You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.
“I HAD SPENT 30 years touring with some of the biggest bands in the world, but mental health issues, panic attacks and depression became the mainstay of my life. It took my entire career away from me.”
Mike Bartlett, from Killarney in Kerry, is just one of the many in Ireland who has received mental health help through an innovative initiative aimed towards men – Mojo.
“For me in my life, I’m a poet, I’m a songwriting, I’m a musician, but I couldn’t get out my front door because of panic attacks,” Bartlett told TheJournal.ie.
“I’m 6’4″, I’m covered in tattoos from my head to my toe. I’ve had the best job in the world as a rock ‘n’ roll roadie for the last 30 years and nobody could understand why I was suffering from depression,” he said.
The Mojo project just accepted me completely for what I am and gave me the platform to put it all on the table and figure it all out.
Mojo was developed to tackle the issue of the rising level of male deaths by suicide in Ireland back in 2011.
Mojo has four projects: Kildare, South Dublin, North Dublin and Offaly. The projects offer men a 12-week mental health training programme.
During the three months, the participating men are introduced to services in the community that can offer support, as many men struggle to take the first step in seeking mental health help.
“Quite simply, Mojo were the people who gave me a plan on a daily basis to help combat [my mental health] and get back into society again,” Bartlett told TheJournal.ie.
‘Few and far between’
Since the age of 14, Bartlett had toured the world with some of the biggest names in rock and roll. However, he told TheJournal.ie that one day he found himself unable to even walk out his front door as panic attacks and depression had taken over.
“I was very much unable to access any of the services which were available to men in this country because they are very few and far between,” he said.
Bartlett joined the South Dublin project, which brings 12 men together every week, offering them the opportunity to chat with each other about their concerns. The project also linked Bartlett and his fellow participants up with the particular local services they needed to avail of.
“One of the great things is that they brought in a lot of government organisations and a lot of individual people from them. They let us have our say about how our interactions had been very bad with these government organisations before this,” Bartlett said.
As well as working in a group, the men of Mojo also receive one-on-one sessions with a life planning coordinator, who helps develop personal goals and identify the steps to take in order to reach specific mental health targets.
Breaking down the barrier for men
Bartlett credited Mojo’s approach of bringing men together to talk to each other and being the gateway to mental health services across the country that many men find difficult to avail of.
“The huge part about men sitting down and talking about what is affecting them is the fact that they don’t do it. Men are geared towards ‘Get over it and move on’” Bartlett said.
The Mojo platform on how they put men together in a room is exceptional. It really is exceptional.
“The Mojo programme works in a very simple basis to put you as the most important person at the centre of the programme,” he said.
That simple feeling of walking away from the programme thinking you feel important is a life changing experience to somebody who is in the midst of panic attacks, depression, anxiety.
Mojo Rising
On 19 November, Bartlett is bringing his musical talents to the stage of Mojo Rising for International Men’s Day.
Mojo Rising is an arts festival aiming to “create a space where people can come together, enjoy the very best of Irish talent and raise awareness and understanding of male mental health challenges”. Paddy Casey, Emmet Kirwan and DJ Nialler9 are among the artists performing at the event.
The event will honour the 400 men who have participated in Mojo programmes and hopes to build awareness on behalf of the thousands of Irish men who remain at risk of suicide or self-harm.
For Bartlett, the event marks a very significant milestone in his progress.
“I wasn’t able to get up and play an original show for the last number of years. I’m able to get up at the moment and do it and I’m very much looking forward to it,” he said.
There’s two parts to this gig. One is to highlight the issues with male mental health. The other is to celebrate the successes and the work that the people in Mojo have put into hundreds of men around Ireland.
Mojo Rising will take place in the Grand Social in Dublin at 7pm on 19 November. More information about the event and service can be found here.
If you need to talk contact:
Samaritans 116 123 or email jo@samaritans.org
Aware 1800 80 48 48 (depression, anxiety)
Pieta House 1800 247247 or email mary@pieta.ie – (suicide, self-harm)
Teen-Line Ireland 1800 833 634 (for ages 13 to 19)
A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article.
Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.
To embed this post, copy the code below on your site
21 Comments
This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic.
Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy
here
before taking part.
Not good really. Surprised at TCD. Just academic backclapping. They would do better to give free education to academically bright people who cannot afford it…. even one person.
The Clinton Foundation is shrouded in controversy, even our own ‘he who cannot be named’ is a major donor to this ‘charity’. Her husband was impeached, the first US president to be so since Andrew Johnson in 1868 (Nixon resigned during impeachment proceedings against him in 1974). They are a toxic duo and I cannot fathom why she was rewarded by Trinners.
Really annoys me when she’s trying to take credit for Trump reversing his decision on the immigration issue when it was obvious it was a scare tactic by him to deter immigrants entering the USA. Hillary is just another incompetent failed politician who should not be given a public platform to speak.
@Adrian: her and her husband made a significant contribution to achieving peace on this island. I think that entitles her to speak in trinners or anywhere else.
@Adrian: I seem to also recall her banging on about nobody questioning the outcome of the election during her campaign, whatever ppl say about how she won the public vote they both knew well how the presidency is decided just like most Americans should. Now all she can do is rile up more folks about Trump, She is a warmonger and a hypocrite and America’s Tony Blair. These kinds of ppl are not democrats.
Rumour has it that the people who organised the protest have already “committed suicide” after a short depression ;). Such is the usual fate of anyone in the way of the Clintons….
@Dave O Keeffe: it’s not a joke. There’s a long list of people who conveniently killed themselves before they had a chance to testify against them in the past. Look it up.
@D_Murph: so the organiser of the protest really is dead? No, you were making a joke about suicide based on a conspiracy theory. You were called out on it and are now you claim you meant it to be taken as fact. Stay classy
@D_Murph: think about it for a moment. The President absolutely despises her and got elected chanting “lock her up..lock her up”. Do you not think if there was a scintilla of truth in what you said that he would have been all over this and had the AG put her on trial for it. The only “proof” for it can be found only in the darkest corners of the internet.
@Diaspora’d: I’m sure he would but it’s not like others wouldn’t have tried either. It’s not what you know but what you can prove that works in cases like this. Too much smoke to have no fire though.
@D_Murph That’s the point there is no evidence or proof. The Republicans appointed a special federal investigator Ken Starr to investigate the Clintons for the whitewater and the Vince Foster suicide. It went on for nearly 4 years and didn’t come up with any proof on that matter however it did end up getting Bill for perjury about Monica Lewinsky, who by the way didn’t conveniently disappear.
@Dave O Keeffe: Are you still here? Still don’t realise I don’t give a shite what you think, do you? BTW, it’s “does”, not “dies”, lol. My opinion still stands no matter how many spastics like you think otherwise.
@D_Murph: well, at least now you’ve changed from declaring facts to staring opinion. The personal insults are a lovely touch though I must admit. They show who you really are
I made a comment on here and you repeatedly made insulting comments trying to rubbish my post. I tried to explain it to you in a civil manner and you persisted with more of the same and when I eventually insulted you back, (not before it was due either), you try to make me look like I’m the childish one? Hahahaha unreal!!
Furthermore, you have repeatedly said that you have analysed the kind of person I am etc and it’s clear that you don’t like me but it’s 2 days since I originally posted and here you are still unable to drag yourself away from this conversation with me. You seriously need to get a life!
She head hunts gaddafi to death which leads to the complete destabilizing of Middle East.that area has always needed a dictator to control the area from saddam Hussein to gaddafi,now that both of them are gone it’s a complete war land with innocent people slaughtered and millions of people getting on boats that are ending up in Europe,what a disaster she has been and a disgrace trinity are honouring her
@Jackie Carvill Caruana: nuts! watch her clip about Ghadaffi “we came we saw he died” followed by a witch like cackle! D fact is dat Libya is 100 times worse than when Ghadaffi was in power because of her actions, and I truly would doubt it plays on her conscience as she I don’t think she has 1!
