You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

File photo. Leah Farrell/RollingNews.ie

Over 75% of people want Michael D to serve a second term as president

Last week, the president said he “is not ruling out” running for a second term next year.

OVER THREE QUARTERS of Irish people want Michael D Higgins to stay on as president for a second term, according to the results of a new survey.

An Ireland Thinks/ Irish Daily Mail survey found that 76% of people said they wanted Higgins to serve a second term as president.

Higgins came to office following the 2011 presidential election.

During that race, he promised to only stand for a single seven-year term. However, since being elected, the president has refused to rule out the possibility of a second run for Áras an Uachtaráin.

Last week, the president said he “is not ruling out” running for a second term next year.

The former Labour Party TD and arts minister has been popular with the electorate during his time in office.

A presidential election is due to be held in October 2018. If no-one contests the election, Higgins could be given a free run at a second term.

However, there have been rumblings potential candidates who may wish to challenge President Higgins.

These include independent senator Gerard Craughwell, who said he was considering running in order to ensure there would be an election held.

The Ireland Thinks survey interviewed a random sample of 1,105 people over the age of 18 over the course of a week earlier this month.

Political poll

The survey also examined the state of play within the political parties.

Fine Gael remained on top with 32% support, with Fianna Fáil close behind on 29%.

Sinn Féin were in third place, dropping 2 points to 14%.

The full list of support for the parties is below:

• Fine Gael 32% (+1)
  • Fianna Fail 29% (+3)
  • Sinn Féin 14% (-2)
  • Labour 5% (-2)
  • Green Party 3% (-1)
  • Social Democrats 2% (no change)
  • Solidarity-PBP 2% (no change)
  • Independents/Others 12% (+1)

Read: Fine Gael has jumped in the latest opinion poll to its highest level since the election

Read: Mary Robinson at the UN: Trump’s threat to ‘obliterate North Korean people’ provoked ‘gasps’

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

115 Comments
    Mute Phil Swan
    Favourite Phil Swan
    Sep 25th 2017, 10:15 AM

The position serves no purpose and costs a fortune. The job should be voluntary and let’s see then how many will be looking to do it. Mick D does exactly as govt tell him with no questions asked except maybe ‘where did I put my teeth’ and the obscene monies this lad is getting is vomit worthy. Collecting a TD pension as well as ministerial pensions as well as presidents wages as well as pension to follow as well as private interests – obscene!

Mute David Huston
    Favourite David Huston
    Sep 25th 2017, 10:30 AM

It’s a percentage of people asked not the entire country, Why are you spinning figures constantly.

Mute P.J. Nolan
    Favourite P.J. Nolan
    Sep 25th 2017, 10:56 AM

@David Huston:
    In other words David any poll that doesn’t agree with me has to be wrong.

Mute Ger Murphy
    Favourite Ger Murphy
    Sep 25th 2017, 11:22 AM

@Phil Swan: Agree. When he ran last time he said it was for 1 term. I think he should have enough money banked. Stick to your word President Higgins.

Mute David Huston
    Favourite David Huston
    Sep 25th 2017, 11:29 AM

That’s is not my point, It is a business tool used to influence opinion when promoted as fact. @ PJ Nolan, Ok

Mute Seamus Og
    Favourite Seamus Og
    Sep 25th 2017, 12:54 PM

@David Huston: Those figures really dont tally with other recent polls.

Mute Margate
    Favourite Margate
    Sep 25th 2017, 10:32 AM

Absolutely; Michael D is/has been the best person for Presidential role in many years. An accomplished Statesman; an experienced politician; an informed Advocacy ambassador;a prudent commentator; an educated and cultured gentleman; a person who is dedicated and committed to representing his country nationally and globally in an informed, wise and ethical manner without fear of ‘upsetting ‘ others in positions of prestige or power. He may be short on stature, but huge on commitment.

Sep 25th 2017, 11:20 AM

@Margate: I think he’s being doing a great job and it would save us a few quid if we didn’t have to have another election which I think he would win comfortably.

Mute Hurt Stoogie
    Favourite Hurt Stoogie
    Sep 25th 2017, 11:22 AM

@Margate: prudent? His remarks on Castro were disguising

Mute Matt Connolly
    Favourite Matt Connolly
    Sep 25th 2017, 12:06 PM

@Hurt Stoogie: Living up to your name.

