You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Minister for Justice and Equality Alan Shatter Julien Behal/PA Wire/Press Association Images

Shatter called on to resign over Wallace penalty points row

Sinn Féin’s Deputy Pádraig Mac Lochlainn also said it is “worrying” the Justice Minister mentioned the information on Prime Time.

MINISTER FOR JUSTICE Alan Shatter has been called on to resign over the ongoing row about allegations concerning Deputy Mick Wallace and penalty points.

On Thursday night, the Minister alleged on RTÉ’s Prime Time that Wallace had been cautioned for driving while using a mobile phone, but benefited from garda discretion and avoided penalty points.

Wallace said that he had no idea what Shatter was referring to, which was rubbished by Shatter in a statement. Wallace later said he would lodge a complaint against the minister.

However, in a statement yesterday, Shatter said that Wallace was “making a pretence, for political purposes” in saying he did not know what incident the minister was referring to.

In a statement today, Wallace described Shatter’s statement as being “a further attempt to deflect attention from the grave issues of Garda malpractice”. He accused Shatter’s statement of deliberately misrepresenting his position and said that he is unaware of the incident.

Wallace intends to continue to pursue this issue and will be calling a press conference along with his colleagues Clare Daly TD, Joan Collins TD and Luke Ming Flanagan TD next week.

Call to resign

Fianna Fáil TD Niall Collins told TheJournal.ie that in an interview with RTÉ earlier this evening he called on Minister Shatter to resign.

He asked:

How can the Taoiseach and the Tánaiste expect people to have confidence in the Minister when he has clearly crossed the line and he has blatantly abused his position to clinically smear another individual with privileged information?

Collins said that questions have arisen as to how Shatter is in possession of the information, and why he decided to use it in this manner.

Collins’ party are also asking has Shatter used similar information against other people “that we are not aware of and we are calling into question his judgement and we are calling on him to resign”, continued Collins.

When asked by TheJournal.ie what reaction he anticipates from this call, Collins said “you would expect the Taoiseach and Tánaiste to… be very concerned and take an interest in it”.

How do they expect people to have confidence in the Minister for Justice and by extension the Government when a government minister is abusing his position?

Sinn Féin’s justice spokesperson, Pádraig Mac Lochlainn TD, said that Minister Shatter must explain how he came by the alleged information about Wallace.

Deputy MacLochlainn described it as “very worrying” that a Minister for Justice can go on Prime Time “and use information which he says comes from An Garda Síochána, to score a political point against a Dáil colleague”.

The Minister must explain how he came by this information and clarify that it is not hearsay.

Read: Shatter rubbishes Wallace and upholds view he had penalty points quashed>

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

164 Comments
    Mute ffbt74
    Favourite ffbt74
    May 18th 2013, 8:01 PM

The Man has lost the plot. He was given a position in the cabinet and as minister for justice he should seem intelligent and productive. As it stands now he is like a school playground bully. How can he continue???
    Time to step down and retire to your massive pension

Mute Scarr
    Favourite Scarr
    May 18th 2013, 8:15 PM

And they wanted us to vote for more powers for these politicians to investigate and judge people? No thanks.

Mute Paul
    Favourite Paul
    May 18th 2013, 8:18 PM

This minister should resign. He cries crocodile tears over the grsves of heroes while cutting Garda and Army to shreds. Two guarantors of democracy destroyed by this man.

May 18th 2013, 8:44 PM

ffbt74, Yes, it’s in everyone’s interest that he should resign now but his pension should be cut by at least 50%. He should not be allowed a full pension when he has been incompetent at his job.

Mute Rick MacRory
    Favourite Rick MacRory
    May 18th 2013, 8:59 PM

John
    I have a pension with the Company I have worked with for over forty years and I never once saw a contract that was dependent on performance and if such a condition was imposed retrospectively it would be in breach of the Constitution. So you want to behave illegally against the Minister for Justice because somehow you have convinced yourself that he has somehow behaved illegally? John John John do you want to reconsider your silliness and have another go.
    Just as a by the way……….you have considered the possibility that the Minister has been found to be in breach of some law or regulation etc and …………… John you haven’t just decided that regardless he’s just guilty?
    Oh dear!

Mute Dwickedchicken
    Favourite Dwickedchicken
    May 18th 2013, 9:41 PM

Wallace should resign for stealing from the Irish people. ie. his taxes that he said he would pay back and isn’t.
    That man upsets me by just looking at him.

Mute Cathal
    Favourite Cathal
    May 18th 2013, 9:58 PM

Rick, I understand that Shatter broke the law, by abusing his ministerial position.
    If you broke the law ion your company and were sent to prison, i am not sure if you would get a pension if you had only held the position for 2 years. Thats in a normal job. However, FF/FG/Labour have written their own job contracts and I am sure they have every base covered for this type of eventuality (based on their histories of corruption) to ensure that they get as much money as possible for themselves, no matter what they have done illegally.

Mute David Conroy
    Favourite David Conroy
    May 19th 2013, 12:30 AM

Shatter might be a prig but Wallace if was cautioned seems a bigger prig !
    At the end of the day, Shatter did not make this up and Wallace and Ming both are a waste of public money and an embarrassment to this country. If Sinn Fein condemn the Minister then
    “I rest my case milord “

Mute Rick MacRory
    Favourite Rick MacRory
    May 19th 2013, 1:30 AM

Cathal you have no basis in law for making that outrageous statement against the Minister. You also should assume innocence until guilt is proven. Try to fe decent.

