You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Far-right organizations demonstrate during a May Day rally in Erfurt, Germany in May of this year Jens Meyer/AP/Press Association Images

German authorities use 'Nazi Shazam' in crackdown on far-right radio stations

Police in Saxony are to utilise new music identification software to identify and shut down internet stations playing banned songs.

GERMAN POLICE ARE touting a new high-tech tool to identify illegal neo-Nazi songs in seconds, dubbed “Nazi Shazam” after the popular music identification software.

Authorities in the eastern state of Saxony hope to use their creation to identify and shut down Internet radio stations that play banned songs.

“Music is an introduction to right-wing extremism, we all know that, so for me this is very important,” Saxony interior minister Markus Ulbig told reporters in the state capital Dresden this week.

Neo-Nazi hard rock has long been an important recruiting tool for far-right groups, back to the days when CDs were handed out at street demonstrations.

Blacklisted

The ‘German Federal Review Board for Media Harmful to Minors’ blacklisted 79 songs last year for espousing neo-Nazi ideology or having racist lyrics, according to news magazine Der Spiegel.

The new Saxony prototype creates a unique code or “digital fingerprint” based on the frequencies in songs, and then checks music being broadcast on Internet radio, or submitted on a CD or MP3, against a database of gathered “fingerprints” from banned music.

“The programme is obviously faster than men and needs no sleep,” said Martin Strunden, a spokesman for the state interior ministry.

Previously, officers had to listen to songs and compare lyrics with a database of restricted music.

“It would take a day or two just to listen to and transcribe an album,” said Jens auf dem Keller, who is in charge of media oversight for the Saxony police.

“Digitalised, it takes just moments.”

Similar technology is used in the smart phone application Shazam, which captures audio playing on the radio or at a concert and identifies the artist and song title.

Saxony officials are calling for police around the country to submit music samples to increase the size of the database, which currently contains about 3,500 restricted songs, before they begin using it.

The impetus for the new software came after officials noticed a marked increase in far-right Internet radio stations in 2011 and 2012.

Far-right groups evolve online

Police development of more sophisticated Internet surveillance comes as far-right groups grow increasingly savvy in their own online outreach.

“The strategies of the neo-Nazis, they’ve changed in the last years, they’ve moved from the real world more and more to the virtual world,” said Julia Wolrab, with the association “Against Forgetting – For Democracy”, which offers advice to people confronted with extremist propaganda online.

In a 2013 report, the state-operated German media monitoring organisation jugendschutz.net found for the first time that far-right groups used smart phone applications to deliver music and TV programmes to supporters, and adopted barcode-like QR codes to recruit potential members.

Police in Saxony also hope to develop a smart phone application so officers can monitor music at live concerts, but a spokesman said legal questions must be answered before that is possible.

Other German police departments say they are waiting to see how the programme works in Saxony before potentially adopting it.

- © AFP 2013

Read: 75 years ago this week, this man saved 669 children from Nazi death camps

Read: Over 340 arrested in global child pornography investigation

View 34 comments
34 Comments
    Mute That's Bo!!ox
    Favourite That's Bo!!ox
    Aug 28th 2015, 12:50 PM

What did you tell us you’d do about:
    1. Moriarty tribunal findings.
    2. Open and transparent government.
    3. Capping advisers salaries.

Mute Shinnér Ó Bót
    Favourite Shinnér Ó Bót
    Aug 28th 2015, 1:04 PM

The job statistics are a cynical attempt to stop the rise of Sinn Fein

Mute Kevin Higgins
    Favourite Kevin Higgins
    Aug 28th 2015, 1:13 PM

job statistics have naturally been good as our any statistics after you hit rock bottom which we did after the crash. combine with all those schemes and emigration you got a nicely spun figure.

Mute Sunshine on a rainy
    Favourite Sunshine on a rainy
    Aug 28th 2015, 1:22 PM

Income tax up, social welfare spending down, tells it’s own story also.

Mute Paudi Onail
    Favourite Paudi Onail
    Aug 28th 2015, 2:04 PM

i’ll lob this one in here, just to remind ourselves

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=27UL3tZW1bk

get rid of them all. the next government needs sort out immigration, referendum on water, blasphemy law, rent controls, scam bridge and loads more.

Mute littleone
    Favourite littleone
    Aug 28th 2015, 12:42 PM

Delusion is a mighty thing in FG.

Mute Baz
    Favourite Baz
    Aug 28th 2015, 12:55 PM

Delusion is when

- you don’t accept PSNI or Gardai findings
    - you blame everyone for your own faults
    - A party leader linked to a terrorist organisation
    - Kangaroo courts are used to determine judgements
    - call Rape Victims liars
    - support Austerity in one jurisdiction yet vote against it in another
    - support a party in Greece who received a majority NO vote to austerity – yet three days later give a resounding YES to more Austerity.

Mute Shinny
    Favourite Shinny
    Aug 28th 2015, 12:56 PM

What has an article about FG’s performance got to that with that list Baz?

