hmm … I’m not sure that’s true. Lenihan frequently went over Cowen’s head (for example, on the 12 days unpaid leave wheeze for the public service) which was a big source of the tension between them. And apparently Lenihan was in favour of a more limited guarantee than Cowen – http://www.politics.ie/forum/economy/169495-guarantee-disagreements-between-cowen-lenihan.html. Though obviously, they both have to take responsibility for it.

Mute Alan Mulvey
    Favourite Alan Mulvey
    Feb 21st 2012, 7:22 AM

was it not her family that fecked things up.

Mute Tensing Norgay
    Favourite Tensing Norgay
    Feb 21st 2012, 9:50 AM

Why do people never address the substance of the argument put forward i.e. do you agree with the contention that a lot of the TDs in the Dail are not that bright, especially , considering these are the peole chaged with getting us out of the our biggest challanges since the foundation of the state? . We all know the mess FF made of things and by god no one could accuse Mary Couglan and Noel Demsey of being towering intellects . But that is not what is being put forward?

Feb 21st 2012, 10:21 AM

I read her comment that the current Dail TD’s are “not very bright or intelligent” and just thought no change so.

Mute Mark Dennehy
    Favourite Mark Dennehy
    Feb 21st 2012, 11:12 AM

Not very bright *or* intelligent? Does she think then that you can be very bright without being intelligent?
    Might explain a lot about the last 20 years…

Mute Eoin O'Duffy
    Favourite Eoin O'Duffy
    Feb 21st 2012, 11:55 AM

Right so Brian Linehan did the right thing with the bank guarantee, did he? Is that what you are saying?

Mute Nick McCartan
    Favourite Nick McCartan
    Feb 21st 2012, 7:19 AM

I was wondering why Mary was giving us all these controversial sound bites then realised towards to end of the article that she has a book out ! Look forward to seeing you this Friday night alongside the beanpole presenter…

Mute Desmond Byrne
    Favourite Desmond Byrne
    Feb 21st 2012, 7:21 AM

What an eejit!

Mute Eugene O' Neill
    Favourite Eugene O' Neill
    Feb 21st 2012, 7:50 AM

“Brian Cowen was very smart and very intelligent, there is no doubt about that, but he wouldn’t smile for anyone and that is what ruined us”,
    That about say’s it to me Mary,so Cowan’s lack of smile’s ruined the economy.
    As usual when any politician leave’s the Dail or ends up in the opposition seat they grow a back-bone and complain about cronyism and expenses’s then do the same thing when in power.
    A new constitution for our country is needed to stop Cronyism,10 year 100 million euro tribunals with no arrests,Huge expense’s and pensions for ex politicians that are under 65,Boom bust cycle economics and people that have experience,qualifications in the field required in a minster or junior minster job.
    Maybe I don’t have a clue or a bit naive but for god’s shake our country has been economic nightmare for nearly 70 years of our 90 year independence.

Mute Jammy Mason
    Favourite Jammy Mason
    Feb 21st 2012, 9:44 AM

Hit the nail on the head there Eugene!

Mute Glyn Carragher
    Favourite Glyn Carragher
    Feb 21st 2012, 10:42 AM

Well said

Mute Paul Carr
    Favourite Paul Carr
    Feb 21st 2012, 2:58 PM

I notice a few closet Fianna Failers have come out of the woodwork to tell us that “All poliicians are crap anyway.” Infinite wisdom.

Mute old fecker
    Favourite old fecker
    Feb 21st 2012, 7:33 AM

not another Quinn sympathy story and conspiracy. ff and Quinn screwed us

Mute 3christian3
    Favourite 3christian3
    Feb 21st 2012, 7:55 AM

You may believe that propaganda that Anglo is billing you and me for,,but can you explain why if as you believe Quinn screwed us, did he submit a business plan offering to repay all the money and retain all jobs and created 1800 additional jobs.
    Its not a Quinn sympathy story-IT’S FACT.

Mute Gill Jones
    Favourite Gill Jones
    Feb 21st 2012, 11:00 AM

Bye bye Quinn……….Hello Ireland.

Mute LoyalIrish Citizen
    Favourite LoyalIrish Citizen
    Feb 21st 2012, 7:28 AM

Kettle, Pot calling here.

