You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.
An account is an optional way to support the work we do. Find out more.
North Koreans watch a news report about the nuclear test on a large screen outside the Pyongyang Station. Jon Chol Jin
nuclear testing
"Grave concerns" in Ireland about North Korea nuclear test
South Korea, China and France’s President Hollande have all criticised the move.
7.00pm, 9 Sep 2016
Updated 6.55pm
NORTH KOREA HAS successfully tested a nuclear warhead, it said today, drawing condemnation from the South which said the “maniacal recklessness” of young ruler Kim Jong-Un would lead to self-destruction.
Ireland’s Minister for Foreign Affairs and Trade, Charlie Flanagan, said he was “gravely concerned” about the news.
Pyongyang’s state media said the test, which comes after a series of ballistic missile launches that have drawn international condemnation and UN sanctions, had achieved its goal of being able to fit a miniaturised nuclear warhead on a rocket.
“Our nuclear scientists staged a nuclear explosion test on a newly developed nuclear warhead at the country’s northern nuclear test site,” a North Korean TV announcer said.
“Our… party sent a congratulatory message to our nuclear scientists… for conducting the successful nuclear warhead explosion test,” she said, as the South judged it was the North’s biggest test yet, at 10 kilotons.
Reaction
Screens show seismic waves that were measured in South Korea (right) and the epicenter of seismic waves in North Korea. Ahn Young-joon
Ahn Young-joon
Minister Flanagan said he was “gravely concerned” at the latest reports.
He said it “represents a real threat to peace and security on the Korean Peninsula, and the entire North East Asia region”.
The reported test is the latest in a series of provocative actions undertaken by North Korea this year, and is a flagrant violation of its international obligations not to produce or test nuclear weapons. It shows a blatant disregard for recent efforts of the international community to encourage North Korea to cease such actions.
He also described the reported test as “a major challenge to international efforts to advance global nuclear disarmament and non-proliferation, a longstanding goal of Ireland’s foreign policy”.
Nuclear weapons are never a means to guarantee peace and security; far from it, they pose the greatest threat of all. The regime in Pyongyang must realise that this act is reckless and provocative and will only isolate it further from the international community.
He said the reported test draws into sharp focus the urgent need for engagement on nuclear disarmament by all stakeholders, and called on the North Korean authorities to cease all nuclear testing and re-engage with the Six Party Talks on the denuclearisation of the Korean Peninsula, “immediately and without pre-conditions”.
The Irish Campaign for Nuclear Disarmament also condemned the test, describe nuclear weapons as “weapons of genocide, capable of killing thousands”.
“We call on all nuclear armed states to engage in negotiations leading to the elimination of nuclear weapons,” said its chairperson Dr David Hutchinson Edgar. “The possession and modernisation of nuclear arsenals by a small number of states acts as an incentive to states like North Korea to acquire these horrific weapons. Non-nuclear-armed states like Ireland have an important role to play within the international community in keeping up pressure to stigmatise, ban and eliminate nuclear weapons.”
French President Francois Hollande said he “strongly condemns” North Korea’s latest nuclear test and called on the UN Security Council to take up “this violation of its resolutions,” his office said today.
The international community must unite against this new provocation which comes after unanimous condemnation by the Security Council of the ballistic missile tests by North Korea on Monday.
China “firmly opposes” the foreign ministry of Pyongyang’s main diplomatic protector said, after its fifth atomic blast.
“Today, the DPRK again conducted a nuclear test despite widespread international opposition – the Chinese government firmly opposes this,” the ministry in Beijing said in a statement on its website, using the North’s official name.
We strongly urge the DPRK to honour its commitment to denuclearisation, comply with the relevant security council resolutions and stop taking any actions that worsen the situation.
The statement called for the issue to be resolved through six-party talks – the long-stalled negotiations process chaired by China that also brings together the two Koreas, Japan, Russia and the United States.
China’s environmental protection ministry activated a contingency plan following the blast, the official news agency Xinhua reported, adding that it was monitoring for radiation on the North Korean border.
