You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Niall Carson/PA Archive/Press Association Images

Oil laundering plant uncovered in Louth

The plant in Dundalk had the capacity to launder some 18 million litres of fuel a year with a potential loss of €9 milllion to the exchequer.

OFFICERS FROM REVENUE’S Customs Service, assisted by Gardaí, uncovered an oil laundering plant in Dundalk, Co Louth in the early hours of this morning.

The oil laundering plant in Tatebane, Dundalk, had the capacity to launder approximately 18 million litres of fuel a year with a potential loss to the exchequer of €9 million.

30,000 litres of illicit fuel and 53 bags of bleaching earth were found and seized at the site as well as a tanker and three lorries, one of which contained a concealed tank for the transportation of laundered fuel.

Ancillary equipment for the bleaching earth laundry was dismantled and removed, along with an old-style cat litter laundry which had not been in use in recent weeks.

Officers also discovered 36 tonnes of toxic waste and a ‘sibín’ on the premises. Spirits on which Irish duty was not paid was seized by Revenue officials.

Three men, two from Northern Ireland and one with an address in Co Louth, were arrested and taken to Dundalk Garda Station.

Revenue said this operation was the result of surveillance activity carried out by the Customs Service and forms part of Revenue’s “on-going crackdown on laundered fuel”.

In a statement it said it “would like to remind motorists and the public that they should be aware of the risks posed to their vehicles by using laundered fuel.”

“It also takes much needed funds from the Exchequer; hurts legitimate trade and of course it is funding criminal activity.”

Explainer: What is laundered fuel?
Read: Revenue close down 38 filling stations this year in black market crackdown>

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

22 Comments
    Mute Mara Byrne
    Favourite Mara Byrne
    Dec 6th 2012, 2:08 AM

Ok, I’m gonna probably upset a few people. I’ve three kids, so i’m being cut by 30 euro a month, so I plan to look for extra hours in my job to make up for the loss. I feel that anyone in receipt of social welfare should be made attend a course, so they become an asset, not a burden. My biggest issue is, I work with two lads from Latvia, their kids have gone home with their wives, back to school in Latvia, They are still receiving the children’s allowance from Ireland, and are apparently entitled to it. So our childrens allowance has been decreased to pay for foreign national childrens kids who’ve moved home?

Mute karla carroll
    Favourite karla carroll
    Dec 6th 2012, 8:03 AM

sorry to say with 3 kids your down 38 euro, 18 for the 3rd child not 10 :(

Mute Seamus O Uirthuile
    Favourite Seamus O Uirthuile
    Dec 6th 2012, 9:03 AM

Not too many thumbs down, and to be honest in my opinion social welfare should be only available for 1 year then halved. It’s a joke that the working person has to pay for the “people” who haven’t worked a day in 10 years, and probably earning more take home “pay” than the working person… Our social is too high anyway … And all the entitlements are a joke…. Eg, a “single mother” and that single is used very lightly has 3 kids, isn’t that approx 200 euro per week a child, for the single mother, a house and all the perks, and her social of 188 so approx 750 take home a week … Not bad for a “single” stay at home mum…. And I think everyone know that they no more single then the man in the moon,

Mute norman hunter
    Favourite norman hunter
    Dec 6th 2012, 9:36 AM

Seamus just wondering how did you arrive at 200 a week per child?

Mute Seamus O Uirthuile
    Dec 6th 2012, 9:38 AM

Single mother, aka no alleged father, not people who are married etc..

Mute norman hunter
    Favourite norman hunter
    Dec 6th 2012, 9:48 AM

You still didn’t show how your arrived at 200 euro a child.I checked the dept of social protections website.Their figures are alot different than yours.Any explaination?

Mute Seamus O Uirthuile
    Dec 6th 2012, 9:54 AM

I know a girl (no names) who a 1 nite stand, no father etc, and she was getting 210 euro for the first child as single mother allowance .. Per week now that was in 2009, I sure it hasn’t dropped much since that …

Mute norman hunter
    Favourite norman hunter
    Dec 6th 2012, 9:56 AM

Ah you know someone,ok then your information is factual the dept’s website is wrong must inform them.

Mute Seamus O Uirthuile
    Dec 6th 2012, 10:13 AM

Well I know this person, who told me back in 09, I never said its wasn’t factual to 2012 standards or 2013 !!!

Mute Lou Walsh
    Favourite Lou Walsh
    Dec 6th 2012, 10:18 AM

@ Seamus. if someone is getting single parents welfare they do not get social welfare ontop of it. not sure of the exact amount but i think its about 200 or thereabouts MAX. they do get extra for each child, its only about 30euro per child.