Mute Michael O'Sullivan
    Favourite Michael O'Sullivan
    Feb 21st 2012, 8:29 AM

I always loved the description of her nephew Conor Lenihan:

“That boy is not the sharpest sandwich in the dictionary”.

Poor Mary. Complete attention junkie. Nobody cares, dear. Now please go and spend your several pensions and buck up the Athlone economy. There’s a good girl.

Mute Dave Connolly
    Favourite Dave Connolly
    Feb 21st 2012, 7:56 AM

I think Mary is mixing up being inteligent with being “cute”.

Mute Tigerisinthezoo
    Favourite Tigerisinthezoo
    Feb 21st 2012, 9:54 AM

Dave Im laughing.
    Farmers years ago would say never give the farn to the smartest boy but the hardest working boy. The smartest boy would sell the land.

Mute Rodger O Waters
    Favourite Rodger O Waters
    Feb 21st 2012, 8:24 AM

Did she not oversee the eircon rip off?

Mute Ru Ni Digs
    Favourite Ru Ni Digs
    Feb 21st 2012, 8:20 AM

Mary O’Rourke,should just go and crawl back under the rock in which came from.Let’s not forget the times she went on TV and said how great Fine Fail government was.Another traitor pretending to be a patriot.

Mute Chris lynch
    Favourite Chris lynch
    Feb 21st 2012, 8:38 AM

So if biffo smiled more we wouldn’t be in this mess. Sure Bertie couldn’t stop smiling.

Mute John Kearney
    Favourite John Kearney
    Feb 21st 2012, 8:36 AM

I must say that I agree with Mary – the non-partisan, ex Charlie and Bertie supporting, Eircom privatisation ex Cabinet minister – that there are no luminaries in the Dail to match her or former colleagues such as P.Flynn, Raymond Burke and Ivor Callely. Will the media please stop giving this wolf in sheep’s clothing a platform to spout her FF redemption nonsense. The current coalition is many disappointing things, promises included, but I would take them every time over her former colleagues including the pious Micheal Martin and his convenient disavowment of his time as a Minister in three FF administrations.

Mute Joe Sixtwo
    Favourite Joe Sixtwo
    Feb 21st 2012, 8:45 AM

Mary please just go away!

Mute Rommel Burke
    Favourite Rommel Burke
    Feb 21st 2012, 8:41 AM

They’ll all be coming out of the woodwork now, having digs at Bertie, talking Martin up and generally contributing to the “Renewal” of “The Party”.
    I for one won’t be listening or be buying her book, or her BS.

Mute Chris lynch
    Favourite Chris lynch
    Feb 21st 2012, 8:52 AM

As they say in HotFuzz “The greater Good”

Mute CMD
    Favourite CMD
    Feb 21st 2012, 7:39 AM

Mary doesn’t mince her words, book or no book. You couldn’t argue with anything she said except about about Noonan. I think he’s an arrogant bluffer with very little substance. She is right about Kenny – light on but no one at home! But they will stay in power for the duration because of their strength of numbers. Wait for budgets 2014 and 2015! rabbits out of hats all around.

Mute Colm Connolly
    Favourite Colm Connolly
    Feb 21st 2012, 8:15 AM

Couldn’t argue with her? Your obviously not that smart. Cowan clearly a bright man. I don’t know why people like you try to follow current affairs. Clearly above your iq

Mute Niall Dargan
    Favourite Niall Dargan
    Feb 21st 2012, 9:20 AM

You for real? How about the Cowen not smiling ruined us comment? Last time I checked FF’s disastrous handling of our economy ruined us. Some people!

Mute Seb Lotus
    Favourite Seb Lotus
    Feb 21st 2012, 12:54 PM

Agree with you CMD – this government has control of a willing media (RTE, PR consultants etc) for now. The amount of propagandist drivel they transmit is embarrassing. It’s only a game to them whereas it’s quite real for us.

Mute Paul Carr
    Favourite Paul Carr
    Feb 21st 2012, 8:47 AM

Mary puts his finger on it! Brian Cowen didn’t smile. That’s what done us in!

Mute Unitedpeople Ireland
    Favourite Unitedpeople Ireland
    Feb 21st 2012, 8:14 AM

Dear Mary O’Rourke – you should know… it takes one to know one!

Mute Donal McCarthy
    Favourite Donal McCarthy
    Feb 21st 2012, 9:06 AM

I quite like Mary; however, given that she oversaw the floating of Eircom, and is thus responsible for the crap broadband we have in this ‘knowledge economy’, she would perhaps want to take a long bath and reflect on her own efforts.

