You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Watch: Ming Flanagan challenges Minister to drink glass of 'glorified piss' (water)

The independent TD could be in trouble with Dáil authorities after an outburst in the chamber this morning.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=i9ampk0TQSY

INDEPENDENT TD LUKE Ming Flanagan could be in trouble with Oireachtas authorities after he gave a Minister a glass of dirty water which he described as “glorified piss”, during a debate on the Water Services Bill this morning.

The Roscommon-South Leitrim deputy was criticising the decision to charge for water provision pointing out that constituents of his in Castlerea are being “forced” to use tap water which is contaminated with cryptosporidium.

“The people in my area are expected to drink glorified piss and you’re going to charge them for it, but the reality is we’re not going to pay for it,” he said.

Flanagan then challenged the Minister of State Fergus O’Dowd to drink the water before marching across the chamber and placing it beside him and walking out.

(Watch in the video above from about 1 minute 20 seconds in)

(Image Credit: Oireachtas.ie)

A short time later, the Ceann Comhairle Seán Barrett described it as an “act of vandalism” which he had “never before” seen in the chamber.

He said he would be addressing the “outrageous and unacceptable behaviour” at an immediate meeting of the Dáil’s Committee on Procedures of Privilege later this afternoon.

He dismissed complaints from the opposition benches that it was “a peaceful gesture” saying it was not appropriate in the houses of parliament.

In a statement issued a short time later: “Whilst I fully appreciate the need for Members to attract publicity and inform their constituents of the work that they do in Leinster House but when a Member decides to pull a stunt such as this, it does nothing other than denigrate our National Parliament.”

Opposition deputies have been complaining about the lack of debate being given to the Water Services Bill which provides for the transfer of powers for water provision from local authorities to Irish Water which will be implementing water charges from late next year.

The bill is due to pass all stages of the Oireachtas before the end of this week when the Dáil and Seanad rise for Christmas.

WATCH: Dáil falls silent to highlight plight of children in need of cochlear implants

Dáil rejects Luke ‘Ming’ Flanagan’s cannabis regulation motion

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

384 Comments
    Mute stephen kavanagh
    Favourite stephen kavanagh
    Dec 19th 2013, 12:19 PM

How is that an ‘act of vandalism’? At worst a breach of etiquette, which if you’re passionately engaged with a subject does sometimes happen. And he’s right: the tap water in Mayo/Roscommon is undrinkable.

Mute Elaine Kelly
    Favourite Elaine Kelly
    Dec 19th 2013, 12:26 PM

I was wondering the same. Maybe the glass left a mark where he set it down for the Minister? Those stains are a b*gger to get rid of!

Mute Fintan O HEifernain
    Favourite Fintan O HEifernain
    Dec 19th 2013, 12:33 PM

His stance on cannabis isnt the issue here. Play the ball not the man.

See 37 more replies ▾
    Mute stephen kavanagh
    Favourite stephen kavanagh
    Dec 19th 2013, 12:34 PM

They’re not unthinkable to a large number of people, or to other countries

Mute Oleg Ru
    Favourite Oleg Ru
    Dec 19th 2013, 12:35 PM

You should research this topic a bit more before commenting.

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter

Gerard again its about water.

Mute SSDP Ireland
    Favourite SSDP Ireland
    Dec 19th 2013, 12:36 PM

Do you mean like Uruguay, Colorado and Washington who will save tens of millions of dollars and free up police time to tackle real crime on the 1st Jan 2014?

Mute DarthTempus
    Favourite DarthTempus

Gerard tell me what you know about cannabis

Mute Andy Harding
    Favourite Andy Harding
    Dec 19th 2013, 12:40 PM

Tell my wife that has cancer that

Mute GlangaurdatYaBowsey
    Favourite GlangaurdatYaBowsey
    Dec 19th 2013, 12:43 PM

@GerardKennelly your opinion on drugs seems fairly clear from all your comments here, but what’s your stance on the water quality? Or like the main stream politicians, would you rather just dodge the question and change the subject?

Mute DarthTempus
    Favourite DarthTempus

Sorry andy who is your comment for?

Mute Andy Harding
    Favourite Andy Harding
    Dec 19th 2013, 12:45 PM

Gerard

Mute Daddy De La Noche
    Favourite Daddy De La Noche
    Dec 19th 2013, 12:50 PM

I think it’s great that someone is actually talking about something that’s happening to his constituents and not just trying to be in the Dails good books, he actually does care about his people which not a lot of politicians do, that’s probably why they want him gone because he challenges their corruption too much, and as for the act of vandalism, that sounds like something Russia would say to get rid of someone.

Mute Coddler O Toole
    Favourite Coddler O Toole
    Dec 19th 2013, 1:52 PM

Well done Ming Flanagan for defending his constituents and effectively highlighting the hypocrisy of our ruling elite.
    However, even if the the water quality was perfect in Roscommon and everywhere else, we must still refuse to pay this double tax being imposed on the Irish people to cover the gambling losses of financial speculators. Following on from the Home tax robbery, the citizens are being fleeced again to pay for the consequences of the bank bailout.
    Boycott the bondholder water tax. Can’t pay. Won’t pay.

Mute Michael Farrelly
    Favourite Michael Farrelly
    Dec 19th 2013, 1:57 PM

You are unthinkable Gerald and you don’t think much

Mute Lashes
    Favourite Lashes
    Dec 19th 2013, 2:47 PM

Ming is the laughing stock of the Dail the Dail is the laughing stock of Europe

Mute GEAROID
    Favourite GEAROID
    Dec 19th 2013, 4:09 PM

@ Elaine Kelly

they leave little rings on the table and we don’t like little rings on the table

the Dail is becoming like The Odd Couple

Mute Antonov Merinov
    Favourite Antonov Merinov
    Dec 19th 2013, 4:11 PM

I commend Flanagan for his confrontational outburst.
    Because nothing else would garner attention in the Dàil.
    And he has a valid point which he brought across in his terms.

Mute GEAROID
    Favourite GEAROID
    Dec 19th 2013, 4:15 PM

@ Shane Kinsella

are you a ventriloquist ?

Mute GEAROID
    Favourite GEAROID
    Dec 19th 2013, 4:18 PM

@ Andy Harding

with the exception of you know.. nobody should ever put that poison in their body

i am sorry andy
    especially with christmas coming up

Mute Victoria Murphy
    Favourite Victoria Murphy
    Dec 19th 2013, 5:27 PM

exactly my wquestion. Stupid thing to say.

Mute GEAROID
    Favourite GEAROID
    Dec 19th 2013, 5:34 PM

even hardcore smokers can become anxious, panicky, suspicious or paranoid

it affects your co-ordination

some people think cannabis is harmless because it’s a plant, but it isn’t harmless.
    Cannabis, like tobacco, has lots of chemical ‘nasties’,
    which, with long-term or heavy use, can cause lung disease and possibly cancer.

The risk is greater because cannabis is often mixed with tobacco and smoked without a filter. It can also make asthma worse, and cause wheezing in people without asthma

Cannabis itself can affect many different systems in the body, including the heart. It increases the heart rate and can affect blood pressure

If you have a history of mental health problems, taking cannabis is not a good idea. It can cause paranoia in the short term, but in those with a pre-existing psychotic illness, such as schizophrenia, it can contribute to relapse

If you use cannabis and have a family background of mental illness, such as schizophrenia, you may be at increased risk of developing a psychotic illness

It is reported that frequent use of cannabis can cut a man’s sperm count and reduce sperm motility. It can suppress ovulation in women and so may affect fertility

If you’re pregnant, smoking cannabis frequently may increase the risk of the baby being born smaller than expected

Regular, heavy use of cannabis makes it difficult to learn and concentrate. Some people begin to feel tired all the time and can’t seem to get motivated

Some users buy strong herbal cannabis (also known as skunk) to get ‘a bigger high’. Unpleasant reactions can be more powerful when you use strong cannabis, and it is possible that using strong cannabis repeatedly could increase the risk of harmful effects such as dependence or developing mental health problems

Mute John Walsh
    Favourite John Walsh
    Dec 19th 2013, 5:44 PM

1min 34 in the look on Robert Troys poor confused face when he hears the word piss is priceless.

Mute nicola ryan
    Favourite nicola ryan
    Dec 19th 2013, 6:11 PM

Gearoid, a lot of what you are attributing to cannabis are actually tobacco related diseases. Think before you spread incorrect information!

Mute Loki Cumberbatch
    Favourite Loki Cumberbatch
    Dec 19th 2013, 6:19 PM

>Nicola ryan
    tobacco = bad
    cannabis = good

Mute Ciarán Ó Duifinn
    Favourite Ciarán Ó Duifinn
    Dec 19th 2013, 8:01 PM

How is he exactly ?

Dec 19th 2013, 8:49 PM

Seán Barrett upset well done Ming.

Mute Marc Marcel
    Favourite Marc Marcel
    Dec 19th 2013, 9:45 PM

for those who don’t understand mental illness nor ever had it would obviously disagree with GEAROID
    but… he’s actually correct. There are many strains of it however much of it is unregulated, it is a medicine really. Fancy over dosing on medicine? You think you will feel ok if you do that OR even take the wrong medicine? There are speically selected strains for all sorts of ailments, they are regulated or if you’re lucky you’ll find on suitable to your needs. THC can trigger events, can make ones ‘existing’ ailement worse if you smoke too much of it, higher strain level etc.

Its pure ignorance to say, nooo its GREAT. Really? You must feel ok then and don’t have any underlying ‘mental’ illness, history or even a possibility of one developing so how then can you understand or even agree with GEAROID?

Mute Marc Marcel
    Favourite Marc Marcel
    Dec 19th 2013, 9:53 PM

Tobacco DOES not trigger events, does not induce paranoia, post traumatic stress disorder, recurring thoughts, schizophrenia etc etc, it causes other nasty things though but cannabis can cause the former. Sorry, if it doesnt for you then you’re a perfect person and should be king of the world. Perhaps take a walk into a mental/rehab clinic and have a chat with someone in there that has gone through it. It can trigger it, it may not cause it in some individuals, but brings it to a head, it may or may not help, it all depends what exactly you’ve taken, how much of it, type/strain etc etc.

If it was legalised it would be much better, allowing those who like it, access to correct types that ‘suit’ them and that will enhance their ‘mood’. At present, its all over the place, whats for one is not for the other, next month it may not be for the other, its pot luck skunk.

Mute Hughie Beatty
    Favourite Hughie Beatty
    Dec 19th 2013, 11:48 PM

your right, the only answer is every citizen in this broken down country to get off their arse and protest.

Mute David Floyd
    Favourite David Floyd
    Dec 20th 2013, 12:22 AM

what a dumbass, you need to research , maybe then you will discover that all of us have an “Endocannabinoid system ” in our bodies. It is also a neuroprotectant, if you know what that means.

