You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Nick Leeson: I sat my sons down this week to pass on the hard lessons I have learned

In an exclusive piece for TheJournal.ie, the former ‘rogue’ trader writes of his panic and embarrassment on this week 20 years ago as he collapsed a 232-year-old bank.

nickleeson Nick Leeson on his arrival from Germany in Singapore in 1995; on the day of his release from jail in 1999; this week. Press Association / AP images Press Association / AP images / AP images

THE 23 February 1995 and the ensuing days are not ones that I am likely to forget. Not least because the 25 February marks the date of my birthday but, by some strange twist of fate, these are the same days that mark the collapse of Barings bank.

So in my world, my birthday is always inextricably linked with the most embarrassing period of my life. It’s a tough one: Do you celebrate, commiserate or lower your head in shame and hide away?

The fact is, it’s been 20 years now since the judge handed down my sentence. I don’t believe that there is a minimum length of remorse that I was told to serve.

However, life moves on and it’s important that we all remember that.

On the 23 February 1995, I left Singapore for the last time. Finally, I’d been asked an intelligent question about the illegal trading position that I was holding on the Singaporean International Money Exchange and there was no longer any way to continue the deception.

My number was metaphorically and literally up.

Planes, trains and automobiles comes to mind. I needed the quickest route out of Singapore.

Paranoia was my constant companion; everyone was looking at me. As I approached the immigration desk, it seemed that my passport grew to twice the size of everyone else’s and that every conversation in the departure lounge concerned me. Every nod of the head was directed at me and there was no way out.

Somehow, I managed to stumble aboard the plane and start – what for this period of my life – was the beginning of the end. My simple apology note when I hit mainland in Malaysia escalated the problem that the bank was facing.

Early on the morning of 24 February, the Barings’ desks on the trading floor were vacant. The more astute vultures on the trading floor were already collecting memorabilia. By the close of business, Barings had informed the Bank of England of its insolvency and the message was conveyed to parliament.

The weekend of 25 and 26 February 1995 saw intense discussions taking place in the City of London. Was there a way to rescue Barings for the second time in its history or were the losses too big to quantify, or more importantly, to accurately calculate?

Unfortunately, the latter was the case and on the evening of 26 February, all 232 years of history of Barings bank was placed into administration. In the early morning of 2 March, I was arrested leaving a flight at Frankfurt airport and handed over to the border police.

It is impossible to distance myself from the embarrassment that still is the over­riding memory of that period. I wanted to be successful but will always be remembered for my biggest failure.

That still rankles to this day but whilst it was a livid open wound in the beginning, as you read and heard things about yourself, it does become easier to live with.

No longer do the words disgraced banker, fraud, criminal feel like fingers digging deeper into that open laceration, they simply brush off the scar tissue that now remains.

As much as that period serves to remind the financial world of how badly things can go wrong, it also serves as a reminder that you can recover and move on. I suppose that has been the most empowering part of my journey; at least to me. Prison was quickly followed by divorce and the onset of cancer, chemotherapy and a very bleak outlook.

Somehow though, you garner the strength to overcome. I firmly believe that it is innate within all of us and that we are only ever confronted by problems that we are able to work through.

I sat down with my two sons earlier this week to discuss in more detail than they’ve previously heard about the collapse of the bank and the messages that I would like them to take from my experiences.

I was never a great communicator but thankfully I have had to become one through the circumstances that I have had to face. It’s not always easy and I started by keeping a diary. Confronting my thoughts and problems on paper was an easier way to start.

The lessons I gave my sons are all quite simple but I think they need to be regularly enforced.

• All action has consequence. Before you take any action, make sure that you are aware of the consequences and properly appraise them. It is always important to be responsible and accountable for you actions.
  • There is no mistake/problem that cannot be overcome. I have had to face into the abyss many times but there is always a way to work through your problems. It’s not always readily apparent what that route is, but you have to communicate and explain the problems that are facing you, at work, at home, at school. I explain that I am always there to help and whilst I’ll give advice, I will not judge.
  • Always ask for help and advice. I was surrounded by people that could have helped and steered me in a different direction but I thought I was able to deal with the situation and, as we now know, I wasn’t. Asking for help and advice early in my time in Singapore would have seen a very different outcome.
  • Everyone makes mistakes. Don’t ever be afraid of making mistakes but if you do make a mistake, never hide them. Hiding a problem only ever compounds the issues.
  • There are things in your life you can influence and things in your life that you can’t. Focus on the things that you can influence and don’t let the things that you can’t influence worry you.

Nick Leeson now lives in Barna, Galway.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

View 13 comments
13 Comments
    Mute Lorraine collins
    Favourite Lorraine collins
    Feb 12th 2018, 11:03 AM

Ah Karma is great!!!

Mute Ó Connmhaigh
    Favourite Ó Connmhaigh
    Feb 12th 2018, 11:10 AM

@Lorraine collins:

The biter bit….literally

Mute Tom&Gerry
    Favourite Tom&Gerry
    Feb 12th 2018, 11:31 AM

@Lorraine collins: You are an example of the world gone mad, you actually think it’s great that a man was eaten alive? Be careful Karma does not catch up with you for being so evil.

See 33 more replies ▾
    Mute Dean Sanders
    Favourite Dean Sanders
    Feb 12th 2018, 11:43 AM

@Tom&Gerry: he deserved it

Mute Sean
    Favourite Sean
    Feb 12th 2018, 11:54 AM

@Tom&Gerry: Ah piss off, snowflake.

Mute Róisín Daly
    Favourite Róisín Daly
    Feb 12th 2018, 12:11 PM

@Tom&Gerry: a poacher who maybe in cahoots with the likes of ISIS which funds their fun and games. Which brings more refugees/migrants which you moan about so much. So no I won’t cry false tears for him. You live by the sword you die by the sword.

Mute Patrick Kinsella
    Favourite Patrick Kinsella
    Feb 12th 2018, 12:23 PM

@Tom&Gerry: Karma by Cat he was a suspected poacher. Horrible way to go but animals have to eat too.