Ties between China and the North have become strained in recent years as Pyongyang has pressed ahead with its nuclear tests, and with Kim Jong-Un yet to visit Beijing since inheriting power from his father, who died in 2011.
these sentences are not enough. not by a long shot. these people don’t give a rats about their crimes or their victims because its the way they are brought up. they are brought up to be criminals. i saw it only this week with the use of 12 year old kids supposedly collecting for the local *insert random sporting club* and subsequently setting off house alarms before the ‘adult’ comes along. this is nothing new and has been happening for years. those 12 year olds will more than likely turn out the same way as the people in this article.
the point is the criminality amongst these families is rife from a very early age. This country needs to stop treating these people with kid gloves and actually come down hard on them. i’m sick of the people in charge being completely PC about the whole thing. Action is clearly needed. But unfortunately we will be having the same conversation in 10 years time when the new wave comes along
One of the couple’s children woke in terror after her dad was knocked out by the butt off a gun and screamed: “Daddy is dead.”
The relative told how quick-thinking Emma, 37, called gardai in Thurles, Co Tipperary, after the Traveller mob attempted to break the front door of their home in Burnchurch, Killenaule, just after 3am.
last night, Vincent Browne queried why one of the papers reported that the men are Travellers. VB wanted to know what was the relevance of this fact. Well, Vincent, I think it’s very relevant.
Vincent Browne doesn’t realise or care that those families are like the mafia families in the US – they are families in the same way that Whitey Bulgers gang are families.
Some people think immigration is the big problem in Irish society today…not even close. The problem is much closer to home.
I think we’re long past the point of salvation with this particular group of people so much longer sentences are needed to take violent travellers off our streets.
And cut Pavee Point’s funding while we’re at it. They’re a useless shower who only make a noise when travellers are the ‘victims’. Travellers are never the victims, it’s decent hard-working people like this family who are the victims.
I am delighted to read these comments. I thought I was the only one. Pavee Point should be forced to accept the stark reality, they have ruined this country. The media need to get real and represent us people who don’t beat our wives, who want our children educated, who pay our taxes and don’t ride our cousins (animal cruelty).
In general I would say most criminals only show remorse in hope of getting a shorter sentence.
I don’t think it should be a factor at al.
Instead of showing remorse why not try not actually committing the crime in the first place.
I still believe they should have got thirty years. Beating a poor man so badly that his little eight year old girl thinks he’s going to die is a horrible crime.
These people have no place in society. We should have to accept some people have to be locked away.
Their ringleader has been out on bail since the crime was committed. Its mind boggling. Is anybody trying to fix the justice system in this country? Anyone?
Why is there a blanket ban in all the media on using the T word They were a violent traveller gang who did this It is even not fair on law abiding travellers to protect them by not using T word
The sentences are far too lenient in my opinion. These individuals will spend their time in prison lifting weights, watching Netflix and be a general burden on the Tax payer. They should be incarcerated for at least 25 years and also put to hard labour working on projects that will benefit the community they so will fully set out to destroy. I’m sure Clonmel has plenty of roads and other public works that could be completed using free labour. Our laws MUST change to dispense much harsher punishments for crimes or we are never going to see a change in society.
Fingers crossed the family make a full recovery and that the young impressionable minds of the children can let this awful incident go and not have it haunt them in any way later in their lives. Fair play to the community for setting up a system to try to help them feel comfortable again.
I said it yesterday and believe worth saying again. We need more prisons and to dramatically increase our prison population. Too many repeat offenders walking the streets as there is no room for them.
The broken justice system is responsible for this families hardship. The thug only in his twenties and 70 convictions, why was he not in jail? Too expensive to lock him up? How much did his legal aid, dole, housing and the fall out of his 70 crimes cost in that period? If you are convicted of 70 crimes and are still free you learn one thing – i can commit crime with impunity. Our justice system is not only failing to protect our citezens, it is creating these violent criminals
I can’t believe, considering what the family went through and conditions go through and the defendants previous convictions, up to 85 for one of them, these are considered harsh sentences. that poor family.
As shocking story. This family will never, ever get over this. It was a despicable, brutal crime. I understand that someone on VB yesterday indicated that perpetrators were travellers to which VB said what had that got to do with it? Typical VB, more concerned about the feelings of the criminals.
And who on Earth thought it was acceptable to release John Joyce on bail while awaiting this case to go to trial??? He had over 70 convictions FFS. While on bail he went on a robbing, violent spree where three people were shot. One of his gang members was banned from every pub in Dublin because he was so violent.
