You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Two missing teens found in Dublin

Katie Mangan and Donnacha Ireland arrived in Heuston station at 8:45 last night.

TWO TEENAGERS WHO were last seen boarding a train in Killarney on Sunday have been found safe and well.

Katie Mangan and Donnacha Ireland arrived in Heuston station at 8:45 last night.

Donnacha’s father Andy thanked everybody who helped search for the pair on RTÉ’s Morning Ireland:

We had an awful amount of people looking for them and people were phenomenal

Speaking about the disappearance of 12-year-old Katie and 15-year-old Donnacha, he said:

‘They felt the need to free themselves and just to go…they don’t seem to be the worse for wear at all- maybe a bit of lack of sleep and a bit cold.’

“Our nerves are completely shredded maybe they don’t realise what we went through.”

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

37 Comments
    Mute Michael Banks-Murray
    Favourite Michael Banks-Murray
    Dec 23rd 2014, 7:37 AM

Two bags of coal this year for them!!

Mute Pauliebhoy
    Favourite Pauliebhoy
    Dec 23rd 2014, 9:27 AM

Well they were a bit cold

Mute Praise Hope
    Favourite Praise Hope
    Dec 23rd 2014, 9:29 AM

The pro aborts will not be happy that two babies have been found safe and well. Well done to the Gardai, HSE and any other agency involved. ALways refreshing to know that ye are PRO LIFE!

Mute Ailbhe O'Nolan
    Favourite Ailbhe O'Nolan
    Dec 23rd 2014, 10:15 AM

Praise, donus all a favour and shut up. You’ve beaten your crazy drum enough this morning.

Mute Keith Flood
    Favourite Keith Flood
    Dec 23rd 2014, 11:55 AM

Is Praise Hope the biggest knob jockey to have ever walked this planet ?

Mute Sean Scanlon
    Favourite Sean Scanlon
    Dec 23rd 2014, 12:20 PM

I’d say your place is great fun for adults and kids this year

Mute Niamh Margaret
    Favourite Niamh Margaret
    Dec 23rd 2014, 8:18 AM

Young people do stupid things, it’s part of growing and learning. I’m sure they’re mortified that the police were contacted and their pictures published. I reckon they’ve learned their lesson. It’s also important for parents to work with their kids and take their feelings serious (even if they do seem silly to a grown up).

Mute Weddingcar Ie Wexford Limo
    Favourite Weddingcar Ie Wexford Limo
    Dec 23rd 2014, 8:35 AM

Very true Niamh we could all learn from this

Mute Liam Treacy
    Favourite Liam Treacy
    Dec 23rd 2014, 8:05 AM

Good size 12 boot!

Mute Gerard Carey
    Favourite Gerard Carey
    Dec 23rd 2014, 7:39 AM

Glad they were found safe and well.

Mute Peadar O'Comain
    Favourite Peadar O'Comain
    Dec 23rd 2014, 8:53 AM

A very understanding Father. My Dad would have beaten the livin daylights out of me! Brats!

Mute Mary Lyons
    Favourite Mary Lyons
    Dec 23rd 2014, 1:05 PM

I agree Peader. A kick in the arse for the 2 of them would be no harm at all and nothing from Santa!

I AM GLAD THEY ARE SAFE AND WELL BUT THEY MUST BE 2 THOUGHTLESS LITTLR BRATS TO CASUE THIS WORRY AND TORMENT TO THEIR FAMILIES. !!!

Mute Catherine Mayock
    Favourite Catherine Mayock
    Dec 23rd 2014, 11:38 PM

Well said mary but i am not too sure about the father who said they needed to get away. Too lax for my liking. There should be no pressies and gounded indefinitely. There should be no relationship for 12 and 15 yr olds. Glad every thing worked out alright but i think that parenting classes wouldent go amiss for the parents.

Mute Ruth Goggin
    Favourite Ruth Goggin
    Dec 23rd 2014, 8:18 AM

According to one fathers interview they “needed to get away”!!! Jeepers the amounts of times everyone needed to get away we would all be hopping on a train! Thankfully their ok could have turned out a lot different. They probably didn’t realise the seriousness of what they did. I wouldn’t be long telling them!

Mute Suzanne Casey
    Favourite Suzanne Casey
    Dec 23rd 2014, 8:02 AM

Thankfully found safe but Dublin at night is a dangerous place .. Hope the parents let them know exactly how worried they were .. Thoughtless individuals ..