Mute John Martin
    Favourite John Martin
    Dec 20th 2013, 12:55 AM

The debate is about water is lukes area, and the impending charges going to be applied to residents. Go else where for a debate on other issues.

Mute Bernadette Dunne
    Favourite Bernadette Dunne
    Dec 20th 2013, 5:14 AM

Gearoid please stay on topic Luke Ming Flanagan is right in what he brought to the Dàil Debate today Thursday 19 December 2013 and he has all of his constituents Best interests in the right place Can you honestly say that about any other T.D. and Ministers And the leader of this Cabinet Mr E. Kenny No they do not Luke Ming Flanagan has and always had and always will Why is Luke Ming so right in his debate is the fact he is. Citizen First and a Politician And he is doing his inmost for the people of Roscommon and Leitrim and of Ireland He is one of the hardest working Politicians that this country has seen since the formation of this state and Michael Collins day We need more like Luke Ming Flanagan in office

Mute Brian Delivers
    Favourite Brian Delivers
    Dec 20th 2013, 6:40 AM

Says a twitter account made in the bowels of leinster house…

Mute Eamonn Carey
    Favourite Eamonn Carey
    Dec 20th 2013, 11:40 AM

Tobacco might trigger schizophrenia, and a lot of research is currently being done exploring this possibility. There are links to journals through this article if you’d like more detail.

http://www.huffingtonpost.co.uk/2012/03/26/smoking-schizophrenia-risk-factor-scientists-research_n_1379920.html

Mute Garth Sutherland
    Favourite Garth Sutherland
    Dec 20th 2013, 9:58 PM

Maybe, just maybe Ming is also sending a subtle, secondary message to the FG/Labour coalition! To the effect that they are just as unpalatable to the good folk of Eire – as what that water is! (No, this time I’m not joking!)

Mute beansy
    Favourite beansy
    Dec 21st 2013, 5:15 AM

And you are the laughing stock of journal.ie

Mute beansy
    Favourite beansy
    Dec 21st 2013, 5:24 AM

Well done @gearoid. How long did it take you to copy and paste all that sh!te?

Did you ever hear of the phrase ” too much of anything is bad for you”?

I bet you have never smoked cannabis in you’re life?

If you did “once or twice” your probably not used to the “high” as you would get from a few pints.

Different “highs” produce different effects.

Drink 10 pints and go looking for a fight or smoke 3 joints n order a pizza.

Go do some research on cannabis and come back and tell me which is more harmful..alcohol or cannabis.

We shall see who is the “mentally unstable person” is

Mute Joanna Scott
    Favourite Joanna Scott
    Dec 31st 2013, 2:49 PM

About time some one is on the peoples side now he needs to ask them for proof of sale bill from god to prove they own it before charging us for stuff they don’t own and they sure as hell don’t clean

Mute Alan Muldoon
    Favourite Alan Muldoon
    Jan 6th 2014, 5:59 PM

thats some fantastic copy pasting technique you displayed by posting that comment to bad you didnt use your abilities to find genuine information not absolute horse shit
    i have never seen any hardcore smoker become “anxious, panicky, suspicious or paranoid” i have smoked pushing 9 years now as do almost every1 of my friends and this is a side effect that generally only affects first time/inexperienced smokers due to not being used to its effects,
    cannabis has been proven to actually help prevent/cure cancer and can help people who suffer from asthma as it actually opens your airwaves,
    also tobacco is not actually that harmful as most the harmful chemicals you are referring to are added to it by the people who grow the tobacco, organically grown tobacco has relatively little effects on the body!
    caffeine increases heart rate also should we ban that too? so does exercise i guess we should all stop exercising should we? alcohol decreases heart rate should we ban that? meditation also decreases heart rate should we ban that? to my knowledge cannabis can lower blood pressure naturally in those who have high blood pressure so is that a negative side effect?
    there is absolutley no link between mental illness and cannabis use so dont even try to use that shite!
    as earlier stated i have been smoking up on 9 years i have a daughter who is almost 2 and my girlfriend got pregnant again since although miscarried so i would wager that it hasnt affected my sperm count/motility but if thats grounds for people not to use it then mens briefs should be banned as they have been proven to affect sperm count/motility as has using hot tubs so im guessing that also means taking a bath does this to so should that become illegal?
    hey you know what else can cause a child to be born smaller than expected? premature birth yet this does not affect children bar the fact they might be smaller :O except in extreme cases where they are born so premature that they have not fully developed
    regular heavy use makes it difficult to learn and concentrate? well of the 9 years iv smoked id say about 6 have been almost daily smoking i have 3 years of a 4 year college course completed in pharmaceutical science and quite a large number of my friends who smoke have college degrees or are in the process of getting a degree.

http://forum.grasscity.com/legalization-activism/345513-list-marijuana-studies.html
    educate yourself before spreading shite about something of which you know nothing about

Mute Ben Dawkins
    Favourite Ben Dawkins
    Dec 19th 2013, 12:18 PM

Well done that man. At least he is honest!

Mute gerard kennelly
    Favourite gerard kennelly
    Dec 19th 2013, 12:21 PM

@ Ben Dawkins

he would have the irish people taking drugs

that kind of ”honesty” we can do without

Mute Kevin Dobson
    Favourite Kevin Dobson
    Dec 19th 2013, 12:22 PM

That right? What about when talking about quashing Garda tickets?

See 27 more replies ▾
    Mute Seafra O'Cathain
    Favourite Seafra O'Cathain
    Dec 19th 2013, 12:24 PM

Yeah gerard, he wants to force you to take drugs, you’d have no say in it whatsoever.

That’s sarcasm for those who won’t get it.

Mute Paul Nolan
    Favourite Paul Nolan

ohh and as it is the Irish dont take drugs???????? Maybe you would want to learn what honesty is, how about Alcohol and tobacco, seem to remember they are drugs as well.

Mute DarthTempus
    Favourite DarthTempus
    Dec 19th 2013, 12:25 PM

Gerard Irish people already use and abuse many drugs. What point are you making?

Mute Paul Gurney
    Favourite Paul Gurney
    Dec 19th 2013, 12:27 PM

the irish people ARE taking drugs already gerard in case you hadnt noticed.mings intention was to elimkinate the crime aspect of dugs by legalising them,something which has been done in other countries

Mute Montys Moonshine
    Favourite Montys Moonshine

Honest?? That’s a good one. Did you forget about his reactions when it came to light that he had his penalty points quashed? He will never be taken seriously in any official capacity, let alone the dail

Mute Ru Ni Digs
    Favourite Ru Ni Digs
    Dec 19th 2013, 12:28 PM

“he would have the irish people taking drugs”

Yes,that’s exactly what he is going to do,he would have us all taking drugs,because before Ming got elected nobody in the country ever did drugs before.

You’re a bit of a drama queen Gerard.

Mute Brian Delivers
    Favourite Brian Delivers
    Dec 19th 2013, 12:29 PM

Child

Mute Were Jammin
    Favourite Were Jammin
    Dec 19th 2013, 12:30 PM

@ gerard. The government is already forcing people to take drugs by unlawfully adding flouride to the water. They now want us to pay a second time for the privilege, having stolen the taxes we normally pay for our water services to cover the bondholder bailout.

Mute Ahippo
    Favourite Ahippo
    Dec 19th 2013, 12:31 PM

Ming honest? He is a thug.

Mute DarthTempus
    Favourite DarthTempus
    Dec 19th 2013, 12:32 PM

Look lads Gerard is obviously on his school holidays now and needs something to pass the time until Santy comes. I think we can forgive his naivety in this case.

Mute Jonathan Sadlier
    Favourite Jonathan Sadlier

Who was he forcing. Get your facts right ya clown

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter

Why not comment on the article instead of the usual deflection?

Mute Fiona Byrne
    Favourite Fiona Byrne

Cop on Gérard. Just because something is legal doesn’t mean it’s forced on you. The state is perfectly fine with people killing themselves with drink and cigarettes but it’s Ok to control what we do in other circumstances? Adults should be able to make thier own minds up. And as for this water charge, ming is right. Why should they pay for a service that is non existent? This action is worth more than just a speech in the Dail.

Mute Ronan Stokes
    Favourite Ronan Stokes

@ gerard, you’re (along with Dobson there) obviously a FG stooge. Don’t try and turn this into a debate about drugs to get away from the question at hand.

The water is unfit for human consumption and you and the Govt expect people to pay for it?

Answer the simple question. You expect people to pay for Pi$$ water?

Ming Flanagan is standing up for his constituents, something the FG party could and should learn from.

Mute Shane Walsh
    Favourite Shane Walsh
    Dec 19th 2013, 12:41 PM

Irish people take drugs anyway, so go back to bed.

Mute gerard kennelly
    Dec 19th 2013, 12:44 PM

@ Darth Tempus

maybe Ming is just trying to muddy the water

Mute Luke Sullivan
    Favourite Luke Sullivan
    Dec 19th 2013, 12:55 PM

I think Gerard had taken enough punishment in fairness.

Just to recap, Gerard. You’re amongst sensitive stoners here kid. And I’m one of them.

Mute John Buckley
    Favourite John Buckley
    Dec 19th 2013, 1:13 PM

Gerard, any time your comments appear, why does Justin Bieber come into my head?

Btw, he’s said to be retiring soon. Hint, hint!

Mute Alan Farrell
    Favourite Alan Farrell
    Dec 19th 2013, 1:39 PM

@ Gerard

The Irish people already take drugs, a drug can be described as any substance which alters the mind when injested. Alchohol is a drug, tobacco is a drug, caffeine is a drug, hell I’d say the “water” that Ming produced can probably be classed as a drug there’s so many chemicaps in it!

Educate yourself at least a little bit, from what I can see your the Journals resident laughing stock.

Mute John Pepper
    Favourite John Pepper
    Dec 19th 2013, 3:12 PM

Did he drink it?

Mute GEAROID
    Favourite GEAROID
    Dec 19th 2013, 4:12 PM

hear hear

Mute GEAROID
    Favourite GEAROID
    Dec 19th 2013, 4:27 PM

@ Darth Tempus

Ming is just as crooked as the rest of em
    who the hell is he to act for the camera like that ?
    pure panto
    maybe we should elect Twink to the dail while we’re at it
    you cut the dole
    oh no we didn’t
    oh yes you did
    oh no we didn’t
    oh yes we did

if she isn’t too busy ”talking” about her husband

Mute GEAROID
    Favourite GEAROID
    Dec 19th 2013, 5:56 PM

@ Paul Gurney

we all saw what the irish were like during the boom years with alcohol abuse

now imagine them on drugs

do you really want that ?

Mute Loki Cumberbatch
    Dec 19th 2013, 6:26 PM

what about when mick Wallace got caught? ming went on the Vincent brown show and said //you couldn’t meet nicer people//

Mute Gerry McNally
    Favourite Gerry McNally
    Dec 19th 2013, 7:23 PM

I wouldn’t be a fan of Ming, but hats off to the man. He is spot on with his assessment. Excellently executed challenge.

