You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Suspect wanted in wake of Paris shooting hands himself in to Belgian police

The so-called Islamic State claimed responsibility for the attack, which has occurred just days before a crucial French presidential election.

France Paris Police Shot A bullet hole is pictured on a shop window of the Champs Elysees boulevard in Paris. AP / PA Images AP / PA Images / PA Images

Updated at 8.50am

A TERROR SUSPECT sought by France in the wake of the Champs-Elysees shooting attack has turned himself in to Belgian police, France’s interior ministry said this morning.

Last night a known terror suspect shot dead a French policeman and wounded two others on Paris’s Champs Elysees in an attack claimed by the Islamic State group days before a presidential election.

The attacker emerged from a car and used an automatic weapon to shoot at officers outside a Marks & Spencer’s department store at the center of the Champs-Elysees at around 8pm (Irish time).

After killing the officer and injuring his colleagues just a few hundred metres from the Arc de Triomphe, the gunman was shot dead in return fire while trying to flee on foot, police sources told AFP.

A female foreign tourist was wounded, anti-terrorism prosecutor Francois Molins said.

Suspects

France Paris Police Shot PA Images PA Images

The Islamic State group’s claim of responsibility just a few hours after the attack came unusually swiftly for the extremist group, which has been losing territory in Iraq and Syria.

The killer, identified as a 39-year-old Frenchman, was known to anti-terror police, sources told AFP, and raids took place at his address in a suburb to the east of Paris.

He was arrested in February on suspicion of plotting to kill officers but was released because of lack of evidence.

He had been convicted in 2005 of three counts of attempted murder, with two of these against police officers, sources said.

A source close to the French investigation said the 35-year-old man being questioned in Antwerp, described as “very dangerous”, had been sought by Belgian police as part of a separate probe.

During a search of his home, Belgian police found weapons, balaclavas and a train ticket for France departing yesterday morning, hours before the Paris assault.

In France meanwhile, three people known to the attacker were being questioned by anti-terror police, judicial sources said.

The three were arrested during overnight raids in the eastern suburbs of Paris

Election impact

France Paris Police Shot Kamil Zihnioglu / PA Images Kamil Zihnioglu / PA Images / PA Images

Observers had long feared bloodshed ahead of this weekend’s vote in France following a string of atrocities since 2015 and the violence is likely to thrust security to the front of voters’ minds.

The impact on the outcome of the French election is unclear – Sunday is the poll’s first round – but far-right leader Marine Le Pen, her centrist rival Emmanuel Macron, and scandal-hit conservative Francois Fillon cancelled campaign events planned for today.

Up until now, surveys showed voters more concerned about unemployment and their spending power than terrorism or security, though analysts warned this would change in the event of violence.

French President Francois Hollande promised “absolute vigilance, particularly with regard to the electoral process” and paid tribute to the police.

Hollande, who said he was convinced the shooting was a “terrorist act”, cancelled a trip to Bretagne and will chair a security cabinet meeting today.

Security in campaign

Anti-immigration contender Le Pen earlier welcomed security moving to the heart of the campaign as she took part in a prime-time interview show alongside 10 other presidential candidates.

Marine Le Pen Campaign Meeting - Paris Marechal Aurore / ABACA Marechal Aurore / ABACA / ABACA

“We are suffering the consequences of a laxity that has continued for years,” she said shortly before the shooting, promising to take a hard line against extremists and anyone suspected of being an Islamist.

For weeks, former banker Macron and Le Pen have been out in front but opinion polls now show there is a chance that any of four leading candidates could reach the election’s second-round runoff on 7 May.

Conservative candidate Fillon and far-left firebrand Jean-Luc Melenchon have closed the gap substantially in the last two weeks.

“The first responsibility of the president is to protect,” Macron said on the interview show. “This threat will be part of our daily lives in the next years.”

Fillon, who penned a pre-election book called “Beating Islamic Totalitarianism”, declared that “the fight against terrorism must be the absolute priority of the next president”.

As the first details of the attack filtered through, US President Donald Trump said that “it looks like another terrorist attack. What can you say? It just never ends”.

