You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Pictures: Meghan and Harry have been hitting the tourist trail in Dublin

The main public events of the two-day visit are taking place today.

6989 Meghan Markel_90549280_90549286 Sam Boal Sam Boal

A CROWD OF around a thousand, some of whom queued from before 9am this morning, turned out at Trinity College this afternoon to greet the Duke and Duchess of Sussex (Harry and Meghan to you and me) as they continued their Irish visit.

The Trinity event was one of two opportunities for members of the public to to try and meet the British royals during the whistle-stop Irish visit.

The couple worked the rope line for around 20 minutes just before lunchtime, after stopping in to see the Book of Kells and greet some invited guests.

There were spectators from around the globe lined out at Library Square. Not many of them had made the trip with the sole purpose of seeing the royals, however – many of the crowd were tourists who decided to stop by at short notice.

A large number of Trinity staff also turned out to catch a glimpse – office workers said they had taken long lunch breaks and some cleaning staff lingered back after their shifts to sample the spectacle and the media scrum.

The two day visit of recently married royals is taking place “at the request” of the UK government and is, of course, taking place against a backdrop of uncertainty and concern over Brexit.

Their ‘soft diplomacy’ mission began yesterday with a visit to Government Buildings and a reception at the British ambassador’s residence attended by the likes of Ruby Walsh, Brian O’Driscoll and assorted politicians and celebrities.

They started today with a visit to the Áras – just a short trip down the main drag of the Phoenix Park from their accommodation at Farmleigh.

There they posed for photographs before signing the official visitor book.

A ‘no questions’ rule was notionally in place for the media, but Newstalk’s Henry McKean managed to shout over a question about the World Cup – asking Harry if he reckoned football would be coming home.

“Most definitely,” the royal replied.

0353 Prince Harry_90549304 After a visit to the Áras, the couple stopped by Croke Park this morning. Leah Farrell Leah Farrell

They also visited Croke Park, where they watched GAA demonstrations and had a chance to talk to players.

At the GAA Museum they were shown several artefacts by the museum’s director, Niamh McCoy, including the Geraldine’s Club minute book from 1909 to 1915, which was kept by the club’s secretary, Michael Collins.

They were also shown a ticket stub from the Bloody Sunday match of 1920, where 14 civilians were killed by British forces.

Tourism boost

There’s a large media contingent following the couple around – with crews from as far afield as Australia documenting the visit.

NO FEE DFA TRINITY COLLEGE DUBLIN THE ROYAL VISIT JB11 Around 1,000 spectators turned out at Library Square in Trinity.

Fáilte Ireland says the visit will be a boon to the tourist trade, with CEO Paul Kelly describing it as an amazing opportunity to highlight “our rich and diverse tourism industry and excellent visitor experiences to an international audience”.

“In particular, the coverage from this royal visit will provide a boost to the UK market which has been a challenge in light of Brexit. As the national development authority, Fáilte Ireland will continue to work with tourism businesses throughout the country to ensure that they can fully capitalise on the afterglow of the visit.”

The tourism body has been crunching the numbers of past visits of international VIPs.

In 2011, the visits of Britain’s Queen Elizabeth and US President Barack Obama generated at least €298 million worth of publicity through some 37,795 separate print and broadcast pieces, and resulted in an uplift in visitor numbers that year, Fáilte Ireland says.

The couple will visit the Famine memorial and EPIC, the Irish Emigration Museum, on Dublin’s Custom House Quay later this afternoon. They’ll be on a plane home this evening.

Right now, they’re at a private lunch at a pub on Camden Street. The street is closed to traffic.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

61 Comments
    Mute Dec
    Favourite Dec
    Sep 15th 2021, 12:49 PM

5am opening? I’m going to be lambasted for this here but I’d actually favour the tightening of our current laws. Having pubs closed earlier this past few months was probably a much better thing for our society in general. There’s a big difference between having a few social pints with the lads until closing time and falling out of a night club at 5am and then trying to get up for work / family events / sporting events….

