You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

The pitch where the sinkhole opened up. Facebook/Magheracloone Mitchells

'Shock and devastation': Monaghan GAA club will be shut 'for years' after sinkhole opens up

Francis Jones, who is the chairman of Magheracloone GAA Club, said the community has been left reeling by the incident.

THE CHAIRMAN OF a GAA club in Monaghan which was destroyed by a sinkhole has told of his shock after the chasm opened up across the club’s land. 

Francis Jones, who is the chairman of Magheracloone GAA Club, said the community has been left reeling by the incident. 

Speaking on Morning Ireland, Jones said that the area will be without its community centre and GAA facilities for a number of years. 

He said: “The pitch is unusable. They’re not allowing anyone on the site at the moment. We have top wait and see the report to see what caused it – I don’t want to say yet what caused it until we get full extent of report.

“The biggest thing is the shock of it and the devastation to the football club and the community centre. It’s all out of bounds for us now. Thankfully local clubs have contacted us and allowed us use their facilities so they have.”

The Health and Safety Authority said: “We are aware that an old section of the Gypsum mine in the area (no longer in use) has collapsed. We are not aware of injuries as a result and we will follow up with the company as appropriate.”

Gardaí confirmed that officers were at the scene, and said the school had been evacuated as a precaution.

Monaghan County Council also has engineers on site.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

41 Comments
    Mute Sean Ryan
    Favourite Sean Ryan
    Jul 17th 2019, 11:38 AM

The rules are the rules. I’m not saying they’re right but until they change this is what happens.

Mute Daithi Ó Raghallaigh
    Favourite Daithi Ó Raghallaigh
    Jul 17th 2019, 12:15 PM

@Sean Ryan: thing is were the wife applying to live here with that record we would allow her to come here , because most countries have discretion in such matters on humanitarian grounds where a wife and children would be seperated. I read about Trumps Parents-in-Law shown discretion despite having a record back in the former yugoslavia

Mute Sean Ryan
    Favourite Sean Ryan
    Jul 17th 2019, 12:26 PM

@Karl Lawlor: did I saw it was right? Typical reactive ape mentality from you Karl

See 16 more replies ▾
    Mute Martin McFly
    Favourite Martin McFly
    Jul 17th 2019, 12:34 PM

@Daithi Ó Raghallaigh: he moved there when George Bush was President. He’s applied for residences since 2009 when Obama was the President. He nor the system sorted out these issues for over 10 years. Is Trump really to blame? Way it looks is Bush /Obama in their time in office, could have fixed the issue but didn’t. Is this Mr. Byrne’s fault , those administrations or Trumps who is pretty much following their set laws. It’s a hard case, but as I said before., if he’s an honest hardworking lad there is plenty of work here for his trade.

Mute SFNutters
    Favourite SFNutters
    Jul 17th 2019, 12:42 PM

@Karl Lawlor: he’s just pointing out the facts…which if you don’t understand, makes you the clown.

Mute Alan Scott
    Favourite Alan Scott
    Jul 17th 2019, 1:06 PM

@Sean Ryan: I get that but its reported this man is legal in every other way with up to date taxes has his own house and business . Surely this family is a asset to America rather than a hindrance. I hope this family will be able to stay.

Mute Richard Carroll
    Favourite Richard Carroll
    Jul 17th 2019, 1:12 PM

@Alan Scott: legal every other way other then being legal.

Mute Karl Lawlor
    Favourite Karl Lawlor
    Jul 17th 2019, 1:16 PM

@SFNutters: he is a clown and u no it

Mute Renton Burke
    Favourite Renton Burke
    Jul 17th 2019, 1:21 PM

@Alan Scott: it’s a sad situation he had got himself in, but every aspect had been against the law. You don’t accidentally overstay your visa waiver (which actually ruined visa waivers), you do it on purpose. You don’t set up a business without a valid I’d, and he must have either used a forgery or an ex-immigrant. While there are calls for sympathy and empathy, he abused a system. Also, his whole family are legal for the whole of Europe, if he had a business, set it up here.