Mute lavbeer
    Favourite lavbeer
    Sep 25th 2017, 12:58 PM

@Margate: did Hook not say he would run in case of no one else standing? His recent brush with the liberals might change his mind though

Mute lavbeer
    Favourite lavbeer
    Sep 25th 2017, 2:13 PM

@lavbeer: Or was that Bertie ? Think it was. That would be entertaining

Mute Patrick j Brady
    Favourite Patrick j Brady
    Sep 25th 2017, 4:30 PM

@Margate: same as every other politician. A leech on the taxpayer and let’s face it we dont need a president .

Mute TellingItAsItIs
    Favourite TellingItAsItIs
    Sep 25th 2017, 10:37 AM

The man is a genuine gentleman and wonderful representative of our country.

Mute Dáithí Ó Raghallaigh
    Favourite Dáithí Ó Raghallaigh
    Sep 25th 2017, 10:09 AM

I think it’s more to do with a lack of any credible alternative, Berty, Enda or some other head of an NGO with an over-inflated ego.

Mute dangermouse
    Favourite dangermouse
    Sep 25th 2017, 10:13 AM

@Dáithí Ó Raghallaigh: nope ….why change something that’s not broken ..

Mute Nick Allen
    Favourite Nick Allen
    Sep 25th 2017, 10:15 AM

@Dáithí Ó Raghallaigh:

Do you not think MD is credible?

Mute dangermouse
    Favourite dangermouse
    Sep 25th 2017, 10:22 AM

@Nick Allen: yes just like every irish president. Let’s look at marys tenure she didn’t contest her 2nd term just sailed right in and rightfully so.

Mute Ó Connmhaigh
    Favourite Ó Connmhaigh
    Sep 25th 2017, 10:34 AM

His statements on Fidel Castro were disgraceful, shameful and hypocritical.
    Higgins has long spoken out about neo-liberal politics despite the role of the Irish president to be above such statements on policy, yet called a tyrant such as Castro a “giant among world leaders”. Castro ordered the torture and execution of thousands of anybody he considered a dissident or anybody who disagreed with them. More than a million Cubans fled the country to escape oppression and Higgins opens a book of condolence.
    Higgins often points out what he thinks is going wrong in Europe and the world but has offered not a single solution. Virtue-signalling of the highest order. Not to mention his very sympathetic view on open-door immigration and belief that unrestricted numbers of Muslims should be welcomed and never questioned into Ireland and Europe.

Mute DaisyChainsaw
    Favourite DaisyChainsaw
    Sep 25th 2017, 11:16 AM

@Ó Connmhaigh: And Dev sent a mass card for Hitler…

Mute P.J. Nolan
    Favourite P.J. Nolan
    Sep 25th 2017, 11:29 AM

@Ó Connmhaigh:
    Didn’t think you would be able to make a comment without bringing Muslims into it and you didn’t disappoint.

Mute blackcoffee
    Favourite blackcoffee
    Sep 25th 2017, 1:36 PM

@Ó Connmhaigh: He also cut short his holiday in China to rush back and sign in The Water Services Bill even though over 20 TDs had asked him to hold off until it was discussed further! Horrible little man!

Mute Donal Desmond
    Favourite Donal Desmond
    Sep 25th 2017, 10:55 AM

How did they arrive at this figure? .l certainly was not asked ,And would not be one of the so called 75% who allegedly support Higgins.

Mute Mark Hosford
    Favourite Mark Hosford
    Sep 25th 2017, 10:22 AM

Definitely.. It saves a presidential pension..
    . . How much would it cost the state if someone young got the job, 1 term at quarter of a million a year.. And a huge pension for the rest of their life… Only the old for president…

Mute Nick Allen
    Favourite Nick Allen

@Mark Hosford:

Good point

Mute Cheeky Bums
    Favourite Cheeky Bums
    Sep 25th 2017, 12:33 PM

@Mark Hosford: Silly suggestion. Wasn’t a referendum to reduce the minimum age for a President actually defeated?

(also, since when was a salary determined by age of the applicant?)

