Take our survey • Win a prize

You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

The concert site in the Phoenix Park Niall Carson/PA Wire

MCD issues statement after stabbings at Phoenix Park concert

Nine people were stabbed at last night’s gig. MCD has expressed its disappointment at a ‘small number’ engaging in anti-social behaviour.

Updated 6.34pm

CONCERT PROMOTERS MCD have made a statement regarding the incidents at last night’s Swedish House Mafia gig in the Phoenix Park.

Nine people were stabbed last night, and one man remains in Garda custody in relation to the Garda investigation. Three men are in Connolly hospital in Dublin, two with serious injuries.

Gardaí said they are investigating the possibility that more than one person was responsible for the assaults.

Denis Desmond, managing director of MCD Productions has said that the company is disappointed “that an individual or very small number of individuals engaged in anti-social behaviour”.

Desmond said that the behaviour was not a reflection of the behaviour of the vast majority of the 45,000 fans.

Unfortunately, anti-social behaviour has become more and more part of our daily society with no town or village across the country escaping such conduct.

Desmond said that ticket holders were subjected to searches upon entering the site, and that every precaution was taken. All CCTV footage from the area has been handed over to Gardaí. MCD said it would be inappropriate at this stage to comment on the Garda investigation, but said they are cooperating fully with officers.

MCD said that security and Garda personnel levels were in excess of the numbers required for a licensed event of this size.

The promoters have wished those affected a full and speedy recovery.

Three males in their teens or early twenties died of overdoses last night in Dublin – one of them had collapsed prior to the concert in the Phoenix Park and had sought medical attention inside the arena.

Update: Nine stabbed at Phoenix Park concert>

Three die from overdoses including one who collapsed at Phoenix Park gig>

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

103 Comments
    Mute Kerron Ó Luain
    Favourite Kerron Ó Luain
    Jul 8th 2012, 6:30 PM

Sick of hearing the stupid moralist arguments surrounding this and other supposedly drug related incidents.
    If someone pre-plans to bring a knife in then they probably intend to use it regardless of what they consume.

Mute B9xiRspG
    Favourite B9xiRspG
    Jul 8th 2012, 6:32 PM

Well said! you don’t bring a knife with you for defence!

Mute Jeff Kennedy
    Favourite Jeff Kennedy
    Jul 8th 2012, 7:04 PM

This gig was aimed at 15-21yr olds, have a feeling more security would be needed than say Elton John or even The Stone Roses ? Not just a few more than was required .The Titanic had enough lifeboats for a license .

Mute Ferg Breen
    Favourite Ferg Breen
    Jul 8th 2012, 6:13 PM

Disappointed blah blah talking like a politician blah blah

I didn’t see an apology or an extension of grace to the family members of those stabbed.

Stay classy MCD.

Mute vv7k7Z3c
    Favourite vv7k7Z3c
    Jul 8th 2012, 6:14 PM

@Ferg just updating the post now with more details from the MCD statement

Emer

Mute Ferg Breen
    Favourite Ferg Breen
    Jul 8th 2012, 6:24 PM

Thanks Emer. I’m sure it’s hard to word a statement in circumstances like this but it still appears to be pretty generic and token.

Mute vv7k7Z3c
    Favourite vv7k7Z3c
    Jul 8th 2012, 6:26 PM

No worries, you can read the whole statement here: http://www.mcd.ie/home/fn.php?c=9686901&ar=phoenixparkstatement&cat=all

Mute Imran Ali
    Favourite Imran Ali
    Jul 8th 2012, 6:56 PM

MCD didn’t stab them

Mute Ciara Heffernan
    Favourite Ciara Heffernan
    Jul 8th 2012, 7:28 PM

in MCD’s defence they didn’t stab these people and they are also on very shakey ground as there’s an investigation underway.

Mute Brian Daly
    Favourite Brian Daly
    Jul 8th 2012, 7:54 PM

Correct. You can’t blame the promoter for anti-social or criminal behaviour by the audience.

Mute Eileen Gabbett
    Favourite Eileen Gabbett
    Jul 8th 2012, 8:22 PM

Nine stabbings is NOT a small number of people . Sorry but that is just balderdash. Political rhetoric. A symptom of anti social behavior in our society is more rhetoric…. Recruit more Gardai reopen the closed up Garda stations and issue Gardai with Tazers. Softly softly does not work . Lugs Brannigan had it right !