Mute ant
    Favourite ant
    Jul 17th 2019, 1:29 PM

@Sean Ryan: well they are right otherwise it’s an open border. Just because he’s Irish shouldn’t change that fact. Anyone who stays illegally does so knowing this may happen.

Mute Alan Scott
    Favourite Alan Scott
    Jul 17th 2019, 1:29 PM

@Richard Carroll: OK Smart ass Point I’m making he is able to pay his taxes buy his house. Given his wife is American he is the bread winner. The Authorities were happy enough to accept his money down through the years he certainly be let stay. Surely you are not agreeing he should be removed. PS you might take another look at your own post.

Mute ant
    Favourite ant
    Jul 17th 2019, 1:31 PM

@Alan Scott: up to date taxes doesn’t make u legal in any way. If he didn’t pay his taxes it’s the IRS that would be after him and they’re ruthless

Mute SFNutters
    Favourite SFNutters
    Jul 17th 2019, 1:41 PM

@Karl Lawlor: shoo

Mute Declan Edward
    Favourite Declan Edward
    Jul 17th 2019, 2:02 PM

@Karl Lawlor: Jesus, not only have you called people here, several times, clowns, now you tell them to kill themselves. In no comment have you offered an opinion, rather you attack the opinion of others. Grow up, lad, and learn how to debate the opinions of others

Mute Declan Edward
    Favourite Declan Edward
    Jul 17th 2019, 2:03 PM

@Declan Edward: and you’re deleting your comments almost as soon as you are posting them! :D

Mute Sean Ryan
    Favourite Sean Ryan
    Jul 17th 2019, 2:04 PM

@Karl Lawlor: wow. You seem lovely. Just buried two friends this year due to suicide. Thanks.

Mute Glenn O'hAilpín
    Favourite Glenn O'hAilpín
    Jul 17th 2019, 8:45 PM

@Sean Ryan: why would the rules not be right, he stayed illegally and was then arrested. Case closed, why is this news.

Mute Sean Ryan
    Favourite Sean Ryan
    Jul 17th 2019, 8:53 PM

@Glenn O’hAilpín: I didn’t say the rules were right or wrong. I think the law should be followed. I didn’t write the news either.

Mute David O'Toole
    Favourite David O'Toole
    Jul 18th 2019, 2:19 AM

@Daithi Ó Raghallaigh: On the ball Daithi I hope they can work something out!

Mute Dave Hammond
    Favourite Dave Hammond
    Jul 17th 2019, 11:44 AM

Can’t help but feel that this narrative of isn’t he unlucky to have ‘voluntarily declared on his application that there were previous drug offences’ – ‘ he is ‘law abiding citizen’ working hard in the US – I am sorry – I am an irish guy who lived there from 2003 – 2007 – he is not ‘law abiding ‘ when he didn’t sort out his visa and paperwork – Irish people enjoy the visa waiver program which allows to stay in the country of 90 days without a visa – staying for 10 years and working without sorting it out is not respecting the laws . It is a tough case I know I know – but the hypocrisy is pretty staggering when we want to (rightly )cry foul if people move from other continents to Ireland and try work illegally but then expect countries like the US not to enforce their immigration laws and immigration system properly. with respect If he could afford to buy a house in the US , and run his painting business , he could have afforded to sort out his visa a long time ago instead of asking now for a go fundme page .

Mute Dr Richard DeWitt
    Favourite Dr Richard DeWitt
    Jul 17th 2019, 12:33 PM

@Dave Hammond: I think the take-away for all the kids out there should be not to break the law or condone lawbreaking. See how these little convictions can come back and bite you on the hole for a very long time?

