You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Shutterstock/hxdbzxy

O'Neill warns North is experiencing 'worst-case scenario' as hospital admissions set to surge

Health chiefs warned that the number of Covid-19 patients being treated in hospital could double by the third week in January.

LAST UPDATE | 11 Jan 2021

NORTHERN IRELAND IS currently experiencing its pandemic worst case scenario, the deputy First Minister has warned.

A further 759 cases of Covid-19 were reported in Northern Ireland today and 16 more deaths. 

Michelle O’Neill said dire predictions made last March about the potential pressures the region’s health service could face were now coming true.

O’Neill said that while Northern Ireland had now passed the peak of new infections in the current Covid-19 wave, the associated surge in hospital admissions was still to come.

Her stark assessments came after health chiefs warned that the number of Covid-19 patients being treated in hospital could double by the third week in January.

The chief executives of Northern Ireland’s six health and social care trusts also released a joint statement outlining the “very serious” situation.

The Western Trust issued the appeal for the South West Acute Hospital in Enniskillen on Twitter. 

“Attention all off-duty staff in the vicinity of SWAH. Due to increasing pressures this evening on the NI Healthcare System, we are appealing to you to contact or go directly to the hospital,” the trust said yesterday. 

Three hours later, the Western Trust thanked staff who responded to the appeal and said the “situation has since stabilised”. 

The situation also intensified at the weekend in the Southern Trust area, where Covid-19 infection rates are currently highest in Northern Ireland.

Over the weekend, Craigavon Area Hospital and Daisy Hill Hospital in Newry were in danger of being swamped with new cases.

Off duty staff coming in to help treat the influx of patients helped avoid the declaration of a major incident.

Additionally, a joint statement from the NI health and social care trusts said that early last month, the trusts issued a “stark warning” about pressure across the system in NI.

“At that time we stressed that several of Northern Ireland’s acute hospitals were already operating beyond capacity,” the statement said.

Within days, the pressure that the system was under was evident through the images shown across media outlets of multiple ambulances queuing outside Emergency Departments.

The statement said the situation is “very serious” with modelling predictions indicating that in the third week of January, health and social care “will be trying to contend with double the number of Covid positive patients compared to the current position today”. 

“Our staff, although exhausted, will once more go above and beyond to do the best they can for as many people as possible, and we thank them for it.

It will definitely not be easy and the care that we are able to provide will at times fall short of the high standards we normally deliver but we will do our very best.

“Desperately ill patients whether Covid or non-Covid will always be the ones being prioritised.”

Yesterday, 1,112 further Covid-19 cases and 17 deaths were confirmed in NI. 

A new “stay-at-home” order came into effect in the North on Friday. It means that police have the power to order people to return home if they are out without a reasonable reason.

This will remain in place until 6 February. 

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

5 Comments
    Mute David Evans
    Favourite David Evans
    Mar 19th 2014, 8:38 AM

Making RTE1/2/RTE Player available online to watch abroad (not the RTE International player – It seems to be only the lotto available on that). At the moment I have to use a VPN to trick RTE that I’m actually in the country watching it.

Mute another Glen.....
    Favourite another Glen.....
    Mar 19th 2014, 11:04 AM

You and me both David. But my VPN is so fiddly, I’ve stopped using it – and watching RTE.

Mute David Evans
    Favourite David Evans
    Mar 19th 2014, 11:12 AM

http://www.earthvpn.com/ is the crowd I use, they have a service in Cork if you’re interested!

Mute another Glen.....
    Mar 19th 2014, 11:53 AM

Thanks David. I am/will.

Mute Alexander of Dublin
    Favourite Alexander of Dublin
    Mar 19th 2014, 12:33 PM

@David Evans – is EarthVPN reliable and fast? I’m using PrivateInternetAccess (for the beeb & ch4 – they aren’t in Ireland) and they get hung up sometimes in the evenings. My subscription is up soon & I’m looking for another one – esp. one that has an Irish IP address.

Mute David Evans
    Favourite David Evans
    Mar 19th 2014, 12:36 PM

I’ve never had a problem with the service.

