You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.
A MISSING MALAYSIAN aircraft was flown for hours in a fashion “consistent with deliberate action” after dropping off primary radar, but hijacking could not be confirmed, the country’s prime minister said today.
Final satellite communication with the Boeing 777 came more than six and a half hours after it vanished from civilian radar at 1:30am on March 8, Prime Minister Najib Razak told a nationally televised press conference.
The movement of the plane in the interim period, during which it changed direction and passed back over the Malaysian peninsula towards the Indian Ocean, was “consistent with deliberate action by someone on the plane,” Najib said.
Reuters says this police have begun searching the home of the pilot of the missing flight.
Investigation
“In view of this latest development, the Malaysian authorities have refocused their investigation into the crew and passengers on board,” Najib said, stressing they were still investigating all possibilities as to why the plane deviated so drastically from its original flight path, said Associated Press.
Najib said investigators now have a high degree of certainly that one of the plane’s communications systems – the Aircraft and Communications Addressing and Reporting System – was disabled before the aircraft reached the east coast of Malaysia.
Shortly afterward, someone on board then switched off the aircraft’s transponder, which communicates with civilian air traffic controllers.
The prime minister then confirmed that Malaysian air force defence radar picked up traces of the plane turning back westward, crossing over Peninsular Malaysia into the northern stretches of the Strait of Malacca. Authorities previously had said this radar data could not be verified.
He then said the last confirmed signal between the plane and a satellite came at 8.11am Malaysian time — 7 hours and 31 minutes after takeoff. Airline officials have said the plane had enough fuel to fly for up to about eight hours.
“The investigations team is making further calculations which will indicate how far the aircraft may have flown after this last point of contact,” he said.
Relatives of Chinese passengers aboard missing Malaysia Airlines flight MH370 wait for information at a hotel in Beijing, China. Pic: AP Photo/Ng Han Guan
He also said that there is no confirmation that the missing Malaysian plane was hijacked.
According to AP, Najib also said that authorities are now trying to trace the airplane across two possible “corridors” — a northern corridor from the border of Kazakstan and Turkmenistan through to northern Thailand, and a southern corridor from Indonesia to the southern Indian Ocean.
A candlelight vigil for passengers on the missing flight, in Yangzhou. Pic: AP Photo
Razak said that Malaysia was ending a search in the South China Sea for the jetliner after investigations indicated the missing plane likely turned far to the west.
“We are ending our operation in the South China Sea and reassessing the deployment of our assets,” Najib told reporters.
It doesn’t matter what Enda thinks of his performance. What matters is what the Irish public, who can’t afford private health insurance think. As someone who has been through the HSE merry-go-round for a decade – I can say, it’s worse now than it’s ever been.
He’s really living on another planet. And it doesn’t matter, because the Irish public will vote him in again.
I love the comments on anything Leo is in. Remember how loved Mary Harney was and what a brilliant job everyone thought she had done and with a budget of 13 billion it’s all Leo’s fault.
People need to realise that the minister has to deal with entrenched civil servants and management that have been there for years. If you think they will let some minister upset the apple cart every few years to gain some votes you’re a fool.
Don’t forget the “thats not my job” public servants in the Health Service you know the electricians that won’t allow anyone else change a light bulb. Many of our public services are run by unions for benefit of staff not us.
That says it all. That enda thinks leo is doing an excellent job and is a first class minister. Where have you been enda. The health service is a shambles, scandal after scandal. Trolley crisis, a&E shambles. Open your eyes. Leo should have resigned a long time ago. He spends more time talking about other issues and constantly on his phone in the dail. If this is enda’s idea of excellent , that days it all.
In a shambles due to excessive overpaid Executives and their advisers.
Excessive wage bill engaging Agency staff, instead of bringing back our own highly skilled Irish nurses and doctors. Pay them a decent wage instead spending it on agencies.
Government agree that Elderly be allowed remain in their own homes and not nursing homes.
An excellent choice that I agree with. For that we need Home Carers. This is where another difficulty arises in getting proper carers, so as to avoid situations like those discovered in some nursing homes.