See 18 more replies ▾
    Mute Baz
    Favourite Baz
    Aug 28th 2015, 12:57 PM

I responded to a forum post. Not the article bud

Mute Bobby Phelan
    Favourite Bobby Phelan
    Aug 28th 2015, 12:59 PM

fg are fascists end of…

Mute Jason Culligan
    Favourite Jason Culligan
    Aug 28th 2015, 1:03 PM

It’s the typical response of a Fine Gael supporter, once there’s a single bad word mentioned about the great party they immediately slander Sinn Fein. It’s pathetic really and I wouldn’t expect any less from a person who can’t even figure out how to run two accounts at the same time.

Mute Baz
    Favourite Baz
    Aug 28th 2015, 1:10 PM

I think everyone is sick of listening to SF activists on thejournal.ie. A quick look at leading online publications & political forums will show you what level headed citizens of the Island think of SF’S following on here.

Mute Colm Moran
    Favourite Colm Moran
    Aug 28th 2015, 1:18 PM

Delusion is when you have to use 20+ fake accounts to troll the journal isn’t that right Baz

Mute Baz
    Favourite Baz

I have one account chum, seems that annoys you bud

Mute Tiffany Mary O'Brien
    Favourite Tiffany Mary O'Brien
    Aug 28th 2015, 1:25 PM

What happened to your ‘Bazalini’ acount,chum ?

Mute Sunshine on a rainy
    Aug 28th 2015, 1:28 PM

Bobby, end of what? Name one ‘fascist’ policy?

Mute Galloglass
    Favourite Galloglass
    Aug 28th 2015, 1:32 PM

So far as I can see Baz your essay on “Delusion” seems to be a metaphor for isn’t life just fabulous in Tweedeldee and Tweedeldum land.

Mute Damian Moran
    Favourite Damian Moran
    Aug 28th 2015, 1:36 PM

Voted FG & Lab last time never again.

Mute littleone
    Favourite littleone
    Aug 28th 2015, 1:46 PM

Since its about FG baz not sinn fein . deflect away. Delusion is .

You don’t don’t anything about Moriarty.
    You blame everyone else for the state of the health service.
    A party leader so far up dob arse , its comical.
    A taoiseach who won’t do anything about fennelly report.
    A party that refers to citizens as Isis.
    A party who created the laugh of the world Irish water.
    A party that turns a blind eye to corruption.
    A party that resides over the worse homeless crisis ever in this country.
    A party that destroyed families and communities.
    Delusion and hypocrisy baz.
    A party that ignored siteserv , irbc.
    Nama.
    Penalty points scandal.

Mute Colm Moran
    Favourite Colm Moran
    Aug 28th 2015, 2:43 PM

Baz no you don’t Sammy YFG realgale patjoejoe should I keep going

Mute Diarmuid Doran
    Favourite Diarmuid Doran
    Aug 28th 2015, 4:10 PM

Lies , damned lies and statistics.The core of Fine Gowl and Liebour.

Mute Tom Sullivan
    Favourite Tom Sullivan
    Aug 28th 2015, 6:56 PM

@Sunshine. Name one fascist policy? The privatisation of profit and socialisation of loss is classic textbook fascist economics. The socialisation of the gambling debts of the banks was precisely that.

Mute von
    Favourite von
    Aug 28th 2015, 7:04 PM

Baz lad you are everywhere the FG are take a rest ah don’t bother as 2016 will be the last year for many a decade we will see them in power again.

Mute john
    Favourite john
    Aug 28th 2015, 8:07 PM

Bobby now that’s an insult to real victims of fascism…no comparison

Mute Suzanne Mc Aleenan
    Favourite Suzanne Mc Aleenan
    Aug 28th 2015, 8:09 PM

Excellent little one, couldn’t put it better myself

Mute Richie Bolger
    Favourite Richie Bolger
    Aug 28th 2015, 9:32 PM

your some chum bazzzz

Mute Willy
    Favourite Willy

You said it’s immoral to tax a person’s home, well your leader did. Leo says not another cent! Remember Richard? Families loosing homes in record numbers. Tax on everything up with more to come, directly or indirectly. Water was the catalyst for awakening the people of the robberies your party are making on the Irish people to keep the Status Quo. The gap between rich and poor continues to rise under your watch. Where are these jobs being created? Don’t see them. I do see emigration slowing as there is fu(k all left to leave. You gave us Scambridge ‘ jobsbridge ‘. Please don’t think that the Irish electorate are so stupid as to be fooled again. Enda, IPhone Joan and the lot of you are on a hiding to nothing. If you don’t see this coming, you are totally delusional and far adrift of the people you claim to lead . …

Mute Shakka1244
    Favourite Shakka1244

iPhone Joan is the best nickname EVER. And she brought it on herself.

Good comment as well.

Mute Sunshine on a rainy
    Aug 28th 2015, 1:23 PM

Gerry also said the IRA doesn’t exist anymore. Things change.