Mute Alexander of Dublin
    Mar 19th 2014, 12:38 PM

Cheers mate – I’ll give them a shot!

Mute Keith Wizzy
    Favourite Keith Wizzy
    Mar 19th 2014, 1:48 PM

Cyberghostvpn cheapest option can often be bought for $5 per year. Just change the first two letters to ‘ie’ and you’ve an Irish VPN even though this is charged separately and a higher tariff normally.

Mute Range Rover P38
    Favourite Range Rover P38
    Mar 19th 2014, 6:37 PM

Install Hola extension on Google chrome. 100% reliable.

Mute John Byrne
    Favourite John Byrne
    Mar 19th 2014, 8:34 AM

Give me a call Gilmore , I’ll fill you in on what it’s like to have to move to the other side of the world because you spineless f.ckwits have ruined our country , what it’s like to only see you’re family every couple of years because of the cost of flights and work commitments . Roll on the elections and bye bye you ignoramus .

Mute Ann Buggy
    Favourite Ann Buggy
    Mar 19th 2014, 9:30 AM

I wonder did they speak to any of the emigrants on there junket trips over the weekend

Mute Joe O Connor
    Favourite Joe O Connor
    Mar 19th 2014, 11:41 AM

No Ann, they didn’t. They clung to the shirt tails of diplomats supping all the free booze that was put before them without a single care in the world for anyone but themselves.

Mute John Scott
    Favourite John Scott
    Mar 19th 2014, 10:17 PM

it might help if Gilmore/ kenny spoke to the people at home. they are not great at talking they like telling. . roll on elections.

Mute Eamonn Boyle
    Favourite Eamonn Boyle
    Mar 19th 2014, 8:10 AM

Allow us to vote!

Mute trebloc01
    Favourite trebloc01
    Mar 19th 2014, 8:12 AM

He will get his cumuppence at the next election.

Mute in_zane_burger
    Favourite in_zane_burger
    Mar 19th 2014, 8:29 AM

Nobody is stopping you

Mute Oliver Moran
    Favourite Oliver Moran
    Mar 19th 2014, 8:54 AM

The Constitutional Convention has recommended that voting rights in Presidential elections should be extended to the Irish abroad and Irish citizens in Northern Ireland. It’s small and largely symbolic but a start and fitting with the role of the President IMO.

The way the Convention works is that Government has four months to respond in the Oireachtas. The deadline for their response is March 26.

https://www.constitution.ie/AttachmentDownload.ashx?mid=bf489ec7-9556-e311-8571-005056a32ee4

Mute Yes Lad
    Favourite Yes Lad
    Mar 19th 2014, 9:13 AM

Gonna be tight as they are off until the 25th!!

Mute Liam Connors
    Favourite Liam Connors
    Mar 19th 2014, 9:39 AM

There is no logical reason why Irish abroad should be allowed to vote in elections in Ireland. It would dilute the influence of the vote of people who are actually affected by Irish government decisions. For a president it’s fine maybe because they don’t really do anything.

Mute Joe O Connor
    Favourite Joe O Connor
    Mar 19th 2014, 11:46 AM

Liam, you’re another one with little idea what it is you’re saying. I’m working abroad, but my home and family are still in Ireland. I’ve a house and two cars that I run with money I earn overseas because it’s the only way of surviving. I send all my money home to run that home and family. Why should I not be entitled to have a say in who gets into power?

Mute Liam Connors
    Favourite Liam Connors
    Mar 19th 2014, 12:47 PM

I know what I’m saying. I live abroad. Decisions made by the Irish government don’t affect me. They affect family still living there, but that’s why they have a vote. The idea that people like me who pay no tax in Ireland should have a say in decisions is ludicrous.

Mute Joe O Connor
    Favourite Joe O Connor
    Mar 19th 2014, 12:57 PM

A lot of us do pay tax in Ireland because we send all our money home to pay our mortgages, utility bills, and day to day living expenses for our wives and children still living at home.

Mute james cullen
    Favourite james cullen
    Mar 20th 2014, 11:37 AM

Why you left?can I vote in the country where you are living?

