You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

In the wake of Vegas the NRA is backing a call for a curb on assault weapons

The powerful gun lobby organisation has made what is, for it, something of a seismic step-down.

shutterstock_728628958 A machine gun with a silencer bump stock Shutterstock / Guy Midkiff Shutterstock / Guy Midkiff / Guy Midkiff

POWERFUL US GUN lobbyists the NRA says that “additional regulations” should be imposed on devices used to convert the Las Vegas shooter’s rifles into rapid-fire weapons, breaking with its usual outright opposition to gun control efforts.

The National Rifle Association has called on US authorities to “immediately review whether these devices comply with federal law”, NRA leaders Wayne LaPierre and Chris Cox said in a statement.

The NRA believes that devices designed to allow semi-automatic rifles to function like fully-automatic rifles should be subject to additional regulations.

The statement could be seen as a key shift by the powerful pro-gun group, which has vehemently opposed any efforts at gun control.

The White House also announced it was ‘open’ to congressional debate about the so-called bump stocks, spring-loaded devices which keep the weapon firing using its own recoil, shooting hundreds of rounds per minute.

“Members of both parties and multiple organisations are planning to take a look at bump stocks,” White House Press Secretary Sarah Huckabee Sanders told reporters.

We welcome that and would like to be part of that conversation.

NRA Convention - Atlanta NRA CEO Wayne LaPierre, speaking in Atlanta, Georgia, in April Atlanta Journal-Constitution / TNS/ABACA/PA Images Atlanta Journal-Constitution / TNS/ABACA/PA Images / TNS/ABACA/PA Images

The announcements could give cover to republican lawmakers, many of whom receive campaign finance support from the hugely influential gun lobby, to back current legislation that would ban the sale or possession of such devices.

“It opens up opportunities,” senate republican John Cornyn said.

Cornyn, the chamber’s number two republican, also said he asked Senate Judiciary Committee chairman Chuck Grassley to hold a hearing on bump stocks, and that Grassley ‘seemed amenable’ to the idea.

Several republicans, including House Speaker Paul Ryan, have said they support looking into the issue, with some saying they could back efforts to restrict or ban the devices.

Republican Senator Lindsey Graham said the bump stock “defies the spirit of the law against automatic weapons”.

Despite its rare endorsement of a gun device restriction, the NRA insisted in its statement that its goal firmly remained the protection and strengthening of the Second Amendment right to bear arms.

“Banning guns from law-abiding Americans based on the criminal act of a madman will do nothing to prevent future attacks,” LaPierre and Cox said.

© – AFP, 2017

Read: 50 witnesses to give evidence in sex abuse case against Australian cardinal

Read: British man found guilty after showing child graphic IS beheading video

View 122 comments
122 Comments
    Mute The Risen
    Favourite The Risen
    Oct 6th 2017, 9:03 AM

Here’s a stat which will put things in sober perspective…..

Number of Americans killed in every war since the inception of their country in 1776: 1.2 million

Number of Americans killed in gun related incidents on home soil since 1968: 1.5 million

Mute Thought for Food
    Favourite Thought for Food
    Oct 6th 2017, 9:04 AM

@The Risen:

How many of those gun-related deaths were suicides?

Mute Jumperoo
    Favourite Jumperoo
    Oct 6th 2017, 9:21 AM

@Thought for Food: and there you go again. What difference does that make? Bottom line is that if there fewer guns in circulation, there’d be fewer gun-related deaths. Whether those deaths are suicides or the killing of others doesn’t change that.

See 31 more replies ▾
    Mute Thought for Food
    Oct 6th 2017, 9:27 AM

@Jumperoo:

It absolutely matters.

The implication is that these 1.5 million people would not have died if guns were banned. Stats show that the US has an almost identical suicide rate to other developed countries, only suicide by gun is the most common option.

This tells us that, most likely, those that committed suicide with guns would have committed suicide in another manner anyway. Ergo those people would be dead regardless of gun legislation.

As suicide makes up the majority of US gun deaths, that makes the stats posted and the intended point disingenuous.

Mute Brian Ward
    Favourite Brian Ward
    Oct 6th 2017, 9:30 AM

@Thought for Food: On average about 63% who would have done themselves in one way or another so blaming their deaths on guns is ignoring the fact that they would have used other means if guns weren’t available.

