You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

File photo Eamonn Farrell/Rollingnews.ie

Two arrests after MDMA and cannabis worth €800k seized at Navan Road apartment

Gardaí said the operation was part of ongoing efforts targeting organised crime in Dublin and Meath.

GARDAÍ IN DUBLIN have arrested two men and seized drugs worth an estimated street value of €800,000 after searches yesterday.

Two cars were stopped by gardaí on the M50, and €80,000 worth of cannabis was discovered, as was €5,000 in cash.

A follow-up search was carried out at an apartment complex on the Navan Road. Gardaí seized crystallised MDMA, cannabis resin and herb worth an estimated €720,000 at this address.

Two men – aged 47 and 58 – were arrested.

Gardaí said that these arrests were made as part of ongoing investigations into organised crime in west Dublin and Meath.

They are currently being detained at Finglas Garda Station. Under Section 2 of the Criminal Justice (Drug Trafficking) Act, the pair can be detained for up to seven days.

The operation was carried out by the Special Crime Task Force, Garda National Drugs and Organised Crime Bureau, and a number of units in the Dublin Metropolitan Region.

Gardaí added that the investigation is currently ongoing, and that further updates would be forthcoming soon.

Read: Bomb squad called in after ‘suspect device’ thrown at home in north Dublin suburb

Read: Gardaí make third arrest in Nicola Collins murder investigation

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

12 Comments
    Mute Get Lost Eircodes
    Favourite Get Lost Eircodes
    Oct 3rd 2016, 2:21 PM

Ireland… The best little country in the world to screw the self employed…

Mute Homer's imp son
    Favourite Homer's imp son
    Oct 3rd 2016, 2:27 PM

The best country in the world to be a politician

Mute Paul Mc
    Favourite Paul Mc
    Oct 3rd 2016, 2:43 PM

Having Noonan in charge of Finance is like having a fox in charge of a hen house. .

Mute Bobby Phelan
    Favourite Bobby Phelan
    Oct 3rd 2016, 5:07 PM

If they do away with usc they will increase lpt dont be so naive the banks were guaranteed.

Mute john g mcgrath
    Favourite john g mcgrath
    Oct 3rd 2016, 2:19 PM

Having 1000 plus children in hotel rooms B and B ect and having an 85 year old woman pass away after 2 days on a trolley should be addressed first !!

Mute John Clark
    Favourite John Clark
    Oct 3rd 2016, 2:29 PM

Take the 13 Billion from Apple or whatever the government can get at this stage and put some prosperity back into Ireland.

What a load of useless wasters the above people are. Half a billion for the total budget for Ireland.A fiver for the old age pensioners……

Waffle waffle waffle.

Don’t forget drag the Apple debacle out for another five years while the people of Ireland struggle because of Noonan.

Mute Cathal O'Sullivan
    Favourite Cathal O'Sullivan
    Oct 3rd 2016, 6:14 PM

Are you really so naive to think that Apple will just hand over 13 billion to the Irish government and then continue happily employing the thousands of people nationwide?

Mute Stephen Brady
    Favourite Stephen Brady
    Oct 3rd 2016, 6:27 PM

Cathal how long would it take for apples workforce to pay €13bn in tax? There are I think 6,000 of them.

Mute Fred Johnson
    Favourite Fred Johnson
    Oct 3rd 2016, 2:28 PM

Let’s not be fooled here. It’s not a billion euro giveaway. It’s a 3 billion euro giveaway. That’s how much government spending is increasing over the past year. Why the difference? Because the other 2 billion is eaten up by government “commitments”, ie increases in public sector pay and more money into the black hole health budget, most likely eaten up by consultants fees. The 1 billion is what is left to “play with”.

Imagine we had not increased public sector pay this year. We could pretty much half the USC in a single year. The government is using and abusing the middle class and private sector who create the wealth by retaining the USC to feed the insatiable public sector, welfare recipients and health consultants.

Mute Eoin McDonnell
    Favourite Eoin McDonnell
    Oct 3rd 2016, 2:44 PM

Yea your right lets knock teachers, nurses and gardai pay down to minimum wage…that will surely attract the best and stop them emigrating to Dubai etc!!

Mute Fred Johnson
    Favourite Fred Johnson
    Oct 3rd 2016, 2:49 PM

@Eoin McDonnell:

Eoin if we had halved the USC instead of giving pay rises, the nurses, guards and teachers would have benefited too.

Mute Donnacha Bhoicaire
    Favourite Donnacha Bhoicaire
    Oct 3rd 2016, 2:56 PM

@ Fred totally agree
    Not too mention the scroungers year after year on the dole

Karl
    Mute Karl
    Favourite Karl
    Oct 3rd 2016, 2:59 PM

It’s not an increase in public sector pay.. Its a very partial restoration of pay and then only for certain grades !

Mute Eoin McDonnell
    Favourite Eoin McDonnell
    Oct 3rd 2016, 3:00 PM

I don’t know anyone in the public sector who has had a pay rise, I know the younger more vulnerable members have had ONLY A FRACTION of their pay RESTORED but nope no pay rises I am afraid…

Mute Fred Johnson
    Favourite Fred Johnson
    Oct 3rd 2016, 3:03 PM

@Eoin McDonnell:

“Restore” to what? 2008 levels? Based on tax revenues from an unsustainable property bubble? Have a think about that.

You have no moral right to 2008 levels of pay. We couldn’t afford it then and we can’t afford it now, they use the USC to pay for it.

Mute Liam Mullane
    Favourite Liam Mullane
    Oct 3rd 2016, 3:40 PM

@Karl: Yes but a cut to USC benefits all workers across all sectors.