Mute David Burns
    Favourite David Burns
    Feb 12th 2018, 12:25 PM

@Tom&Gerry: ah bless! You have to admit it’s kinda funny!

Mute Steven Moens
    Favourite Steven Moens
    Feb 12th 2018, 12:27 PM

@Tom&Gerry: I’m quite sure he wasn’t alive when eaten….

Mute Liam Doyle
    Favourite Liam Doyle
    Feb 12th 2018, 12:29 PM

@Róisín Daly: ISIS are expanding operations into the poaching game now are they? FFS, claiming he may have been in cahoots with the lizard people and reverse vampires would be an equally valid statement.

Mute zippo
    Favourite zippo
    Feb 12th 2018, 12:30 PM

@Tom&Gerry: I’d actually love to see it on you-tube.Nature fights back!

Mute Róisín Daly
    Favourite Róisín Daly
    Feb 12th 2018, 12:41 PM

@Liam Doyle: i am not sure where I read the article national geographic maybe go and find out yourself. If you join the dots to most things it always comes back to power and money.

Mute Nicky O'Donnell
    Favourite Nicky O'Donnell
    Feb 12th 2018, 1:00 PM

@Tom&Gerry: Yes, I’d rather see him eaten alive by lions, than be allowed to go on killing them.

Also, I think you don’t understand what Karma means.

Mute MK76
    Favourite MK76
    Feb 12th 2018, 1:03 PM

@Róisín Daly: “who maybe in cahoots with ISIS”….you’re just making sh*t up now Roisin. At least try and be credible when posting click bait.

Mute Liam Whelan
    Favourite Liam Whelan
    Feb 12th 2018, 1:12 PM

@Tom&Gerry: I too think it’s great that he was killed by the animal he was hunting! Now if that isn’t karma at its finest I dont know what is!!

Mute A Bhoys Life
    Favourite A Bhoys Life
    Feb 12th 2018, 1:14 PM

@Tom&Gerry: absolutely hope it was horrific and he was in agony while been ripped apart

Mute Dave Hammond
    Favourite Dave Hammond
    Feb 12th 2018, 1:38 PM

@DoshCof: I think the story is a mauling ..

Mute Séa Graham
    Favourite Séa Graham
    Feb 12th 2018, 1:38 PM

@Róisín Daly: your comment is even more ridiculous than Tom&Gerry’s!

Mute Tom&Gerry
    Favourite Tom&Gerry
    Feb 12th 2018, 1:53 PM

@Dean Sanders: No, he did not.

Mute Tom&Gerry
    Favourite Tom&Gerry
    Feb 12th 2018, 1:55 PM

@Róisín Daly: You are an awful eejit.

Mute Tony Gordon
    Favourite Tony Gordon
    Feb 12th 2018, 1:59 PM

@Lorraine collins: They like their humans poached

Mute Róisín Daly
    Favourite Róisín Daly
    Feb 12th 2018, 2:09 PM

@MK76: go and find out. Stop reading sh*te newspapers which has no substance. Expand your horizons you might be amazed what you find out….

Mute Róisín Daly
    Favourite Róisín Daly
    Feb 12th 2018, 2:12 PM
    Mute Róisín Daly
    Favourite Róisín Daly
    Feb 12th 2018, 2:15 PM
    Mute Róisín Daly
    Favourite Róisín Daly
    Feb 12th 2018, 2:18 PM

@Séa Graham: you too I see. Another silly sausage today it’s Monday I suppose not the full shillin after the weekend….

Mute Róisín Daly
    Favourite Róisín Daly
    Feb 12th 2018, 2:21 PM

@MK76: I read it’s seems you don’t.

Mute Tom&Gerry
    Favourite Tom&Gerry
    Feb 12th 2018, 2:33 PM

@Sean: You piss off, stick man.

Mute Dean Sanders
    Favourite Dean Sanders
    Feb 12th 2018, 4:01 PM

@Tom&Gerry: ohhhhh yes he did

Mute IanC
    Favourite IanC
    Feb 12th 2018, 5:08 PM

@Lorraine collins: disgraceful comment

Mute Joseph Devine
    Favourite Joseph Devine
    Feb 12th 2018, 5:36 PM

@Tom&Gerry: more’s the pity there wasn’t a few of his friends with him so they could be eaten as well. Jackass

Mute SteoG
    Favourite SteoG
    Feb 12th 2018, 6:31 PM

@Lorraine collins: It’s not so bad, they left his head.

Mute Steven Moens
    Favourite Steven Moens
    Feb 12th 2018, 7:16 PM

@Liam Doyle: it’s actually a well known fact that organisations like ISIS get in on organised crime as a means of fundraising and poaching and smuggling of illegal and high value wildlife products is part and parcel of that.

Mute Paul O Faolain
    Favourite Paul O Faolain
    Feb 12th 2018, 7:43 PM

@Tom&Gerry: idiot

Mute Bridget O'Hanlon
    Favourite Bridget O'Hanlon
    Feb 12th 2018, 8:28 PM

@Róisín Daly: blimey. That escalated quick!

Mute OCallaghan TP
    Favourite OCallaghan TP
    Feb 12th 2018, 9:41 PM

@Tom&Gerry: delighted.. good on the tigers

Mute Joseph Rooney
    Favourite Joseph Rooney
    Feb 13th 2018, 5:42 PM

@Tom&Gerry:
    He wasn’t any man, he was a creep of the vilest sort.
    Sayonara.

Mute Patricia Dreemer
    Favourite Patricia Dreemer
    Feb 12th 2018, 11:04 AM

Excellent!!

Mute Tom&Gerry
    Favourite Tom&Gerry
    Feb 12th 2018, 11:34 AM

@Patricia Dreemer: A man was eaten alive by a pack of lions and you think that is excellent.? You are a very disturbed person.

