You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.
FOR THE FIFTH year in a row, Mrs Brown’s Boys proved extremely popular amongst Irish viewers this Christmas.
The show pulled off a double whammy with the Christmas special – Mrs Brown’s Boys: Mammy’s Christmas Punch - being the most popular with viewers on Christmas Eve, as well as Mrs Brown’s Boys D’Movie being the most watched broadcast on Christmas Day.
The Christmas special pulled in an average 668,400 viewers on Christmas Eve, while a further 72,700 viewers watched it on RTÉ One +1 that night. This is a slight fall-off on last year’s special, which attracted 703,100 viewers on Christmas Day.
The audience reach – the total number of people who tuned in for a minute or more of the programme – was 919,200.
Christmas Day viewing
591,300 viewers tuned in to watch the movie on Christmas Day. The movie was watched by a further 45,500 viewers on RTÉ One +1.
In the UK, Mrs Brown’s Boys came third in the Christmas Day viewings, with 6.4 million people tuning in. Last year, Mrs Brown’s Boys became the most-watched show of the Christmas period in the UK, with 9.69 million consolidated viewers. This year, the Downton Abbey finale took the top spot.
The most-watched soap on Irish television on Christmas Day was Fair City with an average of 351,800 viewers enjoying the hour-long episode.
On RTÉ2, the ever-popular Father Ted Christmas special shown on Christmas Eve brought in an average audience of 188,700.
Nostalgia
It seems the Irish audience are nostalgic for shows from the past this year.
On Sunday night, half a million people tuned in to RTÉ One to watch, Well Holy God, It’s Glenroe.
The show, which celebrated Ireland’s much-loved soap, was watched by an average of 497,900 viewers for a 34 per cent share, and caused quite a stir on social media.
Daniel O’Donnell also proved popular this year, with his festive special –Daniel O’Donnell and Friends – being the most watched entertainment show on Stephen’s Day drawing an average audience of 391,200, 25.5 per cent share of the viewership.
The other most popular Christmas movies this year were:
Gravity on RTÉ One with 274,700 viewers
Brave with an average audience of 253,900
Superman reboot Man of Steel with 164,500 viewers
The most watched news broadcast over the bank holiday weekend was Monday, 27 December Nine O’Clock News on RTÉ One with an average audience of 562,200.
The television figures, provided by RTÉ, are sourced from TAM Ireland Ltd/ Nielsen TAM, Live + VOSDAL data, National Individuals.
A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article.
Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.
Comparing protestors, the overwhelming majority of whom were peaceful, to fascism/fascists is not only distasteful, but historically and intellectually ignorant.
Definition of fascism: A system of government marked by centralization of authority under a dictator, a capitalist economy subject to stringent governmental controls, violent suppression of the opposition, and typically a policy of belligerent nationalism and racism.
There was absolutely nothing even closely resembling fascism at that demonstration and anyone with half a brain would know that.
On the otherhand, iPhone Joan is a member of a government that through taxation is exerting more influence over its citizens lives than any government to date and meanwhile we have a leader who eschews debate in favour of packaged “state of the nation” type addresses and personal attacks. He had ministers who used ministerial powers to access information that was then used to smear opponents. Quangos filled with favoured party members. All undemocratic, and all leading towards a stronger central government.
It is a pity the fascist left and fascist right are involved in this legitimate public protest over water. As ever they will destroy and create violence where ever they can. Shameful behaviour
Don’t forget the “Economic Management Council”, a four person body, consisting of the Taoiseach, the Tánaiste, and Ministers of Finance and Public Expenditure & Reform. Fits the definition of “centralization of authority under a dictator” in this case, four people deciding the faith of the nation and using the cabinate and an overwhelming parliamentary majority to rubberstamp their policies. Also “a capitalist economy subject to stringent governmental controls”, pretty much where we are now. Finally “violent suppression of the opposition”, well, there are plenty of videos showing how protesters are handled by the arms of the state at this point in time.
Guess what Joan, it looks like you are part of a fascist regime!!!
One of the first acts of this renegade government was to get rid of the town councils thereby removing what little power people had a local level. This could be seen as fascism at work.
Kevin you are to gentle. Joan has not said she reflected on the ignition of fascism. For example the ignition switch was turned when Labour stood by and let the middle class become the new working poor. Labour is pushing for levy taxes which are exempt from tax relief. Labour spit the words ” off balance sheet ” like Marie Antoinette spAt at the French ” let them eat cake if they cannot afford bread”.
