You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.
An account is an optional way to support the work we do. Find out more.
Deputy Chief Operating Officer and Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, International News Corporation James Murdoch giving evidence to the Culture, Media and Sport Select Committee in the House of Commons PA/PA Wire/Press Association Images
NOTW
New files 'cast doubt' on James Murdoch's hacking evidence
Culture, Media and Sport Committee likely to recall Tom Crone, Colin Myler and James Murdoch to clarify points made during the first hearing.
12.18pm, 16 Aug 2011
Updated 1pm
NEW DOCUMENTS THAT may cast doubt on the evidence given by James Murdoch to the House of Commons Select Committee have been sent to MPs.
The Guardian reports that a letter from News of The World’s former royal correspondent, Clive Goodman – which was written four years ago but published today – claims phone hacking was widely discussed during the paper’s editorial meetings.
He also wrote in the letter that his own hacking was carried out the “full knowledge and support” of other senior journalists, and that Andy Coulson offered to let him keep his job if he did not implicate the paper in hacking when speaking in court.
Labour MP Tom Watson, who is a member of the Culture, Media and Sport Committee, described the letter as completely removing News International’s defence.
The committee has been provided with two copies of the letter.
Sky News reports that in July, Murdoch said he was not aware of an email that said phone hacking involved more than one reporter at the News of the World.
However, former NOTW editor Colin Myler and the tabloid’s former legal manager Tom Crone said that they did inform him about the email.
According to Sky News, the CMS will meet today to decide whether they should recall Crone, Myler and Murdoch to clarify these points.
A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article.
Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.
@john gavin: Except they will represent about 20% of them. Remember that when you go to work tomorrow. One in five people you encounter everyday are a SF supporter.
@Brian Madden: yes Brian,I have, booming economy, full employment..yes,problems with Health and Housing which no doubt Sinn Fein would never solve. Sinn Fein are toxic, don’t be fooled!
@Whoswho:The additional ten million euro top up given/awarded to RTE by the FG majority government in December assures the established parties FF & FG of being afforded a comfortable RTE media journey through this present election campaign. I do not have confidence in RTE acting in an independent and impartial manner in the course of this general election campaign. It is my view that RTE have been bought off.
@john gavin: Housing and Helathcare are the 2 most important things when you don’t have them. You may be ok John, a lot of other people are suffering terribly under this sham of a government.
@john gavin: FF ruined the country. That’s an easy response. They should have been outlawed after the crash. FG have tripped from shambles to shambles – Garda whistleblower scandal, cervical check scandal, children’s hospital scandal, RIC scandal, patients on trolleys scandal, homelessness scandal, housing affordability scandal etc etc. Anybody that votes FFG needs to be committed.
@john gavin: Problems with housing?! Try being stuck renting as a young couple on low wages, about 50% of wages going on rent another 10% going on car insurance, literally having to go hungry at the month. This government won’t even attempt to fix housing or insurance except to rely on market forces fixing themselves, this is a capitalist ideology and has never worked.
@Conan Campbell: and SFs only record of government is in Northern Ireland where st hey got paid for not turning up for 3 years, 12000 homeless in Northern Ireland, nurses went on strike lately up there. No infrastructure being built. The A5 on hold again, Casement Park is falling down. Need I go on
@john gavin: you’ve been fooled by same people running the country in the last 2 decades. They can’t fix the many problems in our country ie health care crisis, housing/homeless crisis, the gangland crime, the overspending of children’s hospital, national broadband and the golden printer and yet you still want to let the same people to run the government. No way!
@view2views: you’re not the only one who is suspect of that view, it may well backfire massively on FFG and we end up with a left rainbow with Taoiseach Mary Lou, Tanaiste Howlin, PBP, SDs and some independents.
@Pád: Sinn Fein are basically communists. Won’t be happy till someone earning 80K and someone earning 20K will have the same money in their pockets by the end of the week. Crazy tax polices that promotes laziness and will drive multi nationals out of the country. They haven’t sat in government in 3 years up north, them and their supporters are delusional. I strongly advise advise anyone who’s voting for them to read their polices and educate themselves before making a decision.