Mute Jumperoo
    Favourite Jumperoo
    Oct 6th 2017, 9:33 AM

@Thought for Food: all right then. If you know ‘the majority’ of gun deaths were suicides, please answer your own question, and tell us how many of them were. For arguments sake, lets say out of 1.5 million, 1 million were suicides. That still leaves 500,000 people dead after being shot by somebody else. What are your thoughts on this?

Mute Patrick Cat #2
    Favourite Patrick Cat #2
    Oct 6th 2017, 9:42 AM

@Jumperoo: What are your thoughts on crimes committed by people wearing track suit and hoodies. Could we reduce the crime rates by controlling supply of hoodies? /S

Mute Bat Daly
    Favourite Bat Daly
    Oct 6th 2017, 9:46 AM

@Thought for Food:
    “Stats show”,….this another “fact” you just pulled out of your ass?
    Also, I cannot believe you so brain washed by your gun fetish that you consider suicides by gun to be irrelevant.
    Seriously? Cop on.

Mute Jumperoo
    Favourite Jumperoo
    Oct 6th 2017, 9:48 AM

@Patrick Cat #2: probably couldn’t reduce the overall crime rate. But you could definitely reduce the number of crimes committed by people in hoodies if you made it more difficult to own a hoodie in the first place, so that fewer people wore them. Silly question, to be honest….

Mute Cian Nolan
    Favourite Cian Nolan
    Oct 6th 2017, 9:49 AM

@Patrick Cat #2: Last time I checked a hoodie wasn’t a lethal firearm

Mute Patrick Cat #2
    Favourite Patrick Cat #2
    Oct 6th 2017, 9:58 AM

@Cian Nolan: it’s about the motive lads, indeed it matters not what you wear, because something else will find its way, was my point

Mute Andrew Tuite
    Favourite Andrew Tuite
    Oct 6th 2017, 10:30 AM

@The Risen: keeps the population down and saves them spending money on another/additional foreign war/invasion to get a similar desired effect.

Mute Larissa Caroline Nikolaus
    Favourite Larissa Caroline Nikolaus
    Oct 6th 2017, 10:32 AM

@Patrick Cat #2: You should look up the term “false equivalence”, and then think about how it applies to your comments

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    Oct 6th 2017, 10:48 AM

@Thought for Food: well then how about full background checks and mental health testing being a minimum requirement for any gun purchase anywhere in America? Seems simple but it’s guaranteed to impact both suicide and homicide. It’s far too easy to kill yourself if you own a gun. A bad minute and you’re gone. Most other methods would allow for a change of mind.

Mute Ladude
    Favourite Ladude
    Oct 6th 2017, 10:55 AM

@Larissa Caroline Nikolaus: do you live in America

Mute Niall Brew
    Favourite Niall Brew
    Oct 6th 2017, 11:12 AM

@Patrick Cat #2: Well your point was f*cking stupid and made of straw

Oct 6th 2017, 11:14 AM

@Ladude: do you, troll?

Mute Ladude
    Favourite Ladude
    Oct 6th 2017, 11:34 AM

@Larissa Caroline Nikolaus: nope don’t troll, but do you live in America? Thought so

Mute David On Tour
    Favourite David On Tour
    Oct 6th 2017, 11:45 AM

@Ladude: Why would that matter?

Mute Ladude
    Favourite Ladude
    Oct 6th 2017, 12:18 PM

@David On Tour: well for the last few months Europe has been having its own issues with terrorism, and it seems the people more concerned with what’s happening in america are less concerned with the many murders happening here in Europe. Intresting huh?

Mute David On Tour
    Favourite David On Tour
    Oct 6th 2017, 1:09 PM

@Ladude: Not interesting at all. European terrorist attacks tend to be carried out by terrorists, in particular, religious fanatics, using whatever weaponry (including motor vehicles, knives, home made bombs etc) they can use to further their particular cause.

Mass shootings in America tend to be carried out by disaffected individuals (generally not classed as terrorists) using widely available, legally held firearms. It’s fair to say that without such firearms, most of the US atrocities would likely never have happened.

