You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.
The legislation, which will come into effect in 2020, means all disposable cups, cutlery and plates will have to be made of at least 50% biologically-sourced materials that can be composted.
Fianna Fáil Councillor Kenneth O’Flynn believes the Irish government should immediately follow the French example.
Plastics contaminated with food can contaminate other items in the recycling bin, leading to the whole recycling bin being tipped into landfill.
Since the Second World War, humans have made enough plastic to coat the Earth entirely in cling film, and last year only about 1% of plastic produced worldwide was recycled.
A fork lift truck gathers material from a recycling bay in Leicestershire, England. PA Archive / Press Association Images
PA Archive / Press Association Images / Press Association Images
Seabirds
More than 6.4 million tons of plastic debris worldwide ends up in the sea, where nine out of every 10 seabirds have plastic in their guts. It has been estimated that, by 2050, there will be more plastic in the sea than fish.
“Ireland was the first country to introduce a bag tax in 2002 and this led to a 90% reduction in plastic bags,” O’Flynn said.
A ban on plastic plates and cups will see them replaced with 100% biodegradable products.
This will greatly reduce the volume of plastic going to landfill and also reduce litter and the resulting clean up costs for councils across Ireland.
“There are now far more environmentally friendly alternatives but the fast food and cafe industries are responding too slowly to reduce the amount of plastic waste they create.”
OFlynn added that a timetabled government ban would force retailers to make the switch to biodegradable alternatives, reducing environmental costs.
TheJournal.ie have asked the Department of Housing, Planning and Local Government if Ireland would consider such a ban.
A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article.
Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.
@Paul Madigan: There’s only one reason any action was taken by MM about Cowen and that’s because Varadkar has him by the short and curlies – which, btw, Varadkar is loving, second by second; there’s much more to come with this inept corrosive government, but the reigns really have been tightened within FG, more so than FF when it comes to keeping the untruths hidden within the party – I can’t stand FG, they are very tight when it comes to minding each other, and like FF they’re equally as deplorable and disrespectful of the electorate and the people of Ireland. Varadkar has inside info and it’ll be drip-fed to the MSM accordingly to the point whereby he’ll be delivering the shamrock next year in person to the US president.
The sad fact is, in this country, politics doesn’t attract decent, ethical and emphatic people, they’re mostly sly and devious, some just happen to be better than others at cheating and deviousness, but it’s the taxpayer who has to pay for their meals, drivers, cars, garda drivers, drinks, smokes, beds, houses, apartments, licences, offices, staff, families, insurances, haircuts, make-up, pets, clothes, salaries, expenses – I’m sure I’ve forgotten lots more – but then we’re in to the massive spending on OUR behalf, such as homelessness, HSE, NPHET, civil servants, useless quangos, senators, TDs, NBP, NCH etc., and much more, again.
I’ve maintained for many years that politics should be a vocation insofar as a basic minimum wage applies; they are paid massive salaries in a tiny country such as ours with privileges and expenses which rival those of countries with multiples of our population. Maybe we should have a referendum on politician’s salaries? I think E100,000 p/a (including expenses) is dignified, ample and respectful enough to someone who is, after all, supposed to be [primarily] representing others and not themselves. If nothing else, it’ll certainly separate those who are in it for money, morality or beliefs.
If NCHDs, nurses, paramedics, firefighters, teachers et al., can live on less than E100,000 p/a – why can’t politicians?
@Lao Tzu: Leo and FG are playing a blinder. They will let FF destroy themselves then collapse the gov. Off to the polls we go and FG will pick up 10 more seats, FF vote will completely collapse then it will be back to how it was. MM was and still is such a weak leader he can’t see what’s happening, it’s like he is so far behind in the race he actually thinks he’s winning.
@Lao Tzu: A lot of politicians are out for personal gain and are no sainst but I totally disagree with you saying politicians should be paid a minimum wage, they do work very hard and deserve a decent remuneration for the responsibility they hold. I firmly believe that if you pay public servants too little you actively invite corruption especially with regards to security forces, politicians and anyone with anything to do with town planning!
