You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.
An account is an optional way to support the work we do. Find out more.
Mark Stedman/Photocall Ireland
Budget 2013
No change of heart from Government on respite care grant
Social Protection Minister Joan Burton has once more defended the decision to cut the respite care grant by more than €300 in Budget 2013.
8.49am, 7 Dec 2012
SOCIAL PROTECTION MINISTER Joan Burton has said that if the respite care grant was maintained in Budget 2013, core weekly Social Welfare payments would have been reduced.
Speaking on RTÉ’s Morning Ireland, the Minister failed to respond when asked if the Government would roll back on its decision to cut the annual respite care grant by more than €300.
She reiterated the Taoiseach and Tánaiste’s position that “the budget has now been made”.
“We have done a budget that keeps weekly rates but we had to reduce other payments,” she said, adding “it is regrettable”.
“I made a decision, and the Government made a decision, in relation to Social Welfare to maintain the core weekly rates that pensioners, carers and the unemployed get,” she told reporter Rachael English.
Burton said that carers rely more on the weekly payment they receive, as well as on the weekly payment the person with the disability receives.
Defending the cut, the Minister noted that the €1,375 grant is back to 2006 levels. However, she added that “it is not as much as I would like it to be”.
“I would like it to be more. But the fact is that the Government has to get the finances right. As we get people back to work, the pressure on Social Welfare is going to go down.”
Burton claimed she was asked to find savings of €540 million in her budget but the department reduced this to €390 million. “I can’t get any further reductions,” she continued.
Asked about politicians pay and pensions, Burton said the Government has to continue to be vigilant to ensure reductions to salaries and expenses are sufficient. Commenting on the Taoiseach’s €200,000, she said it was much lower than previous packages which hit levels of €320,000. However, she added that there was “room to look at this again”.
A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article.
Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.
Agreed also Graham.. The last government took away our economic independence .. This government has taken away our hope! All the hope of change!!
We need a complete seed change for next election
Agreed Scrap. Direct democracy may be a slow moving behemoth, but at least it’s honest and true to the meaning of democracy, unlike the thieving charlatans that claim to represent us. They’re worth a punt, I think, and even if we’re mistaken, the beauty of their thinking, is that we can correct that mistake during their term of office, unlike the current system.
Labor need to do the decent thing and WITHDRAW from the deadbeats within Fine Gael. Otherwise, they will suffer the same fate as Fine Gael by loosing the next election.
That’s labours death warrant signed.
They like fg are going to be destroyed at the next election (or sooner).
Each and every one of the lieing decietful two faced paracites will pay dearly for their treason.
oh god, does that mean Fianna Fail again, I’ve got a sinking feeling about this one! They seem to be on RTE 1 any time I switch onto their radio news programmes! All I’ll have are left wing independents, if there are any left in my neighbourhood…… slim pickins indeed!
Good man Vincent.
God love you buddy,you must be shattered trying to follow all the threads of undiluted hatred for the people you adore.
Anyway back on track and not to delay you too long.
The only true polls that matter are at the ballot boxes.
Now will you ever just admit that your wrong and your sitting on the bow of the Titanic.
@voodoo. Poor you. You seemed a bit excited about catching me out there. Unfortunately, no poll is ever taken in isolation. That one was taken a week after the Savita case- an issue which even the pollsters admitted skewed the poll in a way unlikely to be repeated. So when I said barometer I was talking about the dozen other polls post election that showed FG holding about 30%. Even the SBP poll had FG the largest party in the country, by the way. So em, I was right.
@Joe- Great. I don’t want to pay the property tax either. Oh wait. Wee problem. The country’s broke and we have to find the money somewhere. So once you’ve abolished the cuts that FG have brought in, how are you going to pay for dole, nurses, teachers, Gardai. Your answer gets no point if it involves leaving the EU.
Vincent – abolish pension tax reliefs = €2.3billion, Tobin Tax = €500million (this wouldn’t effect the vulnerable in society in the slightest!!!) don’t pay the unsecured Anglo Irish bank bond holders = priceless!!!! There are alternatives your just to blind (or unwilling) to take note of them. All the above are progressive measures. One thing that annoys me is that the government says its legacy will be increase in employment and a growing/competitive economy, yet any student studying economics could tell u that the above can’t be achieved through regressive budgets….. This is a regressive budget so how will the government leave a legacy any better than what Fianna Fáil left us???
This is true. I’m fully realistic about the mess FF landed this country in, and I realise the bank debt deal, which has to be policy imperative #1 for this government, won’t come overnight, so I willing to accept a few tough budgets.
And then there’s the fact that the last two budgets have disproportionately targeted low and middle incomes, with flat rate measures like VAT increases, property tax and welfare cuts. The sole argument against raising taxes on €125k+, that it’d scare off multinationals, is so palpably absurd that it’d be laughable if it weren’t such a serious issue. None of which can be blamed on Fianna Fáil.
