You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

PA Archive/Press Association Images

Woman knocked down by lorry as she crossed a road in Birr

She remains in a critical condition in hospital.

A WOMAN IS in a critical condition in hospital after being knocked down by a truck in Birr yesterday.

The pedestrian, who is in her 70s, was crossing the main Birr to Tullamore Road close to Loughnane’s Topaz garage on the N52 when she was struck by the rigid lorry.

The incident occurred at about 5pm and the victim was attended to by a passerby on the scene. She was taken to Midlands Regional Hospital in Tullamore but later transferred to Beaumont Hospital. She remains in a critical condition, according to gardaí.

Investigations have started and gardaí are looking for any witnesses to come forward to the local station.

There have been a number of serious and fatal road traffic collisions already reported this week and the death toll on Irish roads this year has risen to 194.

An elderly male pedestrian died in hospital yesterday, a day after being hit by a car in Dublin.

Read: Elderly pedestrian dies a day after being struck by a car

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

Comments
    Mute Luke Lee
    Favourite Luke Lee
    Mar 11th 2019, 5:35 PM

She claims to have known that Smith was being radicalised online before she left Ireland but was ‘shocked’ when she heard about her links to Islamic State? Alrighty then.

Mute Arch Angel
    Favourite Arch Angel
    Mar 11th 2019, 7:51 PM

@Luke Lee: I’m afraid the facts don’t support what Carol Duffy believes, Lisa Smith was a member of the Irish Defence forces, and not a naive 15 year old running away looking for adventure. She had become radicalised and knew what she was entering into, even if we take Duffy at her word the fact is Lisa Smith has been ‘brainwashed’, the damage is done.
    And Carol Duffy herself is a recent convert to Islam, it was she who helped introduce Lisa Smith to it, she said of Smith’s interview and the revelation of her ISIS membership “people like Lisa ruin it for the rest of us”. Not exactly impartial then? Just like the British girls, Smith hasn’t expressed any regret for her actions and, like them she seems to cling to some vain hope that the Caliphate isn’t over yet, not yet. These don’t sound like the words of someone we could trust.
    Leo meanwhile speaks of “the compassionate thing to do”, yet he seems very selective about doing it, and with whom. When we see other, clearly Irish citizens, in desperate need of assistance abroad, perhaps they’ve been attacked etc. the most Leo can offer is some trite words and ‘the Irish consulate will offer assistance’. Yet when an Irish woman deliberately and knowingly travelled to give support and assistance to one of the most violent terrorist groups who have committed almost every human rights atrocity known to mankind, and several previously unknown, bringing her home is the compassionate thing to do.
    I’d like to say ‘on your head be it Leo’, but even that isn’t quite so simple. The truth is we honestly don’t know just how much of a threat this woman presents to this nation, but Leo’s willing to take that chance and gambling what isn’t his to give. Our lives and those of our children.

Mute Arch Angel
    Favourite Arch Angel
    Mar 11th 2019, 10:19 PM

@Mike Keane: I appreciate that you may not agree with me, yet I have presented you with facts and reason, quoting effluent does not constituent an intelligent argument. How many times have we seen terrorist attacks carried out in the UK, France, Belgium, Australia etc. where each time the phrase used is “the terrorists were radicalised abroad and known to authorities.” Just because this intelligent woman made the decision to travel to what was then the Caliphate to take part in a religious war and expansion, get married to a member of ISIS, and have a child there, we have a duty of care to the people of this island to refuse to blindly accept her back. Had he not blown himself sky high, would we be as quick and compassionate to accept Khalid Kelly back to Ireland, I very much doubt it? However when it’s a woman with a child we quickly hear cries of ‘she was duped, ‘no, that wasn’t the Lisa Smith I knew’, and ‘we must do the compassionate thing’. The fact is she’s an intelligent woman who freely made the decision to go to the Caliphate and join the most barbaric terrorist organisation in recent history. She didn’t go there for humanitarian reasons or to report on the suffering, she went there to join them, to be active with them. Like many others she hasn’t expressed any regret and has indicated she doesn’t believe the Caliphate is over, perhaps she may not even wish to return to Ireland.

Mute the-baldie-lad
    Favourite the-baldie-lad
    Mar 12th 2019, 12:11 AM

@Luke Lee: and she should have reported her suspicions to the authorities. Lock her up too!