@Paul Madigan: Of course they’re shocked, no one is ever held accountable in Ireland for wrong doing, he drink drove, tried to avoid a a Garda checkpoint, so knew he was over the limit, was caught speeding, drove alone for years on a provisional licence, and refused to answer questions on many of these issues, those that are shocked need to go too. They are public representatives, and need to set good examples to the public. Enough of this toxic party environment, Irish politics needs a good kick up the ar*e.
@Ken Bracken: It`ll ” Actively ” invite corruption ? , what do you think they`re up to now ?. Can you seriously say that political parties, even in the past, have been free from corruption ?
Well done Micheál , I’m not a fan of his party but he has made the correct decision on this occasion. Barry thought he was above the law and accountability and it’s great to see this wasn’t accepted.
Hopefully this is a sign of things to come from this coalition.
@Rochelle: how did he think he was above the law. He got caught, paid the fine, served his ban. The law around provisional licenses is a mess and he used it like many people
@Garreth mc mahon: He ignored provisional license laws, drove while drunk and then attempted to evade a garda checkpoint. That’s 3 laws broken in one incident but still he had the neck to claim “shock” at being dismissed in one of the highest positions in the country.
@Garreth mc mahon: He broke provisional laws by not having a license holder accompanying as he admitted himself. Whether it’s a common breach or not is irrelevant, this is (was) a minister of the country and the best behaviour should be expected.
@Garreth mc mahon: what about his claiming driving expenses while not banned, driving on a provisional without a licenced driver accompanying him, and driving on the motorways while on a provisional. He broke multiple laws daily, why should he be allowed to be in charge of anything?
@Garreth mc mahon: It looks like he turned away from the checkpoint according to the Gardai?. He was only done for drink driving and is now claiming he didn’t turn away from the checkpoint because he wasn’t charged with that offence. Martin obviously believes the Garda account and not Cowans. Just because he wasn’t charged doesn’t mean he didn’t turn away… Guards probably thought the drink driving was enough to charge him with, luckily for him.
@Rochelle: Would Michael Martin have faced more questions re was he aware of all the facts 7 days ago when Barry Cowen read out a statement in Dail? According to media reports he knew 10 days ago,is this true?
@Garreth mc mahon: there is no conflict. He is just denying it because he wasn’t charged with it and is calling the Gardai liars now. Like all court cases there was probably a deal done that he would plead to the lesser charges and other charges would be dropped. This plea bargaining is a very common aspect of Irish law.
@Derek Dunne: oh now the comments on this story are open again. While Meehole wanted the story to go away, comments were closed… now PRESTO .. back open again, doesnt matter anymore.
I have a strange feeling that the leaking of the original offence came from a disgruntled person within FF, and it was a side ward swipe at Micheál Martin by getting at his supporters, I would not be surprised at all if there was more to come out and Micheál Martin had no choice but to sack Barry Cowen. I also expect some more FF dirty laundry to leak out in the near future.
@Brian McDonnell: there must be something else hanging around there. I don’t particularly like FF or Cowan either for that matter but it seems a massive price to pay for a slip up like that. At the end of the day if he had a full licence he was out the gap & no one would be any wiser. I’ve also seen various historical shots of him getting out of “not so small cars” in the past few weeks & I find it shocking that he was driving these around on a provisional licence. The other thing is that I don’t see anyone else in the car either, isn’t he supposed to have a driver with a full licence with him?? I don’t know if he has taken a test since but some of these shots are pre him being banned.
He should have been canned the moment it was revealed that he failed to disclose this to his party.
And the offence itself is no misdemeanor, it wasn’t a 2km drive from the local to the house, it was Croke Park to Offaly on a provisional licence !