As a minister Joan has accused pensioners of incest relations with family members consider her Gestapo riot social welfare fraud squad took pension books off pensioners because a relation sibling was living in the house.
Joan brain is so fixed of peasant ideology towards us , she now considers us as beneath this government shoe, and they treat us like dirt. Election drawing near and the longer Joan puts that off the closer Labour become extinct.
To imprison any person I don’t agree with, but in early new year the biggest story of government corruption will be told. I feel sorry for the families who lost a male in the stardust fire disaster. They will be very hurt and devastated come the new year. God forgive this government.
James Connolly is now spinning in his grave so fast, that it has begun to effect the length of the day. If this keeps up we won’t need a leap year soon.
She’s kind of right. A leader who’s part of an insulated cabal of four, who who needs protection from the anger of the masses, by using a police force and other instruments of the state, to instill their will on the people. (Water Meters, Property Tax etc) So in a weird way I can see parallels too.
In her position I would have thought “What have I done to drive law abiding, hard working citizens to this extreme? ” Of course she has taken the “more sinned against than sinned” stance. I hope she never has to hear a bailiff beating at the door or a bank representitive demanding the keys of your car. Neither representive of or for the Irish people. Is that the democracy she mentions? The wholesale betrayal of the majority to placate the few? Watching people emigrate, others driven to suicide, stress, despair, anxiety and fear so they (all of them…every party!) can trot out their soundbites to journalists and conduct a parliament like their own private bloody circus! Shame on every one of them! They may as well be on the space station for all the good they are!
This must be what their advisors are telling them to say. It has to be the woest govt in the history of the state for PR. People are wise now this doesn’t work anymore.
Keep it up Joan – it’s stupid statements like this that are burying you & Labour. If you’re not doing anything over your three week Christmas holiday perhaps you should look up the word ‘perspective’ and perhaps by the time you return to the Dail you may know what that means at least!!
All highly charged stuff on here from people who only a few days later stand idly by when a single woman and her family are terrorised on a daily basis in their homes by little tykes in this same community. Why is water charges unacceptable and criminal behaviour is ?
Well said David, the same people who picketed Tallaght Garda station while the Maria Cahill allegations hit the headlines – nothing more than deflection tactics, most of us seen through this
Anti social and criminal behavior which terrorizes people in their homes isn’t acceptable. While canvassing in Jobstown last October, I was with AAA councilor Brian Leech when he challenged a large group of teenagers who had congregated and were throwing fireworks at the front door/windows of a local immigrant family.
When we spoke to them, most of the youngsters were decent enough and admitted that they would hate to see their own families harassed like this and so agreed to stop.
It’s a small example but it shows that community solidarity is the solution to anti social behavior. Solidarity is also the antidote to the latest banker tax masquerading as water charges where hundreds of thousands have people are becoming politically aware and active and it scares the cozy establishment to its marrow.
@Coddler. I agree 100% with people power and dignified protest. I just listened to Paul Murphy painfully struggling to justify what he considers peaceful protest and yet not a word about what I consider to be a national disgrace of vulnerable people being targeted and harassed in their homes.
It’s not reasonable to expect Murphy to address whatever topics you happen to have on your mind and regardless of the questions an interviewer puts to him.
If he was asked, I imagine Murphy would give much the same response as I have above in regard to tackling anti social behavior in the community. Or you can easily put the question to him yourself. http://www.paulmurphy2014.com/
Murphy is an idi#t who just got lucky & the next election will see the back of him please god. Every interview I listen to with him he sprouts absolute garbage. He speaks of the poor yet he still manages to suck as much money out of the taxpayer as the rest of the TD’s in Leinster house through excessive salaries & expenses
It wasn’t luck that won Murphy the by-election. Sinn Fein had taken a weak and ineffective position in relation to opposing the Water charges which was exposed by the AAA during the campaign with a clear call for a mass boycott. This ultimately cost SF a seat which they were red hot favorites to take.
The Socialist Party/AAA TDs and councillors are not careerists. Their objective is to fight for a socialist alternative to improve conditions for the majority in society. Joe Higgins and Ruth Coppinger take the average industrial wage (34k) from their TDs salaries and expenses. Paul Murphy takes the average young person’s wage (22k). The remainder of their salaries and allowances are used to fund the various campaigns which the Socialist Party/AAA support nationally and internationally including the current Water charges campaign. Nobody is living the high life on expenses in the SP/AAA.
Neither does the SP/AA receive the millions that FF/FG/Labour and SF take from the exchequer each year under the Electoral Acts legislation and Party Leaders allowance.