Mute Dean Sanders
    Favourite Dean Sanders

@Tom&Gerry: yes, he deserved it

Mute Ohhh_reeally
    Favourite Ohhh_reeally
    Feb 12th 2018, 11:48 AM

@Tom&Gerry: it is excellent. One less a r s e h o l e on the planet

Mute Larissa Caroline Nikolaus
    Favourite Larissa Caroline Nikolaus
    Feb 12th 2018, 11:52 AM

@Tom&Gerry: You are an awful troll, defending a poacher, troll more intelligently, not harder

Mute John F Quirke
    Favourite John F Quirke
    Feb 12th 2018, 12:06 PM

@Tom&Gerry:

Sorry if you target lions ( an endangered species) illegally in order to cut off their paws to sell or to kill a Rhino for similar reasons and the lions kill you in the process

TOO BAD! That’s the risk you take when you perpetrate your appalling crime.

If a burglar came into your house in order to kill your dog and was shot by the owner do you think their would be any sympathy!!

Mute Patricia Dreemer
    Feb 12th 2018, 12:56 PM

@Tom&Gerry: are you insane ??? The poor lions didn’t drag him out of his house and eaten alive!!!! Yes, let me say it again loud and clear:EXCELLENT, it’s about time we respected animals rights.

Mute Liam Whelan
    Favourite Liam Whelan
    Feb 12th 2018, 1:14 PM

@Tom&Gerry: He was killed by the animal he was illegally hunting! That’s a feel good story if ever there was!

Mute Tom&Gerry
    Favourite Tom&Gerry
    Feb 12th 2018, 2:00 PM

@Larissa Caroline Nikolaus: Coming from a dummy who thinks its OK for a man to be eaten alive. Imbecile.

Mute Tom&Gerry
    Favourite Tom&Gerry
    Feb 12th 2018, 2:38 PM

@Patricia Dreemer: You are obviously deranged, and belong in a mental asylum. you really should have yourself seen seen to, you do know you are a raving lunatic don’t you?.Hopefully something similar will happen to you one day, but then with your crazy love for animals you would probably serve yourself up on a plate to them.

Mute Facetious
    Favourite Facetious
    Feb 12th 2018, 2:56 PM

@Tom&Gerry: See that’s where you’re wrong. What if the lions had gone into an urban city to kill someone only to end up being killed and eaten by the people. Don’t be stupid, the lions were protecting themselves, it’s basic nature, the man lost.

Mute Róisín Daly
    Favourite Róisín Daly
    Feb 12th 2018, 3:51 PM

@Tom&Gerry: still at it I see defending a muppet who was killed by wild animals he was trying to kill and make profit from…

Mute Patricia Dreemer
    Feb 12th 2018, 5:04 PM

@Tom&Gerry: if my comments sound deranged to you, then I’m incredibly proud to be deranged. You didn’t upset me one bit.

Mute Gordon Fitzpatrick
    Favourite Gordon Fitzpatrick

His condition has been described as satisfactory………

Mute Paul Flood
    Favourite Paul Flood
    Feb 12th 2018, 11:18 AM

@Gordon Fitzpatrick: lol

Mute Cindy Crawford
    Favourite Cindy Crawford
    Feb 12th 2018, 12:47 PM

@Gordon Fitzpatrick: I like it.

Mute Paul Whitehead
    Favourite Paul Whitehead
    Feb 12th 2018, 1:16 PM

@Gordon Fitzpatrick: quick postmortem …

Mute Warren Collier
    Favourite Warren Collier
    Feb 12th 2018, 11:07 AM

Nothing like a good story to start your monday! Cheers journal

Mute Sinead Hanley
    Favourite Sinead Hanley
    Feb 12th 2018, 12:06 PM

@Warren Collier: No doubt that this man was doing wrong. But i find peoples reaction to his death more disturbing than his poaching. Its not good to gloat about someone being mauled to death by a lion. There is more sympathy for the lion who would do the very same to any one of us.

Mute Donegal Doseofshh
    Favourite Donegal Doseofshh
    Feb 12th 2018, 12:08 PM

@Sinead Hanley: he went out of his way looking for the lions, the lions were just defending their territory. Its not as if a pack of lions went round to his house and mauled him

See 15 more replies ▾
    Mute David Burns
    Favourite David Burns
    Feb 12th 2018, 12:27 PM

@Donegal Doseofshh: haha dead right there. If you play with fire expect to get burned

Mute Sinead Hanley
    Favourite Sinead Hanley
    Feb 12th 2018, 12:33 PM

@Donegal Doseofshh: The man should not have been there, i get that. And he “didnt care” about the lions, which makes him an a$$hole. But comments here show that nobody “cares” about him or his family. I just think their attitude isnt much better than the poachers.

Mute Diogenes
    Favourite Diogenes
    Feb 12th 2018, 12:53 PM

@Sinead Hanley: The well go back to her snowflake safespace then.

Feb 12th 2018, 1:04 PM

@Sinead Hanley: No-one is going to cry a year after that @$$hat, and I have zero sympathy for his family (if he even had one), they knew what he was doing, so, tough luck.

Feb 12th 2018, 1:08 PM

@Larissa Caroline Nikolaus: *tear, not year

Mute Sinead Hanley
    Favourite Sinead Hanley
    Feb 12th 2018, 1:49 PM

@Larissa Caroline Nikolaus: You are assuming that they agreed with what he was doing. Maybe they did. But maybe they did not and were worried about him putting himself at risk (yes, while wrongly harming animals).

Mute Ania_on_coffee
    Favourite Ania_on_coffee
    Feb 12th 2018, 2:05 PM

@Donegal Doseofshh: How do you know what drove the man to poaching lions? You know nothing about the man’s background, which is probably very poor if he is a native African. He would hardly be poaching lions for the fun of it and risking his own life. It’s beyond cruel to be celebrating the death of a person. I’m sure if it was a story of a man being killed by another man, you wouldn’t be reacting so passionately.

