You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Dubliners are being promised a 14-stop Metro North link to the airport

The Metro North plan – which was mothballed in 2011 – is back on track. According to Enda.

29/9/2015 Government Capital Plans 2016 Taoiseach Enda Kenny, Tánaiste Joan Burton, with ministers Brendan Howlin and Paschal Donohoe at today's launch at Heuston Station. Sam Boal Sam Boal

THE GOVERNMENT HAS resurrected the Metro North plan to link Dublin city centre with the airport and Swords.

The relaunched project should be finished by 2026, it was announced today as part of the government’s capital investment plan.

The plan isn’t a new one – an older Metro North proposal was shelved by the coalition as it took office in 2011 on cost grounds.

It will cost over €2 billion.

handout1 A handout of the stops given to reporters today. Ronan Duffy Ronan Duffy

What’s the plan?

Some sections close to the city and around the airport will be underground, with other parts of the mooted transport system running on elevated tracks.

The light rail system will run over fourteen new stops between the city centre and ‘Estuary’ to the north of Swords in Co Dublin.

The overall length of the project is 17km.

Here are some of the details announced today:

• Frequency of up to 30 trams per hour per direction – a tram every two minutes in each direction.
  • Trams will be 60 metres long – twice the size of the current Luas trams.
  • The time from O’Connell Street to the Airport will be 19 minutes.
  • It’s planned it will carry 30 million passengers a year.
  • The cost will be approx €2.4 billion.
  • It will generate over 3,500 jobs during construction, according the government.   

rail Ronan Duffy Ronan Duffy

Haven’t I heard this one before? 

The Metro North was granted planning approval in 2010 but was one of a number of projects mothballed by the Fine Gael-Labour coalition upon taking office, on cost grounds.

Today’s announcement was widely leaked in the last few weeks, with the Irish Times reporting last Wednesday that the government was considering a revised light rail scheme.

As you might imagine the Taoiseach and his ministers faced questions on whether it was all an election ploy, as the project was launched at Heuston Station in Dublin.

“One of the most important words that you have to be able to say as a government that’s serious about the future of the country is to say ‘no’ – because you have to turn down requests from many ministers and many departments and many organisations,” Enda Kenny insisted.

“The money is simply not there.

“We’ve said, we’re not putting Ireland in hock again.

“This is an affordable realistic plan and it’s based on dealing with challenges that people face every day.”

Broad welcome

Fine Gael, Labour and even Sinn Féin politicians in north Dublin have welcomed the plan.

“I remember in the last General Election the Labour Party were criticised for not committing prior to the election to deliver Metro North,” Labour TD Brendan Ryan said.

“We stated that we needed to do a cost benefit analysis before commiting to any large infrastructure projects.

“It was a prudent and responsible approach and one which was contrary to the populist promise-all, deliver-little approach taken by Fianna Fáil.”

Meanwhile Sinn Féin councillor for Ballymun Noeleen Reilly said that after “many false promises” she welcomed the announcement.

“Now what is important is where the stops are, it is vital that the Ballymun stop is in the heart of Ballymun at the plaza which can attract visitors into the area,” Reilly added.

Business group Dublintown said it was “excellent news” for the city.

“We had expressed our preference for investments that would benefit the city in the long term and the announcement today will certainly do that,” CEO Richard Guiney said.

“The new Metro Project provides the capacity required to sustain the city for the 21st century and beyond.”

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

172 Comments
    Mute Ciaran Byrne
    Favourite Ciaran Byrne
    Sep 29th 2015, 3:45 PM

When I built my house back in 2009 I had to pay a levy of €3,000 towards Metro North. If the planning permission expired (which I think was this year) I was due to be refunded. With it being kicked to 2026 I probably have no chance of seeing this money again. Apparently millions of euro are sitting in a bank account somewhere. No transparency, no update, they might as well have knocked on my door and robbed me.

Mute Shakka1244
    Favourite Shakka1244
    Sep 29th 2015, 4:22 PM

I’m sure it’s just “resting” in an account somewhere Ciaran. Malta perhaps?

Mute Fergus Fring
    Favourite Fergus Fring
    Sep 29th 2015, 5:31 PM

Who did you pay this to? Why not knock on their door and get it back?

Mute Alangb
    Favourite Alangb
    Sep 29th 2015, 6:33 PM

Ciaran if you are named anywhere in documentation relating to that 3K payment then I’m sure under the data protection act you can indeed find out more as to where this money is and even more if it was the local authority or a government department then you can do an FOI request ….Go Ciaran Go…..

Mute John Moylan
    Favourite John Moylan
    Sep 29th 2015, 6:45 PM

No. The planning may still expire and therefore this fairytale plan is fiction and you should get your 3k back. The announce today is PR spin – there’s no link to planning

Mute Stephen Doherty
    Favourite Stephen Doherty
    Oct 2nd 2015, 1:39 PM

Why not make a claim in the small claims court for the cash back and see what happens..

Mute Bob
    Favourite Bob
    Sep 29th 2015, 2:48 PM

Consultants, best job in Ireland. Providing information that goes no further. Joke of a country!!!!

Mute Enda Ireland
    Favourite Enda Ireland
    Sep 29th 2015, 3:07 PM

If your waiting for the Luas in swords it arrives at 2027 and not 20.27

Mute Kathy Dowd
    Favourite Kathy Dowd
    Sep 29th 2015, 3:13 PM

Ah promises promises, people with good intentions make promises, people with good character keep them. Election anyone.

Mute Brian Deane
    Favourite Brian Deane
    Sep 29th 2015, 4:35 PM

Parish pump politics and Dublin has the biggest parish pump in Ireland! If any government said it was going to spend €2.4 billion on an infrastructural development anywhere outside of Dublin the commentariat would be knocking over their lattes with rage. Yes, Dublin needs an efficient public transport system to an airport but other parts of Ireland need broadband, post offices, garda stations, economic infrastructure and a transport service too.

Mute Miguel O'Reilly
    Favourite Miguel O'Reilly
    Sep 29th 2015, 4:39 PM

Brian, it really doesn’t matter. This is pretty much guaranteed not to happen as it is an electioneering stunt. If FG get back into power, in my opinion they will do nothing about this until close to the next election.

If anyone else gets in to power it will be scrapped due to cost.
    I truly believe that Metro North will never happen!