Mute The Guru
    Favourite The Guru
    Sep 15th 2021, 12:52 PM

@Dec: the good thing is that nobody forces anyone to stay out til 5am. This offers a choice for people.

Mute John Black
    Favourite John Black
    Sep 15th 2021, 12:55 PM

@Dec: all the current laws did was make lads head out 4/5 hours earlier, get drunk and then stumbling around in broad daylight

See 14 more replies ▾
    Mute Alan Peters
    Favourite Alan Peters
    Sep 15th 2021, 1:17 PM

@Dec: would create a few jobs but would put a lot of extra pressure on A&Es and policing in the country in all fairness Dublin City center was a bit of a kip from 2am onwards when the nightclubs closed prepandemic

Mute Dec
    Favourite Dec
    Sep 15th 2021, 1:24 PM

@The Guru: ah stop! Do you really believe that?! You’ve obviously never had that discussion with yourself after a feed of pints!

Mute Dec
    Favourite Dec
    Sep 15th 2021, 1:25 PM

@John Black: and with this law they’d still be stumbling home in broad daylight….

Mute Michael Oats
    Favourite Michael Oats
    Sep 15th 2021, 1:44 PM

@Dec: howwwww Dec….. If anything the pandemic has shown us is that once the pubs close at 11pm we’ve all gone back to house parties and annoyed neighbours into the early hours of the morning. Go abroad and people leave pubs and nightclubs gradually and you rarely see any trouble as thousands aren’t dispersed onto the streets at the same time

Mute Dec
    Favourite Dec
    Sep 15th 2021, 2:06 PM

@Michael Oats: I see your point here…. Mine is just an opinion to be fair. I think society loses a lot down to the inability of some individuals to control their drinking habits and I don’t think that opening until 5am is the solution. The off-licencing laws are a whole different debate….. I do take your point however and I can’t answer you re why opening until 5am and longer works in other countries.

Mute Fred spins kdb
    Favourite Fred spins kdb
    Sep 15th 2021, 2:09 PM

@Alan Peters: there is also the argument that people might drink more slower knowing they don’t have to power the drink into themselves by 2am. Also, would eliminate everyone being turfed onto the street at the same time. Might be less pressure on the a and e’s in the long run. A lot of people don’t last till 5am.

Mute Barry Griffin
    Favourite Barry Griffin
    Sep 15th 2021, 2:31 PM

@Dec: correct Dec. Now everyone is able to beat the crap out of one another at the same time after pubs close at 11pm.

Mute Jason Walsh
    Favourite Jason Walsh
    Sep 15th 2021, 2:52 PM

@Dec: In other countries the later opening has folk arrive and leave in their own time, no big ground kicked out in one go swamping the taxis and fast food joints. It’ll be crazy for a few weeks until the novelty wears off. Also not every place will decide to do it, i.e extra pay for staff and trying to even get workers to do the late hours.

Mute Pseud O'Nym
    Favourite Pseud O'Nym
    Sep 15th 2021, 3:10 PM

@Jason Walsh: exactly. Not every pub in the country will stay open until 5 am, and despite what the lad at the top of the thread thinks many of us actually have sufficient self-control to go home at a time appropriate to what we have to do the next day.

Mute Tom
    Favourite Tom
    Sep 15th 2021, 3:46 PM

@Dec: did you know, Dec, as a grown adult you have the full moral agency to act like one and no1 is forcing you into staying out beyond 12am. All your doing here is outlining your self control issues given the choice to stay out longer and this goes to anyone who liked your comment also.

