You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.
It says “The gardens and grand Palladian villa at Powerscourt were designed in the 18th century and punctuate 19 hectares (47 acres) of formal walled gardens and shaded ponds.
Cascading terraces and formal landscapes are planned with carefully designed walks that are framed by the gentle beauty of the Wicklow Mountains.
“The grounds, waterfalls, parks, garden pavilions, and fine tree-lined arbors were suggested by the Italian Renaissance and the great estates and gardens of France and Germany”.
The Royal Botanic Gardens at Kew in England were named in second place while Château de Versailles in France took the top spot.
The list is taken from the National Geographic book ‘The 10 Best of Everything’.
A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article.
Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.
@Garret Fawl: there were the same naysayers when quotas for women were brought out and did society collapse? Including people in systems designed to exclude them is not a bad or dangerous thing.
@Black Irish lives matter: This has been tried for decades in Scandanavia and proven to have a detrimental effect. It just doesn’t work. You either want the best person for a role or you don’t.
@Black Irish lives matter: This country has never used quotas for women. Opportunities were provided, women were allowed work after having children, things like that. What you said is false.
@Black Irish lives matter: What you’re suggesting is equal opportunites for everyone, be they male or female, black or white, and that’s what we already have in this country.
If we introduce a system where we chose one group in society, quotas, we automatically descriminate against all others. You cannot have both.
@Arch Angel: the problem is that women, minorities and those from deprived areas are not able to put themselves in a position to get these roles, and while there it is difficult to move up due to the current white male, non diverse workforce. We need to start at schools, colleges and create a system to enable everyone to have the same chance of equality of outcome. It’s not there, and won’t be with out some kicks.
@Brynþór Patrekursson: It’s social engineering that discriminates against Irish people in their own country. Who decides the quotas, what positions are to be made diverse, is there a public consultation process?
@Black Irish lives matter: yeah let’s dilute the Sector just to add a splash of colour!
It dissent matter a fig if your different colour of religion. If your the right person with the right qualifications then your hired
@Black Irish lives matter: no, society did not collapse but people were passed over for posts and promotions because they were men. Positive discrimination in favour of women or those of a skin colour or ethnic background is discrimination against men or people of a skin colour.
Yes, people should be encouraged to apply but should not be chosen for skin colour or ethnic background or the validity of “Irish jobs for Irish people” becomes equally valid. I stress I am in favour of diversification and equality but believe this is best achieved with EQUAL opportunity and not discrimination.
@Black Irish lives matter: if you look closely into quotas you will see that it did not prove to work. Would you like your children teacher to be in this position because of their education, experience etc or because of the color of their skin?
@Brynþór Patrekursson: Yep, aiming for diversity is a good thing but it should be done by removing the obstacles in the way of talented people getting qualified and being considered for roles, not by just giving the roles to someone because they fit the racial or gender profile you’re looking for. Unfortunately, politicians who only see as far as the next election tend to go for the quick point-scoring fix.
@Garret Fawl: did you read the article? Varadkar specifically said it wasn’t about quotas. There’s a massive difference between quotas and what he suggested, recruitment campaigns and setting targets.
@Peter Denham: you’re right, Finland is Nordic but not Scandinavian; Denmark which is Scandinavian comes in at number two. The five Nordic countries, three of which are Scandinavian, are ranked in the top seven of happiest countries in the world.
@EillieEs: I may be mistaken, but I am fairly sure the article mentioned quotas, thhnk the journal changed it. I would not have reacted to targets in the same way.
@Black Irish lives matter: Change the system and make equality that position. There is no such thing as Positive Discrimination and that’s what quotas are.
I want the best person in the job not the 10th best because of a quota.
That creates the rush to the bottom, if being the best is not a requirement to fill a position.
@Alan McArdle: yes but it is also made up of black and brown Irish people who are not being represented in most areas of society. How hard is that to understand?
@Black Irish lives matter: I would love to represent white people in Nigeria with a nice salary but they wont just give me the job. They said I must work for it. So I am.
@Black Irish lives matter: You gain employment based on your qualifications, experience and most likely an interview. Racial quotas are rubbish and disadvantage white people, remember them, the overwhelming majority of our population.
