You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Rapist Larry Murphy, who gardai have previously questioned in relation to the disappearances of Jo Jo Dullard and Deirdre Jacob

'New leads' in disappeared women cases

Operation Trace detectives reported to have received new information in mysterious cases of missing Leinster women.

IT HAS BEEN reported that gardai have received new information on the cases of two young women who disappeared without trace over a decade ago. Jo Jo Dullard was 21 when she was last seen trying to hitch a lift home to Kilkenny from Dublin and Deirdre Jacob was just 18 when she went missing near her home in Co Kildare.

While the Garda Press Office told TheJournal.ie that no official statement had been released relating to Operation Trace, which the press office described as “an ongoing operation”, today’s Irish Sun carries quotes from “a Garda spokesman”. The paper says that he confirmed that the Garda  Serious Crime Review Team and Operation Trace – which was set up to investigate the disappearance of several young women in the Leinster area – both received the new leads in the past three months.

The spokesman is quoted as saying they could not be more specific on the nature of the new information.

Wicklow man Larry Murphy, who was released last August after serving ten years of a 15-year sentence for rape and attempted murder, is the chief suspect in Jo Jo and Deirdre’s disappearance.

Murphy, now 45, raped and tried to kill a woman whom he abducted in Carlow and subjected to a torturous ordeal in the Wicklow Mountains in 2000. Originally from Baltinglass, Murphy has since left the country under heavy media scrutiny.

Jo Jo Dullard went missing on the evening of November 9, 1995 as she made her way home from Dublin to Kilkenny. She made a phone call at a phone box in Moone, Co Kildare and was last seen near to the spot where Murphy first raped his Co Carlow victim. Deirdre Jacob disappeared while out walking on the road a few hundred yards from her parents’ home outside Newbridge on July 28, 1998. Murphy was working in the area as a carpenter at the time.

Detectives from Operation Trace – investigating the disappearance of Jo Jo and Deirdre and four other young women, Annie McCarrick, Fiona Sinnott, Fiona Pender and Ciara Breen – had interviewed Murphy on at least three occasions about the missing women but he has consistently denied any involvement.

Three years ago, two FBI agents came to Dublin to study the files of Operation Trace. They concluded that there was a possible serial killer who was white, married and aged in his 30s when the women went missing.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

Comments
    Mute Ozmond
    Favourite Ozmond
    Jan 8th 2016, 5:03 PM

Right if she’s one of theirs maybe Sky news should carry out a survey on the streets of the UK asking people to pronounce her name!

Mute Conor Jennings
    Favourite Conor Jennings
    Jan 8th 2016, 6:03 PM

Pitch forks and flame torches out people.its time to march on the British embassy

Mute MeanderingsNI
    Favourite MeanderingsNI
    Jan 8th 2016, 6:09 PM

Firstly, doesnt sky cover the UK and Ireland, doesn’t it have a little irish section of news, also it broadcasts GAA – i don’t think it considers itself a totally ‘British’ network, like MTV, its not MTV UK its MTV UK & Ireland.
    Secondly shes from NEW YORK, the irish have been claiming her for as long as she has been ‘famous’, any other american would have been branded a plastic paddy a long time ago, unless theyre worth something then their from the aul sod!

See 22 more replies ▾
    Mute Derek Durkin
    Favourite Derek Durkin
    Jan 8th 2016, 6:13 PM

First problem here is that people watch Sky News.

Mute MeanderingsNI
    Favourite MeanderingsNI
    Jan 8th 2016, 6:16 PM

Thirdly, i really love feeding the outrage on these issues :)

Mute Jason
    Favourite Jason
    Jan 8th 2016, 6:18 PM

She was born in New York. Raised by Irish parents in Carlow. Educated in Carlow. She’s Irish.

Mute Tom Kelly
    Favourite Tom Kelly
    Jan 8th 2016, 6:19 PM

At least he could pronounce her name correctly.

Mute Allison Smith
    Favourite Allison Smith
    Jan 8th 2016, 6:23 PM

No she’s american

Mute pjm
    Favourite pjm
    Jan 8th 2016, 6:23 PM

Meandering so are you saying that because I lived in Australia for 5 years, and had a child with my Irish wife and we moved back to Ireland when the child was 3, that my child is Australian not Irish? F*ck right off you clown!