” The focus is in economic recovery’
Bull , your focus is and always has been the payback of a debt not belonging to the Irish tax payer. You put more bills on struggling families throughout the nation despite promises not to. You even taxed family homes despite previously stating it was immoral to tax a home. Should you have left it there Enda you may have survived . Greed brought you to water tax. All to please German master Angela. You show no pity to mass emigration. No pity or remorse to thousands loosing homes. No pity for those freezing and starving on out streets and cities.You care less for 1 in 5 kids going to school hungry. I could go on how I feel uterly betrayed by you and Liebour. I sincerly hope the electorate treat you as you treated them. With no mercy or compassion. This election is about anyone but FG/Lab. So to say presumptuous would be correct. You can presumme to think about fu(king of to Angela for employment. You self serving 9&%(k..
Perhaps ask the patients occupying trollies in hospital corridors around the country for days on end the same question- there’s plenty of them; no doubt they’ll agree with the view of Enda Mitty! Leo doing an excellent job – not even remotely close to the truth & we all know it.
Other than this universal healthcare where we just all pay more, What plan exactly has FG executed. You want people off trollies? Trim the admin fat in the HSE.
Enda says a lot of things.. Most of which we know not to believe or take seriously, he’s known to be a bit of a spoofer! Fine gale couldn’t care less about the health service.. It’s worse than what its being portrayed atm. If fine Gael are elected again it’ll just be privatised eventually.
There an awful people in the HSE earning huge salaries for doing sweet FA. And I’m not talking front line staff. If these were got rid of there’d be plenty of money for the essential service but no the unions will keep these lifers on the payroll and on a pensions for life.
That comment from enda alone is a pure example of how far away from reality that gob$hite is. It’s very worrying, the health system in this country is on its knees at present, if not worse!!
The headline is enough don’t need to read the article.
Mr Kenny is so cocky he really believes what he says, pity the people on trollies and the overworked nurses feel differently.
Varadkar is a self serving politician more interested in cementing his name on reeling in the years for years to come, than he is fixing the health services.
Oh course Kenny’s happy with him. He’s doing ecactly what’s expected of him – twiddle his thumbs and allow the HSE to deteriorate to such an extent that people begin en-masse to enter the private health market, HSE can then be fully privatised.
If Dame Enda needs to say he thinks Leo Vanker is doing a good job like a good little underling it means Leo is truly banjaxed, in the naughty corner, right where dame Enda wants him.
That’ll teach that bold Leo for shooting his smart arsed mouth off about everything else in government, and stop Leo from knifing Enda fair between the shoulder blades at first opportunity.
That’s what it’s all about- who gives a flying fig about what’s good for the countries health services- Leo has been put in his place
Genuine question? Is it not the case that who ever you put in that job has their hands tied from the outset? All the managerial structures are in existence, all employees have their roles and positions… To say cut amount of management, how? Is it actually possible without major union and employment law opposition? What options are there beyond to draw a line in the sand now, change they policies on how you fill positions in future and wait for natural attrition, I.e. People to retire. Genuine questions.
Genuine question it is, but the barriers are all perceptions. The Minister can and has before enact measures and inducements for leaving ‘the job’. It may appear costly in the short term, but in the medium to long term it would leave the HSE in a far better shape for the future. Constructive destruction, you have to dismantle before you can rebuild what we always have is sticking plaster politics -ah it will all be someone else’s problem after an election.
Impossible job but if Leo stopped saying things like trolley numbers are improving from this time last year & he understands what’s going on in A&Es etc. it’s absolutely infuriating to listen to & makes him sound like an absolute tit.
Well, Enda’s hardly going to start telling the truth or admitting how utterly shambolic the state of the health service is at this stage, is he? The man is pathologically divorced from reality.
Did you see that very very well fed fella on the news last night giving forewarning that, by jove, there will be an enforced lack of funds next year. I trust that every one here appreciates the sacrifice that Comrade HSE boss man has made.
Leo should be the next Taoiseach right ? or will it not happen over him being gay ? Are we ready for a gay head of state ,or is it too risky yet ? Thats if fine gael hold power .
Oh yes Enda, such a great job that no pancreas transplants have taken place in Ireland since David Hickey’s retirement this time last year, because the HSE didn’t have the “foresight” to replace him! I say “foresight” in inverted commas because the man gave 3 years notice of his retirement and still nothing was done! Now patients lives are at risk because of this absolute neglect! It beggars belief!
