You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Police activity by the Bataclan concert hall this morning. Jamie McKinnell/PA Wire / Press Association Images

Irish people in Paris urged to stay indoors and "exercise extreme caution"

The Department of Foreign Affairs has set up a helpline for anyone concerned about loved ones.

Updated 10.34am

THE DEPARTMENT OF Foreign Affairs has urged Irish citizens in Paris to exercise extreme caution and to follow the instructions of local officials.

Authorities were urging people in the city to remain indoors in the aftermath of last night’s terror attacks, which have killed at least 120 people.

Here’s the full advice:

“A state of emergency has been declared in Paris following multiple events on Friday evening. Citizens in Paris should exercise extreme caution and follow the instructions of the local authorities, who are advising people to stay indoors. Irish citizens in Paris should make contact to reassure their family at home as to their safety.

“Airports remain operational but Irish citizens in or travelling to France should expect additional security and possible travel disruptions. Anyone intending to travel to Paris should contact their airline or tour operator for further information.”

The Department of Foreign Affairs confirmed that they are providing assistance to one Irish person who was injured in the attacks. A statement added that there are no indications of further Irish casualties.

Tourists in the city have been calling home to let loved ones know they’re okay, and using the Facebook Safety Check feature which allows them to mark themselves as safe.

The Department has set up a phone line at 01-408-2000 for anyone worried about relatives or friends not yet accounted for in Paris.

Any Irish in Paris can also contact the Embassy on +33144176700.

Flights

Flights between Ireland and France are operating today – but Aer Lingus has said anyone flying to or from Paris can change their date of travel or cancel their journey with a full refund.

LIVE: France declares state of emergency after night of terror in Paris

Read: French police hunt for accomplices of attackers who terrorised Paris 

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

61 Comments
    Mute Warren Collier
    Favourite Warren Collier
    Jan 19th 2015, 8:23 AM

“Nuns! Reverse reverse reverse”

Mute winding_down
    Favourite winding_down
    Jan 19th 2015, 11:52 AM

As she says herself, the Nun “was concerned about [what] the complainant would do with children whose parents did not want them to take religion classes”.

Is the implication here that the candidate was to ignore the wishes of the parents entirely, because religious education shoudn’t have an opt-out? Astonishing.

Mute John O'Neill
    Favourite John O'Neill
    Jan 19th 2015, 12:58 PM

Should we all be Homo sapiens now Sister?

Mute Proinsias Ó Foghlú
    Favourite Proinsias Ó Foghlú
    Jan 19th 2015, 8:32 AM

Another good reason why church control of schools must end. They have divested 1 in around 3 years!

Mute Andrew Dagg
    Favourite Andrew Dagg
    Jan 19th 2015, 9:25 AM

And that one was a church of Ireland school!

Mute Tony Stack
    Favourite Tony Stack
    Jan 19th 2015, 12:02 PM

And why are there phoney boards running the recruitment and not the DOE . Major changes are required .

Mute Adrian Hennessy
    Favourite Adrian Hennessy
    Jan 19th 2015, 1:01 PM

….because, like every other system and process in this country, central government do not want the responsibility which would make the liable in any court case…… imagine what this person would have been awarded if it was the state that was found to be discriminatory

Mute Jim Corbett
    Favourite Jim Corbett
    Jan 20th 2015, 6:10 PM

Good point Adrian. She got what she deserved, no more no less. It’s up to the parents to put pressure on the schools. When you make the state run it you disempower the parents. Look at the USA. Parents have no control whatsoever. They don’t even get to choose which public school they go to in a lot of states.

Mute Shane Hogan
    Favourite Shane Hogan
    Jan 20th 2015, 11:23 PM

Actually, primary school Boards have no control over recruitment, thanks to Dept Ed regulations. Recruitment is controlled by the Patron – usually the local Bishop for catholic schools

Mute Middle Class Cork
    Favourite Middle Class Cork
    Jan 19th 2015, 8:36 AM

“Saying that the person who was offered the job was considerably younger and less experienced”
    Surely that’s discrimination in itself??

Mute Andy Patton
    Favourite Andy Patton
    Jan 19th 2015, 7:21 PM

Exactly. More experience doesn’t mean you’re better.