Mute Michael Nolan
    Favourite Michael Nolan
    Jul 17th 2019, 3:30 PM

@Dave Hammond: have to agree with u …it shoud not be easy to gain citizenship very easy to upset the ballance of a nation with lax immigration laws

Mute Owen Murphy
    Favourite Owen Murphy
    Jul 17th 2019, 9:36 PM

@Dr Richard DeWitt: he got caught with weed get a grip, if you take a drink your on much stronger drugs than what he has a conviction for you self righteous Pratt.

Mute The Great Unwashed
    Favourite The Great Unwashed
    Jul 17th 2019, 11:50 PM

@Owen Murphy:
    What part of what he said was wrong? You may not agree with it, but the fact is that if you pick up any relatively minor conviction you’ve just blown your chance of ever legally emigrating to the US.

Mute Colonel Grant
    Favourite Colonel Grant
    Jul 17th 2019, 11:53 AM

Typical Wishy Washy selective attitude the Irish have towards the rule of law and regulations.
    This guy is not undocumented, he is there illegally , end of.
    Deport or jail him for five years over there.

Mute noel cox
    Favourite noel cox
    Jul 17th 2019, 12:39 PM

@Colonel Grant: but they gave him a post number and taxed him nicely for 10 years even though he was illegal, you’re only a troll here I’ve noticed

Mute noel cox
    Favourite noel cox
    Jul 17th 2019, 12:41 PM

@noel cox: (pps number)*

Mute tommytukamomo
    Favourite tommytukamomo
    Jul 17th 2019, 1:05 PM

@Colonel Grant: Nail on the head.

Mute Renton Burke
    Favourite Renton Burke
    Jul 17th 2019, 1:24 PM

@noel cox: did they, though. I think you’ll find that the SSN he was trading on (and married with) was probably someone elses. Might explain giving the kids Mexican names.

Mute Adrian Gannon
    Favourite Adrian Gannon
    Jul 18th 2019, 1:03 AM

@Renton Burke: probably not! He would have been given an EIN # for his business and the IRS would have assigned ITIN# to file his individual tax. So what’s your point?

Mute Arya
    Favourite Arya
    Jul 17th 2019, 11:37 AM

Really tough one. Just do not overstay your visa in any country. It comes with such a huge uncertainty and constantly looking over your shoulders. Hopefully, there is a favourable outcome to this for him and his family.

Mute brian reid
    Favourite brian reid
    Jul 17th 2019, 11:42 AM

He broke the laws of the US…END OF…
    He is only making headlines here because he is Irish..
    What about the other over stays…from Italy..France..Spain..UK…the list goes on and on ….we don’t here about them because they are not Irish..So it now down to the dole office and sign on and collect €200 ..or go to Jail..

Mute John Horan
    Favourite John Horan
    Jul 17th 2019, 12:04 PM

@brian reid: plenty of jobs in Ireland no need for him to be signing on

Mute noel cox
    Favourite noel cox
    Jul 17th 2019, 12:37 PM

@brian reid: not a nice comment, dole? Are you ok

Mute brian reid
    Favourite brian reid
    Jul 17th 2019, 1:00 PM

@noel cox: collect €200 or go to Jail…
    If you got out more you would know it’s from playing a game of Monopoly…tried to be a little light hearted with what is happening to him and his family due to his mistake of over staying his Visa..a rule that the US take very seriously…so when they dig further they find his other activity of drugs ..another no.no. in applying for to stay in the US

Mute noel cox
    Favourite noel cox
    Jul 17th 2019, 1:52 PM

@brian reid: got out more? Monopoly….you should get out more

Mute brian reid
    Favourite brian reid
    Jul 17th 2019, 2:03 PM

@noel cox: I dont think that you really get the situation he has got himself into..if you have been to the US ..other than Disney World… you would know

Jul 17th 2019, 12:03 PM

The rules are the same for everyone , he is illegal therefore, has been turned down for a free card because of a minor conviction for Marijuana , very unfortunate but that is the law,

Mute Farreller
    Favourite Farreller
    Jul 17th 2019, 12:06 PM

Them the rules

Mute Ian Primrose
    Favourite Ian Primrose
    Jul 17th 2019, 12:47 PM

Man breaks the law of another country and suffers the consequences – no story here, let’s move on.

