You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Shutterstock/Ken Tannenbaum

Take care - scam artists are going door to door pretending to collect for Pieta House

A spokesperson for the charity has urged people to be vigilant.

SCAM ARTISTS POSING as representatives of charity Pieta House have been collecting door-to-door in the Dublin area.

The people in question have been running the scam since last year.

Most incidents that have been reported have been in the greater Dublin area although certain incidents have taken place in surrounding counties.

Pieta House is a centre for the prevention of self-harm or suicide which has been operating from its base in Lucan, Co Dublin for almost ten years.

peelo Marie Peelo

Speaking to TheJournal.ie Marie Peelo, fundraising co-ordinator with the charity, said that they are concerned that “vulnerable people are being targeted” by the con artists.

“What is happening is that these people are calling to doors and they have a card with them that has Pieta House on it,” she said.

We want to make it clear that we do not go door-to-door when collecting, we don’t allow that at all.
Whatever money these people are collecting isn’t ending up with Pieta House.

While the various incidents that the charity has been made aware of have been reported to the gardaí TheJournal.ie understands that none of the people in question have yet been apprehended.

“It seems to be happening in different areas,” says Peelo.

The odd time we have gotten a second report of such activity from the same area twice, but only rarely.

Vigilant

We would urge people to be vigilant – our concern is for supporters of Pieta House being taken in by callers to their door, and that vulnerable people are being abused.

“We want people to be mindful of their own safety as well,” she said, adding that such behaviour is affecting other charities, not just Pieta House.

Read: How an ex-Garda went from the depths of depression to Winter Olympics hopeful

Read: This Irish teen saved a man from taking his own life – and had a baby named after him

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

20 Comments
    Mute Trevor Power
    Favourite Trevor Power
    May 2nd 2014, 11:08 PM

Great! Nice to see good things happen to good people!

Mute Ruth Murphy
    Favourite Ruth Murphy
    May 2nd 2014, 11:05 PM

Remarkable young man , fair play to him!

Mute John Michael
    Favourite John Michael
    May 2nd 2014, 11:48 PM

Fair play alright. He has raised €3,000,000 through telling porkies. He’ll be running the marathon for charity next.

Mute Brian Barry
    Favourite Brian Barry
    May 2nd 2014, 11:54 PM

Pretty sure the 3 million wasn’t raised for his own benefit only, but the benefit of all sufferers of cancer. How ignorant of you.

Mute John Conroy
    Favourite John Conroy
    May 3rd 2014, 12:05 AM

You are actually kidding???? Seriously?? Get a life! An amazing inspirational young man and all you can do is troll around saying nasty crap!

Mute Alan Duffy
    Favourite Alan Duffy
    May 3rd 2014, 12:15 AM

Wow John!!

Mute Neil Barrett
    Favourite Neil Barrett
    May 3rd 2014, 12:24 AM

john michael — he is still dying you moron; his short term palliation simply went well. no porkies

Mute Cliodhna
    Favourite Cliodhna
    May 3rd 2014, 12:35 AM

Do and say everything with a good heart, it’s better for your soul…..

Mute Maria Hickey-Fagan
    Favourite Maria Hickey-Fagan
    May 3rd 2014, 12:53 AM

John Michael. You are a prat.

Mute Mark Ryan
    Favourite Mark Ryan
    May 3rd 2014, 7:07 AM

Not cool

Mute Brian Farrell
    Favourite Brian Farrell
    May 3rd 2014, 8:54 AM

John. Does your mouth bleed every 28 days.

Mute Dermot Lane
    Favourite Dermot Lane
    May 3rd 2014, 9:13 AM

John that has to be the most despicable comment I’ve ever seen on the journal, and that’s saying something.

Mute Ruth Murphy
    Favourite Ruth Murphy
    May 3rd 2014, 9:23 AM

Get off your high horse as I said in my comment fair play to him ! Shame on you leaving such a narrow minded comment !

Mute Laura Quinn
    Favourite Laura Quinn
    May 3rd 2014, 6:00 PM

how rude of u. what would you know……obviously nothing. the guy is still dying. an inspiration to all cancer patients that there is a bit light at the end of the tunnel. helps me keep my faith.

Mute Tom Colgan
    Favourite Tom Colgan
    May 3rd 2014, 8:35 PM

One word “jackass”

Mute Dave Byrne
    Favourite Dave Byrne
    May 14th 2014, 2:23 PM

How do you feel now? You f*cking clown

Mute Conor O'Callaghan
    Favourite Conor O'Callaghan
    May 2nd 2014, 11:07 PM

I’m pretty sure karma exists. Well done.