I’d be very interested to see how the barometer shows in February or March, Vinny, because by this rate it doesn’t seem like this Blueshirt regime is going to break the party’s perfect record of never managing to be re-elected.
@kevin- your definition of “progressive” leaves something to be desired. For example, defying the Troika and not paying unsecured bondholders, cessation of funding…. Bankruptcy. Goodbye EU. That’s progressive in your book, is it? As for a legacy, this Government will stand for election in 3 years having reduced our total debt via a bank deal, reduced interest rates on our debt from when they took over from FF and sent the Troika home and re-established economic sovereignty. That’s how they’ll have a better legacy than FF.
@voodoo. The biggest risk to FG getting re-elected is Labour. If Labours vote collapses, FG mightn’t have a coalition partner. But then who could replace them? Nobody would want to get into bed with either SF or FF. This site is misleading. The core FG vote of 30% is holding. Don’t forget, for all the whining FG have honoured their commitment to leave income tax alone. A whole lot of the middle class will reward them for that.
Also, Vincenzo, your poor long-suffering top 10% take over 30% of the country’s income, more than the bottom 40% of citizens combined. They are also the only group who actually saw their disposable income increase in the immediate aftermath of the crash, by some 8%.
Also, the idea that the very wealthy are some kind of magical “wealth creators”, such that taxing them hurts growth has been shown to be false on numerous occasions:
WE stop paying bondholders, developers in NAMA, Bailing out German and European Gambling Banks,and we stop paying out €4.25 million to tds and a senator in one constituency in a five year period, see farther down,, No Govt hhas the right morally or legally to give its citizens only the choice of r death, and unfortunately thats a choice that many of this countries citizens will be forced to make, Hunger, Suicide, Disease,
IS it that Mr Kenny’s favorite book i Mein Kampf, and has he delusions of being the originator of the 4th Reich., for Angela?
@Mick- it’s amazing neither FF nor FG thought of that. Which is strange as you would have thought there’d be more votes in that then vicious budget cuts. Do you think maybe its because paying bondholders is a condition of the EU money keeping this nation afloat? Would that make a bit more sense, do you think?
Fine Gael’s core vote is falling. It was only a matter of when, not if.
——————————————————————————————————————————————————-
The latest polls indicate a steep drop in support for Fine Gael.
——————————————————————————————————————————————————-
The middle class will dump FG because of the increase in work-related taxes.
Vincent – you obviously didn’t read my comment carefully because if you did you would have noticed that I did not once suggest turning our back on Europe!!!! In fact I am proposing measures that are supported by Europe!!!!
I didn’t define “progressive” so I don’t understand how there’s much to be desired???
You say the government will get a deal on our bank debt (which as we know is changing the promissory notes into some other instrument and putting off repayment to sometime in the future). Yet you promise economic sovereignty in three years time!!!! I’m afraid on this occasion your definition leaves much to be desired for as long as we owe money to creditors we do not have economic sovereignty!!! The government is planning repayment of debts as far away as 2022 so I fail to see how in three years they will have payed off all our creditors!!!!
On the 30%, that’s the proportion of the annual income that the top 10% take in this country – pretty consistent in NERI and ESRI figures, would get links but I’m just off to bed. Google is your friend, I’m not making it up.
Anyway, it gives me no pleasure to say this, Vincent, but I have a sinking feeling that Fianna Fáil are going to be back in government come 2016. The real middle classes, the people earning in or around the average industrial wage, are among the hardest hit by FG’s economic policies, Labour have betrayed them, the Sinners are still a bit rough around the edges to be a major force, which leaves us with …
Also seems to me that there are plenty of people just waiting for it to become respectable to openly support FF again, I think that kinda came through in the Presidential campaign. Of course, it’s a damning indictment of irish political culture that these are the choices, and the door is wide open for a new party or way of doing politics, and I genuinely hope I’m wrong about this, but that’s how I see it.
@Danny- I said this country- not its people. By the way, if your on 100k you pay a whole lot more tax than someone on 35k. The fire brigade doesn’t come any faster to your house and you don’t get to drive on any better roads- so your definition of “fair share” is open to interpretation
@voodoo- you disappoint me. That they’re earning 30% means they’ve done we’ll for themselves. They should be applauded not derided and targeted for higher taxes. They’re already paying more than the average man. As for FF, I fear you’re right but keep hoping that while Micheal is their leader the last Government won’t be forgotten…
Derision, envy or moral judgment doesn’t even come in to it, it’s just practical economics. Taxing those who already have some to spare does much less harm to demand, ergo the economy as a whole, than trying to wring blood out of a stone with low and middle earners. It’s just common sense … here’s a Nobel laureate, he can probably explain it a bit better than I can:
vincent,,,im sure they thought of it,,,Iceland thought of it too,,they had the balls to do it,,and we were told Iceland would become a wasteland,,it didnt, and they are doing well again,,and all has been forgiven by the banks, bondholders,etc etc, oh yeah, they also jailed the bankers and bailed out their people,,,the fckn cheek of them.