US Vice President Mike Pence told business leaders during an official visit to Indonesia that the Paris assault was “the latest reminder that terrorism can strike anywhere at any time”.

State of emergency

Policeman Killed in Terror Attack - Paris Abd Rabbo Ammar / ABACA Abd Rabbo Ammar / ABACA / ABACA

The bustling Champs Elysees lies in the heart of Paris and is lined with shops and restaurants. It was immediately blocked by armed officers after the attack and nearby metro stations were closed.

“We had to hide our customers in the basement,” Choukri Chouanine, manager of a restaurant near the site of the shooting, told AFP, saying there was “lots of gunfire”.

A spokesman for the interior ministry paid tribute to the fast reflexes of police at the scene who managed to kill the gunman and prevent further bloodshed on a busy spring-time evening.

A foreign tourist was slightly wounded in her knee by shrapnel during the shooting.

France is in a state of emergency and at its highest possible level of terror alert, with jihadist-inspired assaults killing more than 230 people in recent years.

The Charlie Hebdo magazine was hit in January 2015, sites around Paris including the Bataclan concert hall were targeted in November the same year, and families at a fireworks display in Nice in July 2016.

Thousands of troops and armed police have been deployed to guard tourist hotspots such as the Champs Elysees or other potential targets, including government buildings and religious sites.

© – AFP 2017 With reporting from AP.

Read: Police officer and suspected attacker shot dead in Paris gun battle

View 150 comments
150 Comments
    Mute Rónán O'Suilleabháin
    Favourite Rónán O'Suilleabháin
    Jul 9th 2013, 4:59 PM

Ramadan in Ireland with Irish Summer Daylight hours.

I feel for you!

Mute Sofyan
    Favourite Sofyan
    Jul 9th 2013, 6:15 PM

Thanks man!

Mute Shahbaz Ch
    Favourite Shahbaz Ch
    Jul 9th 2013, 7:38 PM

Yes another Ramadan every year we wait for Ramadan so let’s say welcome and happy Ramadan…..

Mute Little Jim
    Favourite Little Jim
    Jul 9th 2013, 8:39 PM

Keep hydrated.
    Bit like lent, is it?

Mute Dom Morgan
    Favourite Dom Morgan
    Jul 9th 2013, 10:25 PM

Nothing like lent. Not allowed to drink, eat, smoke or even swallow ones own saliva. I am in Saudi and will fast during office hours which are shortened and productivity will be very low. Ramadan Kareem!

Mute Enola Straight
    Favourite Enola Straight
    Jul 9th 2013, 11:00 PM

Women. Forced to wear the equivalents of blankets. In the 21st Century.

Mute Dom Morgan
    Favourite Dom Morgan
    Jul 9th 2013, 11:25 PM

In practical sense, you can go out in pajamas underneath the abaya. If you couldn’t be bothered putting makeup you just cover face and stick large sunglasses. You can be ready to leave house in 2 minutes compared to the average of 45 minutes it takes an average woman to select clothes, put war paint on and fix hair (then repeat all as the desired effect was not achieved).

Secondly, it is not a blanket, most have designs and are quite comfortable in the middle eastern heat.

Mute Anas DreamerKadad
    Favourite Anas DreamerKadad
    Jul 8th 2014, 1:41 PM

You are allowed to but only after breaking your fast not during fast hours.

Mute Declan Conway
    Favourite Declan Conway
    Jul 9th 2013, 5:10 PM

Millions of Muslims start month-long Ramadan.

My mate Dan’s terrified.

Mute Kevin Collins
    Favourite Kevin Collins
    Jul 9th 2013, 5:25 PM

god allah yahweh buddha…whatever. it’s all just different takes on the same fairytale nonsense

Mute Brian Ó Dálaigh
    Favourite Brian Ó Dálaigh
    Jul 9th 2013, 5:37 PM

Except that Buddha was not and is not a god. He was a human being with absolutely no divine powers. He may be the focus of worship for some believers, but even they recognise he’s not a god.