@Roger Paltry: and yet to this very day there are employers that will not even employ women because… And I quote… “sure she’ll be pregnant in no time”.
Equality doesn’t exist in Ireland between the sexes, how the hell can it exist between races?
Quotas do work, they work in plenty of other country’s like Iceland.
@Vladimir Macro: Average civil service salary is equivalent to 150 Euro a month in Nigeria, often much less. Competition for jobs in public and private sector there is fierce, with one civil service role advertised recently attracting 40,000 applicants. Nigerians place great emphasis on a high standard of education and being a non graduate of a University there is practically unheard of. Unemployment rate is high though at over 35%. Best of luck.
@Roger Paltry: If there’s a racial quota then only the people of colour with the best qualifications and experience will get those jobs. So what’s the problem?
@Niall Byrne: This article seems to be referring to Senior positions, where experience and qualifications would be necessary. We have a Gardai commissioner that is an ex senior member of the PSNI, seems to have got it on merit, where 30 years ago that would have been unheard of. Quotas at clerical and lower levels seem reasonable but senior positions I would be vehemently against.
The country is very white? Not a surprise the civil service is? It would be nice to have some proper statistics rather than an emotional statement from the Taoiseach? I think the very fact the leader of the country is mixed race and gay shows that race or sexual orientation is not an impediment to success?
@Thomas Harrington: When we hear the Taoiseach saying such things as “the civil service is very white” that has to be one of the stupidest statements among many he’s come out with. Had it been said of a country like Britain or America it would be understandable but Ireland’s population was, until quite recently, almost exclusively caucasian, that is white. Of course it’s civil service
If the Taoiseach was saying there was instances of people of colour or ethnic minorities being denied jobs or access to education that’d be a very different story, but there isn’t. Everyone has the same access, the same opportunity, the doors are there for everyone to pass through, it’s up to each individual, black, white, male or female to chose which door to pass through. It’s a level playing field, everyone has an equal opportunity.
If the Taoiseach were to say “step this way” sir or madam and usher them through a VIP door based on quotas he’d alter the playing field, the outcome would no longer be fair or based upon equal opportunity.
You could have three people apply for two job vacancies, two of them are world class and one is a complete idiot but you can only hire one of the world class candidates, because of quotas you’re compelled to hire the idiot. No big deal if we’re talking about politicians, you think. What if they’re surgeons, and you need an operation, or pilots, or engineers designing a bridge?
@Arch Angel: not sure why your post is in response to mine? We are essentially in agreement – of course Leo tends to swim with the prevailing mood – he is a politician – I’m sure the minions in data analysis will see how this kite flew and then advise not to proceed with anymore comments on same.
@Seriousnojoke: yes! As a woman I have a grip against gender quotas, this will be the same. It is the best and most qualified person for the job, not their gender or race
@Greg Daniel: it is called positive discrimination, which is a clever way of saying that white skinned Irish will be discriminated against when applying for racial quota jobs and posts which is only one step away from “no white Irish need apply” – I am most certainly in favour of equality but do not believe this is the correct way in most cases.
@Greg Daniel: Jobs are oversubscribed with “suitable candidates”. Suitable candidates lose out most of the time anyway, because the interviewer wasn’t from their county, didn’t have a similar personality, didn’t like the cut of their jib, etc. Most office jobs a monkey could do – you don’t need “the best of the best”, just someone who passes a minimum threshold, which most candidates do anyway. People are picked for jobs for bullshit personal reasons anyway. Quotas won’t diminish quality in the public sector one iota. Save the “best of the best” crap for sports.
Terrible idea. Recruit people on the merit of qualifications and talent not the colour of their skin. To do so is actually positive discrimination and an appalling way to treat people
@Raymond Tom: Sad to see that such a comment gets 189 upvotes. The last week has shown that Ireland is a racist country. We pretend we’re “victims of colonialism” and whatnot but we’re just as racist as other white Europeans, maybe moreso to try and pretend we’re as good as our anglo-saxon dominators. We’ve more experience of other countries struggles with integration to try and make it work better here but the signs are that dumbness will prevail – ’tis the Irish way.
A day may come when the courage of men fails, when we forsake our friends and break all bonds of fellowship, but it is not this day. J.R.R Tolkien. Sorry Leo, I’m bored, in a devilish mood and just felt like ruining your next big speech. Jeez, I really crack me up sometimes ..
