You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

St. Luke's Hospital via Google Maps

New palliative care unit in Kilkenny announced by Susie Long Hospice Fund

The fund want to continue working towards a 12 bed unit.

A NEW SIX-BED palliative care unit has been announced by the Susie Long Hospice Fund for St. Luke’s Hospital in Kilkenny.

The fund was set up in October 2007 after 42-year-old mother of two Susie Long died from bowel cancer.

Susie raised awareness about the public waiting list she experienced as she didn’t have private health insurance.

She wrote an e-mail to Liveline and spoke to Prime Time from hospital in Dublin where she outlined her belief in the need for a properly-resourced public health system.

After her death friends and family set up the fund with the aim of providing a 12-bed hospice in Kilkenny.

Her family said:

Today is an emotional day for us, as the promise of a hospice for Kilkenny begins to turn into a reality. We are delighted that progress is now being made in bringing this vital service to the people in our community.

“Susie had to travel to a hospice in Dublin and we were lucky to able to stay with family there to be with her in her final days.

They also added that “hospice care allowed Susie to emerge from pain and uncertainty, to become her full self again and allowed her to speak out on behalf of those who were not receiving the care and treatment they deserved.

We look forward to the opening of this interim 6-bed unit palliative care unit shortly and believe that pressure must now be maintained to build the permanent 12-bed hospice as soon as possible.

Read: People with serious illnesses asked to share their experience of palliative care>

Read: HSE signs agreement to improve palliative care>

Read: 2,500 patients a year are denied access to hospice services>

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

8 Comments
    Mute Ronan Stokes
    Favourite Ronan Stokes
    Jun 28th 2014, 7:59 AM

Have a great day all!!

Mute Lang
    Favourite Lang
    Jun 28th 2014, 8:18 AM

Hope everyone has a fan-bloody-tastic day!!

Mute Noble Gas
    Favourite Noble Gas
    Jun 28th 2014, 8:00 AM

I am the only gay in the….no wait. Have fun everyone!

Mute Joanne Champ
    Favourite Joanne Champ
    Jun 28th 2014, 8:28 AM

Have a fantastic day everybody xxx

Mute Mike Clinton
    Favourite Mike Clinton
    Jun 28th 2014, 9:23 AM

Happy Pride day folks. This is your day and I hope you enjoy it.

Mute Fognostical
    Favourite Fognostical
    Jun 28th 2014, 8:25 AM

Enjoy yourselves :-) , as the late Larry Grayson always said “What a gay day!”

Mute Maria Dardis
    Favourite Maria Dardis
    Jun 28th 2014, 8:43 AM

Good stuff, fair play to all of you! Have a gteat day. M.

Mute kingstown
    Favourite kingstown
    Jun 28th 2014, 9:22 AM

Bet David Quinn and Breda O’Brien will be seething in their pews waiting to scribble down their anti-gay hatred or as they call it -their sincerely held beliefs’

Mute John Deegan
    Favourite John Deegan
    Jun 28th 2014, 9:29 AM

It’s your day today. Shouldn’t you be happy? I suspect you’re not.

Mute Noble Gas
    Favourite Noble Gas
    Jun 28th 2014, 9:31 AM

It’s all a misunderstanding. They think gay people are a great bunch of lads , but only an invisible man told them that gays were against the natural order of things and shouldn’t have the same rights as straight people. No offence intended – it’s the invisible mans fault really.

Mute Danny Rigg
    Favourite Danny Rigg
    Jun 28th 2014, 7:52 AM

I’m already on the train to Dublin. I hate crowds

Mute Mad Taoiseach
    Favourite Mad Taoiseach
    Jun 28th 2014, 8:01 AM

Let them March. What harm can be done?

Mute Samuel Ista
    Favourite Samuel Ista
    Jun 28th 2014, 12:18 PM

This parade is unsuitable for a city centre in daytime due to the outfits that many of the participants wear. Grown men in leather thongs should not be allowed in public. Personally I find it stomach turning.