Mute Tom&Gerry
    Favourite Tom&Gerry
    Feb 12th 2018, 2:07 PM

@Donegal Doseofshh: You don’t know that he went out of his way looking for them, neither does anyone else, the only evidence is a loaded rifle which i am sure anyone travelling in that region carries. That man is someone’s son, father or husband. I am so sickened by the horrible remarks from nasty evil simpletons as to the death of this man. Maybe Karma will come back to haunt all of you one day, Maybe it will be you or a member of your family who dies such a horrible death.

Mute Tom&Gerry
    Favourite Tom&Gerry
    Feb 12th 2018, 2:12 PM

@Larissa Caroline Nikolaus: You are one evil, horrible individual, i would even say psychopathic.

Mute Philip G Roark
    Favourite Philip G Roark
    Feb 12th 2018, 2:20 PM

@Tom&Gerry: No one cares what you think or how sickened you are. The poacher had all the advantages of being armed. The lions didn’t. One less ar$3h0le on the planet.

Mute Sinead Hanley
    Favourite Sinead Hanley
    Feb 12th 2018, 2:40 PM

@Philip G Roark: I care what he thinks. He does make a valid point. No one knows he was a poacher for sure. Seems a bit premature to be celebrating his death..

Mute Tom&Gerry
    Favourite Tom&Gerry
    Feb 12th 2018, 3:20 PM

@Philip G Roark: Read the story again, nowhere does it say that he was a poacher it says suspected poacher. the only evidence is a loaded rifle, which i am pretty sure anyone travelling in a region where there are wild animals would have, I would hope that the world is not full of simpletons like yourself. so yes, i would say there are people who would care. The Planet could well do without psychopaths who delight over a man being eaten alive.

Mute Donegal Doseofshh
    Feb 12th 2018, 3:32 PM

@Ania_on_coffee: I wasn’t celebrating. I couldn’t give a toss either way

Mute Donegal Doseofshh
    Feb 12th 2018, 3:36 PM

@Tom&Gerry: it’s pretty clear that he went out looking to kill something. I didn’t make any bad remarks about him. I was just stating that he paid dearly for his bad decision making.

Mute Philip G Roark
    Favourite Philip G Roark
    Feb 12th 2018, 3:39 PM

@Tom&Gerry: Sure. He just happened to be on a PRIVATE game reserve with a loaded rifle (he was trespassing) and he had no intention of poaching. I LOVE everything about this story.

Mute Frank Dowling
    Favourite Frank Dowling
    Feb 12th 2018, 11:05 AM

Lions 1 – Poachers 0

Mute Maurice Bourke
    Favourite Maurice Bourke
    Feb 12th 2018, 11:08 AM

@Frank Dowling:
    Poachers are definitely beating lions

Mute Paul Heffernan
    Favourite Paul Heffernan

@Maurice Bourke: I’d say you’re great craic Maurice

Mute Níamh Hurleÿ
    Favourite Níamh Hurleÿ
    Feb 12th 2018, 11:07 AM

Serves him right

Mute Quentin Moriarty
    Favourite Quentin Moriarty
    Feb 12th 2018, 7:49 PM

@Níamh Hurleÿ: he was being stalked for at least a half an hour before the alpha pounced and he didn’t eve realise it .
    Their domain-even more dominant at night .

Karma.

Mute Karen Lord
    Favourite Karen Lord
    Feb 12th 2018, 11:21 AM

Good.

Mute Mike Carrig
    Favourite Mike Carrig
    Feb 12th 2018, 11:16 AM

One back for the lions

Mute gregory
    Favourite gregory
    Feb 12th 2018, 11:44 AM

It’s bloody high time Asian countries were subjected to economic sanctions for importing and/or trading in body parts of animals on a threat of extinction list published by the WWF. This will put an end to it. African countries found exporting should also be sanctioned.

Mute Pat Bateman
    Favourite Pat Bateman
    Feb 12th 2018, 12:18 PM

@gregory: it’s hardly the government’s that are importing and exporting them?

Mute gregory
    Favourite gregory
    Feb 12th 2018, 2:45 PM

@Pat Bateman: Enforcement. Corruption.

Mute Pat Butler
    Favourite Pat Butler
    Feb 12th 2018, 11:19 AM

HON THE LIONS!!!!

I hope the lions are okay, and don’t suffer from indigestion

Mute Tom&Gerry
    Favourite Tom&Gerry
    Feb 12th 2018, 3:22 PM

@Larissa Caroline Nikolaus: The lions will probably have to be killed now, because they have savaged a human.

Mute Brian Martin
    Favourite Brian Martin
    Feb 12th 2018, 11:33 AM

ocupational hazard…….

Mute Rochelle
    Favourite Rochelle

Delighted. Hope he was tasty.

Mute Slim Browne
    Favourite Slim Browne
    Feb 12th 2018, 11:49 AM

I hope they enjoyed him, Bon Appiete my feline friends.

Mute Patty Cullinane
    Favourite Patty Cullinane
    Feb 12th 2018, 11:19 AM

Pure poetry!

Mute Broadoak
    Favourite Broadoak
    Feb 12th 2018, 11:59 AM

Made my day there is natural justice in the world. Think this should be the punishment for anybody who is engaged in poaching. Result!

Mute Alan O Reilly
    Favourite Alan O Reilly
    Feb 12th 2018, 11:30 AM

Ha,brilliant!!!!

Mute Sean Walsh
    Favourite Sean Walsh
    Feb 12th 2018, 11:41 AM

Well done the Lions.

Mute Ciarán Ó Dubhda
    Favourite Ciarán Ó Dubhda
    Feb 12th 2018, 11:46 AM

May he rest in pieces

@Ciarán Ó Dubhda: Most likely rest in faeces

Mute Ciarán Ó Dubhda
    Favourite Ciarán Ó Dubhda
    Feb 12th 2018, 1:41 PM

@Larissa Caroline Nikolaus: haha, good one

Mute Pat Bateman
    Favourite Pat Bateman

RIP to the man. While I don’t understand poaching, I don’t think someone should pay the price of their life for their mistake. Hope his family are doing okay at this difficult time

Mute Danny Gibson
    Favourite Danny Gibson
    Feb 12th 2018, 11:26 AM

@Pat Bateman: comic gold!