@john gavin: booming economy where most people cant afford to rent or buy, FG want us to work we’re pushing 70. You say problems with health and housing well that’s the understatement of the century! Vulture funds and banks exempt from tax, Disco Dens companies being given govt contracts despite his track record, massive overspend on NCH and broadband and my personal favourite taking medical cards from cancer patients and children with down syndrome. I’m not saying Sinn Fein are the solution but FFG are most certainly the problem!
@Robert O’H: Do tell? Given that their stated policy is to introduce a new tax band for those earning over €140,000. 95% of individuals in the state earn less than €85,000, and 99% earn less than €100,000…when did those earning over €140k become the middle class?
@john gavin: Says the man who is satisfied with a blueshirt / F.F. colition. Two parties since the foundation of this state have betrayed and ruined it.
@Dave Lynch: You’re a great FFG cheerleader Dave. Remind me again how SF caused the banking, housing crisis and debt which lead to mass unemployment in 2008? Cronyism, nepotism and FFG gombeen policies have ruined this country.
@Wheresmyjumper: “so 1 in 5 people support a party that campaigned for the early release of the murderers of Det Jerry McCabe, that’s not good”. NO – everybody that voted Yes to the GFA voted for his release.
@john gavin: full employment means jackshit when those same people are just handing it all back in taxes, rent, highest mortgage rates in Europe, private health expenses if you want live, and if you have a euro left from that sure just go out and buy a new 40000 euro electric car which soon to be forced on us ! Oh and don,t forget the 90 billion we owe ! I,ll take me chances with any other party than FFG and Labour thanks.
@john gavin: Full employment? where people on low incomes are in receipt of family income supplement. Few can keep up with cost of living and misery everywhere except in the minds of FG/FF.
Ya a great little country we have, and no matter what you say boy- anyone and any party could not handle the housing-homeless and health service any worse than the FG/Landlord Party, So yes- its SF to the rescue!
@john gavin: I’ll vote for SF because the choice of FF/FG is no choice, FFG have looked at the state of the services we pay our taxes for, and they seem to think it’s acceptable, doesn’t directly affect them. They have no fresh policys on housing, so yeah I have looked at SF and yeah I will be voting for different policys.
@Daniel Kelly: Agreed – 100 years of back scratching corrupt politics. But I would rather that than a country lead by SF. They would run the country into the ground. Free everything for everyone! Don’t bother trying to get ahead in life – what’s the point – a SF lead government will just tax you to bits and give it to someone who sits there scratching their arse
@Patrick O Connell: National Childrens Hospital and broadband. And let’s not forget that our nurses went on strike last year and teachers are balloting to go on strike this year. As for homelessness, it is a growing problem in EVERY country. So if you are going to do a comparison, do it fairly.
@Patrick O Connell: how many times have people to be told sf stood in the six counties people who voted for them knew they would not take tgeir seats in stormount until civil rights were given to everyone, that the old status quo would not be allowed to return, do you not remember the old days when civil rights were denied. They signed up to the good friday agreement on the basis of civil rights and the dup would not fulfill their side of the bargain. As for Westminster they have always stated they would not swear an oath to the queen and they are keeping their word. Again people voted them and understood their position. Maybe people in the 26 counties arent used to political parties sticking to their manifestos.
@john gavin: The ongoing National Emergency in housing is a threat to the economy and competitivness Government own Advisory Group stated& UN said last year there was no affordable housing in Ireland!
There’s an ongoing National Emergency in homelessness.Homeless families with children has increased by 605% since 2011& homeless children in family units has increased by 677.7%& they are only the ‘official’figures as Ireland only uses 3 Catergories of ETHOS typology!
There’s an ongoing National Emergency in health with 1m people on combined hospital waiting lists & overcrowding in hospitals leading to higher mortality rates & last year there were 118,367 patients on trolleys!
There’s 1.7m workers earning €30,000& under who need affordable housing.Rents are much higher than boom years & twice to treble costs of mortgages yet the housing Government calls ‘affordable housing ‘ would need salaries of €100,000.
@Patrick O Connell: It’s important that all provisions of GFA honoured and that the people in the North not denied the same basic rights of a modern society.
NI uses all 13 Catergories of ETHOS typology re homelessness,here 10 Catergories of ETHOS excluded!