Mute Maria Hickey-Fagan
    Favourite Maria Hickey-Fagan
    Mar 19th 2014, 8:35 AM

When I read the headline, the first thing that came into my head was “f**k off Gilmore”. Its like a reflex

Mute molly coddled
    Favourite molly coddled
    Mar 19th 2014, 10:19 AM

You and me both Maria.

Mute Michael
    Favourite Michael
    Mar 19th 2014, 9:00 AM

I know a lot of you won’t see this as a problem but it is. I’m currently working in the Middle East paying no taxes and desperate to come home to my children . Problem is the government will back tax me on PRSI on money I earned over here it makes it impossible for me and others to come home as we are here to look after our families at home and paying in theory for two homes, where are we supposed to get the money to pay them back taxes if we came home?

Mute Declan Byrne
    Favourite Declan Byrne
    Mar 19th 2014, 9:19 AM

Yep sounds too good to be true Gimore helping there is always another agenda with this government nothing is ever clear cut with them.

Mute Begrudgy
    Favourite Begrudgy
    Mar 19th 2014, 9:45 AM

Ok let me think.
    You pay no taxes where you are and you are wondering where will you find the money if you return. Hmmm no taxes where you are. Hmmm. No. Sorry cant think of anything.

Mute Michael
    Favourite Michael
    Mar 19th 2014, 10:20 AM

Begrud, not sure if you can read, to keep a roof over my families head I work over here paying rent, food etc. I’m also paying for my wife & children at home everything zero government handouts, but contributing huge in indirect taxes and new charges, property etc. at the end of the month I have nothing left. How can I come home find a job with the Spector of the Irish tax man over my shoulder? The system is designed to keep Irish citizens out of their own country.

Mute Begrudgy
    Favourite Begrudgy
    Mar 19th 2014, 10:24 AM

Whats the charge, % wise of moneys earned if you come back?

Mute Joe O Connor
    Favourite Joe O Connor
    Mar 19th 2014, 11:17 AM

Back off Begrudgy; you haven’t a clue what you’re talking about and are way out of your depth even entering into this debate. I too am Middle East based and sending home just about every red cent I earn in order to keep family comfortable, and each of those red cents is taxed on what it buys in Ireland. I see my family three times a year so don’t you dare talk percentages to me, you gowl.

Mute Begrudgy
    Favourite Begrudgy
    Mar 19th 2014, 11:44 AM

Asked a simple question to learn more. Jesus christ chill out. What % are the government looking to take of you if you return to Ireland. Whats so wrong about that question.

Mute Michael
    Favourite Michael
    Mar 19th 2014, 11:57 AM

Joe, not sure where you are keep the fate if anything we can enjoy the weather, but boy has it been dusty for the last few weeks.

Mute Begrudgy
    Favourite Begrudgy
    Mar 19th 2014, 8:22 AM

He is wondering if the Irish abroad want to pay a bit of tax. A Diaspora Tax to pay for foreign embassies.

Mute Ciaran McCann
    Favourite Ciaran McCann
    Mar 19th 2014, 8:23 AM

Maybe he should engage with the locals first! That should be his first priority!

Mute P o leathlobhair
    Favourite P o leathlobhair
    Mar 19th 2014, 8:24 AM

He wants to hear what the Irish abroad have to say . He doesn’t give a flying shite what the ones living here have to say

Mute Jarlath Murphy
    Favourite Jarlath Murphy
    Mar 19th 2014, 8:06 AM

He wants to know can you put any more up as unemployment figures remain stubbornly high.

Mute linda o neill
    Favourite linda o neill
    Mar 19th 2014, 8:21 AM

By God him and stickies will listen after the local elections .. If there ever was a politican that would be considered useless at what he does he surely fits the bill

Mute Barry Humphreys
    Favourite Barry Humphreys
    Mar 19th 2014, 8:27 AM

Jesus, does that sap not get enough abuse here. Now he’s inviting it from other countries .

Mute Declan Byrne
    Favourite Declan Byrne
    Mar 19th 2014, 9:10 AM

This sounds like Gilmore wants to see can he tax people or help banks etc gain a database so they can go after outstanding debt.

