You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Women 'yet to receive a penny' on anniversary of apology to Magdalene survivors

Today marks the one year anniversary of the apology from the Taoiseach to Magdalene survivors.

http://youtu.be/nyx7llUx5GA

(RTENewsNow/YouTube)

A YEAR AGO, Taoiseach Enda Kenny made an emotional address to survivors from the Magdalene laundries in Ireland.

In his speech, Kenny said the government and the citizens of Ireland “deeply regret and apologise unreservedly to all those women for the hurt that was done to them”.

Today, the call has been made for the government to take action on legislation relating to the apology.

Restorative justice

JFM Research called for the State to begin immediate work on the Magdalene Laundries restorative justice scheme earlier this month.

It said that survivors have still not obtained the redress called for by the UN Committee Against Torture, and that it is “gravely concerned” by “unacceptable additional delays”.

Today, JFM Research noted that Minister Alan Shatter confirmed “that less than half the women have got their money, none have got their pensions or health benefits”.

The delays are of deep concern given the age of the women and that many are in declining health. We are aware legislation is pending but needs to be acted on as soon as possible. The women should not have to wait. Many are finding it difficult to engage support in obtaining their records.

They also said that the government’s provision of compensation and benefits “is not a substitute for establishing the truth of what happened in the laundries”.

Contrary to the Minister’s statement, the McAleese Committee only ever established the facts of state involvement. The nuns have not apologised, nor will they contribute to the compensation fund. There can be no restorative justice without an admission of wrongdoing.

Promises

The National Women’s Council said today that it is calling on the State “to deliver on its promises to provide full restorative justice for the surviving women without further delay”.

Rachel Doyle, head of outreach at the NWCI, said one year on from the Taoiseach’s apology, “many of the women are yet to receive a penny”.

Some women have received offer letters detailing their lump sum and weekly payment entitlements, yet this Government has failed to deliver on the promise of pensions and healthcare benefits, as well as all other elements of restorative justice called for by Justice Quirke.

Orla O’Connor, Director of NWCI, described it as “unacceptable” that these women “have still not received the justice called for by the United Nations Commission Against Torture, and promised by the Taoiseach himself”.

Enda Kenny must offer clarity on the status of survivors living outside Ireland and those whose duration of stay records are not available.

The NWCI is now calling on the Taoiseach to put a definitive timeline in place for the passing of legislation “to ensure the State provides these women with the justice they deserve”.

Women survivors whose lives in and outside of the laundries were and continue to be characterised by physical and psychological suffering, poverty and stigma should not have to deal with further suffering brought on by additional delays.

Doyle noted that at least three survivors have died and two others have experienced repeated hospitalisations in the year since the apology. “Full justice must be delivered to these women as a matter of urgency,” she said.

Earlier this month, Sinn Féin’s deputy leader Mary Lou McDonald called on the Justice Minister Alan Shatter to clarify when legislation will be introduced to provide health services to the Magdalene survivors.

Read: In full: Enda Kenny’s State apology to the Magdalene women>

Read: “Immediate State action” needed on Magdalene justice scheme>

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

23 Comments
    Mute Johnnie Sexton
    Favourite Johnnie Sexton
    Dec 15th 2017, 7:46 PM

The sooner hook is back the better, he should never have been removed from the airwaves in the first place….. already 2018 looking good!!!

Mute Sarrah29
    Favourite Sarrah29
    Dec 15th 2017, 8:01 PM

@Johnnie Sexton: Totally agree!

Mute billy Dorney
    Favourite billy Dorney
    Dec 15th 2017, 8:04 PM

@Johnnie Sexton: agree

See 22 more replies ▾
    Mute Pizyco
    Favourite Pizyco
    Dec 15th 2017, 8:09 PM

@billy Dorney:ah the permanently outraged will have to find something else to be shocked about before xmas so….I’m thinking maybe Garda Bands or men having pints watching football in pubs or something ….

Mute Ciaran Whyte
    Favourite Ciaran Whyte
    Dec 15th 2017, 8:33 PM

@Pizyco: wafff wafff wafff wafff wafff… exactly how he talks.