Mute Mary Walshe
    Favourite Mary Walshe
    Sep 15th 2021, 3:54 PM

@Dec:
    I both agree and disagree with you. I agree because I was able to be home and in bed by 12 midnight after collecting hubby from the pub during the earlier closing time. It was wonderful compared with picking him up at 1 am +, before Covid.
    However, I used also be a taxi driver many years ago and I always thought that turfing everybody out of late bars or nightclubs at 2am was a recipe for disaster. Everyone stuffing themselves with drink and getting into rows and falling around the streets. If closing times were at least staggered, there would be much less of that. People would go home when they wanted or when the money ran out.
    It works abroad so why not here?

Mute Tony Gordon
    Favourite Tony Gordon
    Sep 15th 2021, 4:38 PM

@Michael Oats: yeah but they weren’t Irish!! When have you ever seen us leave before closing! And jasus the house parties will go on all day after

Mute Dec
    Favourite Dec
    Sep 15th 2021, 5:08 PM

@Tom: nope…. I think we’d be far not likely to see you at 5am exercising your right to drink a few pints than I! You may pass me on your way home though as I make my way to work! Please keep the singing to a minimum and no fighting!

Mute Patricia O'Reilly
    Favourite Patricia O'Reilly
    Sep 15th 2021, 8:32 PM

@Barry Griffin: are people just Id io ts? Get a fill of drink then feel compelled to beat the hell out of each other after closing? I don’t think too many will be able to drink till 5 am then head straight into work? And Just because they do it in other countries, doesn’t mean we need to be lemmings. We are sheep when we stick to lockdown rules, sheep when we take the vaccine, sheep when we wear masks, but not sheep when we follow other countries and leave pubs open most of the night?

Mute Tom Bombdadil
    Favourite Tom Bombdadil
    Sep 15th 2021, 12:19 PM

About time

Mute Alan Martin
    Favourite Alan Martin
    Sep 15th 2021, 12:59 PM

@Tom Bombdadil: You wouldn’t be saying that if you worked in the trade.

Mute Adam O'Sullivan
    Favourite Adam O'Sullivan
    Sep 15th 2021, 1:15 PM

@Alan Martin: I work in the trade and I welcome this! I worked in Germany where we closed for 1 hrs out of 23.

Mute This time its personable!
    Favourite This time its personable!

@Adam O’Sullivan: what did you do for the hour?

Mute seanieP
    Favourite seanieP
    Sep 15th 2021, 1:33 PM

@Adam O’Sullivan: what happened the 24th hour? The mystery is killing me.

Mute Accidental Gentleman
    Favourite Accidental Gentleman
    Sep 15th 2021, 1:33 PM

@This time its personable!: clean

Mute Ted Logan
    Favourite Ted Logan
    Sep 15th 2021, 1:36 PM

@Alan Martin: everyone has different jobs and work in different trades. All these require different hours of work. I’ve worked shift work in the past, I’ve also worked in IT where one weekend in four we would deploy updates and this would mean we were working right through the night in some cases. If you don’t like the hours maybe try and find a different job.

@Accidental Gentleman: polishing? Sure I suppose didn’t Jesus himself have to get up as there was more work for doing, wasn’t Adam lucky he got the hour at all really.

Mute Tom Bombdadil
    Favourite Tom Bombdadil
    Sep 15th 2021, 1:41 PM

@Alan Martin: I do, I’m in entertainment

Mute Gerard Smith
    Favourite Gerard Smith
    Sep 15th 2021, 3:45 PM

@Ted Logan: thats a race to the bottom. People shouldn’t have to find a new job for being asked to work unsociable hours. They should be paid appropriately. They’re called unsociable hours because they don’t allow you to live normal life rhythms. I certainly don’t expect people to be serving alchohok and dealing with an inebriated general public at 4am for minimum wage. There should be a minmum standard rate of pay for this across the sector and it added to the cost of your drink. The publicans want to be able to serve 24/7 using people on minimum wage and at the same time push up the price of supermarkets alcohol sales. They want to open, fine, pay your staff appropriately. Retain temple bar pubs push their prices up at set times during the night. I bet their staff wages don’t get pushed up at the same time

Mute Peazel
    Favourite Peazel
    Sep 15th 2021, 5:17 PM

@This time its personable!: It’s mandatory to close and clean up within that hour. Then BAU.