Mute MeanderingsNI
    Favourite MeanderingsNI
    Jan 8th 2016, 6:31 PM

The child would be Australian by birth, but entitled to Irish citizenship. Many people not born here can get Irish citizenship.

Mute Pepper Brooks
    Favourite Pepper Brooks
    Jan 8th 2016, 6:35 PM

It’s a disgrace. They are being knowingly and purposefully offensive and disrespectful to the citizens of Ireland. Switch cable providers and let them know that they won’t get away with this type of unacceptable behaviour anymore. Sneaks and lowlifes.

Mute watersedge
    Favourite watersedge
    Jan 8th 2016, 6:37 PM

Meaning of the Irish name Saoirse is “Freedom”, hint hint Brits.

Mute Mary Maher
    Favourite Mary Maher
    Jan 8th 2016, 8:31 PM

These reports in the Journal are so boringly predictable. Are we supposed to get indignant about such trivia? I’ll certainly join you in the March, just hang on til I get my burning torch.

Mute Christina Sherwin Russell
    Favourite Christina Sherwin Russell
    Jan 8th 2016, 8:35 PM

Nope, she is American, of Irish background…….
    I have one Irish son, one Scottish, and one Canadian, plus one Scottish daughter and a Canadian daughter…..all can hold Irish, British and Canadian passports……..but the Scottish are not Irish, and the Canadian are not Irish or Scottish……etc…….

Mute pjm
    Favourite pjm
    Jan 8th 2016, 10:52 PM

Christina no offence but who the hell do you think you are to tell anyone what nationality they are. Just because your family is the United Nations doesn’t mean what you believe goes for everyone else in the world. If you support the GFA then you support the right to people born in the north to choose Irish or UK nationality, so how does that sit with your rigid archaic outlook on nationality? Seeing as we’re on about the British John Barnes, Chris Froome and Mo Farah are all sporting heroes in the UK and all consider themselves British. But yet you know better so they are actually Jamaican, Kenyan and Somalian. Laughable really that you know better than them what nationality they are.

Mute Paul Ó Duḃṫaiġ
    Favourite Paul Ó Duḃṫaiġ
    Jan 8th 2016, 10:53 PM

Just as well Irish citzenship law isn’t based on location of birth. You can be born in Ireland and refused citizenship after all due to the 27th Amendment

Insertion of new Article 9.2:
    1° Notwithstanding any other provision of this Constitution, a person born in the island of Ireland, which includes its islands and seas, who does not have, at the time of the birth of that person, at least one parent who is an Irish citizen or entitled to be an Irish citizen is not entitled to Irish citizenship or nationality, unless provided for by law.
    2° This section shall not apply to persons born before the date of the enactment of this section.

Irish citizenship law is thus based mostly on Jus sanguinis, given that both her parents were born in Ireland she’s legally as Irish as someone born in the Rotunda.

Mute Allison Smith
    Favourite Allison Smith
    Jan 8th 2016, 11:34 PM

Oh pjm so easy to wind up, and with the language coming out of you. Frankly quite rude and ignorant

Mute Enda Kenny
    Favourite Enda Kenny
    Jan 9th 2016, 12:32 AM

@ Pepper Brooks

awww did they go and spoil all your 1916 self righteousness !!!!!!!!!!

Mute Kittycat87
    Favourite Kittycat87
    Jan 9th 2016, 12:40 AM

Ironically, the Irish are fond of claiming others as their own. As of recent, it’s US actress Brie Larson because she starred in ”Room”.

Mute apbtim
    Favourite apbtim
    Jan 9th 2016, 1:19 AM

Some mighty fine trolling kid

Mute James Delaney
    Favourite James Delaney
    Jan 9th 2016, 1:35 AM

No she’s American – BORN in New York.

Mute James Delaney
    Favourite James Delaney
    Jan 9th 2016, 1:38 AM

@c sherwin russell. Correct – U gave a multi-national family.