@Dave Lynch: Give a link to their policies you just made up!
You know there was an agreement but DUP pulled out of it!
I did read their policies and that’s why I will vote for them plus they put forwards good Bills in the Dail as solutions to serious problems eg ,housing,rents, health, insurance costs,etc&I’ve seen their performance on various Oireachtas Committees eg Finance, Health,PAC,etc
@john gavin: but fit enough to have achieved peace in Northern Ireland.Do you seriously believe Fg or FF are on a higher moral platform to SF??You need to open your eyes.
@Punters Pal: Id love to see where Sinn Fein really get their political donations. They are funded by drug dealing, bank robberies, diesel rackets…Don’t Vote SF!
@Dave Lynch: the moon USA big chunk of cheddar, Rudolph really has a red nose which lights up the path for Santa every year. And FFG are finally gonna deliver for the people after 100 years of delivering for themselves.
@Dave Lynch: “This dope Conon thinks SF are angles”. You must have had more than 2 pints today Dave. Even by The Journal comments standard that’s a really poor post.
@Dave Lynch: “Id love to see where Sinn Fein really get their political donations. They are funded by drug dealing, bank robberies, diesel rackets…Don’t Vote SF!” – keep spouting ‘Enda’s two pint man’, you’re sending people into the arms of SF in droves.
@Dave Lynch: You send me an article from the Newsletter with a big picture of Sammy Wilson on it. Is this supposed to be an unbiased investigative piece on SF. Go away outta that you FG unionist shill.
@Dave Lynch: And what is your take on FFGL, when they stood by and allowed the trafficking of tens of thousands of Irish children, the sexual abuse and rape of tens of thousands of innocent children and the murder of thousands of innocent little babies??? And that’s not to mention the enslavement of young girls who were locked up in institutions, for the rest of their lives, all because some feckless waster walked away from his responsibility. Just curious like
@Joseph Molloy: get rid of Gerry you’ll have a chance. Get rid of Mary Lou you’ll have a chance.
They’ll have a chance just fine thank you for your genuine concern.
I have become disillusioned, I honestly think there is very little between any of them, even the candidates on the posters never seem to change. Anyway it’s the top Civil Servants in each department that run the show and they had a mandate from nobody…….
@Willy Mc Entire: you are right, I’m thinking & hoping Sinn Féin will be the second biggest party in the Dáil, nothing will change if people keep voting for FF/G
It will be interesting to hear Mary Lou tell us about the hundred thousand houses the shinners are going to build considering it’s near impossible to get any tradesmen at the moment mostly due to the lack of apprenticeship over the last number of years.
May be she intends importing them like in the good old days only problem though is where we are going to house them and that’s without even mentioning the cost or will she let Pierce explain that one.
@Jp Murray: How are Fine Gael and Fianna Fáil going to build 200,000? Which is the figure in their Manifestos. So if you’re questioning Sinn Féins ability to deliver, really I’d be more inclined to question the other two on a figure of twice Sinn Féins
@Jp Murray: Not as interesting as the economist’s who have come out and said that FFGL housing targets are nothing but pure fantasy. Mind you don’t blow a gasket
@Bleurgh: maybe they’ll tax the banks and undo the disastrous Michael Noonan amnesty of 20 years tax free banking…and you think FG were on our side….Jesus wept
@Dave Lynch: Since the foundation of this state Blueshirts and F.F have governed. Elected by an electorate who voted for these parasites time after time. These two parties are toxic and will continue to be until put out of government.
@Dave Lynch: Please explain how they are….but just remember about the blood all over FFGL’s hands from turning a blind eye, before you start talking about the IRA.
@Dave Lynch: I would check your facts man…even Alan Dukes yesterday had to admit that SF have some seriously talented people on board ..ie Eoin O Broin and Pearse Doherty to mention just 2…imagine the insurance reform agenda had Pearse not highlighted what was going on..and Eoin is across the board accepted as the leading authority on housing,homelessness.
No. Not interested now that they’ve excluded Aontú and Peadar Tóibín. The media establishment controlling what we hear. Thanks to social media, their message is still getting out there.