Can you explain why anyone outside the military would need the type of weaponry used at Las Vegas?

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    Oct 6th 2017, 1:17 PM

@Ladude: I’m pretty sure the comments sections for those attacks is just as active. Also, gun homicide kills more people annually in America than terrorists do here despite there being double the population here

Oct 6th 2017, 2:24 PM

@Dave O Keeffe: Shush … look over there …. and leave the poor troll alone

Mute Ladude
    Favourite Ladude
    Oct 6th 2017, 4:17 PM

@David On Tour: So you don’t think that terrorism in Europe is interesting, I mean its a very complex matter. So why is it that you’re more concerned with america and its gun laws , once again do you live in america ?

Mute Ladude
    Favourite Ladude
    Oct 6th 2017, 4:17 PM

@Larissa Caroline Nikolaus: Cool

Mute Ladude
    Favourite Ladude
    Oct 6th 2017, 4:25 PM

@Dave O Keeffe: Sugar kills more than both annually but yet we still give it out for free in starbucks. Do you think we should ban sugar ?

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    Oct 6th 2017, 4:42 PM

@Ladude: I didn’t say anything about banning guns, in fact I’ve never said I want to ban guns. Also the sugar in Starbucks isn’t free.

Mute Dog Eat Fog
    Favourite Dog Eat Fog
    Oct 6th 2017, 4:43 PM

@Thought for Food:

“This tells us that, most likely, those that committed suicide with guns would have committed suicide in another manner anyway. Ergo those people would be dead regardless of gun legislation.”

Not quite.

You’re forgetting a couple of things:
    1. Suicides are many times intended as suicide attempts, and not actual suicides.
    2. The method with which one attempt suicide often determines if you live or die.

In studies performed at Harvard (and elsewhere), they could see no statistically significant differences between gun-owning households and households not owning guns.

Rather, it came down to the simple fact that those attempting suicide using guns oftentimes succeeded, whereas in cases where guns were not involved, the suicidal person would survive or change their mid through the attempt.

Mute Dog Eat Fog
    Favourite Dog Eat Fog
    Oct 6th 2017, 4:45 PM

@Brian Ward:

See my comment to Thought for Food.

Your logic, while it may seem intact, does not take into account the importance of method, which directly impacts the death rate among people becoming suicidal.

Mute David On Tour
    Favourite David On Tour
    Oct 6th 2017, 4:52 PM

@Ladude: Islamic terrorism in Europe and random US shooters with a personal grudge are entirely different cases.

People from Ireland and the UK were at the Las Vegas concert and may well have been casualties. The insanity of US gun ownership doesn’t just affect Americans.

And you’ve forgotten to answer my question: can you explain why anyone outside the military would need the type of weaponry used at Las Vegas?

Mute Daffy the Bear
    Favourite Daffy the Bear
    Oct 6th 2017, 5:59 PM

@Cian Nolan: when was the last time you checked on that? Seems odd that whether or not a hoodie is a lethal firearm is something you would need to check..

Mute Dog Eat Fog
    Favourite Dog Eat Fog
    Oct 6th 2017, 6:15 PM

@Patrick Cat #2:

Your hoodie question is both fairly dumb and misguided. Two flies, one stone. Yay.

A hoodie rarely contributes to means, motive or opportunity, whereas a weapon falls directly in the means category.

Mute Dog Eat Fog
    Favourite Dog Eat Fog
    Oct 6th 2017, 6:19 PM

@Ladude:

From commenter’s location to European terrorism to sugar, while avoiding the article’s topic and the OP’s comment.

Short bus much?

Mute David Van-Standen
    Favourite David Van-Standen
    Oct 7th 2017, 5:41 PM

@Thought for Food:
    Or better still, how many of those people were criminals shot while carrying out a crime, shot either by law enforcement or people defending themselves or others?

Mute Brian Ward
    Favourite Brian Ward
    Oct 6th 2017, 9:14 AM

Jesus who writes these headlines? The NRA haven’t called for a curb on assault weapons, it has asked for a review of the legality of bump stocks which is a smart move by them. Bump stocks are legal and OK’d by the ATF in all states as they are not part of the mechanism of the gun itself. The NRA knows this and as a result look as though they are doing something good while actually doing nothing to get rid of bump stocks. It has nothing to do with curbing assault weapons or semi automatic rifles so the headline is complete bollocks.