Mute Jim Corbett
    Favourite Jim Corbett
    Jan 20th 2015, 6:12 PM

That was just one statement in what was probably a very long case. If there was a good reason to skip over the more experienced one they probably would have given it in evidence.

Mute Francie Coffey
    Favourite Francie Coffey
    Jan 19th 2015, 8:38 AM

The most homophobic people out there, are generally, closet homosexuals themselves. That nun probably plays the banjo while watching Ellen de Generes in her room.

Mute Paul Flynn
    Favourite Paul Flynn
    Jan 19th 2015, 8:44 AM

True, when I hear priests on the tv my gaydar goes mental, they’re ashamed of themselves for being gay, sad situation really.

Mute Jon Snow
    Favourite Jon Snow
    Jan 19th 2015, 8:56 AM

Ye the most anti semite people are usually closet jews.

Mute Paul Flynn
    Favourite Paul Flynn
    Jan 19th 2015, 9:07 AM

Most people that call other people anti-semitic claim to be pro free speech but are actually anti free speech and also need to look up the term semite. You know nothing jon snow.

Mute Jon Snow
    Favourite Jon Snow
    Jan 19th 2015, 12:28 PM

Lord Flynn. It was a joke, I was been jovial.. Enjoy it

Mute Ian Phillip Creaner
    Favourite Ian Phillip Creaner
    Jan 19th 2015, 12:34 PM

Oy gevalt. You outed me!

Mute William Grogan
    Favourite William Grogan
    Jan 19th 2015, 1:38 PM

Communist and hard left Jews can be anti-Semitic.

Mute Fozzy Dunlop
    Favourite Fozzy Dunlop

In fairness, I think the lady in question had a lucky escape not getting the position if the interview process was anything to go by

Mute Jane Travers
    Favourite Jane Travers
    Jan 19th 2015, 8:53 AM

She was already working in the school though. Humiliating to have someone less qualified put in above you.

Mute Cathy Hunt-Tyrrell
    Favourite Cathy Hunt-Tyrrell
    Jan 19th 2015, 10:36 AM

If the person was better, smarter, more capable, they SHOULD have been put in above her.
    Sure look at the numbskulls in Govt, they mistake corruption for being smart and they’re above us in power and wealth. But they have more EXPERIENCE than us in the Dail. Yet a kindergarten child would run the country better.

Mute Jim Corbett
    Favourite Jim Corbett
    Jan 20th 2015, 6:08 PM

Schools are not the same as government. If she was manifestly incompetent then the nuns would have argued that. Since the court couldn’t find any good reason not to give her the job they went with the most likely option.

Mute Tordelback
    Favourite Tordelback
    Jan 19th 2015, 8:28 AM

Wonderful transcription typo there: ‘…accommodating children of different faiths and nuns’.

Mute vv7k7Z3c
    Favourite vv7k7Z3c
    Jan 19th 2015, 8:30 AM

Yeah, that was my fault. Quite the typo! It’s been fixed now.

Mute David Evans
    Favourite David Evans
    Jan 19th 2015, 8:55 AM

I’m sure you pursued the appropriate avenues Tordelback, by sending a “Send a correction” to the author also?

Mute Tordelback
    Favourite Tordelback
    Jan 19th 2015, 11:24 AM

Not at all, I thought it was way too good to miss!

Mute Ron North
    Favourite Ron North
    Jan 19th 2015, 6:23 PM

Change it back, change it back.

Mute Jack Nolan
    Favourite Jack Nolan
    Jan 19th 2015, 9:52 AM

Why does the church have anything to do with educating our children!!

Mute William Grogan
    Favourite William Grogan
    Jan 19th 2015, 1:39 PM

Jack, spot on, they’re just a bunch of Homos :)

Mute Jim Corbett
    Favourite Jim Corbett
    Jan 20th 2015, 6:16 PM

“Our”? It’s up to you where you send your kids. Parents can demand an end to religious indoctrination if they so wish and send their kids elsewhere if they’re fail to persuade.

Mute Séamus Mc Allister
    Favourite Séamus Mc Allister
    Jan 19th 2015, 10:16 AM

What are those religious FREAKS doing anywhere near education in this day and age? Seriously, it’s high time the church was banned from running schools. The creeps.