Mute Brian Madden
    Favourite Brian Madden
    Aug 28th 2015, 2:03 PM

Why it is that whenever the government get criticism, the FG havks come out attacking SF. I voted FG/Lab in the last general election and I am not happy with their lies, cronyism and arrogance. I have no idea who to vote for in the next ejection but it won’t be FG/Lab

Mute david garland
    Favourite david garland
    Aug 28th 2015, 2:08 PM

What has SF got to do with FG election promises? Enda and Joan are as bad as Willie Frazer for blaming everything on the IRA..

Mute Ryan Anthony
    Favourite Ryan Anthony
    Aug 28th 2015, 2:11 PM

Im surprised nobody mentions the more obvious commitments they made, central parts of their election platform:
    -A stimulus package to take the route Germany and USA took out of recession
    -Replacing the current third level shambles with a graduate tax with no up front fees and higher grants, this was win win, less money burden on students and better revenue for colleges
    -Labour said no steath taxes
    -Labour said water charges were a ‘red line issue’
    -Public Sector reform never happened

Mute Itsthe Law
    Favourite Itsthe Law
    Aug 28th 2015, 2:13 PM

It’s FG blebers only retort,

Mute Pepper Brooks
    Favourite Pepper Brooks
    Aug 28th 2015, 2:58 PM

Labour had 25% of the seats at cabinet, therefore they could only expect to implement 25% of their promises. The marriage ref for example was a labour policy. Most of the govt policies are Fine Gael initiatives given they make up the majority of cabinet team. They promised a water tax too by the way. Ryan you are commenting as if labour were in power on their own. Surely you understand politics doesn’t work like that?

Mute John Kennedy
    Favourite John Kennedy

shure, isnt that the type of thing ploiticans tend to day coming up to an election.

Mute Patrick Cox
    Favourite Patrick Cox
    Aug 28th 2015, 1:47 PM

If they have done / willing to do all that voters ask of them, they will spend between now an the election f&£king themselves . That all the majority of the voters want them to do.

Mute David McGuinness
    Favourite David McGuinness
    Aug 28th 2015, 7:38 PM

I’m sure they won’t!

Mute Genius
    Favourite Genius
    Aug 28th 2015, 12:45 PM

I cant recall voting for higher taxes and lower living standers.

Mute Bobby Phelan
    Favourite Bobby Phelan

fg u broke ure contract.you allowed the banks to run our country into the ground.no to cronyism and no to corruption.i don’t want to be part of a fascist state time for you to go and take dob with ye.

Mute Duck Knight
    Favourite Duck Knight
    Aug 28th 2015, 12:57 PM

What did you vote for? We voted for FG to fix the economy, which they have.

See 14 more replies ▾
    Mute Stephen Fagan
    Favourite Stephen Fagan
    Aug 28th 2015, 1:01 PM

@Duck I don’t think having over 500 families homeless means that the economy is fixed.

Mute Declan Byrne
    Favourite Declan Byrne

Name on policy that the government brought in that helped the economy recover? . Our recovery is based on how well the international markets are doing.

Mute Jason Culligan
    Favourite Jason Culligan

Putting some duct tape on the cracks and waiting for the EU to recover doesn’t class as fixing the economy. We still have high unemployment, record homelessness, high emigration, a second property bubble forming and now a fiasco with over a billion wasted on a failed super-quango. Even the government admits that the “recovery” hasn’t trickled down to the average worker.

That’s some recovery right there.

Mute Genius
    Favourite Genius

Yea but they broke the people Duck

Mute Stephen M
    Favourite Stephen M
    Aug 28th 2015, 1:06 PM

Shame on you FG. Look what your shoddy education system has done to Bobby! It’s a disgrace.

Shame on you sending a threatening twitter message to WCL .. Poor pet!

Mute Sunshine on a rainy
    Aug 28th 2015, 1:26 PM

Declan Byrne; lower vat for hospitality. Scrapping air tax.

Mute Micheal S. O' Ceilleachair
    Favourite Micheal S. O' Ceilleachair
    Aug 28th 2015, 1:43 PM

Same as our crash was based on how poorly the international economy was doing!!!!!!!?

Mute Brian Madden
    Favourite Brian Madden
    Aug 28th 2015, 3:01 PM

@duck, actually you are wrong. if you think the economy is fixed, which of course isn’t true, then we should be handing the credit to FF and the troika as it’s their policies that FG implemented.

Mute Powerabbey
    Favourite Powerabbey
    Aug 28th 2015, 3:06 PM

Then why have Portugal, Greece, Spain etc not recovered in a similar way?

Mute Garwig
    Favourite Garwig
    Aug 28th 2015, 4:22 PM

Maybe but what about Iceland, they did just fine.

Mute Patlyndo
    Favourite Patlyndo
    Aug 28th 2015, 6:34 PM

No Garwig – they didn’t do just fine.

Mute Tom Sullivan
    Favourite Tom Sullivan
    Aug 28th 2015, 6:57 PM

@Duck Knight. We voted for the economy to fixed, not rigged to further enrich FGLab cronies and international bankers.

Mute von
    Favourite von
    Aug 28th 2015, 7:11 PM

Duke. Maybe you work for Enda so you are being paid a lot but 90% of the Country are just about holding on. Thanks Herr Enda.