Mute Thought for Food

@Brian Ward:

Not to mention the term “assault weapon” is a leafy one with no real definition. You could call any gun an “assault weapon”.

Mute Jimmy Ireland
    Favourite Jimmy Ireland
    Oct 6th 2017, 11:05 AM

@Thought for Food: Not entirely true. Assault weapons are a category of firearm that meet a number of criteria such as rate of fire, capacity and calibre. When the NRA discuss assault weapons they are discussing a specific segment of the firearms market and no pistols, shotguns or hunting rifles.

Mute Thought for Food
    Oct 6th 2017, 11:52 AM

@Jimmy Ireland:

That’s actually not true.

The “assault weapon” categorisation is based on arbitrary features rather than anything relating to performance.

If you have a semi-automatic rifle with a pistol grip, detachable magazine, adjustable stock and front grip it’s an “assault weapon”. Remove the front grip and it’s no longer an “assault weapon” in some states. Remove the front grip and adjustable stock and it’s no longer an “assault weapon” in any state.

The best example is the AR-15 and the Mini-14. The Mini-14 fires the exact same round as the AR, has a detachable magazine and is semi-automatic. Because it uses a ‘traditional’ stock design, however, it’s almost never classed as an “assault weapon” even though it has the exact same capabilities as an AR.

Basically, the “assault weapon” category is meaningless fluff.

Mute Dog Eat Fog
    Favourite Dog Eat Fog
    Oct 6th 2017, 4:53 PM

@Brian Ward:

They’re quite clever little minxes. The NRA, not the headline writers.

Steering the agenda away from the actual weapons and making about an appliance.

…cuz that’s going to make all the difference.

Mute WinSomeLoseSome
    Favourite WinSomeLoseSome
    Oct 6th 2017, 4:57 PM

@Thought for Food: You’re meaningless fluff, Jason. before you start I know the script, you are just just trying to start a meaningful discussion blah, blah blah

Mute David Huston
    Favourite David Huston
    Oct 6th 2017, 8:46 AM

The only hope the US has remaining is to ban bullets at this stage.They just won’t accept the fact Guns kill people.

Mute Thought for Food
    Oct 6th 2017, 8:54 AM

@David Huston:

It’s actually not difficult to make bullets yourself. A few components and ingredients, the right tools and you can pump out hundreds or thousands of rounds.

If you ban bullets, you only hurt law abiding citizens while people who wish to commit crimes will get their hands on illegally produced bullets.

Mute Michael Evans
    Favourite Michael Evans
    Oct 6th 2017, 9:10 AM

@Thought for Food: We’ve all heard that nonsensical argument before, whether you apply it to guns or bullets it’s all the one. The point is that Americans are all arming themselves to the teeth in fear of each other and when it boils down to a situation where someone with a gun would come in fairly handy against an armed criminal, i.e columbine, sandyhook, Orlando, Las Vegas….. There is never anyone with a gun around to save the day, is there?

See 17 more replies ▾
    Mute Thought for Food
    Oct 6th 2017, 9:13 AM

@Michael Evans:

American government figures have shown that between 100,000 and 3,000,000 crimes every year are stopped or deterred due to civilian gun ownership.

Most of these mass attacks occur in places where civilians are not allowed to have guns.

Mute Bat Daly
    Favourite Bat Daly
    Oct 6th 2017, 9:30 AM

@Thought for Food: I’m a law abiding citizen. How would this hurt me?

Mute Michael Evans
    Favourite Michael Evans
    Oct 6th 2017, 9:34 AM

@Thought for Food: Be interesting to know how many of those crimes were going to be carried out using a legally held gun? Would also be interested to know if those figures are actually factual or twisted to suit the gun lobby, as they normally are? Still haven’t managed to stop a mass shooting yer though, have they? Remember, everyone who owns a gun may start out perfectly sane but at some stage something happens to turn that person into a deranged person who is out for revenge and when they have a stock of guns in their cupboard, that can so easily turn into the next mass shooting. A student who is being bullied, a worker who has just been fired, someone who is offended at seeing 2 men kissing, etc, etc. The next one is only a matter of time.

