You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Gay Mitchell Niall Carson/PA Wire/Press Association Images

Mitchell: 'I haven't been confrontational with anybody'

The Fine Gael presidential candidate has denied he has been confrontational with Sinn Féin’s Martin McGuinness during the campaign.

FINE GAEL PRESIDENTIAL candidate Gay Mitchell has denied that he has been confrontational during the election campaign.

Mitchell was responding to questions on RTÉ’s Morning Ireland about his behaviour with Sinn Féin candidate Martin McGuinness who has come under heavy criticism for his past associations with the IRA by members of Fine Gael including government ministers.

McGuinness and Mitchell famously clashed on a Newstalk radio programme earlier this month leading to McGuinness criticising what he said was Fine Gael’s “black propaganda”.

But Mitchell has insisted this morning that his questions to McGuinness were part of “normal discourse”.

He told Morning Ireland:

I haven’t been confrontational with anybody. The only person I asked is Mr McGuinness to say why he says he’s not a Sinn Féin candidate. Since when did that become confrontation?

To ask somebody to say why they’re saying they’re not a Sinn Féin candidate and why they claim not to be a member of the IRA, I don’t understand how that’s confrontation. That’s part of normal discourse, normal debate.

In the interview, Mitchell also responded to a weekend of polls which did not make for good reading.

In a Red C poll for the Sunday Business Post Mitchell commanded just 8 per cent of the vote but he insisted that such was the volatility of presidential polls he was still in with a chance.

He said:

You have to compare it with same situation in the last presidential election when the front runner on 38 per cent ended up on less than 7 per cent.

Volatility is, to put it mildly, the guiding principle in these polls.

All I can tell you is my hand on my heart, I do not believe these polls will be the polls that will come out next Thursday week and I think most people are simply answering polls as they’re put to them.

I have never, in my entire life in politics, except in the last presidential election, see somebody go up by 19 per cent and down by 19 per cent.

Mitchell also spoke about his vision for the presidency saying that people were looking for someone with experience to takeover in the Phoenix Park and did not want someone who will be “learning on the job” once elected.

He said: “This is a political job, I am a businessman, my business is politics.”

The MEP added that it was his belief Ireland was on the “cusp of a recovery” and spoke about one of the main themes of his campaign, dealing with suicide in Ireland.

He also said that he wanted “real inclusiveness” as opposed to “politically correct inclusiveness” if elected.

In full: TheJournal.ie’s Race for the Áras coverage >

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

23 Comments
    Mute Eamon Mac Gowan
    Favourite Eamon Mac Gowan
    Dec 18th 2015, 11:39 AM

People like him are the worst kind of exhibitionist freaks.
    Cringe inducing.

Mute Patrick Hurley
    Favourite Patrick Hurley
    Dec 18th 2015, 11:46 AM

More preparation went in to making it about him than her.

Mute MaryLou(ny)McDonald
    Favourite MaryLou(ny)McDonald
    Dec 18th 2015, 12:03 PM

Awww

Mute MaryLou(ny)McDonald
    Favourite MaryLou(ny)McDonald
    Dec 18th 2015, 12:07 PM

Aww

Mute Cosmo Kramer
    Favourite Cosmo Kramer
    Dec 18th 2015, 12:14 PM

And Today FM just happened to have a reporter on the ready for the big question.. Did he get in touch with Today FM before hand and let them know what he was planning? Absolute Clown!

Mute Teddington
    Favourite Teddington
    Dec 18th 2015, 12:23 PM

Sure leave them off, it’s not my cup of milk but that’s what makes life so interesting is the differences!

Mute Shawn Rahoon
    Favourite Shawn Rahoon
    Dec 18th 2015, 12:26 PM

I believe they ran towards each other in slow motion. So romantic!

Mute Allister
    Favourite Allister
    Dec 18th 2015, 12:40 PM

Hope he kept the receipt for the fake tan….!

Mute John Brendan Mullen
    Favourite John Brendan Mullen
    Dec 18th 2015, 1:48 PM

I’d

Mute Phil O' Meara
    Favourite Phil O' Meara
    Dec 18th 2015, 11:43 AM

I wonder if he declared the diamond ring when arriving or strode through the green channel?

Mute Dave Murray
    Favourite Dave Murray
    Dec 18th 2015, 11:44 AM

Will it be on that God awful programme on Sky One?

Mute Keelan O'neill
    Favourite Keelan O'neill
    Dec 18th 2015, 12:30 PM

Those shows are great.