Mute lavbeer
    Favourite lavbeer

Or wouldn’t it make more sense to allow the IIRC wealth destruction strategy be used to actually produce something other than debt.

Mute Sean Mac Diarmada
    Favourite Sean Mac Diarmada
    Sep 29th 2015, 9:58 PM

It would decimate the livelihood of 2000 Airport based taxi drivers and seriously damage companies like Airlink.
    But who ever cared about them?

Mute littleone
    Favourite littleone
    Sep 29th 2015, 2:43 PM

The government that has launched new postcode that now seems not worth it.
    The government that gave us a monster in Irish water.
    The government that closed149 gardai stations to save less than their expenses.
    The government that messed up the aran islands air service.
    The government that resides over the worse homeless crisis.
    The government that resides over a third world health system.
    The government that thinks its OK to use gardai as taxis to the airport.
    The government bthat thinks phoning Kenya is OK.
    The government that resides over Moriarty.
    The government that gave us irbc, siteserv.
    Fennelly, NAMA, penalty points scandal and so on.
    What could go wrong?

Mute john
    Favourite john
    Sep 29th 2015, 3:12 PM

@littleone i’m not a FG apologist, but decades of government neglect caused a few of your points not just FG.

Mute Paul Roche
    Favourite Paul Roche
    Sep 29th 2015, 3:15 PM

Which ones John?

Mute littleone
    Favourite littleone
    Sep 29th 2015, 3:18 PM

John postcode this government.
    Irish water this government.
    Aran islands mess up this government.
    Closure of gardai stations this government.
    Homeless worst state has ever seen. This government due to their policies.
    Minister that uses gardai as taxi service. This government.
    Phone calls to Kenya , this government.
    Nothing done over Moriarty. This government.
    Irbc, siteserv this government.
    Fennelly this government.
    Penalty points scandal under their watch they defended the commissioner.
    Nama scandal up north this government.

Mute littleone
    Favourite littleone
    Sep 29th 2015, 3:19 PM

John all this government.

Mute Jodus
    Favourite Jodus
    Sep 29th 2015, 3:25 PM

Try and do a list for FF in their last term in office. And I’ll see if I get cramp in my finger from scrolling down…

Mute littleone
    Favourite littleone
    Sep 29th 2015, 3:34 PM

Jodus why don’t you make your own list. Funny enough you don’t disagree with my list.

Mute Jodus
    Favourite Jodus
    Sep 29th 2015, 3:38 PM

I have no interest in making lists! But don’t pretend that any term of government in the last 30 years doesn’t have a similar list of serious deficiencies. You really think FF are a viable alternative, after what they did to this country??

Mute Le Tigre
    Favourite Le Tigre
    Sep 29th 2015, 3:39 PM

You can hardly blame them for penalty points bring cancelled. Also they actually got the postcodes launched, unlike every other government who just said they would.

Mute littleone
    Favourite littleone

Bit touchy their jodus. Where do I even mention ff. Please point it out . I didn’t. Now get off your high horse, whether you like it or not , these are under their watch. Now let’s get something straight , I don’t care what party has run the country but when they are currently in charge , then I won’t kiss their a,ss no matter what mistakes they have made. Now where do I mention FF . please show me. Your problem you don’t like being shown what this government have done.

Mute Philip Scanlon
    Favourite Philip Scanlon
    Sep 29th 2015, 3:51 PM

@littleone.

Your list is correct, this is a list of the symptoms of a todays defunct irish society. But you seem to be inferring that this all started when this shower of wasters took over from the previous shower of crooks!

Mute Ciaran O'Mara
    Favourite Ciaran O'Mara
    Sep 29th 2015, 4:02 PM

I am glad they closed tiny rural garda stations that were a useless hang over from the days of the RIC when the population had to watched over for signs of insurrection. Far better to have a garda going around in a squad car than being holed up inside a station on his or her own.
    I am using the postcode and I notice more and more letters have it on them. Postcodes are not compulsory but they are useful to many people.
    What’s wrong with a helicopter service to the Aran Islands? Better value for the taxpayer, or don’t taxpayers have rights too?
    NAMA is making a profit having been predicted to be a financial disaster in 2009. Only today it made €700 million over what it paid for the Joe O’Reilly loans on Dundrum Shopping Centre….. NAMA could be wound up in a couple of years way ahead of schedule..

The government that gave us IBRC? so you would prefer that Anglo and INBS had not been nationalised and left as they were? What was the alternative in 2013? Even the opposition supported it.

….

Mute littleone
    Favourite littleone
    Sep 29th 2015, 4:09 PM

Philip to be honest , its gotten to the stage now where its pathetic , when government parties previous and past have made some shameful decisions and all they and their supporters can say is but the last government messed up more. Their elected to do a job and a job is what they should do and do properly and if they can’t do that then resign

Mute Shakka1244
    Favourite Shakka1244
    Sep 29th 2015, 4:21 PM

@Ciaran

I honestly don’t know where to start…

Mute littleone
    Favourite littleone
    Sep 29th 2015, 4:23 PM

Ciaran you may be glad that’s yours got closed but its fantasy to think that a gardai car is driving around instead every where. Only a little while a story was run about the postcode where millions that were spent on it might not be even worth it. If the helicopter was right , why did government cancel it? What can you say about NAMA. As for irbc the bank that loved giving big writedowns to certain individuals and is now being the centre of an inquiry.

Mute liam lawless
    Favourite liam lawless
    Sep 29th 2015, 2:41 PM

It’ll never happen.the consultants will get all the money

Mute Richard Cynical
    Favourite Richard Cynical
    Sep 29th 2015, 2:45 PM

and solid gold bars for everyone

Mute littleone
    Favourite littleone
    Sep 29th 2015, 2:56 PM

Gotta love the headline. .The government has relaunched the ‘Metro North’ plan to link Dublin with its airport. Relaunched. After the election it will be shelved again.

Mute Search Eagle
    Favourite Search Eagle
    Sep 29th 2015, 4:29 PM

Exactly. There is no intent to actually ever build it.

Mute Emer Caffrey
    Favourite Emer Caffrey
    Sep 29th 2015, 2:41 PM

election tactics in full flow today, we’ve seen it all before & we’re not falling for it !