Dublins finest knacker’s coming down the country for an easy score. Rot in a cell you dirty sub human inbreds. Show them as much mercy as they’ve shown their innocent victims.
Gangs like this and the Dundon’s, McCarthys, Keane’s, Collopy’s and too many others have been allowed run riot all over Ireland and terrorise communities. All of those families are traveller families. The Limerick feud alone has claimed 20 lives, some of them innocent like Shane Geoghegan.
If our broken justice system is going to allow violent criminals roam around on a bail why dont we have an electronic tag system???? The solutions are not difficult. A monkey could sort it out
They should have a special room full of skilled operators, equipped with hammers, blowtorches, cable ties and tweezers to work this pondlife one over at a time…
I’d prefer not to think along those lines much as they might deserve it. Better to say ‘stuff’ the European Court of Human rights and bring in sentences of weekly floggings for a year for lowlife dregs like them
Shot to kill- if an inbred knacker comes onto you’re property do the state a service and pull the trigger. You probably wouldn’t do any time and you’d be feted as a hero.
Every sympathy with the Corcoran family and hope that they will fully recover from their horrific ordeal.
Now, I have this to say about those who did that:
They are nothing but seven pathetic, parasitic, subhuman pieces of dog-turd; the decent people of Ireland hope that they rot in prison for a very long time
great work by gardaí !! with limited resources, disasterous government policy, detrimental decision making by the ivory tower judges, they continue to face these s****bags head on every day.
Hope the poor family get though the traumatic incident.
Hopefully political parties will now start campaigning for elections they will consider crime up there with health and education.
too long crime has not been tackled or concerned by those representing the people.
EU will try launch US tariff negotiations with Lutnick tomorrow, Commissioner says
Updated
11 mins ago
throwback
Trump tariffs may give Northern Ireland a comparative 'benefit' over the Republic
Updated
25 mins ago
As it happened
Trump hits EU goods with 20% tariff and rails against foreigners 'pillaging' US
Updated
14 hrs ago
Your Cookies. Your Choice.
Cookies help provide our news service while also enabling the advertising needed to fund this work.
We categorise cookies as Necessary, Performance (used to analyse the site performance) and Targeting (used to target advertising which helps us keep this service free).
We and our 161 partners store and access personal data, like browsing data or unique identifiers, on your device. Selecting Accept All enables tracking technologies to support the purposes shown under we and our partners process data to provide. If trackers are disabled, some content and ads you see may not be as relevant to you. You can resurface this menu to change your choices or withdraw consent at any time by clicking the Cookie Preferences link on the bottom of the webpage .Your choices will have effect within our Website. For more details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
We and our vendors process data for the following purposes:
Use precise geolocation data. Actively scan device characteristics for identification. Store and/or access information on a device. Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development.
Cookies Preference Centre
We process your data to deliver content or advertisements and measure the delivery of such content or advertisements to extract insights about our website. We share this information with our partners on the basis of consent. You may exercise your right to consent, based on a specific purpose below or at a partner level in the link under each purpose. Some vendors may process your data based on their legitimate interests, which does not require your consent. You cannot object to tracking technologies placed to ensure security, prevent fraud, fix errors, or deliver and present advertising and content, and precise geolocation data and active scanning of device characteristics for identification may be used to support this purpose. This exception does not apply to targeted advertising. These choices will be signaled to our vendors participating in the Transparency and Consent Framework.
Manage Consent Preferences
Necessary Cookies
Always Active
These cookies are necessary for the website to function and cannot be switched off in our systems. They are usually only set in response to actions made by you which amount to a request for services, such as setting your privacy preferences, logging in or filling in forms. You can set your browser to block or alert you about these cookies, but some parts of the site will not then work.
Targeting Cookies
These cookies may be set through our site by our advertising partners. They may be used by those companies to build a profile of your interests and show you relevant adverts on other sites. They do not store directly personal information, but are based on uniquely identifying your browser and internet device. If you do not allow these cookies, you will experience less targeted advertising.
Functional Cookies
These cookies enable the website to provide enhanced functionality and personalisation. They may be set by us or by third party providers whose services we have added to our pages. If you do not allow these cookies then these services may not function properly.