Mute Cathal
    Favourite Cathal
    May 19th 2013, 1:34 AM

Rick, trust me, i have been trying to ignore what i heard Shatter say on prime time. Please quote one law that allowed him to make that comment (whether right or wrong in terms of content) as an official minister for justice, considering all the regulations he is worn to uphold….?

Mute Liam Rogers
    Favourite Liam Rogers
    May 19th 2013, 3:13 AM

If he is incompetent in his job then he deserves no pension

Mute Stephen Duffy
    Favourite Stephen Duffy
    May 19th 2013, 7:15 AM

Well he is the guy that said when the Government lost a Supreme Court case, “we won the case in the High Court”. That’s the level we’re at, here.

Mute Richie_Ruin
    Favourite Richie_Ruin
    May 19th 2013, 12:28 PM

Cathal’s points are based in law. Ones relating to SIPO and use of information.

Mute werejammin
    Favourite werejammin
    May 18th 2013, 8:56 PM

Scenario A: Shatter, THE MINISTER FOR JUSTICE, disclosed information protected under the data protection act to score political points against an opponent on national television. In which case he should resign.

Scenario B: Wallace was never stopped and Shatter, THE MINISTER FOR JUSTICE, lied on national television to score poitical points against an opponent. In which case he should resign.

We know what should happen. What will probably happen will be the following….

FF mention it in the Dail, Kenny brings up the economic collapse

SF mention it in the Dail, Kenny makes some smarmy remark about Jean Mc Conville

Shatter climbs into Thunderbird 2 and flies off to survive another day and further bring his position into disrepute with the next calamity.

Mute Chris Avison
    Favourite Chris Avison
    May 18th 2013, 11:29 PM

On what planet do you live?

Mute Tommy C
    Favourite Tommy C
    May 19th 2013, 12:58 AM

Yoda? Is that you?

Mute Toby Parker
    Favourite Toby Parker
    May 19th 2013, 3:11 PM

I think it just goes to show why we should not give the Govt extra powers.
    There is currently no transparency or accountability within the Govt for the powers the Govt are currently abusing.
    I would be totally against in giving corrupt men and corrupt women any more of a strangle hold over the Irish People.

Mute Mike Clinton
    Favourite Mike Clinton
    May 18th 2013, 8:22 PM

Whats the bets that kenny and gilmore will stand up and say they have full confidence in shatter (like they did with reilly) and shatter will be left alone.
    Seriously folks,it shows just how cancerous and rotten to the very roots this shower of paracitic has beens really are.

Mute Scarr
    Favourite Scarr
    May 18th 2013, 8:28 PM

I love this different brand of politics we’re getting, don’t you?

Mute Harry Price
    Favourite Harry Price
    May 18th 2013, 8:42 PM

mike Clinton @ you can join the gang think in the gardai just look back over you pages herein as for shatter he put his foot in it by trying like you to stand with the so called guardians of the peace and the very people see it for what it is after all who told him or did he lie. One or the other it cant be a part of our democracy

Mute Willie
    Favourite Willie
    May 18th 2013, 8:56 PM

Surprised with that comment Harry, you being such a big Garda supporter.

Mute Rick MacRory
    Favourite Rick MacRory
    May 18th 2013, 9:18 PM

Mike
    Leaving alone the absence of titles such as Mister or Minister in your little diatribe I was just wondering why your spell check or predictive text facility is continuously letting you down. It must be so embarrassing for you as you recheck your contributions when counting the number of green thumbs you garner. Take my advice and triple check every single time as you really need to avoid readers questioning either your education or lack of it.

Mute Paul Roche
    Favourite Paul Roche
    May 18th 2013, 9:26 PM

lower case tweets are fine by me. SNOBBERY is not.

Mute Séamus Ó Lochlainn
    Favourite Séamus Ó Lochlainn
    May 19th 2013, 12:42 AM

If you don’t agree with his comment, then why not argue your point, rather than focus on petty grammatical mistakes?

And you forgot a couple of commas in your post yourself Rick, ya sad bastard.

Mute Séamus Ó Lochlainn
    May 19th 2013, 1:01 AM

* Correction, that should be capital ‘S’, capital ‘B’.

Mute Michael Purcell
    Favourite Michael Purcell
    May 19th 2013, 8:23 AM

Very petty Rick!
    People are entitled to judge a man who will lie & obfuscate the truth to save his own skin. Shatter has so little respect for the electorate that he still refuses to explain his serious abuse of his position. In the US or the UK he would be gone by now.
    What happened to the last three Gardaí who showed no confidence in him? THEY were held to account & bullied into submission with the threat of losing their jobs & pension.
    Banana-Republic politics.

Oh, and Rory? Stick to the issues & leave the personal attacks to the primary school kids. Good lad!

Mute Martin
    Favourite Martin
    May 18th 2013, 8:05 PM

Oh $hatter is lashing out in all directions. He has to be investigated for abusing his power. Who in the gardai is he getting to compile the information on his politcal rivals. Its like a mini watergate. I hope it has the same conclusion only a lot quicker.

Mute Vincent Dolan
    Favourite Vincent Dolan
    May 18th 2013, 8:54 PM

Zzzzzzz

Mute Richie_Ruin
    Favourite Richie_Ruin
    May 19th 2013, 11:38 AM

It is in neither FG or FF’s interest that a full and proper investigation in to this takes place. So it will not happen.

Another tragedy in the shamocracy.

Mute Martin
    Favourite Martin
    May 19th 2013, 12:33 PM

@Richie …I agree. If $hatter was an MP his resignation papers would already be in Cameron’s back pocket. But he’s so confident that the dirt he probably has compiled on the rest of the cabinet and daul members, he’s able to laugh it off when people say his blatant abuse of power leaves him with no option but to resign.