Mute Its Me Baz
    Favourite Its Me Baz

Jammin is telling everyone tgat am election is being called today for Nov. Edge of the seat stuff.

Mute C Mc Gyver
    Favourite C Mc Gyver

Fine Gaels pre election “Bertie Bowl” end of.

Mute Noel Wilson
    Favourite Noel Wilson
    Sep 29th 2015, 2:39 PM

At last! Long overdue. A “no brainer” if there ever was one. I think it can be done much sooner though? The demand is there.

Mute Martin Hayes
    Favourite Martin Hayes

Do you really believe this is going to happen? There’s an election coming you know. What happened to “no people on trollies”, or “no more quangos”. Pure soundbite.

Mute Noel Wilson
    Favourite Noel Wilson
    Sep 29th 2015, 2:50 PM

I do Martin. It will have to be done eventually. Optics is important, but don’t read into optics too much.

Mute Bob
    Favourite Bob
    Sep 29th 2015, 2:54 PM

In the plans since 2001 Once the election is over it will still be in the plans in 2020. Consultants will earn many more millions from the Irish taxpayer…..

Mute Seán Marlow
    Favourite Seán Marlow
    Sep 29th 2015, 3:00 PM

Very true Bob; I live in Ballymun & a “rail link to the airport” has been promised before every election for decades. “Shir it’s what you tend to do in elections” as Phat might say!

Mute Martin Hayes
    Favourite Martin Hayes

Good luck with that Noel, don’t hold your breath.

Mute Some Lad
    Favourite Some Lad
    Sep 29th 2015, 3:44 PM

Irish Water was planned and scapped since the 80′s, Eircode since the 90′s and Metro North since 00′s.

All solid and necessary ideas which would benefit everyone involved….but no…ruined by greedy governments who see innovation and investment and means to fill their own pockets. Meanwhile it’s the poor sods who get paid a modest wage to put in meters, stare at data and dig tunnels who will bear the brunt of the abuse of the Irish public and lefties.

Mute Noel Wilson
    Favourite Noel Wilson
    Sep 29th 2015, 11:43 PM

Here is the link to the full NTA report. Just read the last few pages of conclusions. Metro North is the only feasible long term solution. The report also outlines why all the others proposals didn’t stack up. I’d rather wait 8 years for the right system, than wait 5 years for the wrong system! The Luas would have been crowed out by year 1. The BRT wasn’t even at the races capacity wise. The mainline rail link had poor cost benefit numbers and intrusive impact.

https://www.nationaltransport.ie/wp-content/uploads/2014/12/Fingal_North_Dublin_Transport_Study_Final_June_2015.pdf

Mute Michael
    Favourite Michael
    Sep 29th 2015, 2:42 PM

Is there an election or something due in the next year?? I’m trying to be sarcastic

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly
    Sep 29th 2015, 2:42 PM

The metro north plan has bee in the works since 2001, and all its done is made a lot of consultants a whole pile of cash.

Now, this government in its last throes reveal a plan stretching out to 2026? Chicken in every pot stuff, an election will be round the corner any minute now.

“Magic beans for sale, who will buy my magic beans……”

Mute Its Me Baz
    Favourite Its Me Baz
    Sep 29th 2015, 2:45 PM

“An election will be around the corner very soon”

Sure you said it was on 20th Nov and was being called today. Good look to the PBP

Mute Baz Smyth
    Favourite Baz Smyth
    Sep 29th 2015, 3:38 PM

2021 before it even starts!!!!. This is a joke. From experience 6 years is a long time in this country with planning and long enough for another report to say its not ambitious enough or too ambitious and needs to be looked at again. This is just kicking a can down the road.
    Build it now, traffic is already started to get unbearable again and the quality of peoples lives reducing due to longer and more stressful commuting.

Mute Sean Mac Diarmada
    Favourite Sean Mac Diarmada
    Sep 29th 2015, 9:57 PM

The untruths campaign has truly begun.
    Why are the “tight strings” quartet, not putting a man on the Moon-by 2025..?

(There is still a few bob to be taken from old age pensioner’s fuel and phone allowance..)

Mute Paul Cunningham
    Favourite Paul Cunningham
    Sep 29th 2015, 3:05 PM

I really, REALLY want an underground in Dublin. Congestion will only get worst, and everyone knows it. However, knowing FG/lab, they would rather tax roads further than do any updating to public transport. They will have the metro on the long finger until they are ousted, likely in the not too distant future.

And 2026? We have had so many plans on it that surely they could have got it underway at this point?! 10 years is 10 years too long.

Mute Eddie Nugent
    Favourite Eddie Nugent
    Sep 29th 2015, 4:42 PM

After what i heard on Matt Cooper yesterday from passengers on the red line muggings, people being assaulted by junkies everyday, one guy told of sitting next to a sleeping junkie with a needle sticking out of his arm, There is no way i would trust anyone in Ireland to build or run a underground transport system. I am staying above ground

Mute Jerry Mandering
    Favourite Jerry Mandering
    Sep 29th 2015, 3:14 PM

Hey Journal why don’t you do a bit of real journalist for once and question why this can’t start in 2017???? The design and plan is ready to go, so what is stopping them???

2021 is two General Elections away!

The entire media in this country are government lapdogs

Mute Patrick Minford
    Favourite Patrick Minford
    Sep 29th 2015, 2:39 PM

Joan gets her ugly mug into every photo op

Mute Tony Hartigan
    Favourite Tony Hartigan

How many elections has this been promised ? Also folks remember this is your money these politicians are using to buy your votes, they will borrow every cent of this you and I will have too pay back every cent +interest. Remember what they promised last election time.

Mute Keith Gregg
    Favourite Keith Gregg
    Sep 29th 2015, 3:16 PM

It’s about time, however the original was to be started in 2011 and completed in 2017 – why is this one taking 11 years?

Mute brian magee
    Favourite brian magee
    Sep 29th 2015, 3:27 PM

one is a realistic plan, the other opens next year….

Mute Jangles
    Favourite Jangles
    Sep 29th 2015, 3:06 PM

2026!!!!!!???

