You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Tommy Walsh (centre), from Phil Hogan's parish of Tullaroan, shares a joke with team captain Eoin Larkin during last night's homecoming at Nowlan Park. INPHO/Cathal Noonan

Phil Hogan booed by locals at Kilkenny's hurling homecoming

The environment minister was given the only jeers of the night as Kilkenny’s champions were welcomed to Nowlan Park.

ENVIRONMENT MINISTER Phil Hogan was jeered by a crowd of thousands in his home city last night at a homecoming event for Kilkenny’s All-Ireland champion hurlers.

The Fine Gael minister was given the only boos of the night as he was introduced to the stage at Nowlan Park ahead of the team’s arrival.

Hogan – a TD for Carlow-Kilkenny since 1989, and a former local councillor for the city – was introduced after a slew of other local politicians, including the county’s other TDs John McGuinness (Fianna Fáil) and Ann Phelan (Labour).

Both McGuinness and Phelan were greeted with warm applause, though the brief applause afforded to Hogan was almost immediately interrupted by a slew of jeers.

Hogan did not give any visible reaction to the crowd’s response, and was seen sharing jokes with fellow dignitaries on big screens at Nowlan Park afterwards.

Hogan’s popularity has been dented in recent months by his own role in the introduction of the household charge and mandatory septic tank registrations, as well as frustration at the government’s broader performance.

A crowd of about 15,000 were on site to welcome Brian Cody’s Kilkenny side back to their home ground, after the Cats took their sixth All-Ireland in seven years after defeating Galway in a Croke Park replay.

There were particularly enthusiastic welcomes for Henry Shefflin and Noel Hickey – both of whom won their ninth All-Ireland in Sunday’s 11-point win – as well as wing-back Tommy Walsh, who himself is from Hogan’s parish of Tullaroan, and boss Brian Cody whose victory gives him a 13th All-Ireland title as a player and manager.

The stadium homecoming followed an open-top bus tour of Kilkenny city.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

50 Comments
    Mute werejammin
    Favourite werejammin
    Oct 2nd 2012, 8:40 AM

Well, nobody likes a bully in all fairness…or a hypocrite. Did ya pay that property charge yet phil??

Mute Darragh O Meara
    Favourite Darragh O Meara
    Oct 2nd 2012, 8:42 AM

What did he expect? The only good thing that could possibly come if this is that he may realise how shagged he us for the next election and start changing his tune a bit in the hope of being re elected.

Mute Tensing Norgay
    Favourite Tensing Norgay
    Oct 2nd 2012, 8:48 AM

I should hope not , that would mean pandering to locals to get elected rather than doing what is right for the country which happens to be his job . Personally, I think he should be sacked , he has made a mess of everything he has touched sice going into office

Mute LeeKelly
    Favourite LeeKelly
    Oct 2nd 2012, 9:20 AM

He probably won’t run. He’ll do what’s referred to as the Fianna Fail manoeuvre and ‘decide’ to retire in the certain fate of not having a snowflakes change in he’ll of re-election. His Labour constituency mate the same and they’ll bang on about their years of pocket lining service for the betterment of all and making the tough decisions bla bla bla and other hot air statements blowing out their rear ends.

Oct 2nd 2012, 8:55 AM

Won’t be long before the government brings in a tax on booing…

Mute Gerard
    Favourite Gerard
    Oct 2nd 2012, 8:56 AM

Delighted for him, I’m even more delighted for the officials who invited him along, giving to opportunity to his own people to let him know how they feel. What an ass he really is

Mute Creamy Hamstrings
    Favourite Creamy Hamstrings
    Oct 2nd 2012, 8:43 AM

Good enough for him!

Mute Andrea Rock Massey
    Favourite Andrea Rock Massey
    Oct 2nd 2012, 9:02 AM

Was he actually surprised? It’s all he deserves. He treats the people of this country with nothing but contempt and now he knows exactly how that is going down. One of the most unpopular TD’s in recent history, what a legacy!

Mute rodrigo detriano
    Favourite rodrigo detriano
    Oct 2nd 2012, 9:08 AM

He’s a big thick that doesn’t even realise how unpopular he really is. He conned our great leader into believing he was up to the job of cabinet minister. Now he only has to hang in for another few months, and he’s on the pension gravy train. It says everything about what’s wrong with this country.

Mute james kearney
    Favourite james kearney
    Oct 2nd 2012, 11:57 AM

“Our great leader” ah come on now! He has the power to dismiss him any time he sees fit, his failure to do so must rule him out of “great leader” running?

Mute Michele Kealy
    Favourite Michele Kealy
    Oct 2nd 2012, 8:53 AM

hes a sleeze ….