Very white? What does that even mean? Does that have racist overtones or is it just that I’m taking him up wrong! Pidgeon holing people into their individual skin colouring to me in itself, particularly when talking about being put into an array of differing positions is a racially and divisive narrative to be used, least of all from a supposed political leader! No matter what the position, task or job, people should be afforded them on their own merits, and given every opportunity to do so, certainly not on the colour of their skin.
@Niall Binéad: It means that Ireland’s civil service positions are mostly, if not fully, occupied by white people. There are definitely no racist overtones. What most people, and Leo included, want to see is a representative civil service. For example, in areas with a higher proportion of people from different ethnic backgrounds, those people should be proportionally represented in civil service positions. Black people and other people of colour need to see themselves represented. And not only that, having more diversity in the workplace has been proven over and over to enhance and enrich the work environment.
@Daniel O Sullivan: get over yourself! I don’t give two f##ks what colour, creed or sexual orientation they come from, as long as they’re capable and doing the job at hand! If we’re all equal, we’re all equal, how is that so hard to understand?
@Daniel O Sullivan: So give people jobs because of the race, that’s racist, simple as that.The civil service is not fully staffed with white Irish people either, nor is the semi state sector
How about positive discrimination in favour of those from underprivileged areas of the country? To borrow a phrase from the right – “trickle down economics” could work wonders there.
As a serving civil servant I welcome the idea. In fact I am surprised it hasn’t been a policy before now. Several studies have shown that diversity can bring a richness on so many levels to the workplace.
@Black Irish lives matter: I don’t want equality when it comes to health care…I want the best healhcare …regardless of the colour/ethnicity/sexual orientation/religion etc of the people delivering it….I don’t want second best healthcare do some quota or percentage can be met.
It would be interesting to know a person of colour and and a white Irish person went for the same job, who would get it. I reckon in spite of who was better qualified it more often than not would go the way of the white person. Maybe not directly racist but a case of thinking they know what they’re getting from the white Irish person
@Cathal Keeshan: you could say the same for an Irish and an Australian going for same job in either Sydney or Dublin. It’s not always to do with the colour of the skin.
@Greg Daniel: I’d say if an Australian and a Nigerian with the same qualifications and experience went for a job interview in Ireland the Australian would get it. The employer would assume the Australian would “fit in better” with the company culture. We can pretend otherwise all we want.
@Greg Daniel: I would say that (a) it’s extremely unlikely a white Australian would be going for a standard office job interview in an African country (b) that in some African countries the bias would be for the Australian rather than the Nigerian [Africa is not one big country you know - inter-African prejudice exists!!!!] and (c) it’s immaterial to the problems facing our country today so you bringing it up is about you retreating from the question.
@Garret Fawl: I think there most definitely should be more males in teaching also. Primary seems to be less attractive to them than secondary so this should be addressed also.
@Alice Collins: 98% of bin collectors are men, do you think this needs to change with quotas? I think this needs to be addressed. Why is it men are in more of the unskilled Labour intensive roles in Ireland and the jobs with extra long hours and time away from home like truck drivers but their is no clamour for gender quotas there? But we need gender quotas in university top positions, politics and a lot of other nice clean high paid jobs?
While people should be hired based on their ‘fit for the role’ rather than ethnic background, Ireland definitely needs to push to increase diversity. There’s no doubt that there are many people from diverse ethnic backgrounds that are very capable of doing civil service jobs, but for whatever reason(s) they’re not applying or being hired in those positions. It’s really important to increase diversity so that it’s not just white people in every public position. Black people and other people of colour need to see representation. This is especially important in the Gardai and education sector, both of which are almost 100% white and that doesn’t reflect the actual diversity in Ireland.
Strengthening requirements around recruitment to ensure any potential bias is taken out of the equation, Yes. Constantly addressing demographic deficits, a resounding Yes! Targets, oh please No!
This is a terrible move, I come from South Africa and this is poison. Once you start with this it doesn’t stop, society becomes more polarized and people view each other through that narrow lense of race. Everything gets more toxic.