Mute Gearoid Griffin
    Favourite Gearoid Griffin
    Jul 9th 2013, 7:39 PM

Had great skin by all accounts

Mute Kevin Collins
    Favourite Kevin Collins
    Jul 9th 2013, 7:43 PM

@Brian ok fair point, he’s not a deity in the gandalf-sitting-on-a-cloud sense, but he/she/they do have a fair few golden statues and worshippers knocking around. then there’s all the backstory about reincarnation and awakening, nirvana, the path to enlightenment etc etc. plus all the usuals: ritualistic ceremonies, lots of candles, repetitive chants, ornate costumes, funny hats…

not exactly based on science and logic now is it?? i’ll stick with the sun-worship methinks, the Great Lord Sol is very pleaseth with his adherents today!

Mute Steve Hardy
    Favourite Steve Hardy
    Jul 9th 2013, 5:19 PM

Is this why there isn’t that many Muslims in Alaska, sure they’d never eat

Mute John Horan
    Favourite John Horan
    Jul 9th 2013, 5:25 PM

I’ve a friend in work who I asked about this once, he said if the day is longer than 18 hours then you are allowed to observe it on Mecca time.

Mute Steve Hardy
    Favourite Steve Hardy
    Jul 9th 2013, 5:27 PM

So 17.5 hours must be a killer

Mute CD
    Favourite CD
    Jul 9th 2013, 8:46 PM

How disappointed would you be if you day was 17 hrs and 59 mins long…

Mute Martin Sinnott
    Favourite Martin Sinnott
    Jul 9th 2013, 5:29 PM

According to Census 2011 there are 48,150 Muslim’s in Ireland.

Mute Misty Pixie
    Favourite Misty Pixie
    Jul 10th 2013, 9:55 AM

With a comment like that Brian, one of you is too many…

Mute Brian O Cinneide
    Favourite Brian O Cinneide
    Jul 10th 2013, 10:25 AM

My people have been in Ireland for well over one thousand years. Can you say the same for yours?

See 15 more replies ▾
    Mute John O'Neill
    Favourite John O'Neill
    Jul 13th 2013, 6:37 AM

Yes actually… Not everyone in Ireland agrees with your Neanderthal, racist, bigoted and backward views. You probably changed your name to the Irish version to appear more “authentic” Irish.
    What do you think of those relations of yours, the Kennedys, (Joe and Co), those economic immigrants to the USA. Too many Irish was the racist chant from the resident community at that time, in fact the Kennedys set up base on Cape Cod in order to access golf and social clubs denied to them in Boston and Washington by racists.
    Anyway, your family wouldn’t be in Ireland at all but for us….The story’s been passed down the generations in my family that my ancestor Niall of the Nine Hostages, ( you may have heard of him), found ye floating on your own sc¥m somewhere in the Bay of Biscay while he was on his way back from visiting his good friends the Moors of Eastern Spain, and, being a good Muslim, showed pity on ye and brought ye to Ireland, you ungrateful wretch…

Mute John O'Neill
    Favourite John O'Neill
    Jul 13th 2013, 6:40 AM

I also note that you’re an economic migrant yourself to Africa above all places. Bet you keep your nasty bigoted views to yourself there…

Mute Brian O Cinneide
    Jul 13th 2013, 10:26 AM

John, you are a complete ignorant arsehole, probably first generation of your family educated.

Mute John O'Neill
    Favourite John O'Neill
    Jul 13th 2013, 1:36 PM

Not true actually.. Personally I have three degrees, education, administration and law…Slightly more substantial than your ” Diploma in inland transport” (truck drivin’) ya gobsh!te…
    Anyway…may Allah protect you from yourself….

Mute Brian O Cinneide
    Jul 13th 2013, 3:23 PM

I have a lot more than that and done a lot more than you ever will.