Mute brian magee
    Favourite brian magee
    Sep 29th 2015, 3:12 PM
    Mute Brian O'Sullivan
    Favourite Brian O'Sullivan
    Sep 29th 2015, 3:35 PM

@Brian

Digging tunnel does take time, but it doesn’t take 11 years. Even the Government recognise that, because they say construction will only take 5 years, from 2021 to 2026. The question is what’s happening between now and 2021 that needs 6 years? The route has already been selected, and planning permission won’t take that long.

Mute Le Tigre
    Favourite Le Tigre
    Sep 29th 2015, 3:41 PM

It’s not the digging time I’d have problems with, it’s the 6 year wait to start

Mute brian magee
    Favourite brian magee
    Sep 29th 2015, 3:47 PM

redirecting services, EIS, planning, Etc

Mute Watcher-on-the-Wall
    Favourite Watcher-on-the-Wall
    Sep 29th 2015, 4:00 PM

…or kicking the can out beyond the much-hoped-for 2nd term?

Mute DF
    Favourite DF
    Sep 29th 2015, 2:44 PM

No mention of cost?!

Mute Muiris O'Daltuin
    Favourite Muiris O'Daltuin
    Sep 29th 2015, 2:52 PM

2.4 billion + vat.

Mute DF
    Favourite DF

Well it’s certainly cheaper than the 4billion of previous proposed versions

Mute Muiris O'Daltuin

Well that’s Pascal Donohue’s figure anyway. Plus he never said at what percentage vat. It’s probably 50%.

Mute Muiris O'Daltuin
    Sep 29th 2015, 3:19 PM

*percentage of vat

Mute Jodus
    Favourite Jodus
    Sep 29th 2015, 3:28 PM

And how much back in income tax from the jobs it creates? Infrastructure projects often cost much less when you factor in the tax intake from the workers and companies involved…

Mute Shakka1244
    Favourite Shakka1244
    Sep 29th 2015, 4:24 PM

Lets face it. If it happens on time and within budget, I’m a 30 stone canary.

Mute Search Eagle
    Favourite Search Eagle
    Sep 29th 2015, 5:16 PM

“Well it’s certainly cheaper than the 4billion of previous proposed versions”

There is no cheap way to do public transport, which is why it won’t be built.

Why does MN need another 6 years in planning? Especially if the proposal only modifies the existing one? The truth is it doesn’t, and it’s all being set up for a future government to cancel yet again. As soon as Dart Underground and Metro North were cancelled, Dublin was immediately consigned to nothing being built for another two decades.

Mute Scottie Delaney
    Favourite Scottie Delaney
    Sep 29th 2015, 3:07 PM

Consultants no doubt licking their lips and rubbing their grubby little fingers at these announcements….

Mute Brian Moore
    Favourite Brian Moore
    Sep 29th 2015, 2:51 PM

Some of it underground. All of it should be underground Ffs.

Mute brian magee
    Favourite brian magee
    Sep 29th 2015, 3:10 PM

Why??? its to expensive and can’t happen if its all underground. Very few countries have a metro that is fully underground.

Mute John Reese
    Favourite John Reese
    Sep 29th 2015, 3:23 PM

Brian it does not all have to be underground. Many parts of the tube in London and Subway in NY are overground.

Mute Jodus
    Favourite Jodus
    Sep 29th 2015, 3:29 PM

You got any idea what exists under the streets and fields of North Dublin? They found all sort of obstacles doing the port tunnel, which was much shorter…

Mute John Ward
    Favourite John Ward
    Sep 29th 2015, 3:58 PM

@Jodus: The main obstacles are FG, Labour and FF!

Mute Sinister Dissident
    Favourite Sinister Dissident
    Sep 29th 2015, 3:05 PM

How much did the production of this plan cost? Why are government resources being wasted producing a plan for people with no mandate to implement it?

If FG-Labour want to produce an election manifesto, they should do it using their own resources and time.

Mute Le Tigre
    Favourite Le Tigre
    Sep 29th 2015, 3:41 PM

So governments shouldn’t plan?

Mute Some Lad
    Favourite Some Lad

Ye planning is so important to the government. Even failed plans are better than nothing but plans built to win elections on shady promises are a joke. Its the same old story, on the face of it doing the right things but for all the wrong reasons.

Mute Sinister Dissident
    Favourite Sinister Dissident
    Sep 29th 2015, 5:13 PM

They plan to start Metro North in 2021. Yes, basically 2 elections away. They are even making a budget prediction for this, one thing is certain, nobody can predict inflation or other circumstances for the next 6 years. This is all bullshit and spin, and once again our useless media are falling for it.

Mute John Reese
    Favourite John Reese
    Sep 29th 2015, 3:24 PM

So is it a tram line or an actual train line?

Mute Beano
    Favourite Beano
    Sep 29th 2015, 3:16 PM

Is taking tourists through Ballymun a good idea?

Mute Brian O'Sullivan
    Sep 29th 2015, 3:27 PM

We already give them free reign in Temple Bar. How much worse can Ballymun be? :)

Mute Shanti
    Favourite Shanti
    Sep 29th 2015, 7:43 PM

The green area that was earmarked for the stop in Ballymun is right near the travelodge and all the fancy new buildings. The flats are being demolished and the biggest eyesore is the shopping centre – which was going to be redeveloped until the metro north fell through so it might get an upgrade. Then the area will actually look pretty good. As for the people, never once encountered any problems, so I wouldn’t be too concerned with having a stop there.

Mute John Reid
    Favourite John Reid
    Sep 29th 2015, 4:05 PM

Thank God we are pushing ahead with this project. If we don’t dither and backbite, and if we get cracking on it this year we might actually get it completed by 2023, and not 2026, in time for the Rugby World Cup if we win the right to host it!

The completion of Metro North will begin the process of eventually developing a comprehensive Underground railway system for the greater Dublin area, which in turn will greatly benefit the economic growth of the country at large, attract inward investment, improve the experience of tourists and will greatly improve the quality of life of Dublin residents and commuters.

Mute Noel Wilson
    Favourite Noel Wilson
    Sep 29th 2015, 4:12 PM

Well said. Need to think long term, not point scoring on the Journal and Twitter machine.

Mute just readin
    Favourite just readin

I’ve just incorporated a light rail consultancy company, I dont know anything about light rail but just give me a few months to get up to speed , oh I also know a few TD’s personally, so share in my company would be a good bet …

Mute Always Right!
    Favourite Always Right!
    Sep 29th 2015, 3:25 PM

it is ridiculous that we have at least another 11 years to wait for something that is taken for granted in every other country

Mute Le Tigre
    Favourite Le Tigre
    Sep 29th 2015, 3:49 PM

Taken for granted? What are you in about? Do you think their parents buy it for them? We needed to have enough money to afford it.