Mute Fergal Pigat
    Favourite Fergal Pigat
    Jul 17th 2019, 12:17 PM

Imagine obeying the laws of the country !

Mute Kevin Organ
    Favourite Kevin Organ

He’s not an ‘exceptional case’. Thousands of families are unfortunately in the exact same boat. All working. All paying taxes. All with families.

If people are only now paying attention because it’s affecting an Irishman this time, then they really need to take a long hard look at their views. This administration is ripping families apart left, right and centre.

Mute Dr Richard DeWitt
    Jul 17th 2019, 12:37 PM

@Kevin Organ: But sadly, all illegal. There are rules. You get a visa which gives you a limited entitlement. If you decide to stay and put down roots when you have no legal right to do so, it’s on you. We all pay tax everywhere we go (e.g., sales taxes) and most of us don’t break the law when abroad, so these are non sequiturs. Whether we agree with laws or not, they are the law until changed otherwise, and the state has the absolute right to enforce them absolutely. It is silly of anyone to think the law won’t apply to them.

Mute Mark Fields
    Favourite Mark Fields
    Jul 17th 2019, 1:53 PM

@Kevin Organ: do people who enter Ireland on a temporary visa pay taxes? Of course they do it’s the VAT. This happens whether they overstay the temporary visa or not. Do you really expect to enter a country and not abide the law? I tell you if you enter Canada on holiday you are welcomed. If you enter on business it has better not be to do any sort of labor. A business meeting OK, but you best have a letter of invitation from the Canadian company’s. I respect this and understand this.

Mute Marty from Sligo
    Favourite Marty from Sligo

If I was in his shoes I would leave by friday because the prisons in America are not nice places.

Mute Means of escape
    Favourite Means of escape
    Jul 17th 2019, 12:33 PM

@Marty from Sligo: end up being some dudes chump

Mute Seaniecp
    Favourite Seaniecp
    Jul 17th 2019, 11:40 AM

There something not right here. I do sympathize with him. Minor offences which wouldn’t even be illegal in a lot of states. How did he manage to secure a social security number. I guess it was alright for 10 years him contributing taxes etc. Seems like double standards.

Mute Brendan Coyne
    Favourite Brendan Coyne
    Jul 17th 2019, 11:45 AM

@Seaniecp: he would not have a social security number , it’s a tax id number that u obtain while in the process of getting citizenship and once you receive your citizenship your tax id credits go towards your social security

Mute Seaniecp
    Favourite Seaniecp
    Jul 17th 2019, 11:55 AM

@Brendan Coyne: ah ok. How does that go on for 10 years or so. I imagine he was employing people also. Wonder does he have other state issued things like driving license etc. Rules are rules I get that. But still seems unfair and seems like probably it must have been alerted b4 but a blind eye was given when it suited.

Mute The Great Unwashed
    Jul 17th 2019, 1:04 PM

@Seaniecp:
    Female genital mutilation isn’t illegal in many countries, but that doesn’t mean that someone who carries it out here should be given a free pass.

Mute ed w
    Favourite ed w
    Jul 17th 2019, 1:24 PM

@Seaniecp: one of those weird things in America seems you can get a social security number work away and pay taxes without a Visa.

Mute Seaniecp
    Favourite Seaniecp
    Jul 17th 2019, 2:13 PM

@The Great Unwashed: oh your so cool.

Mute Jessie Ginger
    Favourite Jessie Ginger
    Jul 17th 2019, 2:59 PM

@Brendan Coyne: you can get a social security number on a temporary work visa… it’s not tied to citizenship

Mute The Great Unwashed
    Jul 17th 2019, 3:15 PM

@Seaniecp:
    Come back to me when you can construct a reasoned response.

Mute Seaniecp
    Favourite Seaniecp
    Jul 17th 2019, 5:28 PM

@The Great Unwashed: your original response was way off base so it got the response it deserved.