Mute Protect Demoracy!
    Favourite Protect Demoracy!
    Dec 23rd 2014, 8:35 AM

Suzanne ” Dublin not a safe place at night”…..might be where your from?

Mute Suzanne Casey
    Favourite Suzanne Casey
    Dec 23rd 2014, 8:52 AM

Oh .. Sorry .. It IS a safe place for children to be sleeping rough at night ?? My mistake ..

Mute Irish Steven
    Favourite Irish Steven
    Dec 23rd 2014, 8:59 AM

More power to them. Two fingers to the world baby.

Mute Protect Demoracy!
    Dec 23rd 2014, 9:04 AM

Suzanne you made a sweeping statement with your first posting, now you have clarified that you meant “Dublin is not a safe place for children sleeping rough at night” … Nope I would not think so..,,,

Mute Suzanne Casey
    Favourite Suzanne Casey
    Dec 23rd 2014, 9:17 AM

Pedantic enough aren’t you ? The post was in response to two runaway kids lost in Dublin overnight .. Didn’t realise my comment would be subject to such scrutiny . Anyway they are safely home now which should be the main concern .

Mute Protect Demoracy!
    Dec 23rd 2014, 9:35 AM

Suzanne, you got me….I think I’m falling for you!

Mute Keith Flood
    Favourite Keith Flood
    Dec 23rd 2014, 11:57 AM

Sap

Mute Sharon Moore
    Favourite Sharon Moore
    Dec 23rd 2014, 7:40 AM

So happy they were found safe and well.

Mute Helen of Troika
    Favourite Helen of Troika
    Dec 23rd 2014, 7:50 AM

Glad they are home safe and well. Best Christmas present anyone could wish for

Mute Owen Slattery
    Favourite Owen Slattery
    Dec 23rd 2014, 7:37 AM

>12 years old.
    >missing ‘teenagers’

Mute Niall C
    Favourite Niall C
    Dec 23rd 2014, 8:26 AM

This is now happening a couple of times a week at least.

The day of a grown adult being able to go away for a few days without telling anybody is gone. Do it and you’ll find your name & face plastered all over social media.

I feel sorry for that young couple. It must be extremely embarrassing for them.

It wasn’t as if they disappeared off the face of the earth. They had been seen boarding a train.

Kate
    Mute Kate
    Favourite Kate
    Dec 23rd 2014, 8:36 AM

They were 12 and 15 though…

Mute Daithi G.
    Favourite Daithi G.
    Dec 23rd 2014, 8:41 AM

Niall, they are children not a “young couple”.
    They had boarded a train without an adult and traveled half way across the country. With their parents only knowing where they boarded, but unsure where they had disembarked, it must have been a terrifying ordeal for them.

Mute Catherine Mayock
    Dec 23rd 2014, 11:47 PM

Niall C. This is a 12 and 15 yr old children. Not a couple. Cop on man.

Mute jack frost
    Favourite jack frost
    Dec 23rd 2014, 8:51 AM

Needed to get away , ( from parents I’d say )

Mute big willy
    Favourite big willy
    Dec 23rd 2014, 11:37 AM

What’s all the fuss?

As a teenager, I boarded a plane to London and was back JUST in time before my parents arrived home from work

Mute Dylan Kearns
    Favourite Dylan Kearns
    Dec 23rd 2014, 11:07 AM

Were they just late for culchie day?

Mute Jon Snow
    Favourite Jon Snow
    Dec 23rd 2014, 10:10 AM

Jon Snow wants to know why the word Z!0Ni5t and all its variants are banned from the Journal?

Mute Catherine Mayock
    Dec 24th 2014, 12:02 AM

Whats ziO41$t got to do with this story.

Mute Colm Vambeck
    Favourite Colm Vambeck
    Dec 23rd 2014, 11:16 AM

When I was 12 I could have driven a car to Dublin, parked it and done my Christmas shopping and headed home again to Wicklow. I often got the bus places and hitched around if I needed to get anywhere. Looks like they just headed to Dublin to do some last minute shopping and they went back to catch the train home. But where did they spend the night?

Mute philip lee
    Favourite philip lee
    Dec 24th 2014, 5:26 AM

The parents should get a way to track their mobiles then they will find them easier next time .but Atleast they were found safe they and their parents can count themselves lucky as some kids never get found safe they need to be more careful and the parents should know where they are at all times what if someone took them then they never would have seen parents or parents would never have seen them Agen all parents should know kids location for safety as not safe kids going off like that as they please .