You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Watch out for these exciting new rides coming to Ireland soon

Here’s all the car-related news you need to know this week – including the Beijing Motor Show.

EVERY WEEK, WE bring you all the latest news you need to know from the motoring world. The big reveals this past week came from one of the biggest events in the car enthusiast’s calendar.

Beijing Motor Show highlights

The Beijing Motor Show ran for a week with many cars unveiled that may never make it to these shores. However, there have been some world debuts by European brands including Audi, Porsche, Renault and Volkswagen that will indeed come to Ireland in some form.

Audi TT RS

newspress.co.uk newspress.co.uk

Audi whipped off the covers of its most powerful TT to ever enter series production. The Audi TT RS is the first recipient of an updated version of the old TT RS’ five-cylinder 2.5 TFSI powerplant, which now produces 400hp with 480Nm of torque available from 1,700 to 5,850rpm, and is mated to a seven-speed dual-clutch S tronic transmission, sending power to all four wheels.

Two variants of the TT RS were unveiled, the Coupé and Roadster. Both models have a top speed of 280km/h (174mph) with the Coupé doing the 0-100km/h dash in 3.7 seconds and the Roadster doing it in 3.9 seconds.

Irish pricing will be released later in the year.

Porsche 718 Cayman

Porsche chose the Chinese show to unveil its new 718 Cayman. This two-seat mid-engined sports coupé is powered by a new four-cylinder ‘boxer’ turbocharged engine, the same engine found in the 718 Boxster. This 2.0-litre engine produces 300hp and 380Nm of torque between 1,950 and 4,500rpm.

The 718 Cayman S is powered by 2.5-litre engine, which produces 350hp (up 25hp on the previous model) and 420Nm of torque from 1,900 to 4,500rpm.

In terms of speed, the 718 Cayman can reach 274km/h (170mph) and the Cayman S 285km/h (177mph). If equipped with Porsche’s twin-clutch PDK gearbox and optional Sport Chrono Package, the 718 Cayman can do 0-100km/h in 4.7 seconds and the 718 Cayman S can do it in 4.3 seconds.

The 718 Cayman costs €64,932 and the 718 Cayman S costs €82,898 and both models are available to order from Porsche Centres.

Renault Koleos

Renault revealed the third addition to its SUV family, which sits above the Captur and Kadjar in the Irish range.

The Koleos is a large, imposing car with a wheelbase of 2,710mm, an overall length of 4,670mm, width of 1,840mm and ground clearance of 213mm. It has a whopping 624-litre boot capacity with Renault claiming “class-leading cabin space, including 289mm of rear knee room”.

Up front, the Renault Koleos adopts the family face with a broad chrome grille incorporating a prominent central Renault logo. Notable styling cues are lifted from the Megane, especially at the rear which is dominated by long taillights that stretch across the boot. With its large size and chrome embellishments, including strips running from the head lights along the full length of the wings, the Koleos is no wallflower.

Based on the Renault-Nissan Alliance’s CMF-C/D architecture, which is shared by several vehicles, including the Renault Kadjar and Nissan Qashqai and X-Trail, the Koleos also features All-Mode 4×4-i technology, which allows for two-wheel drive (front-drive) and four-wheel drive Auto modes.

Depending on individual markets, a two-wheel drive version will also be available as will a choice of two petrol and two diesel engines with power outputs ranging from 130 to 175hp mated to either a six-speed manual gearbox or X-Tronic automatic transmission.

The new Koleos will be available here in early 2017.

Volkswagen T-Prime Concept GTE

The star of Volkswagen’s stand at Beijing was this new SUV concept with plug-in hybrid powertrain and all-wheel drive.

However, what we are undoubtedly looking at is the new Volkswagen Touareg, which is due to hit our shores in 2017.

The Touareg is Volkswagen’s biggest SUV and the new one is planned to share the same long wheelbase, MLB2 platform as the Audi Q7 and Bentley’s first ever SUV, the Bentayga.

However, at 5,069mm long and 2,000mm wide the T-Prime Concept GTE is longer and wider than the current Touareg, which has led some to believe that the next-gen Touareg will offer a third row of seats much like its Audi stablemate. Only time will tell…

READ: Car hack – the quickest way to defog windows

READ: More motoring news

5 Comments
    Mute DeWitt
    Favourite DeWitt
    Jul 20th 2020, 3:50 PM

I think this is very unfair on landlords who have nonpaying tenants. i agree with no evictions for paying tenants, but this infringes on property rights. remember there are lots of accidental landlords out there in negative equity.