Mute Nuffsaid Thatsall
    Favourite Nuffsaid Thatsall
    Jul 8th 2012, 8:44 PM

In fairness Eileen, Lugs Brannigan would be in prison now!! A bygone Garda for a bygone era!! For the record, I totally agree with you!! It’s just that the hippies have it ruined now!!

Mute Eileen Gabbett
    Favourite Eileen Gabbett
    Jul 8th 2012, 8:52 PM

ah sure i know , BUT there has to be a happy medium.

Mute Graham Quinn
    Favourite Graham Quinn
    Jul 9th 2012, 12:25 AM

i was at the stone roses gig on thursday. i didnt see ANYONE being body-searched on the way in so i’m afraid MCD must share some responsibility for these stabbings.

Mute James Hendicott
    Favourite James Hendicott
    Jul 9th 2012, 9:07 AM

I was at this gig, and I saw them systematically search everyone around me on the way in. Sorry Graham, I can’t comment on Stone Roses, but for this one you’re wrong, the reality is there’s only so thoroughly they can search without having basic rights problems. (I was there as a reviewer on a press pass btw, before anyone lumps me in with this crowd :P)

Mute James Roche
    Favourite James Roche
    Jul 8th 2012, 6:26 PM

I love the way MCD classes stabbings as anti social behaviour……..

Mute Randy Rarely
    Favourite Randy Rarely
    Jul 9th 2012, 1:24 AM

No statement of condolence for the families the have had to undure immeasurable loss. Give them strength.

Mute Conor Oneill
    Favourite Conor Oneill
    Jul 8th 2012, 6:14 PM

Illegal drugs must be a factor . A cancer on civil society

Mute Colm Austin
    Favourite Colm Austin
    Jul 8th 2012, 6:18 PM

I’m sure drink played a part also…

Mute Martin Mac
    Favourite Martin Mac
    Jul 8th 2012, 6:18 PM

Like alcohol?…it’s always alcohol in this country.

Mute Martin Grehan
    Favourite Martin Grehan
    Jul 8th 2012, 6:38 PM

Yeh, it’s the illegal drugs that done it. Not the legal ones :)

Mute Dave
    Favourite Dave
    Jul 8th 2012, 7:18 PM

Drugs did nothing Conor. Maybe we need to start accepting that bad people stab other people and start looking for solutions there. “I was out of my mind on drink/drugs” is a bloody cop out. I’ve been “out of my mind” once or twice and the worst i’ve ever done is fall over.

Time to take responsibility for our actions.

Mute James Ó Cianáin
    Favourite James Ó Cianáin
    Jul 8th 2012, 9:55 PM

Agreed Dave,

I’ve been out of my mind on drink/drugs and some people have really annoyed me yet not once have I felt the urge to stab any of them while under the influence.

Some of these social parasites actually leave their home armed with their stabbing weapon not under the influence< hence they have full intention. Drink and drugs just gives them more confidence!

Mute Dave
    Favourite Dave
    Jul 8th 2012, 11:07 PM

Exactly James. Its easier to blame a substance and vilify it rather than accept that we have utter dirt and trash among our society who dont care about anyone. We have to face up to it. This City (and this country) needs a major societal clean out because I for one am sick of these people. Anyone even smashing a bottle on the street should be arrested immediately. Enough is enough.

Mute Donncha Foley
    Favourite Donncha Foley
    Jul 8th 2012, 11:42 PM

It’s amazing that everyone knows exactly what happened – drugs, drink etc. let’s not jump to hasty conclusions..

Mute Bilbo Baggins
    Favourite Bilbo Baggins
    Jul 8th 2012, 6:19 PM

Don’t say anythin too bad about MCD on here, they’ll threaten to sue, as they have done on others before.

Mute Ferg Breen
    Favourite Ferg Breen
    Jul 8th 2012, 6:22 PM

Good point. Maybe I’ll delete my comment!!

Mute Pedro O'Gorman
    Favourite Pedro O'Gorman
    Jul 8th 2012, 6:39 PM

yea be careful or the black suits at the MCD Corporation will come by with those mind eraser gizmos..

Mute John Turkey
    Favourite John Turkey
    Jul 8th 2012, 9:02 PM

Everything I’ve read about MCD leads me to believe that they are a company I want nothing to do with.

Mute Paul Kennedy
    Favourite Paul Kennedy
    Jul 8th 2012, 6:36 PM

I have to say part of the problem in this country, is the lack of self responsibility shown! In the comments above all blame for these actions is being laid at the door of the Gardai or MCD for various reasons. If somebody chooses to bring a stabbing implement with them to a concert, I am sorry bit all apologies should come from these type of people. The problem with this country is wanton lack of accepting blame! If you do something it is your fault no one else’s stand up and be counted, accept you responsibilities in life!