@Maria Conroy Byrne: Aontu, the self described socially conservative Party, all I need to hear from them to know they go at the bottom of the list. Anti everything that’s none of their business.
@Sarah Connor: Do we only hear voices that we agree with? Aontú have some very good policies that seek to support those on the margins. I’d put them more on the left. A good choice for those who support all human rights. We’re adult enough to at least be given the chance to hear other viewpoints even if we don’t agree with them. Is it up to the media establishment to censor what we do or don’t hear? Is that not the very definition of what the media call fake news?
@Maria Conroy Byrne: The Aontú logo includes the message “life, unity, economic justice”. In County Meath, the Aontú Councillor, Peadar Tóibíns sister Emer, voted along with her grouping including FF and FG AGAINST a reduction in Local Property Tax… Where’s the “economic justice”? Pathetic.
@Maria Conroy Byrne: I can see where your coming from in a way Maria, but realistically they are having a debate with the 7 leaders of the 7 main parties. That’s already a lot of people talking over each other. There isn’t room for fringe party leaders, the like of Aontu, Renua, Irish nationalist party etc, they just don’t have enough support to warrant taking time off the others.
@Emmett Currie: gravy train? What about Sinn Fein MLAs drawing down salaries for the three years of the Stormont collapse? Receiving taxpayers money whilst leaving their constituents without representation during the Brexit negations period?
There are so many reasons. not to support them. Derry is one of the most deprived cities in the UK with 1/3 of children being raised in poverty yet SF supported austerity in the North while claim they’re opposed to it in the South. Their then MEP Lynn Boyle voted in favour of progressive water charges. They were very late in supporting a woman’s right to choose and have zero interest in animal welfare as along with FF and FG they voted against Maureen O’Sullivan’s bill to ban hare coursing. SF is probably the most hypocritical party of all.
@EillieEs: You do of course realise that the UK exchequer provides €12.1 billion annual subsidy to Northern Ireland? The British exchequer paid the European Union £8.1 billion annually to be part of the EU and all of it’s benefits, and the people weren’t happy about it. Meanwhile they give the north £9.2 billion. And what do they get for that £9.2 billion – a massive headache and a lot of hassle. They no more care about the people in the north than they do the people in Bolivia.
And as for your SF have zero interest in animal welfare. Are you for real?? FF have pledged an extra €6 million for children and have pledged €16 million to the greyhound industry. And FG have done what, since the puppy farming under cover investigation? Yep, that would be nothing.
Thinking to myself, what if there were another major crash in the next few years. .
Very possible as we are over leveraged with no tools left in the bag and the world is so volatile.
What government makeup do we need in there to protect people before institutions..
We know who has already sold us out when push comes to shove.
It also looks like we can’t stop FF being in power.
So we can only demand they work with SF to keep us someway protected when pressure comes again to destroy our society to fund investors that gambled and lost.
Never again..
@Shayne O’Donoghue: Very valid point. Recessions are an inevitability in our market-based economic model. The only questions are when will it happen and how deep of a recession will it be i.e. how long will it last?
We know from experience that FF won’t protect the citizens of this country, but rather big business and their overlords in Europe will come first.
We also know that FG & Labour will do the same. Remember “Labour’s way or Frankfurt’s way” & Leo stating that “not 1 red cent extra” would go into the banks? Yet when they got into power in 2011, they didn’t even try to give us Labour’s way – they just rolled over & gave us Frankfurt’s way!
We have €200bn of debt hanging over our heads that our children, grandchildren & most likely great grandchildren will be paying back!
@Martin O’Callaghan: It’s akin to War Reparations that Germany had to pay back for 70 years. Yet, we never invaded any country!
Instead, we just elect weak people to lead this country, who allow us to be bullied and intimidated at a European level – never mind the absolute reckless policies that they pursue time and again that have caused absolute catastrophe for our citizens, whilst they relax with their big fat cat salaries & pensions!
But instead of being objective on this and judging FF/FG & Labour on their merit, the good little sheep of Ireland will vote them back in. These mainstream parties know this, which is why they have no problem lying to you with ridiculous pledges during canvassing as they can relax in the knowledge of being re elected without consequence.