Mute P.J. Nolan
    Favourite P.J. Nolan
    Sep 25th 2017, 6:52 PM

@Mark Hosford:
    Interesting point, I know ministerial pensions now only kick in when you reach 65 or 66 but would it be the same if we had a “young” x President?

Mute winston smith
    Favourite winston smith
    Sep 25th 2017, 10:11 AM

Pity they didn’t ring me.

Mute JJ O Riordan
    Favourite JJ O Riordan

@winston smith: I’m sure they’re devastated.

Mute mcgoo
    Favourite mcgoo
    Sep 25th 2017, 10:25 AM

Time to hang up those boots and retire gracefully now I think.

Mute marg fitzgerald
    Favourite marg fitzgerald
    Sep 25th 2017, 11:42 AM

75% of 1000 people surveyed is not 75% of the electorate.

Mute Tordelback
    Favourite Tordelback
    Sep 25th 2017, 1:16 PM

@marg fitzgerald: You’ve heard of this new-fangled thing called ‘polling’, haven’t you? When they ask the *entire* electorate this question we call it ‘a presidential election’, but in the meantime, an opinion poll seems like a quick and easy toe in the water.

Mute marg fitzgerald
    Favourite marg fitzgerald
    Sep 25th 2017, 2:47 PM

@Tordelback: thank you for the lesson …my point still stands

Mute James Grant
    Favourite James Grant
    Sep 25th 2017, 11:33 AM

He has done nothing and the position serves no purpose

Mute evelyn mc carthy
    Favourite evelyn mc carthy
    Sep 25th 2017, 10:19 AM

Well I don’t. ..

Mute JJ O Riordan
    Favourite JJ O Riordan
    Sep 25th 2017, 11:17 AM

@evelyn mc carthy: I’m sure he’ll reconsider, now that he’s armed with this vital information.

Mute Anthony Gallagher
    Favourite Anthony Gallagher
    Sep 25th 2017, 10:26 AM

I disagree ,he has had his term ,done a great job ,but i would like to see some one younger and bit more dynamic ,the likes of Brian o driscoll ,some one who represents modern ireland ,its time we moved on ,and stopped having old heads of state .

Mute Pablo Rojas Coppari
    Favourite Pablo Rojas Coppari

@Anthony Gallagher: Brian O’ Driscoll for president? This is exactly what is wrong with people understandinf of politics. You might figure out that it takes a bit more than kicking a ball to be a President and that it requires skills that you dont get in the pitch.

Mute Tony Stanley
    Favourite Tony Stanley
    Sep 25th 2017, 12:09 PM

@Anthony Gallagher: Oh yeah, let’s put a bloody celeb in the Aras! Worked really well in the states didn’t it?

Sinead O’Connor for President! Woohoo

Mute Anthony Gallagher
    Sep 25th 2017, 12:27 PM

@Pablo Rojas Coppari: if brian o driscoll showed the same level of courage and leadership in the presidency as he showed on the pitch ,i would support him 100%,RONALD REAGAN was a very successful president of the united states and he was b rate actor for most of his life .cop on you dont need to be a poet to be president .

Mute Anthony Gallagher
    Sep 25th 2017, 12:31 PM

@Tony Stanley: dont be a pussy,yeltson in russia an alcoholic ,clinton a sex maniac ,george w ,you dont have an argument ,drico would be more than capable of holding his own .

Mute Stewart O Neill
    Favourite Stewart O Neill
    Sep 25th 2017, 11:38 AM

Michael D is doing a great job for our country. Keep it going michael

Mute Moorooka Mick
    Favourite Moorooka Mick
    Sep 25th 2017, 10:26 AM

We need a young new President that represents all Irish citizens as well as the country.

In today’s world where Irish citizens have to seek work overseas, it is scandalous to disenfranchise them and President Higgins has been an abject failure in giving voice
    to the Irish abroad.

Instead we are left with an antiquated voting system and the prospect of another
    Presidential term by an antiquated President just to preserve the current political status quo. How silly is it to have to vote in the electorate where one has been registered to vote. This is horse and cart stuff of 100 years ago and Catholic Parochial to boot and not befitting a 21st Century hi-tech Ireland.

So retire his Agedness with dignity and give a young person a go !

