Take our survey • Win a prize

You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Pictures: James Reilly's name on the Stubbs Gazette defaulters' list

The Health Minister’s name has appeared in the magazine published today, causing much controversy as a result.

IT WAS REVEALED today that the Health Minister James Reilly’s name is appearing on the defaulters’ list published in the Stubbs Gazette.

The issue has caused considerable controversy with the Minister now likely to make a statement in the Dáil tomorrow in relation to his failure so far to comply with a High Court order regarding the €1.9 million purchase of a nursing home with four other investors.

A monthly business magazine with a cover price of just under €9, Stubbs Gazette has been published continiously since 1836 and has, according to its own website, become recognised as the “reliable and comprehensive source of information that may be determined about companies”.

Its managing director James Treacy said today that publication of the Minister’s name would likely have a a “very detrimental impact” on his reputation.

And here’s what that entry on the defaulters list looks like. It is believed to be the first time ever that a sitting cabinet minister has appeared on such a list:

Stubbs Gazette
1 / 6
  • Stubbs Gazette

Read: Health Minister’s business affairs ‘entirely in order’ insists Taoiseach

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

52 Comments
    Mute Cal1 Mooney
    Favourite Cal1 Mooney
    Jul 10th 2012, 6:49 PM

Like Come on ….

This is a direct quote from the Indo …

“Dr Reilly came under fire last year for reportedly hiring out his stately home, the 13-bedroom Laughton House in Moneygall, Co Offaly, for weddings and christenings, while securing a tax break for its upkeep.”

How much is this guy doing in the Dail, he is running a guest house, running clinics, a TD and a Minister all at the same time…
    Please someone explain how he can be doing all this or any of these things properly? Does he also have a special advisor exceeding the pay cap?

Of Course Kenny os going to defend him… grrrrrrrrrrrrrrr FFG/FF back and front of the same coin.

Mute Fiona Callan
    Favourite Fiona Callan
    Jul 10th 2012, 9:13 PM

How come Reilly gets to speak to the house tomorrow and Wallace was refused. Is rules different for Ministers and TDs ?

Mute SeanNorris
    Favourite SeanNorris
    Jul 10th 2012, 9:21 PM

Cal, just saw the house on the news, I suspect he is availing of a provision in the tax acts that gives a tax break on “significant” buildings once they are “opened to the public” for a minimum of 30 days a year. So if you can figure out when those days are and if you are of a mind to do so you could go to visit him!

Mute Cal1 Mooney
    Favourite Cal1 Mooney
    Jul 10th 2012, 9:35 PM

Sean, what have weddings and partys got to do with a house being opened to the public? Thats a profit making effort… nothing to do with doing good for the general public.

Mute SeanNorris
    Favourite SeanNorris
    Jul 10th 2012, 10:21 PM

Cal, I bet they are used to meet “the open to the public criteria” for the tax break! that’s what they have to do with it

Mute Catherine Lonergan
    Favourite Catherine Lonergan
    Mar 5th 2013, 3:35 PM

And I taught if u were a minister that under the constitution this is the only position ur supposed to attaib.

Mute mart_n
    Favourite mart_n
    Jul 10th 2012, 6:55 PM

“It’s absolutely unacceptable for someone not to pay their dues”

- James Reilly, 8/6/2012

Jul 10th 2012, 7:14 PM

Good news for those not paying the household tax. Even if you get taken to court and fined or ordered to pay follow the lead of a senior minister in government and the deputy leader of FG. Take your time in complying with the order.

Mute Strongbow62
    Favourite Strongbow62
    Jul 10th 2012, 7:41 PM

The sad thing is , is that James Reilly is probably the most qualified person to hold his office ever. He’s a fantastic doctor and knows how the medical machine operates unlike many of his predecessors he’s more than capable of revamping the totally dysfunctional health service that has evolved over decades.

Mute limofax
    Favourite limofax
    Jul 10th 2012, 8:39 PM

See his address in the top picture. Shouldn’t the letter G be actually a P ?