I find it interesting the amount of people (real people in the real world, not bots or party hacks on here,) who are willing to give SF a chance, not because they think SF are brilliant, but because the other two are just that bad. Then there are the opposite, those will to stick to FF/FG because they think SF will be way worse.
That really does sum up politics for me, having to vote for the least worst option, not the best option.
@Brian McDonnell: If you check the ballot paper closely you might discover there are more than those 3 options so you don’t have to support the party you consider the 3rd worst.
@Rochelle: And if all of those other parties came together, they still wouldn’t make up the difference to have a majority coalition with either FF or FG. I mean, I can’t see PBP throwing their hat in with FG. Labour however, well they’re not fussy, they’ll bend over for anyone, as long as it means a seat on the gravy train. Stephen Donnelly left the Soc Dems and moved over to the dark side, so I cannot see Soc Dem’s throwing their hat in with FG or FF.
Question? Why is Arlene Foster appearing on the late late show one week before polling day. She is entitled to access of all media, but the timing of this interview is nothing short of R.T.E. interfering with the outcome of the election. If a counter balance was was present on the show fair enough. R.T.E. held a debate between two leaders of all but the same party. This effort of propaganda Badly backfired. Next step bring on Arlene to save the Blueshirt/ F.F. colition.
@Paul Potts: They’re not very effective, I must admit. Their points revolve around negative issues with FG and FF rather than any actual positive reason to support SF.
Much like FG and FF supporters they also have the same kind of arrogance that seems to ignore the option of smaller parties and independents.
Not unless they invite the eighth party leader. Peadar Tóibín of Aontú. I hope he wins his court case tomorrow against RTÉ. Fair play. Vote Aontú number 1.
@Pat Kelly:…. The Aontú logo includes the message “life, unity, economic justice”. In County Meath, the Aontú Councillor, Peadar Tóibíns sister Emer, voted along with her grouping including FF and FG AGAINST a reduction in Local Property Tax… Where’s the “economic justice”? Pathetic.
@ObsidianShine: And Boris Johnson’s brother resigned his ministerial position. So what point is it, that you are trying to make. My sister likes coffee, I don’t. My favourite colour is red, my sisters is blue. Sibling differ in many different ways, and that includes their political leanings.
Richard Boyd Barrett always gives themhell im glad solidarity pbpb have dragged them all left sinn fein where for water charges and anti choice
vote solidarity pbp to keep them left
Wake up smell the coffee they’re all out for themselves. For those in society who think different keep on siffin the cocaine…. Nobody matters… We haven’t learn from the past and never will.. Their all of the one cloth top pensions free tax breaks.
@Joseph Molloy: How do we know that for sure if we’ve only every given FF or FG the majority. What’s baffling is that despite very few people being happy with the state of the country, people insist on just switching between the 2. Time to give someone else a go, vote anyone but FF or FG!
@Joseph Molloy: Well by the looks of it they’re not going to be replaced. I’ve never voted SF in my life, but will be this time I think. I know they won’t get a majority, but hoping they might get in a coalition. Traditionally the minor coalition party just does what they’re told, I don’t think SF will. I think they might have the balls to collapse the government if asked to sell out the people, which would lead to another election, and then possibly they could gain power with in a left coalition. What do we have to loose? Our people are dying on trolleys, children fundraising to go abroad for urgent healthcare, homelessness out of control.
Same nonsense every election, fg and ff have the same sheep voting them in every time, Also RTE needs to be shut down as its unwatchable , the people of Ireland really need to wake up.
@john gavin: Did you not see the recent polls John? SF are the 3rd most popular party in the country, with not much between them at all. Makes perfect sense they’d be well represented in the comments.
@john gavin: You just can’t stand it John, SF posters here don’t know each other. We are simply like minded individuals drawn together by our love for our country. Parties outside SF just don’t get that SF is a calling. A desire to see a better Ireland for the people of Ireland, all of it. As long as FFG only look after vested interests they will only ever be a broad gathering of people who want to look after themselves. This will be their demise in the long run.
@john gavin: This is the very reason there’s no hope for change in this country just too many John Gavins. The past 12 years or so the people have been governed by politicians that have proven to be totally incompetent at their jobs, not a week goes by without a new scandal. Yet no matter what they do they know there are enough gombeen party die hards out there to get them elected.