@Shannon butler: I was in South Africa and a senior politician me told what was happening and he hoped it would settle down in 10 years, that was 20 years ago and it has not. Look what happened in Zimbabwe
I have never seen a black Garda or a black TD or a black councillor. On the bus in the morning into Dublin city centre you will see hardly any black people commuting in to work in an office. They seem mostly to work as taxi drivers or in niche retail areas. There is something wrong in that. Ireland has a serious problem of integration and if it doesn’t do something about it we will create ghettos and a divided society. For that reason I would support quotas in the public sector. It has to start somewhere and the public sector can set an example. The Irish bought into America because they became prominent in policing and politics. People say “promote on merit” but most Irish small business owners given a choice of an Irish person or a Nigerian person for a job will instinctively go with the Irish person because they will “fit in better”, yet the same people would never consider themselves racist and probably subscribe to all the trendy causes. Yes, quotas are needed once they are proportionate.
@Niall Byrne: you seem mightily concerned about the colour of people’s skin. You might be better off if you just look at people for who they are whether they be Garda, Councillors or TD’s.
English are much more diverse than Irish by miles less racist.and uk government has always been are more pro peoples they value peope of ethnic minority n give them more opportunities so in the result you can see in uk more police,business ma,doctors nurses,bus driver,lists goes on and on you can just name it.there is big gap in Irish people and between ethnic minorities I find it there is trust issue. So until unless you dont adress this issue then your country wont prosper in the economic future
@being Ash: Using the English as an example of diversity is the funniest thing I have ever heard. Go read some history books and learn about their diversity. Look at Brexit, Windrush etc
US stock index suffers biggest one-day fall since 2020 as Trump insists 'markets are going to boom'
38 mins ago
Uncertain Future
The last time tariffs like this were imposed it led to the Great Depression, ministers warn
Updated
11 mins ago
As it happened
Trump hits EU goods with 20% tariff and rails against foreigners 'pillaging' US
Updated
23 hrs ago
Your Cookies. Your Choice.
Cookies help provide our news service while also enabling the advertising needed to fund this work.
We categorise cookies as Necessary, Performance (used to analyse the site performance) and Targeting (used to target advertising which helps us keep this service free).
We and our 161 partners store and access personal data, like browsing data or unique identifiers, on your device. Selecting Accept All enables tracking technologies to support the purposes shown under we and our partners process data to provide. If trackers are disabled, some content and ads you see may not be as relevant to you. You can resurface this menu to change your choices or withdraw consent at any time by clicking the Cookie Preferences link on the bottom of the webpage .Your choices will have effect within our Website. For more details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
We and our vendors process data for the following purposes:
Use precise geolocation data. Actively scan device characteristics for identification. Store and/or access information on a device. Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development.
Cookies Preference Centre
We process your data to deliver content or advertisements and measure the delivery of such content or advertisements to extract insights about our website. We share this information with our partners on the basis of consent. You may exercise your right to consent, based on a specific purpose below or at a partner level in the link under each purpose. Some vendors may process your data based on their legitimate interests, which does not require your consent. You cannot object to tracking technologies placed to ensure security, prevent fraud, fix errors, or deliver and present advertising and content, and precise geolocation data and active scanning of device characteristics for identification may be used to support this purpose. This exception does not apply to targeted advertising. These choices will be signaled to our vendors participating in the Transparency and Consent Framework.
Manage Consent Preferences
Necessary Cookies
Always Active
These cookies are necessary for the website to function and cannot be switched off in our systems. They are usually only set in response to actions made by you which amount to a request for services, such as setting your privacy preferences, logging in or filling in forms. You can set your browser to block or alert you about these cookies, but some parts of the site will not then work.
Targeting Cookies
These cookies may be set through our site by our advertising partners. They may be used by those companies to build a profile of your interests and show you relevant adverts on other sites. They do not store directly personal information, but are based on uniquely identifying your browser and internet device. If you do not allow these cookies, you will experience less targeted advertising.
Functional Cookies
These cookies enable the website to provide enhanced functionality and personalisation. They may be set by us or by third party providers whose services we have added to our pages. If you do not allow these cookies then these services may not function properly.