Couldn’t give a poo about the controversy, but his voice always went through me

Mute Whoswho
    Favourite Whoswho
    Dec 15th 2017, 8:35 PM

Hook is a disgrace and the reason men have a bad name! Just shows what a terrible radio station Newstalk is by not sacking him!

Mute Alan Phillips
    Favourite Alan Phillips
    Dec 15th 2017, 8:37 PM

@Johnnie Sexton: looking back at 2017- George was kicked out due to advertising & PC pressure – not Ireland’s finest moment

Mute Catherine Sims
    Favourite Catherine Sims
    Dec 15th 2017, 8:46 PM

@Johnnie Sexton: well his show won’t be live it will be pre recorded. This is a good way to keep him in line . No more controversy from Hook.

Mute Keith D'Arcy
    Favourite Keith D'Arcy
    Dec 15th 2017, 8:50 PM

@Whoswho: a bad name? You blithering idiot.

Mute billy Dorney
    Favourite billy Dorney
    Dec 15th 2017, 9:09 PM

@Pizyco: ha ha, v good

Mute Victor Feldman
    Favourite Victor Feldman
    Dec 15th 2017, 9:14 PM

@Johnnie Sexton: ciara kelly is chronically boring..in all mercy and charity bring back hook..save my sanity..

Mute Whoswho
    Favourite Whoswho
    Dec 15th 2017, 9:31 PM

@Keith. Yes a bad name! Who questions a girl that has been raped by stating that ‘what blame is the girl for putting herself in that position’? He is a 1960′s man and should be left in that generation. Anyone who has an ounce of brain power knows he is an idiot and a joke. Controversial to enlighten the lives of people who need to get a life!

Mute Rand Al Thor
    Favourite Rand Al Thor
    Dec 15th 2017, 10:13 PM

@Johnnie Sexton: No they have gagged him pre recorded so he can’t interact with his audience which was his forte,interesting the character assassins Donoghue and McInerney have now left having destroyed Hook then and their own pile of rubbish went belly up also will never read anything written by O Tool either.I am no great lover of Pat Kenny but he was the only one who publicly backed George on Newstalk.We dare not speak out against any of the PC agendas without being a Nazi,Homophobic or gender biased and god help you if you are a white Irish male.

Mute lavbeer
    Favourite lavbeer
    Dec 15th 2017, 10:20 PM

@Whoswho: the girl he was talking wasn’t raped though. Retrial pending

Mute Austin hickey
    Favourite Austin hickey
    Dec 15th 2017, 11:17 PM

@Whoswho: can’t whistle at women.because u will get a bad name.we love u George

Mute Austin hickey
    Favourite Austin hickey
    Dec 15th 2017, 11:19 PM

@Catherine Sims: cathartic sims shush

Mute Billy McNamara
    Favourite Billy McNamara
    Dec 15th 2017, 11:24 PM

@Catherine Sims: Pre Recorded from George.Sad.If George had any balls he should tell D’O'B and Newstalk to stick it where the sun don’t shine.George LIVE is the only way.Love him or loath him.

Mute Pizyco
    Favourite Pizyco
    Dec 16th 2017, 12:00 AM

@Ciaran Whyte: always…????…how many times were ugoing back to listen then FFS …..

Mute Pizyco
    Favourite Pizyco
    Dec 16th 2017, 12:02 AM

@Whoswho: men dont have a bad name.

Mute billy Dorney
    Favourite billy Dorney
    Dec 16th 2017, 12:15 AM

@John Cronin: thumbs up

Mute Jazz Buckler
    Favourite Jazz Buckler
    Dec 16th 2017, 6:53 AM

@Whoswho: You said men have a bad name because of George Hook. So men have a bad name huh really ?! Wtf
    And all because of George Hook?
    Whoever you are – you have a brain like a Shepard’s Pie.
    I bet your favourite number’s 2
    About the same as your IQ

Mute Jazz Buckler
    Favourite Jazz Buckler
    Dec 16th 2017, 6:57 AM

@Catherine Sims: no more controversy ?
    How boring a world that would be. “Keep him in line” – my arse!