Mute Declan Moran
    Favourite Declan Moran
    Oct 2nd 2012, 8:49 AM

ha ha

Mute OU812
    Favourite OU812
    Oct 2nd 2012, 9:07 AM

Sadly, I doubt he’d care. These people live in ivory towers & are surrounded by yes men (& women), they’re so detached from normal people’s existence, they just keep going ignorant (in every sense of the word) to the feelings & sentiments of the public.

Mute Steve Maye
    Favourite Steve Maye
    Oct 2nd 2012, 9:23 AM

Indeed. Just to look at Bertie Ahern thinking he could get the presidency.

Mute G
    Favourite G
    Oct 2nd 2012, 9:34 AM

I had to laugh on the Vincent Browne show last night, one of them was saying he was being booed over the letter trying to keep the Travellers out of the house. If anything he would have been cheered for that, it’s the arrogance over property and water charges that people are booing over. The naivety of some of these PC television pundits is astounding.

Mute Pajo Keane
    Favourite Pajo Keane
    Oct 2nd 2012, 9:40 AM

Wouldnt it be great if some county board across the country decided that victorious homecommings are not an appropriate platform for politicians to be scoring political points.

Supporters come to see their sporting heros and not politicians.

Mute Christopher Gardiner
    Favourite Christopher Gardiner
    Oct 2nd 2012, 10:06 AM

Why are there politicians on a podium for a team for Gods sake. This country is backward.

Mute rodrigo detriano
    Favourite rodrigo detriano
    Oct 2nd 2012, 9:57 AM

That ape Hogan has the most punchable looking head I think I’ve ever seen.

Mute Hakuin Murphy
    Favourite Hakuin Murphy
    Oct 2nd 2012, 11:07 AM

Bit harsh on Brian surely?
    Unless its Richie you mean…..big goal-scoring head on him…..

Mute Paddy Rodgers
    Favourite Paddy Rodgers
    Oct 2nd 2012, 2:52 PM

Rodrigo
    You should be banned for espousing and inciting hatred in that form. Violence is an expression of slower form of intelligence. If you cannot express yourself without behaving like an ape it would be better for you to remain silent.
    Surely your Sinn Fein minders have warned you before now.?

Mute John Byrne
    Favourite John Byrne
    Oct 2nd 2012, 9:28 AM

Delighted for him knobhead , just a pity we can’t get 15,000 to boo the rest of them outside the dail

Mute Biggins31
    Favourite Biggins31
    Oct 2nd 2012, 9:05 AM

Come the next elections – his support is going to be in a big dip!

Mute Martin Mac
    Favourite Martin Mac
    Oct 2nd 2012, 10:05 AM

Question! Why in the name of jaysus would a politician be up on a stage like a celebrity? Why why why? I’m so confused that parasites like these politicians are given a stage to stand on like they have done or won something!? Crazy

Oct 2nd 2012, 10:10 AM

Who invited them. People should find out who invited them and ask why are they arse licking politicians or is that all part of the GAA in this country. I see the GAA corrupt politicians and the church all from the same mould.

Mute Daisy Chainsaw
    Favourite Daisy Chainsaw
    Oct 2nd 2012, 10:37 AM

Local dignitaries always have to be invited to these things because you’re inviting the Office Holder, not the person. You don’t want to be the group or organisation that snubs the politicians because the cunning barstewards have long memories! You don’t want them there, and it’s a relief when they turn down the invite because then you’re not forced to be pleasant and polite to some slimy shleeveen you think has betrayed the constituency and the country. And you don’t want to spend your evening making sure nothing untoward is said to or over heard by said Slimy Shleeveen.

Yes. I have had that experience.

Oct 2nd 2012, 10:43 AM

I hear you Daisy but we should start being more straight out and honest and say sorry. No political people are required. This is supposed to be sport not politics or is it as I said the two can’t separated in this country.

Mute Eamon Mooney
    Favourite Eamon Mooney
    Oct 2nd 2012, 11:54 AM

the homecoming was a civic reception… held by the council….

Mute Themanwithnoplan2012
    Favourite Themanwithnoplan2012
    Oct 2nd 2012, 10:03 AM

a big thick ignorant bull headed eejit. he’s perfect for irish politics

Mute Brian
    Favourite Brian
    Oct 2nd 2012, 9:59 AM

The thing is he probably got a kick out of hearing the boos. What a vile creature.

Mute Ed
    Favourite Ed
    Oct 2nd 2012, 9:19 AM

big Phil is no Eejit, he will fix the potholes and smhooze the medical cards and generally hold up the parish pump and will be reelected easily at the next general election.what that says about our political/electoral system is more eyeopening that what it says of the good people of kilkenny n carlow

Oct 2nd 2012, 9:37 AM

Sadly I think you are correct Ed. I noticed that with all the row going on about Reilly and his stroke politics 1 of the additional centres added to the list was Kilkenny. Did not Reilly say he consulted other ‘senior’ cabinet members about his additions?