Mute Seaniecp
    Favourite Seaniecp
    Jul 17th 2019, 5:32 PM

@The Great Unwashed: it’s not that his offences weren’t illegal in his country of origin. They were as he received convictions for them. It’s that the country he desires to live in would refuse his visa on the basis of those convictions. A country in which that wouldn’t even be a crime in many states. So your point was backwards and you’ve used it to he edgy or something. They ‘re the rules however and I get that like I have said above. I just said I find it harsh and can sympathise with the man.

Mute Seaniecp
    Favourite Seaniecp
    Jul 17th 2019, 5:34 PM

@The Great Unwashed: plus you have compared mutilation of female genitalia to smoking a bit of pot. That’s just a bit sensationalist.

Mute thomas mckevitt
    Favourite thomas mckevitt
    Jul 17th 2019, 12:05 PM

Why why why do we Irish think we have a great relationship with the US .we need a re think .laws are laws but this lad is just a number . unfortunately he will be sent home .

Mute Noel O Sullivan
    Favourite Noel O Sullivan
    Jul 17th 2019, 12:23 PM

Schools are better here and safer
    Food is better here
    Far less racism
    College is cheaper but maybe not better
    Labour laws are better
    Cops are fairer
    Judical system is cheaper and fairer
    Health care is cheaper but not as good
    Way less guns

Mute Dr Richard DeWitt

@Noel O Sullivan: Way *fewer* guns. But good sentiments overall.

Mute Tricia G
    Favourite Tricia G

@Noel O Sullivan: Yup.
    I’d the opportunity to return after spending 6 years living there and realised there was nothing there that topped what was here.

It’s a great experience when you’re young, not so much when you get a bit older and need to start thinking about healthcare and family.

Mute FastBuck
    Favourite FastBuck
    Jul 17th 2019, 12:47 PM

@Dr Richard DeWitt: I bet you’re great fun at parties.

Mute Dr Richard DeWitt
    Jul 17th 2019, 12:55 PM

@FastBuck: You’ve no idea. I can debate semantically like no one else. It’s truly a sight to behold – like an Irish red deer in the wild.

Mute Madra
    Favourite Madra
    Jul 17th 2019, 12:16 PM

I think in Ireland we love grey. The rules in most countries are black and white.
    No grey area.
    The chap seems like a top bloke, but take the person out of the situation it’s fairly black and white sadly.

Mute Garreth Mc Mahon
    Favourite Garreth Mc Mahon
    Jul 17th 2019, 12:48 PM

@Madra: that would be the uproar over the grey area in a case here where an Asian woman lied on her application for residency as she said said an Irish man was the father and he left them, only for it to be found to be a lie, the amount of people who commented on this site for them to stay as it wasn’t fair.as the child was born in Ireland and is Irish even though we voted to change the constitution 10 or so years previous to change this.

Mute jackbello
    Favourite jackbello

@Madra: we love the grey????? How grey is the back trap -?

Mute Kárl
    Favourite Kárl
    Jul 17th 2019, 11:43 AM

Everything is so Black and White in the U.S. There seems to be no room for mitigating circumstances. So, the man went to the states. Outstayed his visa. Set up a business and contributed to the welfare of the country. This man was not a leech on the public services. He is married with kids too. There is an underlying cruelty in the States where the authorities seem to enjoy separating parents from their children. I know we’ve got issues here in Ireland, but somehow, I don’t think we have such a cruel system.

Jul 17th 2019, 12:08 PM

@Kárl: he knew the system , end of.

Mute Sam Harms
    Favourite Sam Harms

@Kárl: sure why don’t we all just go to the US without the proper visa and contribute, and then say we should be allowed to stay when they tell us we are there illegally.

Mute The Great Unwashed
    Jul 17th 2019, 1:11 PM

@Kárl:
    The law generally is black and white – you’re incredibly naive to think otherwise.