Performance Cookies
These cookies allow us to count visits and traffic sources so we can measure and improve the performance of our site. They help us to know which pages are the most and least popular and see how visitors move around the site. All information these cookies collect is aggregated and therefore anonymous. If you do not allow these cookies we will not be able to monitor our performance.
Store and/or access information on a device 110 partners can use this purpose
Cookies, device or similar online identifiers (e.g. login-based identifiers, randomly assigned identifiers, network based identifiers) together with other information (e.g. browser type and information, language, screen size, supported technologies etc.) can be stored or read on your device to recognise it each time it connects to an app or to a website, for one or several of the purposes presented here.
Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development 143 partners can use this purpose
Use limited data to select advertising 113 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times an ad is presented to you).
Create profiles for personalised advertising 83 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (such as forms you submit, content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (for example, information from your previous activity on this service and other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (that might include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present advertising that appears more relevant based on your possible interests by this and other entities.
Use profiles to select personalised advertising 83 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on your advertising profiles, which can reflect your activity on this service or other websites or apps (like the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects.
Create profiles to personalise content 39 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (for instance, forms you submit, non-advertising content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (such as your previous activity on this service or other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (which might for example include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present content that appears more relevant based on your possible interests, such as by adapting the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find content that matches your interests.
Use profiles to select personalised content 35 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on your content personalisation profiles, which can reflect your activity on this or other services (for instance, the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects. This can for example be used to adapt the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find (non-advertising) content that matches your interests.
Measure advertising performance 134 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which advertising is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine how well an advert has worked for you or other users and whether the goals of the advertising were reached. For instance, whether you saw an ad, whether you clicked on it, whether it led you to buy a product or visit a website, etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of advertising campaigns.
Measure content performance 61 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which content is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine whether the (non-advertising) content e.g. reached its intended audience and matched your interests. For instance, whether you read an article, watch a video, listen to a podcast or look at a product description, how long you spent on this service and the web pages you visit etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of (non-advertising) content that is shown to you.
Understand audiences through statistics or combinations of data from different sources 74 partners can use this purpose
Reports can be generated based on the combination of data sets (like user profiles, statistics, market research, analytics data) regarding your interactions and those of other users with advertising or (non-advertising) content to identify common characteristics (for instance, to determine which target audiences are more receptive to an ad campaign or to certain contents).
Develop and improve services 83 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service, such as your interaction with ads or content, can be very helpful to improve products and services and to build new products and services based on user interactions, the type of audience, etc. This specific purpose does not include the development or improvement of user profiles and identifiers.
Use limited data to select content 37 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type, or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times a video or an article is presented to you).
Use precise geolocation data 46 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, your precise location (within a radius of less than 500 metres) may be used in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Actively scan device characteristics for identification 27 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, certain characteristics specific to your device might be requested and used to distinguish it from other devices (such as the installed fonts or plugins, the resolution of your screen) in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Ensure security, prevent and detect fraud, and fix errors 92 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Your data can be used to monitor for and prevent unusual and possibly fraudulent activity (for example, regarding advertising, ad clicks by bots), and ensure systems and processes work properly and securely. It can also be used to correct any problems you, the publisher or the advertiser may encounter in the delivery of content and ads and in your interaction with them.
Deliver and present advertising and content 99 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Certain information (like an IP address or device capabilities) is used to ensure the technical compatibility of the content or advertising, and to facilitate the transmission of the content or ad to your device.
Match and combine data from other data sources 72 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Information about your activity on this service may be matched and combined with other information relating to you and originating from various sources (for instance your activity on a separate online service, your use of a loyalty card in-store, or your answers to a survey), in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Link different devices 53 partners can use this feature
Always Active
In support of the purposes explained in this notice, your device might be considered as likely linked to other devices that belong to you or your household (for instance because you are logged in to the same service on both your phone and your computer, or because you may use the same Internet connection on both devices).
Identify devices based on information transmitted automatically 88 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Your device might be distinguished from other devices based on information it automatically sends when accessing the Internet (for instance, the IP address of your Internet connection or the type of browser you are using) in support of the purposes exposed in this notice.
Save and communicate privacy choices 69 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
The choices you make regarding the purposes and entities listed in this notice are saved and made available to those entities in the form of digital signals (such as a string of characters). This is necessary in order to enable both this service and those entities to respect such choices.
have your say