Mute Jennie Kilroy-Durkan
    Favourite Jennie Kilroy-Durkan
    Dec 19th 2013, 8:38 PM

Gerard you’re taking the dopey drug all ready. It’s called fluoride. And guess what Gerard, it’s in your water and you want to pay for it!!!!

Mute beansy
    Favourite beansy
    Dec 19th 2013, 11:06 PM

@gearoid are u stupid? Comparing alcohol to drugs? Comparing like for like…! Alcohol is a drug numnuts..

It’s taxed and regulated – money maker for major companies.

That’s why it’s legal.

War on drugs is a never ending scam.
    Fact my friend

Mute Joe Public
    Favourite Joe Public

In fairness he has a point. The decision makers are so far removed from the people on the ground that they probably have no idea about the water quality. Also he’s correct comparing the water to body secretions because that’s how cryptosporidium enters the water supply.

Mute gerard kennelly

in fairness he tells us what we want to hear

Mute adam murphy
    Favourite adam murphy
    Dec 19th 2013, 12:53 PM

Jaysus, you’re an awful eejit.

Mute John Ward
    Favourite John Ward
    Dec 19th 2013, 2:00 PM

@Gerard K
    Get well soon!

Mute Enda Costello
    Favourite Enda Costello
    Dec 19th 2013, 2:55 PM

Agree Joe, I thought he defiantly had a valid point. But think him walking across the Dáil chamber was little more than a cheap publicity stunt, which appeared foolish.

Mute GEAROID
    Favourite GEAROID
    Dec 19th 2013, 4:09 PM

@ John Ward

www Padraig Nally dot com

Mute Stephen Murphy
    Favourite Stephen Murphy
    Dec 19th 2013, 5:42 PM

He should have poured it in a glass, brought it over and returned to his seat!

Mute Shanti Om
    Favourite Shanti Om
    Dec 20th 2013, 12:00 AM

Gerard, I don’t think anyone wants to hear that their water has cryptosporidium in it.. Access to clean drinking water is vital – and people aren’t getting it, yet they are paying for it via PRSI and now will be expected to pay for it again via Irish Water.
    Would you pay for something you could not use without putting your health at risk?
    You may not like him personally, but this issue is bigger than the messenger, you need to get past who said it and on to what they said. It really is the lowest form of debate to attack the person rather than the argument.

Mute Sean P
    Favourite Sean P
    Dec 20th 2013, 8:13 AM

Just two thoughts

Shanti Om states:
    Access to clean drinking water is vital
    - Actually, it’s a basic Human Right

Ming Pro or Con
    Just because Flanagan can be irratic does not mean the man has a point and could actually be correct in what he is saying.

I’m with Ming on the water issue.

Mute TheHassetthoff
    Favourite TheHassetthoff

Call a meeting on Mings behaviour and not on the state of the water supply. Their priorities are a little backwards there.

Mute Ted Carroll
    Favourite Ted Carroll
    Dec 19th 2013, 12:42 PM

Yeah but he upset the other 4 people that seemed to be in the Dail too, they don’t deserve that the week before christmas, poor gossuns!

Mute Jay Finn
    Favourite Jay Finn

An act of vandalism??? Did he throw the water anywhere? Did he destroy any property in the chamber?? I think he just challenged a minister to drink contaminated water that is supplied by the state and expected to be paid for by its constituents!

Mute gerard kennelly

@ Jay Finn

coming soon,, the ming flanagan story !!!!!!!!

the drugs
    the turf
    the dirty water

Mute DarthTempus
    Favourite DarthTempus
    Dec 19th 2013, 12:47 PM

The Ming Flanagan story is available on YouTube.

You should watch it and learn something about this admirable man.

Mute DarthTempus
    Favourite DarthTempus

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mZxH1Un25EI

Here I’ve saved you the effort of googling it.

Mute GEAROID
    Favourite GEAROID
    Dec 19th 2013, 4:20 PM

admirable ?

when alan shatter had points taken care of
    same as ming

was he admirable too

Mute Leopold Dedalus
    Favourite Leopold Dedalus
    Dec 19th 2013, 12:20 PM

Placing a glass of water on a table, now counts as vandalism apparently. Shocking scenes

Mute gerard kennelly

just goes to show how pathetic and desperate people have become in this country

we have the likes of Ming and mick Wallace in Leinster house exasperating populist sewage all over the dail

Mute Lord Loverocket
    Favourite Lord Loverocket

Gerard, stop exasperating sewage all over the journal like a good boy :)

Mute Pat Mustard
    Favourite Pat Mustard

Gerard will you ever shut up you clown!

Mute Sean Claffey
    Favourite Sean Claffey

Clean water… Populist…

??

Mute Jonathan Kennedy
    Favourite Jonathan Kennedy

Ah would you ever piss off Gerard and stop spreading your shite on everyones comment.

Mute J. Dunn
    Favourite J. Dunn
    Dec 19th 2013, 1:31 PM

Congratulations Gerard, you almost had the correct usage of ‘exasperating’.
    The current and proposed water situation is exasperating.
    Good thing that word-of-the-day calendar is almost finished.

Mute Bernard
    Favourite Bernard
    Dec 19th 2013, 1:38 PM

He should have used a coaster or beer mat.

Mute GEAROID
    Favourite GEAROID
    Dec 19th 2013, 5:35 PM

shouldn’t you be delivering milk ? ? ?

Mute Loki Cumberbatch
    Dec 19th 2013, 6:21 PM

>lordloverrocket
    put on some clothes like a good boy

Mute Mike Clinton
    Favourite Mike Clinton

Haha…. I’m no fan but fair fcuks to the minger.

Mute Were Jammin
    Favourite Were Jammin

A welcome reminder from Luke that water metering is not about water quality or conservation, it is about taxing a basic human right so that the wealthy in this state don’t have to put their hands in their pockets to plug the hole left by this government stealing our taxes to cover the bondholder bailout.

Mute Richie Caldwell
    Favourite Richie Caldwell

Who pays the majority of tax in this country? A: the wealthy

Are the wealthy exempt from water charges? A: No

Put that in your pipe and smoke it.

Mute gerard kennelly

if you have 100 euro and i have 200 euro i pay twice the tax you pay

and if you borrow money and or lose your job

that doesn’t give you /anybody else licence to attack me just because i am rich

See 13 more replies ▾
    Mute Brian Delivers
    Favourite Brian Delivers

Thats flatout moontalk

Mute Lord Loverocket
    Favourite Lord Loverocket

100% correct were jammin’

Mute Fiona Byrne
    Favourite Fiona Byrne

You don’t pay twice the tax just because you have twice the money Gerard. Would you ever go away and educate yourself instead of blowing shite on here.

Mute Richie Caldwell
    Dec 19th 2013, 2:15 PM

If you earn €80k a year, you pay €30k tax.

Mute Richie Caldwell
    Dec 19th 2013, 2:17 PM

If you earn E80k a year, you pay E30k tax.

If you earn E40k a year, you pay E10k tax.

So, you actually pay *three times* the tax for having twice the money.

Put that in your pipe and smoke it.

Mute Tom Daly
    Favourite Tom Daly
    Dec 19th 2013, 2:35 PM

I’ve been paying €30,000 tax a year !!! WTF!!

Mute Frances Faller
    Favourite Frances Faller
    Dec 19th 2013, 2:46 PM

Richie,Do you count Bono in that list.

Mute GEAROID
    Favourite GEAROID
    Dec 19th 2013, 4:24 PM

food is a basic human right

do we pay tax on food ? ?

Mute bigmac
    Favourite bigmac
    Dec 19th 2013, 4:29 PM

The wealthy don’t pay tax and prsi because the majority set up company’s and use the tax loopholes to pay as little tax as possible. Just look at the highest paid presenters in RTE the payments are not paid in their name but to company’s

Mute Fiona Byrne
    Favourite Fiona Byrne
    Dec 19th 2013, 4:38 PM

It’s not a linear scale and it shouldn’t be. The person on 40 is paying 25% and the person on 80k 37.5. If you are on 80k in this country you’re not “rich”. It’s when you are earning a good bit over 100k that a gap emerges. They may be paying more tax overall individually, but things like water charges will be buttons to them. And there’s plenty of ways for a person earning enough to claim back some of the tax they pay. And they do. His comment was misinformed and I doubt very much is is “rich”. Very few of us are.

Mute GEAROID
    Favourite GEAROID
    Dec 19th 2013, 5:38 PM

@ Frances Faller

bono

denis O’Brien (who even eamon dunphy is afraid to talk about)

Mute Tom Daly
    Favourite Tom Daly
    Dec 19th 2013, 7:34 PM

So,that’s what came out of the pipe !

Mute Teresa-Colin Mc Nally
    Favourite Teresa-Colin Mc Nally
    Dec 20th 2013, 11:58 AM

yes!

Mute Michael Drake
    Favourite Michael Drake

Seán Barrett described it as an “act of vandalism”…..FFS get bent Ceann Comhairle you wimp!

Mute Marc Marcel
    Favourite Marc Marcel
    Dec 19th 2013, 9:56 PM

Ceann Comhairle is FG, probably, or Labour, or worse. Certainly a lick.

Mute Shanti Om
    Favourite Shanti Om
    Dec 19th 2013, 11:54 PM

When I think vandalism, I think broken windows, smashed doors, damaged paintwork and stuff painted on the walls that has no artistic merit.. Criminal damage.
    Not putting a glass of water in front of someone.. He didn’t pour it over him even.. He just offered him a drink of Irish waters soon to be fine produce..

Mute dave birney™
    Favourite dave birney™
    Dec 21st 2013, 9:26 PM

he vandalised their ears. he did say the “p” word after all. they obviously dont hear such vulgar language that often. first world problems

Mute DarthTempus
    Favourite DarthTempus

They really have no clue do they?

What Ming did today was neccesary to get the reality of this situation across to the government. Do we know if the minister is willing to drink it?

Mute gerard kennelly

@ DarthTempus

What Ming did today was neccesary to.. maintaining his persona for the fools dumb enough to vote for him

drugs kill people
    i know that but Ming seems to forget
    maybe he has brain damage from all that sh** he smoked

Mute Tom Newell
    Favourite Tom Newell

did he steal ur weed plant or something?

See 43 more replies ▾
    Mute DarthTempus
    Favourite DarthTempus

Cannabis has never killed a single person Gerard.

I haven’t seen you here before and on behalf of the regulars I welcome you. The first rule we have is that we like to deal with facts.

If you can learn and adhere to this rule you’ll fit in nicely.

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter

Any thoughts on the water, Gerard which is what the article is about?