Mute Paul Smith
    Favourite Paul Smith
    Jul 10th 2012, 6:50 PM

If this was a member of FF they would be murder (and rightly too) but its amazing how quiet they all are……

Mute Bernadette Dunne
    Favourite Bernadette Dunne
    Jul 10th 2012, 8:22 PM

The Blue shirts are Masters at going under ground

Mute Fiona Callan
    Favourite Fiona Callan
    Jul 10th 2012, 8:47 PM

Aaah now the bold Enda is defending him. They can come up with all the ridiculous excuses they want. Like they couldnt agree percentages. Simple fact is O’Reilly did not need to wait for the 4 investors agreement to pay up, he could have gone ahead on his own and paid.
    I do not fault the man for not paying if he simply doesnt have the money to pay, what makes me sick is that he has said since taking office “its absolutely unacceptable for someone not to pay their debts ” Hypocrite, Hypocrite Hypocrite, Liar, Liar , Liar

Mute PeeedOff
    Favourite PeeedOff
    Jul 10th 2012, 6:54 PM

Sack Reilly now….It’s the only way !!!

Mute Lucille Ball
    Favourite Lucille Ball
    Jul 10th 2012, 6:59 PM

Quote from RTE sixone news..’This is all very embarrassing for Dr O’Reilly ‘ …. Huh? Embarrassing ? Sure you couldn’t embarrass those fffffffers!! There’s an excuse for this and an excuse for that.. one law for them and another law for us.. I effen hate the sight of every single one of them…!

Mute Eddie Barrett
    Favourite Eddie Barrett
    Jul 10th 2012, 7:07 PM

Defending the absolutely indefensible !
    Typical FG business acumen , with the Blueshirts circling the wagons , while the Labour Party are on the run as usual & cannot be heard at all in a crisis.
    O’Reilly must resign – but will he ?

Mute Fagan's
    Favourite Fagan's
    Jul 10th 2012, 6:50 PM

FG will want themselves to cop on, or they’ll be like FF facing now weekly reports of their reps and ex ones being arrested and taken to court or questioned by fraud squad. Another associate of Brian Cowen pleaded guilty to theft and fraud today.

Mute Fagan's
    Favourite Fagan's
    Jul 10th 2012, 6:56 PM

http://t.co/vQwtCvH3 The link to the latest member of the gangster party to be in court.

Mute PeeedOff
    Favourite PeeedOff
    Jul 10th 2012, 7:13 PM

Fagan. Read that. Seems they gave him his passport back to go on holidays. Guilty, but shur have a holiday first. Amazing… Just freaking amazing…!!!

Mute Sean O'Keeffe
    Favourite Sean O'Keeffe
    Jul 10th 2012, 9:11 PM

Ming Flanagan looks increasingly respectable as this Dail term goes on.
    When are Donnelly and Ross going to found a party and bring some small bit of respectability to Irish politics.

Mute Fagan's
    Favourite Fagan's
    Jul 10th 2012, 9:33 PM

75% of the Judges, senior guards and DPP people have been put in place by FF over the last 30 years. He’ll have more friends in the legal system than at his own wedding. Give it a short time and he’ll be in an open prison, and most of it will be suspended for good behaviour. FF will be burning the phone lines to sort things out for their buddy. They know if they don’t look after their people that are going through the courts that they might start talking and burst the org. wide open.

Look at the last few months alone, 2 ex MEP’s in court, 2 ex-Ministers arrested by the fraud squad, countless cllrs in the dock. Several of the leading figures, including party leaders condemned as corrupt.

If people starter talking, it would start an avalanche of trials that would end up with most of the leading members of FF on trial from the last 30 years.

Mute Sheila Byrne
    Favourite Sheila Byrne
    Jul 10th 2012, 7:08 PM

Sad, that a doctor who is the Minister for Health has done nothing as yet, really, to change anything for the better, for the good of the Irish people, patients, waiting lists, trollys in halls, old people, dying, having to sit (if there is one) on a hard chair for hours on end in an A&E. I know what I’m talking about.

Their world and ours. Nothing has changed, nothing will change. Power is a terrible thing. I wonder can he look at himself at the end of every day and say “I’m doing my best for the people of Ireland, because they deserve better”?

Mute Réada Cronin
    Favourite Réada Cronin
    Jul 10th 2012, 7:37 PM

What is sickening about this is that Minister for Health was investing in a Private Nursing Home while he should be concentrating on sorting out the health service for all citizens of the state. Our sick and aged are dying on hospital trollies meanwhile Dr James Reilly was trying to make a buck. Fine Gael make me sick. They are Stepford politicians devoid of empathy.

I wonder if his colleague Minister for Justice Alan Shatter has snatched Mrs Reilly’s engagement rings and inherited jewelry? Not a chance.