Mute Shamel Jelupi Barron
    Favourite Shamel Jelupi Barron
    Jul 20th 2020, 4:41 PM

@DeWitt: yes and then the cost of getting them out. I don’t know why they have an eviction ban when it takes over a year to get someone out of your own property and them not paying. And as for that 5 euros a week they will pay you back when they owe you €15000. I wonder if you just took there car for the value of what they owe you how far would you get. The law is wrong wrong wrong. I surprised anyone pays rent.

Mute Ger Murphy
    Favourite Ger Murphy
    Jul 20th 2020, 4:48 PM

@DeWitt: You make a good point. But the political narrative refuses to recognise that the majority of landlords are ordinary joes and Josephines and decent people. Likewise vast majority of tenants are good. There are a minority of bad eggs on both sides. These minorities are causing a lot of harm. I have a house rented out. It is my pension investment. I have a brilliant tenant in place for almost 10 years. I get about 60% of the market rate. I could have upped rent by 30%, 40% or 50% a few years ago but i chose not to. If my tenant stops paying tomorrow i have zero recourse. That isn’t fair. I still have to pay insurance, repairs etc.

See 14 more replies ▾
    Mute Rochelle
    Favourite Rochelle
    Jul 20th 2020, 5:03 PM

@Ger Murphy:
    Tenants often have nothing and face homelessness if evicted.
    It’s a pandemic, many peoples income has dried up over night and our attitude should be to look out for those most vulnerable over concern for a pension investment.

Everyone is being asked to bear the burden of the pandemic in some way or another to protect those around us, only a select few are choosing to complain about it for being out of pocket.

Mute james foley
    Favourite james foley
    Jul 20th 2020, 5:41 PM

@Rochelle: yes agree then tennant should apply for housing benefit.

Mute Ger Murphy
    Favourite Ger Murphy
    Jul 20th 2020, 6:10 PM

@Rochelle: I’m 100% with you. The point i was making (badly) was there is a small % who will use this as an opportunity to just not pay. That goes against the who collective spirit of everyone doing their bit.

Mute marian
    Favourite marian
    Jul 20th 2020, 6:24 PM

@DeWitt: Is not unfair at all, landlords and estate agencies are a bunch of ********

Mute Shamel Jelupi Barron
    Favourite Shamel Jelupi Barron
    Jul 20th 2020, 6:34 PM

@marian: so it’s not unfair some one doesn’t pay rent in over a year and takes another year to get them out that’s 2 years no rent paid. Oh yea oh yea that is so fair you f…… T.. T.

Mute DeWitt
    Favourite DeWitt
    Jul 20th 2020, 7:29 PM

@Rochelle: it’s about personal responsibility. Why is the landlord responsible for the tenants. If a person owns a house and wants to sell it, then they should be allowed do so. Tenants have to look after themselves not the landlord.

Mute marian
    Favourite marian
    Jul 20th 2020, 8:33 PM

@Shamel Jelupi Barron: they do pay the rents on time everytime stfu

Mute D'oh
    Favourite D'oh
    Jul 20th 2020, 8:42 PM

@marian: Lol, life is not a free ride, even the most poor here live in the top 15% in the world.

Mute David Smith
    Favourite David Smith
    Jul 20th 2020, 11:47 PM

@DeWitt: no such thing as a accidental landlords. Did they accidentally stumble upon a pen and fall onto a desk that had mortgage documentation on it and accidentally scrawled their name. Cop on.

Mute Alan Fitzgerald
    Favourite Alan Fitzgerald
    Jul 20th 2020, 11:52 PM

@Rochelle: You are missing the point. If the government want to ban evictions that’s fine but they then need to cover the cost. I am an accidental landlord who bought a house to live in and could not sell when I needed to move on. I could not afford to pay two mortgages. I have a family and three kids to look after also with just me working. Can I get your details and ask you to make a contribution towards the rent if they can’t pay it? I don’t want to see anyone evicted but I don’t want to go under myself either, it can’t be all one sided. If you were suddenly asked to pay out an extra 1000 eur a month for a year through no fault of your own what kind of impact would that have on your life and the life of your dependents. My point here is there are two sides to the story.

Mute Clint
    Favourite Clint
    Jul 21st 2020, 1:27 AM

@DeWitt: cry me a river you carb loader.