Mute Erianna Endurance Bogda
    Favourite Erianna Endurance Bogda
    Jan 9th 2016, 3:22 PM

I was really missing my wife when she left me for someone else. I was weak to take care of some situations and i let her slip my arms. I had to talk to my partner at the office who recently got her husband back. She told me to get in touch with John Patience who helped her get her husband back with a love spell. I was very sure of this because John has helped my partner get her husband back. So i called John Patience and told him i lost my lover and wanted her back. He encouraged me and told me to be happy. He did his thing and told me my wife will be back in 45 hours. I waited for that time and my wife called me and told me that she has forgiven me and ready to take me back in her life. Since then, my wife and i have been enjoying our marriage with our lovely 4 kids. I am very grateful to John for what he has done for me. I’d advice you to ask him for help if you have any problem on your relationship and some other aspects of life. His email is blessings434@gmail.com :)

Mute Aidan Mitchell
    Favourite Aidan Mitchell
    Jan 9th 2016, 3:22 PM

Paul, that’s the granny rule.
    Lad born in England.
    parents born in the England.
    Grand parents born in Ireland.

So if parents ‘can’ get Irish citizenships, but haven’t, they are still entitled to, so the lad can also get Irish citizenship.

Mute Enda Kenny
    Favourite Enda Kenny
    Jan 9th 2016, 6:58 PM

SKY news made me laugh

it was the morning after Day Lewis won the oscar for Lincoln

they were discussing his work with martin scorsese and michael mann

they are so happy

so proud of DDL

then someone mentioned his collaborations with Jim Sheridan.. they looked so sad

as if they those are “other films” he made ffs

Mute Sean McCarthy
    Favourite Sean McCarthy

Sky pull this stunt that often I’m starting to think they do it to purposely just to wind us all up…..well mission accomplished Sky!!!

Mute Podge Cannon
    Favourite Podge Cannon
    Jan 8th 2016, 5:24 PM

Yeah Irish people get extremely vexxed about pointless stories like, extreme case of small nation symdrome

Mute Tony Skillington
    Favourite Tony Skillington
    Jan 8th 2016, 5:51 PM

Ahh here..it’s Sky. You’d expect nothing less than car crash television companies..they’d love her to be one of them..but she’s not….she’s one of us. Fk ye Sky…will she still be ‘British’ if she doesn’t win?

Mute Hugh G. Johnson
    Favourite Hugh G. Johnson
    Jan 8th 2016, 6:00 PM

Podge

It’s effectively the same thing as these bigots saying an Italian actress is one of their own.

Mute Affinity
    Favourite Affinity
    Jan 8th 2016, 7:12 PM

Have no idea why people watch that Murdoch rag station, as bad as Fox news.

Mute Emmet Quinn
    Favourite Emmet Quinn
    Jan 8th 2016, 5:34 PM

To paraphrase the UK media in 1990. “British actor Richard Harris celebrates Oscar win!” Hours later… “Irish actor Richard Harris in drunken brawl!”

Mute Hypernova
    Favourite Hypernova
    Jan 8th 2016, 6:15 PM

Well Emmet one of their own hell raisers in buried in North Cork,Oliver Reed.Probably about 20 miles away from Richard Harris.Funny that,two of the greats.

Mute Enda Kenny
    Favourite Enda Kenny
    Jan 8th 2016, 6:24 PM

@ Emmet Quinn

Richard Harris never won an oscar

Mute George Hogan
    Favourite George Hogan
    Jan 8th 2016, 5:01 PM

Who gives a $hit?

Mute proctor
    Favourite proctor
    Jan 8th 2016, 5:04 PM

People need to be outraged!

Mute Dot Com
    Favourite Dot Com
    Jan 8th 2016, 5:08 PM

@proctor
    I am outraged at your lack of outrage. As far as i know she’s a yank.

Mute stephen
    Favourite stephen
    Jan 8th 2016, 5:42 PM

Sure it’s no harm having her.

Mute Enda Kenny
    Favourite Enda Kenny
    Jan 8th 2016, 6:04 PM

@ George Hogan

we claim Daniel Day Lewis as one of us then we sh-t our pants when the brits claim a german actor and an american actress as their own????

Mute Cal Mooney
    Favourite Cal Mooney
    Jan 8th 2016, 6:09 PM

George, I agree … if they dont have enough talent, let them claim ours, Australian, French etc… They really are sad, God love them.