Mute mcbab
    Favourite mcbab
    Mar 19th 2014, 9:26 AM

Declan you must be jim corrs best friend. Take off your tin foil hat!

Mute Declan Byrne
    Favourite Declan Byrne
    Mar 19th 2014, 9:33 AM

Leave Jim alone lol. Nah I am not that far gone YET :-).

Mute Hugh Diamond
    Favourite Hugh Diamond
    Mar 19th 2014, 9:23 AM

Why not listen to the people who live here Eamon. We’re the ones who get the brunt of everything.
    Or will no one speak to you!!!

Mute Kevin Mannion
    Favourite Kevin Mannion
    Mar 19th 2014, 9:45 AM

An easy solution would be for him to set up a stand in Dublin airport on his days off.

I’ve no doubt people would be more than happy to engage with him.

Mute andrew
    Favourite andrew
    Mar 19th 2014, 3:33 PM

Irish? Living in Ireland? Eamon Gilmore doesn’t want to hear from you

Mute Mark McWalter
    Favourite Mark McWalter
    Mar 19th 2014, 8:16 AM

Hardly much he can do for the ‘Undocumented Irish’ (ie illegal immigrants) anyway?

Mute Teresa Scanlon
    Favourite Teresa Scanlon
    Mar 19th 2014, 9:28 AM

I think Labour might be in trouble for upcoming elections and Gilmore is trying to make some new headlines on anything really!!

Mute Jimbob Finishline Mac Cormac
    Favourite Jimbob Finishline Mac Cormac
    Mar 19th 2014, 10:08 AM

How about connecting with them before they leave ya bollocks , worst case , go to the airports and you can see what they have to say to you at the departures gate , bet ya won’t , and I know he will read this , I’ll be at the gate myself on the 8th April ,Dublin to newyork , can’t afford all the taxes , tv licences , you name it here , going to find a place to stay to move my family out soon , country is done for now , full goverment needs to be sacked , we can hire a company to run it better , how about Anderson consulting , they do all the work for ya anyway with more of our money

Mute Rory J Leonard
    Favourite Rory J Leonard
    Mar 19th 2014, 8:24 AM

Gilmore looking for CV’s from interested parties for that Ambassador’s job in Uganda.

Mute Steve
    Favourite Steve
    Mar 19th 2014, 8:53 AM

I still love the phrase ” undocumented Irish”.

Mute Hill 16
    Favourite Hill 16
    Mar 19th 2014, 9:54 AM

The great governments over the last 25 years have helped with immigration as they “the TD’s” were so busy lining their pockets so my reply to Gilmore and Co is F off

Mute Straighttalker
    Favourite Straighttalker
    Mar 19th 2014, 9:33 AM

Maybe he’s looking for some extra funding for anti Irish shatters relentless passport ceremonies so he can make more people who aren’t IRish, Irish!

Mute Ruairi Colton
    Favourite Ruairi Colton
    Mar 19th 2014, 10:09 AM

I think he is collecting names to take off the voting register so we cant go home and vote him out.

Mute John Murphy
    Favourite John Murphy
    Mar 19th 2014, 10:23 AM

Eamon should go and stand at Dublin airport and ask a few people what he wants to know!

Mute Bill Rooney
    Favourite Bill Rooney
    Mar 19th 2014, 10:39 AM

‘How the Government can best connect with the Irish abroad’…..

After ignoring them for years and years – why start to ‘connect’ now? To try and get us to come home?

Maybe some of us will – when it is clear the country has a capable Government and the Fortune/Haughey/Drumm types have stopped evolving.

Mute another Glen.....
    Mar 19th 2014, 10:55 AM

Fair point Bill. We had to leave because of grossly inept and corrupt politicians. It’ll take a bit of work to get me back, permanently. Even the Gardai are now in turmoil.

And, of course, looking at the paedohile priest, corrupt politician and thieving banker mentioned – it is noteworthy that none were convicted.

Despite it being obvious to so many that they were up to no good.

Why return when the incumbent government remains impotent?
    It’ll take a few more St Patrick’s Day visits and smiles, by politicians – to convince me to go back to a country that is now a ‘work in progress’…..