Mute Ted Logan
    Favourite Ted Logan
    Sep 15th 2021, 8:10 PM

@Gerard Smith: Nurses, hospital porters, emergency workers, hotel staff on split shifts, IT support, restaurant staff, gardai. There are plenty of jobs at all pay levels that involve unsociable hours. Everyone can’t work 9-5.

Mute Geraldine Fawcett
    Favourite Geraldine Fawcett
    Oct 20th 2021, 10:13 AM

@Alan Martin: .. or live beside a pub!

Mute Stephen Murphy
    Favourite Stephen Murphy
    Sep 15th 2021, 12:40 PM

we are already mad on the drink. it will be a disaster. paddies can’t drink responsibly.

Mute William Tallon
    Favourite William Tallon
    Sep 15th 2021, 1:22 PM

@Stephen Murphy: But not everyone is called Patrick or Patricia…

Mute O Swetenham
    Favourite O Swetenham
    Sep 15th 2021, 1:35 PM

@William Tallon: well he’s not saying that everyone is called Patrick and Patricia, he’s simply saying that everyone called Patrick and Patricia can’t handle their drink. They’re fiends for spuds as well.

Mute Alan Peters
    Favourite Alan Peters
    Sep 15th 2021, 1:46 PM

@O Swetenham: they can handle it, alcohol and drunks is just embedded in Irelands culture

Mute O Swetenham
    Favourite O Swetenham
    Sep 15th 2021, 1:55 PM

Aye, we’re all drunks who travel to work on top of a pig to be sure to be sure.

Sep 15th 2021, 5:35 PM

@Stephen Murphy: ah I wouldn’t be too fond of drinking, but when I go at it…. there’d be no f***ing stopping me. I’d take the shirt off any man’s back. B*****ds.

Mute Dermot Sexton
    Favourite Dermot Sexton
    Sep 16th 2021, 12:16 PM

@Stephen Murphy: I love the way everyone says “we…” when they actually mean “I..”

Mute mark o donovan
    Favourite mark o donovan
    Sep 15th 2021, 12:34 PM

Law changing with price regulation of low prices for alcohol, but looking after pubs, nightclubs for later hours, government absolute joke, its us the normal working class people that get stung

Mute Anthony Norris
    Favourite Anthony Norris

@mark o donovan: it doesn’t say anything about lowering the price of alcohol it say lowering the price of the license to serve alcohol

Mute Ken Murphy
    Favourite Ken Murphy
    Sep 15th 2021, 2:33 PM

@Anthony Norris: I presume Mark is referring to the regulation of low cost off licence alcohol, where the price per unit is being raised because of lobbying by publicans using the pretence of reducing alcohol consumption.
    The real aim being to make it more expensive to drink at home & drive people back to the pubs & we are allowing the politicians get away with this nonsense.

Mute Ian McDonald
    Favourite Ian McDonald
    Sep 15th 2021, 1:02 PM

They want to bring us in line with the continent? On the continent they go out to the pub at around 11pm, and sip on a drink or two before going home. In some countries they can also have a snooze in the afternoon. We go out around 9pm for a feed of pints, lose track of time and the only reason we get home at a reasonable hour is because the pubs stop serving. If they extend it to 5am we’ll still lose track of time and will get home around 5am or whenever we run our of money. Wait til you see the sick days increase, and work attendance and productivity rates drop.

Mute Robert Clifford
    Favourite Robert Clifford
    Sep 15th 2021, 1:28 PM

@Ian McDonald: Sure it’ll be grand for the people working from home. They practically do nothing at home anyway, which is why the government want them back to work.