Mute JP Pilibin
    Favourite JP Pilibin
    Jul 21st 2020, 1:35 AM

@DeWitt: How could anybody be an accidental landlord ~ Did a house or apartment land on their greedy head !

Mute Rochelle
    Favourite Rochelle
    Jul 21st 2020, 10:52 AM

@DeWitt: Tenants can’t look after themselves due to a market demanding massive rents which can’t be covered by the covid payment rate. It’s a societal issue caused by a mixture of a housing market out of control and a pandemic, neither of which are the fault of tenants.

It’s not particularly fair on landlords either but they can bear the burden with minimal consequence, tenants cannot.

Mute Alan Fitzgerald
    Favourite Alan Fitzgerald
    Jul 21st 2020, 10:06 PM

@JP Pilibin: It easily happens. You buy a house during the boom to live in and take a massive hit on it between the massive deposit you paid and then the fact it plummets in value. If you then need to move on and selling it won’t cover the mortgage you are then stuck with it and need to hold on to it for 10 years or so to try and recoup your losses. You are now an accidental landlord who never had any intention of getting into the property game.Happened to thousands of people most of whom would now be in late 30s or early to mid 40s

Mute Cookie
    Favourite Cookie
    Jul 20th 2020, 4:15 PM

It’s a start.
    There also needs to be tax assistance to people who are paying more than 50% of their net salary in rent.

Mute Sal Paradise
    Favourite Sal Paradise
    Jul 20th 2020, 4:28 PM

@Cookie: Tax assistance is pointless and will just mean tax payers subsidising rent which will probably result in rents sky rocketing

Mute Craic_a_tower
    Favourite Craic_a_tower
    Jul 20th 2020, 4:30 PM

@Cookie: makes more sense to reduce tax on rent paid and have a method to show it is passed on to the tenant. Cheaper to administer

Mute Brendan Barr
    Favourite Brendan Barr
    Jul 20th 2020, 9:32 PM

@Sal Paradise: how could that happen in a rent freeze?

Mute Sal Paradise
    Favourite Sal Paradise
    Jul 21st 2020, 2:25 PM

@Brendan Barr: I’m basing on assumption that this is a long term suggestion as opposed to a temporary one.

Mute marian
    Favourite marian
    Jul 20th 2020, 6:18 PM

Wages are the same for years! Rent increase should happen once every 5 years or so ( but with a limit ), I’m living at this address for 10 years and my landlord has added 50-100euro every year (except once)…

Mute Bab Read
    Favourite Bab Read
    Jul 20th 2020, 8:11 PM

@marian: yes there should be rent caps in place a lot of landlords purchased property years ago and when they did buy the rents being charged was high enough to cover mortgage repayments and any maintenance issues that arises. But now it’s just pure greed by the landlords in a lot of instances what the Tennant is like doesn’t matter it’s who offers the most rent and ability to pay it.

Mute D'oh
    Favourite D'oh
    Jul 20th 2020, 8:43 PM

@marian: Your landlord owes you nothing.

Mute Bab Read
    Favourite Bab Read
    Jul 20th 2020, 8:51 PM

@D’oh: explain

Mute Aidan O' Neill
    Favourite Aidan O' Neill
    Jul 20th 2020, 10:17 PM

@Bab Read: rent shouldn’t have to cover the entire mortgage. A landlord is getting a very valuable asset at the end of term.

Mute Sean
    Favourite Sean
    Jul 20th 2020, 10:56 PM

@Aidan O’ Neill: oh very good and do you go into shops and explain to them what you think they should be charging you based on how profitable you think their business model is?

Mute Patrick FitzGerald
    Favourite Patrick FitzGerald
    Jul 21st 2020, 2:52 AM

@Sean: How do you feel, personally, about the people who bought PPE by the box-load at the start of the COVID pandemic, with the intention of re-selling it at a premium to people desperate for a means to protect themselves from the virus? Such cases were reported widely in the media in February and March, and such individuals were rightly condemned across the board as out-and-out vile jerks.

Those who accumulate property which they don’t have a personal need of just so they can exploit a shortage by leeching money from their desperate fellow citizens are literally doing exactly the same thing, just on a longer time scale and with slower-burning repercussions than those who did so with PPE during the pandemic. Hoarding property one has no personal need for should be a societal taboo in the same way as littering, throwing away good food, smoking in enclosed spaces, wasting clean water, etc. Those who engage in it are responsible for many of society’s ailments.