Mute Jane Travers
    Favourite Jane Travers
    Jun 28th 2014, 10:39 AM

Anyone know the best spot to watch the parade? I’m dying my hair bright pink in honour of the day that’s in it :)

Mute Ailbhe O'Nolan
    Favourite Ailbhe O'Nolan
    Jun 28th 2014, 11:26 AM

Woah Jane, nice! Good on ya

Mute Jane Travers
    Favourite Jane Travers
    Jun 28th 2014, 11:45 AM

Any excuse really, Ailbhe. It was blue and green last week ;)

Mute George Hogan
    Favourite George Hogan
    Jun 28th 2014, 12:58 PM

@jane
    Bet you’ll look stunning Jane! Happy Pride all. Looking forward to a great day. Get involved people – share the love!
    @ Ailbhe – have a great day, even if you can’t make Pride this year! Great news about your grandparents. Older people are great and can really surprise sometimes!

Mute Jane Travers
    Favourite Jane Travers
    Jun 28th 2014, 2:22 PM

George, what a lovely positive thing to say! I’m not sure you belong on the Journal ;)

Mute Cian O Donoghue
    Favourite Cian O Donoghue
    Jun 28th 2014, 10:26 AM

How many letters are they going to end up with??

Mute significantrisk
    Favourite significantrisk
    Jun 28th 2014, 10:48 AM

As many as it takes until “people” includes everyone equally.

Mute Cian O Donoghue
    Favourite Cian O Donoghue
    Jun 28th 2014, 11:07 AM

Maybe just call themselves people then. No need to differentiate from anybody any other way inclined?

Mute Carcu Sidub
    Favourite Carcu Sidub
    Jun 28th 2014, 12:58 PM

Anybody else find it unusual that the parade got routed across Butt Bridge?

Mute George Hogan
    Favourite George Hogan
    Jun 28th 2014, 1:12 PM

Eh, no!

Mute Joe The Man
    Favourite Joe The Man
    Jun 28th 2014, 10:09 AM

Looks like fun!!

Mute Stevie J
    Favourite Stevie J
    Jun 28th 2014, 9:39 AM

What does the Q stand for in LGBTQ?

Mute roryboyle
    Favourite roryboyle
    Jun 28th 2014, 9:55 AM

Queer, men that sleep with men but do not consider themselves gay.

Mute Patrick Varley
    Favourite Patrick Varley
    Jun 28th 2014, 10:00 AM
    Mute Patrick Varley
    Favourite Patrick Varley
    Jun 28th 2014, 10:02 AM

It stands for “questioning” surely…

Mute Patrick Varley
    Favourite Patrick Varley
    Jun 28th 2014, 10:05 AM
    Mute Jane Travers
    Favourite Jane Travers
    Jun 28th 2014, 10:38 AM

It’s “questioning” not queer.

Mute Stevie J
    Favourite Stevie J
    Jun 28th 2014, 12:08 PM

Cheers

Mute Taxi Bill
    Favourite Taxi Bill
    Jun 28th 2014, 11:56 AM

Enjoy the party, because probably in less than 50 years you probably wont be able to have one at all. As radical Islam occupies much of Europe their tolerances of ANYTHING different (cartoons) gets met with a bullet at the back of the head. (lets face it how many pride festivals are there in Saudi for example) Even now we see “women” and children (not men mind you! ) in Ireland covered from head to toe in black and people hardy bat an eyelid. LGBTQ people fought long and hard for the freedoms you have, well enjoy them while you can!!

Of course that could NEVER happen in Ireland????

Well add a little section of the parade to pass by the Mosque in Clonskea and see the reaction.

Mute Michael Fallon
    Favourite Michael Fallon
    Jun 28th 2014, 12:14 PM

Down with this type of thing

Mute Sheldon Sheridan
    Favourite Sheldon Sheridan
    Jun 28th 2014, 2:36 PM

40,000 in Dublin? PinkNews is saying there’s 20,000 at London’s Pride today. If the figures are correct, I’m thrilled.

Mute Mad Taoiseach
    Favourite Mad Taoiseach
    Jun 28th 2014, 7:19 PM

12,488 showed up.

Mute Samuel Ista
    Favourite Samuel Ista
    Jun 28th 2014, 12:15 PM

This parade is unsuitable for a city centre in daytime due to pretty nasty and very sexual outfits that many of the males wear. Men in leather thongs or hotpants, it’s disgusting and perverted and doesn’t encourage respect from straight folk like me. These adult men and women obviously have a twisted sense of their place in society and relish the opportunity to parade their perversion. I guess the vast majority of mature, intelligent, and self respecting gay people stay home today and are very embarrassed by the freaks who claim to represent their sexuality.