Mute Were Jammin
    Favourite Were Jammin

Ignore gerard. When you can’t attack the message attack the man is trolling 101 up at FGHQ.

Mute Oleg Ru
    Favourite Oleg Ru
    Dec 19th 2013, 12:38 PM

Cigarettes, alcohol and prescription drugs kill people too. Dont see them banned anywhere. And weed is not a drug its a PLANT!

Mute Driv ElMachine
    Favourite Driv ElMachine
    Dec 19th 2013, 12:49 PM

I disagree with Gerard, but do you have to be so patronising and cliquey? I think you’ve made your point.

Mute Driv ElMachine
    Favourite Driv ElMachine

That’s to Darthtempus

Mute gerard kennelly
    Dec 19th 2013, 12:52 PM

@ Norman Hunter

irish people are well able to complain about Bono who didn’t pay tax
    we are brave enough to come on sites like this and post comments
    but at the end of the day
    we WILL pay whatever tax the government invents next
    ming is getting paid whether we like it or not
    he does not give a damn about people who are struggling
    Ming is the same as Healy Rae
    just putting himself out there as the ordinary man who doesn’t owe favours to boys in suits who ”destroyed ” this country

Mute Rebecca
    Favourite Rebecca
    Dec 19th 2013, 12:52 PM

THIS HAS NOTHING TO DO WITH DRUGS…. ahnkifsybligedhhcrt.

You’re hurting my brain. But I’m sure you’ll have me believe it’s from all the drugs I’m taking :)

Mute gerard kennelly
    Dec 19th 2013, 12:54 PM

@ Driv ElMachine

will you pay this water tax ?

be honest now

Mute gerard kennelly
    Dec 19th 2013, 12:56 PM

@ were jammin

why are you hiding behind a fake name ?

Mute gerard kennelly
    Dec 19th 2013, 12:58 PM

@ Darth Tempus

thanks for the welcome

Mute Driv ElMachine
    Favourite Driv ElMachine
    Dec 19th 2013, 1:01 PM

No. I’m emigrating in the Summer. @gerard

Mute gerard kennelly
    Dec 19th 2013, 1:05 PM
    Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Dec 19th 2013, 1:08 PM

So again Gerard, no thoughts on the content of the article.

Mute Luke Sullivan
    Favourite Luke Sullivan
    Dec 19th 2013, 1:09 PM

Poor Ming. He spent that last two weeks conjuring up this piece of theatre , and along comes Gerard, and the whole conversation degenerated all the way down to drugs.

Mute Driv ElMachine
    Favourite Driv ElMachine
    Dec 19th 2013, 1:14 PM

Not a cause for condolences! Very excited about it.
    Not sure what you were trying to express with that article?

Mute gerard kennelly
    Dec 19th 2013, 1:15 PM

@ Dave King

ming ”refused” to pay the household charge

a lot of people respect that

Mute Luke Sullivan
    Favourite Luke Sullivan
    Dec 19th 2013, 1:19 PM

Betcha Phil Hogan will be lining up an attack on Ming as we speak.

Mute johnny
    Favourite johnny
    Dec 19th 2013, 1:22 PM

Gerard are you just messing here or are you really the biggest a.sshole to grace the journal

Mute Brian Delivers
    Favourite Brian Delivers

Why dont you feck off back to taking photos of your television and watching horror movies and leave the discussion to people old enough to vote. Child

Mute gerard kennelly
    Dec 19th 2013, 1:26 PM

if you or i do something,, we are accountable
    the people in Leinster house do something
    days, weeks later
    we all act like nothing happened
    healy rae and the drink driving permits
    ming and the cannabis legislation
    mary lou and pearse Doherty lying about sex abuse victims
    mick Wallace and his finances
    look at Ming today
    acting high and mighty with a glass of water for fu** sake
    he is getting paid well paid
    his place could be occupied by somebody else
    somebody who won’t make a fool of themselves

Mute gerard kennelly
    Dec 19th 2013, 1:28 PM

@ Brian Delivers (another fake name)

taking pictures of television ?

Mute gerard kennelly
    Dec 19th 2013, 1:29 PM

@ johnny

how many jobs did Ming create with that stunt ?

Mute gerard kennelly
    Dec 19th 2013, 1:34 PM

@ Rebecca

a politician does something

it should be remembered

Mute gerard kennelly
    Dec 19th 2013, 1:40 PM

@ Were Jammin (fake name)

the message ?

a politician (whose salary you and i pay with our tax) more or less daring
    somebody to drink a glass of water

Mute Rebecca
    Favourite Rebecca
    Dec 19th 2013, 2:03 PM

Ahh whisht would ya? It’s nearly Christmas :P

Mute Robyn Banks
    Favourite Robyn Banks
    Dec 19th 2013, 2:10 PM

you are a clown

Mute Gary Mason™
    Favourite Gary Mason™
    Dec 19th 2013, 2:17 PM

Shut up Ger

Mute Jose Verandah
    Favourite Jose Verandah
    Dec 19th 2013, 2:23 PM

Hey. Gerard. Quit with the drugs deflection. You pathetic cretin. This is an article about water quality. You’re an annoying imbecile. Cryptosporidium obviously evolved from you.

Mute Tony Canning
    Favourite Tony Canning
    Dec 19th 2013, 2:48 PM

Gerard – there is obviously something going on that’ you’re not mentioning. Whatever it is, it seems to have you in a mood that is exposing your complete lack of knowledge on several points.

Here’s one of them addressed: Ming made a promise that if he was elected, he would divert half of his salary to local projects in his constituency. This has been happening.

To say that he is doing nothing but creating publicity for himself is ridiculous.

Mute GEAROID
    Favourite GEAROID
    Dec 19th 2013, 4:13 PM

@ Darth Tempus

cannabis has never been the cause of one death ?

Mute DarthTempus
    Favourite DarthTempus
    Dec 19th 2013, 4:23 PM

Yes Gearoid.

Cannabis has never been the cause of a single death

Mute GEAROID
    Favourite GEAROID
    Dec 19th 2013, 4:29 PM

@ Tom Newell

funny avatar /profile pic

Mute GEAROID
    Favourite GEAROID
    Dec 19th 2013, 5:29 PM

@ Rebecca

you’re NOT hurting my eyes

Mute Loki Cumberbatch
    Dec 19th 2013, 6:28 PM

>DarthTempus
    you think Cannabis has never killed a single person is a fact

Mute DarthTempus
    Favourite DarthTempus
    Dec 19th 2013, 8:24 PM

It is a fact Loki.

Are you disputing this?

Mute johnny
    Favourite johnny
    Dec 19th 2013, 8:25 PM

Gerard you fool he wasn’t attempting to create jobs he was talking about water quality. They were all talking about water.

Stop making an arse of yourself

Mute beansy
    Favourite beansy
    Dec 19th 2013, 11:13 PM

@gerard Man you need to get educated? Why voice your opinion on the journal.ie when you haven’t an absolute clue what you’re talking about.

Luke Ming speaks his mind.

It seems these days that people who tend to think outside the box or any alternative ideology are labelled as “whacky” or “mad” “crazy ” etc..

Ming challenges the “system” and fair play to him.

Pity others are so narrow minded, content with constant conformity.

Now go have a nice glass of tap water for yourself

Mute molly coddled
    Favourite molly coddled
    Dec 20th 2013, 1:06 AM

Would you Darth ?

Mute molly coddled
    Favourite molly coddled
    Dec 20th 2013, 1:30 AM

I know I wouldn’t

:)

Mute Benedict Cumberbatch
    Favourite Benedict Cumberbatch
    Dec 20th 2013, 4:48 AM

@ b eansy

did mingg or did he not pay household charge

Mute Loki Cumberbatch
    Dec 20th 2013, 11:26 AM

Ming made a ”promise” he wouldn’t pay the household charge too. didn’t he ?

Mute beansy
    Favourite beansy
    Dec 21st 2013, 5:13 AM

Irrelevant question. Thank you for youre opinion

Mute Eamonn Boylan
    Favourite Eamonn Boylan

Thats totally honest Ming but very funny as well, big thumbs up for the Ming !

Mute Pat Mustard
    Favourite Pat Mustard

Fair play Ming, at least that’s one deputy who stands up for his constituents. On another note look at the government benches, one TD is all the FG could muster up for question time, the shower of lazy bastards!

Mute DarthTempus
    Favourite DarthTempus
    Dec 19th 2013, 12:28 PM

Gone back to the shticks for xmas

Mute OU812
    Favourite OU812

Can’t have anyone speaking out & representing their constituents during the daily pantomime now, can we?

Mute Its just Teddy
    Favourite Its just Teddy

Ceann Comhairle Seán Barrett described it as an “act of vandalism” which he had “never before” seen in the chamber.

If that is act of vandalism..Seán Barrett has once again proved that this Government live in a different world to the rest of us.

Mute Noel Otley
    Favourite Noel Otley

Barrett is an Old Queen! Comes across as thoroughly camp to me.

Mute GEAROID
    Favourite GEAROID
    Dec 19th 2013, 4:23 PM

@ Michael Drake

get bent Ceann Comhairle

@ Noel Otley

Barrett is an Old Queen

Mute Frances Faller
    Favourite Frances Faller

Well done Ming, and I didn’t see the minister drink it.

Mute GEAROID
    Favourite GEAROID
    Dec 19th 2013, 4:12 PM

@ Frances Faller

i didn’t see Ming go to prison for not paying the household charge

Mute Brian Delivers
    Favourite Brian Delivers

The only clown in this story is Sean Barrett

Mute Charles O'Dowd
    Favourite Charles O'Dowd

Sean Barrett is a particularly repugnant individual.

Mute Luke Daly
    Favourite Luke Daly

Clean water….. I’ll drink to that. I’ll get my coat.

Mute gerard kennelly

ming is a hero

the irish should write a song

WATER rhymes with daughter

politician like no OTHER rhymes with mother

cannabis rhymes with taking the piss

dope rhymes with slippery slope

Mute Sean Claffey
    Favourite Sean Claffey

You seem to be against Ming and his ideas about weed, but you’re clearly on the crack…

Mute J. Dunn
    Favourite J. Dunn
    Dec 19th 2013, 2:04 PM

For the life of me, I can’t seem to figure what rhymes with Gerard.

Mute GEAROID
    Favourite GEAROID
    Dec 19th 2013, 5:37 PM

@ J. Dunn

nerd

bird

heard

Mute Tom Daly
    Favourite Tom Daly
    Dec 19th 2013, 6:25 PM

I did J. Dun

It was the one

Absolutely perfect

One I chose to select

But now it’s gone

I upset a moro-

Mute Eamonn Carey
    Favourite Eamonn Carey
    Dec 20th 2013, 11:44 AM

Remind me never to ask you to write a song, the rhythm’d be totally off.

Mute beansy
    Favourite beansy
    Dec 21st 2013, 5:30 AM

@gerard I think you deserve an award for being the biggest muppet/troll on this site 2013.