Mute Cill Dará Abú
    Favourite Cill Dará Abú
    Aug 28th 2015, 1:00 PM

I don’t remember voting for water charges, higher taxes and a rise in homeless figures

Mute Baz
    Favourite Baz
    Aug 28th 2015, 1:17 PM

Who did you vote for?

Mute Shinnér Ó Bót
    Favourite Shinnér Ó Bót
    Aug 28th 2015, 1:17 PM

Sinn Fein will create 2000 jobs per week.

Mute Ray Farrelly
    Favourite Ray Farrelly
    Aug 28th 2015, 1:20 PM

Shinner you have a one track mind you always say the same one thing.

Mute Ben Leahy
    Favourite Ben Leahy
    Aug 28th 2015, 1:35 PM

Actually, water charges were well documented in FGs pre election manifesto… so yes you did vote for them.. badly implemented, yes, but not hidden..

Mute Supernova
    Favourite Supernova
    Aug 28th 2015, 1:36 PM

“fg have created jobs, only this stat will be shared” #fgmajority2016

Mute Jason Culligan
    Favourite Jason Culligan
    Aug 28th 2015, 1:39 PM

Ben, you’ll find that the majority of Irish voters did not vote for Fine Gael. They only received 36.1% of the total vote and went into coalition with a party which vowed not to allow water charges.

Mute Baz
    Favourite Baz
    Aug 28th 2015, 1:41 PM

That’s what happens when forming a government Jason bud. Glad to see you have taken educating urself seriously.

Mute Brian Madden
    Favourite Brian Madden
    Aug 28th 2015, 2:04 PM

Tap, you are aware that sinnerbot works for FG and is employed to come on here and bad mouth FG. You did know that right?

Mute Powerabbey
    Favourite Powerabbey
    Aug 28th 2015, 3:04 PM

Brian – Your evidence for this is?

Mute Tony Hartigan
    Favourite Tony Hartigan

Minister where is the Fennelly report !

Mute Pat Mustard
    Favourite Pat Mustard

I’m a young proffessional living in Dublin, they certainly haven’t helped me with all these extra charges and taxes over last 4 years. The housing crisis is insane in Dublin and I’m paying ridiculous money on rent. How the hell am I ever going to own my own home with this shower and their crazy policies towards housing and the rental market.

Mute Diarmuid
    Favourite Diarmuid
    Aug 28th 2015, 1:49 PM

So you want taxpayers money spent on subsidising the rental market? How do you propose paying for it?

The taxpayer has better things to be doing that subsidising the rents of young Dublin professionals.

Mute Ryan Anthony
    Favourite Ryan Anthony
    Aug 28th 2015, 2:14 PM

Apparently setting up quangos and giving bonuses to brand new staff, and marketing for said quango is one of those better things

Mute Kevin Doyle
    Favourite Kevin Doyle
    Aug 28th 2015, 2:36 PM

Ireland doesn’t revolve around just Dublin in afraid!

Mute Peadar Ó Gréacháin
    Favourite Peadar Ó Gréacháin
    Aug 28th 2015, 2:52 PM

THE FG MONKEY HAS SPOKEN

Mute Diarmuid
    Favourite Diarmuid
    Aug 28th 2015, 3:04 PM

Grimey, Gorillas are apes, not monkeys.

Mute Dave Harris
    Favourite Dave Harris
    Aug 28th 2015, 3:12 PM

You’re still a FG monkey though

Mute sportsmad
    Favourite sportsmad

Bruton is backing Enda Kenny to lead the country ? he said a while ago Edna wasn’t fit to lead his own party.

Mute Gearóid Ó Briain
    Favourite Gearóid Ó Briain
    Aug 28th 2015, 12:44 PM

Enjoy your last few months, Bruton.

Mute Duck Knight
    Favourite Duck Knight
    Aug 28th 2015, 12:58 PM

FG aren’t going anywhere

Mute john g mcgrath
    Favourite john g mcgrath
    Aug 28th 2015, 1:14 PM

True they’ll be stuck on 25%

Mute von
    Favourite von
    Aug 28th 2015, 7:08 PM

John good on you, great response.

Mute Joe Conlon
    Favourite Joe Conlon

He reminds me of Comical Ali during the Iraq war, completely out of touch!

Mute Francie Coffey
    Favourite Francie Coffey
    Aug 28th 2015, 1:02 PM

A politician is the type of person who would piss in through your letterbox & then knock to ask how far it went,
    and then, grinning while you stare them down, – go through your pockets…
    This lot are a total joke.
    When I see ‘Hugh’ I just skip straight to the comments.

Mute Shinny
    Favourite Shinny
    Aug 28th 2015, 12:44 PM

This government has massaged growth figures using Jobsbridge, has continued the mistake of relying on Foreign Direct Investment instead of focusing more on SMEs, has continued with Fianna Fáil’s past cronyism when they promised ‘a new way of doing politics’ and the HSE’s hospital bed crisis which they vowed to end got even worse.
    I didn’t vote for that, I wasn’t promised that and I do not want that.

