You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Michael Noonan had been unable to convince all NTMA staff to take voluntary pay reductions - so now NTMA workers will lose their exemptions from across-the-board cuts. Laura Hutton/Photocall Ireland

NTMA and NAMA staff will lose exemption from new public pay cuts

Some staff at the NTMA refused to take voluntary pay cuts – so now the agency will be liable to mandatory deductions.

STAFF AT THE National Treasury Management Agency and its subsidiaries, including NAMA, will lose their exemption from public pay cuts under the latest legislation to cut public pay.

Staff at the NTMA and its subsidiaries, including NAMA and the National Pensions Reserve Fund, have enjoyed a specific legal exemption from the proposed pay cuts since the first legislation enforcing emergency pay cuts was enrolled in 2009.

However, the latest update to the ‘Financial Emergency Measures in the Public Interest’ legislation, published this afternoon in tandem with the new public sector pay proposals, removes the exemption – meaning NTMA and NAMA staff will be subject to the same pay cuts as others.

The exemption follows unsuccessful attempts by the government to have the agency’s highest-earning staff take voluntary pay cuts.

Last month Michael Noonan confirmed that three staff at the NTMA would not be following their colleagues in taking a voluntary 15 per cent pay cut – even though the NTMA chief executive John Corrigan, and NAMA chief Brendan McDonagh, were taking voluntary cuts.

Earlier this month Noonan added that he did not plan to hold any further consultations on staff pay, all but affirming that the government had abandoned any hope of encouraging the highest staff to take voluntary cuts.

The current government introduced a €200,000 pay cap for any public workers shortly after coming into office – but says it is legally unable to change the contracts of existing staff.

The voluntary pay cuts are now likely to be reduced, to take into account the legal deductions to the pay of top staff, though the net effect will be that top earners – who had refused to take 15 per cent pay cuts – will now lose 10 per cent of their gross wage.

The Railway Procurement Agency is also removed from the list of state agencies whose staff enjoy exemptions from the pay cuts.

Other agencies whose workers retain an exemption include the airport authorities for Dublin, Cork and Shannon, CIE, the ESB, RTÉ and Coillte.

The legislation published today also ensures that members of the judiciary and of the Oireachtas will face pay cuts equal to those of others on the public payroll.

Read: Here’s what’s contained in the new ‘Haddington Road’ public pay deal

More: The NAMA advisors who work for free cost €23,000 last year

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

13 Comments
    Mute David Quigley
    Favourite David Quigley
    Jun 15th 2018, 10:11 AM

He’s not fit for office and enough is enough.

Mute mursim
    Favourite mursim
    Jun 15th 2018, 10:14 AM

@David Quigley: Neither was that incompetent Simon Coveney before him.

Coveney is an emblem of how much FG hates Ireland.

Mute Dave Thomas
    Favourite Dave Thomas
    Jun 15th 2018, 10:19 AM

@David Quigley: are any of them?

Mute Frank Cauldhame
    Favourite Frank Cauldhame
    Jun 15th 2018, 1:33 PM

@mursim: You got it in one. I’m no fan of FG but it appears that they are happy to allow Murphy take the blame for the homelessness crisis despite his predecessor being the one who screamed promises from the airways on Morning Ireland that he would implement policies to ease the situation. Coveney was Varadkers only real opponent when FG elected their new leader a few years back and I would imagine he was given the Foreign Affairs portfolio as a sweetener rather than for his abilities or lack thereof. It stinks either way.

Mute Travis
    Favourite Travis
    Jun 15th 2018, 1:34 PM

@David Quigley: I seen him down in Ranelagh just before the repeal vote and he was standing at the triangle with a bunch of leaflets in his hand. But instead of handing them out and maybe talking to people about the upcoming referendum he was more interested in taking selfies of himself with the leaflets.. This lad is an absolute joke!