Mute Search Eagle
    Favourite Search Eagle
    Sep 29th 2015, 5:19 PM

We didn’t build it when we had money either.

Metro North and DART Underground being cancelled has nothing to do with money.

Mute willr
    Favourite willr
    Sep 29th 2015, 3:00 PM

Relaunched from FF/Greens original plan too. Continuation FF is all FG are.

Mute Fozz
    Favourite Fozz
    Sep 29th 2015, 4:28 PM

Who fkckn cares what party is where so long as we get a viable link from the airport to the CC and servicing a chunk of the Northside populace.

All the stupid talk of elections and parties shows the mindset of some folks on here. This is a positive story and should be regarded as such, unless you have viable opposition to such a project which is fine.

Mute Joseph Murphy
    Favourite Joseph Murphy
    Sep 29th 2015, 3:21 PM

20 minutes from the city centre to the airport? Isn’t it already that when taking a citylink bus? Will probably be cheaper too.

Mute DF
    Favourite DF

Indeed there is. takes less than 30mins via the port tunnel.Meantime outside the pale try driving from Cork to Limerick via the motorway. You Can’t as it doesn’t exist.Proposed cost is 1/3 that of the metro to connect the second and 3rd cities in the country ie Cork and Limerick. Munster region has a population of 1.25 million people will have to wait at least another 10 years before a sod is turned

Mute Paul Ó Duḃṫaiġ
    Favourite Paul Ó Duḃṫaiġ
    Sep 29th 2015, 4:57 PM

Don’t forget that the M20 would also mean there was motorway between Galway and Cork as well (given the M18/M17 is under construction), would provide an important corridor linking 2nd, 3rd and 4th largest urban areas in the state.

Mute Rashers Tierney
    Favourite Rashers Tierney
    Sep 29th 2015, 3:35 PM

Yeah, chinny chinny reckon. Would this all start AFTER the election, by any chance?

Mute Robert Power
    Favourite Robert Power
    Sep 29th 2015, 4:57 PM

What are Limerick people being offered, nothing. What are Cork, Galway, Waterford and every other county in Ireland being offered. Nothing. Where is the M20 from Cork to Limerick, M30 from Waterford to Cork, M18 from Galway to Limerick. In fact not a single full motorway connecting two large towns in Ireland that isn’t in the direction to Dublin. Another 10 years of needless deaths on these terrible roads. How is it surprising that rents are going through the roof in Dublin when no money is being spent in the rest of the country to spread the growth.

Mute DF
    Favourite DF
    Sep 29th 2015, 5:17 PM

well said

Mute Search Eagle
    Favourite Search Eagle
    Sep 29th 2015, 7:30 PM

“M18 from Galway to Limerick”

Currently being built, which is more than can be said for this fantasy Metro!

Mute willr
    Favourite willr
    Sep 29th 2015, 2:59 PM

Some of those stops are in idiotic locations. At the Mater, that’s already a highly built up area, where are they going to put it? Griffith Avenue too…the residents will challenge that in court. You pay big money to live there for peace and quiet. Also no Whitehall area stop, why?

Mute Brian O'Sullivan
    Sep 29th 2015, 3:32 PM

They’re putting it underground at the Mater and at Griffith Avenue. And every stop between Stephen’s Green and DCU. The only disruption at ground level will be when they’re building the station entrances, and that’ll be minimal compared tot eh disruption of building the entire line above ground.

Mute Jodus
    Favourite Jodus
    Sep 29th 2015, 3:36 PM

But it is badly needed at the Mater, people heading there from the Northside, and as for Griffith Ave, it will be in the green area just north of the road, plus trams are much quieter than buses or trains…

Mute Inanimate Carbon Rod
    Favourite Inanimate Carbon Rod
    Sep 29th 2015, 4:03 PM

The underground station box for the Mater stop has already been built during their recent upgrading works.

Only thing now is by 2027 they’ll probably have to do all sorts of repairs after lying idle for 12 years

Mute Pádraig Caoimhín
    Favourite Pádraig Caoimhín

Provision was made for the Mater stop when building the last extension

Mute Ciaran O'Mara
    Favourite Ciaran O'Mara

they have already built the station under the Mater in anticipation of the Metro. it cost €20 million.

Mute brian magee
    Favourite brian magee
    Sep 29th 2015, 4:06 PM

Are they still building the new children’s hospital at the mater site? It was selected as the MEtro makes it accesible

Mute Dave Doyle
    Favourite Dave Doyle
    Sep 29th 2015, 5:45 PM

Why is it always from the City center to either the North or South of the City? Does no one live in the West, like Lucan or Ballyfermot for example?

Mute Noel Wilson
    Favourite Noel Wilson
    Sep 29th 2015, 3:57 PM

2026 is worst case scenario. 2023 ish would be best case scenario. The unknown element is the planning overhaul. There was an actual meeting about this last night in Swords, all were welcome, less than 100 showed up. The RPA, now TII, will reuse and repurpose as much as possible of the 2010 railway order, EIAs etc.. If people would actually turn up at meetings and give their input instead of being keyboard warriors, we might be able to get this moving quicker. As was clear at the meeting, we’d rather wait 8 years for the right system, than 5 years for the wrong one!

Mute Neal Ireland Hello
    Favourite Neal Ireland Hello

““It was a prudent and responsible approach and one which was contrary to the populist promise-all, deliver-little approach taken by Fianna Fáil.”

Except at least some of the transport projects mooted by Fianna Fail actually got built at some point rather than rehashed and re-announced every five years. Rumour has it you can actually travel on a real LUAS in some parts of Dublin, not just look at a nice map of it standing on the stage at yet another “announcement”.

Mute Old Gordon
    Favourite Old Gordon
    Sep 29th 2015, 4:22 PM

Ah the amazing Fianna Fail who ripped up and sold off old the Harcourt train line two years before they spent millions on reports advising them to build the Green LUAS line.

There was an intact train line running from the City centre to Shankill up until the late 90s.