In fact I know you deserve it.

Mute Andy McGirl
    Favourite Andy McGirl

Haha, that’s an ‘act of vandalism’? Is he for real? MORON

Mute Fintan O HEifernain
    Favourite Fintan O HEifernain
    Dec 19th 2013, 12:23 PM

Fair play to him. He’s dead right.

Mute Patrick Gallagher
    Favourite Patrick Gallagher

He said it like it is and presented the proof and a challenge, then walked out in disgust. These ministers when asked a direct simple question just obfuscate and waffle to the cheers and jeers of the kindergarten around them. Why indeed are people faced with paying for something they cant utilise.

Mute Loki Cumberbatch
    Dec 19th 2013, 6:33 PM

>patrickgallagher
    paying for something they can’t use ??
    when was the last time you used a politician ((that you pay for))

Mute Thomas Whelan
    Favourite Thomas Whelan
    Dec 19th 2013, 1:52 PM

Ming is correct the public should not be asked to pay for water that they cannot drink. Where is health and safety now.. Where are Irish standards.

Mute gerard kennelly
    Dec 19th 2013, 1:56 PM

@ Thomas Whelan

don’t forget to watch Vincent browne tonight

might be funny

Mute DarthTempus
    Favourite DarthTempus
    Dec 19th 2013, 2:16 PM

Gerard what’s funny about contaminated water supplies?

What’s funny about children’s health being in danger if they drink this water?

Mute gerard kennelly
    Dec 19th 2013, 3:43 PM

oh right
    so you know for a fact that Vincent will discuss the water

Mute Stephen Duggan
    Favourite Stephen Duggan
    Dec 19th 2013, 12:58 PM

If we had more working class people in the dail like Ming ,who understand the problems and concerns of the everyday man or woman we’d be better off. Instead we have suits who live in cloud cuckoo land and never have got or never will have the understanding needed to help out real and genuine working class people. Regardless of what you think of Ming he always has his constitutes problems at the top of his agenda. I can guarantee you he’s a sure thing to be reelected. Why ? Well because he comes from the people and represents the people.

Mute Loki Cumberbatch
    Dec 19th 2013, 6:30 PM

>stephenduggan
    he always has his constitutes problems at the top of his agenda
    listen to yourself ;)

Mute Bill Conlan
    Favourite Bill Conlan

We’ll done Ming !!

Mute Tom Newell
    Favourite Tom Newell
    Dec 19th 2013, 12:37 PM

people will attack ming for being ming but the point he is making is true the water is piss, we the people are being forced to pay for it and no one is willing to ask will they actually improve water services or just use the water meters as another riding of the irish people to make more tax!

Mute Steafan Mac An Ghabhann
    Favourite Steafan Mac An Ghabhann
    Dec 19th 2013, 2:23 PM

Not positive. But does more than 70% of treated water leak before it reaches the consumer. How about Rural people with there own wells? Do they pay. So grey. Just like the water!

Mute Tony Canning
    Favourite Tony Canning
    Dec 19th 2013, 2:50 PM

I think I remember that number being 40% Steafan….

Mute Loki Cumberbatch
    Dec 19th 2013, 6:34 PM

>tomnewell
    people will attack Gerry adams for being a child molester cover up artist

Mute frank lampost
    Favourite frank lampost

Fair play hes the only one with a pair..

Mute GEAROID
    Favourite GEAROID
    Dec 19th 2013, 4:31 PM

@ frank lampost

yeah
    they all wish they were as brave as Ming

brave enough to put poison in their bodies and have penalty points quashed

Mute Teresa-Colin Mc Nally
    Favourite Teresa-Colin Mc Nally
    Dec 20th 2013, 12:39 PM

you get drunk because alcohol is actually a mild poison……….and there is A TAX FREE bar in the dail!. So the fact the he poisons HIS body in some other way is completely irrelevant!!

Christy O’Sullivan (FF) done for drink driving in 08
    Clare Daly (SP) “cleared” of drink driving after refusing to give a breath sample.
    Jim McDaid (FF) done for DD coming from Punchestown Festival!!!

Point is….they are all at it

Mute Conor Convey
    Favourite Conor Convey

He should be given a medal. Not too many of the spineless b@$tard$ in that chamber standing up for their constituents.

Dec 20th 2013, 5:05 AM

@ c onor convey
    flanagan told the whole country to NOT pay the household charge then he paid it himself
    what is that only hypocrisy ??

Mute Butter bean
    Favourite Butter bean
    Dec 19th 2013, 12:23 PM

Maybe shit would get solved quicker if this was the norm instead of some piss poor public school boy debate that gets nothing solved.

Mute Gaius Gracchus
    Favourite Gaius Gracchus
    Dec 19th 2013, 1:11 PM

I can’t express enough how happy I am with Deputy Flanagan’s actions today, this needs to happen on a regular basis to highlight what a bunch of spineless bottom-feeders our TD’s are.

Mute Ken Fallon
    Favourite Ken Fallon
    Dec 19th 2013, 12:53 PM

we already pay water charges its called bottle water because u cant drink the pis out of my tap

Mute gerard kennelly
    Dec 19th 2013, 2:16 PM

if you were stuck under a rock for 127 hours

you’d drink it

and you’d be glad of it

what a molly cuddled generation !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Mute Rachel Boyers
    Favourite Rachel Boyers
    Dec 19th 2013, 2:53 PM

I don’t think to many people in Ireland have been stuck under a rock that long so your point is what?

Mute GEAROID
    Favourite GEAROID
    Dec 19th 2013, 4:35 PM

people in Africa have been desperate for clean water for decades
    nobody on this site gives a toss

an irish minister wouldn’t drink what Ming Flanagan gave him and people praise Ming ? ? ? ?

Mute Nigel Hayden
    Favourite Nigel Hayden
    Dec 19th 2013, 7:37 PM

Water that comes from state owned facilities should not be contaminated with any poison. I suppose you disagree with that GEAROID !!

Mute John Ward
    Favourite John Ward
    Dec 19th 2013, 8:07 PM

@Gerard K
    I think you need to be cuddled, poor lad!

Dec 20th 2013, 4:55 AM

Ming paying a tax after he told the whole country to not pay it is hypocrisy
    I suppose you disagree with that NIGEL !!

Mute Michelle Dunne
    Favourite Michelle Dunne
    Dec 20th 2013, 9:58 PM

Gerards point is…. He’s stuck under a rock, can someone please help him

Mute anthony byrne
    Favourite anthony byrne

May be he said cannapiss.

Mute DarthTempus
    Favourite DarthTempus

That’s original and humorous….

Mute Aodh P O'Beachain
    Favourite Aodh P O'Beachain
    Dec 19th 2013, 1:18 PM

Good one AB.

Mute Patrick Ramseyer
    Favourite Patrick Ramseyer
    Dec 19th 2013, 1:06 PM

Wasn´t that a scene from “Erin Brokovich” ? I don’t see why this should be “unacceptable behaviour” have we all forgotten about the amount of politicians who told us bare faced lies in the Dail ? When are they going to be reprimanded ? It looks like every opposing TD has to proceed with caution or the witch hunt will start. At least Flanagan has the balls to confront people on behalf of his constituents , It’s a pity other politicians wouldn’t do the same thing rather than toe the party line and look after their own little nest..

Mute gerard kennelly
    Dec 19th 2013, 2:12 PM

oh yeah the rich therefore heartless lawyers refused to drink the water

proof pudding eating et cetera

Mute Catriona Joyce
    Favourite Catriona Joyce
    Dec 19th 2013, 12:49 PM

this isnt about his stance on drugs. its about the water being unfit for people to drink. this time of yr tv is filled with adverts to sponsor wells for people less off in poor countries. could they not fix the water supplies here first.

Dec 20th 2013, 4:51 AM

@ c atriona joyce

that is an issue for the local council not ming to use for publicity or political grandstanding

Mute Shane Hickey
    Favourite Shane Hickey
    Dec 19th 2013, 12:57 PM

Dear ceann conhairle. You are quite right about the act of vandalism being unacceptable, I’m assuming it you mean charging the public for poor quality water.

Also, there is a hint of future scandal in this Irish water company. Something tells me we will learn of corrupt practices someone in the near future a la nama

Mute gerard kennelly
    Dec 19th 2013, 2:14 PM

marie Antoinette said ‘let them eat cake’

sean barrett says let them drink dirty water

Mute Tom Daly
    Favourite Tom Daly
    Dec 19th 2013, 2:32 PM

Ming would have you eating cake ,too .

Dec 20th 2013, 4:53 AM

@ t om daly

he told the whole country to not pay a tax
    then he paid it himself

Mute Tom Daly
    Favourite Tom Daly
    Dec 20th 2013, 7:19 AM

@ Benedict

If you read back on my comments,not once have I defended or attacked Ming.

He shouldn’t have paid it ,I didn’t ,but unlike him,I will be fined for doing so!

On this subject,I happen to agree with him ,but,he should have stayed !

Mute dav O
    Favourite dav O
    Dec 19th 2013, 1:07 PM

Just a quick one to say thanks to Gerard. I haven’t had such a laugh in a long time. Cheers Gerard, even if your comic style is by accident.

Mute gerard kennelly
    Dec 19th 2013, 2:10 PM

@ dav O

your welcome

my dvd is available to buy in stores now

LOL

Mute nelson
    Favourite nelson
    Dec 19th 2013, 12:18 PM

That’s funny :-D

Mute Avina Laaf
    Favourite Avina Laaf
    Dec 19th 2013, 3:34 PM

Well it is Panto season…

Mute Martin Taniane
    Favourite Martin Taniane
    Dec 19th 2013, 1:25 PM

When the Ceann Comhairle Seán Barrett see’s an act of protest as an “act of vandalism” then it says more about the Ceann Comhairle then it does about Ming Flanagan, and when the Ceann Comhairle can’t see the woods from the trees it’s time to send him to an old folks home in Roscommon to drink the dirty water.

Dec 19th 2013, 1:42 PM

I think to call it as “An act of vandalism” is more dramatic than the actual Act.

Mute OU812
    Favourite OU812

And cryptosporidium sounds like a spell from Harry Potter

Mute clive guthrie
    Favourite clive guthrie
    Dec 19th 2013, 1:31 PM

He got the point across but it seems people are more bothered about knocking him rather than focusing on real issue! We all need clean water to survive and the people of Roscommon have been suffering for too long. I’m no fan of Ming but he was right.