Mute Stephen Brady
    Favourite Stephen Brady
    Oct 3rd 2016, 6:29 PM

Fred yes if the ps didn’t get a pay rise you could cut usc. How much inconvenience do you think the resulting strikes would cause you. Public sector workers are running out of patience as it is. They won’t take much more bs.

Mute Stephen Brady
    Favourite Stephen Brady
    Oct 3rd 2016, 6:33 PM

Yes Fred but that would not be what we were promised. We agreed to a temporary pay cut to help us get out of a tight spot. We are out of that spot apparently so pay us. Keep the recovery going ;)

Mute Albert Brennerman
    Favourite Albert Brennerman
    Oct 3rd 2016, 7:07 PM

@Fred Johnson: Thats short sgihted public private nonsense , it was some wealth created there in the 2010 when the Troika landed to convert private to sovereign debt. The public service shouldered it on the double pay cuts, usc and Fempi as well as no budgets to properly complete jobs. This was right and fair.
    Public workers now continue to pay USC , pay reductions and the emergency reductions in FEMPI, so roughly double your USC that’s what comes out of a nurse,garda,firefighter,civil servant pay cheque. You would swear a public servant lives in a different economy or eats a different type of bread and their kids automatically have storks delivering uniforms and football boots. So when Dublin Bus gets 12% Luas workes 18% , these people are completing with public servants among others in the housing market.
    Seriously consider inviting Apple/Google/Pfizer here and saying to them unfortunately we have no Gardai working today so the army is on the streets but its not as bad the hospitals were closed last week. No investment. The jobs these people do are real jobs and necessary job roles in a functioning society. We’re all in this little place together and truth is without foreign direct investment we’d still be a basket case economy and without stability you can’t have that.

Mute Ben McArthur
    Favourite Ben McArthur
    Oct 3rd 2016, 2:40 PM

It’s not a giveaway. It was our money before the government forcibly took it from us. At most, it’s the Mafia boss sending us a wedding present after years of running a protection racket.

Mute Get Lost Eircodes
    Favourite Get Lost Eircodes
    Oct 3rd 2016, 3:22 PM

@Ben McArthur: Who are the government….a foreign power???

Mute Dick Woody
    Favourite Dick Woody
    Oct 3rd 2016, 3:37 PM

@Get Lost Eircodes: They are the proxy of foreign powers such as the IMF and the EU. They have no loyalty to the Irish people, that’s for sure.

Mute Ben McArthur
    Favourite Ben McArthur
    Oct 3rd 2016, 3:40 PM

Racketeers who have acquired the veneer of legitimacy by pretending every so often that we have the chance to throw them out. If politics stopped tomorrow, the real government would continue. Look at Belgium, who supposedly had no government for over a year. Does anyone think it really made any difference?

Mute Juan Franc
    Favourite Juan Franc
    Oct 3rd 2016, 3:35 PM

First priority will be the golden circle closely followed by the gombeens, cronies and sleeveens.The only difference the ordinary punter will notice is the increase in government advertising/self promotion in the poddle like media,

Mute Dick Woody
    Favourite Dick Woody
    Oct 3rd 2016, 3:33 PM

Sew up your pockets, Jabba the Hutt wants to remove the contents and turn them inside out .

Mute Patrick J. O'Rourke
    Favourite Patrick J. O'Rourke
    Oct 3rd 2016, 4:49 PM

“incentives will be rolled out to encourage entrepreneurship”. I fell off my chair reading that and I’m sure I’m not the only one. After the way small business has been treated for years anyone with sense will go elsewhere with their energy, brains and passion to start a business. Ireland exports its young qualified people and its potential indigenous businesses. When the multinationals all go to China or somewhere what will there be left here? Just fat politicians on massive pensions who will tell us it’s our own fault.

Mute Neuville-Kepler62F
    Favourite Neuville-Kepler62F
    Oct 3rd 2016, 8:30 PM

29,000 sign on Change.org petition for Reform of the daft Irish Motor Tax system … €280 for new Merc … €580 for 10 yr old 1.6L … the most regressive unfair motor tax system in the EU. poor subsidising the rich … a disgusting society to live in.

Pre-budget submission made to Dept of Finance on behalf of 29,000 signatories …. 87,000 visited the Change.org site.

https://www.change.org/p/unfair-car-tax-law

Mute Niall Donnelly
    Favourite Niall Donnelly
    Oct 3rd 2016, 7:14 PM

I’d have no problem with self employed receiving more tax credits but they cants prove their income. Can other employees claim expenses and vat back too?

Mute now-now-now
    Favourite now-now-now
    Oct 3rd 2016, 2:56 PM

Free the Journal 50

Mute LITTLEONE
    Favourite LITTLEONE
    Oct 3rd 2016, 3:22 PM

@now-now-now:
    Haha. Let the cat out.

Powerabbey
    Sep 19th 2016, 10:15 AM # 33 1
    Free the Journal 50

Mute Jimmy Riddler
    Favourite Jimmy Riddler
    Oct 3rd 2016, 3:54 PM

@LITTLEONE: You can see Dane’s hand writ large all over the comments section, every now and again he trips himself up. It must be hard for the most profilic profile maker to keep track of them all, especially in between driving lessons, I just hope the haste is not him texting whilst driving..:)

Mute LITTLEONE
    Favourite LITTLEONE
    Oct 3rd 2016, 4:24 PM

Free the 50 accounts

Mute Alois Irlmaier
    Favourite Alois Irlmaier
    Oct 4th 2016, 2:14 AM

@now-now-now: Are they that bad at buying a round?

Oct 3rd 2016, 6:52 PM

Ah sure Ireland’s a wash with money no other country can afforded to turn down € 13 billion in un-payed taxes. There will be at least a fiver for everyone in the audience.