Mute Alan Hanlon
    Favourite Alan Hanlon
    Jul 8th 2012, 6:43 PM

im sure the thug who stabbed those victims will plead he can’t remember ” it was the drugs fault “.
    Hard and long prison sentencing for anyone caught carrying a knive

Mute Paco Torres
    Favourite Paco Torres
    Jul 8th 2012, 6:46 PM

I agree with ya.

Mute Jeff Kennedy
    Favourite Jeff Kennedy
    Jul 8th 2012, 7:17 PM

This was not a gig it was a massive open air teenage disco ,with alcohol on sale ! I’ve promoted this type of show back in the day,for a few hundred kids we always needed twice the security ,than for any other gig.

Mute Damien Knox
    Favourite Damien Knox
    Jul 8th 2012, 7:51 PM

They can try and claim they were on drugs, but the fact remains, they brought the weapons to the gig with them in the first place, so that is a cop out

Mute Mattser
    Favourite Mattser
    Jul 8th 2012, 10:03 PM

This guy needs to have the book thrown at him. There needs to be a strong example set to send a message to anyone else thinking of doing anything similar or even carrying a knife for that matter. 20-30 years in prison would be a reasonable sentence for this type of crime.

Mute Donncha Foley
    Favourite Donncha Foley
    Jul 8th 2012, 11:46 PM

Yeah, let’s just skip the investigation and trial, sure we know everything.

Mute larry molloy
    Favourite larry molloy
    Jul 10th 2012, 1:11 PM

My son was there. What happened was one individual repeatedly ran out from a gang and stabbed people and ran back to his gang so they could watch the victim fall to the ground and have a laugh about it.He saw one person being stabbed in the neck. people were mugged for their tickets before the concert. Also a girl went missing after the concert. There is no lighting on the way out of the Phoenix Park and this would have made it easy for some individual(s) with local knowledge to abduct somebody. If this can be proven in court that individual should be given life imprisonment.

Mute Faceless Man
    Favourite Faceless Man
    Jul 8th 2012, 6:59 PM

Knackfest

Mute Chuck Farrelly
    Favourite Chuck Farrelly
    Jul 8th 2012, 6:55 PM

All my comments are being blocked?

Why can’t I say that drugs, drink and music aren’t the problem – the person who did all the stabbing is?

Why did he even bring a knife? Stop giving him an easy out by saying “ooh the drink made him do it.” No it didn’t. It’s not society’s fault, it’s not the gardai’s fault, it’s his fault.

Mute vv7k7Z3c
    Favourite vv7k7Z3c
    Jul 8th 2012, 6:57 PM

@Chuck Farrelly

None of your comments on this story have been blocked. Have you had a problem posting comments? If so you can let me know the device you’re using and whether you’re logging in with Twitter or Facebook and I can pass it on to our tech team.

Emer

Mute Chuck Farrelly
    Favourite Chuck Farrelly
    Jul 8th 2012, 7:04 PM

Im using a mac. Replied to Conor Oneill & Andrew Wade and logging in with Facebook. They werent deleted just never showed up in the first place

Mute Jeff Kennedy
    Favourite Jeff Kennedy
    Jul 8th 2012, 7:50 PM

certain words cause you’re comment not to register, normally swearing ,but some odd words will cause it to

Mute Itchy mcscratch
    Favourite Itchy mcscratch
    Jul 8th 2012, 7:55 PM

Chuck,I agree 100%. If someone is out of their mind on whatever,alcohol or drugs, and they do this then it’s unlikely they didn’t have it in them to do it anyway. I’ve actually commented twice on another thread about it and my comments ‘disappeared’ or were deleted too,very annoying (on iPhone)

Mute Alan Hanlon
    Favourite Alan Hanlon
    Jul 8th 2012, 6:31 PM

maybe it should be noted the pressure on emergency services having 3 concerts within days . The 3 hospitals surrounding the park Connoly which got the brunt of it and St James and the Mater hospital , and also the ambulance and Garda. Didn’t hear MCD offer these any gratitude for cleaning up their mess

Mute B9xiRspG
    Favourite B9xiRspG
    Jul 8th 2012, 6:33 PM

I would presume MCD had to pay for the Gardai and ambulance?