Mute Kárl
    Favourite Kárl
    Jul 17th 2019, 1:15 PM

@Sam Harms: I fully understand what you’re saying Sam. But, each case should be decided on it’s merits. Separating a patent from his or her young children is not a nice thing to do. It hurts and punishes a lot more people than the sole person who failed to abide by his visa requirements. There must be a more humane way for him to be penalized.

Mute Mark Fields
    Favourite Mark Fields
    Jul 17th 2019, 1:56 PM

@Sam Harms: yes, this can be done. Fly to México then come across the border.

Mute Peter Murphy
    Favourite Peter Murphy
    Jul 17th 2019, 10:55 PM

@Kárl: you mean obeying the law is a cruel system.

Mute Adrian Gannon
    Favourite Adrian Gannon
    Jul 18th 2019, 1:13 AM

@Kárl: there is a far more humane process but you need to be able to hire legal reps which cost $$. Don’t think Sam would understand humane as she maybe a bot

Mute Dave Hammond
    Favourite Dave Hammond
    Jul 17th 2019, 12:52 PM

hmm…yep but by pointing out that he hasn’t had a work visa since 2007 doesn’t just magically make it right ffs !! – Work Permits and Immigration Laws – is it really that difficult a concept for you to ‘understand’ ?

Mute De20
    Favourite De20
    Jul 17th 2019, 12:18 PM

You can always tell total eejits on an issue like this by the use of ‘END OF’. ‘He knew the law when he went there END OF’ like A. they’re as pure as snow, and B. mitigation isn’t a factor in every single criminal case, and C. we aren’t all human and deserve some sympathy. Anyway, that’s my opinion END OF!

Mute Charles McCarthy
    Favourite Charles McCarthy
    Jul 17th 2019, 1:54 PM

Never build your home on a foundation that cannot be relied upon. Did this guy ever think what would happen “IF” he was caught and the effect it would have on his situation, which like all of us gets more complicated as we get older. He will need to leave the place he called home because he did not have a workable plan B.

Mute Karllye kripton
    Favourite Karllye kripton
    Jul 17th 2019, 1:18 PM

And what happens when too May Irish do this and the American Gov decides to take immigration out of Dublin airport and possibly scrap the visa waiver program I bet the won’t be to many happy about that

Mute Adrian Gannon
    Favourite Adrian Gannon
    Jul 18th 2019, 1:17 AM

@Karllye kripton: go back under that rock you climbed out from ya muppet. Typical troll trying to sow fear and threats.

Mute Peter
    Favourite Peter
    Jul 17th 2019, 11:57 AM

When he leaves jail does he get to stay?

Mute Dr Richard DeWitt

@Peter: Comment of the day. Hillaire!

Mute eoj
    Favourite eoj
    Jul 17th 2019, 3:46 PM

He broke the law. In two countries. Kick him out. He can get in line with all the folk trying to immigrate legally. Why does he think he can jump the queue ?

Mute Fiona Fitzgerald
    Favourite Fiona Fitzgerald
    Jul 17th 2019, 10:30 PM

@eoj: I can think of actual criminals that are far worse citizens. He made one minor mistake in Ireland years ago. I reckon he’s proved to be a good potential citizen. Stable, responsible, hard working – why not consider it as a trial period?

Mute eoj
    Favourite eoj
    Jul 17th 2019, 11:33 PM

@Fiona Fitzgerald: So if someone is squatting in your house but hasn’t torn the place apart then you’d give them a “trial period” to see if you’d let them stay permanently ?

Mute Daithi De Roiste
    Favourite Daithi De Roiste
    Jul 17th 2019, 3:48 PM

Why would you want to live in that kip anyway?

Mute Liam Neeson
    Favourite Liam Neeson
    Jul 17th 2019, 11:39 AM

Ridiculous decision.

Jul 17th 2019, 12:09 PM

@Liam Neeson: it’s the law.