Mute Misanthrope
    Favourite Misanthrope
    Dec 16th 2017, 8:43 AM

@Whoswho: if men have a bad name it’s because we’ve been labelled as such the cultural Marxists. In a world replete with “vulnerable” groups we are the monsters.

Mute Misanthrope
    Favourite Misanthrope
    Dec 16th 2017, 9:16 AM

@Pizyco: “they” do but it’s a result of a Cultural Marxist propaganda assault

Mute Dave Hammond
    Favourite Dave Hammond
    Dec 16th 2017, 4:20 PM

@Misanthrope: that’s from the “all men are ba@tards “ brigade – usually while trying to make some equality / gender balance argument they completely negate by labeling us decent normal men as having a bad name , it would be like me saying all women are bad drivers or something , once you label the entire gender as anything you’ve lost your argument I’m afraid. All men don’t have a bad name. Some do. Just like women.

Dj
    Mute Dj
    Favourite Dj
    Dec 15th 2017, 7:46 PM

January is perfect. Just in time to melt any left over winter snowflakes.

Mute billy Dorney
    Favourite billy Dorney

@Dj: nice

Mute Brendan Hughes
    Favourite Brendan Hughes
    Dec 15th 2017, 8:41 PM

@Dj: very good

Mute Remy
    Favourite Remy
    Dec 15th 2017, 8:45 PM

@Dj:
    Hahahaha

Mute Terry McSweeney
    Favourite Terry McSweeney
    Dec 15th 2017, 9:16 PM

@Dj: : im outraged by the word snowflakes

Mute billy Dorney
    Favourite billy Dorney

You are missed George

Mute Alan Chapman
    Favourite Alan Chapman
    Dec 15th 2017, 7:52 PM

Seems like every time I switch on this channel Ciara Kelly is on. Very tame compared with George ..

Mute Gerry Murphy
    Favourite Gerry Murphy
    Dec 15th 2017, 8:02 PM

@Alan Chapman: She far too PC for me ,and she has to give it a rest about alcohol

Mute billy Dorney
    Favourite billy Dorney
    Dec 15th 2017, 8:05 PM

@Alan Chapman: definitely

See 13 more replies ▾
    Mute Alan Chapman
    Favourite Alan Chapman
    Dec 15th 2017, 8:10 PM

@Gerry Murphy: shows the busy schedule she had when she could step in on such short notice and take over that slot , plus sat , plus
    Sunday . Apart from.Yates the whole station has gone OTT with the political correctness ..Then to top it all you have Paul Williams 5 mornings a week ,A man who’d make Ken Barlow sound interesting .

Mute Pizyco
    Favourite Pizyco
    Dec 15th 2017, 8:16 PM

@Alan Chapman: pretty lame , she seems very nice person but so lame and safe on the radio , and its all a bit GIRLSTALK anytime ive switched in , same ol whines about equality , pay gaps , gender balance and any other hotch potch of boring snowflakey non sense …. they seem to think because the station goes OFF THE BALL after 7 and is blokey that to ‘balance things up ” we have to have middle of the road girly shit during the day…

Mute Orla Cosgrave
    Favourite Orla Cosgrave
    Dec 15th 2017, 8:22 PM

@Alan Chapman: she is totally boring and so self opinionated l have switched off Newstalk.

Mute Daniel O'Neill
    Favourite Daniel O'Neill
    Dec 15th 2017, 8:58 PM

@Alan Chapman: she didn’t stab George in the back at least. She was measured and relatively fair with her criticism. Can’t beat Hook however, really looking forward to his return.

Mute billy Dorney
    Favourite billy Dorney
    Dec 15th 2017, 9:10 PM

@Alan Chapman: Williams,,,,, drip

John
    Dec 15th 2017, 9:13 PM

That woman is on everything of late and useless while proper female journalists such as Sarah Mcinerney were let go for her. She was in the indo this week about taking her child out of school for a week. Who loopy cares

John
    Dec 15th 2017, 9:15 PM

Well said Orla

Mute Tomas
    Favourite Tomas
    Dec 15th 2017, 9:18 PM

@Alan Chapman: Ciara Kelly just makes me switch off..