Mute norman hunter
    Favourite norman hunter
    Dec 6th 2012, 10:19 AM

Let me educate you,the person you “know” got a rate of 210 for herself and her child.The single adult rate plus the dependant child rate.It is not now or never was 200 per child.If your going to make a comment at least try and be somewhat truthful.I’m done now bye.

Mute Seamus O Uirthuile
    Dec 6th 2012, 10:20 AM

Cheers for clearing that, again I have only been told this back in 2009, I am none the wiser, but I did think it was excessive ….

Mute Seamus O Uirthuile
    Dec 6th 2012, 10:22 AM

I did say approx, never exact money, and tbh the social system in this country is a joke anyway, 1 year max and then to be halved, and the working person paying for there prescriptions and doctor … Joke !!

Mute Roisin Connick
    Favourite Roisin Connick
    Dec 6th 2012, 11:22 AM

Just wanted to Reply to Seamus’ comment there!I left college in ’10 because i was unable to afford to go any longer (Dad earned to much to get the grant bit not enough to be able to keep me in college) so I went on Social welfare whilst trying to get a job and was on the dole for two years!Now I couldn’t stand being at home so I decided to do a basic computer course to get a formal cert, then moved on and did my ECDL, and so then this took up about a year, now if my social welfare was halved as you so wished then I would be on 50 euro a week for this year. Out of my 100 a week I pay fifty for bills which leaves me with fifty then I was paying 40 a week for my train the trainer course and the ten euro left over got me in and out on the bus to my course one evening a week!If my money was halved after the first year I would just be paying my bills and be left unable to up skill myself so that I can get a job!If I hadn’t paid for that course myself I wouldn’t be where I am to day working 40 hours a week for €150 as an Intern(Not complaining I love my job) !Now don’t get me wrong I can understand where you are coming from with people that have been on the social for 10 years but can you see where I am coming from with my situation..that if my Social had been halved I’d still be sitting at home jobless and doing nothing everyday?

Mute Seamus O Uirthuile
    Dec 6th 2012, 11:28 AM

Ok I see ur point, and the grant system is a joke, i prob be shot down for this but a farmers child can get it or a self employed person child can, but when u work for someone, unless u on really bad money u can’t…. like u, and also if u but if u were in any other country, u be getting a lot less, on social what’s England 60-70 something pound ??

Mute Shayno ZO
    Favourite Shayno ZO
    Dec 5th 2012, 11:47 PM

Smiling like a mad man!
    He really is detached from reality if he thinks that was fair.

Now to get them out of government…

Mute Joe McGarry
    Favourite Joe McGarry
    Dec 6th 2012, 2:24 AM

Agree. But don’t replace them with FF. Anyone but FG / FF!

Mute Simon Barnes
    Favourite Simon Barnes
    Dec 6th 2012, 3:18 AM

ohh lets replace them with SF, and then in another 4 years we can replace them with the independents.. and then in another 4 years.. well lets just hope there is another party by then

Mute Bruce
    Favourite Bruce
    Dec 5th 2012, 11:51 PM

smiling? He was laughing on prime time. and sure why wouldn’t he. his salary and pensions (yes pensions) not touched.

meanwhile elderly on just 190 week had their cost off drugs increased by 200%.

Shame.

Mute Danny Stultz
    Favourite Danny Stultz
    Dec 6th 2012, 12:18 AM

Noonan and Howlin are interested in becoming dictators of Ireland. They don’t care if the economy goes down the tubes as long as the 20% is not threatened with higher taxes. The only government programs they can find to cut are social services like PRSI, welfare and health. What about the bloated bank debt ?

They need to ignore corporate interest groups and the Fine Gael Party and learn how to compromise. That’s how government works in this country. Or they could leave and go to Russia. Maybe they’d be happier with that kind of government.

Mute Joe McGarry
    Favourite Joe McGarry
    Dec 6th 2012, 2:22 AM

The next election can’t come soon enough.

Mute Simon Barnes
    Favourite Simon Barnes
    Dec 6th 2012, 3:16 AM

And the next election will provide exactly the same as what this government has, just like the previous one. Who are people going to vote for, pre election promises usually get broken or twisted. There is no difference between a snake and a politician. They might all start out with good intentions but put them in the job long enough they start scratching backs, just so at some point they can have their back scratched.

Mute Simon Powderly
    Favourite Simon Powderly
    Dec 6th 2012, 6:42 AM

Voting options in ireland:

The lying cheating party
    The other lying cheating party
    The other other lying cheating party
    The terrorists
    The independents

Not a huge amount of choice is there

Mute karla carroll
    Favourite karla carroll
    Dec 6th 2012, 8:06 AM

Did they miss the memo on corruption? I recon they did…. budget 13 look after the rich and hit kids, families, careers, oaps and the sick.