Mute Carol Cunningham
    Favourite Carol Cunningham
    Mar 12th 2019, 4:49 AM

@Arch Angel: well said. The British girl Begum was 15 and indoctrinated but smith was a grown woman who, we must not forget, is a trained killer. As you said, be it on Leo’s head. If he puts Irish citizens in danger with this woman, then he will have to retire. Between this and the children’s hospital, I, for the first time, will not vote FG again.

Mute John Scott1281
    Favourite John Scott1281
    Mar 11th 2019, 5:22 PM

It would be a giant step forward if fellow muslims in Ireland came out and criticised her and anyone else from they’re flock for supporting or joining ISIS.

Mute Peter McGlynn
    Favourite Peter McGlynn
    Mar 11th 2019, 5:37 PM

@John Scott1281: p

Mute Peter McGlynn
    Favourite Peter McGlynn
    Mar 11th 2019, 5:38 PM

@John Scott1281: plenty have.

Mute Peter McGlynn
    Favourite Peter McGlynn
    Mar 11th 2019, 5:39 PM

@John Scott1281: btw Saudi Arabia murder more women and gay men than ISIS ever did yet we still sell beef to them.

Mute RJ.Fallon
    Favourite RJ.Fallon
    Mar 11th 2019, 6:13 PM

@Peter McGlynn: “WE” dont , politicians do.

Mute Seosamh Snr Nolan
    Favourite Seosamh Snr Nolan
    Mar 11th 2019, 6:14 PM

@Peter McGlynn: you don’t get Irish beef out here no more . Local , Australian NewZealend & Camel ! Can’t even get Kerry Gold butter bit you can get Irish Eggs ! Somebody needs to do a trade mission out here Quickly ! YELLA

Mute Terry Lamb
    Favourite Terry Lamb
    Mar 11th 2019, 6:16 PM

@John Scott1281: lol ‘flock’, yes she should just flock off.

Mute The Great Unwashed
    Favourite The Great Unwashed
    Mar 11th 2019, 6:55 PM

@Peter McGlynn:
    Look forward to seeing your stats…

Mute Barry Somers
    Favourite Barry Somers
    Mar 11th 2019, 7:00 PM

@John Scott1281: it would be a giant step with all Catholics stand against the abuse carried out by the church.

Instead many welcomed the pope to Ireland while at the same time the church refuses to pay millions and cooperate with investigations.

Mute James Wallace
    Favourite James Wallace
    Mar 11th 2019, 7:24 PM

@RJ.Fallon: ‘we” do. Can you imagine the uproar from the farmers if Ireland pulled out of that trade agreement?

Mute RJ.Fallon
    Favourite RJ.Fallon
    Mar 11th 2019, 9:34 PM

@James Wallace: Yes, I have to agree with you.

Mute Tommy Chen
    Favourite Tommy Chen
    Mar 11th 2019, 5:27 PM

I think this whole fiasco sends the message that the government is willing and ready to take back anybody in situation similar to hers. Just read yesterday that thr British government revoked the citizenship of two more girls who went to Syria. The fact that this government is putting the national safety on the line for somebody like her is unbelievable.

Mute Pól Ó'hAodha
    Favourite Pól Ó'hAodha
    Mar 11th 2019, 8:20 PM

@Tommy Chen: those two are eligible for Pakistani citizenship through their parents. As far as I know she isn’t eligible for anything other than Irish citizenship, so I’d presume we’re stuck with her. Regarding the lad from Belarus however, he should be left to rot

Mute Eric Davies
    Favourite Eric Davies
    Mar 12th 2019, 11:20 AM

@Pól Ó’hAodha: her husband was from tunisia (according to the article ) so does her child have duel irish /tunisian citizenship – was the child born in syria or tunisia? seeing as most countries would allow the mother of any child to stay with that child -would she not have the right to become a tunisian citizen?

Mute prop joe
    Favourite prop joe
    Mar 11th 2019, 5:12 PM

She also knows a Ninja.

Mute Shane Murphy
    Favourite Shane Murphy
    Mar 11th 2019, 6:08 PM

@prop joe: darth sidious makes his comeback!

Mute Shane Murphy
    Favourite Shane Murphy
    Mar 11th 2019, 5:25 PM

Lisa smith. Future rte sweet heart!