Performance Cookies
These cookies allow us to count visits and traffic sources so we can measure and improve the performance of our site. They help us to know which pages are the most and least popular and see how visitors move around the site. All information these cookies collect is aggregated and therefore anonymous. If you do not allow these cookies we will not be able to monitor our performance.
Store and/or access information on a device 110 partners can use this purpose
Cookies, device or similar online identifiers (e.g. login-based identifiers, randomly assigned identifiers, network based identifiers) together with other information (e.g. browser type and information, language, screen size, supported technologies etc.) can be stored or read on your device to recognise it each time it connects to an app or to a website, for one or several of the purposes presented here.
Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development 143 partners can use this purpose
Use limited data to select advertising 113 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times an ad is presented to you).
Create profiles for personalised advertising 83 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (such as forms you submit, content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (for example, information from your previous activity on this service and other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (that might include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present advertising that appears more relevant based on your possible interests by this and other entities.
Use profiles to select personalised advertising 83 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on your advertising profiles, which can reflect your activity on this service or other websites or apps (like the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects.
Create profiles to personalise content 39 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (for instance, forms you submit, non-advertising content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (such as your previous activity on this service or other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (which might for example include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present content that appears more relevant based on your possible interests, such as by adapting the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find content that matches your interests.
Use profiles to select personalised content 35 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on your content personalisation profiles, which can reflect your activity on this or other services (for instance, the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects. This can for example be used to adapt the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find (non-advertising) content that matches your interests.
Measure advertising performance 134 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which advertising is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine how well an advert has worked for you or other users and whether the goals of the advertising were reached. For instance, whether you saw an ad, whether you clicked on it, whether it led you to buy a product or visit a website, etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of advertising campaigns.
Measure content performance 61 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which content is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine whether the (non-advertising) content e.g. reached its intended audience and matched your interests. For instance, whether you read an article, watch a video, listen to a podcast or look at a product description, how long you spent on this service and the web pages you visit etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of (non-advertising) content that is shown to you.
Understand audiences through statistics or combinations of data from different sources 74 partners can use this purpose
Reports can be generated based on the combination of data sets (like user profiles, statistics, market research, analytics data) regarding your interactions and those of other users with advertising or (non-advertising) content to identify common characteristics (for instance, to determine which target audiences are more receptive to an ad campaign or to certain contents).
Develop and improve services 83 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service, such as your interaction with ads or content, can be very helpful to improve products and services and to build new products and services based on user interactions, the type of audience, etc. This specific purpose does not include the development or improvement of user profiles and identifiers.
Use limited data to select content 37 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type, or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times a video or an article is presented to you).
Use precise geolocation data 46 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, your precise location (within a radius of less than 500 metres) may be used in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Actively scan device characteristics for identification 27 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, certain characteristics specific to your device might be requested and used to distinguish it from other devices (such as the installed fonts or plugins, the resolution of your screen) in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Ensure security, prevent and detect fraud, and fix errors 92 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Your data can be used to monitor for and prevent unusual and possibly fraudulent activity (for example, regarding advertising, ad clicks by bots), and ensure systems and processes work properly and securely. It can also be used to correct any problems you, the publisher or the advertiser may encounter in the delivery of content and ads and in your interaction with them.
Deliver and present advertising and content 99 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Certain information (like an IP address or device capabilities) is used to ensure the technical compatibility of the content or advertising, and to facilitate the transmission of the content or ad to your device.
Match and combine data from other data sources 72 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Information about your activity on this service may be matched and combined with other information relating to you and originating from various sources (for instance your activity on a separate online service, your use of a loyalty card in-store, or your answers to a survey), in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Link different devices 53 partners can use this feature
Always Active
In support of the purposes explained in this notice, your device might be considered as likely linked to other devices that belong to you or your household (for instance because you are logged in to the same service on both your phone and your computer, or because you may use the same Internet connection on both devices).
Identify devices based on information transmitted automatically 88 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Your device might be distinguished from other devices based on information it automatically sends when accessing the Internet (for instance, the IP address of your Internet connection or the type of browser you are using) in support of the purposes exposed in this notice.
Save and communicate privacy choices 69 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
The choices you make regarding the purposes and entities listed in this notice are saved and made available to those entities in the form of digital signals (such as a string of characters). This is necessary in order to enable both this service and those entities to respect such choices.
have your say