Mute Cal1 Mooney
    Favourite Cal1 Mooney
    Jul 10th 2012, 7:47 PM

No Reada, apparently Shatter only wants to take Jewellery from those that owe the least. Please, can someone from FFg/Labour refute this, if i am inaccurate in my statement.
    No decent member of FFg/Labour worth their salt will owe anything less than 20,000.
    Phil Hogan 900,000 (interest only mortgage from his good friend fingers fingeleton, the same Fingleton who almost single handedly bankrupt this country).

Mute SeanNorris
    Favourite SeanNorris

Have to pull you up on some very simplistic but populist statements there Reada, I think if you took the trouble to look you would see that the original transaction that has given rise to the judgement was entered into before he became minister and it won’t be his “buddy” Alan Shatter or any law that he might be about to enact who will be taking any jewelry from him but those who have obtained the judgement who may seek to ” enforce” the judgement and sending in the sherrif to obtain goods to the value of the debt. This law already exists

Having said all that as I posted previously in the various treads about Joe And Clares expenses our none of our public reps are great at meeting probity tests so apart from some hot air it will be business as usual!

Mute Réada Cronin
    Favourite Réada Cronin
    Jul 10th 2012, 10:03 PM

Sean, before Fine Gael won the election, which let’s face it was a one man race in this our conservative yet beloved Ireland, Dr James Reilly was the Fine Gael spokesperson on Health. Is that close enough?

And I only ever write my true feelings on this website. if they’re considered populist then I’m glad that most of the population agree with me. Populist isn’t a dirty word you know :-)

Mute Eileen Gabbett
    Favourite Eileen Gabbett
    Jul 10th 2012, 7:24 PM

Reilly
    Resign Now . Your conduct is indefensible ! Get out get out get out . It is amazing the usual government defender brigade are no where to be seen this evening. Two faced CRAW THUMPERS !

Mute Mad Taoiseach
    Favourite Mad Taoiseach
    Jul 10th 2012, 7:32 PM

Useless minister. Pathetic performance since taking office. Disgraceful carry on. Embarrassment to the nation. Resign, resign, resign.

Mute seamus ryan
    Favourite seamus ryan
    Jul 10th 2012, 7:24 PM

They have been out of power for so long that they are just trying to feather their nests because they know they wont be in power after the next election. Every day I lose more and more hope that this country can recover under this shower of crooks. At least Dick Turpin wore a mask…..

Mute Chris O Connor
    Favourite Chris O Connor
    Jul 10th 2012, 7:21 PM

Irish Gangsters every single one of them! Except they use a pen to destroy lives and cheat and swindle

Mute Jackie Crowe
    Favourite Jackie Crowe
    Jul 10th 2012, 8:19 PM

another leech caught, he should resign and no pension, prison for all the thieves,,,, they really need to clean up house and start with bankers, and stop payoffs and pensions to anyone caught thieving, we struggle to pay mortgages, keep food on our tables and lights on in our homes and they just keep spending and stealing, if what they stole was given back to our garda, teachers and nurses, this country would not be half as bad, they stay in 600 euro a nite hotel, i go to wedding and go to second hand shop for a new old dress, they hire in someone for 500 thousand to do a job, offer that job for 100 thousand aload of people need work in every field, recession is world wide, but nope they just keep spending and taking, leeches is all they are bleeding us dry, but they learn from the top, how many people has enda ever hired,, answer none, he got check from government for teacher salary, from eec for farm supplements, what does he know about hiring, paying taxes for employees, we do need business people in politics but not back door party people, as the dragon tried, we need change and really bad

Mute Mark Hamilton
    Favourite Mark Hamilton
    Jul 10th 2012, 8:30 PM

Jackie…take a big BIG breath and start again!

Mute Réada Cronin
    Favourite Réada Cronin
    Jul 10th 2012, 9:10 PM

Mark, no need to put the Fine Gael logo beside your name. It’s obvious you are incapable of feeling any empathy for Jackie.

I don’t care if James Reilly has had financial difficulties – we all have. What is disgusting about this case is that he, as the Health Minister has an obvious conflict of interest. Let’s be honest, James Reilly is more interested in providing health care for those willing to pay through the nose for it than those replying on a decent public health system. Capitalist Fine Gael!