Sums it all up: Fine Gael don’t care about their constituents. The chickens will come home to roost in 2014 and 2016. FG will likely become wiped out like FF in 2011.
I suppose its Labours way celebrating the 100 year in been, it will take them another 100 years to recover. How do they expect their founder members to rest in peace with this betrail of the principles of the Labour Party.
Most people don’t think they have skin in the game — only those with income close to 100K effectively tell Fine Gael what to do. Even when the minority wanting to soak the “poor” start getting pink slips, they wouldn’t know what hit them — same primitive people who voted for Fine Gael to begin with.
I think every member of the government should be given one day’s work experience with a highly dependent person, with no assistance from anyone whatsoever before they get to vote.
A day of infamy in Labour’s history. Backbenchers such as Michael McNamara have lost any shred of credibility. The likes of Rabbitte lost theirs many months ago.
This government has no regard for any citizen except if you are a TD, or so called bankrupt developer. They really do look out for each other.Some developers are getting massive salaries of €100k + from nama for doing feck all, yet a person who looks after someone with a chronic illness gets cut by €300
We are all full of sh**e … We should be out there protesting with the carers and for a u turn on property tax or additions to be made for those who paid vast amounts of stamp duty.. We talk talk talk but no action … An independent body like the journal should organise a protest … But a protest like we have never seen before … No union nutbag banners , no Sinn Fein banners , people before profit banners or the Judean people’s front banners … Just real people with real issues, we should pick a day when there is a big EU meeting in Dublin Castle and fill Dame street … I’m genuinely perplexed how we have lost the fighting spirit and turned into a nation of submissives.
Big protests planed for Friday in Dublin but how many will turn out when the government looks at the Croke park agreement they will have to in force pay cuts then the unions will have their members out on the street by the way I really think Croke park has bought the public sectors silence
Brian Lenihan/FF cut the blind and disabled pension so as to save 10 million. These cut respite and carers to save the same, even though both attacked people that if they stepped back would cost the state hundreds of millions in care cost.
Next time you see Kenny and Martin up preaching from the pulpit about right and wrong and caring for the others, remember their actions. They are having a laugh at these people.
colm keavney a guy who criticises aspects of the budget yet still votes it through shows what our public representatives are all about all talk and no action
It’s nice how Joan Burton is so sympathetic, and I see where she’s coming from, of course. They have to make cuts, and that is obviously going to come from the most vulnerable and the most needy in society. After all, that has been the Irish way for generations, and tradition is tradition!
Give back the €1.1 million spent illegally by FG/Lab on the last referendum plus the legal experiences. Now that would be a sum that would make a real difference. When do you think FG/Lab will cough up for that Bernie?
This hurts Labour more than FG. No way would the row back. Their that deluded FG think annihilating Labour will give them a majority. Next govt will be a new political party + a slew of single issue independents. SF cud well be kingmakers.
Great. For once the dole parasite family in my estate. Who WOULDN’T work even at the height of the boom. With their 13 kids they expect the rest of us to pay for, will loose more in this budget than I will.
Unfortunately you don’t hear about the widespread abuse in the media. Only the extreme cases of genuine hardship who ultimately suffer cuts because of these parasites.
That is great for you Mike but frankly i’m more concerned with the good of the country rather than your rage at a family of wasters you know. Why don’t you go over and kick the tar out of their father and make him get a job and then you can stop backing economically destructive policy.
Stephen. If you stopped all the rampant welfare abuse in the system then the other cuts wouldn’t be nessicary. The total welfare package going into this one house alone is over 60000 euro a year.
mike if your aware of “rampant welfare abuse” have you reported it? Does your “dole parasites” care for somebody at home? If they do are you aware what it would cost the state i,e, the tax payer to care for that person if your “parasites” said feck this I’m not doing it?
Mike. Welfare abuse has been cracked down on and the Troika do not believe it is rampant, a problem yes, but no more than any where else.
What will happen if Irish Welfare was perfect, the first in the world to be so. FG and FF will break themselves worrying that their mass corruption would be exposed.
It’s actually higher. Basic welfare, Childrens allowance and rent allowance for 2 adults and 13 dependants is over 63000 euro. In addition to that they also get the additional benefits like medical cards, back to school, esb, bins etc. For any worker to take home that much they would need a salary in excess of 100000 euro before tax.