Mute Tony_Kilduff
    Favourite Tony_Kilduff
    Jan 19th 2015, 12:05 PM

I wonder how long a comment would be left up if you called a gay person a freak ? Obviously ok to call the religious freaks though….

Mute John Turkey
    Favourite John Turkey
    Jan 19th 2015, 1:52 PM

There are many gay freaks and religious freaks. It’s fair game to identify people from both groups when the evidence supports the accusation.

Mute Luke Smyth
    Favourite Luke Smyth
    Jan 20th 2015, 7:44 AM

One chooses to believe and therefore are open to ridicule. One does not choose to be gay so the same standards cannot be applied.

Mute Tony_Kilduff
    Favourite Tony_Kilduff
    Jan 20th 2015, 8:40 AM

Says who Luke ? Did you just make up the rules on who it’s ok to insult yourself ? Any more of your rules you would like to share with us ?

Mute Ailbhe O'Nolan
    Favourite Ailbhe O'Nolan
    Jan 20th 2015, 8:48 AM

Tony doesn’t understand Lukes comment. Awkward…..

Mute Tony_Kilduff
    Favourite Tony_Kilduff
    Jan 20th 2015, 8:58 AM

Oh I understand it ok. You think you are something special because you are gay. It’s ok for you to ridicule others but nobody can ridicule you. You would be up in arms if were to call you a freak.

Mute Ailbhe O'Nolan
    Favourite Ailbhe O'Nolan
    Jan 20th 2015, 9:10 AM

Yes Tony I would. Nobody had called you a freak though. You’re not quit following though are you…..

Mute Ailbhe O'Nolan
    Favourite Ailbhe O'Nolan
    Jan 20th 2015, 9:10 AM

*quite

Mute Mairead Conroy
    Favourite Mairead Conroy
    Jan 20th 2015, 11:34 AM

patronising

Mute Alan Scott
    Favourite Alan Scott
    Jan 19th 2015, 10:30 AM

While some Nuns were evil bit_hes there lots of Nuns who worked tirelessly on behalf of the poor and the sick were brilliant and I wonder if the Nuns were still in control of our hospitals would the health situation be as bad as it is now?

Mute William Grogan
    Favourite William Grogan
    Jan 19th 2015, 1:40 PM

You mean bad nuns like Mother Teresa. Money mad, spent very little of what she got on the poor. Preferred the poor to suffer and offer it up to her god.

Mute Cowenwatch
    Favourite Cowenwatch
    Jan 19th 2015, 2:10 PM

The was a doc on RTE recently which looked at the work being done by nuns in Africa. One spritely old nun was discussing how she helps the local LBGTs and sees them as equal to everyone else. The presenter remarked how the head of her church would disagree with her about the equality to which she replied: “Well, he’s wrong”!

Fair play to her!

Mute stephen
    Favourite stephen
    Jan 19th 2015, 8:38 AM

What homos was she referring to? homophobes maybe she’s needs to a bit more specific in future.

Mute Jon Snow
    Favourite Jon Snow

Homosapiens

Mute Tordelback
    Favourite Tordelback
    Jan 19th 2015, 8:50 AM

Could have been Homo Habilis, Homo Erectus, Homo Heidelbergensis, any of those hairy lads, which would have been a reasonable question – you could be totally wasting valuable contact hours teaching that lot about the sacraments. Who knows if they even have souls, never mind whether Guineys has Communion dresses in their size.

Mute Derek Murphy
    Favourite Derek Murphy
    Jan 19th 2015, 9:09 AM

Perhaps the position was for teaching English. The nun was simply concerned about homophones I’m sure.

Mute Cathy Hunt-Tyrrell
    Favourite Cathy Hunt-Tyrrell
    Jan 19th 2015, 10:30 AM

Just because a person has less experience, doesn’t mean they are less capable. Unless other people in the room heard the nun ask what she allegedly asked about the ‘homos’, we only have someone’s word who could, and did benefit financially from this accusation.