Mute Eileen Gabbett
    Favourite Eileen Gabbett

Jackie
    You are perfectly right in what you say . Do not allow anyone tell you otherwise .
    This shower of two faced craw thumpers are a disgrace . They suffer no shame because they share no empathy with ordinary decent people .

Mute dublinlad72
    Favourite dublinlad72
    Jul 10th 2012, 7:33 PM

I would like to hear from David Higgns, his unbiased opinions are always intriguing…

Mute tuba hg
    Favourite tuba hg
    Jul 10th 2012, 7:50 PM

He should resign with immediate effect

Mute Mark Hamilton
    Favourite Mark Hamilton
    Jul 10th 2012, 8:32 PM

Why…what has he done that is illegal , immoral , unethical or in breach of Dail rules?

Jul 10th 2012, 9:25 PM

Ah Mark he is a senior minister in the government, the deputy leader of FG who has failed to comply with a court directive. In most countries that would be a good enough reason to resign.

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Jul 10th 2012, 9:32 PM

Kerry the sad thing is a you said “most countries” just not this one though.

Mute Mad Taoiseach
    Favourite Mad Taoiseach
    Jul 10th 2012, 9:13 PM

According to Nine o clock news, the first Reilly knew of the judgement being registered against him was when he arrived in Cyprus.
    Now I ask, what chance do the Irish people who suffer illness have for support, care and treatment when the health minister doesn’t even know what is going on in his own life?

Mute Disildoforus
    Favourite Disildoforus
    Jul 10th 2012, 9:21 PM

even I read about the judgement a number of months ago, thats a ‘the dog ate my homework’ excuse! Pathetic!!

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Jul 10th 2012, 9:26 PM

That would be RTE the neutrel state broadcaster.Did they mention this listed in the commerical court in Feburary.I’m still waiting to hear mention of Mr Hogan’s 900 grand interest only loan off Mr Fingleton and i wonder is it non recourse?

Mute Disildoforus
    Favourite Disildoforus
    Jul 10th 2012, 8:45 PM

ffg/lab: a bunch of no marks, with with arrogance and ego’s as big as zeppelins. reilly wont resign, enda will keep hiding and noonan et al will keep telling porkies. vote with your feet next general election. get them out. considering the job they are doing they all deserve minimum wage!

Mute Rob
    Favourite Rob
    Jul 10th 2012, 7:31 PM

Who cares if he’s on a ‘tax defaulters list’. Only idiots pay tax to bailout ponzi banks and their bondholders.

Mute Vocal Outrage
    Favourite Vocal Outrage
    Jul 10th 2012, 7:55 PM

Don’t think it was a tax defaulters list, rather a high court judgement to another group of business people that has not been paid yet so they basically went back to court to register the lack of payment and Stubbs routinely publishes a list of registered non payments from the courts

Mute John Stenson
    Favourite John Stenson
    Jul 10th 2012, 7:11 PM

highly unlikely

Mute Darren Delaney
    Favourite Darren Delaney
    Jul 10th 2012, 7:01 PM

Meh!!!

Mute Mark Hamilton
    Favourite Mark Hamilton
    Jul 10th 2012, 8:31 PM

Now Jackie…are you OK?

Mute pjbrowne
    Favourite pjbrowne
    Jul 11th 2012, 5:20 AM

he is another minister telling lies and will be caught out soon

Mute Tim Jackson
    Favourite Tim Jackson
    Jul 10th 2012, 11:19 PM

The tax defaulters list is insignificant. He is 100% right not to pay tax to the German Banks. At the end of the day, most of our tax will be going into the pockets of Bondholders.

Mute Mark Hamilton
    Favourite Mark Hamilton
    Jul 10th 2012, 11:33 PM

I wonder if anyone wants to wait and see what the man has to say tomorrow in the Dail. I wonder if anyone would like to suspend judgement until he is home and gives us his views. In examining the majority of postings on this subject I can only conclude that there are some seriously toxic people lurking in the shadow of nom de plumes to attack in packs. Do we live in a Society where there is no balance or is this what we have to look forward to as an alternative political force.

Jul 11th 2012, 12:19 AM

Court order made in April in July the current minister of health is declared a defaulter. To be honest Mark I’ve no interest in what he has to say. I’m looking forward to the next time Phil Hogan starts threatening those who haven’t signed up to the household tax. He’ll say it’s the law and I’ll say it’s alright Phil I’m following Dr. James path. Senior Minister of the Government and the deputy head of FG has said ignore court orders. Lesson learnt.