Nobody get’s free ESB Mike, and while i’ll assume its in Dublin ( probably wrong there..shitstorm incomming ) nobody gets free bin collections, used to be part subsidised if on welfare but not since the service was sold to private contracters, but anyway I think your being harsh, while your view is the parents are milking the system by staying at home and having 13 children, its not the childrens fault and cuts to childrens allowance and the back to school allowance will ultimatly hurt the children, can you really relish the prospect that 13 innocent kids will suffer just so you can feel great?
They would recive 36410 per year or 700.20 per week for 2 dependant adults and 13 children under 18. And 23136 in childrens allowance for 2012 total of 59546.
In 2013 they would recive same social welfare payment but children allowance would be 21480, total would be 57890.
Difference of 1656.
Still less than Joan Burton gets for lying her way into office. And she has only 1 child, think her child is infact a adult now, cant bother reserching that part.
I came from a big family myself, 9 of us and I can only imagine 13 kids, unless you have kids you can’t understand the costs involved, I’m not agreeing or condoning the family Mike is talking about, but he’s the one hiding behind a fake twitter account crying about welfare fraud, he also refused to try calculate childcare for 13 kids. The end of the day if the parents actions are right or wrong people can only guess, but the fact is this budget will hurt the 13 kids much the same as it will hurt a family on welfare with 2 kids or even familes in average jobs with kids. People that don’t have children have no clue how much they cost, they all assume ahh sure there litle they don’t eat much..ahh sure kids clothes don’t have vat what you complaining about, ahh sure this ahh sure that..ahh sure people without kids should think hard and fast before opening there mouth on a subject they have no idea about, colleges ect don’t offer degree’s in parenting and being a parent, so unless you have kids everything you say is a asumption.
NATIONAL STRIKE PEOPLE this is an outrage This Government will rue this day for generations along with the property tax on people’s homes
GET OUT RESIGN NOW THE LOT OF YOU TRAITORS THE LOT OF YOU how dare yea call yourselves IRISH
TRAITORS TRAITORS TRAITORS.
Kellyanne and Marion Mr V.D. Is an arrogant and very rude being.But as I said on a couple of occasions to him here in the Thejournal.ie I have a voice because of our forefathers whom I am very proud of and I am disgusted with what this Government are doing but Mr.V.D seems to disrespect anyone who does not agree with ENDA Kenny and Co., I pay all my share and have done for 40 yes and more as do my family.I laugh when I see Mr.V.D so rude to all who pull up all the blue shirts but as my late Dad would say ” sticks and stones may break my bones but names will never hurt me” and as I am a law abiding citizen I really am entitled to my opinion Thanks girls
Regardless of what Vincent said, I disagree with subsequent posters. To call a man a traitor to Ireland is a bit too far for me. Whether you like Enda Kenny or not, or Bertie before him, I don’t believe either of them can be classed as traitors. I don’t think that either of them, nor any other Taoiseach we have had, have did anything deliberately to undermine Ireland.
Vincent reflects the characteristics of his beloved FG beautifully. Innate arrogance and contempt for those not inside the golden circle.
FG will always bend the knee to those they perceive to be powerful and ruthlessly exploit those in a weaker position. Morally bankrupt quislings.
Fianna Fáil TD Willie O’Dea said there was “no reason why we can’t have ample time to debate these amendments”.
He said the changes to the Social Welfare Bill are wide ranging and will have a “huge impact on people’s lives”.
TO FIANNA FAIL, SHUT UP! YOU PUT US WHERE WE ARE NOW! and to Labour shame on you.
I Live in the Laois /Offally Constituency, we have 5 tds Sean Fleming, Barry Cowen, Charlie Flanagan, Brian Stanley, Marcella Corcoran Kennedy and one Senator John Whelan, They will , in one year take from the Taxpayers a total of €841747.32. in Salaries and expenses, thats with no consideration for any other allowances, business income, etc etc. Over a 5 year period that equates to an average of €701456.10 each PA,. Senator Whelan will fall a little short , he will ONLY get €1956.17 PER WEEK , and he was not elected by the People of L/O.For the 5 elected TDs The weekly break down, Salary + Exs Is as follows, B Stanley SF,€2888.80 pw. C Flanagan FG,€2860.04pw. S Fleming FF€2683.12pw. B Cowen FF €2888.80.pw. M CorcoranKennedy, FG €2910.34.pw.