@Vote4Pedro: “watch her clip about Ghadaffi…” And Trump admin officials have cited this “Libya model” in respect of other countries, what’s your point?
@Thomas McGuire: why is everything a comparison. Can’t she just be a terrible human being on her own. Why is everything “they did it first” and “they are worse”. Can’t people and policies just be judged by their own merit or lack thereof.
@Thomas McGuire: the Libya model which Bolton was referring to was in fact a reference to the way Gaddafi gave up his nuclear ambitions for investment and access to western markets. It was not a reference to the eventual bombing and murder of Gaddafi. It was Trump who conflated the two issues.
@Thomas McGuire: I’m sorry but how is this thread anything to do with Trump. But while ur at it u acknowledge that the operation she implemented in Libya was the mother of all disasters?
Crooked Hillary – the woman who laughed at getting a rap-ist of a twelve year old off jail time because otherwise it would be a miscarriage of justice…Some champion of women…
how is it that people can loathe trump so much that such actions by this woman are brushed aside so easily. There’s a twisted obsession by alot of Irish people with the Clintons, wud i be rite in saying horny bill got an honorary doctorate from nui Galway recently? Both colleges should be investigated as to whether those making such decisions are mentally capable. Not a great example to be setting for impressionable students.
People talk about the northern Ireland peace process as if this somehow absolves the clintons of the massive harm they have created in the world. a few dozen lives saved in northern Ireland compared with hundreds of thousands of lives lost worldwide and counting and misery for decades to come. a bit like Joseph Stalin given forgiveness because he gave a beggar a sandwich.
Some have short memories. She and Bill were instrumental in the peace process in Northern Ireland. Up to then most AMerican pols took their lead from Britain.
@Brendan Walsh: very true, her and Bill did an awful lot to help the peace process along. Some of the tin foil hat kids here are to young for that bit of history.
Time Hillary 2 go away her stupid book what happened blamed everyone but herself for her loss FBI didnt tell her to bleach bit her emails smash phones destroy laptops have a private server in her house with classified info which IG report says was hacked russians didnt tell anyone to vote TRUMP she list bcause she wasnt a good canidate was out of touch with people outside Washinton why not give this award to someone who deserves it She wont go down in history for bringing peace to NOKO hopefully TRUMP will
Well yeah, she’s an American politician. I’d consider them all warmongers. Most of the country seems fine with America going to war, they’ve been brainwashed into believing its necessary for their way of life. In reality its just good money for those in the right places.
Ireland has stopped to a new low awarding a war monger and the one who distroyed lybia , Iraq with lies . They should have awarded her for being the biggest lier and getting away with it award ..I’m ashamed to be Irish .
@Car O Line: I’m ashamed of all the Irish people hurling ignorant abuse at a visiting democrat who has always been a friend to our country and who worked so hard for peace here.
@angryDuck: There you go again with your name-calling. The dirty legacy of the Clintons is all well documented. No conspiracy theories needed. That you choose to ignore it speaks volumes as to the type of person you are.
@Tom Sullivan: When a person who invested a huge amount of time and effort into helping secure peace in our country comes to visit you hurl abuse at her. What type of person does that make you?
Good God. Another honorary degree for Hillary? What were they thinking?? This woman collects a degree and/or award approximately every other week. Events like this one are scheduled for her as routinely as appointments with her hairdresser. Ireland needs to realize that she is a silver-tongued crook. Her crimes go back over forty years. We in the United States are done with her, except insofar as she can be prosecuted. And that day will come.
@Fran Ponick: It’s funny that a right ring Trump supporter from America agrees with the loony left in Ireland. All populists spout the same spurious rubbish.
@Will J. Browne: I think you meant right WING … Also, please see https://rationalwiki.org/wiki/Populism for notable right- AND left-wing populists, including Daniel O’Connell. Finally, if you are not a populist, what are you? An elitist? Thanks for sharing!