Mute Brian Hicks
    Favourite Brian Hicks
    Mar 19th 2014, 2:21 PM

“How the Government can best connect with the Irish abroad’…..

Quit your government jobs and go join them abroad!

Mute Conor O' Neill
    Favourite Conor O' Neill
    Mar 19th 2014, 11:30 AM

If our government is to genuinely consider how it can better connect with the Irish abroad – how it can really deliver on the ‘status, rights and entitlements’ of Irish citizens overseas – then it needs to take their right to vote seriously.

That we completely disenfranchise our citizens, with no room for manoeuver and no regard for how long they might be gone, or the circumstances in which they left, makes us regrettably distinct in a European (and a global) context. We are out of step with over 120 countries worldwide, and the vast majority of the EU28, in how we deal with migration, citizenship, and the intersection of the two.

I would hope that this review will take account of September’s Constitutional Convention, which overwhelmingly supported a vote in Presidential elections. I hope that it receives input from the numerous (and growing) emigrant communities overseas that *do* want some level of representation as Irish citizens. I hope that, in the face of inevitable distrust and a 70m-strong strawman, that it recognises that Ireland would be legislating for reform in a modern context: one in which many precedents and models exist – employing various controls, such as time and residency limits, or a set number of reserved seats – from which we could base laws that allow for the political representation of Irish citizens abroad, whilst respecting the sovereignty of citizens at home.

Mute Emmet
    Favourite Emmet
    Mar 19th 2014, 12:30 PM

Have been in Australia for five years now, one change I would like would be for Ireland to allow temporary car insurance like every other EU country does. Would be nice to insure car online then fly home and drive, but Ireland is the only EU country that does not allow temporary car insurance, so have to spend first day back on phone trying to get insured. Some fair non biased advice on visas and working rights for new emigrants would be a good idea too

Mute Joe O Connor
    Favourite Joe O Connor
    Mar 19th 2014, 12:46 PM

And Road Tax. I pay EUR1,390 a year for a car I get to drive drive less than 3,000kms in the 30 days annual leave I get. And before anyone suggests declaring it off the road and then taxing for three months each time I come home, that works out more expensive over a two year leave cycle period that a lot of us out here work on.

Mute colin
    Favourite colin
    Mar 20th 2014, 12:49 AM

Could be cheaper to rent one for the few weeks you’re back no?

Mute Niall O Hara
    Favourite Niall O Hara
    Mar 19th 2014, 11:18 AM

Eamon Gilmore allow us to vote after not being in the country for 2 years. Do you think the 80,000 people who left Ireland last year and the year before are going to give you one vote .Also stop messing about with the voting register, very odd things going on there on family member for each family member is accicently removed and allow registeriging your vote in foreign embassies. You have to go just go.

Mute Niall Sheridan
    Favourite Niall Sheridan
    Mar 19th 2014, 11:28 AM

Irish? Living at home? Eamon Gilmore certainly doesn’t want to hear from you! Feck off!

Mute Tommy Burke
    Favourite Tommy Burke
    Mar 19th 2014, 12:11 PM

This is just a ploy to increase Labour and his own popularity with Irish abroad and their families at home. Popularity = votes. Nice try Eamon, nice try.

Mute The New Fremen
    Favourite The New Fremen
    Mar 19th 2014, 11:03 AM

He should have stayed wherever it was he went for Patrick’s day, if you want to vote in Irish elections, then stay here and sign on the dole if you can’t get work, otherwise just pack up and forget about offering up your opinion on how the country should be run day to day when it doesn’t affect you anymore.
    When you come back you can vote all you want. Not that it’ll make much difference anyways as all parties the same, except for the shinners of course, they have their own unique brand of bull sh1t, which would be identical to the others once they got into power, god forbid .

Mute Alexander of Dublin
    Mar 19th 2014, 12:38 PM

A thought -
    How come we are all concerned about helping helping the “undocumented Irish” in America be able to work & become “documented”, but when it comes to “undocumented [insert other country here]” people in Ireland we are up in arms about them abusing the system?