Pass. They will all attack each other then majority act like a pack of ravenous wolves, finish up by centering around one particular party growing, before going in for a PR kill.
@Phillip O’Brien: You might want to change the phillipobrien.com link on that twitter page of yours… People might not like that Adult Video Catalogue of yours. You are also a Homeless Service Day Shift Coordinator, surely you have seen the issues whihc have been caused by FFG and FF?
Interested to see what sf say, considering the first canvaser for the party to my door was from Belfast and couldn’t tell me anything about their manifesto in the south (his words), so his buddy from the area came and told me to look up sf manifesto online!! As I didn’t ask the populist question on homelessness!
We know their past, their record in Government so what’s the point listening to waffle and empty promises?
Of you Vote FF/FG/Green/Lab you know the rich will get even richer but everyone else will get poorer, if you disagree with this then look at CSO statistics, they don’t lie.
Sick of the electorate voting for people that actually damage them, tribal politics is alive and kicking in Ireland and it’s moronic
On a different note ,Why do we have to stick to this stupid voting system and go the first past the post as in Britain…Their election was one day and results by the following morning and that was for 60 million people…We’ll be still counting votes a week after the election and in all fairness if it takes 10 counts for someone to get in then they weren’t really wanted in in the first place.Its a typical Irish non decision making approach…ah sure we’ll get you in somehow!
Death toll from Myanmar earthquake rises to over 1,000 people as international aid arrives
Updated
56 mins ago
parking scam
Dublin City Council warns of 'convincing' parking ticket scam as gardaí launch investigation
3 mins ago
arctic reception
JD Vance says US take over of Greenland ‘makes sense’ during scaled back visit
Updated
15 hrs ago
Your Cookies. Your Choice.
Cookies help provide our news service while also enabling the advertising needed to fund this work.
We categorise cookies as Necessary, Performance (used to analyse the site performance) and Targeting (used to target advertising which helps us keep this service free).
We and our 161 partners store and access personal data, like browsing data or unique identifiers, on your device. Selecting Accept All enables tracking technologies to support the purposes shown under we and our partners process data to provide. If trackers are disabled, some content and ads you see may not be as relevant to you. You can resurface this menu to change your choices or withdraw consent at any time by clicking the Cookie Preferences link on the bottom of the webpage .Your choices will have effect within our Website. For more details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
We and our vendors process data for the following purposes:
Use precise geolocation data. Actively scan device characteristics for identification. Store and/or access information on a device. Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development.
Cookies Preference Centre
We process your data to deliver content or advertisements and measure the delivery of such content or advertisements to extract insights about our website. We share this information with our partners on the basis of consent. You may exercise your right to consent, based on a specific purpose below or at a partner level in the link under each purpose. Some vendors may process your data based on their legitimate interests, which does not require your consent. You cannot object to tracking technologies placed to ensure security, prevent fraud, fix errors, or deliver and present advertising and content, and precise geolocation data and active scanning of device characteristics for identification may be used to support this purpose. This exception does not apply to targeted advertising. These choices will be signaled to our vendors participating in the Transparency and Consent Framework.
Manage Consent Preferences
Necessary Cookies
Always Active
These cookies are necessary for the website to function and cannot be switched off in our systems. They are usually only set in response to actions made by you which amount to a request for services, such as setting your privacy preferences, logging in or filling in forms. You can set your browser to block or alert you about these cookies, but some parts of the site will not then work.
Targeting Cookies
These cookies may be set through our site by our advertising partners. They may be used by those companies to build a profile of your interests and show you relevant adverts on other sites. They do not store directly personal information, but are based on uniquely identifying your browser and internet device. If you do not allow these cookies, you will experience less targeted advertising.
Functional Cookies
These cookies enable the website to provide enhanced functionality and personalisation. They may be set by us or by third party providers whose services we have added to our pages. If you do not allow these cookies then these services may not function properly.
Performance Cookies
These cookies allow us to count visits and traffic sources so we can measure and improve the performance of our site. They help us to know which pages are the most and least popular and see how visitors move around the site. All information these cookies collect is aggregated and therefore anonymous. If you do not allow these cookies we will not be able to monitor our performance.