Mute Emer Caffrey
    Favourite Emer Caffrey
    Feb 21st 2012, 7:46 AM

She’s a straight talking no nonsense woman, pity she didn’t run for president. A breath of fresh air to hear her speak

Mute Colm Connolly
    Favourite Colm Connolly
    Feb 21st 2012, 8:18 AM

A breath of fresh air. Did you read the article.

Mute Mark Dennehy
    Favourite Mark Dennehy
    Feb 21st 2012, 11:13 AM

Couldn’t be thought of as a breath of fresh air, given what end of the woman it was coming from.

Mute Jack Byrne
    Favourite Jack Byrne
    Feb 21st 2012, 10:46 AM

Why do people still actually pay any attention to what this silly old has been has to say?

Mute jimbo
    Favourite jimbo
    Feb 21st 2012, 7:54 AM

Mammy no politician is and that includes you.

Mute Tom Neville
    Favourite Tom Neville
    Feb 21st 2012, 8:46 AM

Enough said. If the person who was part of the problem doesn’t think your bright, then you are probably a genius.

Mute Derek Richardson
    Favourite Derek Richardson
    Feb 21st 2012, 9:13 AM

mary if there is such a synopsis as less than nothing you and your ff cronies fit the bill nicely

Mute David Higgins
    Favourite David Higgins
    Feb 21st 2012, 9:01 AM

She’s one to talk!

Mute Eoin O'Duffy
    Favourite Eoin O'Duffy
    Feb 21st 2012, 11:54 AM

Well if Mammy “Working Like Blacks” O’Rouke says it, it must be true. Article should read “FFer dislikes FG and thinks FF is better”.

Mute Rory Walsh
    Favourite Rory Walsh
    Feb 21st 2012, 10:31 AM

Apart from the book also she’s teeing up her son to regain her seat in the next election.

Mute Ciaro
    Favourite Ciaro

Surely you mean her grandson? Her son must be as old as prince Charles!!

Mute Glyn Carragher
    Favourite Glyn Carragher
    Feb 21st 2012, 10:48 AM

Rory, That has got to be the scariest comment here … a new wave of FF die hards! At least we can ignore the book.

Mute Rory Walsh
    Favourite Rory Walsh
    Feb 21st 2012, 12:07 PM

Unfortunately it seems the O’ Rourke/Lenihan Dynasty is in it for th elong hall

http://www.aengusorourke.ie

Mute Ciaro
    Favourite Ciaro

Mary O’Rourke, are you the pot or the kettle?

Mute Patrick Dempsey
    Favourite Patrick Dempsey
    Feb 21st 2012, 4:03 PM

She honestly thinks that the hate we had for Brian Cowen was about his lack of smiling and his scouring? No, it was because he wasn’t capable of doing his job. And could she tell me what Micheal Martin is doing in opposition? Well nothing bar claim thousands in extra leaders expenses.

Mute Chris lynch
    Favourite Chris lynch
    Feb 21st 2012, 8:54 AM

I’d like you to pay attention to TheJournal from 2010

http://businessetc.thejournal.ie/irelands-10-highest-paid-public-servants-2010-07/

Mute Chris lynch
    Favourite Chris lynch
    Feb 21st 2012, 8:54 AM

He is smiling there, so her logic is wrong…. heheh

Mute Shane Gleeson
    Favourite Shane Gleeson
    Feb 21st 2012, 9:22 AM

See you next Tuesday Mary.

Mute Kevin O'Sullivan
    Favourite Kevin O'Sullivan
    Feb 21st 2012, 2:14 PM

People hated Fianna Fail because of all the lies built up over the years, the level of corruption and greed, and because they lined their own pockets while letting the country get sucked into a big hole and never bothered to do anything about it. People got fed up of voting in a party that didn’t give two shits about the public.

The only real alternative was FG & Labour, people wanted a more right politics in Ireland hence why Fianna Fail were voted in so often. Plus FG & Labour were the party to get us out of the last mess Fianna Fail put us in.

Its a bit odd, her choice of words, seeing as it was her own party (who she seems to be claiming are super intelligent) that fucked up and couldn’t fix the problem. So, apparently, the Irish are so thick they elected dumb idiots to run the country (again!) and it would appear Mary thinks we are in a bigger problem than her party left us in.