Mute Alan Hanlon
    Favourite Alan Hanlon
    Jul 8th 2012, 6:37 PM

its when they leave after they consumed their fill of whatever and fall down out side , ask any A&E nurse about the after effect of these concerts

Mute John Smith
    Favourite John Smith
    Jul 9th 2012, 3:10 AM

The event medical services were provided by a small group of privately paid Paramedics, assisted by a group of around 50 volunteer First Aiders, EMTs, Nurses and Paramedics from The Order of Malta Ambulance Corps.

Mute Paco Torres
    Favourite Paco Torres
    Jul 8th 2012, 6:34 PM

I’ve been last thursday night at Stone Roses concert, and I have to say Phoenix Park is terrible place for concert, mucky, bad sound, small, full of drunk people, far distance to walk and I felt terrible there… I guess, only if you are piss or in drugs you could enjoy a concert there. it was my first and my last there… who is behind this scenario making a fortune of this shit hole!

Mute Paco Torres
    Favourite Paco Torres
    Jul 8th 2012, 6:44 PM

It is a pitty the lost of someone and it is even worse in drug or stab, but I believe, there are people behind this that they dont give a shit what happens, otherwise, they will try to make these concerts in a better scenario, with proper security and control…. but guys-girls, have you been there and see the bleeding hour queue to get drinks???? who is making money of? who gives the licenses for this crap? and the most important, where is the common sense of all this???? people are angry and not brain, so plus alcohol and drugs in a very poor place, the consecuence is danger. I think there are not many people that know how to enjoy a good night out without been so drunk… and the fact that there are people out there carrying knife makes me feel really worry about it…. Politicians have to face the problem and dont brush the shit away.

Mute Nuffsaid Thatsall
    Favourite Nuffsaid Thatsall
    Jul 8th 2012, 8:57 PM

Have to disagree with you there!! How is the location bad!?! Phoenix Park is central with good access to public transport to get there (don’t have to pay some cowboy bus-driver €50 to take me to middle of Kildare or Meath!!) As for muddy, it was raining all week & MCD / nature can hardly be blamed for grass turning to sludge under 40,000-odd feet!! Besides, this happens at all outdoor events when the the weather turns Turk!! And suppose the bad sound is a matter of opinion! I thought it was great on Thursday (Ian Brown’s out-of-tune singing clear as always!!) Only issue I can find fault with is the numbers of stewards / Gardai / Paramedics on duty!! Could have been more on!!

Mute Eileen Gabbett
    Favourite Eileen Gabbett
    Jul 8th 2012, 9:06 PM

I have been to concerts in the park over years and loved the venue . But then I love the Phoenix Park as a great public amenity. More Gardai and stewards needed , but the venue is spot on …

Mute Tom Moran
    Favourite Tom Moran
    Jul 8th 2012, 6:36 PM

The behaviour of the fans is purely a reflection of the bands playing! I’m sure nothing like that happened on Thursday at The Stone Roses gig?!

Mute Dave O'Hanlon
    Favourite Dave O'Hanlon
    Jul 8th 2012, 8:28 PM

Stone Roses crowd were a lot more mature, majority about late 20′s to late 30′s, we had no problems getting somewhere nearby to stop for a pint afterwards. The SHM crowd were a lot younger, saw them walking back from the show through smithfield/stoneybatter area, definetely the Oxygen crown and would have required more security supervision.

Mute Dave O'Hanlon
    Favourite Dave O'Hanlon
    Jul 8th 2012, 8:32 PM

Can I add that none of the Saturday Phoenix stragglers I came across were causing any trouble.

Mute Paul Mullee
    Favourite Paul Mullee
    Jul 8th 2012, 7:20 PM

9 people stabbed and one young man dead from a drug overdose. MCD’s response – ‘Unfortunately, anti-social behaviour has become more and more part of our daily society’. WTF?? This is NOT anti-social behaviour, and it’s NOT part of our daily society. People don’t get stabbed at concerts on a daily basis!!!! This is criminal behaviour, and could have been avoided with an adequate skilled security presence. Shame on MCD.

Mute Brian Daly
    Favourite Brian Daly
    Jul 8th 2012, 9:14 PM

So MCD are responsible for drugs that a person consumes? They are responsible for a person who decides to stab people? Nonsense. They bear no responsibility whatsoever. Anti-social and criminal behaviour happens every night in Dublin (and other cities). The chances are if these events happened in some of they less well of areas of the city nobody would be bothered.

It’s time that people start apportioning the blame back on to society and have a good look at ourselves. Irish people behave appalingly at public events – the drunkeness, the litter and the general behaviour. This is why foreign festivals are so popular – people behave themselves.

What exactly do you expect a concert promoter to do? Assign a security guard to each punter?