That equates to a total payment to 6 individuals of €4208736.60. Just under €4 and a quarter million. Somebody on an annual wage of €30000.00 would need to work for 140.3 years to earn that much,,,or 6 people would need to work 23 and a half years to collectivly earn the same amount. Granted this is a 5 seat constituency. but if the figures are applied across 226, the total number of TDs and Senators, it is a mind boggling amount of money each for a few months work each year. The figures quoted are for back benchers and make no provision for being on subcommittes, ministerial roles, and a plethora of other allowances that can be obtained depending on how favoured you may be by the Leaders of your party. It also makes no allowance for “severance money , if they do not get re-elected, or for pensions, I would imagine that an awful lot of the present crowd will be claiming the “severance money” after the next election, whenever that might be, I have asked each of these individuals to give me one, just one valid reason as to why they should recieve these level of payments, I have not recieved one single reply from any of them, I wonder why. There is also a practice in L/O , when a Co Councellor is elected to Dail Eireann, a member of his family, Partner, wife, son , daughter, brother ,sister, , is co-opted on to the Council to replace him/her unelected, Nepotism or what. Sinn Fein will trot out the old chestnut , that they only take the average Industrial wage, Irrelevant , the remainder may or may not go to the party to fund,god only knows what, it does not benefit the taxpayer, Most ordinary working people would live very comfortably on the expenses alone. There is a Tinny Rattle out of anyone on this kind of money championing the cause if the poor and disadvantaged,Mr Whelan, Mr Fleming, Mr Stanley,Mr Cowen,give us a break.
Will Mr Kenny use the old catch all that he has been using since the election , that Pay and Expenses, pensions etc etc are a legacy issue from the previous administration.
Any Government is only as good as its opposition,,,and the Fact is we have had a Practically non existant Opposotion for the last twelve years or more. Politics is a serious business, it can mean life or death for some people,and this administration would be appearing to chose death over life for many citizens, Savita, The Disabled, the poor, The Disadvantaged, The indepted, for what,? , to get claps on the back from the Troika, Merkel, The Banks, The Developers, et al. There should be a case for Crimes against Humanity taken against this administration.
Mick. I doubt many read such a long post but I did. I’m as fed up as uabout the status quo. FF=FG=Lab=greedy self serving gombeens. It’s time for change. We need a wholesale clear out of these parasites. http://www.DirectDemocracyIreland.ie. check it out
Iceland tackled their problem in a totally differnt way,,,they bailed out the people and jailed the bankers and corrupt officials, and burned the bond holders,,what happened,,they had a couple of tough years and they are now well on the way to recovery and prosperity,, they survived better than us,,
There is one curious thing though,,,,you will see or hear very little about what Iceland did,,why is that,,THEY DONT WANT YOU TO KNOW THAT THERE IS ANOTHHER WAY>
Well said very detailed,email some journo and see what will happen, why are the media so slow to go into real depth with is? The political class that has/is getting rich off the back of the Irish people. If it was happening in France they would be a revolution already it will have to come to a head here too I hope anyway!!!!!!!!!!
Mike, a good comment. I knew that politicians were overpaid, but I didn’t think it was that much. The question for people is, how can it be changed. FF, FG, LAB, SF, seem to me to be all the same. I can see the need to cut costs, but how to do it in fair manner.. now there is a 6 million deutchmark question.
And you could add to that the cost of Urban and County councillers Mick.
Are our political classes so stupid as to not understand the mood of the people? Or maybe thay don’t give a s**t ?
Oh and what happened to the Senate abolition promise ?
fantastic post mick and it shows up what is really wrong with this country, any cut’s should have come from the top down, but these self serving hypocrites only know how to hit the poor and vunerable, those on s/w ar low pay or disability dont ‘contributr huge amounts to party funds ,so in their eyes we are expendable, they only care about loading up the pockets of themselves and there cronies, it matters not which party is in power, there all the same, beoken promises and lies are all you will get from these gurriers.
I agree with Willie O Dea for once. But would it make any difference as the dictatorship of Enda and his cronies has made his edicts? If this is a good form of democracy, I would hate to see the bad ones. It has brought about people like Joan Burton saying things they can hardly believe in.
Im sure most workers or social welfare recipients would have taken a few cent per week hit collectively instead of carers getting hit with a broad €300 but again our mindless elected do things arseways.
So the rights of the majority of the people of Ireland have been ignored over the the non secured bond holders in AIB who are payed billions, who spends money in our country ? not the rich but us the real people, ie those that need to buy bread to survive, and now the tax man is allowed to enter your home without a warrant to gather the information of house tax or whatever its called now. We need real information like how the money people of Ireland are going to to hit . Am I biased yes as my jobs include autistic, elderly, other medical conditions I’m self employed or try to but will better off on the dole, I wont do that and neither will I pay taxes or charges that I cannot afford. Burn the bankers first not the HONEST PEOPLE .
If ever there was a time for a revolution, what we need is the next goverment to strip these lying sack of shits all the benifits they aquired for the time they spenting screwing over the Irish people. No pension’s or benifits, infact any that lied to get into office should be forced to repay salary earned while in office also. Only job in the country that lying to get is acceptable it seems and what worse is they can’t be fired like any other employee. They work for the people yet the people have to wait to fire them until it suits them to call a election.wtf! Time for a change, don’t hold to your election promise’s then get the out, simple as. And while we are at it the Ceann Comhairle’s should be a member of the public like extended jury duty instead of the current biased piece of crap sitting there now, if you look closely you can nearly see Enda’s hand.
