You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Twitter/Dublin Fire Brigade

Firefighters battle large blaze in north Dublin with smoke visible city wide

Four fire engines are at the scene just off the M50 at Ballymun.

DUBLIN FIRE BRIGADE is “making progress” at the scene of a significant blaze in north Dublin, amid reports of a large plume of smoke visible across the capital.

The fire service confirmed earlier this afternoon that firefighters are battling a blaze off the M50 near Ballymun, and that around 40 scrap cars are alight.

Five fire engines and a water tanker initially attended the scene, before one engine was stood down.

It is not yet known how the fire started or how long the cars have been alight. Motorists travelling in the area are advised that smoke from the fire is affecting visibility. Those living in the area have also been urged to make sure their windows are closed to prevent smoke entering their homes. 

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

33 Comments
    Mute mac
    Favourite mac
    May 16th 2020, 2:56 PM

Fire took place at scrap yard ,that shouldn’t be there .last comment deleted because journal didn’t like the question asked.

Mute Billy McNamara
    Favourite Billy McNamara
    May 16th 2020, 5:45 PM

@mac: Is teh Journal avoiding a possible controversial subject? I doubt it ,not the Journal.

Mute NotaWarder
    Favourite NotaWarder
    May 16th 2020, 3:55 PM

Culture boss

Mute Mattress Dick
    Favourite Mattress Dick
    May 16th 2020, 2:21 PM

Rumour has it, it can been seen from outer space

Mute Al Fresco
    Favourite Al Fresco
    May 16th 2020, 2:59 PM

@Mattress Dick: they say that the moon can be seen from the Great Wall Of China!

Mute biggybald
    Favourite biggybald
    May 16th 2020, 3:04 PM

@Mattress Dick: How is Mick? Dick

Mute Mick Scanlan
    Favourite Mick Scanlan
    May 16th 2020, 9:26 PM

@Mattress Dick: south side saw it thats neae enuff outer space

Mute Louis Jacob
    Favourite Louis Jacob
    May 16th 2020, 2:45 PM

I’m from Cork so it doesnt put me up or down but if that was in South Dublin, they definitely wouldn’t just write south Dublin in the headline. You fellas are gas up there in the big Smoke (OOOOOHHHHH!)…

Mute Paul Cunningham
    Favourite Paul Cunningham
    May 16th 2020, 2:48 PM

@Louis Jacob: Ballymun has a reputation to keep up as the leading car burning suburb in the city, lest it loses this prestigious title to Citywest!

Mute Vin
    Favourite Vin
    May 16th 2020, 4:26 PM

@Louis Jacob: Someone from Cork announcing they’re from cork. What a surprise, you lads are some craic.

Mute Louis Jacob
    Favourite Louis Jacob
    May 16th 2020, 7:05 PM

@Vin: Only as a way of saying I dont care. We are superior. Everyone knows that.

Mute IRL77
    Favourite IRL77
    May 16th 2020, 10:21 PM

@Louis Jacob: people’s republic of cork….please make it happen if only to hear less of their moaning.

Mute thesaltyurchin
    Favourite thesaltyurchin
    May 16th 2020, 3:07 PM

used to count burnt out cars in the same field near Adamstown from my train commute, daily the number could change from two to five or six, then they’d be cleared, few days later same again. need more cameras on roads over here.

Mute IrishRedLFC
    Favourite IrishRedLFC
    May 16th 2020, 2:51 PM

Some carbon emissions out of that.

Mute Brendan McCarron
    Favourite Brendan McCarron
    May 16th 2020, 3:03 PM

@IrishRedLFC: Fine Gael will tack it onto the carbon tax

Mute Monty Donotno
    Favourite Monty Donotno
    May 16th 2020, 5:40 PM

@IrishRedLFC: dioxin emissions pretty high as well

Mute David OShea
    Favourite David OShea
    May 16th 2020, 3:11 PM

Looks like it’s not in Ballymun itself. It’s across the motorway (M50), right in front of the NCT testing place.

Mute Goldie Locks
    Favourite Goldie Locks
    May 16th 2020, 3:41 PM

@David OShea: where the halting site is? Hope all unharmed.

Mute Barry Evans
    Favourite Barry Evans
    May 16th 2020, 4:27 PM

@Goldie Locks: only singed eyebrows from starting it……

Mute David OShea
    Favourite David OShea
    May 16th 2020, 7:45 PM

@Goldie Locks: Yeah, the site towards the entrance of the NCT centre by the looks of it.

Mute satguy
    Favourite satguy
    May 16th 2020, 3:46 PM

We will say a few prayers that everyone in the halting site is OK .

Mute Barry Evans
    Favourite Barry Evans
    May 16th 2020, 4:26 PM

@satguy: “Tis alright Boss, we’s just havin a BBQ, culture and all that”

Mute DeeM
    Favourite DeeM
    May 16th 2020, 4:45 PM

I passed the scene of this fire.. It was at a halting site near the NCT centre on the airport side of the M50 beside Silloge golf course. All residents evacuated… Fire tenders and gardai all over the place. Hope no one was hurt or worse.

Mute Jake Kelly
    Favourite Jake Kelly
    May 16th 2020, 2:59 PM

Lighting the beacons was way less hassle in lord of the rings

Mute Mel Finn
    Favourite Mel Finn
    May 16th 2020, 2:45 PM

Its everyone rushing to queue at hardware stores

Mute Martin Smith
    Favourite Martin Smith
    May 16th 2020, 10:12 PM

It just a culture thing nothing more……..

Mute Joe Kelly
    Favourite Joe Kelly
    May 16th 2020, 5:46 PM

Can you see it from the Curragh??

Mute Joey
    Favourite Joey
    May 16th 2020, 8:38 PM

@Joe Kelly: Was probably the Generator cables that were stroked from the race course before xmas 2019

Mute Dublin Stoner
    Favourite Dublin Stoner
    May 16th 2020, 3:18 PM

Jusus holy smokes

Mute Claudio Cavaliere
    Favourite Claudio Cavaliere
    May 16th 2020, 3:35 PM

The Others are coming

https://youtu.be/isQ94ATC4Bw

Mute Shane Doyle
    Favourite Shane Doyle
    May 16th 2020, 4:42 PM

Love the little competition which seen it the Further away

Mute JohnnyMc
    Favourite JohnnyMc
    May 16th 2020, 5:41 PM

@Shane Doyle:That’s easy for you to say

Mute Hotirish
    Favourite Hotirish
    May 16th 2020, 4:17 PM

Last of the Ladas.