Mute Dave Cunningham
    Favourite Dave Cunningham
    Sep 29th 2015, 4:50 PM

There still is, it’s called the Dart.

Mute Shanti
    Favourite Shanti
    Sep 29th 2015, 7:46 PM

The dart goes all the way out to greystones now!

Mute John Ward
    Favourite John Ward
    Sep 29th 2015, 3:55 PM

More bollocks!

Mute windbag
    Favourite windbag
    Sep 29th 2015, 4:38 PM

Don’t you just love this time of year……The Transport system getting an overhaul, Hospitals getting money, Schools getting more money ….ah Yea everything is coming up Millhouse ……..Election anyone…

Mute Simon Conneely
    Favourite Simon Conneely
    Sep 29th 2015, 3:48 PM

Yep And pigs can fly

Mute Michael Fehily
    Favourite Michael Fehily
    Sep 29th 2015, 3:36 PM

They actually believe people are stupid…Sad

Mute Old Gordon
    Favourite Old Gordon
    Sep 29th 2015, 4:18 PM

How about an M50 style ring road for Cork and that Cork/Limerick motorway?

Sligo could do with the M4 not ending in Mullingar.

Mute Dave Doyle
    Favourite Dave Doyle
    Sep 29th 2015, 5:42 PM

Two years ago i watched the start of two parallel tunnel extensions to the underground system in Sofia (Capitol of Bulgaria). This year i was able to use those extensions. Why does everything take so long in Ireland? Is it vested interest? Maybe a certain business man is trying to but a company from NAMA first.

Mute Search Eagle
    Favourite Search Eagle
    Sep 29th 2015, 4:28 PM

Another project carefully designed to never be delivered.

Mute john mccarthy
    Favourite john mccarthy

Yes, the link will be called ” a bus”

LIARS

Mute Charles McCormack
    Favourite Charles McCormack
    Sep 29th 2015, 4:03 PM

2027, so if there’s any hold ups/snags, people could be sitting on it watching the next “BLOODRED SUPERMOON,

Mute Diarmuid O'Connell
    Favourite Diarmuid O'Connell
    Sep 29th 2015, 5:00 PM

It’s too late. We’ll all be dead by the time it’s finished. If it even gets started.

Mute Paul O'Flynn
    Favourite Paul O'Flynn

Ok train from Dublin city to airport. How do we get to Dublin city?

Oh wait we drive, daftest idea without dart inter connecter

Mute Patrick Brophy
    Favourite Patrick Brophy
    Sep 29th 2015, 8:33 PM

This is becoming too much like The Boy Who Cried Wolf. This idea has gone through numerous variations and here they are:

1. A DART system was proposed back in the 70s and 80s that would have connected Maynooth and Tallaght to the city on top of the current system.
    2. At the turn of the century, we were given A Platform For Change.
    3. In 2005, we were given the Transport 21 project which is pretty much an evolution of A Platform For Change. The two biggest components of this, DART Underground (formerly known as The Interconnector) and Metro North were scheduled to be open by this year. Neither materialized and traffic is still awful.
    4. In the last week, renewal of planning permission was scrapped for DART Underground which is a huge amount of effort and money down the toilet. At least, if there was a plan there, keep it until funds are there to bring it to fruition.

To show some mercy, there is a DART system, 2 separate (but, soon to be connected) Luas lines and a commitment to open the Phoenix Park Tunnel to passengers by 2016. Nevertheless, these are the tip of the iceberg from a traffic congestion relief perspective.

Then, there is the M50 which is seeing more usage now than at the height of the boom. However, this is a major opportunity for the relevant transportation bodies to formulate a plan for a proper orbital rail system which would incentivize current users and future users of the M50 to make the switch. At the moment, v-shaped commutes or commutes which place undue dependency on traveling into Dublin City only to come out the other end are time consuming and can take anything up to and over 2 hours each way.

Mute Old Gordon
    Favourite Old Gordon
    Sep 29th 2015, 4:25 PM

Dublin needs a circuit service metro within the city. It would be a massive boon if you could jump on a metro line from the Three Arena, Busarus, O’Connell Street, Parnell Square, Criminal Courts, Phoenix Park etc and back the south side via Stephen’s Green.

Mute Christine Hanway
    Favourite Christine Hanway
    Sep 29th 2015, 3:11 PM

I’d rather see this money turn the health service around rather than another route to the airport! They really need to prioritise the spending in this county an quite frankly I can’t see the need of another transport system taking priorty over the sick! When the money is there an everything else isn’t falling asunder maybe den consider more transport service but I know I’d rather me tax go on helping the sick than getting someone to the airport on time..

Mute Le Tigre
    Favourite Le Tigre

We spend around 14 billion a year on health already. That’s nearly €3,000 per person and that’s without taking notice of the huge % that don’t avail of it. It’s about time the department gave us value for money instead of tugging at our heart strings and looking for more.

We need good transport so people can get to work to earn the taxes to throw down the black hole that is the health budget.

Mute Christine Hanway
    Favourite Christine Hanway
    Sep 29th 2015, 5:55 PM

Tats great @Le Tigre when ur left waitin on a hospital trolley in a corridor for days on end or turned away for a much needed procedure come back to me.. as it is Dublin Airport is quite accessible within the city.. by all means extend a rail line, put on an extra bus service. Personally my opinion is 2.4 BILLION is a bit of a ridiculous amount to spend for this. As I said the many services in this country are fallin asunder and health care being one of them. I think a lil prioritising wudn of gone astray! The health service needs a major overhaul an needs to be ran proper or its only goin to get worse. It’s not for a heart string, in my eyes it’s common sense!

Mute Shanti
    Favourite Shanti
    Sep 29th 2015, 7:39 PM

If the health service was run properly they’d save more than this will cost per year and be able to sort out their own issues, the problem isn’t funding – it’s excessive layers of management sitting around and inadequate investment in the parts that actually matter – like front line staff and facilities.

Mute Paul O'Flynn
    Favourite Paul O'Flynn
    Sep 29th 2015, 5:35 PM

Anyway not too worry This is only electioneering and once we all vote for FG like sheep it will get delayed until it is announced for the following election. FG don’t ever deliver in infrastructure.