Mute Bat Daly
    Favourite Bat Daly
    Oct 6th 2017, 9:40 AM

@Thought for Food:
    Where are these figures? You cant just type whatever comes in to your little brain and post it as facts. Where is your reference?
    Even if true, its a pathetic excuse to gloss over what happened the other day.
    It seems like what happened in Vegas is going to stay in Vegas and nothing is ever going to change.
    America is a fukked up country.

Mute Michael Evans
    Favourite Michael Evans
    Oct 6th 2017, 9:45 AM

@Thought for Food: An article which might be of interest to you http://www.latimes.com/opinion/opinion-la/la-ol-guns-self-defense-charleston-20150619-story.html

Mute Patrick Cat #2
    Favourite Patrick Cat #2
    Oct 6th 2017, 10:00 AM

@David Huston: “Guns kill People” The evil minded guns…I thought it’s the people that kill people

Mute Mike
    Favourite Mike
    Oct 6th 2017, 10:12 AM

@Michael Evans: Actually an African migrant went on a shooting rampage in Tennessee a couple of weeks ago. An usher in the church tackles him and held and used his own legally held gun to hold the gunman till police arrived.

https://pamelageller.com/2017/09/church-shooting-sudanese-migrant.html/

Here’s the CNN link but strangely enough they don’t mention the bit about the usher retrieving his gun to subdue the gunman.

https://www.google.ie/amp/s/amp.cnn.com/cnn/2017/09/24/us/tennessee-church-shooting/index.html

Mute Colm Buckley
    Favourite Colm Buckley
    Oct 6th 2017, 12:04 PM

@Mike: Pamela Geller? We all know your view now. No wonder you use an alias, you coward

Mute WinSomeLoseSome
    Favourite WinSomeLoseSome
    Oct 6th 2017, 12:25 PM

@Thought for Food: Same with Nukes. you just need a few components, ingredients, and the right tools. In fact, thats all you need to make anything

Mute Mike
    Favourite Mike
    Oct 6th 2017, 12:31 PM

@Colm Buckley: I provided an MSM link and the Pamela Geller link too as too many of you snowflakes refuse to look at anything outside the MSM. The trouble as I explained is that the MSM are selectively reporting these stories. Most outlets did not report that a member of the congregation that was attacked used his own gun to subdue the assailant.

But please tell me why you disapprove of me using the Pamela Geller link? Is it that you disagree with her politics? Is the reporting factually incorrect? I don’t agree with all of her politics either BTW. Maybe I’ll just link to InfoWars in the future, just melt you altogether.

Mute Mike
    Favourite Mike
    Oct 6th 2017, 12:33 PM

@WinSomeLoseSome: Don’t forget skills and knowhow.

Mute Colm Buckley
    Favourite Colm Buckley
    Oct 6th 2017, 1:37 PM

@Mike: what’s your real name

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    Oct 6th 2017, 1:37 PM

@Mike: Yeah, that story was widely reported, it was on here too.

Mute Patrick Swan
    Favourite Patrick Swan
    Oct 6th 2017, 3:21 PM

@Thought for Food: you don’t “hurt” people by depriving them of guns or bullets. Unless you are frothingly insane. Battlefield weapons are for battlefields, not suburbs, shopping malls, schools and creches, public transport or private dwellings, universities or country music festivals. We don’t even allow our ordinary police access to firearms, and it’s a bloody good thing too.

Mute Michael Evans
    Favourite Michael Evans
    Oct 6th 2017, 5:49 PM

@Mike The fool shot himself and then the usher retrieved his gun from his car. Not exactly the same thing as an armed hero coming to the rescue now is it?

Mute Dog Eat Fog
    Favourite Dog Eat Fog
    Oct 6th 2017, 6:29 PM

@Thought for Food:

Can you please point me to those figures?

The vast majority of academic studies seem to show it to be inconclusive, that it can be determined whether gun ownership actually reduces crime rates. The causal relationship is not credibly demonstrated.

Hence, if you have a reliable source, I’d love to read up.

Cheers.