Name one Health Minister who has managed to be a success in the last 30 years. Any Minister who proposes radical change in the health service is blocked by the unions. You can’t sack anyone. You can’t allow them to go on strike because you can’t allow the service to stop! So major change is blocked.
Some nurses and doctors are overworked in ED. Many in the other sections have it too soft. The flexibility allowed to nurses with job sharing, short weeks, flexible starting would not be tolerated to this scale in private companies.
Administrators, porters and managers in the HSE have cushy numbers.
Putting more money into the HSE would be a further waste of money. All it would achieve is higher taxes.
A pretty boy who is of no use to women or the Irish Public Health System. When you prop up the private health market to allow commercial enterprises to profit on peoples illness’s you have to make the public health system fail. Because if we had a ‘world class’ public health system then there would be no need to waste money allowing these commercial private health parasites (D O’B and the Beacon) to make profits out of our misery and money, however because they vote for fine gael you can be sure the government will ensure that the public health system can never be as effective or efficient as private health facilities; except for the weekends of after eight in the evening when these private rackets can not be bothered to provide services because it is not financially viable? That is the attitude which proves that they could not give a damn about the sick unless they have money and the contempt that this government has for the citizens of Ireland by promoting and protecting this inequitable cash cow
Of course he does, the Bert and Ernie of Irish politics, see no evil and hear no evil.
STILL waiting for Kenny managerial response to the RTE investigates program last week. After specifically voting for Endas ‘End to Corrupt’ (lie) I’m like a dog with a bone about this.
Enda ,Deluded fool ,Is always the government policy to privatize everything ,Run the “service ” down come up with the “master-plan ” Get some of your rich pals and cronies a contract to run parts of the “service ” People die on waiting lists ? Thats to bad but nothing must interfere with our right wing dogma and the markets must rule ,,
Hit-and-runs made up almost 10% of serious crashes on Irish roads in last two months
Órla Ryan
5 hrs ago
Stealing thunder
Competition for Met Éireann? Social media weather forecasters are more popular than ever
8 hrs ago
Cavan
Gardaí launch murder investigation into death of woman, 50s, at Cavan home
Updated
12 hrs ago
Your Cookies. Your Choice.
Cookies help provide our news service while also enabling the advertising needed to fund this work.
We categorise cookies as Necessary, Performance (used to analyse the site performance) and Targeting (used to target advertising which helps us keep this service free).
We and our 138 partners store and access personal data, like browsing data or unique identifiers, on your device. Selecting Accept All enables tracking technologies to support the purposes shown under we and our partners process data to provide. If trackers are disabled, some content and ads you see may not be as relevant to you. You can resurface this menu to change your choices or withdraw consent at any time by clicking the Cookie Preferences link on the bottom of the webpage .Your choices will have effect within our Website. For more details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
We and our vendors process data for the following purposes:
Use precise geolocation data. Actively scan device characteristics for identification. Store and/or access information on a device. Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development.
Cookies Preference Centre
We process your data to deliver content or advertisements and measure the delivery of such content or advertisements to extract insights about our website. We share this information with our partners on the basis of consent. You may exercise your right to consent, based on a specific purpose below or at a partner level in the link under each purpose. Some vendors may process your data based on their legitimate interests, which does not require your consent. You cannot object to tracking technologies placed to ensure security, prevent fraud, fix errors, or deliver and present advertising and content, and precise geolocation data and active scanning of device characteristics for identification may be used to support this purpose. This exception does not apply to targeted advertising. These choices will be signaled to our vendors participating in the Transparency and Consent Framework.
Manage Consent Preferences
Necessary Cookies
Always Active
These cookies are necessary for the website to function and cannot be switched off in our systems. They are usually only set in response to actions made by you which amount to a request for services, such as setting your privacy preferences, logging in or filling in forms. You can set your browser to block or alert you about these cookies, but some parts of the site will not then work.
Targeting Cookies
These cookies may be set through our site by our advertising partners. They may be used by those companies to build a profile of your interests and show you relevant adverts on other sites. They do not store directly personal information, but are based on uniquely identifying your browser and internet device. If you do not allow these cookies, you will experience less targeted advertising.
Functional Cookies
These cookies enable the website to provide enhanced functionality and personalisation. They may be set by us or by third party providers whose services we have added to our pages. If you do not allow these cookies then these services may not function properly.