Mute Pearse Mc Mullen
    Favourite Pearse Mc Mullen
    Jun 15th 2018, 10:12 AM

More porkeys from the boys in blue,
    I read earlier that Mobile homes AND halting sites were counted in the housing stock,
    this shower will stop at nothing when it comes to spin and obfuscation

Mute David Huston
    Favourite David Huston
    Jun 15th 2018, 10:48 AM

@Pearse Mc Mullen: it’s the homeless hipster

Mute Before its too late
    Favourite Before its too late
    Jun 15th 2018, 10:50 AM

@Pearse Mc Mullen: It was the most ridiculous way to find out how many new homes were built .

Mute mursim
    Favourite mursim
    Jun 15th 2018, 10:13 AM

To deal with this national emergency, a crisis plan to build 100,000 state owned council houses to be built within the next 12 months.

The market has failed so the solution to this national emergency needs to be nationalised.

Mute Pat Mustard
    Favourite Pat Mustard
    Jun 15th 2018, 10:23 AM

@mursim: free houses for everyone and who is going to pay for it? Why should working people be expected to house themselves in the commuter belt with huge mortgages while others sit on their backside waiting for a free house?

Mute Colette Kearns
    Favourite Colette Kearns
    Jun 15th 2018, 10:34 AM

@Pat Mustard: Thousands of working people out there that don’t qualify for loans & cant afford the ridiculous rents either!

Mute Joe Phillips
    Favourite Joe Phillips
    Jun 15th 2018, 11:14 AM

@Pat Mustard: What’s your problem?

Mute Passing through this life
    Favourite Passing through this life
    Jun 15th 2018, 11:16 AM

@mursim: They don’t need to be Council houses in fact it would be preferable if they are not, but they do need to be built by a National Housing Agency. Some of the houses could be bought by the Councils for social housing, with the rest being rent to buy so it can be ensured the don’t fall into the hands of private landlords.

Mute Mark
    Favourite Mark
    Jun 15th 2018, 11:27 AM

@Joe Phillips: read his comment it’s pretty clear

Mute mursim
    Favourite mursim
    Jun 15th 2018, 11:27 AM

@Pat Mustard: Not free houses.

State owned affordable houses.

The important point is that control housing is taken out of the control of the market.

The market has failed.

Mute Brian Deane
    Favourite Brian Deane
    Jun 15th 2018, 11:34 AM

@mursim: ‘Not free houses..’
    Various councils around Ireland are owed a total of 72 million in rents so I’m afraid it looks like a lot of tenants don’t want subsidised local authority housing….they want FREE housing paid for by the taxes of some worker who on a modest salary of €35,000 is taxed at super rich tax rates. Anyone ever wonder why hospitals find it so hard to attract and retain nurses etc? FREE for the people!

Mute Pat Mustard
    Favourite Pat Mustard
    Jun 15th 2018, 12:36 PM

@mursim: so the state builds hundreds of thousands of houses using everyone’s tax money and then offers them at “affordable” ie below market prices? So who decides the people that get a house subsidised by the taxpayer and who is left to buy their own house at full price? I’ll tell you, the people working will be told you have an income so buy yourself and those not working clearly can’t get a mortgage so hey presto they get a state house for a fraction of its value. My point is that these schemes always screw people who work and reward those who don’t

Mute Kevin Lonergan
    Favourite Kevin Lonergan
    Jun 15th 2018, 12:49 PM

@Pat Mustard: Local Authority houses are not ‘free’ houses. Tenants pay rent on the property and the rental income pays for the house build cost over a period of time and they then go into profit for the local authority.

Mute LIAMO B
    Favourite LIAMO B
    Jun 15th 2018, 12:55 PM

@Pat Mustard: my family lives in a council house and believe me that it is no free €40 to €60 per week period person for my family that works out at €350 per week

Mute Cal Mooney
    Favourite Cal Mooney
    Jun 15th 2018, 12:57 PM

@Pat Mustard: using that logic, we should close all punluc hospitals, because people who have expensive operations shouldnt be subsidized by the tax payer. Or are you suggesting only people who have payed enough tax for the care they need shoukd get it?