Mute Mark Wallace
    Favourite Mark Wallace
    Sep 15th 2021, 1:29 PM

@Ian McDonald: You’ve obviously never been to Northern or Eastern Europe if you think that’s how everyone on the continent drinks. By allowing bars and clubs to open until 5am (as they do in many heavy drinking European countries) people be won’t restricted to rigid times trying to ‘get their quota’ in and there won’t be any mass exodus at 2am as they’ll drift home over the course of many hours.

Mute LFCMAD_94
    Favourite LFCMAD_94
    Sep 15th 2021, 2:53 PM

@Ian McDonald: it’s mad I swear it would be your own personal choice if you wanted to get slaughtered on a work night?

Mute Ciaran Maher
    Favourite Ciaran Maher
    Sep 15th 2021, 1:03 PM

Longer opening hours for the off license then too. For those that don’t want to pay the rip off pub prices.

Mute Paul Clancy
    Favourite Paul Clancy
    Sep 15th 2021, 3:14 PM

@Ciaran Maher: not necessarily. Can pop into the off license before closing and start drinking at anytime.

Mute Stephen Nix
    Favourite Stephen Nix

how does anyone think this is a good idea? I cant buy a bottle of wine when i finish work after 10pm yet you want bars open till 5am? I work in a bar and can tell you the difference between people at 11pm and 2am is huge. 90% of the violence in the town i live is at 2.40am when the main club shuts. Is 3 hours extra drinking going to help anyone at all? use your sense ffs. not only that, the industry is in turmoil. there is a complete lack of staff, the only people who can work bar hours currently are people like me (the hours suit as my partner works 9-5) and students. The money is terrible, the hours are already horrific, there is no sick pay, and little workers rights. this will be the nail in the coffin, not just for the industry but for society.

Mute Sam Harms
    Favourite Sam Harms
    Sep 15th 2021, 1:28 PM

@Stephen Nix: I’d imagine a lot of bar staff wouldn’t fancy working till 5 am either.

Mute Stephen Nix
    Favourite Stephen Nix

@Sam Harms: 100% but if its serving till 5am it will be 6am or later when you get out. that will be fun. I remember when they opened Sundays and it was double time. legally they have to pay you extra on a Sunday. we now get 1c extra on a Sunday. these night shifts will be the same. minimum wage for desperate people and no contracts or sick pay. the poorest in society will suffer either through the working hours or the increased alcohol consumption.

Mute Mark Wallace
    Favourite Mark Wallace
    Sep 15th 2021, 1:37 PM

@Stephen Nix: The idea is that everyone doesn’t leave at the same time. They’ll drift off over the course of 2 – 3 hours. Very few people would still be knocking around by 5am.

And as a barman you should know that if someone has had too much, they shouldn’t be served. Maybe by continuing to serve obviously pissed people, barstaff are part of the issue?

Mute Stephen Nix
    Favourite Stephen Nix
    Sep 15th 2021, 1:43 PM

@Mark Wallace: ok you addressed the issue of potential violence. what about the socio economic factors? alcohol consumption has a huge impact on mental health as does working unsociable hours. this creates both.

Mute Ian James Burgess
    Favourite Ian James Burgess
    Sep 15th 2021, 2:09 PM

@Stephen Nix: how many taxis will be interested in bringing home these drunks at 4am.

Mute Mark Wallace
    Favourite Mark Wallace
    Sep 15th 2021, 2:26 PM

@Ian James Burgess: Loads of them. Most taxi drivers will work away until around 6am. The reason you can’t find one when you leave a late bar or club is that everyones out on the streets at the same time looking to get one of a limited numbers of taxis. Staggering the time people go home means a better availability of taxis for everyone.

Mute Mark Wallace
    Favourite Mark Wallace
    Sep 15th 2021, 2:28 PM

@Stephen Nix: The poorest in society won’t be in a bar or nightclub at 5am. They’ll have been to the off licence for the cheapest alcohol they can find and will be drinking it at home. These new proposed hours won’t affect them.