Mute Paul Mullee
    Favourite Paul Mullee
    Jul 8th 2012, 9:35 PM

@ Brian Daly , how can you say the promoter bears no responsibility whatsoever? That is complete nonsence. A person was able to enter the concert with a deadly weapon, and that person used that weapon on NINE people inside the concert venue before he was apprehended. Yeah this stuff happens in the City all the time – ON THE STREETS. This should not happen inside a concert venue – if it does happen the promotor has to take some responsibility. A weapon would have easily been found had they been carrying out proper searches, instead of a ‘pat on the chest’ as some people have described. I can’t understand how you could say that the promotor is 100% innocent here…

Mute Richard Toolan
    Favourite Richard Toolan
    Jul 8th 2012, 6:33 PM

I’m only speaking for myself here but the search carried out on me was just a pat on the chest, From reading comments on the earlier story here it seems it was very easy for someone to get in with a weapon.

There really should be some kind of machine developed that detects glass/metals/possibly even drugs for events like this. It would speed up the process of getting people into the events too.

I fully understand why my search was so brief cause from what I could see there was maybe 30-40 people searching 40,000.

Mute Stephen Doyle
    Favourite Stephen Doyle
    Jul 8th 2012, 8:28 PM

Going into the stone roses I stopped at security and automatically put my arms out for a pat down, the security guy looks at me and says “do you want a hug?”. Didn’t get either

Mute Мэтью Лисахт
    Favourite Мэтью Лисахт
    Jul 8th 2012, 8:50 PM

My search on the way into the Roses on Thursday consisted of me being asked to take my hat off. I was wearing jeans and a hoody but wasn’t searched at all. My mate practically had ticket guy hold his can for him while he got his ticket from his pocket. MCD should be ashamed of the event they put on.

Mute Paula Nolan
    Favourite Paula Nolan
    Jul 8th 2012, 7:24 PM

Stabbing people isn’t anti-social, it’s criminal. Being ‘disappointed’ nine people were stabbed sounds like a bit of an understatement, which is a bit of an understatement itself. I’d recommend ‘shocked’, ‘horrified’, ‘deeply upset’ or even ‘outraged’ as definitely more appropriate.

Mute nadine hobbs
    Favourite nadine hobbs
    Jul 8th 2012, 9:36 PM

We left the zoo at 4.30, it was shocking what we had to walk and then drive alongside for the next 40mins, urinating on front of us, general drunken behaviour, guys falling into parked busses and moving traffic, singing shouting and jumping on one another, girls and guys barely dressed, littering of cans and bottles wherever, my 9 and 6yr olds were aware enough to comment on what they were seeing and were quite frightened by it all. There were 4 guards in total between the zoo and exit, the dirt and filth (and I’m not just referring to the crowds) was incredible. The park in front of the monument just inside the park was completely littered, not one bin did we pass, no sign of any security or crowd control was evident, it was disgusting. The last thing we viewed was a young guy being head butted and having his nose split open by a complete thug, thankfully 1 of the 4 guards was close by and broke it up before it escalated. The steps outside the courts of criminal justice were completely littered, I wish I could have gotten a picture. For the first time in 6yrs since returning to Ireland I could not argue with my husband as to why we should not leave this country again and we have seen some amount of shit over the last 6years.

Mute Fiona O Connell
    Favourite Fiona O Connell
    Jul 8th 2012, 7:11 PM

I stopped yesterday at services on the motorway to Dublin. While there I saw three busses stopping. I can honestly say that 99% of the kids got off those busses with cans and bottles in their hands. Most of it cheap drink. They were like wild animals loose, pissing behind cars and walls, screaming and shouting really pumped up. The behaviour was extremely intimidating especially as there was vey young kids around at the time, this was around 2 in the afternoon. Trouble was just waiting to happen. I can only imagine what condition these kids were in later on that evening when more drink ( or any other substances) were consumed.

Mute Andrew Wade
    Favourite Andrew Wade
    Jul 8th 2012, 6:42 PM

As someone stated above, alcohol is substantially more likely to have been a contributing factor than illegal drugs. Also, anyone who goes to the trouble of sneaking a knife into a concert probably doesn’t need much of an excuse to use it. This gig was always likely to attract a certain unsavoury element, but the sheer number of people stabbed is truly shocking.

Mute Мэтью Лисахт
    Favourite Мэтью Лисахт
    Jul 8th 2012, 9:01 PM

MCDs organisation has been a shambles. The queues for the toilets – which seemed like a free for all, massive queues to get to another queue for the bar, which also turned into a free for all and a lack of direction signs on leaving the venue were basic failings in event management. For shame on MCD and on whoever was in charge of the layout of the venue.