Mute Marty Lawless
    Favourite Marty Lawless
    Aug 28th 2015, 12:46 PM

what a liar he couldn’t lie straight in the bed

Mute Fred Astare Astare
    Favourite Fred Astare Astare
    Aug 28th 2015, 12:47 PM

Rubbish….. 70.000 on back to work CE schemes ETC. Published by the CSO yesterday. Plus 80.000 per year still emigrating. 60.0000 per year immigrated to Ireland, mostly working for less than the minimum wage.

Get Real.

Mute Léargas
    Favourite Léargas
    Aug 28th 2015, 1:14 PM

A bit of a misrepresentation of the figures there, of those 80,000 who emigrated, 35,300 were Irish nationals, which is a 13% decline on previous years, the other 45,000 who emigrated were probably returning to their home country. Is it also spurious to say that all those who immigrated into Ireland are working for less than the minimum wage, that is illegal and has no basis is fact

Mute Paudi Onail
    Favourite Paudi Onail
    Aug 28th 2015, 2:05 PM

they’re working for less than those emigrated, i can guarantee you that.

Mute John Fergus
    Favourite John Fergus
    Aug 28th 2015, 1:07 PM

this guy is delusional.
    politicians and nappy’s need to be changed often and for the same reasons. they have facilitated the financial rape of this country and bowed down to special interests.
    they will be remembered for many things IW, slavebridge, expenses scandal etc. most of all kenny will be remembered for doing the impossible………….he has made brian cowen look like a genius.

Mute Tony Hartigan
    Favourite Tony Hartigan
    Aug 28th 2015, 1:33 PM

JOHN they are all delusional

Mute LesBehan
    Favourite LesBehan
    Aug 28th 2015, 12:47 PM

“I think people are not focussing on that yet”

Just proves Bruton and the rest of FG really don’t know what people are thinking.

Mute Jason Culligan
    Favourite Jason Culligan
    Aug 28th 2015, 12:53 PM

Sure how could they? When was the last time politicians in government meaningfully engaged with the average voter who isn’t a devout voter for their party?

Mute Darren Redmond
    Favourite Darren Redmond

broken promises ie. property tax water charges

Mute Sunshine on a rainy
    Aug 28th 2015, 1:29 PM

Water charges were in FG manifesto, LPT was introduced by FF.

Mute Paul MacNulty
    Favourite Paul MacNulty
    Aug 28th 2015, 1:19 PM

That man like most of his comrades is out of his mind. They are all living on the planet called ” Gravy Train”.

Mute Mike Clinton
    Favourite Mike Clinton
    Aug 28th 2015, 12:49 PM

Seriously, do these deluded and grossly overpaid clowns ever take their snouts out of the trough to listen/read what is going on. In all honesty these people really haven’t a clue. They are protected by the garda against the very people they vowed to represent. They are in for a very rude awakening.

Mute Michael Mclaughlin
    Favourite Michael Mclaughlin
    Aug 28th 2015, 12:52 PM

I hope your right Mike.

Mute Rashers Tierney
    Favourite Rashers Tierney
    Aug 28th 2015, 3:32 PM

But Mike, they have “people” to do that for them. You can’t honestly expect these important people to personally acquaint themselves with what goes on in this country!?!

Mute Dave Byrne
    Favourite Dave Byrne
    Aug 28th 2015, 12:49 PM

Taking people on a journey? 6 billion for new services the only new service I heard about was scambridge. and that was people like myself and others private pension funds were raided to fund the scam. But the TD/Minister pension were not touched he is deluded as you’re wan from Irish water they must be getting the same spiel from the comms clinic.

Mute Horses for courses
    Favourite Horses for courses
    Aug 28th 2015, 1:07 PM

Comical stuff from our brave leaders.The only people as deluded and away with the fairies as these self serving liars are the people that still vote for these self serving liars.
    I have never looked forward to an election as much in all my life.Their representatives will be walking away from my door a lot quicker than they walked to it…….

Mute Micheal S. O' Ceilleachair
    Favourite Micheal S. O' Ceilleachair
    Aug 28th 2015, 1:40 PM

So what is your alternative government?

Mute Horses for courses
    Aug 28th 2015, 2:12 PM

Time for change Michael.Despite all the dirty underhand carry on with the right wing parties out with their Sinn Fein/IRA stick I would like to see a Sinn Fein/Independent coalition.
    The country has been screwed and lied to for generations now and I think we are finally waking up.
    We are a corrupt little nation with white collar crime with accountability only for the great unwashed.
    So in short SF majority or SF/Ind coalition…..

Mute Pepper Brooks
    Favourite Pepper Brooks
    Aug 28th 2015, 3:00 PM

HAHAHAHA. You’ll need more than 18% chum if you want a SF govt. better chance of kilkenny footballers winning Sam!

Mute Rashers Tierney
    Aug 28th 2015, 3:26 PM

None of your business, Michael. The voters will decide, whenever these cowards give us the opportunity. No-one has to run it by you first.