Mute Liam Hennelly
    Favourite Liam Hennelly
    Dec 19th 2013, 1:00 PM

Go on the Ming

Mute Martin Jordan
    Favourite Martin Jordan
    Dec 19th 2013, 12:39 PM

He should’ve put high heels and a mini skirt on to add a bit of Erin Brockovich glamour

Mute GEAROID
    Favourite GEAROID
    Dec 19th 2013, 4:41 PM

he would be so hot

smokinnnn (cannabis)

Mute Liam O'Shea
    Favourite Liam O'Shea
    Dec 19th 2013, 12:57 PM

Sean barret loves inforcing minor offences however anything big… nah not a hope

Dec 19th 2013, 1:37 PM

I agree with Ming on the quality of the water. I live in Kildalkey, Co-Meath. It comes out a white cloudy colour. We have to use a softener state to protect our appliances. That costs about€100 a year to maintain. They can’t expect us to pay for such poor quality water.

Mute gerard kennelly
    Dec 19th 2013, 1:58 PM

@ Steafan Mac An Ghabhann

that is the salt yeah ?

salt makes the water drinkable

Dec 19th 2013, 2:04 PM

Your not really supposed to drink salted water. The salt cleans out the lime. Kids, pregnant woman, people with high blood pressure and elderly are not allowed to drink it. It does protect the washing machine, dishwasher, showers etc. it feels nicer on the skin. You need to fit another system to make quality drinking water.

Mute DarthTempus
    Favourite DarthTempus
    Dec 19th 2013, 2:18 PM

“Salt makes water drinkable”

0_0 words fail me on that one.

Hugh will you ever ban this gobsh*te from the journal. It’s gone beyond comical at this stage.

Mute Johnathan McAuliffe
    Favourite Johnathan McAuliffe
    Dec 19th 2013, 2:06 PM

Well Done Ming Flanagan. Nothing wrong with what you did, the Chair should resign today what he said was an affront to democracy……..how dare the Chair !!

Dec 20th 2013, 5:12 AM

@ johnathan McAuliffe
    ming told us all to not pay tax then he paid it himself
    that was an affront to decency

Mute Fiona Byrne
    Favourite Fiona Byrne

I wonder did he get the idea from the Simpsons. Marge cooking the three eyed fish for Mr. Burns is what springs to mind here haha

Mute Loki Cumberbatch
    Dec 19th 2013, 6:42 PM

>fionabyrne
    he got the idea from that movie erin brokivich

Mute Fiona Byrne
    Favourite Fiona Byrne
    Dec 20th 2013, 12:42 PM

Hmm, you do know that that really happened? Erin Brokovich is a real person..

Mute Michael Farrelly
    Favourite Michael Farrelly
    Dec 19th 2013, 1:56 PM

Sean Barrett has unwittingly given Ming a lot more attention from his class stunt by the words he used in criticising him. Well done Sean and well done Ming for exposing this scandal !!

Mute Dave O'Doherty
    Favourite Dave O'Doherty
    Dec 19th 2013, 1:47 PM

Since when did handing someone a glass of “water” constitute vandalism?…..

Mute gerard kennelly
    Dec 19th 2013, 1:55 PM

@ Dave O’Dpherty

try it
    hand somebody a glass of water and tell (don’t ask) tell them to drink it

see what comes of it :)

Mute Bobby Moore
    Favourite Bobby Moore
    Dec 19th 2013, 2:21 PM

You still never answered my question gerard kennelly. Is your date of birth the 7th of the 3rd, ’84?

Mute GEAROID
    Favourite GEAROID
    Dec 19th 2013, 4:43 PM

i was not born on that date

Mute Bobby Moore
    Favourite Bobby Moore
    Dec 19th 2013, 5:22 PM

Was i talking to you GEAROID? Or are you also gerard kennelly? If so why are you using two Id’s on the Journal. Now why would you need to do that? Trololololol

Mute Loki Cumberbatch
    Dec 19th 2013, 6:43 PM

@ Bobby Moore

i was banned !!!!!!!!!!!!

ha ha ha

i just thought i should respond to the comments for the craic :)

Mute DarthTempus
    Favourite DarthTempus
    Dec 19th 2013, 1:59 PM

Hugh is there any chance we can remove Gerard’s comments?

He’s deliberately trolling to deflect from the subject matter of your article.

Mute gerard kennelly
    Dec 19th 2013, 3:42 PM

free speech ? ? ? ? ? ? ? ?

Mute Bobby Moore
    Favourite Bobby Moore
    Dec 19th 2013, 4:44 PM

Right gerard Kennelly, i’ve asked you about 4 times already is your date of birth the 7th of the 3rd ’84. You ignored me each time but it just so happens i found your id card. And i might just put it up a link here with a picture of it, just to find it’s rightful owner you understand. Shur that’s freee speech also. I’m only been helpful like.

Mute GEAROID
    Favourite GEAROID
    Dec 19th 2013, 4:48 PM

@ Bobby Moore

that is a fake ID i bought when i was 15

Mute GEAROID
    Favourite GEAROID
    Dec 19th 2013, 4:58 PM

@ Bobby Moore

my date of birth is none of your business

it just so happens you found my id card ?

you might just put it up a link here with a picture of it, just to find it’s ”rightful owner”

site admin Hugh are you gonna take care of this ?

or do i have to call the guards ?

Mute Bobby Moore
    Favourite Bobby Moore
    Dec 19th 2013, 5:05 PM

Ah so you’ve no problem if i post it up here then? Got some of your (Fake) personal information on it then. I see you changed your Name and avatar also. Wow two Id’s on the Journal. Big Neon Sign of an Internet Troll right there. ;)

Mute Bobby Moore
    Favourite Bobby Moore
    Dec 19th 2013, 5:24 PM

Call the gaurds? For being a helpful citizen? Surely not?

Mute Loki Cumberbatch
    Dec 19th 2013, 6:49 PM
    Mute Julie Grey
    Favourite Julie Grey
    Dec 19th 2013, 3:32 PM

Ming you are a legend! Pity there aren’t a few more like you!

Mute Alan Currie
    Favourite Alan Currie

Bear Grylls would have drank it, that would have shut him up!

Mute Willie Bill Bryan
    Favourite Willie Bill Bryan
    Dec 19th 2013, 2:35 PM

Yes etiquette seems to be more important than the health of the Irish people !!!

Mute Snorre Sturleson
    Favourite Snorre Sturleson

Bravo Ming, a man among muppets!

Mute Sean O'Hara
    Favourite Sean O'Hara
    Dec 19th 2013, 5:59 PM

Longford water….. Smells and tastes of chlorine, grit and bits floating every where… we’ve water pouring down on our Island yet cant get the basic -Life sustaining juice- right! in our now named “cougar economy”…. Selling dirty water to the natives laced with poison and making out everything is alright proves the suited psycho’s have just been replaced…..

Dec 20th 2013, 5:03 AM

@ s ean o hara
    Ming cares about those people so much to use them 2 score political points
    as he walked out of (ran away from) the Dail like a drug addled coward

Mute Alan McLoughlin
    Favourite Alan McLoughlin
    Dec 19th 2013, 1:24 PM

Don’t yah just gotta love Luke Ming!

Mute frank mullen
    Favourite frank mullen
    Dec 19th 2013, 2:05 PM

Brilliant !! Straight talking and protecting his constituents we need more Ming’s

Mute Adam Peter Conroy
    Favourite Adam Peter Conroy
    Dec 19th 2013, 3:53 PM

I don’t often agree with Deputy Flanagan and to be honest I think he’s a muppet…but I think this was totally justified. And he’s 100% correct!

Dec 20th 2013, 5:07 AM

@ a dam peter conroy
    he instructed the irish people to not pay tax,, then he paid it himself
    was that 100% correct ??

Mute Leo Massey
    Favourite Leo Massey
    Dec 19th 2013, 3:12 PM

Keep up the good work ming

Mute Conor O'Reilly
    Favourite Conor O'Reilly

“Houses of parliament”?

Mute Joseph Siddall
    Favourite Joseph Siddall
    Dec 19th 2013, 3:20 PM

Whilst this was a perfectly valid challenge on water quality it would have been stronger had the sample been a certified representative sample and accompanied by a certificate of analysis from an accredited laboratory. Very hard to deny solid facts. The way it is being handled by government, and some folks on here, is nothing less than shameful……..let’s discredited the messenger and, thereby, discredit the message. Tactics not even worthy of the school playground.
    Let the people in the affected areas run the certified sample + analysis route and fight this topic with facts rather than rhetoric. Involve the UK, European and American media. Stop faffing about and do a proper job of it. All governments hate truth.

Mute GEAROID
    Favourite GEAROID
    Dec 19th 2013, 4:46 PM
    Mute Joseph Siddall
    Favourite Joseph Siddall
    Dec 19th 2013, 11:35 PM

Gearoid, Thank you for illustrating my point re discrediting the messenger so clearly. Glad we agree.

Dec 20th 2013, 5:10 AM

joseph sidall
    luke ming Flanagan tells the entire country to not pay a tax,, then he pays it himself
    that is hypocrisy he discredited himself

Mute Michelle Dunne
    Favourite Michelle Dunne
    Dec 20th 2013, 10:04 PM

@ Benedict so you keep saying.. But the point now is, he took a stand today in such a way that it can’t be ignored.

Mute Terence MacSwiney Field
    Favourite Terence MacSwiney Field
    Dec 19th 2013, 4:36 PM

The offence was not giving the dirty water to the Minister, it was the fact that he crossed the floor of the Dáil to do it, during a session of the Dáil. To call that an “act of vandalism” is ridiculous, since no damage to property or person was committed.

Mute Daniel
    Favourite Daniel

Sure don’t they serve glorified piss in the Dail bar or “Budweiser” as most people call it..

Mute Frank Lennon
    Favourite Frank Lennon
    Dec 19th 2013, 5:52 PM

The only act of vandalism associated with all of this, will be the eventual handing over of our vital PUBLIC resource (water supply) to privateers.

Every action so far in this regard taken by this arrogant and overbearing administration, is pointing in one direction only, and that’s privatisation.

Water is as vital to us as the air we breath. The notion that this vital resource is going to be handed over to any group of privateers is appalling. Not alone that, but as a prelude, we citizens are currently being forced to pay for the installation of water meters through another multiple taxation: property tax, so that SOMEBODY ELSE can directly control our individual water supplies and in so doing extract profit from every user of water the free resource which falls, by the lake load, every year from our skies.

Clearly, there are costs associated with treatment and supply of water and this citizen for one has no objection to fairly contributing towards covering such costs. However, I simply deplore the notion that any group of privateers is going to be handed a licencee to print money on a resource which can and should be effectively and efficiently retained 100% in state control.

I do not always agree with Ming Flanagan’s actions. However, on this occasion I fully agree with both his message and the graphic way in which he delivered it in the Dail earlier today.

I also strongly support the protest action by the full opposition grouping who walked out of the Dail earlier today in protest at the continuing overbearing arrogance of this administration in stifling debate on this critical water issue.

We the people will be using a guillotine of a different sort come next GE.

2016 can’t come soon enough.