Mute Dog Eat Fog
    Favourite Dog Eat Fog
    Oct 6th 2017, 6:31 PM

@Dog Eat Fog:

…that it can’t*

Typo in the right place…

Mute Brendan O'Brien
    Favourite Brendan O'Brien

It’s just clever marketing by the NRA: they know it will get attention (as it has here) while they try to advance their agenda in other ways.

‘But in the same statement, the NRA claimed gun control laws would not stop further attacks, and called on Congress to pass a law that would make it easier for owners to carry weapons across state lines – a measure that would gut local restrictions on gun carrying and might make it legal for tourists to carry their firearms on the New York City subway.’

https://www.theguardian.com/us-news/2017/oct/05/republicans-guns-bump-stocks-las-vegas-shooting

Mute Jane
    Favourite Jane
    Oct 6th 2017, 9:09 AM

@Brendan O’Brien: I wonder have they dropped their campaign to get the ban on silencers lifted?

Mute Thought for Food

@Jane:

Why would they?

Mute Dermot Lane
    Favourite Dermot Lane
    Oct 6th 2017, 9:29 AM

@Jane: I don’t think they have, last I heard it’s going ahead.

Mute Jane
    Favourite Jane

@Thought for Food: you don’t see a problem with silencers being widely available?

Mute Thought for Food
    Oct 6th 2017, 10:25 AM

@Jane:

No, why should I?

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    Oct 6th 2017, 1:20 PM

@Thought for Food: people hear gunshots, call police. Police get there as soon as possible. People don’t hear gunshots, don’t call police, police arrive at a contaminated crime scene. It’s not rocket science

Mute Thought for Food
    Oct 6th 2017, 2:13 PM

@Dave O Keeffe:

Suppressors don’t make guns silent.

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    Oct 6th 2017, 2:30 PM

@Thought for Food: which is not what was mentioned in the comments

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    Oct 6th 2017, 4:54 PM

@Thought for Food: suppressor is just another word for silencer. There are two reasons why they should be banned. 1. they don’t make guns silent but they do change the sound enough for it to be mistaken and ignored in an urban environment. 2. They reduce flash significantly allowing a shooter to conceal their position better.

Mute Linda Hughes
    Favourite Linda Hughes
    Oct 6th 2017, 8:43 AM

Bit late for this don’t you think!!!

Mute Honeybadger197
    Favourite Honeybadger197
    Oct 6th 2017, 8:47 AM

@Linda Hughes: Yeah, why bother doing anything that might saves lives?

Mute Dermot Lane
    Favourite Dermot Lane
    Oct 6th 2017, 8:57 AM

@Honeybadger197: these bump stocks have sold out of stores in the immediate aftermath of last weekend’s shootings. The genie is out of the bottle.

Mute Patrick Cat #2
    Favourite Patrick Cat #2
    Oct 6th 2017, 9:17 AM

@Honeybadger197: Should we ban kitchen knifes too?

Mute Thought for Food
    Oct 6th 2017, 9:20 AM

@Patrick Cat #2:

Don’t forget trucks, planes and pressure cookers.

Mute Honeybadger197
    Favourite Honeybadger197
    Oct 6th 2017, 9:41 AM

@Patrick Cat #2: No, we should ban deliberately facetious comments though. Good day sir.

Mute Honeybadger197
    Favourite Honeybadger197
    Oct 6th 2017, 9:43 AM

@Dermot Lane: Maybe for that batch. Anything that reduces the killing capacity of civilian firearms is welcome.

Mute Patrick Cat #2
    Favourite Patrick Cat #2
    Oct 6th 2017, 9:55 AM

@Honeybadger197: Hold on good Sir, we shall not ban comments revealing fallacies in illogical constructs hereby posted for they have sprinkle of wittiness!