Performance Cookies
These cookies allow us to count visits and traffic sources so we can measure and improve the performance of our site. They help us to know which pages are the most and least popular and see how visitors move around the site. All information these cookies collect is aggregated and therefore anonymous. If you do not allow these cookies we will not be able to monitor our performance.
Store and/or access information on a device 95 partners can use this purpose
Cookies, device or similar online identifiers (e.g. login-based identifiers, randomly assigned identifiers, network based identifiers) together with other information (e.g. browser type and information, language, screen size, supported technologies etc.) can be stored or read on your device to recognise it each time it connects to an app or to a website, for one or several of the purposes presented here.
Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development 123 partners can use this purpose
Use limited data to select advertising 93 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times an ad is presented to you).
Create profiles for personalised advertising 68 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (such as forms you submit, content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (for example, information from your previous activity on this service and other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (that might include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present advertising that appears more relevant based on your possible interests by this and other entities.
Use profiles to select personalised advertising 67 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on your advertising profiles, which can reflect your activity on this service or other websites or apps (like the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects.
Create profiles to personalise content 32 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (for instance, forms you submit, non-advertising content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (such as your previous activity on this service or other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (which might for example include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present content that appears more relevant based on your possible interests, such as by adapting the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find content that matches your interests.
Use profiles to select personalised content 28 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on your content personalisation profiles, which can reflect your activity on this or other services (for instance, the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects. This can for example be used to adapt the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find (non-advertising) content that matches your interests.
Measure advertising performance 115 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which advertising is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine how well an advert has worked for you or other users and whether the goals of the advertising were reached. For instance, whether you saw an ad, whether you clicked on it, whether it led you to buy a product or visit a website, etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of advertising campaigns.
Measure content performance 56 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which content is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine whether the (non-advertising) content e.g. reached its intended audience and matched your interests. For instance, whether you read an article, watch a video, listen to a podcast or look at a product description, how long you spent on this service and the web pages you visit etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of (non-advertising) content that is shown to you.
Understand audiences through statistics or combinations of data from different sources 67 partners can use this purpose
Reports can be generated based on the combination of data sets (like user profiles, statistics, market research, analytics data) regarding your interactions and those of other users with advertising or (non-advertising) content to identify common characteristics (for instance, to determine which target audiences are more receptive to an ad campaign or to certain contents).
Develop and improve services 74 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service, such as your interaction with ads or content, can be very helpful to improve products and services and to build new products and services based on user interactions, the type of audience, etc. This specific purpose does not include the development or improvement of user profiles and identifiers.
Use limited data to select content 33 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type, or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times a video or an article is presented to you).
Use precise geolocation data 39 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, your precise location (within a radius of less than 500 metres) may be used in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Actively scan device characteristics for identification 23 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, certain characteristics specific to your device might be requested and used to distinguish it from other devices (such as the installed fonts or plugins, the resolution of your screen) in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Ensure security, prevent and detect fraud, and fix errors 77 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Your data can be used to monitor for and prevent unusual and possibly fraudulent activity (for example, regarding advertising, ad clicks by bots), and ensure systems and processes work properly and securely. It can also be used to correct any problems you, the publisher or the advertiser may encounter in the delivery of content and ads and in your interaction with them.
Deliver and present advertising and content 87 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Certain information (like an IP address or device capabilities) is used to ensure the technical compatibility of the content or advertising, and to facilitate the transmission of the content or ad to your device.
Match and combine data from other data sources 64 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Information about your activity on this service may be matched and combined with other information relating to you and originating from various sources (for instance your activity on a separate online service, your use of a loyalty card in-store, or your answers to a survey), in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Link different devices 46 partners can use this feature
Always Active
In support of the purposes explained in this notice, your device might be considered as likely linked to other devices that belong to you or your household (for instance because you are logged in to the same service on both your phone and your computer, or because you may use the same Internet connection on both devices).
Identify devices based on information transmitted automatically 75 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Your device might be distinguished from other devices based on information it automatically sends when accessing the Internet (for instance, the IP address of your Internet connection or the type of browser you are using) in support of the purposes exposed in this notice.
Save and communicate privacy choices 54 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
The choices you make regarding the purposes and entities listed in this notice are saved and made available to those entities in the form of digital signals (such as a string of characters). This is necessary in order to enable both this service and those entities to respect such choices.
have your say