“You do realise this is a live turtle”

“No not turtle. Herbal medicine, herbal medicine”

Mute Dave Murray
    Favourite Dave Murray
    Dec 18th 2015, 12:43 PM

Ah sure I’m guilty of watching them myself ha ha.

Mute Robert Madden
    Favourite Robert Madden
    Dec 18th 2015, 9:24 PM

Your man on that sky programme… “Don’t call me “Man” buddy..” Ridiculous.

Mute Supernova
    Favourite Supernova

More shite.. Look at me! Look look were getting married.. Aren’t I special. Give me attention now

Mute Nigel Tuffnel
    Favourite Nigel Tuffnel
    Dec 18th 2015, 1:45 PM

I’ve got to agree with you Nova, it’s screaming for attention, turning an already busy place even more busy with crowds of gawkers in force. In saying that goodluck to the two of them, just seems very contrived.

Mute Dave Murray
    Favourite Dave Murray
    Dec 18th 2015, 11:41 AM

Cringe

Mute TrudyFeltz
    Favourite TrudyFeltz

Well his tan looks great anyway

Mute Paudi Onail
    Favourite Paudi Onail
    Dec 18th 2015, 8:11 PM

just makes him more full of it, I’m good at this sort of thing. trust me ; )

Mute The Green Monkey
    Favourite The Green Monkey
    Dec 18th 2015, 11:56 AM

Cringeworthy…….

Dec 18th 2015, 12:01 PM

Ehy?

Mute Conor Graham
    Favourite Conor Graham
    Dec 18th 2015, 11:51 AM

Puke.

Mute CABK
    Favourite CABK
    Dec 18th 2015, 11:54 AM

Absolute state of them both.

Mute The Green Monkey
    Favourite The Green Monkey

Cringeworthy……

Mute cp
    Favourite cp
    Dec 18th 2015, 11:59 AM

So good you say it twice

Dec 18th 2015, 12:01 PM

Ha?

Mute Al-Right
    Favourite Al-Right

Sorry Martin, Louse has been seeing Mark while you were away… oopss!

Mute CABK
    Favourite CABK
    Dec 18th 2015, 12:05 PM

She lives over there with him which just makes it more cringe! Waiting for an audience at arrivals!!! Public proposals are the worst!

Mute CABK
    Favourite CABK
    Dec 18th 2015, 12:06 PM

She lives over there with him which just makes it more cringe! Waiting for an audience at arrivals!!! Public proposals are the worst!

Mute Al-Right
    Favourite Al-Right
    Dec 18th 2015, 12:21 PM

Wot? Where does it say that?

Mute Paudi Onail
    Favourite Paudi Onail
    Dec 18th 2015, 8:12 PM

probably with loads of women over he months prior to the flight. ya’d feel sorry for her but nah not really.

Mute Donna Moss
    Favourite Donna Moss
    Dec 18th 2015, 11:46 AM

Good luck to them.

Mute Chief
    Favourite Chief
    Dec 18th 2015, 11:55 AM

You are not allowed say nice stuff here Donna. The two people that just got engaged and spread a little happiness around are just too happy for peoples liking. This does not go down well with the miserable ba#$rds commenting above. So be warned. No more of that nice comment shite!

Mute Slim Browne
    Favourite Slim Browne
    Dec 18th 2015, 12:42 PM

What if she said no ?? Big embarrassed head on him then

Mute Paul Wallace
    Favourite Paul Wallace
    Dec 18th 2015, 12:43 PM

What a Mangina

Mute Dave Murray
    Favourite Dave Murray
    Dec 18th 2015, 12:46 PM

Brennan has a margina, Brennan has a margina.

Mute Andy Gibson
    Favourite Andy Gibson
    Dec 18th 2015, 12:41 PM

The Today FM reporter is called Juliette GASH?! Oh my days!!!

Mute Live Long
    Favourite Live Long
    Dec 18th 2015, 12:09 PM

Tantastic!

Mute seanie
    Favourite seanie
    Dec 18th 2015, 11:52 AM

Haha miserable ba*t*rds here in comments.

Mute Malachi Shanks
    Favourite Malachi Shanks
    Dec 18th 2015, 2:08 PM

You’d be raging if you were behind yer man in the queue and we’re going to do the same thing !

Mute seanie
    Favourite seanie
    Dec 18th 2015, 11:51 AM

Haha miserable bass%ards on the comments .