In 2013 the figures were
FF €2.8 million
FG €4.9 million
SF €1.8 million
Labour €3.0 million
Coddled that doesn’t wash with me so stop playing with words. Murphy & Co still extract the maximum from the taxpayer by claiming their full salaries. If they wish to donate it to some backward party that’s their business, the point is they still claim the same amount as any FG or Labour TD through their excessive salaries & expenses. If they want to live on the average industrial wage let them give the remainder back to the taxpayers where it could be used housing some of the homeless! I listened to Coppinger recently God what planet is she on? She sprouts out the same policies that destroyed Eastern Europe and forced millions to live in destitute, maybe North Korea would be ideal for her?
I don’t care if you wash or not blueshirt hack. The AAA/Socialist Party make no apologies for using state funding to help unite and organize people to fight back against all the vicious attacks of neo liberal jackboot capitalism including Water charges, Home tax, USC, Health and Education cutbacks ands the extra 3 years added to our working lives etc etc etc.
We’ve already helped to save ordinary families €300 to €400 annually on their water bills with the government’s hasty retreat in the face of mass opposition so the SP/AAA salaries and expenses are very well spent.
The homeless epidemic and the water charges are both symptoms of the same problem. That is the ransacking of the nation to pay for the systemic failure of speculative financial capitalism in 2008. Ireland will hand €9 billion to the IMF this month while it’s citizens are fired onto the streets to prop up the balance sheets of the delinquent banks. And all the while you and your kind cheerlead the orgy of capitalist greed. Be off, you unclean parasite!
Coddler you need some specialist help & I feel sorry for your anger, take a deep breath there’s a good lad! Maybe a holiday in your beloved North Korea might help? I obviously touched a raw truth with you !
No….they’re just a democratically elected government…..
Deciding what laws to obey or not obey is more akin to facism, albeit Paul would need to get into government and become a sole dictator for that to happen…
Amused – deciding what laws to obey or not obey is anarchy – not fascism. Fascism is characterised by an expectation of total conformity and an unquestioning obedience to the authority of the state. I’ll let you figure out for yourself where the parallels with fascism lie in this country.
Yes Cathal. She was thrilled to be imprisioned by a mob. Idiot. I respect left of centre politicians (and right of centre). I despise with a special loathing mob and street agitators like that low life Murphy. And of course extremists such as SF.
So were the two cops in New York. I think it must have been absolutely terrifying. This is a democracy. She was elected. You can change that at the next election.
Granted, the two cops were sitting in a car. They were also cold heartedly executed. Was poor Joan subject to any violence? Apart from being made to sit on her tod for an hour or two. Bless her cotton socks.
Spot on Simon, the lefty looneys & apologists for the populist party are out in force on the journal this morning- they just love listening to themselves, boring tw#ts
JB has some cheek, her and the imposter champagne socialists in league with FG hijacked the entity that was the labour party and used it as a vehicle to ram home dodgy legislation while FG can stand back with clean hands and blame it all on the patsy party. These imposters in suits masquerading as politicians used the same patsy party model that hijacked the PD’s and green party to manipulate the Dail to their own ends while ensuring the survival of the big two FF/FG. Just remember this JB and your scheming counterparts, the Dail your plotting in is OUR house.
They underestimated the the intellect and intelligence of the Irish people when they tried to implement water charges using state media as a tool to hoodwink the populace into their grand scheme and they panicked when people became wise to their plotting, blaming and tarring hard pressed ordinary people for daring to exercise their demographic right to protest.
Irish people don’t do protests but when they do rise the focus of their protests should heed the warning, their wrath won’t stop until the whole rotten lot is brought to heel, it will be felt all the way to the top, the trillionaire money families and bankers that finance and hire the DOB’ of this world should know this, OUR WATER IS NOT FOR SALE.
Joan get a life you were voted in to do the job you said you would do and then you turned your back on the people, i don’t condone what the people in Tallagh did but can fully understand their anger. You should have kept your political word.
She knows its intellectually ignorant to come out with such nonsense, but she says it anyway, because she’s so desperate to find ways to discredit her biggest critics.
There is quite literally nowhere lower for the Labour Party to stoop at this point. What would James Connolly think of her outrageous remarks I wonder.
‘Facism should more properly be called corporatism, since it is the merger of state and corporate power.’ -Benito Mussolini.
So basically, if anyone is a facist,its the FG/LAB government!
Typing this from my iPhone, so I know Joan believes I have no reasons to complain, but maybe if she wasn’t in power with the blue shirts she wouldn’t have to worry about fascism so much. Just saying.