Mute martin dolan
    Favourite martin dolan
    Feb 12th 2018, 11:32 AM

@Pat Bateman: he took the risk and paid the price , deserved what he got , it wouldnt have happened if he wasnt there

See 23 more replies ▾
    Mute Gerry Murphy
    Favourite Gerry Murphy
    Feb 12th 2018, 11:33 AM

@Pat Bateman: He seemed to be making the same mistake(poaching) a lot!! Wouldn’t call it a mistake. Up the Lions

Mute Pat Bateman
    Favourite Pat Bateman
    Feb 12th 2018, 11:34 AM

@martin dolan: He didn’t deserve to die for poaching. That lion has probably murdered countless antelope, zebras, wild hogs etc, does that not mean the lion deserves to die?

Mute Walt Jabsco
    Favourite Walt Jabsco

@Pat Bateman:
    ‘murdered’
    Okaaaayyyy….
    How do you expect to be taken seriously when you use language like that?

Mute Dean Sanders
    Favourite Dean Sanders
    Feb 12th 2018, 11:44 AM

@Pat Bateman: why do you value him more than the lion? the lion had just as much right not to be killed! I’m glad he got what he deserved!!!!!!!

Mute Rochelle
    Favourite Rochelle
    Feb 12th 2018, 11:45 AM

@Pat Bateman: Poachers aren’t hunting for food for survival. No tears should be shed for those monsters who kill for sport.

Mute Danny Gibson
    Favourite Danny Gibson

@Tom&Gerry: dope

Mute Danny Gibson
    Favourite Danny Gibson

@Tom&Gerry: dope

Mute Pat Bateman
    Favourite Pat Bateman
    Feb 12th 2018, 11:46 AM

@Dean Sanders: Cause a human life is worth more than the life of a wild animal.

Mute Pat Bateman
    Favourite Pat Bateman
    Feb 12th 2018, 11:47 AM

@Rochelle: So does every person who has eaten a burger deserve to die?

Mute Slim Browne
    Favourite Slim Browne
    Feb 12th 2018, 11:51 AM

@Pat Bateman: they’d be doing better if he stayed at home.

Mute Patrick J. O'Rourke
    Favourite Patrick J. O'Rourke
    Feb 12th 2018, 11:51 AM

@Pat Bateman: So he was on the business of shooting lions and sawing their heads and paws off for money and your sympathy is with the man?

Mute Pat Bateman
    Favourite Pat Bateman
    Feb 12th 2018, 11:54 AM

@Patrick J. O’Rourke: You’re questioning why I’m not celebrating the death of a man? I think it’s pretty self explanatory. My sympathy is with the family of the man, yes.

Mute David Burns
    Favourite David Burns
    Feb 12th 2018, 12:37 PM

@Pat Bateman: I don’t think people are ‘celebrating’ his death, I haven’t cracked open the champagne yet. But you surely see that what he was doing was so despicable and he knew what he got himself into.

Mute Pat Bateman
    Favourite Pat Bateman
    Feb 12th 2018, 12:48 PM

@David Burns: I said I don’t agree with poaching. People expressing happiness at the death of a man is the saddest part of this article

Mute Patty Cullinane
    Feb 12th 2018, 12:51 PM

@Pat Bateman: this is your counter opinion on this….lions are guilty of committing “murder”? Now I have heard it all. I’ll give you points for creativity. But you are a chock full of nuts.

Mute Patty Cullinane
    Feb 12th 2018, 12:56 PM

@Pat Bateman: the stupid point you are trying to make is called a false equivalency. Another point for creativity, though. But you are still a chock full of nuts.

Mute Pat Bateman
    Favourite Pat Bateman
    Feb 12th 2018, 1:12 PM

@Patty Cullinane: But is it wrong to kill one lion, in order to save numerous zebra and hogs etc? Is a lions life worth more? If so, why?

Feb 12th 2018, 1:40 PM

@Pat Bateman: You really have your ignorance on display for everyone to see, maybe educate yourself about what happens to the environment, when a population of prey animals explodes, because their main predator has been killed off? Then come back and spout that nonsense again, of killing a lion to save many zebras

Mute Patty Cullinane
    Feb 12th 2018, 1:46 PM

@Pat Bateman: ok Pat…..you need to just stop talking now before you make an even bigger horses backside of yourself…if that is even possible.

Mute Tommy Roche
    Favourite Tommy Roche
    Feb 12th 2018, 4:43 PM

@Pat Bateman: If you unintentionally approach a pride of hungry lions and they spot you before you spot them, you are going to die. People will have sympathy for you. If you deliberately approach them and die, people will say you’re a moron, but might still have sympathy. If you deliberately approach them with the intention of killing them, and they get you before you get them ? Sorry, but very few people would have any sympathy.

Mute Gerard Smith
    Favourite Gerard Smith
    Feb 12th 2018, 7:21 PM

@Pat Bateman: not if your the wild animal.

Mute Rochelle
    Favourite Rochelle
    Feb 13th 2018, 12:20 AM

@Pat Bateman: Do people eat burgers for sport instead of satisfying hunger?

Mute EillieEs
    Favourite EillieEs
    Feb 13th 2018, 11:56 AM

@Pat Bateman: I certainly don’t rejoice in anyone’s death but when it comes to the survival of endangered species a lion’s life is, indeed, more valuable. A lion kills to survive and will target the old and sick in a herd, the ones who don’t have the stamina to escape. This leaves the herd intact with those of mating age continuing to produce strong offspring. It’s called the cycle of life and contributes to a healthy ecosystem and ensures no one species overpopulates. Poachers and hunters do the opposite as they target animals in their prime which causes imbalance in the whole environment.