Mute Moorooka Mick
    Favourite Moorooka Mick

@Moorooka Mick:

We need an Irish version of Macron for Irish President (with a younger wife perhaps)

Mute TellingItAsItIs
    Sep 25th 2017, 10:39 AM

@Moorooka Mick: What’s wrong with Macrons wife ye ageist eejit?

Mute Moorooka Mick
    Favourite Moorooka Mick
    Sep 25th 2017, 10:56 AM

@TellingItAsItIs:
    The issue is that a young President represents Ireland; not a defacto
    mother & son (yar mug)

Mute Trevor Hayden
    Favourite Trevor Hayden
    Sep 25th 2017, 11:00 AM

@Moorooka Mick: Oh Jesus no, leo drools over that plank enough already, we don’t need one on our doorstep, you’d never get him out of the phoenix Park.

Mute Mark Andrew Salmon
    Favourite Mark Andrew Salmon
    Sep 25th 2017, 12:31 PM

@Moorooka Mick: Ibrahim Halawa it is then!

Mute Deano Cracow
    Favourite Deano Cracow
    Sep 25th 2017, 3:26 PM

@Mark Andrew Salmon: It would be if the media luvvies had their way.

Mute TellingItAsItIs
    Sep 25th 2017, 10:07 PM

@Moorooka Mick: It’s official. You’re an ageist tool.

Mute Charles Coughlan
    Favourite Charles Coughlan

Is there anybody out there who is one of the 75% polled, I for one have never been asked to express an opinion or to say which party I’d vote for!

Mute Fiona Fitzgerald
    Favourite Fiona Fitzgerald
    Sep 25th 2017, 9:34 PM

@Charles Coughlan: Yes, Red C polls did randomly ring me a few times, around the last general election. Now that I think of it, I’ve changed my number. Maybe they’ll dial yours next.

Mute Waters Edge
    Favourite Waters Edge
    Sep 25th 2017, 10:31 AM

Lol, Miriam O’Callaghan won’t be too happy if he runs for another term.

Mute JimmyMc
    Favourite JimmyMc
    Sep 25th 2017, 11:40 AM

Wasthe poll undertaken on Kildare Street? I find it hard to believe that 75% said they “wanted” him to be president. If it was ‘don’t mind’ or ‘couldn’t care less’ it would be much more believable

Mute lavbeer
    Favourite lavbeer
    Sep 25th 2017, 1:02 PM

Don’t forget his private jet home and back on holidays to sign IW into law

Mute blackcoffee
    Favourite blackcoffee
    Sep 25th 2017, 1:27 PM

@lavbeer: I will never forgive him for that ! All mouth, no trousers !

Mute Sam Cairns
    Favourite Sam Cairns
    Sep 25th 2017, 10:53 AM

Mick Wallace for President, free pink shirt for everyone.

Mute P.J. Nolan
    Favourite P.J. Nolan
    Sep 25th 2017, 10:59 AM

@Sam Cairns:
    As soon as he pays his VAT bill….

Mute Robert D
    Favourite Robert D
    Sep 25th 2017, 12:07 PM

I hope he does us a favour and retires to Cuba.

Mute Trevor Hayden
    Favourite Trevor Hayden
    Sep 25th 2017, 10:18 AM

No, journalistic bull, sorry journal.

Mute Michael
    Favourite Michael
    Sep 25th 2017, 10:45 AM

Not me.

Mute Dan
    Favourite Dan
    Sep 25th 2017, 11:56 AM

We did a poll in our office and 100 percent agreed that most polls lately have been incorrect including our own one

Mute Sideshow Brendan
    Favourite Sideshow Brendan
    Sep 25th 2017, 11:56 AM

I remember him saying during the election campaign it would be for one term only. Another lying politician

Mute John Mc Mullen
    Favourite John Mc Mullen

Would hate the littler lad representing our country for another 7 years were bad enough

Mute deise
    Favourite deise
    Sep 25th 2017, 11:30 AM

@John Mc Mullen: you must of had it had under his tyrannic rule :P

Mute phil
    Favourite phil
    Sep 25th 2017, 11:00 AM

With the possibility of a general election been called next year the parties do not want a presidential election too. They simply do not want to spend money on what is a ceremonial role.