Mute amanda maher
    Favourite amanda maher
    Dec 6th 2012, 9:03 AM

Funny but sadly so true

Mute Seamus O Uirthuile
    Dec 6th 2012, 9:07 AM

Spot on…

Mute Diarmuid Brennan
    Favourite Diarmuid Brennan
    Dec 5th 2012, 11:54 PM

Fianna fail put a €64,000,000,000 debt on the tax payers of this country!!! How is it this governments fault!? It must paid back the signed the agreement with the IMF who tell our government to make savings they have no choice!

Unless we leave the euro n tell everyone to f off!!! Thanks bertie, cowen and martin!!!

Mute Al S Macthomais
    Favourite Al S Macthomais
    Dec 6th 2012, 3:21 AM

Follow Iceland model with reneging on IMF and loans to UK and Dutch governments given the big FU to these groups. Icelandic economy now growing and dole queues reducing plus Iceland didn’t pay out 64 billion to find out there actions was correct instead if the gombeen muppets we have here and that includes the majority who are still taking it up the rear from the troika instead of the CAtholic church as in the past.

Mute John Sherwin
    Favourite John Sherwin
    Dec 6th 2012, 12:38 AM

The Labour Party was founded by James Connolly and others to protect the interest of the working man. This budget protected the profligate activities of German an French banks who lent by way of bonds to effectively bankrupt Irish banks.
    I am sure I heard the ground move. I think it was those who founded the Labour Party turning in their graves to see this travesty being visited on working people.
    They were elected on a fresh thinking mandate. Well guess what the working man and the social welfare recipient got screwed again

Mute Diarmuid Brennan
    Favourite Diarmuid Brennan
    Dec 6th 2012, 12:46 AM

John please elaborate what could of labour done differently! They are tied they’ve got no option IMF says we need savings, FF signed the bank guarantee, we’re tied to that contract! If we leave the euro it’s probably our only option!

Mute Robert Kennedy
    Favourite Robert Kennedy
    Dec 6th 2012, 2:30 AM

Will u feck off with ur big politics bull spell get into the real world all those party’s are to blame not one will make it better for a long time, get a life

Mute Thomas Hannigan
    Favourite Thomas Hannigan
    Dec 6th 2012, 12:11 AM

You know what the whole lot is complete Ballox…

Mute gary power
    Favourite gary power
    Dec 6th 2012, 12:17 AM

Mah .. Celtic won that’s all the matters

Mute Frank2521
    Favourite Frank2521
    Dec 5th 2012, 11:57 PM

The budget was an exercise in protection of the Croke Park Meal.

Mute Ken Kelly
    Favourite Ken Kelly
    Dec 6th 2012, 1:39 AM

Roll on the black economy. This is what they should be saying because that will be the result of all this thievery by the government. Listened to the independents tonight after the main sequence was over. Only Gilmore et al there to listen to them. FGers have absolutely no respect for voters other than their own. Ming was on the money with his laboured retort. All his comments made sense and yes even the cannabis one. Garda overtime mighten be such an issue then. But Jesus Ming that geansai was a mouldy mars bar in dog shyte

Mute Elizabeth Gibson
    Favourite Elizabeth Gibson
    Dec 6th 2012, 12:06 AM

Hmm reaction to twits (in government) on twitter, how appropriate

Mute Sean Browne
    Favourite Sean Browne
    Dec 6th 2012, 3:32 AM

Robert that is a sad remark

Mute Rachael Blanchfield
    Favourite Rachael Blanchfield
    Dec 6th 2012, 10:07 AM

Seamus..I’m a lone parent due to the death of my partner..I’ve one child and I receive 217pw..No rent allowance or council house..no fuel allowance..Please get your facts straight and stop inciting hatred..

Mute Sarah Twomey
    Favourite Sarah Twomey
    Dec 6th 2012, 9:26 AM

@Seamus where in gods name did you come up with that figure for a lone parent (thats what we call parents who parent alone)? Do you know the social welfare rates for a dependent child? It is 29.80 per week. So doing the maths thats less than 90 per week for 3 kids plus 188 for the parent. What you said is an insult to those parenting alone for whatever reason be it marriage breakdown, death etc and dont forget that men parent alone too. Your ignorance is jaw dropping.

Mute Tom Leddy
    Favourite Tom Leddy
    Dec 6th 2012, 10:20 AM

Comment of the day Sarah.

Mute gerry gannon
    Favourite gerry gannon
    Dec 6th 2012, 10:15 AM

i’ve always said it…..fine gael are the irish Tory Party…..rob the little person and reward everyone in their own club.
    And the labour party are sheep,following for the power and money.