Mute lavbeer
    Favourite lavbeer
    Dec 15th 2017, 9:31 PM

@John: and chatting about her boobs a couple of weeks ago. I changed the dial from 12 to 1

Mute Austin hickey
    Favourite Austin hickey
    Dec 15th 2017, 11:23 PM

@Alan Chapman: I like her but don’t piss her off what ever u do her way or the highway.

Mute Michael Heery
    Favourite Michael Heery
    Dec 16th 2017, 2:50 AM

@Alan Chapman: why is eamonn dunmpy always on radio and tv in ireland is is a real know it all and knows so little..

Mute acallkelly
    Favourite acallkelly
    Dec 16th 2017, 5:57 PM

@Alan Chapman: I wish she would go back to doctoring, too wishy washy George has it right apart from DT in USA

Mute StrontiumDog
    Favourite StrontiumDog
    Dec 19th 2017, 11:44 PM

@Alan Chapman: call it what it is … bland …. in fact its worse …. its worse than bland.

Mute Chamillionaire
    Favourite Chamillionaire
    Dec 15th 2017, 7:48 PM

Yes , about time , loved listening to hooky on the evening shift it got me all angry and energised to push through those last few hours , Viva la Hook.

Mute David Dickson
    Favourite David Dickson

@Chamillionaire: indeed, he is like God to taxi drivers.

Mute David Huston
    Favourite David Huston
    Dec 15th 2017, 10:03 PM

I Don’t like Hook.

Mute Austin hickey
    Favourite Austin hickey
    Dec 15th 2017, 11:24 PM

@David Huston: interesting

Mute sean nihill
    Favourite sean nihill
    Dec 15th 2017, 7:50 PM

Bring back Dil. ………..Only joking as the global village excludes free speach

Mute John003
    Favourite John003
    Dec 15th 2017, 7:56 PM

@sean nihill: Amazed he is coming back….Thought his colleagues in Newstalk had finished him off….If Newstalk were an army they would shoot their wounded. …

Mute Brian Byrne
    Favourite Brian Byrne
    Dec 15th 2017, 7:42 PM

#freehook

Mute Woke Bloke
    Favourite Woke Bloke
    Dec 15th 2017, 7:48 PM

@Brian Byrne: #hookdidnothingwrong

Mute Brian Byrne
    Favourite Brian Byrne
    Dec 15th 2017, 7:52 PM

@Woke Bloke: #couldntagreemore#F*ckthePCbrigade

Mute Woke Bloke
    Favourite Woke Bloke
    Dec 15th 2017, 8:02 PM

@Brian Byrne: #surethey’reonlyabunchofhypersensitiveeejitsanyway

Mute billy Dorney
    Favourite billy Dorney

@Woke Bloke: nicer

Mute billy Dorney
    Favourite billy Dorney

@Brian Byrne:yep

Mute Brian Byrne
    Favourite Brian Byrne
    Dec 15th 2017, 8:14 PM

@billy Dorney: #youforgotyour#

Dj
    Mute Dj
    Favourite Dj
    Dec 15th 2017, 7:53 PM

Dil wikremashinghe??? Is that the West Indies cricket player.

Mute Theunpopularpopulist
    Favourite Theunpopularpopulist
    Dec 15th 2017, 8:32 PM

@Dj: you obviously weren’t one of the 5 people who listened to her show.

Mute Soft Wind Roses
    Favourite Soft Wind Roses
    Dec 15th 2017, 10:05 PM

No..I’m not happy with this. ‘Prerecorded’ sounds like they want to check what he’s saying before it’s aired.

Mute winston smith
    Favourite winston smith
    Dec 15th 2017, 11:10 PM

Censorship!