Mr Martin’s days are numbered Already, this Gov. Won’t last 6 Mts. , and Martin will be ousted. at least 5 or 6 of them Gunning for him now. Not much loss.
Mr Martin discussed Mr Cowen’s gda record with varadkar and Ryan, and both said he must go,Martin sacked his loyal soldier to stay in the taoiseachs office,does Cowen know Martin discussed his private GDA file with varadkar and Ryan, possibly many more.
@@mdmak33: were you in the room while they were having this discussion. You seem to know a lot more than the rest of us. Please fill us in on the rest of the juicy detail’s?
You would think there would be some level of due diligence or fitness & probity check carried out on those who are to be appointed as ministers. A simple form asking them to list convictions, cautions, financial interests would have saved a lot of pain.
@Danny O’Donoghue: it goes without question that anyone being considered for ministerial office would be thoroughly vetted by their party leader to ensure there were no surprises lurking in their past. Drink driving offences are held in open court so there is no way this could not have been known about since 2016. Michael Martin probably knew and took a chance but it has blown up in his face. Typical cute hoor FF politics thought they could hide it or bluff it. M Martin was happy with Cowans explanation and sacked him a few hours later! Says as much about Martin as it does about Cowan. Not fit to be a Taoiseach.
@Danny O’Donoghue: There is; The Civil Service Code of Standards & Behaviour. All new entrants are to be given a copy and must sign to say they’ve read and accept it.
@Jjohn Cconway: except this was at the lower end of offences and was dealt with by fine and immediate suspension as per the law. Not all drink driving cases go to court.
I don’t believe that Martin knew nothing of this, a good leader would have known the next morning whether one of his party members was arrested the night before.
@Just Some Guy: im not argorant enough like fine geal and fianna fail tds to think I should have a ministery so you can forget about your irrational comment about given me a ministry position
@Garreth mc mahon: Political witch hunts is a two way street. F.F. are Masters at it .This time Martin over played his hand . Perhaps he could offer the job to one of his T.Ds. who thought they had a right to a ministerial position only to be shafted by Martin.. Don’t think they will be too anxious to get Martin off the hook that easy. Now Martin has questions of when and what he knew about Cowen.
I think the straw that broke the camels back was the disclosure of his file by himself to the media on Sunday about the possibility of a Garda facing criminal prosecution for disclosing his offence… not know if the leak came from the Gardai at all .. may have come from a solicitor or another source the thing is he went public before GSOC could in estimate thereby bringing the Gardai into disrepute before the investigation… he orchestrated his own downfall there …
Sad and all wait is, this is the new reality. And the sooner the better M Martin is tossed in jail for the treasonous our loss of our sovereignty back in 2010-2011. He is now the chief can-carrier, with E Ryan of greens.
Would this termination from Cabinet have been avoided if The Minister took questions from the Opposition in The Dáil? That is something we’ll never know.
Barry Cowen ye made your bed. You will now unfortunately have to sleep in it. People make mistakes in life, we all agree with that and move on. But for some strange reason you thought you would sort it. Sorry Barry. Sure it is what it is.
Trumpian politics. They tried to misdirect the media. This overshadowed everything else that followed tonight. Cowen was gone the minute the story broke about his previous conviction. The timing of the announcement was strategic.
I’m totally as there are more pressing issues such as the Yanks being left in and we will be in lock down again because of Leo and his gobshits. Barry was a pawn in this game and it will be the start of the end of Ireland.
@Martin Smith: why does geography make a difference, where a minister is concerned? Ministers work in the national interest unless you want something different?
Show me a person who has never made a mistake all u Holier than thou!!. He took the punishment at the time. Its history now and also remember he has a v ill brother . I am not a fan of the man but give him a break for God’s sake!!!
If it emerges that there is more to the story than his drink driving ban then he deserves to be sacked but if it’s for this reason only then it’s a shame as he is a person who would have been a good minister. We need people who know what they are doing in Government at this time of crisis
Its a pity that decisions such as sacking comes after the allegations. All do mistakes in
life we should regret and move on that shouldn’t be a stumble block in a career..