Mute Stephen murphy
    Favourite Stephen murphy
    Oct 2nd 2012, 10:20 AM

As if he cares, once he gets his pension and off to portugal with him. He’ll give us the two-fingers and laugh!

Oct 2nd 2012, 10:02 AM

If we could only do more than Boo someone we might get them out of office.

Mute ooceallaigh
    Favourite ooceallaigh
    Oct 2nd 2012, 9:23 AM

Not to worry, his constituency will still back sneaky phil in the next election.

Mute lisa duignan
    Favourite lisa duignan
    Oct 2nd 2012, 10:54 AM

He doesn’t care about getting re-elected. He has the pension secured now. He’s looking for a better job than Irish government. EU I’ll wager.

Mute DK Innovation
    Favourite DK Innovation
    Oct 2nd 2012, 11:59 AM

Look at the brightside. While he is in Kilkenny, he can’t be in Dublin screwing things up.

Mute Eric Sexton
    Favourite Eric Sexton
    Oct 2nd 2012, 11:39 AM

Wouldn’t it be great if our Minister for environment actually cared about the country and it’s environment. What has he done since he has been in government bar implementing charges? In fact, what are his objectives? I can’t see anything on his website or govt website. Look at Sweden for example:
    Sweden’s 16 environmental Quality Objectives
    • Reduced Climate Impact
    • Clean Air
    • Natural Acidification Only
    • A Non-Toxic Environment
    • A Protective Ozone Layer
    • A Safe Radiation Environment
    • Zero Eutrophication
    • Flourishing Lakes and Streams
    • Good-Quality Groundwater
    • A Balanced Marine Environment, Flourishing Coastal Areas and Archipelagos
    • Thriving Wetlands
    • Sustainable Forests
    • A Varied Agricultural Landscape
    • A Magnificent Mountain Landscape
    • A Good Built Environment
    • A Rich Diversity of Plant and Animal Life

Mute Don Booker
    Favourite Don Booker
    Oct 2nd 2012, 10:38 AM

Reminds me of the end of that film, Dangerous Liaisons. When you throw it in the face of struggling people as the country is subjected to grossly unjust inequalities and morally wrong bond payments to losing speculators you can expect that kinda welcome.

Mute Wild Rover
    Favourite Wild Rover
    Oct 2nd 2012, 12:35 PM

So disconnected from society and a display of ignorance from the elected Hogan is so smug , has a head only a mother could love , roll on the next election and we can get rid of FG and labour .

Mute Aisling Brady
    Favourite Aisling Brady
    Oct 2nd 2012, 4:16 PM

@ Wild Rover who wouldyou replace FG and Labour with? Certainly not FF. Ah don’t tell me, I think I can guess – Sinn Fein!

Mute Breda Liston
    Favourite Breda Liston
    Oct 2nd 2012, 12:09 PM

Speechless :-) hahahaha

Mute Shane O Malley
    Favourite Shane O Malley
    Oct 2nd 2012, 12:42 PM

the end is near for the trog that is phil hogan

Mute Claire Murphy
    Favourite Claire Murphy
    Oct 2nd 2012, 3:13 PM

But you can sure of one thing, the idiots will still vote him in next time,
    Short memories

Mute mary cull
    Favourite mary cull
    Oct 2nd 2012, 12:41 PM

Feed him to the pigs, putting him out to graze is too good for him..

Mute Wild Rover
    Favourite Wild Rover
    Oct 2nd 2012, 4:27 PM

@Aisling I take it from your comment that your supporting one of the two incompetent parties in power that basically spoofed their way through the general election I for one will never vote for these two they have shown themselves for what they are (Snakes) being told how to screw Ireland from Europe.

Mute alan
    Favourite alan
    Oct 2nd 2012, 1:07 PM

sure, isnt he nothing more than a hurler on the septic tank

Mute Colin Deane
    Favourite Colin Deane
    Oct 2nd 2012, 12:17 PM

toe jam

Mute Kenny Katt
    Favourite Kenny Katt
    Oct 2nd 2012, 10:48 PM

I booed big Phil

Mute Cian Deise Foley
    Favourite Cian Deise Foley
    Oct 3rd 2012, 9:52 AM

Well done to all our comrades in Kilkenny for this! He’s a big Bully and this will help him realise that he will have to live with the people of Kilkenny and Ireland once he’s ousted in a few years. The recent stuff about the traveller family just takes the biscuit. Politicians in this country have no honour anymore.

Mute Paul Brophy
    Favourite Paul Brophy
    Oct 19th 2012, 1:24 AM

I’m not the biggest fan of Phil Hogan but he has stolen John McGuinness’ thunder(as he is a devious human being) when you look at the investment that has come into the county such as; New Unit for Saint Luke’s, road works and much.