The high cost of housing, driven in a large part by competition between speculators who have no need to actually live in the property they treat like a mere trading card, is causing absolute misery for tens of thousands of Irish people, and anyone who willingly contributes to this problem should be regarded as a pariah.

Mute marian
    Favourite marian
    Jul 21st 2020, 11:44 AM

@D’oh: f my landlord and all other landlords that exploit this shortage of housing in Ireland, the virus gonna take care of them!

Mute D'oh
    Favourite D'oh
    Jul 21st 2020, 8:56 PM

@marian: Did you just get up?

Mute Bab Read
    Favourite Bab Read
    Jul 21st 2020, 9:24 PM

@marian: yes they do I have just been exploited property was sold rent was very good we had a tenancy termination order placed on me has a condition of sale otherwise sale would not had happened I was days away from being evicted but managed to agree a deal which gives me a year but with a substantial hike in rent

Mute Tommy Fitzgerald
    Favourite Tommy Fitzgerald
    Jul 20th 2020, 10:28 PM

Our country has become to left wing liberal. We need a political party that represents hard working people who work hard all their life to accumulate something to pass on to their kids. The government and the left wing media only seem to care about people who dont want to work or dont want to pay their rent, mortgage or whatever. Politicians and journalists are out of touch with the real hard working people of ireland. If you cant pay your rent you should get out. I never took anything in my life I couldnt pay for.

Mute james foley
    Favourite james foley
    Jul 20th 2020, 10:31 PM

@Tommy Fitzgerald: welcome to the entitled Ireland

Mute Remington
    Favourite Remington
    Jul 20th 2020, 10:59 PM

@Tommy Fitzgerald: and what about those hardworking people who due to extortionate rents cannot accumulate anything to pass on to their kids? I think you are the one who is out of touch with the real hard working people of Ireland who some of them earn an average income but yet cannot afford to get on the property ladder. No one claims that you should give anyone anything for free but but if you force them to give landlords more than 50% of their income then there is something wrong, don’t you think?

Mute Clint
    Favourite Clint
    Jul 21st 2020, 1:23 AM

@Tommy Fitzgerald: geebag

Mute Are You For Real
    Favourite Are You For Real
    Jul 20th 2020, 11:55 PM

Great, so tenants who dont pay rent are protected but if banks repossess the property due to landlords not paying their mortgage, what then?

This is totally unfair to the Landlord

Mute Clint
    Favourite Clint
    Jul 21st 2020, 1:24 AM

@Are You For Real: boo hoo

Mute Jack Cass
    Favourite Jack Cass
    Jul 20th 2020, 9:22 PM

But 6 months ago they said it was against the constitution to have a rent freeze!!!

Mute Geoff Bateman
    Favourite Geoff Bateman
    Jul 20th 2020, 9:53 PM

@Jack Cass: they certainly did.. But as you know this is Ireland

Mute Sean
    Favourite Sean
    Jul 20th 2020, 10:57 PM

@Geoff Bateman: it is. That is why the AG told them to end it.

Mute Jack Cass
    Favourite Jack Cass
    Jul 21st 2020, 12:44 AM

@Sean: Constitution can only be changed by Referendum, not AG.

Mute JP Pilibin
    Favourite JP Pilibin
    Jul 21st 2020, 1:33 AM

@Jack Cass: No its not ~

Mute Craic_a_tower
    Favourite Craic_a_tower
    Jul 21st 2020, 8:16 AM

@Jack Cass: a permanent rent freeze is illegal that is what they said and that remains true. The rent freeze is right in an extraordinary situation like now. The problem is they were already using a temporary rent freeze and kept extending it make it permanent. This was to get around the constitution making it illegal as it continued.

Mute Brendan Barr
    Favourite Brendan Barr
    Jul 20th 2020, 9:20 PM

A rent freeze isn’t much benefit to tenants spending half their wages on rent. Tax relief combined with a rent freeze or cap is what is required to help tenants live in one of the most expensive cities in the world.