Mute Alan Peters
    Favourite Alan Peters
    Sep 15th 2021, 2:31 PM

@Mark Wallace: what about the point Stephen made? Are publicans going to pay the staff a night shift rate for working throughout the night or just leave them on the the minimum wage which would be slave labour, bar staff already work harder than what they’re paid

Mute Todd Hebert
    Favourite Todd Hebert
    Sep 15th 2021, 12:47 PM

5am closing? Will they actually find people who want to work until 7am?

Mute Jim Buckley Barrett
    Favourite Jim Buckley Barrett
    Sep 15th 2021, 1:19 PM

@Todd Hebert: you mean paid until 5am, finished at 7am after clean up

Mute Todd Hebert
    Favourite Todd Hebert
    Sep 15th 2021, 5:37 PM

@Jim Buckley Barrett: yeah, very likely.

Mute Dave Byrne
    Favourite Dave Byrne
    Sep 15th 2021, 12:47 PM

So the off licence will still close at 10pm while pubs remain open till 5am?

Mute John Johnson
    Favourite John Johnson
    Sep 15th 2021, 12:39 PM

Do.away with the 12.30.Sunday opening time.

Mute Brian Kelly
    Favourite Brian Kelly
    Sep 15th 2021, 12:42 PM

Massive rise in Alcohol problems will definitely rise as well as violence because Irish people can’t handle their drink!

Mute Ted Logan
    Favourite Ted Logan
    Sep 15th 2021, 1:39 PM

@Brian Kelly: so it would probably mean a more staggered closing of venues instead of the case now where everyone is forced out onto the streets at the same time. It could actually reduce violent incidents.

Mute Alan Peters
    Favourite Alan Peters
    Sep 15th 2021, 2:05 PM

@Ted Logan: will Dublin bus be expected to run a night link service at a loss for those who choose to spend the whole night out drinking?

Mute John Black
    Favourite John Black
    Sep 15th 2021, 3:16 PM

@Alan Peters: honestly in a developed capital city we should have a late night bus service anyways

Mute Alan Peters
    Favourite Alan Peters
    Sep 15th 2021, 3:33 PM

@John Black: aldo in a developed capital city we should not have a 3rd world health system!

Mute Ted Logan
    Favourite Ted Logan
    Sep 15th 2021, 9:19 PM

@Alan Peters: Our health service is well funded it’s just the funding is miss managed and has too much waste.

Mute Hear me now
    Favourite Hear me now
    Sep 15th 2021, 12:20 PM

Open the pubs…later.

Mute Brendan O' Gorman
    Favourite Brendan O' Gorman
    Sep 15th 2021, 1:12 PM

Why close at all with that attitude. Absolutely no regard for employees, private citizens or anti social consequences. I’m all for them getting back on their feet but have a bit of cop on.

Mute Lesidees
    Favourite Lesidees
    Sep 15th 2021, 1:21 PM

Personally, I’m in favour of relaxing opening hours, having reached an age where I have neither the ability nor the interest to stay out drinking all night.

However, having seen the obsession during lockdown with takeaway pints, it’s hard to believe that Ireland really needs easier access to alcohol.

Mute Paraic Marren
    Favourite Paraic Marren
    Sep 15th 2021, 12:52 PM

It’s the old problem: how to make drinking easier for nice people, and harder for not-so-nice people, simultaneously, and at the same time

Mute Alan Biddulph
    Favourite Alan Biddulph
    Sep 15th 2021, 1:22 PM

It’s going to get very expensive to go out, you’ll need at least two bags of hoover to see you through till 5am!