Mute Horses for courses
    Aug 28th 2015, 3:57 PM

First of all Pepper If you were to read the question,I was asked what my alternative government would be and I answered the question.Have a little read back over my answer.
    Secondly Pepper does Baz look back at you when you look in the mirror or is “chum” a new word to use in YFG headquarters.You have to remember to mix it up when changing between your multiple accounts.Troll on.Not long left now,sure ya got a good run out of it chum…..

Mute Oliver Curley
    Favourite Oliver Curley
    Aug 28th 2015, 5:04 PM

U expect honesty and accountability from Sinn Fein ??

Mute Tom Sullivan
    Favourite Tom Sullivan
    Aug 28th 2015, 6:53 PM

Oliver, given that there is zero honesty and accountability in Chairman Mayo’s party and that of iPhone Joan, not to mention the Soldiers of Density, could it be any worse than it is now?

Mute Diarmuid Doran
    Favourite Diarmuid Doran
    Aug 28th 2015, 7:04 PM

LOL Outed again Baz , well spotted Horses

Mute Suzanne Mc Aleenan
    Favourite Suzanne Mc Aleenan
    Aug 28th 2015, 8:05 PM

Gotta agree with you

Mute Rashers Tierney

Eff off, Bruton, just eff off. Nobody, I repeat, nobody has asked for more quangoism, nepotism, sharp practice and general mismanagement

Mute Alan Farrell
    Favourite Alan Farrell
    Aug 28th 2015, 12:55 PM

Funny he should mention the figure of 300000 because that’s how many people have apparently emigrated since 2011: http://www.irishcentral.com/news/one-in-four-people-have-a-family-member-who-has-emigrated-over-300000-irish-have-left-since-2011-206978871-237588051.html

Mute Alan Farrell
    Favourite Alan Farrell
    Aug 28th 2015, 12:58 PM

Crap, thought that was a recent article, nevermind *hangs head in shame*

Mute Tap Solny
    Favourite Tap Solny
    Aug 28th 2015, 1:35 PM

But it does show how many simpletons will approve of a comment that they would like to believe is true.

Mute Saul Goodman
    Favourite Saul Goodman
    Aug 28th 2015, 1:02 PM

In fairness, bankers and elite business people are also voters, since they didn’t specify which voters asked them to do their insane policies in the past 5 years, then I assume they are talking about these type of voters.

Mute Gavin Redmond
    Favourite Gavin Redmond
    Aug 28th 2015, 12:50 PM

What voters asked you to pay bond holders millions, eviction of irish people from there homes, hospitals & education in the shits, Pissing money away like it’s going out of fashion. well we can all add something.

Mute Alan Scott
    Favourite Alan Scott

Mr Bruton .
    Your Government promised above all fairness the Government of which you are part of the Government should have started at the top but instead started at the bottom and weakest in our society and made these pay for the previous Government , Bankers Builders mistakes and so on. The general election will certainly be interesting.

He is right, they did EXACTLY what the GERMAN voters asked them to do.

Mute Tom Sullivan
    Favourite Tom Sullivan
    Aug 28th 2015, 7:00 PM

Don’t blame the Germans. They have governed on behalf of bankers, not Germans.

Mute Declan Carr
    Favourite Declan Carr
    Aug 28th 2015, 12:59 PM

yeah blueshirt voters, out for themselves and the wealthy.

Mute Baz
    Favourite Baz
    Aug 28th 2015, 1:16 PM

You’ll agree FG/Lab have turned the economy around though. While Europe flounders Ireland is a beacon on the global stage of how to lift an economy off its knees.

Congrats Team Ireland. Lot of people accross all political persuasions have worked to get us where we are. Sadly SF / loony left want a benefit culture to support drop outs and the people who refuse to get off their sofas watching Celtic on Sky Sports.

Mute Tony Hartigan
    Favourite Tony Hartigan
    Aug 28th 2015, 1:05 PM

Minister you are actually lying

Mute Sunshine on a rainy
    Aug 28th 2015, 1:29 PM

What’s the lie?

Mute Kevin Higgins
    Favourite Kevin Higgins
    Aug 28th 2015, 1:12 PM

Democratic ‘revolution’ not devolution Bruton!

Mute samuel conneely
    Favourite samuel conneely
    Aug 28th 2015, 12:51 PM

I can’t stop… hahahahahahahaha hahahahahahahaha

Mute Tap Solny
    Favourite Tap Solny
    Aug 28th 2015, 1:32 PM

But you did stop, well done! Your therapy was not completely wasted.

Mute Sean Roche
    Favourite Sean Roche
    Aug 28th 2015, 1:51 PM

Yeah Richard you’re great and F\G are great too! I won’t be able to vote for you or your party going forward ever again but don’t take it personally. It’s just that you seem to inhabit a parallel universe.

Aug 28th 2015, 1:21 PM

As a lifelong FG voter ( 30 yrs) I have decided not to vote for them in the upcoming election .

Sunshine aka Jason aka Powerabbey won’t bully me into changing my mind,either .