How about if she was in power wearing her own shirt, namely the one of the Labour party, one party that cares about workers rights, and lower income families, and fair taxation that doesn’t try to squeeze every effing penny from those that earn the least? A party that cares about social mobility and not about what the Troika wants.
Just yesterday we were talking about the rise of fascism in Spain with the new law that fines 600 euros to people that ‘insult the police’. So peaceful protests have been criminalised. They are all reading from the same script!
Except that you are missing that it is not necessary for anyone to actually insult the police in order for the police state that you did.
All a policeman has to do is say you insulted him and fine you €600. Which is a month’s salary for many spaniards.
Also, freedom of expression? Know what that means? There is a big difference between an insult and a brick. Freedom of expression never really existed in Spain, now all pretence is gone.
Her comments just highlight the disconnect between our political elite and the ordinary folk. This Government have left the majority with a survival wage and when they start eating into that, they should expect civilian unrest at every turn.
The absolute hypocrisy of this woman with her snout resolutely stuck in the trough is beyond belief. You and Gilmore have destroyed the Irish Labour Party. You will get your comeuppance at the next general election when your party is wiped out.
And I suppose that Joanie is our left-wing bulwark against Fascism, seeing that she’s doing such a good job at controlling the fascistic agenda of the Blueshirts.
Poor joan .if she was more worried about the people who she is ment to serve this would have not happened. She will be know as a traitor and Enda the coward for generations to come.God save Ireland .
Ah poor Joan she never lies to people and her colleagues never lie. I am going to get a mass said for her in the hope she gets those 3 hours of her life back in some other way.
Where does she get off calling peaceful protests fascists incidents. Does she not know the history of the party she is in government with.
If she was one of the people sleeping on the streets or a member a family being evicted from the family home she would have something to complain about. Count your blessing Joan, you have no reason to whine.
Never mind a dictionary, someone should hand her, her iPhone and suggest she read these comments. This is once again shameful and sickening. A member of the government looking to make themselves look like a poor saintly innocent who was attacked by evil Nazis. It turns my stomach. Haven’t these people go PR gurus to tell them to stfu? I don’t agree with what happened in Tallaght but the people who trapped her in her car are about as far removed from Nazis as Ban Ki Moon is.
Desparetly looking for sympathy – poor woman. How she can compare her ordeal to men/women actually tortured probably says a lot about her her parties terrific 5% showing in the polls. Amazing there are still 5% willing to give these yesterdays people a vote – bye bye Joan
Hey, she knows Labour are screwed, she might as well say what she likes before she goes down the plughole with her FG cronies. Sure hasn’t she a fat pension to look forward to?
Joan will have a better understanding of democracy when she looses her seat in “Dublin West” at the next election. Of course she can just go back to eating the smoked salmon and quaffing the champagne.
What is she shiting on about- arguing from a democratic point of view, when she is completely ignoring the will of the majority of the people. She is full of it. She thinks she knows better and could care less what the majority of people want.
I thought all aspiring politicians were supposed to have a good knowledge of history. This throwaway use of the Fascism label is extremely ignorant, she’s using it like some sort of buzz-word to grab attention. Shameful stuff.
She’s following the Russian example of labeling anyone who disagrees with you a fascist. I hope that’s where the copying ends as I’m sure nobody wants to see a shirtless iPhone Joan.
And yet, this so called ‘Republic’ of Ireland is far more of a fascist state under this Govt than it ever was before! Go figure…
I’m guessing Burton has a monthly reminder on her iphone to make something else up about Jobstown. Give it a few months and it will be about how Jesus appeared in the rear view mirror and told her to continue playing Candy Crush and listening to Joe Duffy for 1 more hour, and she would be saved…
She meant communism,lefties, little rich boy with silver spoon who has never held down a job for more than a week now siting in the Dail for 100k plus a year. And all his bills payed by mummy and daddy.
Nobody expects her to say nice things about the protesters, however the public expect more from their supposed deputy head of government than over-exaggerated and downright historically ignorant comments.
Was it an “Isis” situation Joan? This government have a strategy of labelling people who disagree with their policies.
I wonder which T.D/Senator will be brave enough to use the N word? Nazis.
I know of a person who got promoted within the civil services few years ago and when Joan came out on a visit she asked the person how was the promotion going.
The person who had to move up to Dublin basically said she was earning less because of the promotion.
Joan’s response aren’t you lucky you have a job.Such a callous and condescending and dismissive attitude to have.