Mute Dave Hammond
    Favourite Dave Hammond
    Oct 6th 2017, 12:19 PM

@Patrick Cat #2: eh I think you will find there are regulations around weapon carrying like swords and machete and blades weapons so your question is actually pretty idiotic

Mute Patrick Cat #2
    Favourite Patrick Cat #2
    Oct 6th 2017, 1:32 PM

@Dave Hammond: Which part of it doesn’t matter what people kill with it is the motive that matters you have difficulty understanding? If somebody is dedicated to causing a carnage they will find the way, weather it’s by DIY explosive or by a vehicle or automatic rifle

Mute Ros Aodha
    Favourite Ros Aodha
    Oct 6th 2017, 11:18 AM

Shows how much journalists know about weapons in ireland. This isnt a curb on assault weapons at all. Its a curb on the use of an accessory device, fitted to a weapon, that allows a semi automatic assault weapon to act in a fully automatic manner. (you cannot buy fully automatics weapons without a federal licence and then only ones manufactured prior to 1986). NRA is trying to be seen to do something to take the heat off them to do bigger things.

Mute Dave Hammond
    Favourite Dave Hammond
    Oct 6th 2017, 12:21 PM

@Ros Aodha: exactly right ,the headline is completely incorrect , couldn’t be more wrong , needs to be amended

Mute Steven C. Schulz
    Favourite Steven C. Schulz
    Oct 6th 2017, 9:49 AM

It’s actually brilliantly diabolical of them. They exchange something relatively worthless to them (bump stocks) for what they really want (interstate concealed carry) and make themselves look reasonable doing it.

Mute Dog Eat Fog
    Favourite Dog Eat Fog

While understood for a long time, it’s interesting to see a lobby group in such clear terms dictating domestic policy.

Mute Stiofán De Priondárgas
    Favourite Stiofán De Priondárgas
    Oct 6th 2017, 9:46 AM

more than 100,000 people in America are shot in murders, assaults, suicides & suicide attempts, accidents, or by police intervention on average per year.

Here is the break down/ 31,537 people die from gun violence: 11,583 people are murdered. 18,783 people kill themselves.
    71,386 people survive gun injuries:
    51,249 people are injured in an attack.
    3,627 people survive a suicide attempt. 15,815 people are shot accidentally.
    694 people are shot by police intervention

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    Oct 6th 2017, 1:29 PM

@Stiofán De Priondárgas: that’s the CDC figures from 2014. Check out the FBI numbers for 2015,everything got worse basically. Also, one other stat that should always be included: roughly 50 toddlers (under 3yrs) shoot or are shot by someone every year. That’s more that the number of police shot and killed on the job each year.

Mute Thought for Food
    Oct 6th 2017, 8:55 AM

“A machine gun with a silencer bump stock”

What a stupid tag line. That is not a machine gun and there’s no such thing as a silencer bump stock.

Who writes this rubbish?

Mute Thought for Food

@Thought for Food:

Looking at the photo, the rifle doesn’t even have a bump stock on it which is the topic of the article.

Mute Jumperoo
    Favourite Jumperoo
    Oct 6th 2017, 9:19 AM

@Thought for Food: you sound like a fanatic gun nut yourself. Maybe not the best way to be portraying yourself in the current circumstances…

Mute Patrick Cat #2
    Favourite Patrick Cat #2
    Oct 6th 2017, 9:23 AM

@Thought for Food: Maybe they thought the 30 round magazine could somehow squeeze in 200 rounds of 7.62

Mute Thought for Food
    Oct 6th 2017, 9:23 AM

@Jumperoo:

As I’ve said on other articles, I want an honest debate about gun control. Articles like this that spread false information should be corrected if we’re to have a reasonable debate.

Would you not agree that a common factual basis of understanding is beneficial for honest and open discussions?

Mute Paul Jennings
    Favourite Paul Jennings
    Oct 6th 2017, 9:48 AM

@Thought for Food: “Bump stocks,” is that some kind of “limited contact” banger racing or what? And what has the National Roads Authority got to do with it?

Mute Francis Mc Carthy
    Favourite Francis Mc Carthy
    Oct 6th 2017, 10:02 AM

@Thought for Food: How’s the journal gun “expert” getting on today ?

Mute Philip Gerard
    Favourite Philip Gerard
    Oct 6th 2017, 1:56 PM

@Thought for Food: We had honest debates. Your side lost.

Mute Thought for Food
    Oct 6th 2017, 2:14 PM

@Philip Gerard:

Who’s “we”?