Mute Irish Cottage Rental
    Favourite Irish Cottage Rental
    Sep 29th 2015, 5:57 PM

Ten years before Metro project in operation way too long. Why does everything in this country take forever – it took 30 years to build the M50 – ever wonder why we struggle to reach our potential – one of the reasons must be because it takes so long for anything to get completed.

Mute insider.ie
    Favourite insider.ie
    Sep 29th 2015, 6:12 PM

While I fully support the idea of a rail link to the airport, it’s absolutely ridiculous that the Government is now planning a light rail link (i.e. LUAS), instead of the standard-width metro carriage originally proposed. Apart from the fact that this will require a brand new planning application, delaying the start of the project by another 5-6 years (and all the costs that this will entail both in terms of new consultants’ fees, planning process etc, as well as the lost productivity and extra costs to travellers and commuters), there is also a fatal flaw in the proposal: LUAS carriages are simply too narrow to carry hordes of commuters from Swords as well as passengers from Dublin Airport with their suitcases. It’s bad enough when a handful of travellers with suitcases get on board at Heuston or Connolly at present. Now imagine the situation when hundreds of travellers with suitcases get on at the same time during the peak morning rush hour (which is also the busiest time for the airport), with carriages already full of commuters from Swords. Making the carriages longer won’t get around the problem that it will be too tight a squeeze, delaying boarding and alighting. Not to mention the fact that light rail is slower. The Minister has been poorly-advised (again).

Mute Noel Wilson
    Favourite Noel Wilson
    Sep 29th 2015, 6:35 PM

It’s not a Luas, it’s a Metro. Wider, longer, faster. The gauge of both the Metro and Luas is the standard gauge used in most European countries. The vehicles will be wider than a Luas.. Luas is only slim because it shares the streets with traffic, cyclists and pedestrians. Metro won’t share space with anything else.

Mute Isaac Smyth
    Favourite Isaac Smyth
    Sep 29th 2015, 5:41 PM

Never gonna happen.

Mute Paul O'Flynn
    Favourite Paul O'Flynn
    Sep 29th 2015, 7:45 PM

Dart underground connects north docks south docks, coastal dart line , both kiss lines , Connolly station, Heston station, Stephens green, with inner city, Kildare line, maynooth line drogheda line . So anyone living working, studying, shopping, visiting in any of these lines areas can quickly go to somewhere on any other in less than 30minutes. Live in drogheda, work in sandyford. Live in Naas study in UCD, live in Malahide work in Ranelagh go for a meal in Dawson street, shop in O Connell street. Add a spur to the airport and any of these areas or by train to Dublin and change quickly to the airport. City free to walk, live and socialise in.

Mute Nigel Roy
    Favourite Nigel Roy
    Sep 29th 2015, 3:01 PM

That’s right..dig up the city instead of creating a luas type train service branching off at a new transit hub southwest of current donabate station..terminate diesel trains here and passengers transit onto dart..express luas type train from airport to swords to Donabate m1 junction (big park n Ride here) onto donabate and direct to Dublin connolly..no roads to be dug up…

Mute Kevin Conway
    Favourite Kevin Conway
    Sep 29th 2015, 3:08 PM

Getting a train as far as Donabate and then having to change to a Dart in order to get into the city is less convenient than what’s currently on offer…

Mute brian magee
    Favourite brian magee

Nigel, that is way to complicated. people wouldn’t use it.

Mute Nigel Roy
    Favourite Nigel Roy
    Sep 29th 2015, 3:33 PM

kevin – it would be far more more efficient as diesel trains would be nore frequent with no dart congestion..darts would be more efficient with no diesel trains…people in other major cities have more than one mode of transport to work..we are obsesed with point to point transport

Mute Jerry Mandering
    Favourite Jerry Mandering
    Sep 29th 2015, 3:34 PM

That is the daftest plan I’ve ever read.

Mute Kevin Conway
    Favourite Kevin Conway

Nigel, what diesel trains are you talking about?

The only diesel service that even passes through Donabate is the Dublin-Belfast train and there’s generally only once of them every two hours or so. Having them stop at Donabate will do nothing other than inconvenience people.

Mute Nigel Roy
    Favourite Nigel Roy
    Sep 29th 2015, 3:54 PM

hi Kevin…if you travelled that line daily you would know all trains that run fron Dundalk/ drogheda to Dublin are Diesel trains…the only trains that are not diesel is the Dart…i never said have the northern express stop at donabate…

Mute Nigel Roy
    Favourite Nigel Roy
    Sep 29th 2015, 3:56 PM

why is it daft Jerry..having a park and ride just at the M1 with a train service to city could take hundreds of cars out of the city daily

Mute Paul O'Flynn
    Favourite Paul O'Flynn
    Sep 29th 2015, 5:34 PM

How many times a year do most people use Dublin airport vs how many times do you drive in and out of Dublin city?

One line again great but without being connected to the other lines we will only ever use 10% of its possibility.

Mute Caoimhin O Hailpin
    Favourite Caoimhin O Hailpin
    Sep 29th 2015, 7:19 PM

Next year will be the 100th Anniversary of the 1916 rising…by the time this Metro is scheduled to be completed it will be the 110th anniversary of 1916

Mute Debi Nikita
    Favourite Debi Nikita
    Sep 29th 2015, 6:55 PM

Seeing is believing.

Mute Colm Aherne
    Favourite Colm Aherne
    Sep 29th 2015, 9:54 PM

Pretty sure metro north was given a 10 year planning permission/railway order

Mute Noel Wilson
    Favourite Noel Wilson
    Sep 29th 2015, 5:38 PM

Since ALL parties are in favour of Metro, I fail to see how its electioneering stunts. Now, they maybe able to compete on the delivery timescale? Fair enough on that point. The long and realistic delivery time, instead of being a point of derision, actually proves to me that this is NOT about the next election, or the next for that matter. Rejoice!

Mute Mad Taoiseach
    Favourite Mad Taoiseach
    Sep 30th 2015, 4:18 AM

What a waste.
    Are we going to let them away with this?

Sep 30th 2015, 12:35 PM

We always do…

Mute Craic the Whip
    Favourite Craic the Whip
    Sep 29th 2015, 10:18 PM

Fully support this project but its total electioneering, look at the time frame for starters, kicked out to 2026. If they actually wanted this they wouldn’t have shelved it in 2011 only to now bring it back before an election. Anyone else also find it bizarre how UCD isn’t serviced by anything other than buses despite the thousands of people who work and study on that campus every day. It however never seems to get a look in for any kinds of projects, a Luas green line spur from Miltown through the park to UCD would not be overly difficult or break the bank.