Mute Charles Coughlan
    Favourite Charles Coughlan
    Dec 15th 2017, 10:06 PM

Rarely listen to Newstalk since George was let go (except for Pat Kenny and occasionally Moncrieff) voting with my feet, RTE1 extra more than makes up for Newstalk, when he returns I will too

Mute gregory
    Favourite gregory
    Dec 15th 2017, 10:50 PM

@Charles Coughlan: Yeah that’s it for me Pat Kenny, and Off-The-Ball sometimes I’m usually a Joe Duffy guy but if its crap I’m over to Moncrieff who’s quite funny.

Mute martobaby
    Favourite martobaby
    Dec 15th 2017, 8:38 PM

Stopped listening to Newstalk at lunchtime.. it’s the RTÉ radio player for me.

Mute Tomas
    Favourite Tomas
    Dec 15th 2017, 9:57 PM

@martobaby: its bad when rte is your last resort.

Mute gregory
    Favourite gregory
    Dec 15th 2017, 10:45 PM

@martobaby: I did the same. For whatever reason she is hard to listen to so I don’t turn it on anymore

Mute John O Neill
    Favourite John O Neill
    Dec 15th 2017, 9:01 PM

He should tell them to stuff their radio station after what they put him through!

Mute billy Dorney
    Favourite billy Dorney
    Dec 15th 2017, 9:11 PM

@John O Neill: might do, after he is reinstated

Mute Maxwell
    Favourite Maxwell
    Dec 15th 2017, 7:49 PM

George Hook should be off the airwaves because he is a terrible broadcaster who has not changed his tune since he first came onto radio/television not because of these remarks. Newstalk handling of this was atrocious and the reluctance in this country to debate this hot topic for fear of the PC brigade really irks me.

Mute andrew
    Favourite andrew
    Dec 15th 2017, 10:30 PM

@Maxwell: Absolutely. But this has nothing to do with ‘PC’. It has everything to do with the fact that the guy has never said anything of interest in his entire career. Predicatable, boring. Complete rubbish. Jesus, would you listen to him if he was at the bar next to you?

Mute Austin hickey
    Favourite Austin hickey
    Dec 15th 2017, 11:28 PM

@Maxwell: right on chap jolly good.

Mute Michael cunnane
    Favourite Michael cunnane
    Dec 15th 2017, 9:41 PM

at least there is somthin to look forward to in Jan.Always love listening to him and that cranky but alluring voice .

Mute Graeme Murphy
    Favourite Graeme Murphy
    Dec 15th 2017, 10:59 PM

Looking forward to the return of G Hook.

Mute billy Dorney
    Favourite billy Dorney
    Dec 16th 2017, 12:16 AM

@Graeme Murphy: as am i

Mute Woke Bloke
    Favourite Woke Bloke
    Dec 15th 2017, 8:55 PM

I would love it if he turned around and told them to shove their job up their holes.

Mute billy Dorney
    Favourite billy Dorney
    Dec 15th 2017, 9:11 PM

@Woke Bloke: good

Mute Tom Phelan
    Favourite Tom Phelan
    Dec 15th 2017, 7:49 PM

Related, Kevin Myres interview from last week. https://youtu.be/dVIcuu9IBak

Mute prop joe
    Favourite prop joe
    Dec 15th 2017, 10:34 PM

Have switched off newstalk except for off the ball. It’s just to bland. Yeats is no good by himself.

Mute FlopFlipU
    Favourite FlopFlipU
    Dec 16th 2017, 8:29 AM

@prop joe: yes ,I kind of find that as well

Mute Deano Cracow
    Favourite Deano Cracow
    Dec 16th 2017, 8:25 AM

Can’t handle Ciara. Despite not being terrible the show has become too much like Women’s Hour on the BBC, last time I listened. NewsTalk seem to be over compensating for Hook’s perceived slights. Wonder what the audience figures will be next time around.
    Would say a lot of people have switched off. PC wins (temporarily) over audience figures.

Mute Observer
    Favourite Observer
    Dec 15th 2017, 10:28 PM

Bring back hook ..the voice of the angry old men who remember when women knew their place and kept out of harms way..

Used to listen to newstalk a lot before they tried to recreate American talk radio bull in Ireland.
    Not any more.