Mute Deaglán MacThóirdealbaigh
    Favourite Deaglán MacThóirdealbaigh
    Sep 15th 2021, 12:21 PM

Those pints look shocking

Mute Bryan Smyth
    Favourite Bryan Smyth
    Sep 15th 2021, 12:28 PM

@Deaglán MacThóirdealbaigh: Absolute muck

Mute Pól Ó'hAodha
    Favourite Pól Ó'hAodha
    Sep 15th 2021, 12:32 PM

Finally

Mute Declan Doherty
    Favourite Declan Doherty
    Sep 15th 2021, 1:39 PM

Our cannabis prohibition laws are equally archaic and are causing immeasurable harm yet we have a government who prioritises making a far more dangerous drug, far more accessible. There’s not a single shred of logic or intelligence in that position but we trundle on regardless. I’m in favour of the proposed changes as I believe in personal responsibility but the hypocrisy is galling.

Mute Billy Walsh
    Favourite Billy Walsh
    Sep 15th 2021, 2:04 PM

Same needs to apply to off sales! No restrictions, personal responsibility. #nannystate

Mute Olive Whyte
    Favourite Olive Whyte
    Sep 15th 2021, 1:27 PM

Jaysus.. I’ll never get home!!

Mute Alan Campbell
    Favourite Alan Campbell
    Sep 15th 2021, 3:06 PM

Our supermarket opens at 8am but regulations say you can’t buy booze until 10.30am.
    Last Saturday, a woman was screaming down the place for a bottle of red wine. A little child told her to act her age!

Mute Linus Robin
    Favourite Linus Robin

I’m 36 and have essentially been ‘out’ for most of the last 18 years.

12 of them in the trade.

Even when pubs and clubs closed at 12 or 2.
    I was still semi likely to be the person on your morning commute that you wondered. ‘Is that a person?’

I’ve also held a job in Naas while living in Dublin and had to get 2 busses, a luas and a lift from one of my colleagues to get there.

I’m sure 5am is great in some ways but I’d hate to meet myself with a hangover while I was absolutely dying in front of me on public transport.

Chances of me being dead in RiRa at some stage would also likely have escalated dramatically.

Anyway I’m on the fence till we have stats.

Mute Keith Manning
    Favourite Keith Manning
    Sep 15th 2021, 1:53 PM

It was in our culture that we are not allowed go home until the pubs close. Maybe that needs to change for this to work.

Mute C
    Favourite C
    Sep 15th 2021, 1:06 PM

The boom is back

Mute Aidan Dorney
    Favourite Aidan Dorney
    Sep 15th 2021, 2:43 PM

So will the early houses now be like late houses? Or very early houses. or will they still be early houses.

Mute Tim Oleary
    Favourite Tim Oleary
    Sep 15th 2021, 2:57 PM

We need to have a responsible attitude to alcohol consumption here. The proposals are good. At present some publicans are casual in closing as law applies. I believe when individuals can lawfully get drink they’ll leave in their own time within trading hours. In the past Good Fri was a closed day with some drinkers anxious to get into bars, that’s gone now with new opening law. I think new proposals will work. Hopefully the law will be adhered to. The guards have crime to deal with.

Mute lorcmulv
    Favourite lorcmulv
    Sep 15th 2021, 5:10 PM

If Minister McEntee is on maternity leave then why was she at Fine Gaels think in last weekend – if she can go that then why not the office

Mute Dublin sunrise
    Favourite Dublin sunrise
    Sep 15th 2021, 3:45 PM

No good comes put of drinking until 5am – people – walking like zombies and thinking like zombie.

Mute Modern Irish Dad
    Favourite Modern Irish Dad
    Sep 15th 2021, 2:42 PM

Take me drunk I am home

Mute Damian Ryan
    Favourite Damian Ryan
    Sep 15th 2021, 6:26 PM

Give the bars a 12hour a day licence.
    They decide there opening hours

Mute Paul O Faolain
    Favourite Paul O Faolain
    Sep 16th 2021, 6:26 AM

During the lockdown I saved a small fortune and spend the savings on the house the day of the pub is well and truly gone, greedy publicans robbing people