Mute louise
    Favourite louise
    Dec 19th 2013, 1:39 PM

Fair play to him :)

Mute Ciarán Mac Cormaic
    Favourite Ciarán Mac Cormaic

I like his jumper, wouldn’t mind getting one like that for Christmas.

Mute Maggie
    Favourite Maggie
    Dec 19th 2013, 12:51 PM

Love it !

Mute Padraig Lehany
    Favourite Padraig Lehany
    Dec 19th 2013, 1:09 PM

Can’t wait for Oireachtas report now!!

Mute Eoin Fanning
    Favourite Eoin Fanning

Well done and well said

Mute gary power
    Favourite gary power

Maybe if the government got the 2 million from his buddy sitting beside him they could fix the problem ..

Mute DarthTempus
    Favourite DarthTempus

Mick Wallace is paying that back from his salary. Not a fan of the man at all but he is paying it back.

Mute Ru Ni Digs
    Favourite Ru Ni Digs

Hang on,I’m no fan of Mick Wallace but you do release 2 million is nothing in comparison to the billions this government have pissed away.I think some people’s priorities are a bit all over the place.

Mute gerard kennelly

@ gary power

imagine bono or denis o’ brien in the dail criticising the rest of the house

disgusting

Mute Ru Ni Digs
    Favourite Ru Ni Digs
    Dec 19th 2013, 12:46 PM

Right Gerard the only problem there is Bono or Denis O’ Brien are elected representatives,so why would they be speaking the house in the first place ???

Mute Ru Ni Digs
    Favourite Ru Ni Digs

Correction *are not elected representatives”

Mute Mark Byrne
    Favourite Mark Byrne
    Dec 19th 2013, 12:51 PM

You’re new here right?

Mute GEAROID
    Favourite GEAROID
    Dec 19th 2013, 5:42 PM

@ Ru Ni Digs

tax dodgers shouldn’t be in the dail… or drug abusers

Mute Loki Cumberbatch
    Dec 20th 2013, 11:39 AM

2 million is nothing ? ? ? ? ? ? ? ? ? ? ? ? ? ?

hitler murdered 6 million
    does that mean we should smile and act like nothing happened if less people are murdered ?

Mute Luke Pepper
    Favourite Luke Pepper
    Dec 19th 2013, 3:57 PM

I don’t see how it could considered an “act of vandalism”. He was making a very strong and important point and his actions just show how out of touch some other government members are. Ming is in the right, THEY’RE in the wrong…

Mute Dee4
    Favourite Dee4
    Dec 19th 2013, 12:56 PM

Legend, reminds me of Mr Burns and Blinky the three eyed fish in the Simpsons

Mute Marko Burns
    Favourite Marko Burns
    Dec 19th 2013, 3:07 PM

Unfortunately you can be sure that as of next year The Irish Govt will just say Irish Water™ has nothing to do with them anymore. Just like every other basic service in the country over the next few years. It’s no wonder the Dáil is empty most of the time – there isn’t a country to run anymore, just a collection of multinational companies.

Mute Rita Cahill
    Favourite Rita Cahill
    Dec 19th 2013, 6:57 PM

Ming is mainly speaking the truth here, So It is not an ‘act of vandalism’ The Government charging People for piss water, what a disgrace and shameful Ceann Comhairle Seán Barrett who described by saying it as an “act of vandalism” it is an act of vandalism on behalf of Himself Ceann Comhairle Seán Barrett And the Minister of State Fergus O’Dowd who would allow People to Pay for Piss Water which is unfit to drink as water

Mute Loki Cumberbatch
    Dec 20th 2013, 11:33 AM

speaking the truth ? ?

he tells us all to not pay a tax,, then he pays it himself

Mute Sisa Jibberish
    Favourite Sisa Jibberish
    Dec 19th 2013, 4:13 PM

‘The human right to water places certain responsibilities upon governments to ensure that people can enjoy “sufficient, safe, accessible and affordable water, without discrimination” (cf. GC 15, below). Most especially, governments are expected to take reasonable steps to avoid a contaminated water supply and to ensure there are no water access distinctions amongst citizens.’
    It is a human right to have safe drinking water, so far this right has not been met for the people in Roscommon, Ming is absolutely right in what he says and instead of calling this an ‘act of vandalism’ and calling it ‘outrageous and unnacceptable behaviour’ maybe they should come to realize that it is an ‘act of vandalism’ and against human rights to deprive people of clean drinking water, which can also be called ‘outrageous and unnaceptable’. If people in third world countries have cleaner drinking water than the people of Ireland, you surely are doing something very wrong, accept responsibility and CHANGE IT!!!!

Mute MOD
    Favourite MOD
    Dec 19th 2013, 5:51 PM

fair play Ming for standing with the people, it’s getting clean water that matters here as oppose to the materialistic needs of others

Mute Loki Cumberbatch
    Dec 20th 2013, 11:35 AM

MOD

standing with the people ?
    telling the whole country to not pay the household charge
    then paying it himself

Mute Martin Taniane
    Favourite Martin Taniane
    Dec 19th 2013, 1:33 PM

Your just another ass licker Aodh P O’Beachain, just suck it up if your offended, it’s your problem.

Mute Richard O'Gorman
    Favourite Richard O'Gorman

He’s the biggest ejit Ireland has ever produced, second only to Mattie McGrath.

Mute DarthTempus
    Favourite DarthTempus

3rd to you it would seem

Mute Tom Newell
    Favourite Tom Newell

sorry hes down the list the biggest ejit is the mayo muppet then gimpmore, biffo, bertie, hogan etc ming probably is close to the bottom

Mute Kevin O'connor
    Favourite Kevin O'connor
    Dec 19th 2013, 12:37 PM

If he is the biggest ejit, how can he be second to mattie Mc grath. Maybe you should take a look in the mirror if you want to see a real ejit !

Mute gerard kennelly

i seem to remember
    Mattie McGrath using donal og name in an argument only days after he died

enda Kenny stood up
    and said ”it’s disrespectful to use that young mans name ”

he made Enda Kenny look good !!!!!!!

Mute DarthTempus
    Favourite DarthTempus
    Dec 19th 2013, 12:46 PM

Gerard, lad, any chance of replying to anyone?

Does your mammy know you’re posting on here when you should probably be studying?

Mute Bobby Moore
    Favourite Bobby Moore
    Dec 19th 2013, 1:42 PM

@ gerard Kennelly is your date of birth the 7th of the 3rd ’84 by any chance?

Dec 19th 2013, 1:44 PM

You obviously forgot Eammon Dunphy :)

Mute GEAROID
    Favourite GEAROID
    Dec 19th 2013, 5:41 PM

@ Darth Tempus

did your mammy tell you Joaquin phoenix has joined the cast of the next batman
    that you are obviously a fan of (as am i )

he will be amazing
    very dark actor

Mute DarthTempus
    Favourite DarthTempus
    Dec 19th 2013, 8:29 PM

Gearoid did you set up a new profile because your last one got banned?

Mute Loki Cumberbatch
    Dec 20th 2013, 9:59 AM

well what is the craic today ?

any scandals or anything like that :)

Mute Loki Cumberbatch
    Dec 20th 2013, 10:01 AM

@ cowenwatch (another fake name )

Mute Brian Lafferty
    Favourite Brian Lafferty
    Dec 19th 2013, 6:18 PM

Fair play to you Ming boy, look how many people are talking about the water supply now, only for the ‘outburst’ comment would have been made and forgotten about. Get people talking!! is that not what politics is about? As regards the ‘act of vandalism’ catch yourself on Barrett!!

Mute John Tubbritt
    Favourite John Tubbritt
    Dec 19th 2013, 4:36 PM

At least he had the…. Bottle…. To get up and say what is true with a lot of water here Galway has had an awful time with its water. Board gais in in the later stages of being sold to a uk energy company and I assume the new Irish water company will be part of that deal …???

Mute Ray Caffrey
    Favourite Ray Caffrey
    Dec 19th 2013, 5:43 PM

I generally find myself in disagreement with most of Deputy Flannigans politics, however living in an area that has horrendous issues with limescale I can understand his frustration. I have no problem paying for water, as long as 100% of the monies collected are invested in rebuilding the archaic network that we have.

Mute John Ward
    Favourite John Ward
    Dec 19th 2013, 7:57 PM

He was bloody right.
    Well done, Ming!

Mute Shane Leonard
    Favourite Shane Leonard
    Dec 19th 2013, 3:33 PM

Brilliant! the Dail is a circus full of clowns!

Mute kevin connolly
    Favourite kevin connolly

What a clown of a man. Vincent Browne should verbally fillet him again as it softened his cough the last time over his mysterious penalty points.

Mute seamus mcdermott
    Favourite seamus mcdermott
    Dec 19th 2013, 3:23 PM

Barrett’s garment-rending was properly operatic.
    Did he swoon after making his observation?

Mute Oleg Ru
    Favourite Oleg Ru

Ming is looper, but then again who in that place isnt?

Mute Michael Carroll
    Favourite Michael Carroll
    Dec 19th 2013, 2:11 PM

Now we know what’s wrong with Ming. He drinks piss and smokes shit.

Mute art vandelay
    Favourite art vandelay
    Dec 19th 2013, 3:03 PM

You smell like piss and talk shit…Yeah this mud slinging is fun alright, thanks Michael!

Mute Michael Carroll
    Favourite Michael Carroll
    Dec 19th 2013, 3:43 PM

You must have a mighty nose on you if you can smell that far. I’ll say no more as you are obviously having a bad – let’s hope tomorrow is better for you.

Mute Jonathan Swift
    Favourite Jonathan Swift
    Dec 19th 2013, 2:37 PM

Love it. LMF borrowed this straight out of a Mary Kate & Ashley film.
    Passport to Paris, 1998.
    Skip to 1:09:00 in this http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NwMH3hNoOGw and tell me it doesn’t ring a few bells!

Mute Will
    Favourite Will
    Dec 19th 2013, 2:02 PM

Man cuts too much turf. Now the turf that filtered the water before it hits the water table is gone. Dirty water from the land enters the water table. This dirtys wells. Wells then provide dirty water. Man then moans to authorities.

The End.

Mute Diarmuid MacSuibhne
    Favourite Diarmuid MacSuibhne

Public water being mixed with public sewage has absolutely nothing to do with Drugs or Turf, it’s a matter of public safety!

A potentially crackpot TD is actually onto something important, but everyone is worried about his previous proposals rather than looking at what he’s actually bringing up. The government has proposed to charge people for something that WILL kill them.

I would pay anything for every member of the government to drink the water in question.

Mute gerard kennelly
    Dec 19th 2013, 3:41 PM

ming is a hero

he ran up the beach in Normandy with a bag of turf under each arm

Mute Diarmuid MacSuibhne
    Favourite Diarmuid MacSuibhne
    Dec 20th 2013, 12:02 AM

Grow up and grow a pair Gerard

Mute Loki Cumberbatch
    Dec 20th 2013, 11:42 AM

> Diarmuid MacSuibhne

ming told you (and the rest of the country) to not pay the household charge

then he paid it himself

do you remember that ?