Mute Misty Pixie
    Favourite Misty Pixie
    Jul 13th 2013, 4:15 PM

…Obviously not much English though…
    It’s, “…and did a lot more…”, or, “… I’ve done”, or, “…have done…”.
    See- you’d three ways you could get it right and you still failed…
    We should have left your crowd floating on their own detritus in the Bay of Biscay…”

Mute Brian O Cinneide
    Jul 13th 2013, 5:43 PM

When any of you can say that you have done any of the following then you may say that I am a racist;
    tweaked apartheid laws to employ black staff and pay them the same as their white counterparts;
    Paid for a young black boy all the way through secondary school;
    commanded Christian, of many denominations, Hindu and Muslim soldiers and slept with my Indian soldiers in the bush; nominated against opposition, the first Indian candidate officer in the South African Army.

Mute John O'Neill
    Favourite John O'Neill
    Jul 13th 2013, 9:47 PM

If you’ve mixed with and worked alongside people of different religions and racial backgrounds, why then make the nasty, anti-Islam comment at the start?
    Simple question. You sound like a tolerant, open-minded individual from your last comment, but your first comment contradicts that completely.
    If it was a stupid, throw- away comment, not intended as your true sentiments towards people of a different faith than you, why not say so.
    If it was intended as an insult against Islam, say so and expand on why you think that way.

Mute Brian O Cinneide
    Jul 14th 2013, 1:08 PM

I wrote English as it is spoken here. I speak three languages. How many do you speak?

Mute John O'Neill
    Favourite John O'Neill
    Jul 14th 2013, 7:54 PM

So to summarise…you don’t hate people necessarily because of their skin colour, just because of their religion…
    Oh we’ll that’s o.k. then I suppose…
    In your twisted world.
    By the way, you actually haven’t said that you’re not a racist…

Mute Brian O Cinneide
    Jul 15th 2013, 8:51 AM

I take it that you are the alter ego of Misty Pixie.
    Please answer a simple question without your usual diatribe. Are you muslim? just yes or no will suffice.

Mute Brian O Cinneide
    Jul 15th 2013, 8:55 AM

I don’t have to say that I am not a racist. I think that my previous remarks illustrate that.

Mute John O'Neill
    Favourite John O'Neill
    Jul 15th 2013, 2:31 PM

Misty Pixie is actually my dog, and she’s also disgusted with your attitude towards 1.57 billion people in the world today, just because of their religion.
    You ask whether I’m Muslim or not. No I’m not.
    I know many Muslims and have been privileged enough to be able to call some of them my friends.
    Like some Christians there are some very unsavoury characters in the Muslim community, but to loathe all because of the actions of a few goes against all moral principals, irregardless of the religion.
    It is sad to have to say this, but I’ve found that Muslims are more upright,honest and polite than many “Christians” I know.
    I’ve also met, debated and argued with many a radical, religious fanatic….
    most of them have been Catholic though…

Mute Brian O Cinneide
    Jul 15th 2013, 2:49 PM

Keep it up and you will be known as St John with the dog.

Mute John O'Neill
    Favourite John O'Neill
    Jul 15th 2013, 3:53 PM

lol..
    And you’ll be known as O’Cinneide the Merciless Mercenary…
    I think at this stage Brian, we’ll have to agree to differ in our opinions regarding Islam.

Mute Mjhint
    Favourite Mjhint
    Jul 9th 2013, 6:56 PM

I was in Algiers years ago for ramadam. We brought beef from Ireland to Algiers & these poor arabs had to unload all this beef on very hot days while fasting. I really felt for them & still do as we now have enough scientific evidence to know there is no abrahamic god. Its all a fairy tale.

Mute pg
    Favourite pg
    Jul 9th 2013, 7:23 PM

Can’t be healthy not taking any liquids for 18 hours especially in this weather !!

Mute Francis Cussen
    Favourite Francis Cussen
    Jul 9th 2013, 5:14 PM

Wouldn’t like to be called Dan at the moment.

Mute Pat Murphy
    Favourite Pat Murphy
    Jul 9th 2013, 5:26 PM

is Ramadan at the same time every year of does it vary like Easter?