@mick. Agreed. They keep saying this is the worst but this is based on fairy tale growth rates. Next year will be worse. Work for nothing and give up ur first born. But at all costs, protect the Coke Perk Aggrandisement
Willie o’Dea calling for debate on votes. Well that beats Banagher.
ahh dere willie have your herard about de brother, hope that recorder isn’t on. de brothel down the street.
What a joke the Dáil is, that a man like that is still allowed sit in it. Is their any parliament in Europe that would tolerate that rubbish, no course not.
Listening to the nauseous tones of Enda Kenny talking and pontificating about jobs, economic recovery, growth, progress, fairness – one can only compare it to Comical Ali saying that the Iraqi army had chased the Americans across the border when you could clearly see the US tanks rumbling down the streets behind him.
The system is convoluted, if a goverment member is not there then a opposition member lose’s there vote to even it out and not give advantage to either side if say the FG fun bus was stuck in traffic loaded with TD’s coming back from some Bankers whine and dine with pass the brown envelope. If you ask me the system is wrong, if the votes important make yourself available.
whine whine whine. We voted them in cos we had no choice. The next shower Will b as bad. If kenny had any ability or talent he would have made his mark long ago. G Fitzgerald knew he was a clown and left him to the man the parish pump in the wesht. That’s what we have, a pompous little gombeen shit. We are doomed. DOOMED I TELLS YA!!!!!!! EVEN THE BLUESHIRTS WANTED RID OF HIM. Oh my God, somebody hand me a valium…….
Sam, I am in agreement with you…I don’t think we had another choice. However, did Garrett Fitzgerald not find himself in the same position as Kenny? He had a first term that lasted a couple of years because of cuts that he had to make when the country was broke and his second was longer, but also unpopular, because of further cuts. If he was doing that now, would he be more or less popular than our current leader? The curse of Irish democracy… vote for unnecessary giveaways and pan the people who are tasked with reversing the folly. Unfortunately we are left with a previous government who were populist and a current government who appear to be reneging on their promises…. where to next?
Direct democracy perhaps Jim. We’ve tried everything else, haven’t we?. It’s admittingly a slow and cumbersome version of democracy, but still, although primitive, is actual democracy. Put simply, if the minority in power, try to hijack the constitution, then the majority not in power, can revoke that power, even though it may be done at a snails pace.
I’ve been watching it live all evening and learned a thing or 2. Mind you got very confused at the way they work too. I’d like to know how TDs can vote electronically when they aren’t even in the chamber?
But also amendments to the budgets SW bill that I’ve not heard about . Like Sunday will no longer be classed as a rest day, any overpayments/rent arrears will be taken back at 15% of core SW rates. Lone parents will lose benefits for children over 7 from July. These are just a few that we’re discussed after the vote. These are just a few amendments. From what I could make out they don’t need to vote on any of these.
So the Social Welfare Bill 2012 has been passed!
This is disappointing considering the people it will affect are the people who need it most. I’m lucky enough to have never needed S.W. assistants but I know friends who rely on this money to try make the best they can with this money for their children. This surely is a direct attack on unemployed & disabled people, who never wanted to be in the position they are in. Labour & F.G. have shown total disregard to the people of Ireland.
at present we cannot change much within this government, they are rotten to the core. They dont seem to understand the meaning of fair, vulnerable or poverty. We can protest, and show our anger. We can campaign at their individual offices, but in the immediate future with those who will be affected we cannot change the governments mind to lessen their help.
But we can do something, we can offer help to someone caring for an elderly parent, a disabled spouse, a handicapped child. Even the simple thing of seeing if they need a hand to get shopping in, cookinhg done, housework etc, we can all do something. With older ppl, seriously most older ppl have kids and grandkids, would it be that hard (esp if its a larger family) to sort out a bit of extra fuel, or to gain the trust of an eldery neighbour who has noone, to help them out with meals etc…we can continue to be mad and angry, but we can also begin to rebuild our communities from the ashes that the celtic tiger gave us, and rebuild on a solid stable base of communities..but we all need to next time when ge comes around need to remember if it sounds to be good to be true it must be a fake
We are not powerless Laura. We are governed by consent in a democracy and that consent can be removed by the people at any time. Mass civil disobedience is a powerful tool as demonstrated recently when the government failed to collect the Household tax from 40-50% of those eligible to pay. All the threats of court cases and €2500 fines have evaporated in the face of mass non compliance. This protest will continue and expand with a mass refusal to pay the Property Tax.
The household charge will be abolished either way, Vincent. The two main opposition parties will nullify it after the next election (FF & SF). Once abolished, Fine Gael will be remembered as a party that forced a tax upon the people and this will have long-term consequences for Fine Gael’s image for decades. People will always be reminded of this.