We now have a Stasi type justice minister who has shown if anyone speaks out against him, he’ll be on the phone wanting dirt on the individual.

If we tolerate this…………..

Mute FinglasAgainstTans©
    Favourite FinglasAgainstTans©
    May 18th 2013, 8:01 PM

Shatter, Wallace, Collins and MacLochlainn I wouldn’t piss on any of them if they were on fire

Mute linda o neill
    Favourite linda o neill
    May 18th 2013, 8:28 PM

Takes you again to lower the tone

Mute FinglasAgainstTans©
    May 18th 2013, 8:32 PM

I aim to please

See 21 more replies ▾
    Mute Stephen Browne
    Favourite Stephen Browne
    May 18th 2013, 8:40 PM

Surely Gerry Adams should resign if that’s the case…wasn’t he on the army council of the IRA

Mute Small Retort
    Favourite Small Retort
    May 18th 2013, 9:04 PM

Gerry was never in the IRA *wink wink

Mute Colm O'herlihy
    Favourite Colm O'herlihy
    May 18th 2013, 9:09 PM

@Finglas For Tans…You would have been an exemplary Tan during the burning of Cork!!

Mute FinglasAgainstTans©
    May 18th 2013, 9:40 PM

Wrong type of Tan Colm, how did this turn into an SF bash-at-thon?

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    May 18th 2013, 10:24 PM

Finglas, its called deflection.

Mute Stephen Browne
    Favourite Stephen Browne
    May 19th 2013, 12:08 AM

Deflection my eye…SF are great spouting populist rubbish from the opposition benches…if try ever get into government they’ll be talking from the other side if their mouths!

Mute Cathal
    Favourite Cathal
    May 19th 2013, 12:17 AM

Stephen, prove it, prove SF are exactly the same as FG/FF/Labour….

What i can say is that FG/FF/Labour have all proven to be brilliant at talking out the other side of their mouths. I can definitely prove that.

In this case, its definitely not better ‘the devil you know’ … in this case, its better going with the best alternative. I and many many others will show that at the next election.

Mute Stephen Browne
    Favourite Stephen Browne
    May 19th 2013, 12:23 AM

Well tbh Cathal for SF to be electable they have to appeal to the electorate by saying things that are popular like no household tax, cuts ect. But when they get into government and see the the reality of actually governing this country and the pressure it’s under to balance the budget and make savings
    It’s a totally different matter…

I do think SF’s vote will surge in the next election at the expense of labour btw

Mute Adam Mollen
    Favourite Adam Mollen
    May 19th 2013, 12:35 AM

You’re completely right Stephen, SF are masters of populism.
    Cathal, you do realise that as a far left party SF would have you paying even more taxes, driving structural and frictional unemployment through the roof and ensuring that FDI is a thing of the past for Ireland, these are economic facts.

Mute Adam Mollen
    Favourite Adam Mollen
    May 19th 2013, 12:36 AM

You’re completely right Stephen, SF are masters of populism.
    Cathal, you do realise that as a far left party SF would have you paying even more taxes, driving structural and frictional unemployment through the roof and ensuring that FDI is a thing of the past for the country.

Mute Cathal
    Favourite Cathal
    May 19th 2013, 12:38 AM

Stephen, i appreciate the honest reply, but i think we have been indoctrinised into believing there is no alternative into believing ‘there is no alternative to austerity taxes’, and that those taxes must come from the lower income families to be sustainable.
    I do believe in a fair an equitable tax regime, that supports ensuring disposable incomes at a level that supports GNP growth, rather than focusing tax regimes that focus on GDP growth driven regimes.
    Without home growth, we end up becoming overly reliant on corporations delivering all the jobs growth that is required.
    We need a balance on both!
    Unfortunately, with FG/FF/Labour efforts, they have and are, overly burdening the middle & lower income families with taxes are regressive in their nature (sucking disposable money out of the economy), and thus, starving the natural growth required to make our economy sustainable.

Mute Cathal
    Favourite Cathal
    May 19th 2013, 12:42 AM

Adam,

Go onto the BBC website and select the Northern Ireland Tab (Under UK) and just read all the articles there, in relation to new job announcements (North of the Border). The North is generating thousands of new jobs every year, their unemployment levels are falling. Compare that to our state of affairs and say which efforts are better.

Mute Stephen Browne
    Favourite Stephen Browne
    May 19th 2013, 12:49 AM

Thanks Cathal I enjoy a reasonable and civil debate on this for a change :-)

I agree in a tax regime that’s fair to all and that’s low enough…. People work hard enough for their money without being drained in tax.
    And I’m far from an affluent background btw.

Bit I think people see SF as a different alternative government party that will bring real change which i think they won’t as they will be dragged sharply back to the centre when they enter a government coalition and will be making hard and unpopular decisions as they are in the North

I think they will be a coalition partner in government in the near future.

Mute Adam Mollen
    Favourite Adam Mollen
    May 19th 2013, 12:50 AM

Northern Ireland is heavily reliant on state assistance, in fact, I believe the Secretary of State recently referred to their level of public spending as ‘unsustainable’.
    In relation to your point on austerity Ireland has not properly implemented savings, in fact our government spending in relation toGDP has increased. Keynesian economic policy’s do not work, they never have and one can point to a multitude of states to prove that you cannot spend your way to prosperity.