Mute gregory
    Favourite gregory
    Dec 15th 2017, 10:55 PM

@Observer: American talk radio can be great! And Newstalk was great but has gone downhill in a boring kind of way. George used the wrong choice of words but he is a good man and a family man and does respect women and to suggest otherwise is pure nonsense. George also knew how to entertain which is the whole point of the radio show, try to make mundane day to day things interesting.

Mute Observer
    Favourite Observer
    Dec 16th 2017, 7:24 PM

@gregory:
    Didn’t pass any comment on his family or his personal life . He’s a public figure who made his reputation on controversy which is fair enough actually agree with him on some points .

So I think it’s fair enough to call him out when he gets it wrong in saying that everyone deserves a second chance

Mute Liam Dempsey
    Favourite Liam Dempsey
    Dec 15th 2017, 9:16 PM

George got tired of saying responsibility and used the wrong word blame. If people couldn’t see what he was trying to say, well then I’d say, I’ve seen every kind of critter God ever made and I’ve never seen a more meaner lower stinking yellow hypocrites than these people.

Mute Misanthrope
    Favourite Misanthrope
    Dec 16th 2017, 8:41 AM

Should never have been suspended. As a society we have allowed ourselves to be controlled by the indignation outrageratti brigade, smugly pouncing on harmless inarticulate comments.

Mute OCallaghan TP
    Favourite OCallaghan TP
    Dec 15th 2017, 10:46 PM

No doubt the wingers will be back to have a go

Mute Woke Bloke
    Favourite Woke Bloke
    Dec 15th 2017, 7:43 PM

Here we go again….. Ever notice we keep having the same arguments?

Mute Justin Barrett
    Favourite Justin Barrett
    Dec 15th 2017, 8:06 PM

What a creep, as are his supporters.

Dj
    Mute Dj
    Favourite Dj
    Dec 15th 2017, 8:36 PM

@Justin Barrett: At least he has supporters. Unlike Dil whatsherface and the rest of the whining PC losers who got left in the trash heap.

Mute billy Dorney
    Favourite billy Dorney

@Justin Barrett: ah now

Mute Justin Barrett
    Favourite Justin Barrett
    Dec 15th 2017, 10:29 PM

@Dj: I suppose if you can’t get a woman you have to fancy a man, good for you!!

Dj
    Mute Dj
    Favourite Dj
    Dec 15th 2017, 10:50 PM

@Justin Barrett: That was poor. I expected better from you. Try again.

Mute David cotter
    Favourite David cotter
    Dec 15th 2017, 8:55 PM

I wonder if George and Dennis are drinking buddies down at the chaps rugby match….. otherwise there was no way back for him….

Mute Robert Deane
    Favourite Robert Deane
    Dec 15th 2017, 8:06 PM

There is something good missing without him. This crap has to stop.

Mute Gearoidin Ni Canainn
    Favourite Gearoidin Ni Canainn
    Dec 15th 2017, 9:39 PM

Simply cannot believe the comments I am reading here.. nor what Ireland I find myself living in these days…this misogynistic arrogant man should be quite simply off all national airwaves….not a man of this time! His and his pals of yesteryear’s comments are no longer de rigueur nor acceptable to the wider audience…of today. Repugnant and revulsive…in fact!

Mute Tomas
    Favourite Tomas
    Dec 15th 2017, 9:59 PM

@Gearoidin Ni Canainn: welcome to the real world.

Mute Col de Gal
    Favourite Col de Gal
    Dec 15th 2017, 11:21 PM

@Gearoidin Ni Canainn: Ageist!

Mute Dave Murray
    Favourite Dave Murray
    Dec 15th 2017, 11:29 PM

@Gearoidin Ni Canainn: You ok, hun?