Last nights events also did MCD no favours – and yes, he brought in a knife so while that is not MCDs fault that he brought it with him, a thorough search as opposed to a pat on the arms or, like my search on Thursday – asked to remove my hat – would probably have discovered it.

Also MCD, I shouldn’t be able to hear Swedish House Mafia in Clondalkin when they are playing at the far end of the Phoenix Park.

Mute Lorna Gardiner
    Favourite Lorna Gardiner
    Jul 8th 2012, 8:27 PM

I was at the gig yesterday & thoroughly enjoyed it. Yes there were dodgy characters about, but if you didn’t want trouble you wouldn’t look for it. Common sense would suggest to stay with a good group of friends, have your fun & don’t act the fool, end of. Came home in one piece, so I really think it was individuals’ responsibilities to keep themselves safe.

Mute Adrian quinn
    Favourite Adrian quinn
    Jul 8th 2012, 8:47 PM

Fair play, some of the comments on here make it sound that 45,000 drug addled teens were at the show with broken bottles in hand. I’m 40 years old and have seen hundreds of concerts. Each one hand a bad element within the crowd and quite a few dangerous situations manifested. I remember going to see as a kid, Prince, U2, simple minds and Bowie and at each of those shows it seemed that everybody there, ( myself included), were off their faces on flaggins of cheap cider and we witnessed mass brawls and peolpe being crushed at barriers. This incident seems to be alot more serious but stop making this generation out to be so bad. We were no better or worse.

Mute Aidan
    Favourite Aidan
    Jul 8th 2012, 9:34 PM

Got a free ticket myself so went to the gig yesterday. Was good fun even though I wasnt exactly my kinda music. Didn’t see anything bad myself, other than a few hammered people, but none causing trouble, just falling around in the mud. Didnt notice any drugs other than a few people quietly smoking weed in a circle.
    Feel for the people who got stabbed and those who overdosed.

Mute Mattser
    Favourite Mattser
    Jul 8th 2012, 10:14 PM

That is a load of rubbish. I know one of the guys who was stabbed. He was stabbed 4 times for no reason. If somebody stabs 9 people, you are incredibly naive to think all of those people brought it on themselves somehow. You should just count yourself lucky that nothing happened to you because that what it was, luck.

Mute larry molloy
    Favourite larry molloy
    Jul 10th 2012, 3:05 PM

SO YOU DIDN’T GET STABBED THEN LORNA? WELL BULLY FOR YOU.

Mute David Branagan
    Favourite David Branagan
    Jul 8th 2012, 7:00 PM

With the profiles of the attendees for these kind of gigs the way they are…how have organisers not realised that they need at least twice the numbers of Gardaí / security personnel they currently have? Please don’t compare Irish shows to European gigs (as they have in the past), we’ve a completely different history with alcohol & anti-social behaviour.

I was there yesterday and saw 5 fights, 2 involving girls, some going on for about 3 or 4 mins with not one guard or member of security ever coming to the scene?

After 3 sell-out shows this year, The Phoenix Park gigs will probably return next year, but at the next dance/rap outdoor lineup, how will the Promoters/Gardaí tackle yesterday’s 2 big problems of drugs & violence?

I guess David Guetta + guests in Marlay Park in August will be one to keep an eye on!

Mute Dylan Dublin
    Favourite Dylan Dublin
    Jul 8th 2012, 7:37 PM

Part of the problem is the lack of expenditure on additional gardai inside the concert. They probably had planned the same amount for all 3 concerts, not realising the type of crowd that would be there on saturday night ! As far as I’m aware , MCD has to pay for the gardai inside the concert . Somebody is doing it on the cheap here ! Either garda management charging too much , which would result in MCD not employing enough ornElse MCD just not spending enough on gardai and security – problem lies somewhere there I’d say !n

Mute Terry O'Dowd
    Favourite Terry O'Dowd
    Jul 8th 2012, 8:52 PM

Nothing bad ever happens at MCD shows.
    This is all lies.
    It never happened.

Your buddies on the other side of your office will know what I’m talking about. :)

Mute Ultramann
    Favourite Ultramann
    Jul 8th 2012, 6:24 PM

I rem. when they opened a train station in germany and the laser light show was so intensely disorienting i could hardly stand up and wondered why this was allowed when people could easily have fits. Next morning I read in the papers some young 17 or 18 yr old went postal right after the light show and stabs 30.. yes three zero.. people for “no reason”. Was there a light show and large back screens at the SHM event?