Mute Adam Mollen
    Favourite Adam Mollen
    May 19th 2013, 1:04 AM

It’s also interesting to note that aggressive government spending policies have failed in both France and Portugal to stop negative economic growth.
    High taxes on earners, without spending restraint by our government is not austerity.
    The facts presented in the article below will probably just be ignored but it is worth reading even if just to dismiss it.

http://www.cato.org/publications/commentary/krugmans-still-wrong

Mute Stephen Browne
    Favourite Stephen Browne
    May 19th 2013, 1:11 AM

Interesting article…I don’t want to assume that you lean more right than left but I think we’re in a minority on this site.

Mute Cathal
    Favourite Cathal
    May 19th 2013, 1:16 AM

Adam, in the last 6 years, the percentage of people being employed by the state sector versus private sector has dropped at a faster rate in the North, than at any time since prior to the Northern Government taking control taking control. That simply flies in the face of what you are trying to infer. I like to deal in facts and not innuendo and spin.

Yes, i think they were coming from a very bad place, but the fact that they are increasing private sector job rates, at the rate they are doing, very strongly suggests they are doing a much better job than the south is and have a much more effective strategy than we are following.

Mute Cathal
    Favourite Cathal
    May 19th 2013, 1:21 AM

I didnt mean to get side-tracked …. Shatter is a traitor to the Irish in my opinion, who used and abused an office given to him, by the electorate to score Political points on a live National Television Service. He should resign and he should face the full rigor of the law, and be imprisoned of his dirty Fascist efforts.

Mute Adam Mollen
    Favourite Adam Mollen
    May 19th 2013, 1:27 AM

Don’t get me wrong Cathal I’m not defending the governments approach here at all, I am strongly opposed to taxation, I am also opposed to government spending, both of which our current policy-makers do in excess.

And yes, we have gotten sidetracked, Agreed on the Shatter comment.

Stephen, you assume right, if I had to describe myself with an ‘ism’ it would be Libertarianism, when it comes to Economics, Milton Friedman is god.

Mute Stephen Browne
    Favourite Stephen Browne
    May 19th 2013, 1:32 AM

I’m a member of FG and I’m not ashamed to say that….but I have to agree with you Cathal I’m not Alan shatters biggest fan which doesn’t go down to well at Branch meetings as you can imagine!

Ha good man Ron Paul for pres :-P

Mute Labhrás Ó Fógartaigh
    Favourite Labhrás Ó Fógartaigh
    May 19th 2013, 2:13 PM

if you have that info…give it to guards…..or are you just going on what someone read out to you in a newspaper

Mute Little Jim
    Favourite Little Jim
    May 18th 2013, 8:21 PM

Collins reckons the deputy leader should be concerned.
    The man who admitted lieing himself on live tv, I’d say he’s relived!
    Seriously, these men are an affront to the office they hold.
    They need to leave, now

Mute Anne De Croix
    Favourite Anne De Croix
    May 19th 2013, 8:02 AM

What’s pretty obvious to me reading these comments is that there are a lot of profiles clearly being paid to give the impression that there are people in this country supporting the current government.
    There isn’t.
    In the States the same pr push is happening in an effort to get Bush junior into the White House.
    There is no Democracy.
    There is PR, money, lies and spin.
    Big business supporting inept greedy pretend politicians. The degrading of language to slogans and mistruths.
    Democracy is dead.

Mute Richie_Ruin
    Favourite Richie_Ruin
    May 19th 2013, 11:53 AM

Have to agree that a member of Fianna Fáil going on about the need to respect the rule of law is sickening. Shatter is also sickening though.

Mute Hugh O Connell
    Favourite Hugh O Connell
    May 19th 2013, 3:12 PM

shalom hatichat harah!!!!!

Mute Kevin Twomey
    Favourite Kevin Twomey

He’s continually compromising his position. Issues with Guards, Judges, now this. And this is just as a minister, imagine what he’d be like as Taoiseach? It would be like having Vladimir Putin or someone.

Look back at some of the inept fools that have been in this job in previous years and how even they’ve managed not to compromise it.

Shatter, Hogan and Reilly were the three main backers of Enda during the heave, he rewarded them with the three most powerful jobs outside of finance, and they are by far the three most inept at their jobs. And we thought we were getting something different….

Mute The Polar Bear
    Favourite The Polar Bear
    May 18th 2013, 8:50 PM

Well at least Vladamir Putin is sound

Mute Jim Ky
    Favourite Jim Ky
    May 18th 2013, 8:58 PM

Kevin–you must be very young or else have a very poor memory–CJHaughey Sean Doherty ,Ray Burke and Pee Flynn were former Ministers for Justice.A good Minister for Justice must,of necessity ,have issues with Gardai and Judges–it is part of the job.Nothwithstanding that,his comment on Prime Time was ill advised.

Mute Denise Friary
    Favourite Denise Friary
    May 18th 2013, 8:03 PM

If Mr,Shatter has any dignity he should resign now after his breach of trust towards the Irish people.

Mute Jason Culligan
    Favourite Jason Culligan
    May 18th 2013, 8:38 PM

I think this latest episode shows he really has no dignity.

Mute Cathal
    Favourite Cathal
    May 18th 2013, 10:04 PM

Enda will probably look to give him a pay-rise, extra expenses. Endas moral compass is way-off-kilter.

Mute Brian Flynn
    Favourite Brian Flynn

I think the Dail would be a better place without both Shatter and Wallace!

Mute Eric Davies
    Favourite Eric Davies
    May 19th 2013, 12:16 PM

i think the dail wouldbe a better place without t.d’s full stop.

Mute chair man
    Favourite chair man
    May 18th 2013, 8:55 PM

He shouldn’t have access to confidential Garda on an individual and definitely shouldn’t make it public, would you be happy to let the minister of health having access to your medical records or the minister of social protection access to your bank account? he showed a clear lack of judgement and showed his true colour is trying to discredit wallace with confidential information, especially as there is enough in the public sphere already to do that.