@Mark- Honestly. I don’t mean to be unnecessarily antagonistic but you need to grow up. People outside of the left wing enclave that is “the Journal” will remember that 1). Fine Gael inherited a bankrupt country 2). That cuts were consequently inevitable and 3). That Ireland is the only country in Europe that doesn’t have a household charge. Reasonable people will know that the state was ALWAYS going to have to stick their hands in our wallets and while they’ll not like it, they know where the blame resides for this situation arising- and it’s not with FG. By the way- I hate to tell you. There’s a whole new raft of cuts coming and you won’t like those either. But those who opted against the Ostrich “why are FG bringing in all of these cuts?” approach will measure FG on whether the cuts are working in terms of stabilising our Republic. If the country’s in a better state than it was when they came to power, FG will be fine at the polls next time out. I know that will disappoint you. Realism is a great characteristic to have in your core vote.
Okay Vincent, you have your own spin on the airwaves but it isn’t part of a bigger picture: the two main opposition parties (FF & SF) will still have a larger per cent of vote come 2016. FG alone won’t have enough to make it by themselves. And considering most Independents are liberal, they are unlikely to become backbenchers for FG. That’s THREE against ONE party
As for the “blame Fianna Fail”, I think people have gotten over the Fianna Fail stigma as recent polls signify. People are now asking how worse could it actually be with Fianna Fail. Sinn Fein are also becoming a credible opposition who would care for the people. Sure people knew cuts were inevitable BUT the issue is the how these cuts and taxes are carried out.
FF and SF and Independents have a common point: Property tax will be GONE in the next election, taxes on the rich will increase, cuts upon the vulnerable rolled back, and so on.
Well that’s the end of Labour… Take a bow Gilmore and co, ye have presided over the destruction of your own party… Full pension package due in Feb is it??? A local property tax collected by central revenue hmmm something sounds wrong there lads
2016 will have far-reaching consequences for FINE GAEL. Kennys’s free-market capitalism mandate is a falsehood that he perpetuated through his false rhetoric during the campaign.
Could anyone enlighten me as to the levels of respite care grant in the UK?? Or is there even one? Just a question but I’d put a good bet that its way less than here if they even have one!
The media once again got it all wrong. Predicting all week about defections in the Labour party. No defections. It seems much of the media is out of touch with ordinary people. The media at the moment seem to have almost become partners with FF, Sinn Fein, ULA etc. Why do we never hear anyone on the media who agrees with the budget?
The media are reflecting the interests of the Irish voters. When the government doesn’t, the media have a duty to point this out. Simply put – the “ordinary people” have fallen out of love with Fine Gael right-wing capitalists.
Heard many members of the public who agree with the budget John? Any idea of what it would cost the state if the 77k people who do home care for their relatives said feck this the state can look after them? Check it out you might learn something.
Ireland already has some medical deserts - and it’s been getting worse
Maria Delaney
1 hr ago
St Patrick's Day
Quiz: How much do you know about green things?
3 hrs ago
United States
Tánaiste says Conor McGregor 'doesn't speak for Ireland' as MMA fighter arrives at White House
Updated
9 hrs ago
Your Cookies. Your Choice.
Cookies help provide our news service while also enabling the advertising needed to fund this work.
We categorise cookies as Necessary, Performance (used to analyse the site performance) and Targeting (used to target advertising which helps us keep this service free).
We and our 157 partners store and access personal data, like browsing data or unique identifiers, on your device. Selecting Accept All enables tracking technologies to support the purposes shown under we and our partners process data to provide. If trackers are disabled, some content and ads you see may not be as relevant to you. You can resurface this menu to change your choices or withdraw consent at any time by clicking the Cookie Preferences link on the bottom of the webpage .Your choices will have effect within our Website. For more details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
We and our vendors process data for the following purposes:
Use precise geolocation data. Actively scan device characteristics for identification. Store and/or access information on a device. Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development.
Cookies Preference Centre
We process your data to deliver content or advertisements and measure the delivery of such content or advertisements to extract insights about our website. We share this information with our partners on the basis of consent. You may exercise your right to consent, based on a specific purpose below or at a partner level in the link under each purpose. Some vendors may process your data based on their legitimate interests, which does not require your consent. You cannot object to tracking technologies placed to ensure security, prevent fraud, fix errors, or deliver and present advertising and content, and precise geolocation data and active scanning of device characteristics for identification may be used to support this purpose. This exception does not apply to targeted advertising. These choices will be signaled to our vendors participating in the Transparency and Consent Framework.
Manage Consent Preferences
Necessary Cookies
Always Active
These cookies are necessary for the website to function and cannot be switched off in our systems. They are usually only set in response to actions made by you which amount to a request for services, such as setting your privacy preferences, logging in or filling in forms. You can set your browser to block or alert you about these cookies, but some parts of the site will not then work.