Mute Kevin Slater
    Favourite Kevin Slater
    Feb 12th 2018, 11:10 AM

Poachers 0, lions 1 lol

Mute john g mcgrath
    Favourite john g mcgrath
    Feb 12th 2018, 11:23 AM

@Kevin Slater: I had better feed the cat!!

Mute John Rownano
    Favourite John Rownano
    Feb 12th 2018, 12:08 PM

Animals world wide are being wiped out by poachers and while I am sorry the man was mauled there is a certain karmic justice to it

Mute Fattybumbums
    Favourite Fattybumbums

Live by the sword, die by the sword

Mute Todd Hebert
    Favourite Todd Hebert
    Feb 12th 2018, 11:40 AM

Yay lions! =D

Mute Chris Hammond
    Favourite Chris Hammond
    Feb 12th 2018, 11:56 AM

Well deserved.

Mute Malachy
    Favourite Malachy
    Feb 12th 2018, 12:26 PM

Hope the lion didn’t get food poisoning

Mute Harry Foley
    Favourite Harry Foley
    Feb 12th 2018, 12:20 PM

Good stuff love them lions

Mute pkunzip doom2.zip
    Favourite pkunzip doom2.zip
    Feb 12th 2018, 12:15 PM

Great news

Mute Dave barrett
    Favourite Dave barrett

Looks like kama came back to bite him….literally. Just rewards id say

Mute Mary Murphy
    Favourite Mary Murphy
    Feb 12th 2018, 11:25 AM

Gutted

Mute Anne
    Favourite Anne
    Feb 12th 2018, 12:03 PM

Great news! He deserved it! Maybe other poachers would think twice, sadly i doubt it. The sanctions should be put in place. Sadly, can’t believe one or two of the comments here. Thankfully just one or two people. Especially the comment about lions murdering zebras. Absolutely Braindead.

Mute John003
    Favourite John003
    Feb 12th 2018, 12:11 PM

Poaching out of control in South Africa wildlife parks…Rhinos almost gone thousands of elephants are being killed every year….Having a corrupt government does not help either….

Mute Pat Bateman
    Favourite Pat Bateman
    Feb 12th 2018, 12:19 PM

@Anne: Have you ever had a burger, Anne?

Feb 12th 2018, 1:11 PM

@Pat Bateman: Don’t tell me you don’t understand the difference between a farmed animal being slaughtered for food, and a wild animal being poached for some superstitious ‘medicine’, you’re a grade A eejit

Mute Pat Bateman
    Favourite Pat Bateman
    Feb 12th 2018, 1:16 PM

@Larissa Caroline Nikolaus: there are differences, but there are also certain comparables ie; unnecessary killing of an innocent animal. You either support it or you don’t. So enjoy your burger, killer

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    Feb 12th 2018, 1:42 PM

@Pat Bateman: you seem a bit confused. That burger you keep mentioning comes from an animal bred to be eaten and for every part to be of use to us. That’s part of why people say a prayer before dinner. Animals that are poached are often killed for just one part to be used and the rest left to rot. There’s a big difference also in necessity vs greed

Mute Pat Bateman
    Favourite Pat Bateman
    Feb 12th 2018, 2:37 PM

@Dave O Keeffe: So it’s not the killing of an animal that’s the issue, its what happens to the carcass. Most people don’t say prayers before dinner, you seem a bit confused

Mute Tom&Gerry
    Favourite Tom&Gerry
    Feb 12th 2018, 3:26 PM

@Larissa Caroline Nikolaus: No difference they are both animals.

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    Feb 12th 2018, 4:50 PM

@Pat Bateman: it’s not the killing of the animal that’s the issue it’s the purpose. To feed people or just purely for a souvenir. There’s a massive difference. I never said all people say prayers before meals. I don’t. But I am certainly mindful of the food that I eat and often go get it myself, legally.

Mute Dlow Brown
    Favourite Dlow Brown
    Feb 12th 2018, 6:22 PM

One being endangered to the point of extinction by poachers for trophies and the other bred for food to feed billions of people around the world…… great point

Mute Inny Ginny
    Favourite Inny Ginny
    Feb 12th 2018, 12:36 PM

The level of ignorance and hipocrasy here as usual . I’ve worked in this Provence in South Africa. The poachers are fathers and brothers of families who are so so dirt poor and do this in order to feed their starving families . They are well aware they may be mauled but hunger and poverty over ride this when you are trying to survive . It doesn’t make poaching ok but it does show the levels that some people are forced to go to to feed their families (the money paid for animal parts not the animal) . Also I’m pretty sure most who wrote ignorant comments have no problem tucking into their slaughtered animal dinner and lunches today . Think before you post uneducated drivel

Feb 12th 2018, 1:17 PM

@Inny Ginny: Learn the difference between poaching and slaughtering a farmed animal for food, then come back and let’s have a discussion, there’s is no excuse for poaching animals that are endangered, or on the brink of extinction, if wealth was the issue, then why doesn’t every poor African farmer start killing and cutting off the heads and paws of lions? Get off your moral high horse, or out of your Ma’s basement

Mute Ania_on_coffee
    Favourite Ania_on_coffee
    Feb 12th 2018, 1:35 PM

@Inny Ginny: I agree. I’m shocked by the cruelty of the comments here too. I think if people from 1st world became poor and had no opportunities, they would do to illegal things in order to feed their families and survive somehow.

Mute Philip G Roark
    Favourite Philip G Roark
    Feb 12th 2018, 2:24 PM

@Inny Ginny: Blah blah blah!!! C’mon the lions!!

Mute Tom&Gerry
    Favourite Tom&Gerry
    Feb 12th 2018, 3:30 PM

@Inny Ginny: That was the best post so far, thank you for that information.

Mute Sinead Hanley
    Favourite Sinead Hanley
    Feb 12th 2018, 3:31 PM

@Inny Ginny: Thanks for that information. The comments here are pretty shocking i have to say. Trial by social media, jumping on the bandwagon etc etc. I cant understand it.