Mute Tom Keating
    Favourite Tom Keating
    May 19th 2013, 10:22 AM

I don’t think there is an issue with him having access to this information, the issue is abuse of his position as Justice Minister by using that information for political gain. Like him or not that is irrelevant, he has to resign due to his actions on the disclosure of that confidential information.

Mute Richie_Ruin
    Favourite Richie_Ruin
    May 19th 2013, 11:35 AM

The most serious issue is how he has access to this information. He has no legal right to that information, none at all.

The use of it is also very serious and breaks several laws. However the fact that he has it implies that the Guards are used as a dirty tricks investigation firm but the state against the Govt. of the days friends or fellow travellers.

Its hardly new. FF Ministers for Justice have long track records of abusing the law and their power.

It’s not acceptable.

Mute Martin
    Favourite Martin
    May 19th 2013, 12:41 PM

Nixon resigned because he used members of the CIA to tap the phones of the democratic HQ in order to gather dirt. Here we have justice minister doing tne exact same thing minus the wire tapping.

May 18th 2013, 8:13 PM

Give the man another shovel, he can’t dig deep enough

May 18th 2013, 8:07 PM

Time for Shatter to go. Is he not meant to be bringing in a new bill that will require a referendum to increase Dail powers to investigate the banks etc., How can anyone trust him now.

Mute Boy Russell
    Favourite Boy Russell
    May 18th 2013, 8:06 PM

I’m also sure he’ll be asked to stand down/resign also after this coming Mondays primetime investigates as I believe it’s going to feature the issuing of poisonous anti-malaria drugs to our troops which has resulted in double figured suicides, depression, anxiety, and a whole load more..
    The reason I believe he’ll be targeted is because he has decided to continue the issuing of the drug!
    This is real and it’s happening. Sad really!
    A misguided decision!

Mute Philip Cooper
    Favourite Philip Cooper
    May 18th 2013, 8:30 PM

For the love of God!

They should all be ashamed of themselves.

This recession is biting hard and affecting every friend and business person I know.

The people of Ireland are broke, stressed, upset and it’s getting worse. Meanwhile, all these idiots can go is sling mud at each other in the most childish manner imaginable.

It’s a crying shame that a cent of my taxes and your taxes I’d being used to pay for this muppet show.

Mute Matt O Mahony
    Favourite Matt O Mahony
    May 18th 2013, 8:53 PM

I agree it’s about time they all stopped acting like children, and grew up and started working together to get this country back on track.

Mute Mac Dara Powell
    Favourite Mac Dara Powell
    May 18th 2013, 10:20 PM

Well said Philip worse than the muppet show.

Mute Jackie Crowe
    Favourite Jackie Crowe
    May 18th 2013, 11:49 PM

so agree with you,, there is not one of them lads that should even be allowed on prime time,, they come off as arguing over stupid stuff, nothing about this countrys condition,, and recession not even hit yet,, everything going up and no jobs that should be their concern , to help the home owners going homeless,,, they are out for people that work and get paid from tax payers,, ie police, nurses, teachers,, they should start at the top, thats where our money is wasted on their high salarys and pensions, and pensions of ex partiers,,, and then want to tax smart phones for suicide,, hello they are going to tax them with new media licence how much more can they do,, tax smart phones on the shelf and leave the poor alone,, none of them have them,, eejits

Mute Jonner Smith
    Favourite Jonner Smith
    May 19th 2013, 4:22 AM

Well said

Mute Sam slade
    Favourite Sam slade
    May 18th 2013, 8:31 PM

Look at what happened to the MP and his wife in England serving a stretch for fiddling points. What a shower of turds. Wallace, Jesus Christ, in a decent state he’d b slopping out. Actually, in a decent country he wouldn’t, but its a kip, so there u go! As for Shatter, he’s a shit. His arrogance this time round is appalling. FG have lost the run of themselves completely. What the fk are we gonna do!

May 18th 2013, 9:13 PM

This country is a kip all right where we worry about ministers pensions. I have said it on here many times that when they are incompetent at their work we shouldn’t have to even think about their pensions. They should go without it or at least cut it by 50%. This government saw fit to cut peoples household help allowance of E62 a month down to E44 and they saw no problem at all with that. I think it would be a decent thing for the people of Ireland that this shower of crooks should all leave office as quickly as possible.

Mute Vincent Dolan
    Favourite Vincent Dolan
    May 18th 2013, 9:26 PM

Substantiate please the accusation of the Government being “crooks”. Not opinion, one instance where this Government has been exposed as crooked as per Ray Burke, Liam Lawlor, Ivor Callely etc.

Mute Real Betis
    Favourite Real Betis
    May 18th 2013, 9:43 PM

Vincent. Crooked; as in dishonest, untruthful, deceitful.?

Mute Tony Daly
    Favourite Tony Daly
    May 18th 2013, 9:46 PM

@ Vincent Dolan, “Michael Lowry”. I am very hay to go into detail, if you are unfamiliar with the detail.