Mute Ronan McKeon
    Favourite Ronan McKeon
    Sep 25th 2017, 11:37 AM

@phil: Nail on the head there. Same thing happened with McAleese’s second term. Why bother running an election and wasting time and resources on this role. The smaller parties get a chance to boost their profiles at Presidential elections so if the main parties can avoid one and starve them of that chance, they will.

Mute Jimmy Cully
    Favourite Jimmy Cully
    Sep 25th 2017, 12:14 PM

So do we really need somebody in their mid 80′s representing us if he goes again.

Mute Fiona Fitzgerald
    Favourite Fiona Fitzgerald
    Sep 25th 2017, 9:40 PM

@Jimmy Cully: Yes, saves on paying two large pensions. If he doesn’t run again, I’ll vote for a childless smoker. Half-joking.

Mute Mark Walsh
    Favourite Mark Walsh
    Sep 25th 2017, 2:36 PM

Get rid of the Presidents office
    Serves no purpose whatsoever
    It’s a retirement home for politicians
    Michael D would go to an opening of an envelope if he fought he’d get a weeks holiday out of it

Mute Ismise Máire
    Favourite Ismise Máire
    Sep 25th 2017, 11:09 AM

Not me

Mute Stephen Duffy
    Favourite Stephen Duffy
    Sep 25th 2017, 12:00 PM

Who on earth wouldn’t love an election… ?? I love the 7 yearly mud slinging competition. Tax returns, private lives, loaded tv studios, Irish debates when only 2 out of 7 can speak Irish and of course Dana… oh yes please…!!!

Mute EmmaLoodle
    Favourite EmmaLoodle
    Sep 25th 2017, 10:41 AM

I heard a few years ago from a colleague of his that he refers to the Aras as the ‘open prison’. Hmm..

Mute Con Murphy
    Favourite Con Murphy
    Sep 25th 2017, 2:18 PM

@EmmaLoodle:
    Must be the most expensive prison in Europe so.

Mute blackcoffee
    Favourite blackcoffee
    Sep 25th 2017, 1:26 PM

Well I don’t! He had done enough globe trotting at our expense! No more! We are supposed to be s Democracy! What a joke of a country we have become!

Mute Eamonn
    Favourite Eamonn
    Sep 25th 2017, 12:16 PM

Another ridiculous inaccurate headline. Unless this survey asked 4.7 million people then your headline is incorrect. It should read ” 75% of the 1000 people we chose to sample”.

Mute Con Murphy
    Favourite Con Murphy
    Sep 25th 2017, 2:09 PM

Will be recorded in history as the president who signed the Eviction Bill 2013.
    Lefty credibility out the window. Promised he would only serve one term. Typical Irish politician.

Mute WilhelminaMCallaghan
    Favourite WilhelminaMCallaghan
    Sep 25th 2017, 1:06 PM

I like him a lot he is intelligent eloquent and inspirational. Seen him do a lecture years ago , how I wish I was his student . Brilliant mind .

Mute Con Murphy
    Favourite Con Murphy
    Sep 25th 2017, 2:22 PM

@WilhelminaMCallaghan:
    Enough of the sarcasm and irony.

Mute yildun
    Favourite yildun
    Sep 25th 2017, 1:51 PM

This president by proxy promised to serve only one term and like all of his ilk once he got his snout in the trough The gig became to good a one to quit.

Mute Maurice Heaphy
    Favourite Maurice Heaphy
    Sep 25th 2017, 11:34 AM

Duck Spring! You Are Joking!!

Sep 25th 2017, 11:01 AM

Not a great president, from the horrendously poor, crooked bunch of FF, FG and labour, but better than other options from that shower, bertie, enda.

Sep 25th 2017, 11:05 AM

I’d like a president that the public would genuinely like and respect. Unfortunately, the FF, FG and labour bunch don’t give us that.

Mute Fiona deFreyne
    Favourite Fiona deFreyne
    Sep 25th 2017, 2:13 PM

The present incumbent is a noble person with a noble vision of a better Ireland. I hope that he stands again.

Mute Daithi Gazeley
    Favourite Daithi Gazeley
    Sep 25th 2017, 10:21 AM

I Would like to see Dick Spring or Fergus Finlay as president.

Mute Con Murphy
    Favourite Con Murphy
    Sep 25th 2017, 2:21 PM

@Daithi Gazeley:
    It wouldn’t pay Fergus as he is the director of a Charity. He could never take the wage cut.