But.. we are seeing more positive news on the job front and unemployment rates, Ireland heading back to the markets early, a lot less drama around our finances, budgets that are tough but seem to be working, etc. Not a walk in the park by any means and we are still a country in despair, but things are looking up a bit.

Enda, Brian or Bertie? I would pick Enda. Might seem a bit dumbed down alright, but that’s because we are not used to someone who is hard working (which to be fair, he is), is all smiles, active, friendly, vocal, etc.

Does not compute. Conclusion? Mary missing the attention.

Mute Richard Brownebacher
    Favourite Richard Brownebacher
    Feb 21st 2012, 12:07 PM

We’ve always been led by intellectual light weights, why should this lot be different.

Mute Dec Rowe
    Favourite Dec Rowe
    Feb 21st 2012, 9:45 AM

Spot on Mary! They’re all a pack of useless gobshites!

Mute Chris lynch
    Favourite Chris lynch
    Feb 21st 2012, 12:09 PM

Pot calling the Kettle black come to mind.

Mute Paul Carr
    Favourite Paul Carr
    Feb 21st 2012, 2:53 PM

Dec: Vote Fianna Fail 2016. All politicians are crap anyway but we promise to smile this time.

Mute Paul Carr
    Favourite Paul Carr
    Feb 21st 2012, 2:55 PM

Fianna Fail election slogan 2016: We deliver crap with a smile. We have our finger on the pulse of the people.

Mute Frank2521
    Favourite Frank2521
    Feb 21st 2012, 12:12 PM

The qualities needed for a CV for a TD are as seen by all recent governments
    Greedy, Ruthless, non compassionate, Corrupt, Liar, Cheat, self important, Egotistical, Thief, Fraudulent, Criminal, Two-faced , and intelligence is certainly not required just look at them. If you had any sense you wouldent get involved with criminals.

Mute michael cuthbert
    Favourite michael cuthbert
    Feb 21st 2012, 10:59 AM

Remember when Mary was Minister for Transport – the wonderful spats with Michael O’Leary (allegedly by phone in the bath on one occasion)?

Anyway, at some point during her tenure she completely lost the plot and, inspired by the Chunnel, proposed the construction of a tunnel to Wales!

But she’s right. The present bunch in Dáil Éireann are, like their predecessors, below par.

Good luck with the book Mary…

Mute Joey Dempsey
    Favourite Joey Dempsey
    Feb 21st 2012, 11:43 AM

Love this women, wish she was my Mammy :) love or hate her, she is never one to shy away from saying it as it is and yes, with the exception of a few, i agree with analysis of the current residents of the dail.

Mute Lorcan O'Neill
    Favourite Lorcan O'Neill
    Feb 21st 2012, 12:23 PM

I love that I read this and THEN realised it was Jason :-)

Mute Finn McDuffie
    Favourite Finn McDuffie
    Feb 21st 2012, 4:46 PM

He has journalism running through his veins.

Mute Finn McDuffie
    Favourite Finn McDuffie
    Feb 21st 2012, 4:46 PM

He has journalism in his veins.

Mute Mark Rodgers
    Favourite Mark Rodgers
    Feb 21st 2012, 11:00 AM

Cairo……..it’s MARY O’ROURKE…….don’t use that expression of the pot and the kettle because the next word would BLACKED out!

Mute Brian Lighthouse
    Favourite Brian Lighthouse
    Feb 21st 2012, 2:28 PM

The saying comes from a time when pots and kettles were boiled over the open fire. The ends would blacken up from soot. That saying has nothing at all got to do what you allude to.

Mute Paul O'Keeffe
    Favourite Paul O'Keeffe
    Feb 21st 2012, 11:52 AM

Stupid auld fellas! Ha hilarious and so true.

Mute Ger Maher
    Favourite Ger Maher
    Feb 21st 2012, 9:04 AM

Will someone please explain the difference between “top story” and “top storey” to Jason Kennedy? Schoolboy error…

Mute jason stone
    Favourite jason stone
    Feb 21st 2012, 9:44 AM

Would you like to explain to us where he went wrong ? Seems to me like he used the word ‘storey’ correctly..

Mute Dec Rowe
    Favourite Dec Rowe
    Feb 21st 2012, 8:10 AM

D