Mute Jackie Crowe
    Favourite Jackie Crowe
    May 19th 2013, 10:05 AM

ummm lied to get in,, no home tax,, no cuts on child benefit,, that is where it started,, and cant say they are corrupt as they dont do anything ,, more jobs being lost than made,, more people made homeless than banks paying out after all they got in and still in trouble,, they have made no impact on this country only austerity and turning everyone against each other,, they go on about cops, nurses, firemens wages,, nothing about the billions we have to borrow to pay their wages, pensions, expenses,, oh 98 thousand for enda for weekend in ny,,, bullshit,, would have paid a few more cops to walk our streets,,, they do not see reality and whats going on inside peoples home, going hungry, going cold and threats of losing their homes,, that is the crime they will be remembered for,,, but they keep spending,, think if you live in dublin its not as affected,,, but come down to kerry,, tralee main st has no jobs only if you are on a scheme,, and schemes are what they are,,,, get off dole line and work in second hand shops,, we could sell some of them,, about 20 in our main st,,, and businesses and shops closing every day,,, they are doing nothing to keep what we have ,, nothing,, and joan burton,, someone shoot her and get her out of my misery,, she is the most pathetic person i have ever heard making excuses for a pay check,,, her new scheme is everyone lose a job and get in staff at cheaper rates,, once again at tax payers expense,, as previous staff have to be paid 2 weeks for every year they worked,, oh such a joke,,,

Mute Martin
    Favourite Martin
    May 19th 2013, 12:47 PM

Fine Gael were caught for Tax Evasion!!!! Surely thats courrpt. Micheal Noonan admitted under questioning that he was aware of the tax avoiding practice.

Mute Itiswhatitis
    Favourite Itiswhatitis
    May 18th 2013, 8:41 PM

It would be a wonderful day for ireland if shatter and the other mupoets resign. I would take one resignation as a start.

Mute Rick MacRory
    Favourite Rick MacRory
    May 18th 2013, 9:01 PM

Itswhatitis
    My dear fellow I think your either overdue some spelling lessons or are you just upstairs on a bus to Bray?

Mute Real Betis
    Favourite Real Betis
    May 18th 2013, 9:25 PM

@Rick A misspelling AND a missing comma!!……??

Mute TheHeathen
    Favourite TheHeathen
    May 18th 2013, 9:28 PM

It’s you’re Rick. I hate correcting people except the Grammar Nazis who left school early.

Mute Itiswhatitis
    Favourite Itiswhatitis
    May 18th 2013, 9:51 PM

@Rick you get my point. I am not in a spelling compo. Pretty sad if you can only comment on spelling.

Mute Itiswhatitis
    Favourite Itiswhatitis
    May 18th 2013, 9:52 PM

@Rick what word is spelt wrong. Just to correct you I think you mean grammar fool.

Mute Itiswhatitis
    Favourite Itiswhatitis
    May 18th 2013, 9:53 PM

@Rick what word is spelt wrong. Just to correct you I think you mean grammar clown boy.

Mute Rick MacRory
    Favourite Rick MacRory
    May 18th 2013, 10:46 PM

Itswhatitis

Muppets mupots mepoets muppppppoeisa.

Mute Ronan Sexton
    Favourite Ronan Sexton
    May 19th 2013, 7:21 AM

Rick, you spelt “you’re” wrong. You also left out two commas. Just saying.

Mute Niall B.
    Favourite Niall B.
    May 19th 2013, 7:46 AM

@rick *you’re

Mute Sean Murphy
    Favourite Sean Murphy
    May 18th 2013, 9:13 PM

Wish they would both resign. Pair of w*nkers

Mute Seamus Kelly
    Favourite Seamus Kelly
    May 18th 2013, 9:10 PM

he should resign anyway, its been one cock up after another

Mute Jerry MacCárthaigh
    Favourite Jerry MacCárthaigh

FF members should be more worried about their own party instead of spending their time calling on people to resign and contracting this, that and everything else!

Mute Scarr
    Favourite Scarr
    May 18th 2013, 8:16 PM

They’re risings in the pols all the time unfortunately, but I’m sure they would thank you for your concern. That be some poooor obfuscation.

Mute Kevin Twomey
    Favourite Kevin Twomey
    May 18th 2013, 8:18 PM

FF being more concerned with their own party isn’t something they’ve ever had a problem with.

See 19 more replies ▾
    Mute rodrigo detriano
    Favourite rodrigo detriano
    May 18th 2013, 8:19 PM

What a shower of bastards we have pretending to be politicians in this country. As if Shatter would ever considering resigning! The very idea of any of that lot doing the honourable thing is complete fallacy. As for that other piece of work, Wallace. He should be locked up for years to come. Let’s be honest. Ireland, (as Eamon Dunphy so eloquently put it) is a KIP.

May 18th 2013, 9:00 PM

Think you will find FG like FF before them are quite happy to encourage people to leave Vincent there is no need to further encourage it.

Mute rodrigo detriano

Why should I have to leave Vincent? Of course I know that that’s what you and the gangsters at the helm are striving to achieve. The bastard politicians want everyone who criticises them to leave.

Mute Vincent Dolan
    Favourite Vincent Dolan

Rodrigo- I had your best interest at heart. I was referring to you calling Ireland a kip. While I disagree with you, I’d hate for you to be under misapprehension that you were in some way trapped her. I simply wanted to make you aware that there are alternatives. You shouldn’t have to live with other people who are actually proud of the country.

Mute rodrigo detriano
    May 18th 2013, 9:23 PM

Hey Vincent. I used to be proud of my country, then I woke up and realised that the ordinary decent people,who make up over 90% of the population were being taken for a ride by a crowd who are no more than a self serving, criminal gang. I’m assuming by the very fact that you come on here and vehemently defend them on a daily basis that you are part of that criminal gang.

Mute Vincent Dolan
    Favourite Vincent Dolan
    May 18th 2013, 9:34 PM

Rodrigo- substantiate your accusation of “criminal” conduct by this Government or just admit you’re talking through your backside. I’m waiting…

Mute EDDIE BARRETT
    Favourite EDDIE BARRETT
    May 18th 2013, 9:40 PM

Vincent , many of our children have had to leave the airports you refer to – exported by the ineptness of the present and previous Government Parties – obviously your circumstances hove not had to suffer the loss of a son, daughter , friend, or sibling, to the curse of having to emigrate.
    Not a single Politician or Banker jailed nearly five years into the meltdown of our economy through fraud and collusion ?
    It begs an answer and a buffoon like Shatter is one of the main reasons why.