Mute Del Haven
    Favourite Del Haven
    Jan 8th 2016, 5:05 PM

Her nationality is Irish but holds dual citizenship with America as she was born in New York. Not York.

Mute Hugh G. Johnson
    Jan 8th 2016, 6:01 PM

She spent about 3 days there as a baby and apparently that makes her an American too.

Only an Irish person would have that mentality.

Mute MeanderingsNI
    Favourite MeanderingsNI

3 years actually…

Mute Hugh G. Johnson
    Jan 8th 2016, 6:11 PM

3 YEARS!

She’s as American as apple pie then!

Mute Enda Kenny
    Favourite Enda Kenny
    Jan 8th 2016, 6:17 PM

@ Hugh G. Johnson

She’s as American as torture and lies and drone strikes !!!!!!!!!!!!

Mute MeanderingsNI
    Favourite MeanderingsNI
    Jan 8th 2016, 6:33 PM

Or shes as irish as St.Patrick, he wasn’t Irish either

Mute Hugh G. Johnson
    Jan 8th 2016, 6:55 PM

Patrick Vieira was French and never played for Southampton.

Mute marian doherty
    Favourite marian doherty

What’s with the British claiming everything that’s not their own?

Mute proctor
    Favourite proctor

They’ve done it for more than 800 years to be fair nothing new there

Mute TheVicar
    Favourite TheVicar
    Jan 8th 2016, 5:57 PM

Force of habit everything they have they stole from someone.

Mute Enda Kenny
    Favourite Enda Kenny
    Jan 8th 2016, 6:12 PM

@ marian doherty

the GAA sold out to SKY but we get mad if they call Saoirse british??????

maybe if SKY took care of us same way the good ole GAA take care of certain people

then maybe we wouldn’t be so mad : )

maybe if SKY paid for our dinner and the petrol in our cars we wouldn’t be so fast to criticize them

Mute Enda Kenny
    Favourite Enda Kenny

@ TheVicar

the only reason Saoirse was cast is because Rooney Mara dropped out to do ‘Carol’

Mute Darren Mccarthy
    Favourite Darren Mccarthy
    Jan 8th 2016, 5:19 PM

So if she is British…is the queen German?

Mute MeanderingsNI
    Favourite MeanderingsNI

No, the queen was born in the UK, unlike Saoirse who was born in america.

Mute Rowe
    Favourite Rowe
    Jan 8th 2016, 5:00 PM

Fassbender is British according to Sky news apparently

Mute Josephine Sweeney
    Favourite Josephine Sweeney

Searshaw Ronane is good

Mute Rochelle
    Favourite Rochelle
    Jan 8th 2016, 5:07 PM

He has lived in London for 19 years, much longer than he lived here.

See 18 more replies ▾
    Mute George Hogan
    Favourite George Hogan
    Jan 8th 2016, 5:13 PM

There are a whole lot of country folk living in Dublin, no one would EVER consider them as Dubliners!

Mute Rochelle
    Favourite Rochelle
    Jan 8th 2016, 5:15 PM

Except the dictionary apparently.

Dubliner (ˈdʌblɪnə)
    n
    1. (Placename) inhabitant of Dublin

Mute Hypernova
    Favourite Hypernova
    Jan 8th 2016, 5:36 PM

@Rowe
    Ya,I saw that.Richard Suchet interviewed Dame Pippa Harris who is chair of Baftas film committee and she referred to Michael Fastbender along with Kate Winslet as being Brits.Are they stupid or what.

Mute JimmyMc
    Favourite JimmyMc
    Jan 8th 2016, 5:52 PM

Someone should ask them what her first name means

Mute Enda Kenny
    Favourite Enda Kenny
    Jan 8th 2016, 6:01 PM

@ Hypernova

” Are they stupid or what ”

they know exactly what they are doing
    they know people like you will get angry
    they are loving every second of it

Mute Cal Mooney
    Favourite Cal Mooney
    Jan 8th 2016, 6:07 PM

They may try to take our lives, but they will never take our FREEDOM, sorry Saoirse

Mute MeanderingsNI
    Favourite MeanderingsNI
    Jan 8th 2016, 6:14 PM

Thats ridiculous, we all know hes German!