Mute Nuala Mc Namara
    Favourite Nuala Mc Namara
    Jun 15th 2018, 1:09 PM

@Pat Mustard: There are NO free houses!If you mean social housing,they are not free either and very little social housing built eg in 2015 just 75 social houses built!
    By the way there are 3 thresholds of income to qualify for social housing,the highest equivalent to €45,000&54% of workers earn €30,000& under!Take in account also according to last Daft.ie Report that rents are twice to triple the price of mortgages on similar properties but those with low incomes can’t qualify for mortgages but yet expected to afford rising rents!
    Over €4B spent on private rented accommodation and another €3B expected to be spent over next 5years re same but that’s not paying for permanent housing(lifetime of household),just year to year tenancies &many people have been evicted and became homeless if landlord selling property or property been repossessed as Fr Mc Verry has stated.
    It would be much better spending vast portions of that €4-€7B public monies on social or affordable housing instead.

Mute Dotty Dunleary
    Favourite Dotty Dunleary
    Jun 15th 2018, 3:12 PM

@Pat Mustard: Oh sure the Government just loves to hand out houses to dole scroungers and buy them gold plated toilet seats, and sure they’re only pretending to be homeless anyways..
    Sure you have a house, you’ll be grand, probably paid €400,000 for a house in an estate built in the middle of a field in Kildare that went on the market for €250,000 back at the height of the celtic tiger eh?

Mute Frank Cauldhame
    Favourite Frank Cauldhame
    Jun 15th 2018, 4:10 PM

@Brian Deane: Great ‘headline’ figure of 72m, out of that figure can you tell me the average owed per council property??? Its a pittance and you know it. Bankers and government policy is at the root of this crisis, yet you blame everybody who resides in a council house??? What is your agenda, are you a landlord like the 33 per cent of elected FG TD’S?

Mute Dave.
    Favourite Dave.

Maths really isn’t the strong point of the FG and lets not forget FF either along with the Garda.

Mute Robert Harris
    Favourite Robert Harris
    Jun 15th 2018, 12:31 PM

@Dave.: Why don’t the shinners put up or shut up ,call an election ,push the no confidence vote and see how it goes ,knocking on peoples doors in the middle of the world cup ,and children’s summer hols,go for it SF,FF

Mute Christy Nolan
    Favourite Christy Nolan
    Jun 15th 2018, 1:05 PM

@Robert Harris:
    Leo knew this was coming when he warned us of a snap election if SF forced a vote of confidence in Murphy. Murphy will be sacrificed to save FG and Leo’s skin.
    What a shambles of a government and FF have 100% confidence in their coalition partners.

Mute Christy Nolan
    Favourite Christy Nolan
    Jun 15th 2018, 1:08 PM

@Robert Harris:
    Silly billy Robert, why of course it’s ALL SF’s FAULT.

Mute Nuala Mc Namara
    Jun 15th 2018, 1:21 PM

@Robert Harris: I’m sure those 10,000+i homeless in Emergency accommodation &refuges,the 707,000 on hospital waiting lists,the 1.2m in deprivation &those in consistent poverty which has doubled since 2008,etc would put their and their children’s stressful circumstances above the world cup and as for children’s summer holidays,the children affected by Homelessness, deprivation, consistent poverty,on waiting lists for procedures , counseling,etc ,these children have NO holidays from their experiences!
    I hope the people of Ireland have sufficient compassion for those families especially children to welcome knocks on the doors at any time of the year re General Election campaign.