Mute RisingSpirit
    Favourite RisingSpirit
    Mar 11th 2019, 5:21 PM

“Duped” please… The savages that we cant strip citizenship from need to be imprisoned.

We need to take off the PC gloves and carry out a proper investigation into the mosques to determine who’s doing the ‘radicalising”. If this isnt nipped in the bud, Paddi Jihadi will haunt us for years to come.

Mute ObsidianShine
    Favourite ObsidianShine
    Mar 11th 2019, 7:40 PM

@RisingSpirit: She’s 37 now she was a 28 year old adult in 2010 when she started attending the mosque, she had served in the air corps and therefore had no diminished mental capacity, there’s no way she was “duped” she knew right from wrong.

Mute John Smith
    Favourite John Smith
    Mar 11th 2019, 10:07 PM

@RisingSpirit: paddi jihadi…is he from darndale?

Mute Milk The Drones
    Favourite Milk The Drones
    Mar 11th 2019, 5:22 PM

Bring her home on the government jet and stick her in the penthouse suite at the intercontinental. All expenses paid indefinitely so she can have a good long think about what she did. She needn’t bother coming out until she’s ready to apologize. Then a few hugs and a bit of fluffy counseling. That’ll teach her.

Mute TechBuzz Ireland
    Favourite TechBuzz Ireland
    Mar 11th 2019, 5:52 PM

You don’t get duped at her age. Try again.

Mute niamh ryan
    Favourite niamh ryan
    Mar 11th 2019, 5:31 PM

Ya Lisa’s sound. Likes a good old beheading but other than that salt of the earth. I say rte can’t contain themselves with the prospect of interviewing her

Mute Milk The Drones
    Favourite Milk The Drones
    Mar 11th 2019, 5:40 PM

@niamh ryan:
    Turbridy will have her on Friday night after he’s finished interviewing lunch lady Doris from the RTÉ canteen

Mute Michael Duckster
    Favourite Michael Duckster
    Mar 11th 2019, 6:00 PM

@niamh ryan: Rumour has it RTE are going to give Lisa her own one hour show. So the caring,loving side of ISIS can be fully shown to the ignorant Irish. This show will go out seventeen times per week mainly in the afternoons and early evenings so the youth of Ireland will be fully informed. There is also a rumour Labour want her to run for them in the up coming euro elections.

Mute niamh ryan
    Favourite niamh ryan
    Mar 11th 2019, 6:05 PM

@Michael Duckster: I am sure we will hear all about it in the 15 articles a day the journal will be doing on her

Mute Battaz
    Favourite Battaz
    Mar 11th 2019, 8:45 PM

@Michael Duckster: A joint ticket with Ibrahim for SF in Tallaght perhaps?

Mute Nowa Huta
    Favourite Nowa Huta
    Mar 11th 2019, 6:42 PM

She should be sent to face trial in Syria and face the full consequences of her actions and when she has finished serving her time she can then return to England as she states in her interview she is British and let them deal with her in whatever way they see fit

Mute Paul A Whelan
    Favourite Paul A Whelan
    Mar 11th 2019, 5:39 PM

Lisa Smith (L) and an unidentified woman (R)….. unidentified male or female (R)

Mute Darren Norris
    Favourite Darren Norris
    Mar 11th 2019, 5:44 PM

@Paul A Whelan: On (R) is unidentified female, Males are treated with a small bit more respect in this religion

Mute ross mcgee
    Favourite ross mcgee
    Mar 11th 2019, 9:06 PM

My only question is, if Carol Duffy and other members of her mosque, knew that Lisa Smith was becoming radicalized, did they report it to the authorities, and if not, why not?

Mute Michael Lynch
    Favourite Michael Lynch
    Mar 11th 2019, 5:37 PM

C U Next Tuesday.

Mute alan doyle
    Favourite alan doyle
    Mar 11th 2019, 5:45 PM

My money is on her mate in the picture being the groomer

Mute Ronan Fahy
    Favourite Ronan Fahy
    Mar 11th 2019, 6:17 PM

It’s one thing to carry on as a member of a religion you were indoctrinated into as a child when you can no no better. But i dont understand how in this day and age, educated, grown men and women can willingly sign up to a new religion, any religion. Having said that, I am very strongly in favour of freedom to practice (in private) whatever religion you like as long as you don’t harm anyone else, but that freedom also implies a freedom for others amongst us to find your beliefs and practices fairly ridiculous.