I find people crying that they were discriminated against because of age, or this or that, immature or vain and incapable of accepting that someone else is better than them or they just were not the right person for the job. Sometimes the FACT is, that they were simply not a good fit. It’s a very subjective thing, having more experience doesn’t by default make a person better. It just means the person worked at something a certain way longer, perhaps not even particularly efficiently. Perhaps the school needed new blood, things to be done a different way. Perhaps the other person was an easier person to work with, had more energy and better health, was much more efficient????

We all go for job interviews in which we consider ourselves the very best person for the job, but the panel or HR may not agree, experience or no. The award is, in my opinion, very harsh. We all have to take it on the chin if we don’t get a job we want and we’d be millionaires if we got 50 or 60k everytime we THOUGHT we should have gotten this job or that promotion but someone else beat us to it..

Mute E
    Favourite E
    Jan 19th 2015, 10:50 AM

Well said Cathy.
    A years wages because someone says a non pc word.
    Everyone have to abstain from talking if this cr@p goes on.

Mute Aleo48
    Favourite Aleo48
    Jan 19th 2015, 11:57 AM

We are not talking about the everyday realities of job-seeking here, but about clear and proven discrimination at interview, which the court was right to censure. One of the reasons experienced candidates can be seen as so dangerous by interview panels of the wit and calibre detailed here is that they’ve been battling on long enough to know the difference between a fair interview and a skewed interview. If they are to be denied a role in the classroom as contributors, why should they not do so as challengers? Any education system worth its salt should be able to face up to that. I applaud the teacher who brought the case, and hope there will be more like her in the time to come.

Mute Shane Hogan
    Favourite Shane Hogan
    Jan 19th 2015, 2:21 PM

What did you base your conclusion that this was a harsh judgement on, Cathy? Did you read the IT article on the case, showing how interview notes were co-incidentally destroyed by two of board members when the equality complaint was submitted? Did you read the full tribunal case report from the Equality Tribunal, produced by an equality officer who deals with these cases all day every day, and is well aware of the points you make about recruitment?

Mute orl
    Favourite orl
    Jan 19th 2015, 4:26 PM

@cathyhuntyrrell please read the original decision which is linked and see so you still think the same.

Mute orl
    Favourite orl
    Jan 19th 2015, 4:30 PM

@E if you read the original decision you will see that the reason the complainant was awarded so much is not because of the discriminatory comment but because the person who became principal has less qualifications AND experience than her.

Mute Jim Corbett
    Favourite Jim Corbett
    Jan 20th 2015, 6:23 PM

70% of Employment cases are settled in favour of the employee.

Mute Shane Hogan
    Favourite Shane Hogan
    Jan 20th 2015, 11:23 PM

Do you have a source for this, Jim?

Mute trickytrixster
    Favourite trickytrixster

What about the homos

Mute Jon Snow
    Favourite Jon Snow

Yes trickytrixster, it appears this question remains unanswered.

Mute Daisy Chainsaw
    Favourite Daisy Chainsaw
    Jan 19th 2015, 11:46 AM

Obviously they’re in the process of taking over the country. The next step will be to force everyone to be gay and to have gay men and gay women getting together to have gay babies.

#gayagenda

Mute Jane Travers
    Favourite Jane Travers
    Jan 20th 2015, 12:46 AM

I for one welcome our new gay overlords. #gayagenda

Mute Simon Bevis
    Favourite Simon Bevis
    Jan 20th 2015, 10:24 AM

What about the hummus?

Mute Christopher Gardiner
    Favourite Christopher Gardiner
    Jan 19th 2015, 9:49 AM

Is anyone surprised. Come on a nun has an attitude to Gay people. Shock horror. Of course she is prejudiced.

Mute Jane Travers
    Favourite Jane Travers
    Jan 19th 2015, 9:52 AM

I didn’t expect it to be that overt, though.

Mute Séamus Mc Allister
    Favourite Séamus Mc Allister
    Jan 19th 2015, 10:28 AM

She should not be in a position to influence the development of children with her bs. If she wants to wear funny clothes and wax lyrical about “the homos”, let her do it in the convent, in the company of a thankfully ever-decreasing population of like-minded simpletons.

Mute archer 12
    Favourite archer 12
    Jan 19th 2015, 9:48 AM

When are they going to rename the journal the gaynews.is?