Mute Seán O'Ceallaghan
    Favourite Seán O'Ceallaghan
    Jan 8th 2016, 6:20 PM

Fassbender is technically German and lives in England, Ronan is American who both was born and lives in America. The Irish is just as bad at claiming people plus citing Wikipedia is hardly best practice

Mute JimmyMc
    Favourite JimmyMc

Obama Plaza!

Mute Enda Kenny
    Favourite Enda Kenny

they never underlined this part of her Wikipedia page ..

Born: April 12, 1994 New York, United States

Mute pjm
    Favourite pjm
    Jan 8th 2016, 6:41 PM

Michael Fassbender
    One German parent and 2 years of his childhood in Germany = German
    One Irish parent and 16 years of his childhood in Ireland = German
    That’s the strange logic of Kenny and Meandering above!

Mute (♐️)Sagiton Games.
    Favourite (♐️)Sagiton Games.
    Jan 8th 2016, 7:08 PM

Technically he is German.
    Shure isn’t Fassbender German for goose step!!

Mute TheBull
    Favourite TheBull
    Jan 8th 2016, 8:11 PM

It’ll be tough, but I think I’ll sleep just fine tonight by not giving a crap what the British say or do.

Mute Paddy o'brian
    Favourite Paddy o'brian
    Jan 8th 2016, 9:51 PM

Wrong, he’s German….anyway who is saoirse Ronan?

Mute Johnneary
    Favourite Johnneary
    Jan 8th 2016, 11:27 PM

Being a part of Murdoch’s filthy empire.
    That’s one award you can do without.

Mute Enda Kenny
    Favourite Enda Kenny
    Jan 9th 2016, 12:28 AM

Fassbender is irish according to Rte news apparently

Mute Jim
    Favourite Jim
    Jan 9th 2016, 1:06 AM

We need Samual L Jackson on the case again. http://taint.org/2003/12/10/185721a.html

Mute Aidan Mitchell
    Favourite Aidan Mitchell
    Jan 9th 2016, 3:11 PM

What? We’re claiming someone with an Irish passport as being Irish. You’re right, we are as bad…..!?!

Mute Bigus Diccus
    Favourite Bigus Diccus
    Jan 8th 2016, 5:06 PM

They can have Dara Ó Bríain

Mute Rasputin
    Favourite Rasputin
    Jan 8th 2016, 5:12 PM

Please please can they take Jason Byrne as well.

Mute Larry Doyle
    Favourite Larry Doyle
    Jan 8th 2016, 5:34 PM

Sounds like a war continued by other means.

Mute Al Ca
    Favourite Al Ca
    Jan 8th 2016, 6:06 PM

Dara Ó Briain we should keep, he’s quite entertaining and in no way full of himself……but they can have Brendan O Connor and save us a million.

Mute KM TON
    Favourite KM TON
    Jan 8th 2016, 5:02 PM

Tongue firmly in cheek. If this is what angers people then they really need to get more of a life!

Mute KalEll
    Favourite KalEll

Still claiming the Atlantic Archipelago too it seems

Mute Cal Mooney
    Favourite Cal Mooney
    Jan 8th 2016, 6:10 PM

When did England ever draw a line on boundaries. They have never given up their empire/slave mentality.

Mute Talleyrand Frye
    Favourite Talleyrand Frye
    Jan 8th 2016, 6:49 PM

A friend of mine suggested that we call them the WISE Isles – with WISE being an acronym for Wales, Ireland, Scotland and England….a bit unfair to the Isle of Man and some other people, but I still didn’t think it was a bad suggestion!

Although maybe we could rename the islands with a view to boosting tourism….the European Tropics or Northwestern Tahiti or something along those lines??

Mute Foghorn Leghorn
    Favourite Foghorn Leghorn

Are we still getting pissy about this stuff

Mute Podge Cannon
    Favourite Podge Cannon
    Jan 8th 2016, 5:39 PM

Oh yeah!!! i propose we destroy our Sky Boxes and have an Islamic type day of outrage type thing.