Look at the bright side – in a few months we will never have to listen to her ever again as Labour and Burton will be discarded alongside the Greens and PDs in Irelands history of failed political parties with eejit leaders.
Amazing that those supposed to represent the people are the first to point the figure at those people rather than caustic and austerity driven policies? some democracy
I don’t agree with everything that happened that day, but Ireland is full of people that are on the edge of poverty and despair. The government aren’t listening. So what can people do? It’s not good enough to say wait until the next election if people are struggling to survive right now. I believe these people aren’t violent or unreasonable, they were just pushed and pushed and pushed so far that it showed
The Labour party spends how much on P.R. Money wasted. There is little hope of iphone joan surviving the next election, and she obviously doesn’t care about the consequences, if for her there are any. However, there once was more to the labour party than a few well pensioned newsreaders and if there is to be any labour party after the next election those left behind would want to put a gag on ijoan.
It sounds like something from Zimbabwe. There, opposition party members and often intimidated, trapped in their cars. Often they’re attacked or even murdered by government backed thugs. Here we have opposition backed thugs intimidating people.
If Joan had left her car that day she would have been attacked by the angry mob. Possibly killed. It’s a shame our country has come to this.
As a Jobstown native all my life, I’d like to invite you to ours for Xmas dinner Joan.
You’ll be grand, I swear.
Just make sure you bring your iphone. To call a taxi in case you get to drunk of course
Bring PLENTY of taxi money. It could be a long drive home so better safe than sorry
Please wear your best jewellry. We like to look our best on Xmas day
My house is quite hard to find so I’ll pick you at the square. I’ll be driving a black van with tinted windows. In case there’s more than one black van with tinted windows, mine is the one with the unreadable licence plate. Silly kids in the area love to draw on everything!
Anyway, send me a message to let me know what time suits you.
It’ll be a day to remember!
She’s old enough to be your mother. Would you like your mother intimidated and robbed and have subtle treats made against her?
How do you think her family feel when they read your comment?
IMO water charges is a more egalitarian form of taxation to fund water than raising income tax or USC or VAT or property tax. But I bet there’ll be a load of people won’t be happy about me expressing my opinion. When people who have a view get bullied out of it, democracy is in trouble.
Powering through and praying: Your stories of the GP crisis in Ireland
5 hrs ago
teacher shortage
Over 13,500 unqualified individuals were employed at Irish schools last year
6 hrs ago
speaking time row
Michael Lowry says he was telling Paul Murphy 'to sit down with my fingers'
13 hrs ago
Your Cookies. Your Choice.
Cookies help provide our news service while also enabling the advertising needed to fund this work.
We categorise cookies as Necessary, Performance (used to analyse the site performance) and Targeting (used to target advertising which helps us keep this service free).
We and our 160 partners store and access personal data, like browsing data or unique identifiers, on your device. Selecting Accept All enables tracking technologies to support the purposes shown under we and our partners process data to provide. If trackers are disabled, some content and ads you see may not be as relevant to you. You can resurface this menu to change your choices or withdraw consent at any time by clicking the Cookie Preferences link on the bottom of the webpage .Your choices will have effect within our Website. For more details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
We and our vendors process data for the following purposes:
Use precise geolocation data. Actively scan device characteristics for identification. Store and/or access information on a device. Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development.
Cookies Preference Centre
We process your data to deliver content or advertisements and measure the delivery of such content or advertisements to extract insights about our website. We share this information with our partners on the basis of consent. You may exercise your right to consent, based on a specific purpose below or at a partner level in the link under each purpose. Some vendors may process your data based on their legitimate interests, which does not require your consent. You cannot object to tracking technologies placed to ensure security, prevent fraud, fix errors, or deliver and present advertising and content, and precise geolocation data and active scanning of device characteristics for identification may be used to support this purpose. This exception does not apply to targeted advertising. These choices will be signaled to our vendors participating in the Transparency and Consent Framework.
Manage Consent Preferences
Necessary Cookies
Always Active
These cookies are necessary for the website to function and cannot be switched off in our systems. They are usually only set in response to actions made by you which amount to a request for services, such as setting your privacy preferences, logging in or filling in forms. You can set your browser to block or alert you about these cookies, but some parts of the site will not then work.
Targeting Cookies
These cookies may be set through our site by our advertising partners. They may be used by those companies to build a profile of your interests and show you relevant adverts on other sites. They do not store directly personal information, but are based on uniquely identifying your browser and internet device. If you do not allow these cookies, you will experience less targeted advertising.