[My disclaimer: I'm a "documented Irish" person in America - I didn't come here until I was "documented"]

Mute Victor Ajani
    Favourite Victor Ajani
    Mar 19th 2014, 2:01 PM

Hi Alexander of Dublin:

That’s the gross and incredible hypocrisy of the Irish media and psyche.. one rule for us another for others.. This explains the violence suffered by African Americans in the US all those centuries ago, when the Irish decided to become white.. This is clearly explained in the book “When the Irish became white”

Mute David A
    Favourite David A
    Mar 19th 2014, 3:25 PM

Victor that book is a piece of psychological warfare aimed at undermining white people written by a cultural Marxist Noel Ignatiev, who may well look white himself, but does nt identity himself as a white man, quote:”The key to solving the social problems of our age,is to abolish the white race”, really you ll want to come up with better than quoting somebody who is promoting the genocide of white people, even the title of his book is a giveaway, whiteness or Caucasian is a recognised subdivision of humanity not something you can turn yourself into, but, I suppose that goes against that other meme of Marxist warfare that there is something called “white privilege”, the only people I see in my daily life here in Ireland with privilege are third world immigrants who seem to think they have some right to live here and live comfortably at our expense.
    But I agree with you the government should take back the Irish and throw out all the Nigerians and others they have imported. Why force your young to illegally emigrate to a nation whose government doesn’t want White immigrants just so you can turn around and turn Ireland into Africa North?

Mute David A
    Favourite David A
    Mar 19th 2014, 3:53 PM

Because that’s what a government of a country is actually meant to do, look after its own people first, ie those people who are culturally and genetically Irish.

Mute David A
    Favourite David A
    Mar 19th 2014, 4:28 PM

Well here’s another book you ought to read then while you are throwing blame around, To Hell or to Barbados by Sean O Callaghan or another White Cargo the Forgotten History of Britain’s White Slaves in America by Don Jordan and Michael Walsh, over 300,000 Irish men, women and children sold into slavery as part of Cromwell’s genocide , African slaves were actually worth more than the Irish because they were not Catholic and where malaria resistance. If a settler beat or tortured an Irishman to death, it was not a crime and it was far cheaper than killing an African slave. The English master began breeding with the Irish the Irish women for profit and pleasure, the children were the property of the master, in time though to increase the market share the settlers began to breed Irish women and African males for a better profit return this produced the “mulatto” complexion and allowed the settlers to save money rather than cross the Atlantic to acquire new ones. Those Irish women did not assent to this union it was rape, rape at the white English master’s insistence but rape of white Irish women by black men nevertheless. I feel no white guilt I will not accept any either. Africans have ran white people out of Africa and are in the process of genociding the white South Africans they should not be in our country at all.

Mute Victor Ajani
    Favourite Victor Ajani
    Mar 19th 2014, 5:34 PM

Hi David A:

The book I mentioned was not meant to annoy, but to illustrate the injustice in this particular case. Do you not agreed that the terminology should be used correctly to show the illegal status of the Irish illegal immigrants in the US?

Mute David A
    Favourite David A
    Mar 19th 2014, 7:13 PM

No Victor I don’t care what name they are called, I do not care if they are deported either, if they are illegal then they are illegal. However every group looks out for its own, that is the way humanity works, what galls me is knowing that this government has encouraged its own citizens to leave the country and at the same time has thrown out over 70,000 Irish passports to non Irish nationals in cheap tacky ceremonies by a man who by his actions actually makes all the conspiracy theories about the NWQ out to destroy white European countries seem true.

Mute Alan Reardon
    Favourite Alan Reardon
    Mar 19th 2014, 3:39 PM

Gilmore, try first of all connecting with the Irish at home, remember them, the electorate you told that if they voted for Labour it would be “Labour’s way and not Frankfurt’s way ” we all now know you were telling untruths as usual.

Mute Richard Sharpe
    Favourite Richard Sharpe
    Mar 20th 2014, 2:22 AM

I wouldn’t let Gilmore run my bath let alone run the department of foreign affairs

Mute Nuala Kent
    Favourite Nuala Kent
    Mar 20th 2014, 12:40 AM

People what does diaspora mean? In my 39 yrs i have never encountered it.. …??