Mute David McShite
    Favourite David McShite
    Jan 8th 2016, 5:20 PM

National inferiority complex on display with all this outrage.
    Simple fact is the Irish are very English and the English are very Irish. We are for the most part pretty interchangeable and more like each other than any two other nations on the planet. We like each other more than we pretend and the brits always support our soccer team in international competitions second to their own.
    Don’t forget we practically adopted Jeremy Irons, Damon Hill, Frankie goes to Hollywood, Duran Duran, Wham and every other famous British who resided here for a time.
    We need to be more cool.
    Btw. Saoirse Ronan doesn’t belong to us, she is her own.

Mute Pat Gorman
    Favourite Pat Gorman
    Jan 8th 2016, 5:35 PM

That is ALWAYS the case in Britain.
    If they are good they are British.
    If they are a baddie they are Irish.
    Never fails.
    (Maggie Thatcher famously called Bob Geldorf “a true Brit”).

Mute Podge Cannon
    Favourite Podge Cannon
    Jan 8th 2016, 6:02 PM

He is, who cares

Mute Eamonn Hughes
    Favourite Eamonn Hughes
    Jan 8th 2016, 6:08 PM

Geldof is one I don’t mind them having.

Mute Tereck
    Favourite Tereck

It’s kind of like how the Irish media were trying to claim Tyson Fury as Irish when he became heavyweight champion.

Mute Fr. Billy O'Dwyer
    Favourite Fr. Billy O'Dwyer

It’s exactly like that. The difference is the British media didn’t give a single shite.

Mute Rasputin
    Favourite Rasputin

And quickly wanted to hand him back when the found out what a numpty he is…

Mute Hypernova
    Favourite Hypernova
    Jan 8th 2016, 5:16 PM

Who in the Irish media were trying to claim Tyson Fury?.Show us the proof.

Mute pjm
    Favourite pjm
    Jan 8th 2016, 5:20 PM

Well Tyson Furys family, on both sides, are from Ireland. Since when are Saoirse Ronans family from the UK. Explain how it’s like that?

Mute Enda Kenny
    Favourite Enda Kenny
    Jan 8th 2016, 6:08 PM

@ Fr. Billy O’Dwyer

there was some athlete not so long ago

there was controversy, he turned his head when a brit song was played

so he cant take a british song but he can take money from a british club??????

Mute Fr. Billy O'Dwyer
    Favourite Fr. Billy O'Dwyer
    Jan 8th 2016, 9:23 PM

What’s that got to do with this? That’s just a completely different subject. I’d be the 1st person to say that James McClain is a moron anyway

Mute Enda Kenny
    Favourite Enda Kenny
    Jan 9th 2016, 12:30 AM

@ Fr Billy O’Dwyer

was that his name?

Mute Keaneland
    Favourite Keaneland
    Jan 8th 2016, 5:54 PM

Hey Sky News you may take our lives but you can never take our SAOIRSE!

Mute Enda Kenny
    Favourite Enda Kenny
    Jan 8th 2016, 6:29 PM

according to Dennis Quaid her name is

She Shaw Row Nun

Mute Marty Lawless
    Favourite Marty Lawless
    Jan 8th 2016, 5:26 PM

Sky please take enda and joan as urs we dont want them

Mute Enda Kenny
    Favourite Enda Kenny
    Jan 8th 2016, 6:22 PM

@ Marty Lawless

yeah thats why he was elected because the irish people DON’T want him

Mute Rochelle
    Favourite Rochelle
    Jan 8th 2016, 5:06 PM

When such a sizable chunk of people in this country are essentially culturally British, particularly around the pale it’s difficult to get involved in this outrage.

Mute George Hogan
    Favourite George Hogan
    Jan 8th 2016, 5:10 PM

‘Sizeable chunk of people’, oh dear!
    Well, there’s no doubting the veracity of your cultural routes!

Mute GunsGerms
    Favourite GunsGerms
    Jan 8th 2016, 6:22 PM

Shut up Rochelle.

Mute stephen
    Favourite stephen
    Jan 8th 2016, 5:43 PM

As far as I know we are all Africans, that’s if you go back far enough.

Mute O Swetenham
    Favourite O Swetenham

Who really cares. Sure if they don’t win the awards they’ll definitely be classed as Irish.

Mute Thomas Murphy
    Favourite Thomas Murphy
    Jan 8th 2016, 5:15 PM

Who cares what they say? It’s just like me saying I have a healthy 7 inches! It doesn’t mean it’s true, it just means I said it.