Mute Pearse Mc Mullen
    Favourite Pearse Mc Mullen

A Tweet From Mick Caul , a Social Democrat :

967 farm buildings housing cows, chicken and pig,s but not people were included in the Governments housing stats in 2017. All on your watch @simoncoveney – now we know why you legged it. #not1home #morningIreland

Mute Dave Doyle
    Favourite Dave Doyle
    Jun 15th 2018, 10:39 AM

Everyone knows it’s not in the interests of a neoliberal government to allow homes to be built. Certainly no Social Housing homes.
    The simple reason is it will interfer with the articficial housing/ rental market they have created.
    The long term strategy is to get Mortgage to Rent to replace Mortgage to buy. They don’t want ordinary people owning their own homes. There is no future in that for investment companies.

Mute andrew
    Favourite andrew
    Jun 15th 2018, 11:51 AM

@Dave Doyle: The Housing Market is the single most effective control mechanism in this society. Forget Big Brother. In the end, it has proven to be a simpler affair: control housing and you control people.

Mute Carl
    Favourite Carl
    Jun 15th 2018, 10:20 AM

How can we not know how many houses were built? Assume all houses need planning permission and receive a sign off once complete so there is a record somewhere of what was built

Mute Before its too late
    Jun 15th 2018, 10:54 AM

@Carl: Amazing that never seemed to cross their minds . It should be straight forward to differentiate between renovated and new build .
    ESB connections , why didn’t they use the number of new front doors sold , or some other completely whack way of figuring out new houses built .

Mute Stephen Devlin
    Favourite Stephen Devlin
    Jun 15th 2018, 12:47 PM

@Before its too late: Well that would let the cat out of the bag the. .. wouldn’t it?

Mute Before its too late
    Jun 15th 2018, 1:06 PM

@Stephen Devlin: They should use new RTE licence fees as a guide .

Jun 15th 2018, 10:58 AM

The homeless figures are cooked, the housing figures are cooked. No doubt the state finance figures along with lots of other things are cooked too.

Mute brendan H
    Favourite brendan H
    Jun 15th 2018, 10:35 AM

So if the esb connected a shed or a business premises and a factory it was included in government house building figures, the lying cheating twisting b#st@rds.

Mute Before its too late
    Jun 15th 2018, 10:58 AM

Spin Doctors the lot of them , great for dealing with the past and making plans for the future , but anything to do with the present and it’s all too hard .

Mute The Guru
    Favourite The Guru
    Jun 15th 2018, 10:47 AM

Fair play to the people who hounded the government about their fake stats. It’s getting harder and harder for them to spin their way out of this one.

Mute Mick Hannigan
    Favourite Mick Hannigan
    Jun 15th 2018, 10:10 AM

Would a new address logged not be a good indicator,???

Mute Dave Thomas
    Favourite Dave Thomas
    Jun 15th 2018, 10:17 AM

@Mick Hannigan: you would imagine it would be pretty easy. I mean, it’s just adding up.

Mute Gavin O'Brien
    Favourite Gavin O'Brien
    Jun 15th 2018, 10:12 AM

The ineptitude of this government in dealing with the housing crisis goes from the sublime to the ridiculous. Now they cannot count the houses or lack of houses – properly !

Mute andrew
    Favourite andrew
    Jun 15th 2018, 11:54 AM

@Gavin O’Brien: And the irony is that Murphy is one of FG’s leading ‘scopers’. Always ‘scoping’ but never actually doing anything substantial. You’d think that they would have made sure that their incessant scoping exercises would not malfunction in this way. But , no. They can’t even operate their own infinite deferral programme properly. Shoddy.

Mute Jonny
    Favourite Jonny

Where are all the millennial snowflakes who campaigned so vigorously for the 8th amendment they look to be deathly silent on this, isn’t this “trendy” enough for you then, no repeal t shirts or badges or street rallys, pathetic.

Mute Dave Thomas
    Favourite Dave Thomas

@Jonny: what’s up? A little sore?

Mute Dan
    Favourite Dan

@Jonny: start the campaign….we can join in…

Mute Shane McGettrick
    Favourite Shane McGettrick
    Jun 15th 2018, 10:33 AM

@Jonny: What generation is it that can’t afford to get on the property ladder and are most affected by this do you think?