Mute samuel conneely
    Favourite samuel conneely
    Aug 28th 2015, 12:51 PM

hahahahahahahaha

Aug 28th 2015, 1:43 PM

No you haven’t. They didn’t vote for you to introduce water charges. They didn’t vote for you to take billions out of private pension funds. They didn’t vote for you to cripple people with taxes and heap financial pressure on a large portion of the population. There is obviously a big concerted campaign now by the gov to build up the economy before the election, and while there may be some jobs being created, the figures are obvious exaggerated.
    Still gonna vote against this gov and encouraging all i know to do same. Frankly cannot believe anything this gov says. There are much better options out there other than the current calamity prone and corruption prone gov.

Mute Paudi Onail
    Favourite Paudi Onail
    Aug 28th 2015, 2:06 PM

not one cent they’ll give to banks, they said. they’re deluded liars with severe short memory.

Mute Oliver Curley
    Favourite Oliver Curley
    Aug 28th 2015, 4:58 PM

What options Sinn Fein , Independents?

Aug 28th 2015, 5:28 PM

Both.

Aug 28th 2015, 5:37 PM

Fg and labour have had their chance in the last 5 years. They HAVEN’T delivered. They’ve been a very poor gov. Give either SF or some independents a chance to prove themselves. If they’re no good, we can throw them out.

Mute Johnny Downes
    Favourite Johnny Downes

Et tu Bruton! The nearly Taoiseach. Deluded silver spooned Clongowes boy!

Mute Peter Slattery
    Favourite Peter Slattery
    Aug 28th 2015, 1:38 PM

The excuse of a toddler. Pathetic.

Mute Eric Edert
    Favourite Eric Edert

delusional

Aug 28th 2015, 1:57 PM

This guy is suffering from the same delusions as iPhone Joan, nobody believes a word from this shysters mouth, roll on the election………

Mute james r
    Favourite james r
    Aug 28th 2015, 1:42 PM

Unreal .. The lies .. From this corporate government ..

Mute de la Rey
    Favourite de la Rey
    Aug 28th 2015, 3:03 PM

I don’t remember asking to be shafted

Mute Charliegrl80
    Favourite Charliegrl80
    Aug 28th 2015, 2:22 PM

What FG/Labour are out spending our money again and trying to fool the people to vote for them again? I don’t think the people will be fooled by their lies again

Mute Joseph O'Regan
    Favourite Joseph O'Regan
    Aug 28th 2015, 2:54 PM

Horrible little man

Mute richard ferris
    Favourite richard ferris
    Aug 28th 2015, 2:19 PM

So is he saying now that he was wrong about Enda not being good enough to lead the country??

Mute Kevin Sheane Snr
    Favourite Kevin Sheane Snr
    Aug 28th 2015, 2:39 PM

Oh for God’s sake don’t take us for complete fools.

Mute Peter Higgins
    Favourite Peter Higgins
    Aug 28th 2015, 3:31 PM

These claims and counter-claims are becoming nonsensical again. Look;- Bottom line is – Fine Gael have NEVER, EVER,been re-elected in their entire history ! We have never once given them a second term. Why ? Because they always somehow fcuk-up. Take Lowry, O’Brien, Vat on Kid’s shoes, Cutting Xmas bonus for pensioners, Water Tax, Property Tax – - etc,etc,etc. They have never been re-elected, and never will.

Mute Diarmuid Doran
    Favourite Diarmuid Doran
    Aug 28th 2015, 4:04 PM

I voted FG , Labour in the last election based on their pre-election manifestos.

Lies

Never again will I vote for them.

Mute Garwig
    Favourite Garwig
    Aug 28th 2015, 4:26 PM

I’m the same NEVER AGAIN, and I will ensure my children do the same. Fraudsters and Liars

Mute Bobby Phelan
    Favourite Bobby Phelan
    Aug 28th 2015, 4:02 PM

his haveing a laugh

Mute Ciaran
    Favourite Ciaran
    Aug 28th 2015, 4:27 PM

How about the promise of getting rid of quangos, instead they created the biggest quango Irish water!

Mute Maureen Stanford
    Favourite Maureen Stanford
    Aug 28th 2015, 4:30 PM

Yea skinned the pensioners pack of blood suckers

Mute Gavin Mckenna
    Favourite Gavin Mckenna
    Aug 28th 2015, 4:20 PM

Deluded. Absolutely deluded.

Mute whitecross
    Favourite whitecross
    Aug 28th 2015, 5:17 PM

The Majority of the the Irish people have have given their decision on Irish Water by boycotting the bills ,Minister Bruton and his colleagues in government seems are not listening ,Delusional or to many advisors around him telling him fairy tales ,Earth calling minister Bruton ,

Mute mrmeade
    Favourite mrmeade
    Aug 28th 2015, 6:52 PM

More Spin, the reality is the average Joe has been hammered and bled almost to death while the rich in this country get richer, we have seen an unprecedented erosion of civil rights for the ordinary citizen while the likes of Denis O Brien have gotten wealthier at their expense. only yesterday a shameful story was on the journal of a blind man, his wife and child being fecked out on the street, that’s the reality this governments “Journey” has achieved. a society where a person gets a prison term for not having a TV licence while bankers and serious criminals walk away laughing at the rest of us. so NO i don’t accept your spin and i wont be voting for Lab, FF, FG any time this century.