Feel sorry cowen the embarrassment he has to go through
@joelking: A mistake is a once off. Cowen broke the law hundreds of times by driving alone on a provisional licence for years. He broke it again by drinking and driving. He knowingly and intentionally broke the law every day.
He should have made his driving test a priority when he was 18, like every other youngster in the country.
Start leading the country Michael and let this issue die. It’s getting worse than Fine Gales swinggate. Leo is taking the opportunity to outstage you and never misses an opportunity to vox pop.
@Alan Wilson: but at least we won’t be hearing any complaints from Offaly about not having a Minister any more Alan. And even in the Dept of Agriculture and Fisheries. Step forward the saintly Pippa Hackett from the Greens!
Barry should have come clean with all the information in relation to his drink driving conviction and maybe he might have survived .
House of Cards Irish style.
Ireland already has some medical deserts - and it’s been getting worse
Maria Delaney
4 hrs ago
St Patrick's Day
Quiz: How much do you know about green things?
6 hrs ago
United States
Tánaiste says Conor McGregor 'doesn't speak for Ireland' as MMA fighter arrives at White House
Updated
12 hrs ago
Your Cookies. Your Choice.
Cookies help provide our news service while also enabling the advertising needed to fund this work.
We categorise cookies as Necessary, Performance (used to analyse the site performance) and Targeting (used to target advertising which helps us keep this service free).
We and our 157 partners store and access personal data, like browsing data or unique identifiers, on your device. Selecting Accept All enables tracking technologies to support the purposes shown under we and our partners process data to provide. If trackers are disabled, some content and ads you see may not be as relevant to you. You can resurface this menu to change your choices or withdraw consent at any time by clicking the Cookie Preferences link on the bottom of the webpage .Your choices will have effect within our Website. For more details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
We and our vendors process data for the following purposes:
Use precise geolocation data. Actively scan device characteristics for identification. Store and/or access information on a device. Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development.
Cookies Preference Centre
We process your data to deliver content or advertisements and measure the delivery of such content or advertisements to extract insights about our website. We share this information with our partners on the basis of consent. You may exercise your right to consent, based on a specific purpose below or at a partner level in the link under each purpose. Some vendors may process your data based on their legitimate interests, which does not require your consent. You cannot object to tracking technologies placed to ensure security, prevent fraud, fix errors, or deliver and present advertising and content, and precise geolocation data and active scanning of device characteristics for identification may be used to support this purpose. This exception does not apply to targeted advertising. These choices will be signaled to our vendors participating in the Transparency and Consent Framework.
Manage Consent Preferences
Necessary Cookies
Always Active
These cookies are necessary for the website to function and cannot be switched off in our systems. They are usually only set in response to actions made by you which amount to a request for services, such as setting your privacy preferences, logging in or filling in forms. You can set your browser to block or alert you about these cookies, but some parts of the site will not then work.
Targeting Cookies
These cookies may be set through our site by our advertising partners. They may be used by those companies to build a profile of your interests and show you relevant adverts on other sites. They do not store directly personal information, but are based on uniquely identifying your browser and internet device. If you do not allow these cookies, you will experience less targeted advertising.
Functional Cookies
These cookies enable the website to provide enhanced functionality and personalisation. They may be set by us or by third party providers whose services we have added to our pages. If you do not allow these cookies then these services may not function properly.
Performance Cookies
These cookies allow us to count visits and traffic sources so we can measure and improve the performance of our site. They help us to know which pages are the most and least popular and see how visitors move around the site. All information these cookies collect is aggregated and therefore anonymous. If you do not allow these cookies we will not be able to monitor our performance.