Targeting Cookies
These cookies may be set through our site by our advertising partners. They may be used by those companies to build a profile of your interests and show you relevant adverts on other sites. They do not store directly personal information, but are based on uniquely identifying your browser and internet device. If you do not allow these cookies, you will experience less targeted advertising.
Functional Cookies
These cookies enable the website to provide enhanced functionality and personalisation. They may be set by us or by third party providers whose services we have added to our pages. If you do not allow these cookies then these services may not function properly.
Performance Cookies
These cookies allow us to count visits and traffic sources so we can measure and improve the performance of our site. They help us to know which pages are the most and least popular and see how visitors move around the site. All information these cookies collect is aggregated and therefore anonymous. If you do not allow these cookies we will not be able to monitor our performance.
Store and/or access information on a device 109 partners can use this purpose
Cookies, device or similar online identifiers (e.g. login-based identifiers, randomly assigned identifiers, network based identifiers) together with other information (e.g. browser type and information, language, screen size, supported technologies etc.) can be stored or read on your device to recognise it each time it connects to an app or to a website, for one or several of the purposes presented here.
Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development 141 partners can use this purpose
Use limited data to select advertising 111 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times an ad is presented to you).
Create profiles for personalised advertising 83 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (such as forms you submit, content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (for example, information from your previous activity on this service and other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (that might include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present advertising that appears more relevant based on your possible interests by this and other entities.
Use profiles to select personalised advertising 83 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on your advertising profiles, which can reflect your activity on this service or other websites or apps (like the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects.
Create profiles to personalise content 38 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (for instance, forms you submit, non-advertising content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (such as your previous activity on this service or other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (which might for example include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present content that appears more relevant based on your possible interests, such as by adapting the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find content that matches your interests.
Use profiles to select personalised content 34 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on your content personalisation profiles, which can reflect your activity on this or other services (for instance, the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects. This can for example be used to adapt the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find (non-advertising) content that matches your interests.
Measure advertising performance 132 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which advertising is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine how well an advert has worked for you or other users and whether the goals of the advertising were reached. For instance, whether you saw an ad, whether you clicked on it, whether it led you to buy a product or visit a website, etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of advertising campaigns.
Measure content performance 60 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which content is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine whether the (non-advertising) content e.g. reached its intended audience and matched your interests. For instance, whether you read an article, watch a video, listen to a podcast or look at a product description, how long you spent on this service and the web pages you visit etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of (non-advertising) content that is shown to you.
Understand audiences through statistics or combinations of data from different sources 74 partners can use this purpose
Reports can be generated based on the combination of data sets (like user profiles, statistics, market research, analytics data) regarding your interactions and those of other users with advertising or (non-advertising) content to identify common characteristics (for instance, to determine which target audiences are more receptive to an ad campaign or to certain contents).
Develop and improve services 83 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service, such as your interaction with ads or content, can be very helpful to improve products and services and to build new products and services based on user interactions, the type of audience, etc. This specific purpose does not include the development or improvement of user profiles and identifiers.
Use limited data to select content 38 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type, or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times a video or an article is presented to you).
Use precise geolocation data 46 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, your precise location (within a radius of less than 500 metres) may be used in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Actively scan device characteristics for identification 27 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, certain characteristics specific to your device might be requested and used to distinguish it from other devices (such as the installed fonts or plugins, the resolution of your screen) in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Ensure security, prevent and detect fraud, and fix errors 90 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Your data can be used to monitor for and prevent unusual and possibly fraudulent activity (for example, regarding advertising, ad clicks by bots), and ensure systems and processes work properly and securely. It can also be used to correct any problems you, the publisher or the advertiser may encounter in the delivery of content and ads and in your interaction with them.
Deliver and present advertising and content 97 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Certain information (like an IP address or device capabilities) is used to ensure the technical compatibility of the content or advertising, and to facilitate the transmission of the content or ad to your device.
Match and combine data from other data sources 72 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Information about your activity on this service may be matched and combined with other information relating to you and originating from various sources (for instance your activity on a separate online service, your use of a loyalty card in-store, or your answers to a survey), in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Link different devices 53 partners can use this feature
Always Active
In support of the purposes explained in this notice, your device might be considered as likely linked to other devices that belong to you or your household (for instance because you are logged in to the same service on both your phone and your computer, or because you may use the same Internet connection on both devices).
Identify devices based on information transmitted automatically 86 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Your device might be distinguished from other devices based on information it automatically sends when accessing the Internet (for instance, the IP address of your Internet connection or the type of browser you are using) in support of the purposes exposed in this notice.
Save and communicate privacy choices 68 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
The choices you make regarding the purposes and entities listed in this notice are saved and made available to those entities in the form of digital signals (such as a string of characters). This is necessary in order to enable both this service and those entities to respect such choices.
have your say