Mute adrian j aungier
    Favourite adrian j aungier
    Jul 20th 2020, 7:50 PM

Look no need to worry OBrien the bluffer that saved Murphy will ensure your not homeless until August. Meanwhile back in Malahide closed garda station all is quiet as Daragh cant get it open for his lawless lackies that got him elected. Sure look at the profile of the Banker$ that know on doors for him. One or two dodgy characters among them

Mute Gerard O'Sullivan
    Favourite Gerard O'Sullivan
    Jul 21st 2020, 1:30 AM

O’Brien is a spoofer. The AG is giving him a none too subtle hint and indicating there is likely to be a constitutional issue raised with his ban on evictions. The law is so biased in favour of tenants in this country at this stage that any prospective investor thinking of entering the private rental market would be absolutely bonkers to proceed. Best to dig a big deep hole in the back garden for the cash instead. It’d be a lot less aggravation than attempting to get rid of a non-paying tenant in whose number there is bound to be an increase if O’Brien has his way and introduces this charter for rent-dodgers.

Mute Patrick FitzGerald
    Favourite Patrick FitzGerald
    Jul 21st 2020, 2:42 AM

If people who already have somewhere to live would stop buying extra property in order to “earn” passive income without having to work for it, there would be less competition for residential property and thus prices would fall across the board. This is why the relentless “not all landlords are a problem” BS is so tiring – the very act of hoarding property you don’t actually use yourself is a problem in a country in which there isn’t enough residential property to go around.

Nobody questions the condemnation of people who, for example, bought PPE by the box-load to re-sell it at a premium when the pandemic began. Those people are rightly regarded as toxic leeches on society. Why should people who do the same with property not be regarded in the same way?

If you don’t need a place to live, don’t buy one. If you want to earn money, provide a service with your skills or make something to earn it. Using access to property you don’t actually *need* as a means of transferring wealth from those who are already being screwed with the spiralling cost of living may be legal, but it’s fundamentally immoral and people have every right to despise those who choose, of their own free will and through their own lack of care for their fellow human’s wellbeing, to engage in such practises.

Mute Paul Kennedy
    Favourite Paul Kennedy
    Jul 20th 2020, 6:25 PM
    Mute Maria Quinn
    Favourite Maria Quinn
    Jul 20th 2020, 10:15 PM

Which owner? The banks are the property owners until the mortgage is paid in full so …
    From “we expect the landlords pass the benefits to their tenants” to “the attorney and property ownership and blah blah blah”
    The RTB has been operating unlawfully all throughout the pandemic and still, there are legal issues with the famous HAP and the ability of the Councils to enforce the building regulations and housing standards. To enforce RTB landlord is only the owner but the word of someone claiming being the landlord is not questionable at the RTB by Law

School leavers need a certification to enter in a construction site. However nothing is required to the persons with the Right to hold a key of tenants homes because an rare interpretation of the Law, to satisfy the need of controlling …. able adults

The pause bottom has been pushed and should remain in pause until the mess around private renting

Special attention to the frauds committed by the landlords …. just like everyone else

It is realistic to think the landlords have committed fraudulent pandemic claims as usual … Warm Home Scheme a specific EPA scheme to fight energy poverty … a despicable fraud of landlords

Keep pressed the pause bottom and take advantage of the unroll of the Smart Meters to REGISTER All THE TENANCIES by the dwelling MPRN … records of rent paid and State benefits granted to the landlord

Realistic and effective measures, screening and controlling landlords like anyone else!

Mute lambda sensor
    Favourite lambda sensor
    Jul 20th 2020, 11:15 PM

@Maria Quinn: ya what now??

Mute Are You For Real
    Favourite Are You For Real
    Jul 20th 2020, 11:58 PM

@Maria Quinn: you haven’t got a clue what you’re talking about

Mute Vic's Burd
    Favourite Vic's Burd
    Jul 21st 2020, 2:48 AM

@Maria Quinn: can someone translate this please?

Mute JP Pilibin
    Favourite JP Pilibin
    Jul 21st 2020, 1:32 AM

He must love landlords ~ What a plonker !

Mute Criostoir Mac Ranghaill
    Favourite Criostoir Mac Ranghaill
    Jul 21st 2020, 8:06 AM

August 1st a happy day for the Healy Raey’s and all the other Landlords on the Political / Legal Scene

Mute Damian Mac An Bháird
    Favourite Damian Mac An Bháird
    Jul 21st 2020, 5:49 AM

Ah makes me all warm and fuzzy. Psychos

Mute Joseph Duggan
    Favourite Joseph Duggan
    Jul 21st 2020, 12:40 PM

Who will decide if the crisis is over bankers or medical personnel