Mute Brian O Reilly
    Favourite Brian O Reilly
    Sep 25th 2017, 12:44 PM

I’d like Sabina as President and it would save paying those thieves the “Removal Companies”and she’s great craic!

Mute Matthew O'Kane
    Favourite Matthew O'Kane
    Sep 25th 2017, 1:25 PM

I 100% support the position of president of Ireland it is important to have a strong nation state to counter the strength of corporations undue influence on how the world views our civil rights glad higgins defended castro’s cuba

Mute Jean Webster
    Favourite Jean Webster
    Sep 25th 2017, 4:52 PM

Journal results of political poll ranked in peculiar order. Is it by party or %? If % then Independents/others should be behind Sinn Féin but ahead of Labour. Persistent relegation of Independents to the bottom of the list is misleading to readers.

Mute Paul Coughlan
    Favourite Paul Coughlan
    Sep 25th 2017, 6:17 PM

If that 75% want him let them vote him in. He has done nothing to enhance this country. Visiting socialist/communist countries at our cost. What about all the jobs for our young people as promised. Hasn’t stopped them from emigrating.

Mute Franklin Roosevelt
    Favourite Franklin Roosevelt
    Sep 25th 2017, 11:18 AM

What happens if the person dies while in office? Who takes over since we have no vice-president?

Mute Declan J Walsh
    Favourite Declan J Walsh
    Sep 25th 2017, 11:31 AM

@Franklin Roosevelt: Functions such as the signing of legislation are carried out by the Presidential Commission which comprises, the Chief Justice, the Ceann Comhairle and the Cathaoirleach of the Seanad until such time as a new President is elected.

Mute Con Murphy
    Favourite Con Murphy
    Sep 25th 2017, 2:24 PM

@Franklin Roosevelt:
    Wishful thinking eh.

Mute tom McCormack
    Favourite tom McCormack
    Sep 25th 2017, 5:47 PM

@Franklin Roosevelt: His wife..

Mute Emmet Dillane
    Favourite Emmet Dillane
    Sep 25th 2017, 12:16 PM

Michael D restored dignity and gravitas to the presidency after Mary, Mary and Mary.
    But Bertie would be a better option.

Mute FlopFlipU
    Favourite FlopFlipU
    Sep 25th 2017, 2:46 PM

Is it the over 75′S that want it

Mute RG Law
    Favourite RG Law
    Sep 25th 2017, 6:41 PM

I voted for Michael D. I’d like him to stick to what he’d said he’d do, one term only.

Mute Micheal Anthony Moran
    Favourite Micheal Anthony Moran
    Sep 25th 2017, 11:41 AM

Liar

Mute OCallaghan TP
    Favourite OCallaghan TP
    Sep 25th 2017, 7:38 PM

75% of who… I don’t want him to be president… we don’t need a president … it’s a huge waste of tax payers money..

Mute DPentony
    Favourite DPentony
    Sep 25th 2017, 12:04 PM

The terminal decline of the traditional main parties continues, they’ll be left with no seats soon.

Mute tom McCormack
    Favourite tom McCormack
    Sep 25th 2017, 5:01 PM

We need to get a President from one of the minority groups like Leo.
    Maybe a new immigrant or Traveller would be the best person to represent Ireland.

Mute DPentony
    Favourite DPentony
    Sep 25th 2017, 10:57 PM

@tom McCormack: Ibrahim Halawa will be back soon, will he do?

Mute Mike Daly
    Favourite Mike Daly
    Sep 25th 2017, 2:28 PM

Give Enda Kenny a lash at it as it it would be good to see him with the Mayo team

Mute Eoin
    Favourite Eoin
    Sep 25th 2017, 4:18 PM

Only 75% that figure dos not sound right.

Mute Sandra Clifford
    Favourite Sandra Clifford
    Sep 26th 2017, 2:35 AM

No pass me the sick bucket plz

Mute Daniel Donovan
    Favourite Daniel Donovan
    Sep 25th 2017, 10:39 PM

Can’t stand his politics but he’s an admirable statesman, well educated man and good speaker. The alternatives to him will by poor if the 2011 elections are anything to go by.