Store and/or access information on a device 110 partners can use this purpose
Cookies, device or similar online identifiers (e.g. login-based identifiers, randomly assigned identifiers, network based identifiers) together with other information (e.g. browser type and information, language, screen size, supported technologies etc.) can be stored or read on your device to recognise it each time it connects to an app or to a website, for one or several of the purposes presented here.
Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development 143 partners can use this purpose
Use limited data to select advertising 113 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times an ad is presented to you).
Create profiles for personalised advertising 83 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (such as forms you submit, content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (for example, information from your previous activity on this service and other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (that might include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present advertising that appears more relevant based on your possible interests by this and other entities.
Use profiles to select personalised advertising 83 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on your advertising profiles, which can reflect your activity on this service or other websites or apps (like the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects.
Create profiles to personalise content 39 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (for instance, forms you submit, non-advertising content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (such as your previous activity on this service or other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (which might for example include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present content that appears more relevant based on your possible interests, such as by adapting the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find content that matches your interests.
Use profiles to select personalised content 35 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on your content personalisation profiles, which can reflect your activity on this or other services (for instance, the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects. This can for example be used to adapt the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find (non-advertising) content that matches your interests.
Measure advertising performance 134 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which advertising is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine how well an advert has worked for you or other users and whether the goals of the advertising were reached. For instance, whether you saw an ad, whether you clicked on it, whether it led you to buy a product or visit a website, etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of advertising campaigns.
Measure content performance 61 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which content is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine whether the (non-advertising) content e.g. reached its intended audience and matched your interests. For instance, whether you read an article, watch a video, listen to a podcast or look at a product description, how long you spent on this service and the web pages you visit etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of (non-advertising) content that is shown to you.
Understand audiences through statistics or combinations of data from different sources 74 partners can use this purpose
Reports can be generated based on the combination of data sets (like user profiles, statistics, market research, analytics data) regarding your interactions and those of other users with advertising or (non-advertising) content to identify common characteristics (for instance, to determine which target audiences are more receptive to an ad campaign or to certain contents).
Develop and improve services 83 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service, such as your interaction with ads or content, can be very helpful to improve products and services and to build new products and services based on user interactions, the type of audience, etc. This specific purpose does not include the development or improvement of user profiles and identifiers.
Use limited data to select content 37 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type, or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times a video or an article is presented to you).
Use precise geolocation data 46 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, your precise location (within a radius of less than 500 metres) may be used in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Actively scan device characteristics for identification 27 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, certain characteristics specific to your device might be requested and used to distinguish it from other devices (such as the installed fonts or plugins, the resolution of your screen) in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Ensure security, prevent and detect fraud, and fix errors 92 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Your data can be used to monitor for and prevent unusual and possibly fraudulent activity (for example, regarding advertising, ad clicks by bots), and ensure systems and processes work properly and securely. It can also be used to correct any problems you, the publisher or the advertiser may encounter in the delivery of content and ads and in your interaction with them.
Deliver and present advertising and content 99 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Certain information (like an IP address or device capabilities) is used to ensure the technical compatibility of the content or advertising, and to facilitate the transmission of the content or ad to your device.
Match and combine data from other data sources 72 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Information about your activity on this service may be matched and combined with other information relating to you and originating from various sources (for instance your activity on a separate online service, your use of a loyalty card in-store, or your answers to a survey), in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Link different devices 53 partners can use this feature
Always Active
In support of the purposes explained in this notice, your device might be considered as likely linked to other devices that belong to you or your household (for instance because you are logged in to the same service on both your phone and your computer, or because you may use the same Internet connection on both devices).
Identify devices based on information transmitted automatically 88 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Your device might be distinguished from other devices based on information it automatically sends when accessing the Internet (for instance, the IP address of your Internet connection or the type of browser you are using) in support of the purposes exposed in this notice.
Save and communicate privacy choices 69 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
The choices you make regarding the purposes and entities listed in this notice are saved and made available to those entities in the form of digital signals (such as a string of characters). This is necessary in order to enable both this service and those entities to respect such choices.
have your say