Mute Ronan Fahy
    Favourite Ronan Fahy
    Mar 11th 2019, 6:35 PM

@Ronan Fahy: no = know = face palm

Mute Patti o furniture
    Favourite Patti o furniture
    Mar 11th 2019, 6:52 PM

If her terrorist husband was still alive she wouldn’t want to come home..

Mute Dave Dublin
    Favourite Dave Dublin
    Mar 11th 2019, 6:17 PM

she is getting a much softer treatment than khalid kelly

Mute Adam O'hEidhin
    Favourite Adam O'hEidhin
    Mar 11th 2019, 9:51 PM

How many more Jihadis are walking around Dublin I wonder? How long till a Manchester style attack comes to Croke Park? Not long if Varadkar has anything to do with it. Sitting in Clonskeagh Mosque talking about how great the whole ideology is!

Mute Philip Siggins
    Favourite Philip Siggins
    Mar 11th 2019, 9:48 PM

When is she on the late late show?

Mute Shane Murphy
    Favourite Shane Murphy
    Mar 11th 2019, 6:23 PM

An unidentified woman? It’s clearly darth sidious!

Mute Michael Kavanagh
    Favourite Michael Kavanagh
    Mar 11th 2019, 6:58 PM

@Shane Murphy:
    Worse …… an unidentifiable woman!

Mute Anthony Murphy
    Favourite Anthony Murphy
    Mar 11th 2019, 8:25 PM

She is an Isis terrorist who fully supported and is part of a truely evil and barbaric crowd, end of

Mute Orla Smith
    Favourite Orla Smith
    Mar 11th 2019, 5:47 PM

We know well what religious brainwashing can do in this country, we still feel the chilling effects today when you look at the opposition extremists to SSM and Repeal Referendums. I hope this woman is able to undo it and get some semblance of a normal life again at home here in Ireland with family and friends. Thankfully her rights are protected by Bunreacht na hÉireann.

Mute Luke Lee
    Favourite Luke Lee
    Mar 11th 2019, 6:04 PM

@Orla Smith: Chilling effects today? Both referendums passed you plonker. The only one here whose brainwashed is you.

Mute Orla Smith
    Favourite Orla Smith
    Mar 11th 2019, 7:03 PM

@Luke Lee: I stated the opposition to the Referendums, get an adult to read for you!

Mute Skimothy
    Favourite Skimothy
    Mar 11th 2019, 7:19 PM

@Orla Smith: sounds like you’ve been radicalised

Mute John Bonsay
    Favourite John Bonsay
    Mar 11th 2019, 7:58 PM

@Orla Smith: you’re a sad case “Orla”

Mute Shane Murphy
    Favourite Shane Murphy
    Mar 11th 2019, 6:22 PM

An unidentified woman? It’s clearly darth sidious!!!

Mute Shakka1244
    Favourite Shakka1244
    Mar 11th 2019, 6:33 PM

@Shane Murphy: Third times a charm !

Mute SunTannedTim
    Favourite SunTannedTim
    Mar 11th 2019, 6:52 PM

Such a pity there isn’t a St Patrick’s Day parade in Syria one of our idiot ministers could have brought her home with them.

Mute John Smith
    Favourite John Smith
    Mar 11th 2019, 10:11 PM

@SunTannedTim: if they got her home before the weekend she could lead the ISIS float in the Paddy’s day parade

Mute Susan McConnell
    Favourite Susan McConnell
    Mar 11th 2019, 10:14 PM

How about she and the baby come back home and are supported and funded by the pro-life gang?

Mute Thomas Sheridan
    Favourite Thomas Sheridan
    Mar 11th 2019, 10:40 PM

@Susan McConnell: but it’s most likely the Pro-Death gang that will want to bring her back to a nice cosy social housing unit

Mute Gisbert Bayertz
    Favourite Gisbert Bayertz
    Mar 11th 2019, 5:45 PM

What a load of crap

Mute Damien Barton
    Favourite Damien Barton
    Mar 12th 2019, 6:44 AM

Ole Duffy was not going to ruffle any feathers in the interview anyway. Even signed of with praise be to allah good man joe

Mute James Buchanon
    Favourite James Buchanon
    Mar 11th 2019, 7:34 PM

#hybristophilia