Mute Colm Aherne
    Favourite Colm Aherne
    Sep 29th 2015, 9:55 PM

Any indication of the major differences between this and the metro that already has planning permission and could begin tomorrow if funds were allocated? Seems daft to go back to square 1 after apparently spending €140 million on the previous plan.

Mute Search Eagle
    Favourite Search Eagle
    Sep 30th 2015, 12:30 AM

The differences are irrelevant. I strongly suspect that during the planning process, the “new Metro North” will end up becoming almost identical to the old one. Likewise, with DART Underground. The whole point of the “review” exercise was to make sure that the present Metro North plan was completely ruled out, and something new *had* to be designed from the ground up, to give the government another 6 years of not having to commit to anything.

It’s heartening to see more and more people seeing this for the sham that it is. If only our media could cotton onto it instead of just regurgitating government propaganda verbatim.

Sep 29th 2015, 11:10 PM

O Electioneering… I saw Howlin and his body language, his eyes kept moving to the right and his head going down like a puppy that has wet the floor and knew he did wrong… It all seemed to me that I felt he was telling lies but that is my view after seeing his body language on 6.1 news tonight? But I could be wrong?

Mute Noel Wilson
    Favourite Noel Wilson
    Sep 30th 2015, 12:12 AM

https://www.nationaltransport.ie/wp-content/uploads/2014/12/Fingal_North_Dublin_Transport_Study_Final_June_2015.pdf

Read the report. They have to do it, it was the only option. Not everything is about the electoral cycle.

Mute Search Eagle
    Favourite Search Eagle
    Sep 30th 2015, 12:38 AM

I have to disagree, this announcement is completely to do with the electoral cycle. There is an option called “Metro North” with planning permission that they could start now if they wanted. The report removed it from consideration at the earliest possible stage, to ensure that whatever was picked would have to go through a brand new planning process. The government have blatantly said they’re not bothered about building it because they’ve pushed it beyond two elections essentially.

It’s the usual story. By 2021, 2026, whatever, it’ll be cancelled and redesigned again.

In fact, as a general comment, the whole capital investment plan, public transport-wise, is a pile of lies. They’re re-announcing existing projects (Luas Cross City, Phoenix Park,), with any new improvements, like Balbriggan DART pushed out ’til after 2020. They must be delighted, they’ve blatantly announced they don’t intend to deliver *anything* for our capital during their next term and they’ve gotten away with it.

Mute Noel Wilson
    Favourite Noel Wilson
    Sep 30th 2015, 8:15 AM

In principle, it’s the right decision to build it. At last Labour accept that. I agree, the timescale is too long. So you’re absolutely correct, it’s Metro North versus New Metro North. Build it now or later. FF, SF and the greens want it built now. FG and Lab want it later. So now we have size up both plans and decide who can actually deliver this and when. That’s democracy.

Sep 30th 2015, 12:34 PM

They want private money to built it in order to privatise it later on?

Mute Conor Russell
    Favourite Conor Russell
    Sep 29th 2015, 5:12 PM

Pity they can’t put in quality cycle lanes. Dublin is not a large city. Don’t really want to share lanes with cars and I’m sure the feeling is mutual.

Mute Isaac Smyth
    Favourite Isaac Smyth
    Sep 29th 2015, 5:43 PM

Bus, train, luas, drive, cycle or walk. How people normally get to the city.

Mute Paul O'Flynn
    Favourite Paul O'Flynn
    Sep 29th 2015, 5:53 PM

So you bus, drive, cycle with ur suitcase into the city to get a metro to the airport? Makes no sense. Other cities u get a connected rail network, personally I’ll continue to drive until there is a connected rail network if ever. Priority should be getting the best out of all current transport modes by connecting them.

Mute Isaac Smyth
    Favourite Isaac Smyth
    Sep 29th 2015, 6:33 PM

Yes you get the bus with a suitcase. This is how it already happens.

Mute Paul Dwyer
    Favourite Paul Dwyer
    Sep 29th 2015, 11:03 PM

Waste of money,build a line from clongriffin to airport along n32,much cheaper,great bus service to town already thru tunnel,money could n spent better

Mute Search Eagle
    Favourite Search Eagle
    Sep 30th 2015, 12:41 AM

Clongriffin to the airport doesn’t serve any of the destinations on the corridor except the airport.

Mute Steven Woodroffe
    Favourite Steven Woodroffe
    Sep 29th 2015, 4:49 PM

Omg “sorry” but how hard would it be to build a connection to the existing Belfast line to the airport. Or Gould it not be able to handle the extra traffic?

Mute Johnny Mc
    Favourite Johnny Mc
    Sep 29th 2015, 11:02 PM

This coming from Enda who said before he was elected that he wouldn’t pay another red cent to bondholders

Mute Tim Leech-Cleary
    Favourite Tim Leech-Cleary
    Sep 29th 2015, 9:16 PM

There’s still no bloody cross-city connections above the Liffey!

Mute ÉireWarning
    Favourite ÉireWarning
    Sep 29th 2015, 9:07 PM

Snail metro

Just make sure you give a few hours before setting off. You’d be in NY faster than using LUAS

Mute John Moylan
    Favourite John Moylan
    Sep 29th 2015, 6:46 PM

How do you connect to Metro North if arriving into Heuston ? Stephens Green and O’Connell Street are a long way from Heuston.

Mute Search Eagle
    Favourite Search Eagle
    Sep 29th 2015, 7:33 PM

Just hop on the DART Underground. Oh wait…

It doesn’t matter because no one will be connecting to any metro any time in the next 2 decades.

Mute Noel Wilson
    Favourite Noel Wilson
    Sep 30th 2015, 12:09 AM

Luas Red from Heuston to Abbey/O’ Connell, then switch to Metro.

Mute John Moylan
    Favourite John Moylan
    Sep 30th 2015, 9:56 AM

….so now it takes 3 trains to get to Dublin Airport ?

Lugging luggage (sic) onto the LUAS on your way to the hols isn’t practical – and won’t win you any friends from the commuting community either……

Easier and cheaper to take the car.