Mute Jimmy Murphy
    Favourite Jimmy Murphy
    Jan 8th 2016, 6:55 PM

This is getting tired. She’s Irish & everyone with half a brain cell knows it. No matter what Sky says.

Mute Ted Murray
    Favourite Ted Murray
    Jan 8th 2016, 7:10 PM

The trouble with Sky is that they’re only sharing half a brain cell between all of them.

Mute Oran Joyce
    Favourite Oran Joyce
    Jan 8th 2016, 5:09 PM

Outrageous.
    If I was an American I would be really upset.

Mute eamon mcloughlin
    Favourite eamon mcloughlin
    Jan 8th 2016, 5:51 PM

Where did Suchet study geography!!!!

Mute Rab Mac Aonghusa
    Favourite Rab Mac Aonghusa

Who cares what arbitrary national lines Ronan happened to be within the day she was born? Britishness or Irishness have very little to do with her quality as an actress!

Mute Enda Kenny
    Favourite Enda Kenny
    Jan 8th 2016, 6:20 PM

@ Rab Mac Aonghusa

being nominated for awards has very little to do with her quality as an actress!

Mute Kittycat87
    Favourite Kittycat87
    Jan 9th 2016, 12:32 AM

Love it when Irish people make holy shows of themselves on social media. I bet Suchet is having a great laugh! Ronan is a US citizen who no longer lives in this country (lucky her). Likely she couldn’t care less if the Brits claim her having lived in London for a few years and likely has many Brit peers. The Brits are fond of Ronan, appreciate her work hence the three BAFTA noms she’s received over the years. Same with Fassbender (German born) who left Ireland 18 years ago. People, get lives!!

Mute Enda Kenny
    Favourite Enda Kenny
    Jan 9th 2016, 12:44 AM

@ Kittycat87

a stock a vetch go how vetch

Mute David O'Connor
    Favourite David O'Connor
    Jan 8th 2016, 6:37 PM

Love the way everyone gets their back up when this happens. Every bloody famous person has a link to Ireland when we want them to

Mute Ted Murray
    Favourite Ted Murray
    Jan 8th 2016, 6:45 PM

If an alien spaceship landed, those Irish genealogy folks would find something, in the same way that they “allegedly” found something on Clinton.

Mute James Xenophon
    Favourite James Xenophon
    Jan 8th 2016, 5:47 PM

People on here seriously have a chip on their shoulder about this sort of thing.

Mute Neal Ireland Hello
    Favourite Neal Ireland Hello
    Jan 8th 2016, 5:58 PM

I like to think that most of them are being tongue-in-cheek.

Mute James Xenophon
    Favourite James Xenophon

It’s taking it a bit far writing up an article and posting it on the front page of the website if they’re being tongue in cheek.

Mute Erik Raftery
    Favourite Erik Raftery
    Jan 8th 2016, 7:41 PM

These Brits are clowns. They are claiming the singer Madonna as one of thier own as well.

Mute Ted Murray
    Favourite Ted Murray

Well, they haven’t claimed Shane MacGowan, so I suppose it’s swings and roundabouts, or smoke and mirrors, or whatever. I’m going to send a furious email to someone, and burn something or other.

Mute Enda Kenny
    Favourite Enda Kenny
    Jan 8th 2016, 6:31 PM

@ Ted Murray

would you claim Shane MacGowan????????????

Mute Ted Murray
    Favourite Ted Murray
    Jan 8th 2016, 6:41 PM

Only if he gave me a few quid :p

Mute Robert Lester
    Favourite Robert Lester

That would be an ecumenical matter.

Mute Johnny Joe
    Favourite Johnny Joe
    Jan 8th 2016, 5:59 PM

Seriously people who gives a f@#k!! We should all just get along.

Mute James Onedin
    Favourite James Onedin
    Jan 8th 2016, 7:43 PM

FFS people it’s only the BAFTA awards which are almost as incestuous and irrelevant as the IFTA awards and really not worth getting excited about. Move on.

Mute Seán Domhnall O'Sullivan
    Favourite Seán Domhnall O'Sullivan
    Jan 8th 2016, 6:28 PM

The real lesson here is why watch Sky news. Watch news that is not Sky news.