Mute Tyrion Lannister
    Favourite Tyrion Lannister
    Jul 8th 2012, 6:30 PM

So you are blaming lights? That’s a new one.

Mute Ultramann
    Favourite Ultramann
    Jul 8th 2012, 6:44 PM

Ok so there was no light show at the SHM concert. Got it.

Mute Tyrion Lannister
    Favourite Tyrion Lannister
    Jul 8th 2012, 6:54 PM

Ultramann logic Vol. 2:
    As ice cream sales increase, the rate of drowning deaths increases sharply.
    Therefore, ice cream consumption causes drowning.

Mute Ultramann
    Favourite Ultramann
    Jul 8th 2012, 7:21 PM

But seriously.. I was amazed that the germans thought that the lazer lights did not warrant a second thought.. This in no way mitigates the seriousness of the crime but it is incumbent on all who want to see an end to these crowd associated acts of violence to understand the totality of the sensory perceptions that immediately preceded these avoidable tragedies. To glibly cite management failures or druugs assures more of the same during future events, elsewhere.

Mute Leo Galvin
    Favourite Leo Galvin
    Jul 8th 2012, 7:31 PM

mate, what the hell are you on about?

Mute Stephen Doyle
    Favourite Stephen Doyle
    Jul 8th 2012, 8:25 PM

Think you’re still affected mate

Mute James Ó Cianáin
    Favourite James Ó Cianáin
    Jul 8th 2012, 9:56 PM

What was he doing with a knife in the first place?

Mute Mattser
    Favourite Mattser
    Jul 8th 2012, 9:57 PM

What about the music? Did anyone check to see if there was subliminal messages hidden in the music at that gig in Germany? Or possibly it could have had something to do with the planetary alignments on that particular night? Did the German police not investigate these avenues? The incompetence!

Mute Dave Minogue
    Favourite Dave Minogue
    Jul 9th 2012, 12:13 AM

Why did you abbreviate ‘remember’?

Mute dublinlad72
    Favourite dublinlad72
    Jul 8th 2012, 8:16 PM

I for one would like to hear from either

Richard “I own a bar and you’re all on the dole” Lennon
    Paula “I hate Ireland” Brennan
    Or Peeeed “The Government are watching me” Off.

Pillars of society, pillars!

Mute chucky.arla
    Favourite chucky.arla
    Jul 8th 2012, 11:13 PM

You can’t blame MCD, cheap drink, or the music. Doing do is just passing the book.

It’s a societal problem, which generally starts with poor raring of children / teens

Mute Clarence Sweeney
    Favourite Clarence Sweeney
    Jul 8th 2012, 8:13 PM

It’s now believed that glass bottles were the weapon of choice.

Mute David B Kelly
    Favourite David B Kelly
    Jul 8th 2012, 10:38 PM

One asks what type of medical cover was provided by the promoters. It certainly was not professional Paramedics who would be capable of dealing with stabbings and overdoses , but guarantee it was probably voluntary organisations with members probably as young as those attending the concert. Let Mcd tell the public exactly what cover they had at the event .

Mute John Smith
    Favourite John Smith
    Jul 9th 2012, 3:16 AM

There were Advanced Paramedics, Nurses, Doctors, Paramedics, Emergency Medical Technicians, Emergency First Responders and Cardiac First Responders. From a mixture of private and voluntary bodies. The HSE don’t provide event medical services anymore, even at a price.

Mute Adrian quinn
    Favourite Adrian quinn
    Jul 8th 2012, 7:58 PM

Any statement from snoop or SHM?

Mute justsaying
    Favourite justsaying
    Jul 8th 2012, 8:15 PM

Yeah… “THANK YOU DUBLIN”…

Mute Ruairí Barnes
    Favourite Ruairí Barnes
    Jul 8th 2012, 7:11 PM

What’s with all the deleted comments?

Mute Paul Murphy
    Favourite Paul Murphy
    Jul 8th 2012, 9:05 PM

I will admit the lack of signs leaving screwed me over big time last night the pm said go left and next I know I’m lost in the city didn’t get home till 4 am from Dublin airport

Mute Ciaran O Shea
    Favourite Ciaran O Shea
    Jul 8th 2012, 11:46 PM

The person who did this should get life(9x attempted murder), i’d even favour flogging!! It’s a hideous crime and a miracle none of them died. As for the o/d it’s terribble for his family and hopefully others will think twice the next time they “pop a few pills!!” when they hear these stories…

Mute Caroline Locke
    Favourite Caroline Locke
    Jul 8th 2012, 10:51 PM

No wonder there is violence with this type of so-called music.