Mute E
    Favourite E
    Jan 19th 2015, 10:46 AM

Spot on Archer.
    I now know why the company that owns the journal is called “Distilled” Media.

Mute Dennis Collins
    Favourite Dennis Collins
    Jan 19th 2015, 10:53 AM

Are they moving to Iceland then?

Mute Graham Mace
    Favourite Graham Mace
    Jan 19th 2015, 3:45 PM

Who’s account is this €54K compensation money coming from? Is it the church? Or is it Public money intended to pay for running the schools?
    Religious orders must be removed from state education involvement without further delay. The religious have their own agenda, obviously, and it is incompatible with secular values and norms. This isn’t an isolated example of religious bigotry. The bigotry is rife in all faith schools.

Mute Alan R
    Favourite Alan R
    Jan 19th 2015, 7:52 PM

I think it is pretty safe to say it won’t be the Church anyway.
    Taxpayer O’Muggins probably.

Mute Cathal Garvey
    Favourite Cathal Garvey
    Jan 20th 2015, 12:46 AM

It comes from the voluntary contributions’

Mute Jim Corbett
    Favourite Jim Corbett
    Jan 20th 2015, 6:17 PM

Well Islamic faith schools are funded by wealthy donors in Saudi Arabia.

Mute Joan Murphy
    Favourite Joan Murphy
    Jan 19th 2015, 10:12 AM

So is she still working there as a teacher ?

Mute orl
    Favourite orl
    Jan 19th 2015, 4:20 PM

@joanmurphy the decision is linked at the bottom of the article. Yes she is and the less qualified person is her principal.

Mute John Staunton
    Favourite John Staunton
    Jan 19th 2015, 11:54 AM

That would be an ecumenical matter…

Mute Seán O'Sullivan
    Favourite Seán O'Sullivan
    Jan 19th 2015, 11:59 AM

Why are people so brainwashed still so actively involved in our childrens education. Also what about the mother and baby homes, what about harboring pedophiles?

Mute amos brearly
    Favourite amos brearly
    Jan 19th 2015, 8:21 AM

Lol

Mute Kershie
    Favourite Kershie
    Jan 19th 2015, 9:36 AM

why have an interview at all if they are just supposed to give the job to the most experienced person on paper?!?

Mute JakeTheMuss7
    Favourite JakeTheMuss7
    Jan 19th 2015, 11:14 PM

Always good for a laugh those auld nuns..

Mute Kane Abel
    Favourite Kane Abel
    Jan 19th 2015, 11:58 PM

Become a Nun, throw away a perfectly good life, travel backwards 5000 years, live in misery, deny/smother your own sexuality until it distorts, dress like a bat and then spread your misery everywhere you go…..

Its tragic really and they certainly should not be allowed around children or vulnerable adults.

Mute Seán Gallagher
    Favourite Seán Gallagher
    Jan 19th 2015, 9:10 AM

Seems like a fairly good catalyst to review the clause in the employment equality act.

Love to know what answer she gave.

Mute Seán L
    Favourite Seán L
    Jan 19th 2015, 9:47 AM

Trainee teachers today have to abide by rule 68 which states that the teaching of jebus snd his flying donkey is more important than any other rule. Trainee teachers actually have to write about this or else they fail.

Mute Dennis Collins
    Favourite Dennis Collins
    Jan 19th 2015, 10:53 AM

I’m a qualified primary teacher, though I don’t teach in Ireland. When you’re in teacher training in Ireland, you have the option to take the religious certificate too. It is entirely optional. However, if you don’t have it, that’s 98% of the country’s schools written off the list of potential employers, so effectively everyone takes it. If you do opt to take the test though, you have to spout it all out as if it’s the undeniable and fully backed-up truth. I had to spout out three A4 pages or so in my final exams on how Confession is necessaryto build a relationship with God, or something like that. Cannot remember exactly. I just remember being very proud of my skills in BS.

Mute Mairead Conroy
    Favourite Mairead Conroy
    Jan 20th 2015, 11:43 AM

Confession is still a sacrament that many people use in deepening their relationship with God and as such is very sacred.You may not believe in it as is your right but you could show some respect and refrain from referring to it with disparaging remarks…..you say more that is unflattering about yourself than the church you are so disdainful of.