Mute Chief
    Favourite Chief

Great minds think alike

Mute SandyfordAl
    Favourite SandyfordAl
    Dec 18th 2015, 2:51 PM

Oh please, it’s all about me, everyone look at me. Attention seekers are so annoying

Mute Slim Browne
    Favourite Slim Browne
    Dec 18th 2015, 12:34 PM

What if she said no ? Hed have some head on him then

Mute Slim Browne
    Favourite Slim Browne
    Dec 18th 2015, 12:36 PM

Mute Michelle Wallace
    Favourite Michelle Wallace
    Dec 18th 2015, 1:25 PM

Good god, you’re a right lot of begrudgers. Can’t we all just get along? You don’t even have to be happy for them, but do you have to be so mean? It’s Christmas, let’s spread a bit of Christmas cheer…. No?

Mute Nigel Tuffnel
    Favourite Nigel Tuffnel
    Dec 18th 2015, 1:57 PM

Bah humbug.

Mute seanie
    Favourite seanie
    Dec 18th 2015, 11:53 AM

Haha miserable Scrooges here in the comments.

Mute Conor Graham
    Favourite Conor Graham

You can say that again!

Mute cp
    Favourite cp
    Dec 18th 2015, 12:00 PM

And again

Dec 18th 2015, 12:00 PM

Could you repeat that please?

Mute Slim Browne
    Favourite Slim Browne
    Dec 18th 2015, 12:32 PM

What if she said no ?? Some head on him then

Mute Joey Gee
    Favourite Joey Gee
    Dec 18th 2015, 12:26 PM

This is the way the poor gaisun wanted to do it, must mean something to him (them).

Mute Craig Barry
    Favourite Craig Barry
    Dec 18th 2015, 6:31 PM

W$nker

Mute Paudi Onail
    Favourite Paudi Onail
    Dec 18th 2015, 8:13 PM

totally

Mute Maurice Slater
    Favourite Maurice Slater
    Dec 18th 2015, 5:29 PM

not my cup of tea kinda shows insecurity are just a show of,to me its a private matter between two people and not for public consumption for me first spoil your lady all day tell her about all the things why you fell in love with her, then take yourself and your intended to a place you both have never been before.

Mute Nigel Tuffnel
    Favourite Nigel Tuffnel
    Dec 18th 2015, 1:43 PM

Juliette Gash?

Mute TheGateFlorist
    Favourite TheGateFlorist

He has made her happy that’s all that counts. But could have had a big bunch of flowers in hand.

Mute Karl Monaghan
    Favourite Karl Monaghan
    Dec 18th 2015, 5:14 PM

or even a ring!

Mute Alan
    Favourite Alan
    Dec 18th 2015, 6:24 PM

Must have a serious guilty conscience coming back from the holiday.

Mute Paudi Onail
    Favourite Paudi Onail
    Dec 18th 2015, 8:13 PM

i bet he does i bet he does. a proper player.

Mute John Reese
    Favourite John Reese
    Dec 18th 2015, 4:35 PM

Shaking head….the plonker has just given TV3 a new idea for an airport proposal show.

Mute Slim Browne
    Favourite Slim Browne

Luvly

Mute TheGateFlorist
    Favourite TheGateFlorist
    Dec 18th 2015, 12:37 PM

He has made her happy, and that’s all we should care about.

Mute Nigel Tuffnel
    Favourite Nigel Tuffnel
    Dec 18th 2015, 1:49 PM

Well we don’t know that for sure.

Mute Kirsha Sova
    Favourite Kirsha Sova
    Dec 18th 2015, 8:56 PM

Jayess everyone wants to put their life on show with the world watching ,get a life somethings should be private .

Mute Sean MacGabhann
    Favourite Sean MacGabhann
    Dec 18th 2015, 3:45 PM

‘Til never last.

Mute Kirsha Sova
    Favourite Kirsha Sova
    Dec 18th 2015, 8:57 PM

I give it a year .

Mute Karl Monaghan
    Favourite Karl Monaghan
    Dec 18th 2015, 5:10 PM
    Mute Karl Monaghan
    Favourite Karl Monaghan
    Dec 18th 2015, 5:11 PM

why is his head half shaved??

Mute Paudi Onail
    Favourite Paudi Onail
    Dec 18th 2015, 8:14 PM

cos he’s a w@anker

Mute niall fitzgerald
    Favourite niall fitzgerald
    Dec 19th 2015, 8:05 AM

Juliette’s Gash, what.