Mute fizi_water
    Favourite fizi_water
    Jul 9th 2013, 5:38 PM
    Mute Paddy Behan
    Favourite Paddy Behan
    Jul 9th 2013, 6:15 PM

Varies… Islamic feasts and holy days follow the lunar calendar. Easter is the only Christian feast that follows the lunar calendar also. Therefore Easter along with Ramadan changes each year.

Mute Sofyan
    Favourite Sofyan
    Jul 9th 2013, 6:24 PM

The month of Ramadan is a month based on a lunar calendar, which is about 355 days a year, that’s why it goes backwards every year when we check on our calendar (solar), I am not sure if it’s clear enough.

Mute Gearoid Griffin
    Favourite Gearoid Griffin
    Jul 9th 2013, 7:35 PM

It’s 10days earlier each year

Mute Dom Morgan
    Favourite Dom Morgan
    Jul 9th 2013, 10:27 PM

No, it shifts according to Hijri calendar which is some 20 days shorter so it falls at different times and shifts with time.

Mute Dom Morgan
    Favourite Dom Morgan
    Jul 9th 2013, 11:33 PM

10 days, not 20. Typo thx to iPhone

Mute Leo Latorre
    Favourite Leo Latorre
    Jul 9th 2013, 6:57 PM

Most of the Taxi drivers from tomorrow will be hungry until the sunset.

Mute Waffler Towers
    Favourite Waffler Towers
    Jul 10th 2013, 8:14 AM

Muslim taxi drivers? Where do you live?

Mute J. Dunn
    Favourite J. Dunn
    Jul 9th 2013, 6:06 PM

They better figure it out fast.

Mute On Raglan Road
    Favourite On Raglan Road
    Jul 9th 2013, 6:47 PM

They’ll be sweating in that gear, god love them!

Mute Joseph Siddall
    Favourite Joseph Siddall
    Jul 9th 2013, 6:59 PM

What we think of as traditional Arab dress is worn in the region for a very good reason………it keeps the wearer, relatively, cool and protects them from the ravages of the Sun. Explained to me many years ago by a friend from Bahrain.
    Ever thought why women tend to wear dresses in Summer ? Partly the same reason……..airflow. Righto lads, all off to the kilt shop.

Mute GoGo99
    Favourite GoGo99
    Jul 9th 2013, 7:56 PM

Unfortunately!

Mute Joan Featherstone
    Favourite Joan Featherstone
    Jul 9th 2013, 5:51 PM

It’s around the same time but not a set date…

Mute J. Dunn
    Favourite J. Dunn
    Jul 9th 2013, 8:24 PM

Around the same time? As in, it happens once per year? It has been as late as December on some occasions.

Mute Joe Sixtwo
    Favourite Joe Sixtwo
    Jul 10th 2013, 9:27 AM

A pointless exercise in religious bravado, like the Shiites whipping themselves to a bloody pulp and Catholics in the Philippines having themselves nailed to a cross…………the silly season.

Mute Munsterite60
    Favourite Munsterite60
    Jul 9th 2013, 8:20 PM

Sure it’s only penance , we have it for ever. So what

Mute Taxi Bill
    Favourite Taxi Bill
    Jul 10th 2013, 12:16 AM

Not me leo, i like my grub!

Mute Taxi Bill
    Favourite Taxi Bill
    Jul 10th 2013, 1:54 AM

Naw! leo most of the non national ones are probably Christian

Mute Dark 10 (Kevy Revy)
    Favourite Dark 10 (Kevy Revy)
    Jul 10th 2013, 8:30 PM

That’d be the conspiracy itself, like Easter. Where’d all the eggs go?

Mute Waffler Towers
    Favourite Waffler Towers
    Jul 10th 2013, 8:13 AM

The conspiracy theory is that FIFA have moved it to the summer due to pressure from football teams with Muslim players

Mute Wayne Kavanagh
    Favourite Wayne Kavanagh
    Jul 10th 2013, 12:13 PM

Especially for majid hasan… http://www.diabetes.ie/wp-content/uploads/2013/06/RAMADAN_DIABETES.pdf do you think I would post a comment without reading it somewhere first