Mute pierre roncuzzi
    Favourite pierre roncuzzi
    Jun 15th 2018, 11:06 AM

@Jonny: the salt is strong in this one

Mute Austin Rock
    Favourite Austin Rock
    Jun 15th 2018, 11:18 AM

@Jonny: Or the 700K+ on hospital waiting lists, or the Cervical Smear disaster or the……not cool enough

Mute David Farrell
    Favourite David Farrell
    Jun 15th 2018, 1:12 PM

@Jonny: Hi Johnny, I’m an average run of the mill “millennial snowflake” that campaigned for repeal, however I didn’t do it because it was trendy, I’m just a firm believer in basic human rights for women which includes abortion services. I also believe in the right to housing and am a strong advocate for better housing just because I don’t wear a jumper with a house on it, nor do other young people it’s a matter that affects many of us. Just remember the next time you refer to me or any person of my age group a “snowflake”. You probably have a decent job, got a great mortgage with pittance and some, whilst we struggle to find permanent jobs, pay extortionate rents, therefore pushing us out of the housing market and so much more so take your head out of your arse buddy.

Mute David Farrell
    Favourite David Farrell
    Jun 15th 2018, 1:52 PM

@Jonny: furthermore Johnny, we can shout and scream at government, as many have but it wouldn’t make a blind bit of difference they do as they please and I bet it is you who probably votes for FF or FG! Should their be a constitutional amendment which guarantees the right to housing, many of us “snowflakes” wouldn’t have melted and would be out campaigning vigorously for it.

Mute Jonny
    Favourite Jonny
    Jun 15th 2018, 10:31 PM

@Dave Thomas: why mate I voted yes… You nutter

Mute Jonny
    Favourite Jonny
    Jun 15th 2018, 10:32 PM

@Dan: I do enough and I’d gladly do more unlike poxy snowflakes

Mute Jonny
    Favourite Jonny
    Jun 15th 2018, 10:35 PM

@David Farrell: my heart bleeds for you all offended anall, no I think you’ve referred to me as all wrong, people like you should be out on the steets campaigning I bet you were for repeal but that’s because it was the in thing to do for millennial fashionastas

Mute Jonny
    Favourite Jonny
    Jun 15th 2018, 10:36 PM

@David Farrell: yep great attitude to have roll over and allow them to shaft you

Mute David Farrell
    Favourite David Farrell
    Jun 15th 2018, 11:48 PM

@Jonny: @Jonny: and tell me Jonny, what have you done in the past twelve months to alleviate the housing crisis? What have you been involved in? Have you submitted policy documents to any local politicians? Probably not, I guess us snowflakes are more proactive and as mentioned before I haven’t seen you leading any particular movement in regards to homelessness or do I have you all wrong? It’s pretty shit being labelled isn’t it? Furthermore I didn’t take to the streets during repeal, I did the right thing, I lobbied politicians, had conversations, debated with people in a calm, respectful manner! And no you didn’t offend me, I just really hate stupid people

Mute Slim Shady
    Favourite Slim Shady

What way are they calculating how many new houses are built when there are 30,000 less than was thought?

Mute Dave Thomas
    Favourite Dave Thomas
    Jun 15th 2018, 1:42 PM

@Slim Shady: back of a fag packet in the Dáil bar.

Mute John A. Dixon
    Favourite John A. Dixon
    Jun 15th 2018, 11:58 AM

No other way to describe this other than deception.
    Lies, fiddling the numbers. Call it what you want but it’s just not good enough.

Mute @mdmak33
    Favourite @mdmak33
    Jun 15th 2018, 10:26 AM

Will someone sack this yoke for telling lies to the public,its disgusting.

Mute Anthony Gallagher
    Favourite Anthony Gallagher
    Jun 15th 2018, 11:46 AM

A government of flip floppers ,dont believe any thing they say ,decades of mismanagement and still we have mismanagement ,no transparency ,no accountability and a shed load of spin .same old same old .