Mute Sinead Hanley
    Favourite Sinead Hanley
    Feb 12th 2018, 3:42 PM

@Larissa Caroline Nikolaus: Inny has worked there and has just told you of the struggles that these farmers have to feed their families. Is it possible for you to reply to Inny without an insult?

Feb 12th 2018, 8:56 PM

@Sinead Hanley: yeah, right, blocked Facebook troll account states something, other troll account accepts it as gospel

Mute EillieEs
    Favourite EillieEs
    Feb 13th 2018, 12:10 PM

@Inny Ginny: and what about the lives of the dozens of wildlife rangers murdered by poachers each year? The ‘poachers have no other option’ claim doesn’t hold up as statistically more money is brought into an area through tourism where the attraction is wildlife than through hunting and poaching where the real profits are made overseas.

Mute Richard Day
    Favourite Richard Day
    Feb 12th 2018, 1:28 PM

Karma karma karma karma karma mealforlion

Mute Niccolo Saccho
    Favourite Niccolo Saccho
    Feb 12th 2018, 11:27 AM

RIP.

Mute John Fairclough
    Favourite John Fairclough
    Feb 12th 2018, 1:22 PM

The mane course!

Mute Patrick Dunne
    Favourite Patrick Dunne
    Feb 12th 2018, 1:07 PM

So nice of the lions to leave his head for identification purposes don’t you think,

Mute Alan Baldwin
    Favourite Alan Baldwin
    Feb 12th 2018, 12:52 PM

Nice to start a Monday with a good news story

Mute Mary Elizabeth Whittle
    Favourite Mary Elizabeth Whittle
    Feb 12th 2018, 2:06 PM

Self defence … simple as that

Mute Mark Brennan
    Favourite Mark Brennan

So proud of the lions

Mute oliverjumelle
    Favourite oliverjumelle
    Feb 12th 2018, 12:47 PM

Very happy about this!

Mute gordon
    Favourite gordon
    Feb 12th 2018, 1:35 PM

It’s great to hear a bit of good news for a change

Mute Georgie Hayes
    Favourite Georgie Hayes
    Feb 12th 2018, 1:26 PM

He shouldn’t have poaching if he wasn’t there he still be alive so no I don’t feel sorry for him but I do feel the family and friends left behind

Mute Mick Jordan
    Favourite Mick Jordan
    Feb 12th 2018, 2:59 PM

Lion A to Lion B: “Victoria did you order room service?”
    Lion B to Lion A: “No Charles. But let me round up the girls and we can have dinner.

Mute Ian Heaton
    Favourite Ian Heaton
    Feb 12th 2018, 12:23 PM

I’d hope those are the actual lions in the picture, but very highly doubt it; with their look of complete satisfaction of a great meal.

Mute Carl Egan
    Favourite Carl Egan
    Feb 12th 2018, 12:34 PM

They just left his head lion there

Mute John Somers
    Favourite John Somers
    Feb 12th 2018, 2:17 PM

That’s just made my day

Mute Jonathan Beaumont
    Favourite Jonathan Beaumont
    Feb 12th 2018, 2:36 PM

Good for the lions. Serves him right.

Mute Gerard Smith
    Favourite Gerard Smith
    Feb 12th 2018, 7:23 PM

@Sinead Hanley: why all the “fluffy” stuff about his family and what they knew? He put himself in harms way in an attempt to kill an endangered animal. He was attacked and eaten. I have absolutely no feeling about that whatsoever except a sense of gratification no lions were killed. We’re part of an ecosystem and don’t always come out of every encounter with a wild animal. Conjecture about his personal circumstances is pointless. If he killed the lion would anyone have thought if there cubs left behind ? Not a chance. Horrible way to go but easy to avoid. Don’t illegally hunt lions!

Mute EillieEs
    Favourite EillieEs
    Feb 13th 2018, 12:12 PM

@Gerard Smith: don’t hunt them at all

Mute Ray Farrell
    Favourite Ray Farrell
    Feb 12th 2018, 1:36 PM

Good.

Feb 12th 2018, 4:57 PM

Those lions sent out a loud & clear message to future poachers

Mute Jim73
    Favourite Jim73
    Feb 12th 2018, 11:29 AM

Not good, they are after getting the taste of human flesh and will all have to be culled.

Mute Danny Gibson
    Favourite Danny Gibson
    Feb 12th 2018, 11:36 AM

@Jim73: nah, they won’t.

Mute Tom&Gerry
    Favourite Tom&Gerry
    Feb 12th 2018, 11:38 AM

@Jim73: That will devastate the evil minded bunch of sub humans who laugh at and take pleasure in a man being eaten alive by a bunch of wild animals.

Mute Tom&Gerry
    Favourite Tom&Gerry
    Feb 12th 2018, 11:39 AM

@Danny Gibson: Yes they will, they are on a reserve, where humans visit every day.

Mute Walt Jabsco
    Favourite Walt Jabsco

@Tom&Gerry:
    It’s a private game park – how do you know it has daily visitors?

Mute Chris Hammond
    Favourite Chris Hammond
    Feb 12th 2018, 11:58 AM

@Tom&Gerry: You’re making a scene. I hope it hurt.

Mute Tom&Gerry
    Favourite Tom&Gerry
    Feb 12th 2018, 3:33 PM

@Walt Jabsco: It would be very odd if it didn’t is that not how the game parks are funded.

Mute John Dman
    Favourite John Dman

I just hope it was slow!

Mute Kat Furey
    Favourite Kat Furey
    Feb 12th 2018, 4:02 PM

Good!

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    Feb 12th 2018, 1:26 PM

“I immediately regret this decision”

Feb 12th 2018, 2:10 PM

I wonder if he did a risk assessment.

Mute The Red Devil
    Favourite The Red Devil
    Feb 12th 2018, 12:37 PM

Hope they didn’t choke on him

Mute Ciara Ni Mhurchu
    Favourite Ciara Ni Mhurchu
    Feb 12th 2018, 1:21 PM

Yay!!!!