Mute Pizyco
    Favourite Pizyco
    Dec 16th 2017, 12:14 AM

@Gearoidin Ni Canainn: well if you find the ireland your living in these days bad ive very bad news about the future , because idiots like you prefer sanitised safe bland drivel and think that older presenters are just yesteryear’ and you somehow think that because you dont like the opinions of some presenter they should ‘quite simply’ be off the airwaves – and I wonder what you propose for replacement exactly – the more homogenised broadcasting is becoming the more bland safe space and PC nonsense – keep wishing for that so , come back to me in a few years with how tolerable you find the Ireland you will be living in then. Moran.

Dec 16th 2017, 12:28 AM

@Tomas:….. your sad world Tomas..but definitely not mine…nor any educated liberal thinking person in this country.

Dec 16th 2017, 12:32 AM

@Col de Gal: ….
    Not ageist at all..my boy..
    There is no age nowadays at which Hook’s behaviour is acceptable….not sure what century your mind resides in? Welcome to the modern world.of accountability!

Mute Dave Hammond
    Favourite Dave Hammond
    Dec 16th 2017, 12:40 AM

@Gearoidin Ni Canainn: will someone hold H you to account for being a Moran then .. .?.

Dell
    Mute Dell
    Favourite Dell
    Dec 16th 2017, 10:50 AM

@Dave Hammond: they will after they deal with your moronic self first

Dec 16th 2017, 6:38 PM

@Pizyco: What sort of a bygone drivel are you??Firstly, you do not have the balls nor the decency to use your own real name here…but are a ‘small man’ hiding behind a pseudonym??…or small man full of wind but of little or no real confidence to expose yourself ..being the more likely.
    My comments are nothing whatsoever to do with ageism.. These outrageous comments by George Hook..are no longer acceptable at any age.. full stop.!
    I , unlike you believe that we collectively create our own future….not await for the future we are given…too much for your ‘pea sized brain…no doubt!
    You do not represent any man I would hope can influence the future if Ireland…for all our sakes…

Mute Mairead Hilliard
    Favourite Mairead Hilliard
    Dec 15th 2017, 11:41 PM

Newstalk was much better before it became a National radio station!
    Listeners hardly get a look in now!
    They used to have a good controversial morning programme with Brenda Power but I don’t think
    She was into being PC which probably didn’t suit some people.

Mute Pizyco
    Favourite Pizyco
    Dec 16th 2017, 12:16 AM

@Mairead Hilliard: its interesting how people get so easily outraged these days and and permanently think that unless your safe sanitised PC crap you shouldnt be on air , and then wonder why the overall quality in radio and media is falling into such band mediocrity….people need to be careful what they wish for , the public wants what the public gets indeed….

Mute Felicity Hensen
    Favourite Felicity Hensen
    Dec 16th 2017, 2:17 AM

@Pizyco: You’re so right. All those victims of sexual violence being “outraged” at someone stating they must share blame with the perpetrator/s who sexually assaulted &/or raped them, should just stop wanting to ruin the “quality of radio and media” for everyone else by expecting “safe sanitised PC crap”, and instead accept that some people can say whatever they want without having to care about the consequences of their words.

Mute William Rowlands
    Favourite William Rowlands
    Dec 15th 2017, 8:23 PM

It was his comments not the majority comments got him sacked we are a free country

Mute Jason
    Favourite Jason
    Dec 15th 2017, 9:39 PM

With Hooks gob in a post Weinstein world he’ll be permanently sh#t canned within the week…

Mute Austin Rock
    Favourite Austin Rock
    Dec 15th 2017, 8:53 PM

“The presenter ended a monologue on the issue of rape with the question “is there no blame now to the person who puts themselves in danger?” – the big big problem with this statement is the word BLAME “Oh look your Honour she made me do it” FFS!
    Bizarre anyone would want him on the airwaves, probably one of the the most stupid, idiotic anti woman statements ever made on radio.

Mute Let free speech live
    Favourite Let free speech live
    Dec 15th 2017, 9:20 PM

@Austin Rock: Men can be raped too. You are the sexist seeming as he said person but you default to female. So who is making the anti women statement?

Mute Ken Hayden
    Favourite Ken Hayden
    Dec 15th 2017, 9:23 PM

@Austin Rock: In all honesty , the word he was probably looking for was , responsibility .
    We’d all love to live in a perfect world , but it’s not .