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    Oct 6th 2017, 4:57 PM

@Thought for Food: an honest debate is not possible with you. How many times have you presented information that was proven to be false?

Mute AP
    Favourite AP
    Oct 6th 2017, 9:54 AM

When you consider 1 in 5 people will suffer from mental health issues at some stage in their lives, free access to weapons is a recipe for disaster…… the choice of weaponry is hardly the issue

Mute Philip Gerard
    Favourite Philip Gerard
    Oct 6th 2017, 1:58 PM

@AP: Using your number, 1 in 5 around the world will suffer this. Tell me, why is this level of violence not common in other westernized nations? Also, the US healthcare system is not the best and the party that’s in the pockets of the gun lobby want to take healthcare away.

Mute Keith Murray
    Favourite Keith Murray
    Oct 6th 2017, 12:05 PM

Like jamming aband aid on a gaping wound

Mute David Knight
    Favourite David Knight
    Oct 6th 2017, 1:08 PM

What a waste of time, because this add-on device turns a semi-automatic weapon into a fully automatic weapon. But many States currently already allow for fully automatic weapons to be owned by private individuals, so the capability to kill hunderds in minutes is still on sale. This despicable exercise from the NRA is nothing more than a diversion. The NRA are an evil organisation who ensures that guns are everywhere in American society. And this business about ensuring that law abiding citizens need to be able to protect themselves is absolute guff. Paddock was a law abiding, (40 gun owner), citizen. Until he wasn’t.

Mute Larry Doyle
    Favourite Larry Doyle
    Oct 6th 2017, 10:07 AM

LaPierre……….sounds Canadian.

Mute Evan Wakefield
    Favourite Evan Wakefield
    Oct 6th 2017, 9:24 AM

Forget about gun control and just ban the sale of bullets.

Mute Séa Graham
    Favourite Séa Graham
    Oct 6th 2017, 9:33 AM

@Evan Wakefield: it’s a lot easier to make bullets than guns in your own home. America will never ban gun ownership. The fact that they don’t make it incredibly hard to own one in the first place is mind boggling though.

Mute Paul Jennings
    Favourite Paul Jennings
    Oct 6th 2017, 9:44 AM

@Evan Wakefield: great idea. Then they can still display their gun collections as nothing more than ornaments. “Trigger Happy” becomes a reference to the emotional state of your horse delighted to know you’re only firing blanks/just messin’.

Mute regi
    Favourite regi
    Oct 6th 2017, 10:30 AM

The caption on this awful article is hilarious

Mute Johnny Merren
    Favourite Johnny Merren
    Oct 6th 2017, 10:38 AM

Queastion,
    When was the last time a good man with a gun
    shot a bad man with a gun ?

Mute Ace
    Favourite Ace
    Oct 6th 2017, 10:58 AM

@Johnny Merren: It actually happens quite a lot. Plenty of examples on YouTube. They make the news in the states but not here.

Mute Philip Gerard
    Favourite Philip Gerard
    Oct 6th 2017, 2:00 PM

@Ace: What’s the ration of good guys shooting bad guys to bad guys shooting good good guys and/or bad guys?

Mute Shane Cormican
    Favourite Shane Cormican
    Oct 6th 2017, 1:38 PM

yeah like you need an assault weapon for protection!!!!!!!! Stop hiding behind an amendment for your right to bear arms .. it is not in THE constitution .. its an amendment can be amended FFS

Mute Philip Gerard
    Favourite Philip Gerard
    Oct 6th 2017, 2:04 PM

@Shane Cormican: Sadly, there’s not nearly enough votes to call a constitutional convention or a 2/3s majority willing in congress.

Mute Mark Dawson
    Favourite Mark Dawson
    Oct 7th 2017, 3:31 AM

More people die from smoking than firearms ban tobacco

Mute WatchfulAxe
    Favourite WatchfulAxe
    Oct 6th 2017, 6:24 PM

I’d say it’s pretty much safe to say now that Trump is definitely the luckiest person to have ever lived so far in the human race. From the day he was born into privilege to today when the NRA is holding his hand for him as walks down the stairs of this crisis.

Mute Arron
    Favourite Arron
    Oct 6th 2017, 6:20 PM

Really is this an answer to monkeys beheind guns