Mute Laura Quinn
    Favourite Laura Quinn
    May 2nd 2014, 11:20 PM

Wow!! So happy for him. I’m keeping the faith, miracles do happen!!

Mute winding_down
    Favourite winding_down
    May 3rd 2014, 1:47 AM

And so do medical advances! Delighted for the guy, what a terrifying experience for somebody so young.

Mute Shaunagh
    Favourite Shaunagh
    May 2nd 2014, 11:54 PM

This is like the story of the recent doc Louis Theroux did in Ceaders hosp in LA. A family where told to turn of their sons life support and they refused. 15 days later he woke up, was able to speak and after intense rehab walked back in to visit the docs. The docs couldn’t explain it. Stephen and this story prove not giving up works.

Mute Darren Byrne
    Favourite Darren Byrne
    May 2nd 2014, 11:21 PM

Keep battling, never give up…. Legend

Mute Bailey B
    Favourite Bailey B
    May 2nd 2014, 11:18 PM

Best news! Fingers crossed buddy x

Mute Aireach
    Favourite Aireach
    May 2nd 2014, 11:30 PM

Now he is a guy we should admire and support.

Well done Sir. I salute you and hope you recover and that you live a long and happy life.

Mute Trish
    Favourite Trish
    May 2nd 2014, 11:37 PM

Been following his story for weeks, absolutely thrilled to hear this!

Mute PK
    Favourite PK
    May 3rd 2014, 12:04 AM

Probably the best example of good karma I’ve ever seen. Amazing lad, his positivity is infectious, and it really makes you wonder if a greater power knew that it wasn’t his time….

Mute gerry campbell
    Favourite gerry campbell
    May 2nd 2014, 11:32 PM

God bless him great news

Mute Andy Murray
    Favourite Andy Murray
    May 3rd 2014, 8:51 AM

It wasn’t god. It was science.

Mute Gareth Whelan
    Favourite Gareth Whelan
    May 2nd 2014, 11:10 PM

Nice to see no red thumbs :)

Mute Mike Clinton
    Favourite Mike Clinton
    May 3rd 2014, 12:32 AM

Now here is a lad that can teach us how to appreciate and respect life.
    Wishing him all the best.

Mute Daisy Chainsaw
    Favourite Daisy Chainsaw
    May 3rd 2014, 12:18 AM

Good for him. Long may it continue.

Mute Jason O Cillin
    Favourite Jason O Cillin
    May 2nd 2014, 11:23 PM

Chemo is a load of bollix does more damage than good proven fact!! he has nothing to lose now and should try alternative cannabis treatment with all it’s cancer curing properties… Hope everything works out for the kid.

Mute Irish Red
    Favourite Irish Red
    May 2nd 2014, 11:55 PM

Ugh you’ll be telling him to try aromatherapy next…. Go away

Mute damian
    Favourite damian
    May 3rd 2014, 12:14 AM

Worked well for Bob Marley and Steve Jobs … Oh wait!

Mute Paddy Hannigan
    Favourite Paddy Hannigan
    May 3rd 2014, 1:54 AM

Cannibas has never been said to cure cancer except by whack jobs who are clutching at straws. It has been showen to be helpful in treating the symptoms. Your misinformation is doing nothing to help have it legalized.

Mute Laura Quinn
    Favourite Laura Quinn
    May 3rd 2014, 6:02 PM

chemo is keeping me alive…..and many other people.

Mute Jamesy Boy
    Favourite Jamesy Boy
    May 3rd 2014, 1:47 AM

Absolute legend, pity that snake Cameron had to hijack the picture.

Mute David Clarke
    Favourite David Clarke
    May 3rd 2014, 12:34 AM

My god micheal john could of said something nice still would of got notice im sure if ur nicer to people they will be ur friend

Mute James Joseph Superior Power
    Favourite James Joseph Superior Power
    May 3rd 2014, 5:45 AM

There is a lot to be said for positive tough and the will to live. If I were still a religious man and believed in the existence of saints this young man is more of a Saint then any of the two pope’s who were canonised last week.

Mute Nicola Coug
    Favourite Nicola Coug
    May 3rd 2014, 9:01 AM

Wonderful story. It’s so refreshing to see that sometimes good things do indeed happen to good people. Never give up!

May 3rd 2014, 10:22 AM

John Michael you plank, guess you are a sad sad attention seeker, go back in you box you moron

Mute Tom Shanahan
    Favourite Tom Shanahan
    May 3rd 2014, 12:37 PM

A true inspiration. Great news

Mute Brian Moore
    Favourite Brian Moore
    May 3rd 2014, 6:45 PM

Remarkable, hope he stays well