Mute Dave Hammond
    Favourite Dave Hammond
    Dec 16th 2017, 12:41 AM

@Austin Rock: nonsense..

Mute Felicity Hensen
    Favourite Felicity Hensen
    Dec 16th 2017, 2:08 AM

@Ken Hayden: People aren’t looking for a perfect world, because nature doesn’t capitulate to our sense of perfection. What some people are looking for, especially in relation to sexual violence, is that the perpetrators of such acts are held 100% accountable for their actions. Some of us are sick to death of wasn’t the victim “asking for it” becuase they dressed/talked/walked/drank/etc as an excuse to share the blame. There is no blame to share. There is no responsibility to share. The responsibility is the perpetrator’s, and theirs alone. Ensuring that this becomes a societal norm just might make a significant amount of people not assault or rape someone.

Mute FlopFlipU
    Favourite FlopFlipU
    Dec 16th 2017, 8:22 AM

@Felicity Hensen: You are right ,but all women would not agree ,were you ever in the company of women ,one of which would be determined to take her friend’s husband and who would scold her own daughter for dressing provocatively ,they are there you know

Dell
    Mute Dell
    Favourite Dell
    Dec 16th 2017, 10:30 AM

@Austin Rock: wasting your time Austin. His supporters like to conveniently forget that he talked about her being passed around and questioned her judgment on the night but of course not that of the men there… But he only used one incorrect word apparently.

Mute bfreesun
    Favourite bfreesun
    Dec 15th 2017, 7:55 PM

Something seriou I hope. Odious gobshitr

Mute carodeer
    Favourite carodeer
    Dec 16th 2017, 3:05 AM

Hook should have been fired. History of anti woman comments and victim blaming is despicable. Disheartened by many of the comments here. Newstalk creeps me out. I want my media 50/50 men and women not just old white men wittering on.

Mute FlopFlipU
    Favourite FlopFlipU
    Dec 16th 2017, 8:36 AM

@carodeer: yes fired ,out of a cannon preferably followed by that Kelly one and anybody else you don’t like ,what’s your view on Trump

Mute David Kernan
    Favourite David Kernan
    Dec 16th 2017, 12:51 AM

Get rid of that obnoxious man.He should just fade into the background.
    He is not important to anybody.He will not be missed .He is a man so opinionated that what he says should be ridiculed at every moment he opens his mouth.Not alone that he is completely incoherent and he Sounds like he has a very bad speech impediment. When he opens his mouth it sounds like he is dribbling out morose cacoughinous mumbo jumbo.Just go away George.Your time is up.

Mute FlopFlipU
    Favourite FlopFlipU
    Dec 16th 2017, 8:33 AM

@David Kernan: why don’t you make yourself clear ,we still don’t know what you think of him

Mute eastsmer
    Favourite eastsmer
    Dec 16th 2017, 1:29 AM

So really people actually still listen to radio these days ?
    Even propaganda like DOB FM or FFFGLAB FM ?
    Wow…

Mute Emer Caffrey
    Favourite Emer Caffrey
    Dec 15th 2017, 10:11 PM

Sling yer

Mute B.J.Elmes
    Favourite B.J.Elmes
    Dec 15th 2017, 9:18 PM

Met him once Pig Ignorant (my age) has failed to adapt to modern PC He has to pay the price Arrogant Fool

Mute pat seery
    Favourite pat seery
    Dec 16th 2017, 12:46 AM

Wonder who else will Newstalk bring back next?

Mute Bob Tallent
    Favourite Bob Tallent
    Dec 16th 2017, 2:27 PM

He should stay away. His views and self opinionated stance should stay with himself.

Mute Robert manning
    Favourite Robert manning
    Dec 16th 2017, 3:53 PM

Bring

Mute Alan Cullen
    Favourite Alan Cullen
    Dec 23rd 2017, 12:42 PM

Is it not a better course of action whilst this boorish over privileged sponger is off the air to terminate his contract, radio has got on fine without him. he will not be missed.