Mute Ciaran Keogh
    Favourite Ciaran Keogh
    Feb 12th 2018, 5:40 PM

Hang on folks….suspected poacher! Not definite, to say the person deserved it is a bit strong. I in no way agree with poaching but remember some bit not all are driven into poaching to earn money to feed families.
    The real enemy is the person at the end who buys and creates demand.

Mute Georgie Hayes
    Favourite Georgie Hayes
    Feb 12th 2018, 1:28 PM

He should not have been poaching if he wasn’t there he still be alive I feel sorry for his family and friends left behind

Mute Craig Barry
    Favourite Craig Barry
    Feb 12th 2018, 1:18 PM

hopefully he died screaming

Mute Oriana Van
    Favourite Oriana Van
    Feb 12th 2018, 9:18 PM

I am not happy a man died but won’t cry for him . When it comes to survival it was either him or lions..which have family and feelings too . Guy think they are powerful with guns and for once lions were able to win. Nobody forces him to go on a hunt and illegally. Can’t understand that mankind find pleasant To kill animals sorry but this is the dark side of mankind

Mute Anthony Whelan
    Favourite Anthony Whelan
    Feb 12th 2018, 9:29 PM

Best news today

Feb 12th 2018, 4:43 PM

He was also trespassing

Mute Joanne Folan Healy
    Favourite Joanne Folan Healy
    Feb 12th 2018, 6:31 PM

Hahahahahahaha

Mute Wingah Boffah
    Favourite Wingah Boffah
    Feb 12th 2018, 3:15 PM

Poached human anyone?

Mute Paul O Faolain
    Favourite Paul O Faolain
    Feb 12th 2018, 7:42 PM

Hope the lions are okay

Mute Eddie Durkan
    Favourite Eddie Durkan
    Feb 12th 2018, 8:00 PM

He won’t be doing that again.

Mute Joe Mac
    Favourite Joe Mac
    Feb 12th 2018, 2:40 PM

Looks like he was well done. Never knew lions don’t like heads

Mute Jacqui Curtis-owens
    Favourite Jacqui Curtis-owens
    Feb 12th 2018, 6:01 PM

Wonder did they have any father beans and a nice Chianti to go with him……KARMA

Mute Dee Nic Charthaigh
    Favourite Dee Nic Charthaigh
    Feb 12th 2018, 8:19 PM

When the hunter becomes the hunted :-/ lesson to them all

Mute John Fitzgerald
    Favourite John Fitzgerald
    Feb 13th 2018, 9:06 PM

We don’t have any big game poachers here in Ireland, but we do have some prominent poachers who go after small game…including guys who capture animals and feed them live to dogs in training sessions in our wonderful greyhound industry. One of them trained a greyhound that scooped a prize in the so-called National Hare Coursing “festival” earlier this week.

The same gentleman was filmed back in 1994 in one of his “training” sessions”:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=q33yiORJfXs

Mute Liam O'Slatra
    Favourite Liam O'Slatra
    Feb 12th 2018, 7:11 PM

Poachers in SA are normally very poor and from countries like Mozambique. They have absolutely nothing. I’m glad he didn’t succeed in poaching but I’m not happy he was killed like some on here. It’s never simple. Life has grey areas. The big issue is the demand for poached animal products.

Mute League of shadows
    Favourite League of shadows
    Feb 12th 2018, 11:24 PM

I wonder was that poacher on the gluten free menu

Mute Bobby Daly
    Favourite Bobby Daly
    Feb 12th 2018, 1:43 PM

Vets put healthy animals down in Ireland everyday of the week. Should vets be fed to a bunch of wild animals?

Mute Ciara Ni Mhurchu
    Favourite Ciara Ni Mhurchu
    Feb 12th 2018, 2:01 PM

@Bobby Daly: Are they putting them down for the craic?

Mute JeremiahMcDonagh
    Favourite JeremiahMcDonagh
    Feb 12th 2018, 7:43 PM

Nice one! Well done lads! Hope you filled your bellys.

Mute Philip O'Dowd
    Favourite Philip O'Dowd
    Feb 12th 2018, 7:27 PM

Good that poacher gets eaten! And also good it seems that it was a game reserve and more than likely rich people pay to shoot these animals! Which is ok! Bonkers

Mute Elliej Forbay-johnson
    Favourite Elliej Forbay-johnson
    Feb 12th 2018, 12:00 PM

I believe in Karma! Delighted

Mute Georgina O'Dwyer
    Favourite Georgina O'Dwyer
    Feb 13th 2018, 12:03 AM

Good enough for him

Mute Kevin Garvey
    Favourite Kevin Garvey
    Feb 12th 2018, 3:54 PM

Pity it wasn’t a large helicopter gun it would take 2 of them to carry it,,,,,,,

Mute Gerard Burke
    Favourite Gerard Burke
    Feb 12th 2018, 4:10 PM

All these wild cats need to be wiped off the face of the earth, they serve no purpose

Mute Oriana Van
    Favourite Oriana Van
    Feb 12th 2018, 9:49 PM

@Gerard Burke: clearly you have not the slightest idea about what you are talking about.lions are essential to the environment ecosystem humans lives in. Lions not only preserve a balance of flora and fauna but also spare humans from having animals eating their crops.

Mute Borja Pope
    Favourite Borja Pope
    Feb 13th 2018, 4:48 PM

This is most perfect Journal.ie story ever, the editor literally wet herself when she saw this article in her inbox. You are being trolled people, it’s mostly fake news.

Mute Terri McCormick O'Gorman
    Favourite Terri McCormick O'Gorman
    Feb 12th 2018, 6:11 PM

Shame!!

Mute The Second Last Word
    Favourite The Second Last Word
    Feb 15th 2018, 7:44 PM

Mute The flute smoker
    Favourite The flute smoker
    Feb 13th 2018, 9:11 PM

Lovely