Mute Alan Roddy
    Favourite Alan Roddy
    Jan 8th 2016, 6:18 PM

Has anybody asked them what nationality they consider themselves to be?

Mute Marc Quinn
    Favourite Marc Quinn
    Jan 8th 2016, 5:58 PM

De ya know what I like about the Brits………fook all!!!!

Mute Del Haven
    Favourite Del Haven
    Jan 8th 2016, 6:06 PM

At least you like something…

Mute Micheal S. O' Ceilleachair
    Favourite Micheal S. O' Ceilleachair
    Jan 8th 2016, 5:49 PM

Like all good Brits we speak the Queen’s English… At least Saoirse is the Irish for freedom, and Seoirse is the Irish for George. Perhaps the Journal should develop an Irish Language section whereby we can see how Irish or British we are. It might be enlightening!!!!

Mute Enda Kenny
    Favourite Enda Kenny
    Jan 8th 2016, 6:27 PM

@ Micheal S. O’ Ceilleachair

makes me LOL every chance they get,, they are crying about Britain

if it wasn’t for the British.. they wouldn’t even be able to talk

i guess they’d just grunt at each other (like animals)

Mute Rob Mills
    Favourite Rob Mills

Yes and the Dole has just released the unemployment figures, 19% is not even close to 10%.

Mute Tonzst Corbett
    Favourite Tonzst Corbett
    Jan 8th 2016, 7:45 PM

There obviously still struggling with Irish independence, maybe ye miss us guys…..!!!!!

Mute Donal Lynch
    Favourite Donal Lynch
    Jan 8th 2016, 6:17 PM

Work both way Daniel Day Lewis

Mute Enda Kenny
    Favourite Enda Kenny
    Jan 8th 2016, 6:30 PM

Daniel Day Lewis loves ireland so much he took a knight hood

Mute Martin Healy
    Favourite Martin Healy
    Jan 8th 2016, 6:45 PM

He’s not Irish, he’s British

Mute Mary King
    Favourite Mary King
    Jan 8th 2016, 10:25 PM

To quote the Duke of Wellington when accused of being Irish (because he was born here) “Being born in a stable, does not make one a horse’
    Equally if a cat has kittens in an oven does not make them buns !

Mute Martin Healy
    Favourite Martin Healy
    Jan 8th 2016, 6:43 PM

Saoirse Ronan was born in America, her family moved to Ireland when she was 3

Mute Enda Kenny
    Favourite Enda Kenny
    Jan 9th 2016, 12:43 AM

she’s only irish if she spent FOUR years in america!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Mute Scorpionvenomm
    Favourite Scorpionvenomm
    Jan 8th 2016, 9:12 PM

I thought she was American

Mute Declan Healy
    Favourite Declan Healy
    Jan 8th 2016, 6:28 PM

Where your born is where your from!!!

Mute Enda Kenny
    Favourite Enda Kenny
    Jan 8th 2016, 6:32 PM

@ Declan Healy

where were you born?

Mute Amanda Horan
    Favourite Amanda Horan
    Jan 8th 2016, 7:09 PM

Yes, which means she is American, not Irish

Mute Gary
    Favourite Gary
    Jan 8th 2016, 8:06 PM

Declan, there’s no maternity hospital in Co.Meath for example, does that mean there’s no such thing as a Meath person?

Mute Francis Glynn
    Favourite Francis Glynn

Why don’t people write, phone, email etc in complaining. It’s happening all too often now tbh!

Mute Kittycat87
    Favourite Kittycat87
    Jan 9th 2016, 12:35 AM

Surely people have better things to be doing? If it doesn’t bother the ‘talent’, perhaps you shouldn’t let it bother you!

Mute Sean O'Riordan
    Favourite Sean O'Riordan
    Jan 8th 2016, 11:04 PM

Who’s gives a s h i t

Mute An Sciathán Deas
    Favourite An Sciathán Deas
    Jan 9th 2016, 8:48 AM

Isn’t the definition of British inclusive of Irish? It’s a bit like European, you either identify with the term or you don’t.

Mute Paul Dunne
    Favourite Paul Dunne
    Jan 8th 2016, 6:26 PM

Fox news more like it she’s a septic tank