Mute Karl Lawlor
    Favourite Karl Lawlor
    Jul 17th 2019, 12:12 PM

@Gus Sheridan: shut up ya clown just cause it’s the law doesn’t make it right

Mute Dr Richard DeWitt
    Jul 17th 2019, 12:38 PM

@Karl Lawlor: Maybe not, but it means that it can and will be enforced, and there’s absolutely nothing, nada, diddly squat to be done about it.

Mute The Great Unwashed

@Karl Lawlor:
    Unfortunately you can’t pick and choose the laws you wish to obey, at least not without consequences.
    The law may be an ass, but choose to break it at your peril and don’t be surprised when the consequences of your decision come calling.

Mute Michael Nolan
    Favourite Michael Nolan
    Jul 17th 2019, 3:33 PM

@Karl Lawlor: eh actually it does.

Mute Peter Murphy
    Favourite Peter Murphy
    Jul 17th 2019, 10:58 PM

@Karl Lawlor: of course it makes it right.

Mute David Malone
    Favourite David Malone
    Jul 17th 2019, 12:29 PM

This is really really sad, the poor man doesn’t know the next time he’ll see his wife and kids.
    I don’t understand the “these are the rules” and “there’s worse cases” comments he’s being working hard in the US since 2007 he deserves to stay there, this is not right!

Mute Dr Richard DeWitt

@David Malone: While I sympathise with the personal tragedy of the situation, can you also see that if he deserves to stay there, then everyone else in a similar situation does to, and such an approach just wouldn’t work? The can’t give him a free pass just because he’s Irish and good craic and send the millions of others home.

Mute Sam Harms
    Favourite Sam Harms
    Jul 17th 2019, 12:43 PM

@David Malone: but he went without the proper visa knowing this could happen, yet decided to start a family and set up a business

Mute The Great Unwashed
    Jul 17th 2019, 1:23 PM

@David Malone:
    Woohooo! Open borders!

Mute David Malone
    Favourite David Malone
    Jul 17th 2019, 1:39 PM

@Dr Richard DeWitt: it seems just to be very black and white, he been paying taxes and seems to be contributing positivity to society why can’t they review his situation?

Mute David Malone
    Favourite David Malone
    Jul 17th 2019, 1:41 PM

@Sam Harms: it’s not fair to blame him for the situation he’s in, just because he didn’t have a Visa doesn’t mean he’s not allowed to have a family and try to provide for them

Mute Dr Richard DeWitt
    Jul 17th 2019, 1:52 PM

@David Malone: If they do that for him, they would have to do that for everyone in a similar position. And that’s not how it works under the current law. They can’t just give him a free pass.

Mute BDEB
    Favourite BDEB
    Jul 17th 2019, 2:08 PM

@David Malone: David, he could have come home after his visa was due to expire and do the whole process legally. He out stayed his visa and therefore knew what was coming down the line all along. It’s tough but unfortunately that is the rules.

Mute Sam Harms
    Favourite Sam Harms
    Jul 17th 2019, 2:33 PM

@David Malone: Nobody said he isn’t allowed to have a family, but as he didn’t have a visa then he should have started that family in Ireland or a country where he could live without a visa

Mute Philomena Stack
    Favourite Philomena Stack
    Jul 17th 2019, 7:52 PM

@David Malone: Who is to blame for the situation he is in? Certainly is his own fault.

Mute Jim O Brien - TechBuzz Ireland
    Favourite Jim O Brien - TechBuzz Ireland
    Jul 17th 2019, 1:06 PM

He paid tax for years and nobody noticed. BS. On the Americans part

Mute Ronan McDermott
    Favourite Ronan McDermott
    Jul 17th 2019, 3:36 PM

Difficult situation & heart breaking for the family. But it’s difficult to see this ending well for them. He’s got a “drug” conviction. He’d be legal years ago if it wasn’t for this. The states don’t like drug convictions . Usually a lifetime ban I think. It’s not enough to say he’s a hard working guy paying taxes. I’ll be following this story for sure. Fingers crossed it works out for them though

Mute The only INFP in Ireland
    Favourite The only INFP in Ireland
    Jul 17th 2019, 2:46 PM

He’s clearly turned his life around – surely they must take that into account?