Mute Ciaran O Shea
    Favourite Ciaran O Shea
    Jul 8th 2012, 11:48 PM

That’s so true, if 45000 teenagers went to a Bach concert it would never have happened…

Mute Pa Coady
    Favourite Pa Coady
    Jul 9th 2012, 1:16 AM

MCD expressing disappointment at the small minority of people acting anti-social. There are a majority of customers utterly and repeatedly ashamed at the facility’s, and services provided at MCD’s gigs. Its a matter of time before customers kept in poorly managed venues are exposed to dangerous situations. These are the results of management not customers.

Mute Amanda Doyle
    Favourite Amanda Doyle
    Jul 9th 2012, 6:13 PM

MCD has a duty of care to ticket holders-whether they like it or not-this duty of care should ensure concert goers safety in the venue,leaving the venue etc. MCD clearly did not have enough security (what I witnessed on Sat. were stewards aged between 20-26-who appeared to be as visibly shaken and scared as innocent concert goers who paid for a ticket assuming they were going to watch acts they enjoy without risk of random attacks. On leaving the venue,the grounds of the park which concert goers had no choice but to walk through in order to leave,were full of violence,with many individuals and groups fighting and randomly attacking innocent people trying their best to leave. The stabbings we have heard and read so much about it the media is bad enough, what we are not hearing to much of is the numerous people who are sporting stitches,fractures,bruising,and injuries which will physically take time to heal,not to mention the mental damage they will have incurred. Seeing more than 3 attacks on innocent young women and men trying their best to walk /run through violence without raising their heads in case of making eye contact with the lunatics inflicting it will stay with me -no police presence-no security-no help for these poor unfortunate youngsters who went to watch a concert!!!McD did not have enough security-McD did not have enough Police- McD in my opinion,failed in their duty of care to all who bought tickets.Denis Desmond’s statement “the behaviour was not a reflection of the behaviour of the vast majority of the 45,000 fans.Unfortunately, anti-social behaviour has become more and more part of our daily society with no town or village across the country escaping such conduct”. He is right,the behaviour was not a reflection of the vast majority who bought tickets, and we are all aware anti social behaviour is a problem throughout Ireland-Maybe Denis could issue a statement which would explain,if he was so aware of the issue of this anti social behaviour before this event-why was this concert so under-policed? why was the security situation such a shambles? could he also inform us-how many security (not stewards) were employed and in place on the day and night of 7th July? what security precautions were in place and how were they enforced? this would maybe provide answers to the many innocent people I witnessed being kicked,punched,head butted,pushed and worse, who today are probably baffled as to how they could be so exposed to such violence and danger having thought they were spending their hard earned money on going to a concert to see their favourite artists,with the assumption they at the very least could expect adequate safety measures to be in place.

Mute Paul Murphy
    Favourite Paul Murphy
    Jul 8th 2012, 8:38 PM

Mcd simply organise these gigs keep up the good work mcd

Mute Pa Coady
    Favourite Pa Coady
    Jul 9th 2012, 1:32 AM

Simply, is this not their professional trade in which they charge dearly and far more than other nations and organisations for? Simply i think not this takes planning, and MANAGEMENT lets not be Irish about it. MCD is solely responsible for the events successes and failures.

Mute BlaaInExile
    Favourite BlaaInExile
    Jul 8th 2012, 6:37 PM

Conor you are a genius

Mute Niall Hetherington
    Favourite Niall Hetherington
    Jul 9th 2012, 10:50 AM

I basically had to request a proper frisk, my arms got the bare bones of a pat down and that was it. MCD and their “every precaution”? Yeah right!

Mute Scarr
    Favourite Scarr
    Jul 9th 2012, 12:59 PM

Mcd and other organisers need to invest in some new tactics. What happened at this event and the type of person this and gigs like it attract, is a massive version of what happens in local dance clubs across the country every weekend. Hardman yobs having the craic at others expense and getting mashed as possible “coz der mad”. Have individual cages where aggressive types can cool off while everyone else enjoys themselves. Kinda like battery hens.

Mute Ian Sutton
    Favourite Ian Sutton
    Jul 9th 2012, 12:51 AM

I wasnt searched going in you lying stupid person your staff didnt know what they were doing and the guards were even more of a discrace people sneaking in amd running amd mot even an effort to catch them