Mute Sean
    Favourite Sean
    Jun 15th 2018, 11:15 AM

If somebody builds a new house and knocks down their old house (which happens quite commonly around the country) then that is one new build / new ESB connection but how it benefits anyone beyond the person living there is beyond me. These should be removed from the stats also.

Mute Monty Donotno
    Favourite Monty Donotno
    Jun 15th 2018, 11:49 AM

Minister for housing humans, cattle, chickens, anything with an esb meter, etc. etc.

Mute Gerry Fallon
    Favourite Gerry Fallon
    Jun 15th 2018, 11:29 AM

Build the houses and stop all this waffle.
    At the start I thought Murphy sounds as if he means it but I’m not sure now.

Mute Stephen Adam
    Favourite Stephen Adam
    Jun 15th 2018, 12:39 PM

@Gerry Fallon: official FG policy is not to build large scale housing.

The solution is not to build houses – the solution is to get rid of Fine Gael.

Mute Patrick
    Favourite Patrick
    Jun 15th 2018, 12:04 PM

When a plan is approved to for example 6 houses.
    Builder completes house.
    Someone should be checking quality and if house built.
    On completion box ticked.
    6 completed houses.
    You can do this on excel!

Mute Jonathan Power
    Favourite Jonathan Power
    Jun 15th 2018, 12:56 PM

@Patrick: doesn’t the house have to be surveyed by a quantity surveyor before you can get a mortgage? They could keep records

Mute conriel
    Favourite conriel
    Jun 15th 2018, 10:23 AM

This is ridiculous stuff , go out and build a house or a dwelling without planning permission and see how long you”ll be waiting before some little pr**k from the local planning office come calling, the level of Intelligence is really questionable The days for fooling people is over.

Mute John O Toole
    Favourite John O Toole
    Jun 15th 2018, 12:42 PM

This government really does pull figures from the sky FFS

Mute Hellenize Dublin
    Favourite Hellenize Dublin
    Jun 15th 2018, 11:37 AM

Let’s think practically before calling for the Minister’s head. What is the impediment to building new homes (social or private)? Are the Minister’s hands tied by an external or internal force for the government?

I know the Developers sank the country, and that is a strong argument against exorbitant lending, but we must account for the impediments, decipher a resolution, and move forward to house people at a FAIR (ergo in proportion to real wages) market rate.

It seems the current Minister’s only solution is a photo opp in a hard hat and high vis vest while spouting fantasy arithmetic dribble.

Mute Stephen Adam
    Favourite Stephen Adam
    Jun 15th 2018, 12:55 PM

@Hellenize Dublin: the impediment to building large scale housing including social housing is Fine Gael. They don’t believe in it. Building lowers prices. They believe in exorbitant housing costs. Good for banks. Good for middle class homeowners. Good for landlords. Bad for homeless people but they don’t vote and certainly don’t vote for FG. So they don’t matter.

If you want to fix housing, rent and homelessness you have to get rid of FG. Bear in mind that FF also believe in high housing prices.

Mute Hellenize Dublin
    Favourite Hellenize Dublin
    Jun 15th 2018, 1:27 PM

@Stephen Adam: Thanks for the point of view Stephen. It’s beggars belief at this stage. Even the media attention (which they love and no doubt fondle themselves over) is water off a duck’s back.

Mute Stephen Adam
    Favourite Stephen Adam
    Jun 15th 2018, 3:29 PM

@Hellenize Dublin: well I can’t agree it beggars belief. They don’t and have never hidden who they are. LV launched an expensive “welfare cheats cheat us all” campaign before his rise to Taoiseach. He achieved nothing in health or transport.

As for Murphy – exactly what are his qualifications? What does he know about housing?

The facts and history speak for themselves. Don’t listen to what they say. Look at what they do.

I’m not the least bit surprised and will be voting for other candidates. But then I’ll be in a minority who will vote FG.