Mute Phil Swan
    Favourite Phil Swan
    Aug 28th 2015, 6:04 PM

Lying c u n t

Mute Hugh Corcoran
    Favourite Hugh Corcoran
    Aug 28th 2015, 7:27 PM

Not one more cent will be given to banks. Instead we will give them billions, then socialise the debt as sovereign. I don’t remember asking for that. Don’t remember asking them to push TTIP. I think poor Richard, meant too say, we did exactly what Angela wanted. Ah bless.

Mute john
    Favourite john
    Aug 28th 2015, 8:13 PM

What would have happened if sin Fein and the aaa were in power?

Mute Dave O'Hanlon
    Favourite Dave O'Hanlon
    Aug 28th 2015, 6:11 PM

So did fine gael voters ask their party to fake the jobless figures, to bring back inflation as soon as possible, increase homelessness, persist in paying of gamblers and of course do more favours for Denis the Hutt.

Mute Tim Brennan
    Favourite Tim Brennan
    Aug 28th 2015, 5:24 PM

A Burton listening now that’s. A little bit of a novelty

Mute Keith Boland
    Favourite Keith Boland
    Aug 28th 2015, 9:43 PM

Well Richard are you still on summer recess ? If you honestly think ppl are happy with u showered u gotta be telling the biggest joke of the summer . Today I heard about 400 jobs over 3 years u dumb arrogant Wiesel . I’ll this ppl will vote to what you failed to do & to do exactly what u said u wouldn’t .enda kenny always said if he didn’t for fill his contract mandate of government he wouldn’t stand for relelction he’s not done half it . Fine Gael said they would the scandals , corruption. He said would not implement water charges , also said he will end the hospital crisis . And look at us now . Hospital crisis , water crisis , political policing crisis , homeless crisis , corruption crisis in nama . We have labour playing policitial games with sin feinn . This government have been a disgrace from day 1 corruption to the max . Tomorrow will paint a very big picture.

Mute Tap Solny
    Favourite Tap Solny
    Aug 28th 2015, 1:50 PM

I can honestly say that I did not believe that this government would have been able to turn the economy around in such a short period of time. Congratulations are due to both FG and Labour.

Mute Tom Newell
    Favourite Tom Newell
    Aug 28th 2015, 2:10 PM

how about thanking the Irish people for taking the hits, the low wages, the taxes etc and the constant abuse and threatening behavior from the likes of hitler hogan slurry kelly and the likes….

Mute Tap Solny
    Favourite Tap Solny
    Aug 28th 2015, 2:22 PM

Tom, it would appear from your picture profile that you have not been found wanting for a constant food supply.

Mute Ray Farrelly
    Favourite Ray Farrelly
    Aug 28th 2015, 2:41 PM

Sepirc.

Mute The Journal TD
    Favourite The Journal TD
    Aug 28th 2015, 3:23 PM

Great man tap, you are a true patriot.

Mute Tom Newell
    Favourite Tom Newell
    Aug 28th 2015, 4:28 PM

and from your constant shite talk on here tap it appears you just don’t have any answers when you get called out on things which tells me your probably some nobody spotty nosed teenager with no friends who probably is still being breastfed either off your mam or edna kenny

Mute Diarmuid Doran
    Favourite Diarmuid Doran
    Aug 28th 2015, 4:36 PM

Tap, judging by your constant verbal diarrhoea , you haven’t exactly been starving either.

Aug 29th 2015, 10:17 PM

They didn’t the last 7 budgets here were done by the German government…
    See what September 22 will say about September 21st…

Aug 29th 2015, 10:18 PM

Many see ISIS as patriots as well?

Mute Gerard Smyth
    Favourite Gerard Smyth
    Aug 29th 2015, 2:10 AM

Yes! we all voted FG in ,to carry on with the same policies that FF were voted out for???? Eh I think not..but sadly FG are not or have never heard a word the people said

Mute Kenneth Graham Dissident
    Favourite Kenneth Graham Dissident
    Aug 28th 2015, 9:29 PM

Lying cheating political policing in the pocket of dob corruption nepotism and that is just the tip of the fg/labour iceberg I really don’t think the voters asked for that……..there must be an election coming soon

Mute bobhiggins
    Favourite bobhiggins
    Aug 28th 2015, 1:30 PM

the electorate seem to be colluding with FG :D

Mute The Journal TD
    Favourite The Journal TD
    Aug 28th 2015, 3:23 PM

Excellent government who are on the front lines against the savage plebs….Alan kelly is a victim of their savage brutality…this government was the saviour of Ireland and anyone here who says different is obviously been sniffing on the glue.

Aug 29th 2015, 10:19 PM

I love your sarcasm…

Aug 29th 2015, 10:15 PM

Or they crazy or just bold liars, they created new taxes and look at the IW protests today, they did what Merkel told them to do and she is German and not Irish…