Mute Derek Richardson
    Favourite Derek Richardson
    May 18th 2013, 9:43 PM

Mr dolan do you know the song matchstick men matchstick cats and dogs sounds good on old tapes

Mute rodrigo detriano
    May 18th 2013, 9:45 PM

Surely one of the greatest crimes ever committed by a so- called government was to force the debt of a gambling casino, i.e. Anglo Irish Bank, on to the shoulders of ordinary Irish people for generations. The same government who promised to burn bond holders in order to gain power.

Mute Tony Daly
    Favourite Tony Daly
    May 18th 2013, 9:50 PM

Phil Hogan and Michael Lowry. The defence of Michael Lowry by Fine Gael.

Mute rodrigo detriano

When your pals decided to make future generations responsible for a private gambling casinos debt, I.e Anglo Irish Bank. It committed an unforgivable crime against the ordinary people of Ireland. Vincent, this is from your gang that promised to burn bond holders in order to gain power.

Mute Vincent Dolan
    Favourite Vincent Dolan
    May 18th 2013, 10:46 PM

Eddie- I suggest you direct your concerns to Fianna Fáil head office. If you thought the mess they made could be fixed in two years you were deluded.

Mute Vincent Dolan
    Favourite Vincent Dolan
    May 18th 2013, 10:49 PM

Rodrigo -be a good chap and find a dictionary and look up the terms “crime” and “criminal”, would you? Maybe somebody else in the house can explain it to you. As was obvious- talking through your arse.

Mute EDDIE BARRETT
    Favourite EDDIE BARRETT
    May 18th 2013, 11:00 PM

Vincent – might I suggest that your Party’s mess in a couple of years in recent power – reflected in the incompetence across the Ministerial board , already well exceeds the gross incompetence, even of the cowboy FF Organisation of their gross term!

Mute Ciaran Morgan
    Favourite Ciaran Morgan
    May 18th 2013, 11:50 PM

Vincent Vincent Vincent, fine gael must be dishing out the overtime to keep you here on a Saturday night.

Mute Séamus Ó Lochlainn
    May 19th 2013, 12:52 AM

Isn’t ‘Corruption’ a ‘Criminal’ act Vincent?

Mute Alan Burke
    Favourite Alan Burke
    May 19th 2013, 8:21 AM

Dolan I wish we could stick you on a plane and tell you to f*ck off out of here.

Insufferable moron.

Mute Vincent Dolan
    Favourite Vincent Dolan
    May 19th 2013, 9:35 AM

Alan- be careful now. You might hurt my feelings. Must be awful to have been brought up so common, was it?

Mute Richie_Ruin
    Favourite Richie_Ruin
    May 19th 2013, 11:49 AM

Most of FF’s past Justice Ministers have shown to be utterly corrupt, consistently abused the position for self gain and to protect their party and its members from being held accountable by law.

No one doubts that.

It still does not change the fact that Shatter is also wrong in this regard.

Mute Begrudgy
    Favourite Begrudgy
    May 18th 2013, 8:16 PM

I am struggling for something to say without coming across as Anti Semitic.

Mute Paul Flynn
    Favourite Paul Flynn
    May 18th 2013, 8:30 PM

You probably just did !

Mute Philip
    Favourite Philip
    May 18th 2013, 8:59 PM

FG will circle the wagons and send out fellow TD’S in support of shatter

The FG Pr machine will kick in via RTE

The story will never gather enough momentum for anything to happen

Mute Cathal
    Favourite Cathal
    May 19th 2013, 12:44 AM

Labour will stay silent, until they know 100% which way the wind is blowing, or until FG threaten them with something (usually something that affects the Labour Fat cats personally).

Mute Shirley Moran
    Favourite Shirley Moran
    May 18th 2013, 10:25 PM

resign resign resign
    what a clown!

Mute Uncle Mort
    Favourite Uncle Mort
    May 18th 2013, 8:33 PM

“a press conference along with his colleagues Clare Daly TD, Joan Collins TD and Luke Ming Flanagan TD”

That should be the gig of the year, will it be out on dvd ?

Mute Harry Price
    Favourite Harry Price

the truth should have a meaning and not the cartels gangs PR push overs .THIS republic is of the people for the people and not for the gang that bully from the secrete society gang cartel. Let the truth be told and stop the gagging

Mute John Murphy
    Favourite John Murphy
    May 18th 2013, 9:44 PM

Classic Willie :D

Mute the lost lenore
    Favourite the lost lenore

The ULA is a clown act that’s preventing a real alternative to FG/Labour coming up from the grassroots. Is it too much to ask for a proper opposition to the government with proper policies? This trio only serve to do the almost impossible and actually make the government look good.

Mute Sam slade
    Favourite Sam slade
    May 18th 2013, 8:22 PM

Some country.

Mute Maura Finnegan
    Favourite Maura Finnegan
    May 18th 2013, 9:38 PM

Privacy policies data protection all wiped out by the Minister for Justice

Mute Dave O'Shea
    Favourite Dave O'Shea
    May 18th 2013, 11:07 PM

Wait till monday folks…. He will be out he door by friday… Primetime investigates exposė on the Lariam debacle in the Defence Forces.