@Will J. Browne: Oh, I forgot to mention. I’m not from America. I live there. I was born in Dublin a very long time ago. Had to leave because the “elitists” kept power, money, and anything useful (including jobs) for themselves and their minions. Their genius heirs recently invented Project Ireland 2040. Meanwhile, they starve homeless citizens (12,000+ and counting) while feeding and housing imported aliens. So yeah, I’m a populist.
@Fran Ponick: I’m not a populist. I’m a democrat like Hilary Clinton and unlike Donald Trump or whatever populist muckraker you’re getting your fake news and paranoid conspiracy theories from.
@Will J. Browne: Ad hominem, anyone? Sorry, doesn’t work with me, nor, I see, with others to whom you’ve responded. Shaming’s not a useful tool either (“What type of person does that make you?”). Interest fades in the face of insult; conversation dies before it starts. Bye.
@Fran Ponick: Is calling someone a “silver tongued crook” and slanderously accusating them of unspecified crimes not an ad hominem attack? You’re a typical populist: you attack the person, not the argument, but you cry foul if anyone calls you out on it.
Big thanks to the Journal.ie and Paul Hosford for having the courage to cover this story. Because the rest of Official Ireland – RTE, TCD, The Irish Times, and even Mary Robinson who keeps preaching about human rights – all seem to be extremely complicit in white washing the crimes of Hillary Clinton, Wall street warmongering puppet that she is.
Six-year-old girl who was cycling her bike dies in incident involving a truck in Galway city
2 hrs ago
Quiz
Quiz: How much do you know about Irish exports?
2 mins ago
Whatsdat
An AI chatbot has appeared on Irish users' WhatsApp - here's what you need to know
15 hrs ago
Your Cookies. Your Choice.
Cookies help provide our news service while also enabling the advertising needed to fund this work.
We categorise cookies as Necessary, Performance (used to analyse the site performance) and Targeting (used to target advertising which helps us keep this service free).
We and our 164 partners store and access personal data, like browsing data or unique identifiers, on your device. Selecting Accept All enables tracking technologies to support the purposes shown under we and our partners process data to provide. If trackers are disabled, some content and ads you see may not be as relevant to you. You can resurface this menu to change your choices or withdraw consent at any time by clicking the Cookie Preferences link on the bottom of the webpage .Your choices will have effect within our Website. For more details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
We and our vendors process data for the following purposes:
Use precise geolocation data. Actively scan device characteristics for identification. Store and/or access information on a device. Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development.
Cookies Preference Centre
We process your data to deliver content or advertisements and measure the delivery of such content or advertisements to extract insights about our website. We share this information with our partners on the basis of consent. You may exercise your right to consent, based on a specific purpose below or at a partner level in the link under each purpose. Some vendors may process your data based on their legitimate interests, which does not require your consent. You cannot object to tracking technologies placed to ensure security, prevent fraud, fix errors, or deliver and present advertising and content, and precise geolocation data and active scanning of device characteristics for identification may be used to support this purpose. This exception does not apply to targeted advertising. These choices will be signaled to our vendors participating in the Transparency and Consent Framework.
Manage Consent Preferences
Necessary Cookies
Always Active
These cookies are necessary for the website to function and cannot be switched off in our systems. They are usually only set in response to actions made by you which amount to a request for services, such as setting your privacy preferences, logging in or filling in forms. You can set your browser to block or alert you about these cookies, but some parts of the site will not then work.
Targeting Cookies
These cookies may be set through our site by our advertising partners. They may be used by those companies to build a profile of your interests and show you relevant adverts on other sites. They do not store directly personal information, but are based on uniquely identifying your browser and internet device. If you do not allow these cookies, you will experience less targeted advertising.
Functional Cookies
These cookies enable the website to provide enhanced functionality and personalisation. They may be set by us or by third party providers whose services we have added to our pages. If you do not allow these cookies then these services may not function properly.
Performance Cookies
These cookies allow us to count visits and traffic sources so we can measure and improve the performance of our site. They help us to know which pages are the most and least popular and see how visitors move around the site. All information these cookies collect is aggregated and therefore anonymous. If you do not allow these cookies we will not be able to monitor our performance.