Mute madabot
    Favourite madabot
    Jun 15th 2018, 1:14 PM

Eoghan Murphy can be trusted about as much as his late Grandfather Russell Murphy could be!

Mute Nuala Mc Namara
    Jun 15th 2018, 1:27 PM

If they got the numbers of houses built completely wrong,surely an alarm bell would have been that over 30,000+ not paying property tax?!

Mute Dave Thomas
    Favourite Dave Thomas
    Jun 15th 2018, 1:44 PM

@Nuala Mc Namara: or maybe the were using the figures totally wrong in order to make it look like they were doing something. Optics and spin.

Mute Keith
    Favourite Keith
    Jun 15th 2018, 4:07 PM

@Nuala Mc Namara: they cant use calculators in finegael

Mute Rory J Leonard
    Favourite Rory J Leonard
    Jun 15th 2018, 11:04 AM

Would there be any spare labour capacity in the County and City Councils for the continuous monitoring and reporting of this important national statistic, without having to be asked? A proactive, not a reactive approach is required!

Collating house completion numbers in a timely and accurate fashion, and delivering said numbers to one gov body should not be complicated or so convoluted, ffs! What’s the CSO at on this?

Poor gov MIS are making the smart, articulate and pleasant Housing Minister look like a complete idiot! Hopefully, one day soon he’ll wake up, lose the rag, get fired up and demand improvements for accurate key data flows into his office.

As a learned contributor here asked earlier “ is there anything at a b rewery this man could organize”

Mute Paddy Downey
    Favourite Paddy Downey
    Jun 15th 2018, 2:03 PM

an amazingly obvious data oversight is finally righted.

Mute Marcus o Dhonnghaile
    Favourite Marcus o Dhonnghaile
    Jun 15th 2018, 1:48 PM

Past sound bytes that were never really anything but codswallop. How do you summarise the mess anyway.

Mute Willy Malone
    Favourite Willy Malone
    Jun 15th 2018, 2:07 PM

Lying blueshirt swines…

Mute Keith
    Favourite Keith
    Jun 15th 2018, 4:05 PM

Finegael are being exposed their lies are fading they have ruined Ireland . Up too 10,000 homeless . Record highest ever waiting for hospital appointments , 32,000 less than stated homes being built , pre recession house prices , rents now out of control & they think ahh sure isn’t everything only booming . They have absolutely created a big mess .

Mute Mari
    Favourite Mari
    Jun 15th 2018, 4:59 PM

The goverment need to step aside disgracefull shambles all round ..and ff are backing them

Mute Mari
    Favourite Mari
    Jun 15th 2018, 4:56 PM

Does he hv any idea about fwd planning ..dosent look like it..jobs for the boys as usual

Mute Eugene Conroy
    Favourite Eugene Conroy
    Jun 15th 2018, 9:20 PM

The housing crisis seems not to be a political crisis

Mute Daniel Carson
    Favourite Daniel Carson
    Jun 15th 2018, 3:37 PM

Why are we even building social housing.

Dissolve the department of housing

Deregulate the industry, make it easier and cheaper for private companies to build houses

Allow companies to compete with each other to provide the cheapest and best quality housing.

Mute Richard Sweeney
    Favourite Richard Sweeney
    Jun 15th 2018, 9:31 PM

Spoofer

Mute Carol Fitzpatrick
    Favourite Carol Fitzpatrick
    Jun 15th 2018, 8:53 PM

Promises and Lies.

Mute Den O'Con
    Favourite Den O'Con
    Jun 15th 2018, 1:50 PM

So housing builds included a farmer connecting some power to his cowshed? This is so ridiculous you would be tempted to laugh. When i built an extension I had to send a completion notice to the local authority. Why not count them? After all, it’s builds being counted, not people using power

Mute Rory
    Favourite Rory
    Jun 15th 2018, 6:27 PM

Bring on FG/SF. Solve all our woes