Mute Eamonn Colfer
    Favourite Eamonn Colfer
    Jan 19th 2015, 6:16 PM

Shows the need to scrap Section 37 of the Employment Equality Act (the ethos optout).

Mute May Ni Riain
    Favourite May Ni Riain
    Jan 19th 2015, 6:28 PM

I think that it provides evidence that there is still antipathy towards LGBT teachers from patrons. But it also shows that despite section 37 it is still possible for the state to slap patrons on the wrist for discrimination.

Mute Jim Corbett
    Favourite Jim Corbett
    Jan 20th 2015, 6:23 PM

I don’t think it needs to be scrapped entirely, just redefined so that homophobia or bigotry doesn’t count as an ethos.

Mute Catherine Mayock
    Favourite Catherine Mayock
    Jan 19th 2015, 5:54 PM

The nuns are still at it, the lying biddies.

Mute Amy Wallis
    Favourite Amy Wallis
    Jan 19th 2015, 1:36 PM

Why did she get 54 grand and the security guard only 6?? There’s some discrimination right there too!

Mute orl
    Favourite orl
    Jan 19th 2015, 4:38 PM

@amy wallis both equality officers gave half of the maximum award permitted under the employment equality acts. On relation to the security guard he claimed under access to employment where the maximum award is only 13000 while the teacher got half of the maximum ( 2 years salary) under conditions of employment. Ir may not seem fair but thems the rules.

Mute May Ni Riain
    Favourite May Ni Riain
    Jan 19th 2015, 6:26 PM

My dad wants to know who pays the award? Will it be garnished from his mass offerings?

Mute Alan Browne
    Favourite Alan Browne
    Jan 20th 2015, 12:14 AM

If only it were! Unfortunately the tax payers will so the church will get off yet again. The schools are the churches as long as it doesn’t cost them – then they become the States! Convenient eh!

Mute Cathal Garvey
    Favourite Cathal Garvey
    Jan 20th 2015, 12:48 AM

It comes from the voluntary contributions!

Mute May Ni Riain
    Favourite May Ni Riain
    Jan 20th 2015, 2:32 AM

In the parish i live in” voluntary” contributions are given in numbered envelopes. And if you fall behind the priest is not shy about pointing it out when you go looking for someone to bury your dead!

Mute hsianloon
    Favourite hsianloon
    Jan 20th 2015, 3:57 AM

She was given compensation for a years salary?

Don’t tell me she was so offended that she became depressed and suicidal. This just stinks of someone making a complaint because they didn’t get the a job. Is she gay, non Catholic or atheist that she felt so offended, or just one of those that goes around feeling offended for everyone else. Was she fired or unable to gain employment as a result?

I agree they school was wrong in the way it was conducted, but the outcome was ridiculous. Plus the damages awarded aren’t from the coffer of the school. Such a precious person.

Mute orl
    Favourite orl
    Jan 21st 2015, 12:27 AM

@hsianloon if you read the full decision you will the reason she got most of the compensation wasn’t because of the discriminatory remark but because the person who became Principal had NO school management experience and was less qualified. She was much younger than the complainant.

Mute E
    Favourite E
    Jan 19th 2015, 10:51 AM

Sorry Typo
    Everyone will

Mute None
    Favourite None
    Jan 20th 2015, 4:36 PM

Just another example as to why religious institutions should have no involvement in education whatsoever.

Mute Patrick Brennan
    Favourite Patrick Brennan
    Jan 20th 2015, 11:22 AM

Why is the school not being named? I would like to know if my children were attending this school!

Mute orl
    Favourite orl
    Jan 21st 2015, 12:23 AM

@Patrick Brennan if a complainat requests anonymity in a sensitve case the Equality Tribunal normally give it. If you read the full decision you will see it is a two-teacher school. Obviously if they named the school, the teacher that took the case would be identified.

Mute Mark Gerard Lochlain
    Favourite Mark Gerard Lochlain
    Jan 20th 2015, 6:56 AM

Sr. Úfasach and the bould Dermot Clifford in cahoots!!!!! Not surprised at all

Jan 20th 2015, 3:31 AM

Trust them to be stupid or is that just the mold they never grew out off, everyone is made in a mold???