Mute EU Auditor
    Favourite EU Auditor

It would be good if the truth were told on all in the Dail.
    It should be up public information whether its Wallac’s tax or Shatters tax, whether its penalty points for either of them. All should be transparent.

Mute Paul Roche
    Favourite Paul Roche
    May 19th 2013, 11:38 AM

It would also be good if the people who seek truth had the courage to be honest about their own identities. It has to start somewhere. Your point is valid.

Mute Clawlorphoto
    Favourite Clawlorphoto
    May 19th 2013, 12:49 AM

This man has embarrassed the government for long enough..can not believe they are giving this man so much free reign..he is a disaster and a disgrace and should never be allowed speak in public again….

Mute Stephen Duffy
    Favourite Stephen Duffy
    May 19th 2013, 7:11 AM

Yesterday Alan Shatter, with his usual swagger, said he would do everything to defend the good name of the Gadai. Could he have done anymore more by his words to damage the reputation of the force and make them look totally unprofessional?

Mute Niall Sheridan
    Favourite Niall Sheridan

I’d put a few bob in if Mick wants to sue!!

Mute royston T justice
    Favourite royston T justice
    May 19th 2013, 8:31 AM

TAKE A FOCKING HINT SHATTER,
    GO!!!!

Mute royston T justice
    Favourite royston T justice
    May 19th 2013, 6:44 AM

Shatter, in the news everyday and for all the wrong reasons!
    ..take them jack boots off minister, give your pointed hooves a rest, it must be hot down there with all those poor souls..

Mute Adam Mollen
    Favourite Adam Mollen
    May 18th 2013, 11:52 PM

Of course Sinn Fein jump straight at another opportunity to criticise without offering anything of note or substance to the issue.
    How can people actually fall for their blatant opportunism and populist rhetoric?!

Mute Richie_Ruin
    Favourite Richie_Ruin
    May 19th 2013, 11:51 AM

Plenty of people have laid out quiet clearly the laws and procedures that Shatter needs to be investigated regarding.

Your tribal drum beating just damages FG’s integrity and shows the electorate that FG members are like FF’ers. Loyal to a party man over the country and electorate.

Mute Adam Mollen
    Favourite Adam Mollen
    May 19th 2013, 2:05 PM

Wait a second now Richie, I’m certainly not pro FF or FG, and I too believe Shatter should resign for this action.

What I was saying was that SF are political exploitationists who have zero shame and will never let an opportunity to advance their cause go. I’m not FF or FG, but I’m anything before I’ll support that despicable lot.

Mute podge fahey
    Favourite podge fahey
    May 19th 2013, 3:33 AM

I don’t like shatter in the least…but what a shower of lying c€&(ts to day they havnt benefitted from the Garda points systems. Wallace, Flanagan eyc. Shudnt be considered in the dáil except as a shower of w&@!2:rs who are wasting tax-payer money

Mute Galwaybay
    Favourite Galwaybay
    May 18th 2013, 8:10 PM

Every week some pokitican is called on to resign for one reason or another. If they were all to resign when called on to do so can you imagine how much more money would need to be put into their pension pot.

Mute Scarr
    Favourite Scarr
    May 18th 2013, 8:17 PM

Every week? Are you on drugs?

Mute Richie_Ruin
    Favourite Richie_Ruin
    May 19th 2013, 11:57 AM

I don’t think Shatter should resign, he should however be investigated and if shown to have broken the law he should be sentenced.

He has given no statement on how he did not break the law in this.

Mute Michael O' Keeffe
    Favourite Michael O' Keeffe
    May 19th 2013, 10:48 AM

Minister Shatter has circumvented the Justice System. His position is untenable now. But in Irish politics it seems slander and corruption are acceptable.

Mute Bob Smith
    Favourite Bob Smith
    May 19th 2013, 4:50 AM

WHY because he might let loose what some of the other dirty corrupt bastards are doing no wonder we are the laughing joke of the world

Mute Dermot McCabe
    Favourite Dermot McCabe
    May 19th 2013, 2:32 AM

This Shatter fellow is upsetting the whole country. I’m beginning to like him.

Mute Beibhinn
    Favourite Beibhinn
    May 19th 2013, 12:25 AM

I’m no fan of shatter, but in fairness mick Wallace sitting there feeling mortified over shatters comments was brilliant. Why does ‘classified’ information only count when it’s embarrassing another political party or candidate. If fianna fail come out defending it, you know its bullshit. Cowan was infamous for not wanting it and everyone hated him so….

Mute Richie_Ruin
    Favourite Richie_Ruin
    May 19th 2013, 11:46 AM

Shatter isn’t a fan of the law or its impartiality.

While that is not that unusual in an Irish Justice Minister it is still not tolerable.

Mute Stephen Hall
    Favourite Stephen Hall
    May 18th 2013, 9:34 PM

Yes this is exactly what we should be concentrating on !! The country has no other issues !!

Mute Richie_Ruin
    Favourite Richie_Ruin
    May 19th 2013, 12:02 PM

The country can multitask and having a Minister for Justice that possibly acts outside of the Law is a very big concern for most people.

Shatter has given no statement to restore people’s faith in him. I therefore cannot trust him or feel that the Justice Dept. is led by a fit person.

Mute Johnnathan Biskalero
    Favourite Johnnathan Biskalero
    May 19th 2013, 1:12 PM

Shatter……..someone quoted a few years back “our man in the dail” enough said…kick him out !!!

Mute Paul Flynn
    Favourite Paul Flynn
    May 18th 2013, 8:29 PM

You probably just did.

Mute Denise Friary
    Favourite Denise Friary
    May 27th 2013, 12:49 AM

Let us hope Mr.Shatter does the right thing.