Mute molly coddled
    Favourite molly coddled
    Dec 20th 2013, 12:54 AM

I would buy that man a pint

Mute Úna O Connor Barrett
    Favourite Úna O Connor Barrett
    Dec 19th 2013, 8:43 PM

Well done Ming.

Mute james sullivan
    Favourite james sullivan

If it was something you smoked carried into the country up someones jacksy would he have a problem?

Mute Joe Public
    Favourite Joe Public

james…..you’ve added nothing….

Mute Snoop sheepy sheep
    Favourite Snoop sheepy sheep
    Dec 19th 2013, 3:21 PM

Exhibiting usual sass,
    Ming’s back to acting the ass.
    He’s labelled it piss
    said “We’re not drinking this!”
    and He’s threated O’Dowd with a glass

Mute Loki Cumberbatch
    Dec 20th 2013, 10:05 AM

there once was a man named Nally
    with the knackers he wasn’t very pally
    in came ward and his son
    nally got his gun
    and let’s hope he adds more to his tally

Mute Tom Daly
    Favourite Tom Daly
    Dec 20th 2013, 12:30 PM

There was a troll with many a name

Out of his mouth the shit came

Cannabis and water was his thing

His one true love was Ming

Afterwards ,he walked away lame

Mute Snoop sheepy sheep
    Favourite Snoop sheepy sheep
    Dec 19th 2013, 3:23 PM

Deathvials of cryptospiridium
    (that’s ‘piss’ in Roscommonian idiom)
    are forced on Ming’s people
    “DO YOU THINK WE’RE ALL SHEEPLE?!”
    (I bet they can’t wait to be riddy ‘im)

Mute Barry Duke
    Favourite Barry Duke
    Dec 19th 2013, 9:21 PM

@ Gerard
    Whatever your drinking you are talking pure Shight

Mute Loki Cumberbatch
    Dec 20th 2013, 10:07 AM

@ Barry Duke

moonshine !!!!!!!!!!

Mute gerard kennelly
    Dec 19th 2013, 1:50 PM

@ Brian Delivers

”Why dont you feck off back to taking photos of your television ”

looking at other peoples social media ?

that is … something

Mute Joe Morris
    Favourite Joe Morris
    Dec 19th 2013, 4:06 PM

Did Fergus drink the water?

Mute Tom Tucker
    Favourite Tom Tucker
    Dec 20th 2013, 7:58 AM

Go away Barrett you dirty crooked b*****d. The whole country knows about the brown envelopes you know. Fair play to Ming. I bet the smarmy cnut didn’t drink it.

Mute Alcho Holic
    Favourite Alcho Holic
    Dec 19th 2013, 7:07 PM

If you want purity drink only Vodka.Happy Paddies Day,Hic!

Mute Deirdre Byrne
    Favourite Deirdre Byrne
    Dec 20th 2013, 2:22 AM

Luke Ming Brokovich… :)

Mute Damien Ó Conbhuí
    Favourite Damien Ó Conbhuí
    Dec 19th 2013, 7:32 PM

after a couple of spliffs he wouldnt know his ass from his elbow, not to mind the quality of water. There is a point to be made but you cant take a lad like him seriously or indeed his BFF, Mr Wallace

Mute Loki Cumberbatch
    Dec 20th 2013, 10:03 AM

hear hear

Mute Robin Mark Shepperson
    Favourite Robin Mark Shepperson
    Dec 20th 2013, 10:06 AM

Act of vandalism? This was an act of realism – the very same realism that our over paid, over empowered, pompous leadership are utterly divorced from.

Mute Karen
    Favourite Karen
    Dec 19th 2013, 10:57 PM

He didnt drink it case and point and closed.

Mute Karen
    Favourite Karen
    Dec 19th 2013, 10:59 PM

Reminds when lisa put the lake Springfield water in their glasses. Should have done that with room full of them.

Mute Dave O'Hanlon
    Favourite Dave O'Hanlon
    Dec 19th 2013, 11:12 PM

Reminds me when Monty Burns tried to become state governer and Marge gave him the 3 eyed fish to eat.

Mute Greg Hurley
    Favourite Greg Hurley
    Dec 19th 2013, 5:33 PM

Ah sure it’s a disgrace. Do you know who you should ring? Joe Duffy. He’ll sort you put.

Mute Dan Quinn
    Favourite Dan Quinn
    Dec 20th 2013, 1:42 AM

Mo’ like ‘Clown Comhairle’!

Mute Pat Conway
    Favourite Pat Conway
    Dec 19th 2013, 7:49 PM

Ming the Merciless.

Mute Liam O'Brien
    Favourite Liam O'Brien
    Dec 19th 2013, 7:02 PM

The whole thing could have been disarmed had the full just drank the glad of uisce.

Mute Seán Mag Leannáin
    Favourite Seán Mag Leannáin
    Dec 19th 2013, 5:53 PM

No fan of government but can’t believe Ming getting so much support here … are you all turf-cutters or cannabis-smokers? The man is obviously a publicity-seeking parody of himself. Makes you wonder about the people in Roscommon who voted for such a clown … maybe some of them had their points written off too as they speeded to work on the bog?

Mute George Tómas Bradán
    Favourite George Tómas Bradán
    Dec 19th 2013, 11:07 PM

i want every one 2 hear this one. we pay the goverments around the world 2 live on this planet.our planet.what a ball of sh1t

Mute Anna Gallagher
    Favourite Anna Gallagher
    Dec 19th 2013, 5:31 PM

Pot smoking, foul mouthed… Very low in my opinion.

Mute Fergus Flanagan
    Favourite Fergus Flanagan
    Dec 19th 2013, 9:00 PM

Yet you have a Dail full of clean cut well spoken drinkers, for the last few decades, who have mismanaged the country to no limit.

Time to adjust your perspective, sharp suits and eloquent non-speak got us to where we are now. Perhaps it’s time to start looking for politicians more passionate about supporting the electorate than those passionate about looking good for the electorate.

Mute dave birney™
    Favourite dave birney™
    Dec 21st 2013, 9:30 PM

piss is a foul word all of a sudden? what? did i miss a meeting?

Mute George Mortimer
    Favourite George Mortimer
    Dec 19th 2013, 8:02 PM

Whoever got to write that URL surely had a laugh to themselves!

Mute Lisa Sumner
    Favourite Lisa Sumner
    Dec 20th 2013, 10:25 PM

Goid man ming …. pity there wasnt more off you up there

Mute Damien Ó Conbhuí
    Favourite Damien Ó Conbhuí
    Dec 19th 2013, 5:37 PM

He looks like the kinda lad that would piss into a glass And hand it to a fella

Mute Aodh P O'Beachain
    Favourite Aodh P O'Beachain
    Dec 19th 2013, 1:14 PM

THE entire Oireachtas needs a fresh look at the lack of any consistent ethos of dealing with Budget and the entire system, based in Natural Law. . A dress code should be mandatory and any semblance of vulgarity and undignified behaviour ad language subject to censure from the Chair. We all have a private language that is not acceptable in certain company and in public.

Mute Martin Taniane
    Favourite Martin Taniane

Your just another ass licker Aodh P O’Beachain, just suck it up if your offended, it’s your problem.

Mute gerard kennelly
    Dec 19th 2013, 2:02 PM

@ Aodh P O’Beachain

you are looking for new staff
    5 applicants arrive
    4 are well dressed
    1 walks in wearing a T shirt and jeans
    looks like he /she just got out of bed
    which one would you hire ?

pretty obvious

Mute gerard kennelly
    Dec 19th 2013, 2:07 PM

@ Martin Taniane

there seems to be a new generation of politics in Ireland
    instead of trusting the parties we voted for
    for decades
    the ordinary people have turned to ming and mick (and clare too)
    they can do whatever they want
    and get away with it
    as long as they tell us what we want to hear

Mute Ru Ni Digs
    Favourite Ru Ni Digs
    Dec 19th 2013, 2:19 PM

“instead of trusting the parties we voted for for decades”

Seriously Gerard,did you only recently discover an interest in politics,oh say from around this morning ??? Judging by your comments,this would seem to be the case LMFAO :-)

Mute Bobby Moore
    Favourite Bobby Moore
    Dec 19th 2013, 2:31 PM

@ gereard Kennelly, don’t forget it was people in suits (bankers/politicians) that f*cked this country over. Also you still never answered my question, Is your date of birth the 7th of the 3rd, ’84 by any chance?

Mute GEAROID
    Favourite GEAROID
    Dec 19th 2013, 4:07 PM

no i was not born 07 mar 1984

Mute Niall Harpur
    Favourite Niall Harpur
    Dec 19th 2013, 5:53 PM

I’d look at their C.V. and judge which one was the most qualified for the job at hand. Then during the interview I’d see which one I would prefer the most to work beside on a daily basis. I presume your hiring strategy is looks over substance… I remain unsurprised.

Mute Tean Shornton
    Favourite Tean Shornton
    Dec 19th 2013, 7:27 PM

Your playing the high moral ground in political correctness. Political correctness is particularly odious as it is intolerance dressed up as tolerance. It is akin to sweeping filth under the carpet whilst pretending everything is beautiful. Ireland as a country has been on its knees economically and morally for the last few years, It is my humble opinion that people of that ilk put us there!

Mute Loki Cumberbatch
    Dec 20th 2013, 11:47 AM

ohhh that was a dirty dig rooney knee digs

Mute Loki Cumberbatch
    Dec 20th 2013, 11:49 AM

> Niall Harper

remember Ming was on pat kenny ‘the frontline’ show

he said nobody should pay the household charge

then he paid it himself

Mute Loki Cumberbatch
    Dec 20th 2013, 11:54 AM

”guys in suits that wrecked this country”

ha ha ha

you sound like Pat Kenny

Mute Michelle Dunne
    Favourite Michelle Dunne
    Dec 20th 2013, 10:18 PM

The one who is most qualified for the job Gerard, that’s who you hire.

Mute Brian Farrell
    Favourite Brian Farrell

Pink

Mute dave birney™
    Favourite dave birney™
    Dec 21st 2013, 9:27 PM

“never before seen in the chamber”

he’s only been the Ceann Comhairle for two years. big wow

Mute Kieran Casey
    Favourite Kieran Casey
    Dec 20th 2013, 12:32 PM

The most shite iv read in a article ever on the journal….

Mute Ian Mac Eochagáin
    Favourite Ian Mac Eochagáin
    Dec 20th 2013, 4:32 AM

Some stunt.

Mute Brian Farrell
    Favourite Brian Farrell

Ah Ming. Your still my favourite Chinese person.

Bytheway, who’s the aulwan in the pint with the white hair.