Store and/or access information on a device 109 partners can use this purpose
Cookies, device or similar online identifiers (e.g. login-based identifiers, randomly assigned identifiers, network based identifiers) together with other information (e.g. browser type and information, language, screen size, supported technologies etc.) can be stored or read on your device to recognise it each time it connects to an app or to a website, for one or several of the purposes presented here.
Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development 141 partners can use this purpose
Use limited data to select advertising 111 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times an ad is presented to you).
Create profiles for personalised advertising 83 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (such as forms you submit, content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (for example, information from your previous activity on this service and other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (that might include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present advertising that appears more relevant based on your possible interests by this and other entities.
Use profiles to select personalised advertising 83 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on your advertising profiles, which can reflect your activity on this service or other websites or apps (like the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects.
Create profiles to personalise content 38 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (for instance, forms you submit, non-advertising content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (such as your previous activity on this service or other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (which might for example include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present content that appears more relevant based on your possible interests, such as by adapting the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find content that matches your interests.
Use profiles to select personalised content 34 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on your content personalisation profiles, which can reflect your activity on this or other services (for instance, the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects. This can for example be used to adapt the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find (non-advertising) content that matches your interests.
Measure advertising performance 132 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which advertising is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine how well an advert has worked for you or other users and whether the goals of the advertising were reached. For instance, whether you saw an ad, whether you clicked on it, whether it led you to buy a product or visit a website, etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of advertising campaigns.
Measure content performance 60 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which content is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine whether the (non-advertising) content e.g. reached its intended audience and matched your interests. For instance, whether you read an article, watch a video, listen to a podcast or look at a product description, how long you spent on this service and the web pages you visit etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of (non-advertising) content that is shown to you.
Understand audiences through statistics or combinations of data from different sources 74 partners can use this purpose
Reports can be generated based on the combination of data sets (like user profiles, statistics, market research, analytics data) regarding your interactions and those of other users with advertising or (non-advertising) content to identify common characteristics (for instance, to determine which target audiences are more receptive to an ad campaign or to certain contents).
Develop and improve services 83 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service, such as your interaction with ads or content, can be very helpful to improve products and services and to build new products and services based on user interactions, the type of audience, etc. This specific purpose does not include the development or improvement of user profiles and identifiers.
Use limited data to select content 38 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type, or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times a video or an article is presented to you).
Use precise geolocation data 46 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, your precise location (within a radius of less than 500 metres) may be used in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Actively scan device characteristics for identification 27 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, certain characteristics specific to your device might be requested and used to distinguish it from other devices (such as the installed fonts or plugins, the resolution of your screen) in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Ensure security, prevent and detect fraud, and fix errors 90 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Your data can be used to monitor for and prevent unusual and possibly fraudulent activity (for example, regarding advertising, ad clicks by bots), and ensure systems and processes work properly and securely. It can also be used to correct any problems you, the publisher or the advertiser may encounter in the delivery of content and ads and in your interaction with them.
Deliver and present advertising and content 97 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Certain information (like an IP address or device capabilities) is used to ensure the technical compatibility of the content or advertising, and to facilitate the transmission of the content or ad to your device.
Match and combine data from other data sources 72 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Information about your activity on this service may be matched and combined with other information relating to you and originating from various sources (for instance your activity on a separate online service, your use of a loyalty card in-store, or your answers to a survey), in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Link different devices 53 partners can use this feature
Always Active
In support of the purposes explained in this notice, your device might be considered as likely linked to other devices that belong to you or your household (for instance because you are logged in to the same service on both your phone and your computer, or because you may use the same Internet connection on both devices).
Identify devices based on information transmitted automatically 86 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Your device might be distinguished from other devices based on information it automatically sends when accessing the Internet (for instance, the IP address of your Internet connection or the type of browser you are using) in support of the purposes exposed in this notice.
Save and communicate privacy choices 68 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
The choices you make regarding the purposes and entities listed in this notice are saved and made available to those entities in the form of digital signals (such as a string of characters). This is necessary in order to enable both this service and those entities to respect such choices.
have your say