Mute Dr Richard DeWitt
    Jul 17th 2019, 3:15 PM

@The only INFP in Ireland: What, from being a druggie in Ireland like?

Mute The only INFP in Ireland
    Favourite The only INFP in Ireland
    Jul 17th 2019, 6:22 PM

@Dr Richard DeWitt: Yes

Mute GerryCummins
    Favourite GerryCummins
    Jul 17th 2019, 9:19 PM

@The only INFP in Ireland: based on falsehoods, lies and deception?

Mute Do the Bort man
    Favourite Do the Bort man
    Jul 17th 2019, 2:14 PM

So much for the American Dream.

Mute Ciarán Mac Cormaic
    Favourite Ciarán Mac Cormaic
    Jul 17th 2019, 1:58 PM

If it were their mother being separated from the children would ye all be so unsympathetic?

Mute The Great Unwashed
    Jul 17th 2019, 2:14 PM

@Ciarán Mac Cormaic:
    If it was the mother’s poor choices that led to it then yes – it’s hard to be overly sympathetic when someone’s situation is entirely of their own making. Decisions have consequences.

Mute Fiona Fitzgerald
    Jul 17th 2019, 4:47 PM

I’d say the same – it’s in the very best interests of the children that they review his case and see how he can stay and continue to contribute to the US economy as a law-abiding citizen. Do the least harm to the least amount of people.

Mute GerryCummins
    Favourite GerryCummins
    Jul 17th 2019, 9:20 PM

@Fiona Fitzgerald: because life works like that! Where can I buy your rose tinted glasses?

Mute Fiona Fitzgerald
    Jul 17th 2019, 10:35 PM

@GerryCummins: Seriously, look at the sort of people who take their US citizenship for granted. People who take their problems out on everyone around them, who commit crimes on US soil. People who abandon and mistreat children, who abuse – you get the picture. And then there’s this stable family who have done no harm to anyone.

Mute David Lafferty FCCA
    Favourite David Lafferty FCCA
    Jul 17th 2019, 1:20 PM

Could the Irish Government and Irish courts wipe his criminal record clean or quash his old conviction, it might help normalise his status in the states?

Mute Dr Richard DeWitt
    Jul 17th 2019, 1:36 PM

@David Lafferty FCCA: Oh yes, of course, and what about the other thousands of cannabis-related convictions roaming around the country? Do they get an amnesty too? And if they do, have they recourse against the State for giving them a conviction which was so easily revoked? And what about their loss of earning and opportunity because of this now-shown-to-be-not-really-a-conviction conviction?

I must vet my accountants more closely in future. Fellowship of ACCA seems far too easily attained…

Mute Just Some Guy
    Favourite Just Some Guy
    Jul 17th 2019, 1:39 PM

@David Lafferty FCCA: #

What a ridiculous suggestion.

Mute brian reid
    Favourite brian reid
    Jul 17th 2019, 1:55 PM

@David Lafferty FCCA: His Visa over stay is the main issue and no getting around that…the other convictions add fuel to the fire..so with them or without he has still broken the US rules

Mute Michael Nolan
    Favourite Michael Nolan
    Jul 17th 2019, 3:34 PM

@David Lafferty FCCA: wow i mean wow

Mute Dr Richard DeWitt
    Jul 17th 2019, 3:54 PM

@David Lafferty FCCA: Sorry, my comment about your FCCA was a bit harsh and unjustified. I apologise.

Mute GerryCummins
    Favourite GerryCummins
    Jul 17th 2019, 9:17 PM

@David Lafferty FCCA: of course they could! Then you can ask the US to ignore the fact he overstayed his 90 day tourist visa by 12 by 12 years! Ffs!

Mute eoj
    Favourite eoj
    Jul 17th 2019, 11:36 PM

@David Lafferty FCCA: that’s only half his criminal record….