Store and/or access information on a device 111 partners can use this purpose
Cookies, device or similar online identifiers (e.g. login-based identifiers, randomly assigned identifiers, network based identifiers) together with other information (e.g. browser type and information, language, screen size, supported technologies etc.) can be stored or read on your device to recognise it each time it connects to an app or to a website, for one or several of the purposes presented here.
Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development 146 partners can use this purpose
Use limited data to select advertising 116 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times an ad is presented to you).
Create profiles for personalised advertising 85 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (such as forms you submit, content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (for example, information from your previous activity on this service and other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (that might include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present advertising that appears more relevant based on your possible interests by this and other entities.
Use profiles to select personalised advertising 85 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on your advertising profiles, which can reflect your activity on this service or other websites or apps (like the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects.
Create profiles to personalise content 39 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (for instance, forms you submit, non-advertising content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (such as your previous activity on this service or other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (which might for example include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present content that appears more relevant based on your possible interests, such as by adapting the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find content that matches your interests.
Use profiles to select personalised content 35 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on your content personalisation profiles, which can reflect your activity on this or other services (for instance, the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects. This can for example be used to adapt the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find (non-advertising) content that matches your interests.
Measure advertising performance 136 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which advertising is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine how well an advert has worked for you or other users and whether the goals of the advertising were reached. For instance, whether you saw an ad, whether you clicked on it, whether it led you to buy a product or visit a website, etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of advertising campaigns.
Measure content performance 61 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which content is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine whether the (non-advertising) content e.g. reached its intended audience and matched your interests. For instance, whether you read an article, watch a video, listen to a podcast or look at a product description, how long you spent on this service and the web pages you visit etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of (non-advertising) content that is shown to you.
Understand audiences through statistics or combinations of data from different sources 76 partners can use this purpose
Reports can be generated based on the combination of data sets (like user profiles, statistics, market research, analytics data) regarding your interactions and those of other users with advertising or (non-advertising) content to identify common characteristics (for instance, to determine which target audiences are more receptive to an ad campaign or to certain contents).
Develop and improve services 84 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service, such as your interaction with ads or content, can be very helpful to improve products and services and to build new products and services based on user interactions, the type of audience, etc. This specific purpose does not include the development or improvement of user profiles and identifiers.
Use limited data to select content 37 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type, or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times a video or an article is presented to you).
Use precise geolocation data 47 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, your precise location (within a radius of less than 500 metres) may be used in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Actively scan device characteristics for identification 27 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, certain characteristics specific to your device might be requested and used to distinguish it from other devices (such as the installed fonts or plugins, the resolution of your screen) in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Ensure security, prevent and detect fraud, and fix errors 93 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Your data can be used to monitor for and prevent unusual and possibly fraudulent activity (for example, regarding advertising, ad clicks by bots), and ensure systems and processes work properly and securely. It can also be used to correct any problems you, the publisher or the advertiser may encounter in the delivery of content and ads and in your interaction with them.
Deliver and present advertising and content 100 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Certain information (like an IP address or device capabilities) is used to ensure the technical compatibility of the content or advertising, and to facilitate the transmission of the content or ad to your device.
Match and combine data from other data sources 73 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Information about your activity on this service may be matched and combined with other information relating to you and originating from various sources (for instance your activity on a separate online service, your use of a loyalty card in-store, or your answers to a survey), in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Link different devices 55 partners can use this feature
Always Active
In support of the purposes explained in this notice, your device might be considered as likely linked to other devices that belong to you or your household (for instance because you are logged in to the same service on both your phone and your computer, or because you may use the same Internet connection on both devices).
Identify devices based on information transmitted automatically 91 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Your device might be distinguished from other devices based on information it automatically sends when accessing the Internet (for instance, the IP address of your Internet connection or the type of browser you are using) in support of the purposes exposed in this notice.
Save and communicate privacy choices 69 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
The choices you make regarding the purposes and entities listed in this notice are saved and made available to those entities in the form of digital signals (such as a string of characters). This is necessary in order to enable both this service and those entities to respect such choices.
have your say