Functional Cookies
These cookies enable the website to provide enhanced functionality and personalisation. They may be set by us or by third party providers whose services we have added to our pages. If you do not allow these cookies then these services may not function properly.
Performance Cookies
These cookies allow us to count visits and traffic sources so we can measure and improve the performance of our site. They help us to know which pages are the most and least popular and see how visitors move around the site. All information these cookies collect is aggregated and therefore anonymous. If you do not allow these cookies we will not be able to monitor our performance.
Store and/or access information on a device 110 partners can use this purpose
Cookies, device or similar online identifiers (e.g. login-based identifiers, randomly assigned identifiers, network based identifiers) together with other information (e.g. browser type and information, language, screen size, supported technologies etc.) can be stored or read on your device to recognise it each time it connects to an app or to a website, for one or several of the purposes presented here.
Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development 142 partners can use this purpose
Use limited data to select advertising 112 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times an ad is presented to you).
Create profiles for personalised advertising 83 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (such as forms you submit, content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (for example, information from your previous activity on this service and other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (that might include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present advertising that appears more relevant based on your possible interests by this and other entities.
Use profiles to select personalised advertising 83 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on your advertising profiles, which can reflect your activity on this service or other websites or apps (like the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects.
Create profiles to personalise content 38 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (for instance, forms you submit, non-advertising content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (such as your previous activity on this service or other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (which might for example include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present content that appears more relevant based on your possible interests, such as by adapting the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find content that matches your interests.
Use profiles to select personalised content 34 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on your content personalisation profiles, which can reflect your activity on this or other services (for instance, the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects. This can for example be used to adapt the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find (non-advertising) content that matches your interests.
Measure advertising performance 133 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which advertising is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine how well an advert has worked for you or other users and whether the goals of the advertising were reached. For instance, whether you saw an ad, whether you clicked on it, whether it led you to buy a product or visit a website, etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of advertising campaigns.
Measure content performance 59 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which content is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine whether the (non-advertising) content e.g. reached its intended audience and matched your interests. For instance, whether you read an article, watch a video, listen to a podcast or look at a product description, how long you spent on this service and the web pages you visit etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of (non-advertising) content that is shown to you.
Understand audiences through statistics or combinations of data from different sources 74 partners can use this purpose
Reports can be generated based on the combination of data sets (like user profiles, statistics, market research, analytics data) regarding your interactions and those of other users with advertising or (non-advertising) content to identify common characteristics (for instance, to determine which target audiences are more receptive to an ad campaign or to certain contents).
Develop and improve services 83 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service, such as your interaction with ads or content, can be very helpful to improve products and services and to build new products and services based on user interactions, the type of audience, etc. This specific purpose does not include the development or improvement of user profiles and identifiers.
Use limited data to select content 37 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type, or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times a video or an article is presented to you).
Use precise geolocation data 46 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, your precise location (within a radius of less than 500 metres) may be used in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Actively scan device characteristics for identification 27 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, certain characteristics specific to your device might be requested and used to distinguish it from other devices (such as the installed fonts or plugins, the resolution of your screen) in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Ensure security, prevent and detect fraud, and fix errors 92 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Your data can be used to monitor for and prevent unusual and possibly fraudulent activity (for example, regarding advertising, ad clicks by bots), and ensure systems and processes work properly and securely. It can also be used to correct any problems you, the publisher or the advertiser may encounter in the delivery of content and ads and in your interaction with them.
Deliver and present advertising and content 99 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Certain information (like an IP address or device capabilities) is used to ensure the technical compatibility of the content or advertising, and to facilitate the transmission of the content or ad to your device.
Match and combine data from other data sources 72 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Information about your activity on this service may be matched and combined with other information relating to you and originating from various sources (for instance your activity on a separate online service, your use of a loyalty card in-store, or your answers to a survey), in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Link different devices 53 partners can use this feature
Always Active
In support of the purposes explained in this notice, your device might be considered as likely linked to other devices that belong to you or your household (for instance because you are logged in to the same service on both your phone and your computer, or because you may use the same Internet connection on both devices).
Identify devices based on information transmitted automatically 88 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Your device might be distinguished from other devices based on information it automatically sends when accessing the Internet (for instance, the IP address of your Internet connection or the type of browser you are using) in support of the purposes exposed in this notice.
Save and communicate privacy choices 69 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
The choices you make regarding the purposes and entities listed in this notice are saved and made available to those entities in the form of digital signals (such as a string of characters). This is necessary in order to enable both this service and those entities to respect such choices.
have your say